Carter pips McCaw for IRB prize
3 Dec 2012
All Blacks flyhalf Dan Carter has been named the IRB’s Player of the Year.
Carter beat New Zealand captain Richie McCaw to the prize, as well as Freddie Michalak from France and Owen Farrell from England.
Predictably, the All Blacks cleaned up in other categories. Apart from securing the Team of the Year gong, Steve Hansen also won the Coach of the Year trophy.

48 Comments
3 Dec 2012, 18:09 pm
Rigged election Dragons!
3 Dec 2012, 18:18 pm
@bokfan1-1: yeah,should have been Springbok. Someone like Habana,who did a fantastic job in propelling you to third place in the RC
3 Dec 2012, 18:22 pm
@bokke baiter-2: No **** face, Im not saying a Bok.
3 Dec 2012, 18:23 pm
**** = d i c k
3 Dec 2012, 19:02 pm
Travesty! Should have been Farrell. He was dominated by Farrell on Saturday- surely that makes Farrell the best ever!
3 Dec 2012, 19:08 pm
Personally I thought Kieran Read was a stronger contender this year than either of McCaw or Carter.
3 Dec 2012, 19:11 pm
And only 14% of us voted “correctly”…
Glad I’m one of the few.
3 Dec 2012, 19:26 pm
@bokfan1-1: Who would you have selected and why?
3 Dec 2012, 19:46 pm
The ab’s made farrell and co look good.
3 Dec 2012, 20:16 pm
@Kaizan-6: Kieran Read , Kieran Read , Kieran Read , Kieran Read
3 Dec 2012, 20:39 pm
Dan Kara …
3 Dec 2012, 21:09 pm
RT @keocoza: Carter pips McCaw for IRB prize: All Blacks flyhalf Dan Carter has been named the IRB’s Player of the Year. C… http://t.c …
3 Dec 2012, 21:10 pm
The Bokke will destroy the AB’s nex year.
3 Dec 2012, 21:29 pm
@keurboompark: did u see that in your crystal ball?? U should play lotto
3 Dec 2012, 22:09 pm
@supersader-13:
I saw it in your mother’s black lung
4 Dec 2012, 01:30 am
keurboomdork
perhaps you guys should try to beat Argentina first, not escape with lucky draws. won’t be long and they’ll be dominating you guys like the Aussies and ABs do
4 Dec 2012, 01:35 am
@KeurboomPark-14: Oh and how was the Keurboom park primary school graduation party this year?….THICKUNT
4 Dec 2012, 04:26 am
Best in the world.
Carter played well this year,even under an injury cloud, he still played well.
4 Dec 2012, 05:10 am
As an All Black fan I’ll have to agree with some of the posts. I dont think McCaw or Carter deserved to be the best this year. Both played well in certain games but were not consistent. Kieran Reid and Julian Savea should of been nominated from the ABs.
Think it’s time for MCCaw and Carter to retire from international rugby. Prolonging his career with a sabatical is not going to help the All Blacks cause for 2015. Best to get in the likes of Sam Cane, Luke Whitelock and Luke Braid in the number 7 jersey and give them time to peak for the 2015 world cup. Oh and maybe Ardie Savea the 18 year old brother of Julian who will play for the Hurricanes next year. One to watch.
Cruden & Barret to fight it out for the number 10 spot although I think Barret will be the incumbent come 2015.
4 Dec 2012, 05:25 am
@kelefua-18:
The biggest risk any team/coach runs is hanging on to their super stars for too long. History is littered with examples and the professional era only made this harder to avoid.
In the olden days it only meant a guy stop going to training on a Tuesday and Thurday night and spending more time with his wife and kids. These days it is the end of one career and sometimes the beginning of another. What it means though is that players will hang on for dear life until they get kicked out, in most cases a few years to late.
4 Dec 2012, 06:18 am
@keurboomdckhead-14:omg u can’t be serious is that the best u can do?? U probably a boertjie from algoa park
4 Dec 2012, 07:30 am
@kelefua-18:
Sure McCaw and Carter’s shelf life is nearing its use by date, but simply being nominated, and in Carters case winning the IRB Player of the Year prize suggests to me they both have a bit more to offer.
Whether they continue through to the next world cup is neither here nor there.
NZ has a history of always fielding a strong team. Keeping these two guys in the mix when they are clearly still the best in their respective positions is enough for me to say the selectors are doing the right thing by the team.
4 Dec 2012, 08:00 am
did not deserve it.
at all.
4 Dec 2012, 08:34 am
I don’t think McCaw deserved it. I KNOW FARREL AND MICHALAK DAMN SURE didn’t deserve it. That leaves Carter. I’m good with him getting it. Still king of all flyhalves.
4 Dec 2012, 08:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22:
The right person won it….cheer up
4 Dec 2012, 08:58 am
@Hurricane-24:
All merit awards are based on subjective decisions. If a person doesn’t like the decision, that is understandable.
But they should at least have the gumption to put up a better alternative to the and winner and, more importantly, justify it.
Hating an individual or an entire body of people does not remotely qualify as a worthy argument for dismissing the winner out of hand.
4 Dec 2012, 09:06 am
@Brads-25:
Well said.
4 Dec 2012, 09:41 am
I would have given nominations to players like Jane, Savea or Read. Jane has been amazing for a player of his size. Even Dagg is a better option. But rather Carter than McCaw, I thought McCaw was rather average this year, one of the best flankers but not one of the best players.
Read, Jane, Michalak and Etsebeth were the most consistantly dominant players this year.
Best loose forward, Best outside back, best inside back and best tight forward.
4 Dec 2012, 10:52 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: @umfolozi-5: @bokfan1-1:
Well Oke Dokes,
The Selection panel was:
John Eales (AUS, 1991-2001) – Convenor
Will Greenwood (ENG, 1997-2004)
Gavin Hastings (SCO, 1986-1995)
Francois Pienaar (RSA, 1993-1996)
Paul Wallace (IRE, 1995-2002)
Scott Quinnell (WAL, 1993-2002)
Agustin Pichot (ARG, 1995-2007)
Tana Umaga (NZL, 1997-2005)
Raphel Ibanez (FRA, 1996-2007)
And I may be going out on a limb here………………………………….
But ……………………………….I think they have some Street Credibility. Unlike your good selves.
4 Dec 2012, 10:55 am
@KeurboomPark-14: FUNNYFUCKER!!:D
4 Dec 2012, 10:56 am
@Brads-25: GREAT argument.
4 Dec 2012, 10:58 am
@cane-28: Do you really think these were good nominations? No Reid or Savea? But McCaw? I think Dan deserved a nomination though.
Did you really think McCaw was better than Fourie du Preez or Heinrich Brussouw in 2009? Shane Williams in 2008?
Let’s be honest these things are generally pretty shockingly done.
4 Dec 2012, 11:11 am
@Bagel-31:
I personly think Kieran Read would have been a deserving winner.
But hey, I’m just saying that is a mighty impressive table to sit around and discuss the options.
And their decision,
while it may not have been mine,
sits well enough with me.
I suspect bakkies and bokfan have other reasons for calling the decision into question, other than RUGBY REASONS.
4 Dec 2012, 11:20 am
@cane-32: Well Cane let’s forget about Bakkies and Bokfan.
I despise Poppa but I don’t insult New Zealanders. There are a lot of us around and our grievances with these awards are rugby ones.
But whatever, doesn’t really matter in the end.
4 Dec 2012, 11:38 am
@cane-28:
Nah, they’re all has beens.
4 Dec 2012, 11:44 am
@Bagel-33:
True enough.
4 Dec 2012, 11:45 am
@David-34:
Yes David, also true.
But a fine bunch of has beens just the same.
4 Dec 2012, 16:05 pm
Dan Carter is the best player on the planet period. Etsebeth can win this next year and I reckon JP Pietersen would have a good chance if injury-free.
4 Dec 2012, 17:53 pm
@supersader-20:
whatever, w@nker. We will crush your team.
4 Dec 2012, 18:27 pm
@keurboom38: can you explain why you think so? Because we lost to england and boks won against them?? Did mommy let you use the internet while she cooks
4 Dec 2012, 20:43 pm
@supersader-39:
Your time at the top is over. The Bok jugganaught is going to destroy your team. Like Aussie cricket – all good cheats get naaid in the end. Nag vir julle skaapies. Gaan soek jou ma, pielneus.
4 Dec 2012, 21:46 pm
@KeurboomPark-40: Hey DUMBKUNT,your nappy needs changing ,I can smell the scheisse from here !
4 Dec 2012, 23:05 pm
Boring.
4 Dec 2012, 23:05 pm
Boring results.
5 Dec 2012, 18:40 pm
@Bagel-31:
The reason why F du Preez did not win in 2008, when he and BOD were clearly the best players and McCaw was outplayed by Brossouw is…
John Eales is a self proclaimed SA hater and Pienaar is so diplomatic he borders on being a brown nose
There seems to be an underlying current in rugby circles to please NZ too
6 Dec 2012, 06:43 am
@blik-44:
fukkem
6 Dec 2012, 09:41 am
Guys, great performances in test matches is what counts. Carter had 2 or 3 sublime games this year. If S15 form was the measure, then Sonny Bill would have walked it in 2011 – he didn’t even get nominated.
That is why JPP is far from a deserving winner.
9 Dec 2012, 02:54 am
@KeurboomPark-12: yes we live in hope :-0)
its always next year eh cuz.Like the Pom supporters next year, next year and yes * years later they put together a win that somehow justifies their existence. At least the Boks have been able to compete since their WC victory and at least didnt fall off the perch totally as the Poms did.
How is it the AB’s lose one game at the end of season, one from 20 and a team that hasnt beaten them in 9 years is suddenly looking the goods. Tall poppy is alive and well world over I think. Merry Xmas all, have a safe one for all of you and those close to you.