Blitzboks crash out of Cup
30 Nov 2012
Losses to Portugal and Samoa have resulted in the Blitzboks failing to qualify for the Cup quarter-finals at the Dubai Sevens.
Portugal recorded not one but two massive upsets on Day 1 of the tournament. First they shocked the Blitzboks 12-10 thanks to a try in the final play of that contest. Then they edged England 22-21 to put themselves into a position to win the group.
South Africa started the day with an unconvincing 19-10 win over England, and lost their captain Kyle Brown to an ankle injury in the process.
They were then outplayed by a physically-superior Portugal side, who also showed terrific skill and composure throughout the game.
Samoa managed to beat Portugal, but went down to England. This meant that the final fixture of the pool between South Africa and Samoa would determine who advanced to the Cup quarter-finals along with Portugal.
The Pacific islanders were the more clinical of the two teams, with former Eastern Province wing Paul Perez crashing over for two tries in the first half. This left South Africa with too much to do in the second stanza, and Samoa eventually emerged as comfortable 10-5 winners.
Portugal and Samoa will now advance to the Cup quarter-finals, while South Africa will play against Russia in the Bowl quarter-finals.
For all the updates and results, click here.

29 Comments
30 Nov 2012, 07:14 am
The Dragon Pool of Death.
30 Nov 2012, 08:03 am
these porras wont know what hit them
30 Nov 2012, 08:19 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:
Go Boy!
30 Nov 2012, 08:25 am
@BrumbiesBoy-3:
30 Nov 2012, 12:22 pm
Hier kom k@k.
Looking like a probable semi-final against Fiji.
Unfortunate because we’ve looked the 2nd best team in the Series… our match-ups with Fiji would be better suited to a final.
30 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm
Go Bokke!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2: HAHAHAHAHAHA
@hendrikp-5: Ons kan hulle klop!
30 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
anywhere I can stream this?
30 Nov 2012, 13:28 pm
0_0.
Just lost to Portugal.
30 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
coach should resign
unacceptable
but good see small nations can compete in 7s
30 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@greatest13gerber-9: @hendrikp-8: Het julle die game gekyk?
Wat die hel het gebeur?
30 Nov 2012, 13:46 pm
G13G,
Everyone is over on the “Hore set for hefty ban” thread.
Anyone Posting on any other thread, will be hunted down and castrated.
At great personal risk, I have delivered this message to you.
cane.
30 Nov 2012, 14:19 pm
@cane-11: Bloody hell! You are not kidding
30 Nov 2012, 14:20 pm
o fok my!
me and my big mouth
30 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
Porra dragons.
30 Nov 2012, 15:16 pm
Unacceptable.
30 Nov 2012, 15:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:
Eish, eish, eish!
30 Nov 2012, 18:40 pm
De fat and shpeedy Porras squeeshed de Boksh vegetablsh…
Losing to Tunisia … and Portugal…????
30 Nov 2012, 19:41 pm
“They were then outplayed by a physically-superior Portugal side”
Never thought I would read that.
30 Nov 2012, 20:07 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-16:
met eish ja.. met eish…
30 Nov 2012, 20:13 pm
KeO stop reporting on this ***** it’s worse than rugby lite, who cares it just annoys me to see the bok name lose to such likes as Samoa and portugal talk about an embarrassment to anyone who as played in the bok jersey even that **** Helgaard muller
30 Nov 2012, 20:15 pm
Blitzfokke need to ask tw coach
1 Dec 2012, 06:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:
Boooommm
1 Dec 2012, 07:03 am
Os Lobos
1 Dec 2012, 07:17 am
Glory boy palookas….reality check chops.
1 Dec 2012, 07:35 am
All black sevens also look kak… This is the year of fiji
1 Dec 2012, 08:06 am
@suffer_guy-25: Never as kak as ours. Someone I know that worked quite closely with these guys told me these okes are real glory boys. Far too worried about how many buckets of KFC they can buy to pull chicks with their Springbok 7s contract. I reckon wield the axe. Or at least threaten to.
1 Dec 2012, 12:36 pm
@Te Rangatira-23: Don’t think too many on here will know what you’re talking about!
1 Dec 2012, 13:00 pm
@suffer_guy-25:
Seems you think the sevend and the 15 side ABs are rubbish…..yet continually beat the boks.
What do you think about your own teams?
2 Dec 2012, 23:37 pm
I think Paul Troux is too soft on these guys. Maybe go and see Coach Rudie about a Kamp Staaltrek.
Anyway, good for the Porras. What else are they good at? Tennis? Oh, soccer of course!!
But I still think they better in the kitchen. Mouth watering cuisine