Carter pips McCaw for IRB prize

All Blacks flyhalf Dan Carter has been named the IRB’s Player of the Year.

Carter beat New Zealand captain Richie McCaw to the prize, as well as Freddie Michalak from France and Owen Farrell from England.

Predictably, the All Blacks cleaned up in other categories. Apart from securing the Team of the Year gong, Steve Hansen also won the Coach of the Year trophy.