Boks draw Samoa, Scots
3 Dec 2012
The Springboks will play Samoa and Scotland in Pool B of the 2015 World Cup.
The draw for the 2015 tournament in England was held on Monday, with the 12 qualified teams being drawn into four pools. The remaining eight teams are still in the process of qualifying and are thus yet to be confirmed.
Of the top four ranked teams in the world, the Boks look to have the easiest route to the 2015 play-offs.
The Boks smashed Samoa at the 2007 World Cup in France, but found the Pacific islanders harder to put away in the 2011 pool fixture in New Zealand. This is bound to be the most physically taxing match of the 2015 round-robin stage, but it is a clash the Boks will feel confident about winning.
Scotland beat South Africa in 2010, but lost by 11 points in this year’s fixture at Murrayfield. Like Samoa, they have never beaten South Africa at a World Cup.
The Boks’ final two pool opponents are yet to be confirmed, but will come out of the Americas and Asia.
The Boks narrowly avoided being drawn in Pool A, the Pool of Death. The Wallabies weren’t so lucky, and will have to beat hosts England, and Wales, who should also enjoy good home support, to top that group.
Proceeding to the knockout rounds won’t be much easier for the French, who will battle Six Nations opponents Ireland and Italy.
Current world champions New Zealand will face off against Argentina, whom they beat in the World Cup quarter-finals last year. The All Blacks have also drawn Tonga in Pool D, a team they played against in the opening game of the 2011 tournament.
POOL A
Australia
England
Wales
Play-off winner
Oceania 1
POOL B
South Africa
Samoa
Scotland
Americas 2
Asia 1
POOL C
New Zealand
Argentina
Tonga
Africa 1
Europe 1
POOL D
France
Ireland
Italy
Europe 2
Americas 1
At the draw it was also confirmed that the knockout-phase structure will be the same as previous World Cups:
QF1: Winner Pool B vs Runner-up Pool A
QF2: Winner Pool C vs Runner-up Pool D
QF3: Winner Pool A vs Runner-up Pool B
QF4: Winner Pool D vs Runner-up Pool C
SF1: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2
SF2: Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4
Bronze Final: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2
Final: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

355 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All
4 Dec 2012, 21:30 pm
Jacque Fourie in black and white…..
4 Dec 2012, 21:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-7: @Tacitus-9:
I tell you something now – Samoa are a side to be respected and, in tag-team tow with their allies (the All Blacks), they will aim to hurt and put Frans Steyn or Bismarck out the competition.
We should win that game but these Pacific islanders have upped their game, handling and all phases of the game; watching against France, who systematically despatched them, I was quite shocked to see how much they had improved – their scrum was rock solid against the Frogs, their lineout the same, their breakdown scavaging, rolling mauls, offload and, above all of this, their safe catching of the ball amazed me. They have gone to the next level – their physicality and tackling power is a given.
At least Boks will play them in the first round and the semi-injured (of which there will be a few) will have time to recover – we hope.
And the AB’s have another soft roll through to the semi-finals – where, theoretically they should play SA. If England can grow on their current platform (and why shouldn’t they?) it’s likely they will play France in the semi-finals.
France to win? I personally hope so – or Boks. But England will be deadly and NZ always a threat.
4 Dec 2012, 22:07 pm
@Hurricane-248: No I think youre stirring because this is the 2nd time youve started something on here with me and also because you appear to be best pals with poppa who is the biggest stirrer on here, along with the authority, heavens game, poltergeist and bokke baiter. All stirrers, all pathetic.
As for your question, you know where to stick it.
4 Dec 2012, 23:09 pm
Boring draw with Samoa AGAIN!
A lot of people are happy with the draw, thinking it is an easy ride through. Trust me, if the seedings play out as expected (as they did in 2011) it is a very DIFFICULT draw for SA. It will be similar to the 2011 RWC.
We’re looking at either Aus or Eng (at home) in the quarters and NZ in the semis… worry about the final (Aus/Eng or France) as and when we get there.
Tough draw.
4 Dec 2012, 23:13 pm
@McAwesome-252:
Look at your very first post on here.
Come on now, don’t start getting all angry.
I only asked if you had sky tv, whats the problem…I have sky. I am just wondering have you the rugby channel?
4 Dec 2012, 23:20 pm
Hurri
You’re a decent bloke. Please don’t become a PoppaPrat.
Pretty please.
4 Dec 2012, 23:22 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-253:
Yep,but hell Pool A is a killer.
4 Dec 2012, 23:27 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-255:

I have only asked a question.
Anyway Poppa is our hit man. We give him keo dollars for certain targets.
Liewe, you will never make the list i assure you as you to seem a decent guy.
4 Dec 2012, 23:30 pm
@Hurricane-256: Honestly, I’d rather SA were in the same pool as Eng and Wales… sounds strange but seriously, win that group and you are through to the semis (beating Scotland in the QF) and a meet with either France (or very probably) Argentina.
Scotland
Argentina/France
seems an easier route than
Australia/England
New Zealand
4 Dec 2012, 23:31 pm
Jissus I am sick and tired of Samoa in the RWC and I’m sure they feel the same way about us
4 Dec 2012, 23:33 pm
SA doesn’t lose to Wales and we have had the wood on Eng for years. Australia (who lose to Wales) might think otherwise, but seriously, if they can climb that hill in the pool it is hardly an incline after that….
4 Dec 2012, 23:33 pm
Laterz Hurri, I’m out.
4 Dec 2012, 23:37 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-261:
Later mate.
4 Dec 2012, 23:38 pm
Oh auntie sue, you are toooo much!
4 Dec 2012, 23:43 pm
@J.B. Cowper-251: dirty feckers.not to be confused with f uckers
4 Dec 2012, 23:51 pm
@bokke baiter-226:
You mean as opposed to a real economy that is propped up by Australia?
Take Oz away and the little Island sinks into the abyss, jeez rhe only banks in NZ are Oz banks except for one little one propped up by the Govt? Most major companies in NZ are subsidiaries of OZ companies (Retail, Real Estate etc)
Faak me, perhaps have a good look around at your glass house before throwing stones wet pantie you sniverlling little lim limp d ick!
4 Dec 2012, 23:55 pm
@Hurricane-257:
Poppadoos your hitman???? hahahahahahaha
You can’t be serious, who in there right mind would put a whinging racist fukpig kid in as their hitman???
Jeez boet you can do better than that. By associating with Poppadoos as being on “your” side you associate yourself with all his hating racist comments….not so?
5 Dec 2012, 00:05 am
@whatever-266:
Well look at it this way. You jump down Poppas throat as soon as he says something but in doing so totally miss the post he was having a go at,which are normally racist and hateful comments aimed at NZ, you have done it yourself.
I have just put you near the top of the list
Look out now, AK-47 Poppa will be here soon.
5 Dec 2012, 00:07 am
@whatever-265:
Oh and this is post here is a perfect example of what you do.
Posts # 101 started all this off, the dipshit Authority no class analbead face.
5 Dec 2012, 00:11 am
@Hurricane-267:
One racsit comment does not deserve another dude, returning serve with a hating racist generalisation is pathetic and not you dude. You should disassociate yourself……..I don’t interact with the Saffa di cks but I will point out the facts to a hating a-hole like Poppadoos if he has a generalisation crack at SA
5 Dec 2012, 00:13 am
@Hurricane-268:
No, just pointing out to wet pantie that he needs to look at his own backyard before taking potshots at SA. He only comes on to bait and spew his hatred. He is worse than Poppadoos
5 Dec 2012, 00:15 am
ak poppadoos………..you mean water pistol surely?
5 Dec 2012, 00:18 am
@whatever-271:
Holy water as well.
5 Dec 2012, 00:28 am
@Hurricane-272:
Pops has to come prepared.
AK47 for the mere mortal South Africans and water pistol filled with holy water for the demon spawns like yourself.
5 Dec 2012, 01:13 am
@Hurricane-268:
Hurri, I refer you to post #5 where black pantie jumped into the shallow end, head first as usual. That is a long time before post #101…
Anywhoo, as I said yesterday, I do not entertain idiots from any side and come here to have a chat and most of the time a good laugh, pity some fools make it their mission to spoil it.
5 Dec 2012, 01:21 am
and post 72
5 Dec 2012, 01:26 am
@whatever-275:
There are plenty more before 101 but I just wanted to make the point…
Anyway, was one of the warmest day in years up here and today feels only slightly cooler…where is the rin when you need it?
5 Dec 2012, 01:48 am
@John1976-219: ahh thanks John well spotted – i´ll keep an eye out for that – very sneaky.
5 Dec 2012, 01:49 am
@Heavens Game-213: Apology accepted but i still think everyone should tone it down a bit – there are a lot of people antagonising on here for the sake of a kick and it doesnt help to fuel the fire.
5 Dec 2012, 01:51 am
@cane-227: thanks for the support mate – appreciated. Today is maybe best forgotten about lol.
5 Dec 2012, 01:54 am
I reckon “the Authority” and “i_love_you_bakkies_botha” are one and the same person.
Both are numbskulls if they are indeed 2 different persons.
5 Dec 2012, 01:56 am
@Liewe Luiperd-280: I think Bakkies is the one stealing nics. He gave himself the Award for best comment whilst using Slumtowns log in.
5 Dec 2012, 02:00 am
For some unknown reason, the Scots are behaving above their station in world rugby.
Sure, they fluked a win in 2010. Sh*t happens, but not often when it’s Scotland and certainly NOT at RWCs.
If they keep this up, it will be an absolute pleasure to destroy them in RWC 2015.
[ps this dude is just talking tough because he wants the job. DEEP DOWN he cannot possibly believe that the Scots will beat the Boks and top the pool]
Scotland’s attacking coach Scott Johnson believes they are capable of overcoming South Africa at the Rugby World Cup in 2015.
The Scots were on Monday drawn in Pool B, alongside South Africa and Samoa for the 2015 showpiece event. The other two qualifying teams for the pool are likely to be Japan and Canada (or the US).
And despite Scotland currently ranked at a lowly No 12 on the IRB rankings – 10 spots below South Africa and five below Samoa – Johnson is confident that his men can top their pool.
“We’ve shown form in the last few years that proves we can take the scalps of the big teams,” he told the scotsman.com website.
“Trying to determine what theirs or our side will look like in three years’ time is like determining how big, fat and ugly I’ll be in three years’ time, which isn’t easy.
“The fact is if we get our parts completely right, we’ll take on anyone on any given day. That’s what we’re aiming to do.”
Johnson is a contender to take over as head coach after Andy Robinson recently resigned.
While South African fans might expect the Boks to cruise into the last eight, captain Jean de Villiers remains wary.
“Being used to the conditions definitely gives Scotland an advantage,” said De Villiers.
“It’s not too far from home for them so they’ll have a lot of support. We’ve had Samoa in every World Cup we’ve played. That will be another tough one.
“World rugby is getting closer and closer together and the guys are getting more competitive so by the time we hit 2015 it will be a great show for world rugby.”
The Boks beat Scotland 21-10 on their recent European tour.
5 Dec 2012, 02:02 am
@NiIs-281: I haven’t posted for a few days or read back through the comments. I was unaware nics are being stolen.
i_love_you_bakkies_botha is a bad egg, that much is sure….. I wouldn’t be surprised if he steals nics, his obsessive posts reveal a juvenile character.
5 Dec 2012, 02:45 am
@Liewe Luiperd-283:
Aaah Bulls hit, Bakkies is a passionate bloke who really winds up the keewees, but you don’t see him swearing or insulting individuals, like some on here (me included)
Some of you dudes need to grow a pair………………it’s 3rd life FFS
5 Dec 2012, 02:51 am
and Nils is just a Keewee handlanger…………..a wannabe , but will never be…..eish, must hurt!
5 Dec 2012, 03:14 am
Funny…
Reuters) – Former Australia leg-spinner Shane Warne believes he still has the ability to play at the highest level and will consider coming out of retirement to play in next year’s Ashes series if asked by captain Michael Clarke.
And the lot on keo complained about J Smit hanging on for too long onto the #2 jumper!
5 Dec 2012, 03:31 am
@Slartibartfast-286:
Why do blokes screw with their status by attempting comebacks?? Michael Jordan, Ali to name a few, IMO stuffed up by coming back. Warne should stick to shagging his fluzy, teeth whiteners and spray tans……….
5 Dec 2012, 03:51 am
@whatever-284:
Calling kiwis scum and saying we learn how to cheat at school seems a bit over the top. With Bakkies it is a bit different, yeah people jump on and wind individuals up but with Bakkies he believes everything he says and thinks the whole nation of NZ are scum and cheats and dirty. Even with not one bit of proof he passes it around like its gospel. But saying that i think he is a passionate supporter,if he could control his issues he could even become bearable
5 Dec 2012, 04:03 am
@whatever-287:
Hey fake hair, fake tan, fake teeth and fake wringle free face…why not add fake comeback to the list? But I agree, he should retire from all cricket and enjoy life.
5 Dec 2012, 04:07 am
@Hurricane-288:
Hahahaha is it one of the prime subjects or one of the secondary choices?
Eish, is it called Cheating or have they come up with a more politically correct name?
Luckily it is only 72 more sleeps before the Super 15 starts again, can’t come quickly enough…
5 Dec 2012, 05:16 am
@Slartibartfast-290:
Politically correct words normally do not have the same effect . Fact is cheaters has a better impact .
5 Dec 2012, 05:34 am
@Hurricane-291:
Ja but being cheaters they can probably call it anything…get some bonus points!
5 Dec 2012, 06:20 am
@Hurricane-288:
Calling Kiwis ‘scum’ is a bridge too far, even on this crazy blog – not acceptable or credible or remotely true – they’re a great people with mountains of achievement behind them; and good to have in your corner in a fight.
I wouldn’t even say that about Paddy O’Brien and Graham Mourie – but I would call them ‘corrupt’ and to their faces.
5 Dec 2012, 06:48 am
@J.B. Cowper-293:
The reality is that there are probably less than 10 bloggers that come on here with their main purpose to abuse other people. The childish nature of most of their posts and the cowardly act of doing it on an anonymous blog tells you all you need to know about them.
Idiotic excuses like he/she started it or doing it in the name of ‘returning serve’ do them no favours but they so caught up in their own little worlds they don’t even notice.
Best to just ignore them and enjoy the rest.
5 Dec 2012, 08:18 am
@Dawn-247:
Sideshow Bob with her intelligent comments…
Keep going Sideshow Bob…no matter what the bloggers say..just know that you’re special.
5 Dec 2012, 08:20 am
It doesn’t matter who we play, what stays the same is that we have to win 7 games straight if we want to win! That’s the bottom line, whoever we play we need to win!
So much can change in three years and I believe teams like France/ Wales and England will be at their peak.
Wales played the 2011 WC with an average age of about 23/24, their experience level/ talent ratio will be near perfect in 2015 and so will France and England.
Australia are doomed, their rugby is heading south in a bad way and their is no young talent that stands out, they will have raid the rugby league ranks again.
5 Dec 2012, 08:21 am
@Slartibartfast-286:
As a spin bowler even the fattest buggers can play.
5 Dec 2012, 08:22 am
@whatever-284:
cheers whatever and thanks for sticking up for me,
i certainly am not nic stealing or logging in under different aliases.
@Hurricane-288:
you just wont let this go, will you.
i have apologised repeatedly for referring to kiwis as a whole as scum and filth.
what more do you want?
i will refer to kiwis, mostly the rugby players, only as dirty in future. i will reserve the right however to refer to any individual kiwis (like that hore) as scum, in exceptional instances.
5 Dec 2012, 08:27 am
@Predawn-297:
When last did you see him, after the lipo suction he is anything but fat. It is more a case of his zimmerframe getting in the way of the batman running quick singles that may be a problem.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All