Boks draw Samoa, Scots

The Springboks will play Samoa and Scotland in Pool B of the 2015 World Cup.

The draw for the 2015 tournament in England was held on Monday, with the 12 qualified teams being drawn into four pools. The remaining eight teams are still in the process of qualifying and are thus yet to be confirmed.

Of the top four ranked teams in the world, the Boks look to have the easiest route to the 2015 play-offs.

The Boks smashed Samoa at the 2007 World Cup in France, but found the Pacific islanders harder to put away in the 2011 pool fixture in New Zealand. This is bound to be the most physically taxing match of the 2015 round-robin stage, but it is a clash the Boks will feel confident about winning.

Scotland beat South Africa in 2010, but lost by 11 points in this year’s fixture at Murrayfield. Like Samoa, they have never beaten South Africa at a World Cup.

The Boks’ final two pool opponents are yet to be confirmed, but will come out of the Americas and Asia.

The Boks narrowly avoided being drawn in Pool A, the Pool of Death. The Wallabies weren’t so lucky, and will have to beat hosts England, and Wales, who should also enjoy good home support, to top that group.

Proceeding to the knockout rounds won’t be much easier for the French, who will battle Six Nations opponents Ireland and Italy.

Current world champions New Zealand will face off against Argentina, whom they beat in the World Cup quarter-finals last year. The All Blacks have also drawn Tonga in Pool D, a team they played against in the opening game of the 2011 tournament.

POOL A
Australia
England
Wales
Play-off winner
Oceania 1

POOL B
South Africa
Samoa
Scotland
Americas 2
Asia 1

POOL C
New Zealand
Argentina
Tonga
Africa 1
Europe 1

POOL D
France
Ireland
Italy
Europe 2
Americas 1

At the draw it was also confirmed that the knockout-phase structure will be the same as previous World Cups:

QF1: Winner Pool B vs Runner-up Pool A
QF2: Winner Pool C vs Runner-up Pool D
QF3: Winner Pool A vs Runner-up Pool B
QF4: Winner Pool D vs Runner-up Pool C

SF1: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2
SF2: Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4

Bronze Final: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2

Final: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

355 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-299:

Ja saw him on an Indian ad just a few days ago. Didn’t quite notice his size.

• 302.Delki: Reply to this comment

Come on Keo surely you want this blogsite to be more than a collection of trolls from SA and NZ insulting each other with inane generalisations.

I used to find the blog interesting but it has been taken over by trolls comparing the social ills of the two countries. YAWN.

• 303.cane: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-300:

I see you are up to your old tricks. Bullying womenfolk.

• 304.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Delki-301:
    Well said.

The abuse is out of control

• 305.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-302:

Womenfolk? You’ve been at the Thesaurus again.

• 306.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

@whatever-265: Yes. We have a lovely little bi lateral agreement with Australia as we do with Singapore and others in our peaceful part of planet Earth.
    What we don’t have is a growing inequality between a white minority joined by a small black elite while most blacks endure high unemployment and inadequate housing, health care and education.
    Oh and with your 40% unemployment record the expression ‘ticking time bomb ‘ comes to mind

• 307.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@whatever-287: Didn’t Jordan go on to win 3 more titles with the Bulls after his comeback? But yeah, his second comeback was a bit of a sad end to his career. Perhaps not as sad as Lance Armstrong’s :)

@goodstuff-296: I wouldn’t write off Asutralia at all. With all their injuries, it’s easy to forget they had a very strong team full of youngsters in 2010/2011. Pocock, Genia, Beale, O’Connor, Ioanne, AAC, and even Cooper on his day, and now Folau and Hooper. Not a bad team at all and capable of going through to 2015.

I don’t want to sound like I’m bitter but I still don’t see England as getting much stronger in the next few years. Sure, they’ll knock over the odd top team but not consistently enough to get into the top 2, where you need to be to win the cup

• 308.Nils: Reply to this comment

KEO SORT YOUR **** OUT!

I have not posted in this forum for days and – again – I see someone has used my nickname, even today. Alright, thanks very much, it was not full of obscenities but anyway I am angry, as I would be against any thief.

If this is the marketing ploy to get rid of foreign bloggers, fine, merry Xmas or whatever other fairy tale you believe in and adios.

As for nick stealer – **** you very much.

• 309.Nils: Reply to this comment

@whatever-285: And Whatever, merry wannabee Keewee Xmas to you, as well.

• 310.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-283: The post you answered to was posted by someone else using my nickname. This is the second time I have noticed blogging under “my” name and probably it happened more when I was absent.

I guess that does it. Those mo-fos nick-stealers and other mentaly unhealthy persons has made this place smell like drain, so it’s time to say adios.

• 311.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Nils-309: It sounds like someone has been stealing nicks from anyone with an l and using an uppercase i.

But maybe December is the best time to take a keo-break anyway. Not much rugby to comment on, mostly just stirring and fighting until February, which can be fun until someone loses an eye (or in your case, an i ). Sorry, that was lame :)

• 312.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-310: Yup you are correct. We noticed it on the other thread yesterday as well. Corporal Punishment was the victim. Only those with a small “L” in their names are at risk…..

• 313.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-311: A pity I don’t have an l in my name. I’d like to make inflammatory remarks and blame it on a nick thief :)

• 314.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-312: Good idea ;)

It’s a poor show though. Nic-stealing/cheating is a capital online offence IMHO.

Fortunately most of the bloggers work out who is who in the zoo, and this fella’s cover has been blown now. And there is only one letter in the alphabet he can get away with….and he’s used it so let’s hope hefucks off!!!!

• 315.Nils: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-310: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-311: Thanks, good people, it makes sense, so I will take a sabbatical till next SH rugby season kicks-off again and see whether nick stealing still takes place before take a final decision.

Take care, enjoy your summer and may the next year be good for you both as well as for all nice Saffa, Kiwi, Ozzie, English, Scots and bloggers of other nationalities.

Cheers all. Till better times.

• 316.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Nils-314: Cheers mate. Enjoy the off-season (or Christmas as some people like the call it). Catch you in 2013

• 317.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

I’ve been on here since at least 2007 and it saddens me to see the unchecked depravity that prevails on this site, the worst elements of society are being exhibited here – intolerance, racism, ignorance, jealousy, you name it.

What kind of an example does this set to our younger members and for the future of our game in general?

There are dickheads in all countries, just as there are friendly and intelligent people. The amount of SA Vs NZ vitriol spouted here is simply illogical, off topic and adds no value to the conversation.

It’d be nice if people could show some respect for another instead of insulting each other.

• 318.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Esoteric-316:

Yip, the lunatics have truly taken over the asylum…

Time for this to be sorted out.

• 319.whatever: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter-305:

Really?, check your stats again, especially the jail population stats……you will see a big difference between the different “nationalities” and this is very indicative of the general NZ society.

Again, check for glass before you throw stones!

• 320.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-317:

The asylum has been gutted and looted many years ago……its a cesspool of hatred from some on here….

• 321.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-319: and you lead the way aye handicap boy..

• 322.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-320:

Nope, that dubious honor belongs to you my little poodle

For years and years you have spewed your hatred

Try f uking off for good ?

• 323.whatever: Reply to this comment

“aye”…….you got your trucker cap on sideways?

• 324.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-321: I dont hate saffas at all..

you personally, I do..

youre a fckwit of the highest order, a bullet is too good for you..

understand fat d.utch boy?

• 325.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-323:

You see you can’t help yourself……..there you go with the racist slurs

You hating muthafuking pigdog

and for your info I don’t have any dutch blood so try again

• 326.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-324: regardless, I still hate your fcking guts you fat sloth.. hiding in NZ to escape punishment for the many crimes your family committed during the “golden years” huh?

• 327.whatever: Reply to this comment

funny you say you don’t hate Saffa’s yet call them every name under the sun in your generalisation posts…….mine insults are directly aimed at you, theres a difference……maybe its the south Akld education?

• 328.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-324: calling someone d.utch is not racist in Nz or Aus..

its just you meathead saffas who get all precious when the terms used..

• 329.whatever: Reply to this comment

go f uk your mother or rape your sister and join the rest of the family in Paremoremo prison dipsh it……..even that is probably too good for you, rabid dogs should be shot

• 330.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-326: south akld education?

what do you mean by this? is this because South Akld is predominantly brown skinned? oh my, theres that inherent racism again fckwit..

hey, Ive seen many generalisations about kiwis and sheep and the like, so I will return it..; the fact you get all precious when I do shows you dont like it either…

but you never complain about those generalisations do you rfckwit?

thats why I hate your guts, because theyre so fcken hypocritical..

• 331.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-327:

hahahaha……..just proved my point 100%…….it’s just “you meathead saffa’s”……that is a generalisation aimed at all Saffa’s you thick knunt

Booom………

• 332.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-328: hahaha classy post..

• 333.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-330: youre definitely proving the generalisation though arent you?

first with racial references then incest references? really? haha calling someone a meathead is not nearly as bad as what youve implied…

well done meathead…

• 334.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-329:

Yup Sth Akld has the highest density of low decile schools…….hence the comment. If you want to read race into that go ahead…….you fling the racist comments about quite readily so it would not supprise me

however, time for you to do the rounds

I’ll leave you to do just that my little poodle, try not bash the missus tonight otherwise you may see all your cuzzies soon in the “yard”

Doos!

• 335.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-333: :lol:

now with the wife beating generalisation

and you have the audacity to have a go at me for generalising..

what a complete knobjockey..

an intellectual giant as keo put it….hahaha

• 336.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-333: run away coward, go on

run away coward..

• 337.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Who stole all the angry pills?

• 338.whatever: Reply to this comment

Just returning serve doos

Bored of you and your hate

• 339.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Los liewers die knaap, hy is besig om jou af te trek na sy vlak toe…

• 340.whatever: Reply to this comment

Ja koos, jy’s reg al weer, maar die eter het n poesklap nodig dink ek

• 341.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Maak nie saak nie, hy sal wen met ondervinding op die lae vlak!

• 342.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

*sigh*

• 343.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

Keo, you are kak at moderating your site. Have you even read your own terms and conditions?

2 Swearing or foul language will not tolerated, this will result in user posting rights being removed for 14 days.

3 If you are deemed to be trolling you will be removed permanently

I’ve seen none of the above.

• 344.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Esoteric-342:

Agree 100%! Moderation went out the door when Dawn’s boyfriend Ig packed his bags…pity that.

• 345.j59: Reply to this comment

just a left field thought, lads ….

pops and whatever – have you 2 ever considered… like…you know… getting a room? All this latent emotion and stuff….

And seriously, people asking for ‘moderation’…… such good slaves, appealing to authority to solve your problems. Maybe Keo needs a Patriot Act of sorts ne

• 346.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@j59-344:

So exactly how do you propose the average blogger solve this problem?

• 347.j59: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-345: Well, start a thread on something other than what they’re on aboot. Don’t take the bait if you’re baited.

Its not that hard to ignore trolls, is it?

• 348.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@j59-346:

That is not solving it, that is avoiding it.

• 349.j59: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-347: Ya possibly, but censorship?…really?

• 350.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@j59-348:

You already have censorship on this blog with the ridiculous result of you being unable to refer to **** Muir for instance. ..

Moderation is something else which should, if working properly, take care of idiots who come on here with the main aim to make it unpleasant for others. It is not hard, does not take much time and in the end will make it much more enjoyable for the rest.

It is a Rugby blog after all…

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.