Bench warmer gets IRB nomination

Owen Farrell, who has been England’s second-choice flyhalf for their November Tests, has been nominated for the IRB Player of the Year award.

The other nominees are All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, flyhalf Dan Carter and French No 10 Frederic Michalak, who didn’t play for France in the Six Nations as he was representing the Sharks in Super Rugby. All Blacks No 8 Kieran Read, who has been the world champions’ star performer in 2012, surprisingly did not crack the nod.

The nominees were chosen by former players Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphael Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga and Paul Wallace.

McCaw is the only player to receive the individual IRB accolade more than once, having won it in 2006, 2009 and 2010, although Carter could join him as a multiple winner, having been named Player of the Year back in 2005.

The winner will be announced at the 2015 World Cup pool allocation draw in London on 3 December, along with the IRB Coach of the Year and IRB Team of the Year awards.

Previous IRB Player of the Year winners:
2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 – Fabien Galthie (France)
2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

102 Comments

• 1.scooby doo: Reply to this comment

But he is not even a Dragon

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

mICHALAK WOULD BE MY CHOICE…..PITY NO sAFFA

• 3.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

Farrell WTF? His nomination alone makes a mockery of the IRB Player of the Year Award.

• 4.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

No Habana?

• 5.Delki: Reply to this comment

Richie my boy………RICHIE

• 6.Rage: Reply to this comment

absolutely ridiculous…There are people out there (like suffer guy) who dont even know who Farrell is yet he is regarded as one of the top 4 players in the world.

Read and Fernandez Lobbe should’ve been there.

This is just preposterous.
    Richie to take it again

• 7.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Clearly it will be Richie

• 8.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Give it to Freddy…

A little mans triumph – out of favour, in from the cold, never giving up…

A Shark Forever!

• 9.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 3
    for real

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

owen farrell???!! :shock:

really, what the hell has that kid done?

this is a joke…ok i must be dreaming.

surely

• 11.katman: Reply to this comment

To be fair, I can’t think of a Bok player (or an Aussie) who should be on that list. But Farrell? That’s not even a joke. What on earth could they have based that on? The way he steadies the team in the last 10 minutes after he replaces Flood? If anyone should be challenging McCaw for this title, it’s Fernandez Lobbe. What he did this year, not only in terms of his play, but in terms of his leadership, beats the rest of that list hands down.

• 12.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Eben??? Dan Carter will win it …. wtf? does McCaw offer s3xual pleasures to : Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphael Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga and Paul Wallace.

• 13.Delki: Reply to this comment

2019 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2018 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2017 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2016 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2015 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2014 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2013 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2012 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
    2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
    2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
    2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
    2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
    2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
    2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
    2002 – Fabien Galthie (France)
    2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

• 14.papaown: Reply to this comment

What a joke!

• 15.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Aaaaah, the perks of having daddy in the rugby mix.
    Daddy Andy must have a swollen throat this morning.

• 16.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Katman makes some very good points.

Farrell? I think it was Will Carling who spoke about “the 57 old f a r t s” in English rugby back in ’95? Well, it looks like he’s joined that school now along with a few others.

The IRB is a joke – I’m sure Andrew Hore agrees with me.

• 17.ufo: Reply to this comment

no eben etzebeth… :shock:

a smell another stitch-job…!!

• 18.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Morne before Feral

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

disgusting

hope michalak gets it

• 20.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

Fernandes Lobbe
    Keiran Reid
    Eben Etsebeth
    Richie Mcaw
    Freddy Michalak

would be my nominations.

• 21.John Galt: Reply to this comment

That pannel has a distinctly ‘British’ feel to it. Even Francois can be considered a soutie these days.
    I reckon that Farrells Premiership form for Sarries has been taken into consideration here. He also didnt play too badly against us in the June tests.

Still shouldnt be anywhere near a nomination though. Even Tualigi is a better choice if they had to pick a Pom.

Etsebeth
    Habana
    Lobbe
    Roncero
    Read
    Picomoles

All better options.

• 22.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@scrumfan-20: Cant really argue with your selection… Expert Choice!

• 23.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Top 5
    Zane Kircher
    Owen Ferrell
    Quade Cooper
    Andrew Hore
    Curtly Beale

• 24.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Lobbes must be incensed.

• 25.katman: Reply to this comment

I think the IRB old boys club can’t bring themselves to nominate so-called second tier nations for these awards. The try of the year shortlist is the same. The Argies try against the All Blacks (scrumhalf in the right corner) kicks the 5 nominated tries into touch, but didn’t make the list. And now they couldn’t bring themselves to put Fernandez Lobbe on that list. Bunch of fcken moth balls in blazers.

• 26.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Lol, poor selection really.

Where has Ferral ever dominated a game? Let’s be honest, was McCaw even close to Read this year? NO.

Was there even one player that has gained parity with Etsebeth this year? The man has dominated every game if not then most, at age 20/21!

IRB POY award was a farce in 2009 and again in 2012.

• 27.uhuru: Reply to this comment

Stupid idea to let former players judge, too much bias involved. A much fairer system would be to let journalists vote (As is the case in football)

• 28.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@katman-25: Vegetables with pants on?

• 29.spartan: Reply to this comment

No one has been more consistent then NZs
    D Carter
    R McCaw
    K Read
    Conrad Smith
    I Dagg

• 30.katman: Reply to this comment

@spartan-29: The word you were looking for is “than”.

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sbw should be there if michalak can make it! michalak didn’t even play six nations plus he was a bencher for the sharks & only found form AFTER the june internationals…

• 32.ufo: Reply to this comment

farrelly brother’s son get a nominatin for bench-warming…

what about patrick lambie then…

he warmed the bench with much more dignity, poise, skill and natural talent than farrelly…

patrick should be on that list too…!!

okay, serious question… why just 4 nominees…?

aren’t there usually 5…?

• 33.spartan: Reply to this comment

@katman-30:

Actually
    the word Im looking for is
    an AllBlack should take out the IRB player of the year award

• 34.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

What is Farrel getting nominated for??
    he can tackle and he has a mean boot, that’s it. The next lighty in Line George Ford is a better player by far. That kid is better than most.

• 35.katman: Reply to this comment

@spartan-33: That’s not a word. And it makes no English sense either.

• 36.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

I think they write down Richie and Dan’s name as standard and for the rest they pick names out of the hat. One wonders whether this panel actually watches any rugby at all.

• 37.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Only test match performances are considered by the IRB for player of the year award. So how Michalak got nominated on 3 tests is also very confusing.

IRB player of year award has become a farce ever since mcaw won it in 2009.

• 38.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

This award is being rubbished. After this, the players won’t even want a nomination any more.

• 39.Braders: Reply to this comment

The IRB should have Farrell’s dad as a nominee for coach of the year!!
    He’s been assistant Eng coach for a month!

• 40.Hondo: Reply to this comment

If Habana got the SA Player of the Year award, I see no reason why Farrel won’t get the IRB’s one?
    Farrel did make a difference though when he came on against the Boks, opposite effect to that of Jantjies when he came on against the ABs :-D

• 41.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows-34: That George Ford was certainly superior to the new No 10 BoereMessiah Goosen when they faced eachother at Junior level a couple years back…

Ford had Guile – comparatively Goosen was flat track bully with a puncture…

• 42.katman: Reply to this comment

In other news, I see the belly putter will be outlawed from 2016.

Good riddance, I say.

• 43.H: Reply to this comment

Carter had an excellent year, so he is my choice. What must Lobbe do to be on that list?

• 44.katman: Reply to this comment

@H-43: Play for a top 4 nation, or England. Those are the rules.

Unless your name is Shane Williams. Then there are other rules.

• 45.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Speaking about Lambie I see that the young man has been made Jockey’s brand ambassador for South Africa (first time in 60 years in SA that they’ve picked a local boy).

I wonder which “size” he’ll focus on… ;-)

• 46.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-45: All Sharks are LongDongSilver size…

Goes without saying…

• 47.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-45: Ohfuck. Puma, S_L and Andy Cap to dribble their way through 2013.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sonito… freddie played 5 tests…2 in june when france toured argentina…he came on as a sub in the 1st test & had a mare…started the 2nd & starred…

• 49.spartan: Reply to this comment

In all fairness
    Fourie should have won in 2009
    McCaw in 2008
    Kaino in 2011

• 50.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-47: Come see me, you will dribble through rest of 2012 too… I promise. I also promise to drink you pretty…

After all, it is a time for giving…

• 51.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-50: Rain check? 60 years or so?

• 52.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

McCaw is almost as undeserving as Farrell. He’s a great captain and that’s it. So many better back row players out there then him, who have delivered bigger perfomances on the international stage this year. Hopper, Read, Fernandez Lobbe, Louw, Alberts, Nyanga, Picamoles, Parrise have all had far more outstanding performances for their national teams this year then Richie. Shame on you IRB, shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaame!

• 53.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-51: None needed… Susan Boyle or not, my imagination has helped me through many an ugly situation with a little help from my good friend Beer…

Don’t call it charity, call it Christmas…

…. Jingle Bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way….

• 54.willievz: Reply to this comment

Kieran Read is not there because he is overrated.

The list is a joke though. Only the Nobel Peace prize is a more ridiculous award than the IRB Player of the Year.

• 55.willievz: Reply to this comment

To be fair, I would be happy for Michalak or Farrell to win the award…

• 56.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

Not fair – what about Nik Naks

• 57.David: Reply to this comment

Hell, I’d have Etzebeth or Louw over Farrell.

• 58.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-53: It’s only giving if the recipient wants to accept….
    If not, it’s at least 5 Xmas’s listening to the 28′s singing ‘Round yon Virgin’ as they dish you up a huge serving of their own special brand of Silent Night ;)

See the difference?

• 59.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I think a far better selection whould have been:

Eben Etzabeth
    Keiron Reed
    Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe
    Conrad Smith

• 60.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@David-57: I’d have the whole Springbok team over Farrell. There is a reason why Flood plays ahead of him, he’s awful. I am an England supporter as well….

• 61.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

Carter should win it by a mile. He has been the best rugby player in the world for quite some time and he still is the best by a mile. It’s a shocker that Farrell is even on the same list as Dan.

• 62.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-58: Yes… I understand. But don’t be shy, no need for self consciousness… After 13 grogs, the bigarse and hairy birthmark will never ever be noticed

Oh what fun it is to ride… :lol:

• 63.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-41: It hurts me, but I have to agree. he;’s a phenomenon. His kicking game is outstanding and he runs the line better than Johnny did.

His defense is his only question mark. He makes better decisions than Goosen as does Lambie, however Ford has the kicking game. That’s my opinion.

• 64.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

IRB Nominees for the inaugural ‘Cheater of the Year’ award:

reechee muckaw
    keeren read
    konrad smith
    sam witlock
    broody retallick
    androo hore (only makes the list on the back of one outstanding game)

• 65.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

If SA has the most talent and depth of any country why don’t they win more trophies and their players get nominated for more awards?

• 66.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-62: I have to admit, that wherever/whatever else you might be lacking, you are good for a laugh.

• 67.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-65: Simple. We are currently (and haven’t been for some while) half as good as what some would like to think.
    Us being way behind the AB’s has fuckall to do with allegations of AB cheating etc. It has everything to do with the fact that we suck in terms of: coaching, skills, selection, player management etc etc etc etc etc.
    It really is that simple.

• 68.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Sharks pedigree keep that quiet some of the boys around here will blow if they read that.

• 69.cane: Reply to this comment

The best Team in the World in 2012 was NZ.
    The best Player, in the best Team in the World, was Kieran Read.

He didn’t even get nominated.

As for Forward Pass Freddie and the English Bench Player. Nothing would surprise me.

That said, all the past Winners look deserving with the exception of Dusautior and Shane.

• 70.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

But you are correct and they all know this.

• 71.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-66: Yeah, but read his post #46 again, what he’s doing is admitting that ALL Sharks are big pri@&s!!!

• 72.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-68: Well then I will ask those boys to explain to me, just how it is that NZ rugby can be blamed for our draw against Argentina….our loss to Scotland a few years back…..our losses to Ireland etc etc etc. My personal fave though, is how NZ or the AB’s can somehow be connected to the fact that Morne Steyn wasn’t replaced in Dunedin when it was fuckingobvious he was flying with the fuckingfairies that day.

If they can somehow connect these manshamings to the evil that is AB rugby, I will be most impressed.

• 73.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-71: :) Classico…….

• 74.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72:

No problem Bakkies will be on the job

• 75.DumpsterDiver: Reply to this comment

Dan Carter is the best player in the world by a mile and one of the best ever.
    This award loses credibility if he doesn’t win.
    Read should be there and maybe Etzebeth as well. Farrell…WTF?

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-71: :lol: I cannot lie… ‘struth

• 77.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-76: and you know this how?

stabane…

• 78.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-67:

Correct. Our entire coaching system is rotten.

Afrikaans people are the best rugby players in the world, but I don’t like the coaching style implemented by many (not all) Afrikaans coaches (and I’ve seen a few).

There are some brilliant Afrikaans coaches, but more often that not the ones given control of our school and club teams are there because they braai with the guys that run the sport.

• 79.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-77: I look down everyday… :lol:

• 80.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-79: So they don’t call you “Big Joe” for nothing?

;-)

• 81.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

WHAT A JOKE!
    What **** nominees!

• 82.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-80: No… Magwaza’s the name and golo’s my game… :wink:

(Ask Transie to translate)

• 83.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-81:
    McCaw and Carter belong in there.
    So who do you think should be there?

• 84.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@spartan-49: The whole world knows Fourie shouldve won it – absolute joke by IRB.

And 2010 shouldve been Matfield.

But this year should Lobbe and Picomoles on the list!

• 85.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-83: Of course you would think they do! What a surprise.

Kieran Read
    Estebeth
    Picomoles
    Lobbe

and Lobbe should win it

• 86.pattyfries: Reply to this comment

A few things

1. How can such an experienced panel select such a lame group of nominees. Read was far more prominent than Mccaw (who hobbled from ruck to ruck). Lobbe outplayed the All black loose forwards in both tests (pity his teammates didn’t follow his example). Where is Etzebeth? The guy who brushed aside anyone who stepped in his way right through the year. Where’s Habana’s nod? He was on fire this year? And the ever present Sergio Parisse?

2. Mccaw should never have won the award in 2009. Fourie Du Preez, Victor Matfield and David Pocock all played much better. Brad Thorn too.

3. A side note. Can anyone please explain to me how the All Blacks manage to get all their foul play bans reduced?

• 87.Nils: Reply to this comment

Phew, I almost spilled my beer until noticed that he has been just “nominated”/

• 88.Nils: Reply to this comment

Oh, well. Is there any kind of topic without usual bleating from usual bleaters?

Just curious.

• 89.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Habana Wins IRPA Try of the Year Award
    November 29, 2012
    Bryan Habana’s spectacular score against New Zealand in the inaugural Castle Rugby Championship was named as the International Rugby Players’ Association’s (IRPA) Try of the Year 2012.
    Habana became the second Springbok to win the award after Jaque Fourie earned the honour in 2009 for his try in the second Test against the British & Irish Lions at Loftus Versfeld.

Habana’s Dunedin score was also named as South Africa’s try of the year to add to his winning of the title of SARU’s player of the year for 2012. Habana took his total of Springbok tries to 47 in 2012, before a knee injury cut short his season before the end of year tour.

Former teammate Jaque Fourie, All Blacks centurion Mils Muliaina, former IRB Player of the Year Shane Williams and Japan’s Daisuke Ohata, the leading try scorer in Test Rugby, formed the panel of judges who opted for Habana’s effort ahead of the three other shortlisted tries scored by New Zealand duo Hosea Gear and Julian Savea and Frenchman Julien Malzieu.

Consideration was also given to votes cast by rugby fans from all around the world via the IRB’s interactive platforms.

Habana, the IRB Player of the Year in 2007, stunned the All Blacks when he burst onto a pass from flanker Francois Louw at full speed, chipped ahead and gathered to score a try that briefly handed the Springboks the lead seven minutes into the second half of the contest in Dunedin. New Zealand went on to win 21-11.

“Scoring a try against the All Blacks is always special, but scoring against them in New Zealand, is even more special,” said Habana.

“I really enjoyed getting across the try-line in Dunedin – contributing to the success of the team and also lifting the spirits of my teammates.”

“Winning this Award is very special and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time.”

Previous winners:

2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand
    2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia
    2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British & Irish Lions
    2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland

• 90.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

the players know if they really deserve it or not, the award doesn’t really mean anything to a player if he knows that he doesn’t deserve it. should be a players player award, all the test players of that year should vote

• 91.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

I could be wrong and if I am I apologies upfront. Isn’t this John Eales’ annual(read anal)favorite player award. In which case you have to ask whether Eales is supermanning that ho!

• 92.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Nils-88:

No wannabe, “your” mob have not arrived yet so the whinging is at an all time low!

• 93.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@cane-69: @cane-69:

George Smith or Imanol Harinodiquoy should have won in 02

Richie should have never won in 09,he was injured for most of tri nations and when he did play he was decidedly avg.he should have won 08 tho

Kaino should have won 2011

Read should have won this yr 2012

• 94.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-92: Who’s talking?

• 95.john123: Reply to this comment

Remember watching Lobbe for Sale Sharks in England great player but the other Lobbe at London Irish was even more talented

Louis Picamoles is the best number 8 in the world that guy is amazing the way he breaks through tackles and offloads is beautiful

Wales’ young winger George North has been very impressive the “Welsh Jonah Lomu”

• 96.jeest: Reply to this comment

@cane-69: Holy **** – I’m actually agreeing with your post.

Write that down.

How did McCaw and Carter get nominated above Read. Read has been the form forward for the last couple of years. The list is a farce….as usual

• 97.jeest: Reply to this comment

Next thing you know Deans will be down for Coach of the year.

• 98.husky: Reply to this comment

Saffers very hard done by. I thought Craig Joubert for the AB’s was unlucky last year not to crack the nod for player of the year. Even this year he should have at least got a nomination.

• 99.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-65: China we aren’t winnign trophies because we are not playing well and your guys are, full stop. We however get shafted with awards because the IRB panel is filled with bok haters…..good thing these awards mean bugger all. Trophies and W/L ratios are the be all and end all.

• 100.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@jeest-96: Shows how poor these awards are. Reid was brilliant this year and while I am a huge admirer of Ritchie Macaw I would give this one to Reid. Carter would be in the mix for me but he has been out with injury for too much of the year.

• 101.lawsy25: Reply to this comment

Should have been

Reid
    Carter
    McCaw
    Lobbe
    token NH player, I actually can’t think of one.

• 102.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Id have
    Reid
    Carter
    Lobbe
    Etzebeth

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.