Saru confirms Bok schedule to 2015

Saru has confirmed the Springboks’ home fixtures up to the 2015 World Cup and that it will be taking over the running of Test matches in South Africa.

The Boks will face their 2015 World Cup Pool B opponents, Scotland and Samoa (as well as Italy), in a new tournament featuring double-header Test matches in 2013.

According to a statement from Saru, fans will be able to watch two Tests for the price of one after a decision of the Executive Council (Exco) overhauled the way that Tests are run in South Africa. For the first time in Springbok history, Tests will be solely hosted by the mother body.

The decision was taken by the Exco after consulting the 14 member provinces. The Exco also took the unique step of announcing the Test schedule for the next three seasons – featuring Tests in Nelspruit for the first time.

However, Saru cautioned that all matches were subject to conclusion of commercial terms with planned hosting venues.

‘Saru was the only major union in world rugby that didn’t properly own its own Test matches,’ explained CEO Jurie Roux. ‘The decision by the Exco now gives ownership to Saru.

‘The key benefits will be in allowing us to plough a share of the profits back into all the provincial unions and, that by controlling the ticket office and all commercial activity in the stadium, we will be able to provide an experience for our stakeholders on a par with what we experience when playing overseas.’

The Saru statement says that the existing model had seen rugby’s governing body effectively ‘sell’ Springbok Test matches to the major provinces. The Test-hosting unions paid a rights fee (the amount of which was dependent on the stature of the opponent) and then set ticket prices and kept all receipts as well as commercialising aspects of the match as they saw fit.

‘This is a major change in how rugby is run and will present challenges,’ said Roux. ‘But the major effect is that it has placed Springbok Tests in the ownership of the mother body, for the benefit of all rugby’s stakeholders.

‘We are taking the Springboks to a new venue in 2013 and have an exciting new competition format for the June Tests – by coincidence against two of our World Cup opponents of 2015. We have also been able to map out a home fixture schedule for the next three years – something the provinces had also wanted.’

The new-look quadrangular tournament for 2013 is between the Springboks, their 2015 opponents, Scotland and Samoa, as well as Italy.

The tournament – which will be played on a log basis over two rounds to determine finalists – will open at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on 8 June.

BOKS’ 2013 HOME FIXTURES

QUADRANGULAR TOURNAMENT
Saturday, 8 June (Mbombela Stadium): Scotland vs Samoa; Springboks vs Italy
Saturday, 15 June (Kings Park): Samoa vs Italy; Springboks vs Scotland
Saturday, 22 June (Loftus Versfeld): Team 3 vs Team 4; Team 1 vs Team 2

RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
Saturday, 17 August (Free State Stadium): Springboks vs Argentina
Saturday, 28 September (Newlands): Springboks vs Australia
Saturday, 5 October (Ellis Park): Springboks vs New Zealand

BOKS’ 2014 HOME FIXTURES (dates TBC)

INCOMING TOUR
Springboks vs Wales (Johannesburg)
Springboks vs Wales (Nelspruit)
Springboks vs Scotland (Port Elizabeth)

RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
Springboks vs Argentina (Pretoria)
Springboks vs Australia (Cape Town)
Springboks vs New Zealand (Johannesburg)

BOKS’ 2015 HOME FIXTURES (dates TBC, no incoming tour)

RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP

Springboks vs Argentina (Cape Town)
Springboks vs Australia (Durban)
Springboks vs New Zealand (Johannesburg)

191 Comments

• 1.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Profit dragons?

• 2.David: Reply to this comment

Jhb gets all 3 AB matches. What the f… is going on?

• 3.kleindaan1: Reply to this comment

@keocoza can you confirm the entire 2013 Rugby Championship schedule #Want to plan a trip to Argie

• 4.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Thank the cpt all blacks…. I’m delighted

• 5.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

May as well use the june comp for Bok B experimenting…

• 6.digger: Reply to this comment

Tough one for Cape Town. Hey at least the Crusaders still come to town and the tickets are cheaper anyway. And it is the rightful people who should be in the Boks against most of the All Blacks.

• 7.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

Shees I don’t know why the Cape Town okes are moaning above. They get a RC match every year!

Durban gets Scotland in 2013…… then….. wait for it……. no wait for it….. 2014…… No ….. nothing……… 2015 ….. yes… 1 x Australia game in 2015… and that’s all…!!! Nothing else. Absolute joke.

1 RC match in 4 years…!? (they didn’t get one this year 2012) and had Australia in 2011. 1 in 4 friggin years!!! You gotta be joking!!

Meanwhile Joburg gets the All Blacks every year?! And 2 games in 2014 with a 3rd in Pretoria…

SARU…. that’s not right hey!

• 8.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

We should play the AB’s in Kimberly. That would be lekker on their legs :)

• 9.Rugby-1: Reply to this comment

@Charging Rhino-6:

Is that the same Kings Park that was nowhere near full for the 1st test against England? Compare that attendance to the 2nd test at Ellis Park and the AB games at Soccer City and you should have your answer. Never mind the dismal attendance at the CC final…..

• 10.Rugby-1: Reply to this comment

And Ellis Park didn’t have a Test for 3 years until 2012, swings and roundabouts

• 11.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

There must be a mistake. Durban hardly features at all???????

• 12.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Thank the gods the All Blacks are not playing in CT or PE for the foreseeable future!!!!!!!

• 13.kwas: Reply to this comment

Changing the Kiwi booze culture

NZ’s binge-drinking culture has long been a source of nationwide debate, but how can we change our boozing ways?

• 14.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

Its properly retarded to have a “final” after two round of games in a four team “tournament”. Would make a lot more sense for the third match day just to be used to complete a round robin.

Why do “Sanzar” countries (in this case just SA) come up with these weird formats. Are they really that stupid?

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

Charging Rhino…

Perhaps when you can fill the Tank for a Test Durbs may gain more serious consideration… The Tank is not full for domestic semis or even finals either… So why should Tests be scheduled there when the locals prove time after time that they do not watch rugby in big numbers any more.

Cape Town nearly always supports rugby to capacity. The locals prove time after time we support rugby more than any other city in SA…
    So yes.. it is a legitimate gripe that we don’t get more Tests.

Your gripe on the other hand is spurious and just for the sake of griping… Maybe when you can fill your stadium for your local franchise games you can start arguing that you deserve more internationals.

• 16.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

I’m a stormers fan and I have said for a while that we should never play the AB’s in Cape Town ever again, stop feeding the cape crusaders, let them whatch their ‘team’ from the tele.

I will enjoy our Aussie and Argie games here in Cape Town, no need to fill my beloved newlands with turncoats.

Samoa will be a good challenge, looks like HM might have a tougher SH tour than expected.

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-14:
    this is true.

• 18.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ufo-14:

Its got nothing to do with attendance but politics.

Cape Town and now Durban are being strangled slowly to move to the new stadiums and SARU is in on the act.

Baaastards!!!!

• 19.nortierd: Reply to this comment

It makes sense to play the AB’s on the field where they generally struggle against the Boks.
    Then the Boks will have to come to the party and ensure they keep that status quo.
    No use picking that venue and start losing against them there,then it defies the object.

• 20.ufo: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-15:

i’m also a stormers and bok supporter…

and don’t have a problem at all with anyone supporting the ABs or whoever else they feel like it…

whoever we play at newlands there are always people who live in cape town supporting the other team… more so in fact when it’s the cheetahs, bulls and especially the sharks… and to a lesser extent the overseas franchises…

have said before that when aus played in durbs a year or so back… breyton was interviewing fans before the game… he chatted to some bok supporters and then said he’ll get some aus supporters to chat to… so he went up to a group of young girls all wearing aus jerseys… so when he starts chatting they all speak with south african accents… so he asks them why and they say they like the aussies…

so how come people don’t complain about the local durban chicks supporting the aussies…?

so what who people support…? in this day and age every place has supporters from other places… no big deal…

if they help fill the stadiums and add to the atmosphere they’re just as welcome as the local supporters…

IMO…

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:

• 21.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-17:

that just may be Mr B…

but Durbs would have a much stronger argument if more Durbanites actually went along to the games…

• 22.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@ufo-20:

I think it was Sharksgirl who once said the locals rather watch rugby on Television than go to the stadium. I for one love watching the games live and feeling the vibes. Unfortunately they are limited to Loftus at the moment, so one Super 15 game and one Kerie Koppie game for me.

• 23.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Interested to see what this does for ticket prices. Old Mallett will be doing his happy dance!

• 24.David: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-17:
    I don’t think so, otherwise there wouldn’t be two tests at the Coke Tin. The other just says Jhb.
    Remember that SARU owns these tests now, so they could use whatever stadium they want, as far as I’m aware.
    I think SARU just looked at the numbers and decided on where the most money was.

• 25.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@ufo-19:

so how come people don’t complain about the local durban chicks supporting the aussies…?

Maybe because the local Durban chicks don’t go around acting like idiots and bad-mouthing the Springboks in the process?

• 26.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-21:

tv is great for sure… getting the instant replays from different angles etc is very cool…

but nothing beats going to the game live IMO… (and you do get replays – although Newlands’ pathetic little screen is terrible…)

tv is like watching through empty loo rolls and you can only see so much of the play… live you can see moves being set up and strategies being implemented… much more exciting… plus always takes farlookers along to watch things like the set pieces really close up…

and then there’s the live crowd which always adds excitement to the game experience…

first prize for me it to watch at the stadium… then go home and watch the recording more analytically…

• 27.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-24:

Morning! You get some supporters who throw bottles at the players, tackle refs, etc… They are locals supporting local teams… Horrible indeed… No use pointing fingers at certain provinces, it happens everywhere…

• 28.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-24:

i don’t come across people like that very often… but yes have seen that occasionally… more the exception than the rule…

but… (and i know i’ll get it in the neck here although i’m not trying to stir… just trying to make the point honestly…)

but… almost every time the sharks play at newlands some of their fans will get really offensive… especially when the sharks win… (which is more often than not these days… :wink: )

also once had a cheetahs fan going nuts and offending everyone within ear-shot…

but that doesn’t make every sharks or cheetah fan a ********… they are the exceptions… just as the few AB fans who go OTT are exceptions too…

but seems you think it’s okay to be offensive about local teams if you support another local team but not if you support a foreign team…?

to me it’s never acceptable to get OTT offensive… no matter which team you support… but the banter in the stands adds to the experience…

point i’m trying to make is that this is not unique to cape town or to the local fans who support the ABs or crusaders… there are fans like this at every venue in south africa… and the world…

so why does everyone only go on about those in cape town…?

seriously… would like people to explain that sensibly to me…

• 29.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-26:

exactly…

let’s not forget where piet van zyl attacked the ref…

• 30.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-26:

Howzit Gumboots, yes you do get idiots everywhere in the world but that does not mean it is ok. Besides, what we talking about are local supporting a team against their own national team. In itself not the end of the world but to then carry on and bad-mouthing them in a very vocal way makes it worse.

• 31.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

the ones in Cpt steek jou met ‘n mes … groot verskil pappie

• 32.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-29:

Talking about unruly…. Did you read about the 15 or 16 year old football players from Holland that attacked the linesman (I think) and he later died. What is happening to this world…

• 33.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@ufo-27:

Where did I say it is ok to be offensive?

If you go back to my post I clearly said the difference is that one group act like idiots and the other not and maybe that is the reaon why people complain about one and not the other.

• 34.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-31:

Ja I saw that, how terrible!

• 35.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

I believe you project the team you support. If you are acting like a fool and supporting the All Blacks then it looks bad on the All Blacks. I just don’t want Springbok supporters behaving the same way… Television shows them in Black and White…

• 36.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Have to run… chat later…

• 37.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-32:

but bud… in this case you are wrong… you are generalizing…

it is not one GROUP acting like idiots and the other not…

it is a few idiots in EACH group who behave like fools…

so why reserve your criticism for only one GROUP…??

and by not criticising or condemning idiots from any other group you are, by omission, condoning such behaviour in other groups…

• 38.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-35:

cheers bud…

me too… gotta get some work done…

• 39.ufo: Reply to this comment

Slarti…

gotta go now…

great chatting as always… can pick this up later…

have a great day…

• 40.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-34:

Nah Gumboots, you only reflect yourself and the colour of your jumper is incidental. I remember after we lost to England in Perth in 2003 there was this one bloke in his pom jumper amongst the thousand or so green jerseys at Boktown after the match. I went up to him and said he is a very brave man and he said no, he knows we are all good and prefer to spend time with us as true rugby lovers. I ended up having a number of beers with the bloke.

Compare him with the idiot also in a white jumper taunting me when I left the stadium…

• 41.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I see political people.

Until KZNRU and Province move to their respective new stadiums, this lack of tests will continue.

Oh well, the 2 provinces are just going to have to host S15 and domestic semis and finals.

Again.

• 42.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Its so funny…. when the Bok team was announced ALL Stormers & Province supporters said they would never support the Boks again… every second WP tikkop created a “raak ontslae van heyneke” – facebook page … they forced meyer to pic j de jongh (who failed big time) …. and now they shout R APE when the dont get a test? wtf?

• 43.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@ufo-36:

Nope, the ‘group’ in this case are the ones acting like idiots. Nowhere do I include the wider group behaving well…

Anyway, chat to both of you later…

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-26:
    agreed.
    its backward uncivilised behaviour when fans cross the line from good natured ribbing done in good spirit, and which makes the occasion more fun, to abusive, agressive, threatening and sometimes violent behaviour.

assault is assault whether in a stadium or shopping mall and whatever the kind (verbal, mental, physical) and should not be tolerated. personally i view guys who drunkenly abuse other supporters who are female, males smaller than them, children with special contempt.

if you wanna be a doos and you fancy yourself a breker then at least have the guts to pick fights with guys in your weight division or bigger.

@ufo-28:
    true true
    or those two bonheads who bottled the blues player at loftus. they deserved everything they got.

(and on this subject i just want to say i am still deeply dissapointed as well as disgusted with the nzru, the blues franchise and the auckland stadium management for their classless, gutless and shameful cover up of the shakrs player bottling incident.)

• 45.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

we havent beaten the ABs in joburg in a few years now, last time we got thrashed
    i dont get it?

• 46.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Also Natal can’t complain… there were more people in a day on keo.co.za than there was at the Boks vs England, Curie Cup Semi & Currie Cup final in Durbs!

• 47.David: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-41:
    Hell, you can spout unadulterated and exaggerated rubbish. And CapeTown is getting Tests, just not the ABs, which are all going to Jhb.

• 48.katman: Reply to this comment

Sht just got real for the president.

http://mg.co.za/article/2012-12-07-00-secret-report-reveals-how-millions-flowed-to-zuma

Massive flocks of chickens returning home to roost here.

• 49.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-41:
    JDJ failed big time?
    you are delusional mate
    anyone playing 13 for the boks looks average next JDV

• 50.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-48:

Watch Paul Jordaan next super rugby season, running off Steyn, and skip passes from Lambie with JP in support

• 51.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I see Durbs is sucking the hindtit on test rugby for the next few years…

This has NOTHING to do with attendance… Mbombela Stadium. WTF???

This is political.

Sharks independence and continued commercial success, linked with Mr Price, is obviously a thorn in SARUs side…

I foresee some “disagreements” coming up in other spheres too – especially the systemisation/standardisation of SA Tactics/Skills/Style led by Rassie…

Keep giving them the middle finger boys…

• 52.Brads: Reply to this comment

Here are where the last “few” tests the Bokke have hosted the AB’s have been staged.
    2005 Cape Town
    2006 Pretoria
    2006 Rustenburg
    2007 Durban
    2008 Cape Town
    2009 Bloefontein
    2009 Durban
    2010 Johannesburg
    2011 Pt Elizabeth
    2012 Soweto/Jo-burg

• 53.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Some very spurious generalisations from the “superior” Capies here…

Farkem. I reckon their national pride stretches at most to the Green and Gold Boks or Proteas… For the rest they dont even consider themselves Saffa…

Anyone who points this out is “bitter” or “jealous”, hey?… Because the Cape peanut can’t actually fathom why their superiority complex could be questioned… Why some “savage” from elsewhere in SA could criticise the Cape, or CapeTonians… It must be “jealousy” because Cape Town is so much better than the rest of SA, indeed the rest of Africa… It must be “bitterness” at not being a class apart, as in Cape Town…

Farken deluded, denuded idiots…

• 54.Brads: Reply to this comment

And here are where the Bokke have played at home since 2005
    2005 East_London
    2005 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2005 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth
    2005 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2005 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2005 Newlands, Cape Town
    2006 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2006 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth
    2006 Newlands, Cape Town
    2006 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2006 Royal Bafokeng Stm, Rustenburg
    2006 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2007 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
    2007 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2007 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2007 Newlands, Cape Town
    2007 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2007 Newlands, Cape Town
    2008 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
    2008 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2008 Newlands, Cape Town
    2008 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2008 Newlands, Cape Town
    2008 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2008 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2009 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2009 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2009 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2009 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
    2009 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2009 Newlands, Cape Town
    2010 Newlands, Cape Town
    2010 Witbank
    2010 East_London
    2010 Soweto, Johannesburg
    2010 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2010 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
    2011 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2011 N. Mandela Bay, Pt Elizabeth
    2012 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
    2012 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
    2012 N. Mandela Bay, Pt Elizabeth
    2012 Newlands, Cape Town
    2012 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
    2012 Soweto, Johannesburg

• 55.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-49:
    that sharks 10-12-13 axis is the future of bok rugby

• 56.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-52:
    cape town for the win

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-54: 100% should be… They have next year’s S15 to prove this beyond doubt. It is up to them to do so.

• 58.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-49: Sheezus, thats a beyootiful thought…

• 59.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-52:
    youre probably one of those people who criticise cape town and its people but when it comes to the holiday season, its folks like you who come down south to pollute our beaches, our mountain and roads with your poor driving.

• 60.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-58: Nope… When I do go to Cape Town, it is for business and I fly there. I don’t go there for a holiday. I go to better places, in SA, and out of SA…

Talking about bad driving – Cape drivers, especially CY, are the farken worst drivers on the planet, outside Qataris… FACT

• 61.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59:
    CY drivers aren’t real Capetonian ones. The genuine CA drivers take their time and wander along enjoying the scenery and bask in how lucky they are. :wink:

• 62.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

i sense slight bitterness
    its okay, take a deep breath
    its not your fault you werent born in cape town

• 63.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-60: Hehe

• 64.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

So the direct implication of this change in SARU policy will be that:

The Big Unions will have to drop the prices of their season tickets, as it now excludes an annual Bok test,

The Big Unions will now lose all associated profits from hosting an annual test,

Therefore, the net result is that the Big Union player budgets will diminish and fewer of our top players will be kept in South Africa.

Thanks SARU, for another royal stuff up.

On the plus side – for the freeloaders – the smaller unions will get a slightly bigger allocation, thus enabling to keep stars of mediocrity like Draadkar van Straaten, Beerbelly Bruwer and Foxtrot Fouche from retiring until well into their forties.

Well done, SARU. What a bunch of winners you are.

• 65.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-61: I have pre-empted you… Clearly like the rest of your kind, it is as I said, you just don’t get it… But then again you wont get it either… You are “superior” to the rest of SA…

Now take that “savage” Sharks out of your nic and replace it with the “superior” Stormers…

It suits you better… It is “better”, yes?

• 66.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59:

Actually

CFM are the worst.

CompletelyFuckingMad.

• 67.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-63:
    The quasi hosting of a major event can be a good earner, even if it doesn’t include clipping the gate ticket.

• 68.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

So we get the Aussies at Newlands.

Perfect.

It’s a game we will most likely win. So the “gees” will be great, no AB Capies to beat down, so all is good.

FYI we will almost ALWAYS play the AB’s at altitude in South Africa. That’s the way it will be mostly.

As for Durbs, you okes couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery. A home Currie Cup final, you were strong favorites and you couldn’t get off your arses long enough to take the trip to the stadium. That’s what you get.

Test rugby venues are all about winning and revenue. Newlands will guarantee a sell out whilst Durbs…..well.

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-64:

Bloody Grinch

Jirre you are miserable

• 70.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-67:

Come now Stormersboy, dont be like that!

Kingspark sells just as much tickets to SA supporters than Newlands for test.

The fact that Newlands look fuller has got nothing to do with SA supporters.

• 71.ufo: Reply to this comment

lovin in…!!

• 72.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69:
    no
    it does not not

• 73.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69: That comment was said very tongue in cheek with someone specific in mind.

Natal gets Scotland and italy, games that will probably be much more entertaining than the others.

• 74.ufo: Reply to this comment

grrrr…

Lovin it…!!

@Mr Black-69:

that may be your opinion mr b…. but it has no basis in fact…

sure there are people at newlands who support foreign teams like the all black (and the sharks)… but they are a very small proportion of the crowd…

they are vocal of course and attract the attention of the tv cams… but no way are our figures dependent on them…

if your assertion was true then newlands would only be full for ab, crusader and hurricane games… and only half-full for every other game… this is clearly not the case…

fact is we’re more often close to full no matter who the oppostion is…

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-63: hahahaha this is a prelude to CENTRALISED CONTRACTING of players ;)

head for your bunker Taccy…

• 76.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69:
    actually, i dont really know the answer to that, am just guessing they dont.
    it might be worth a look for interests sake.

• 77.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69:
    just to be clear are we comparing attendance between kings park and newlands figures for springbok games only, right?

i’ll take a look as that’s easier to do than checking for super rugby and currie cup too.

• 78.outrightrugby: Reply to this comment

Great info in this piece.

Got to say, love the idea of two tests on the same day – think about it – it can only be a success. Will create a festival rugby vibe that RSA hasn’t experienced before.

Massive problems with this schedule though. Notably all All Blacks tests in JHB over 3 years and no tests in DBN in 2014.

As every bok fan has their favorite opposition, no one stadium should host the same major opposition two years in a row. I.E. JHB should have Arg 2013, NZ 2014, AUS 2015 and vice versa. With the schedule as it is, someone in Cape Town or Durban might go 5 or 6 years without getting a home Kiwi match. That isn’t first world rugby planning.

• 79.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69:

Hahaha.

• 80.willievz: Reply to this comment

@David-23: Johannesburg (read Ellis Park / Coke Tin) is the only place where we can beat the All Blacks.

• 81.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Up to and including round 15 of this year’s Super Rugby comp here is the averageattendance figures:

Stormers: 42 729 per match
    Bulls: 35 658
    Lions 24 318
    Sharks 23 431
    Cheetahs 19 033

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

2011 Avergage for the full season:

Stormers: 41 850 per match
    Bulls: 32 105
    Sharks 29 140
    Lions 22 351
    Cheetahs 20 187

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Average.
    Not avergage

• 84.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Attendance figures over five games at each venure:

Newlands capacity = 51 900

South Africa vs Argentina – DHL Newlands, Cape Town – 18 August 2012 17:00 attendance = 38843
    South Africa vs Australia – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 08 August 2009 17:00 attendance = 48397
    South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 16 August 2008 15:00 attendance = 49653
    South Africa vs Italy – Newlands, Cape Town – 21 June 2008 15:00 – attendance = 36623
    South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 06 August 2005 15:00 attendance = 49118

Total attendance = 222 634

Kings Park capacity = 55 000

South Africa vs Australia – Mr Price Kings Park, Durban – 13 August 2011 17:05 attendance = 47850
    South Africa vs New Zealand – The Absa Stadium, Durban – 01 August 2009 17:00 attendance = 43149
    South Africa vs British & Irish Lions – The Absa Stadium, Durban – 20 June 2009 15:00 attendance = 49055
    South Africa vs Australia – The Absa Stadium Durban – 23 August 2008 15:00 attendance = 48123
    South Africa vs New Zealand – The Absa Stadium Durban – 23 June 2007 15:00 attendance = 54112

Total attendance = 242 289

• 85.David: Reply to this comment

@willievz-79:
    Rubbish. :lol: We beat them at Newlands under Jake. Besides, only 2 of the Jhb matches state Coke Tin. The 3rd is just Jhb, which I assume is Soweto.

• 86.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-81:

This proves that Newlands should get all the Tests, right?

• 87.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83:

Oops Durban should get all the tests!!! :lol:

• 88.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-69:
    well how about that for a misperception.
    durban in fact sells more test tickets that newlands does.

i was wrong.

• 89.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Interesting , but British Lions and NZ games are always gonna be better than Italy or the Pumas.

• 90.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-86:

ja, seems like it.

• 91.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bakkies @ 83: u missed the Newlands Test vs France in 2010.

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is the attendance figures for the Rugby championship, in order of attendance:

South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 94713 21 Aug 2010
    South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 80753 6 Oct 2012
    Australia South Africa Sydney 77048 29 Jul 2000
    South Africa Australia Johannesburg 63000 17 Aug 2002
    South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 62857 14 Aug 2004
    South Africa Australia Johannesburg 62308 22 Aug 1998
    Australia South Africa Sydney 60522 5 Aug 2006
    South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 57233 19 Aug 2000
    South Africa Australia Johannesburg 54219 30 Aug 2008
    Australia South Africa Sydney 52788 23 Jul 2011
    South Africa New Zealand Durban 52500 10 Aug 2002
    South Africa New Zealand Durban 52500 23 Jun 2007
    South Africa Australia Durban 52247 21 Aug 2004
    South Africa Australia Durban 52000 26 Aug 2000
    Australia South Africa Brisbane 51188 2 Aug 2003
    Australia South Africa Sydney 51174 7 Jul 2007
    South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 51000 10 Aug 1996
    South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 51000 19 Jul 1997
    South Africa Australia Cape Town 51000 16 Jun 2007
    South Africa Australia Johannesburg 50178 9 Sep 2006
    South Africa Australia Pretoria 50000 28 Jul 2001
    South Africa New Zealand Pretoria 50000 19 Jul 2003
    South Africa Australia , Pretoria 50000 30 Jul 2005
    South Africa New Zealand , Pretoria 50000 26 Aug 2006
    South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49720 21 Jul 2001
    South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49653 16 Aug 2008
    South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49118 6 Aug 2005
    South Africa Australia Pretoria 49000 23 Aug 1997
    South Africa New Zealand Pretoria 49000 7 Aug 1999 Details
    New Zealand South Africa Christchurch 49000 22 Jul 2000
    South Africa Australia Cape Town 48678 12 Jul 2003
    South Africa Australia Cape Town 48397 8 Aug 2009
    South Africa Australia Durban 48123 23 Aug 2008
    South Africa Australia , Cape Town 48000 14 Aug 1999
    South Africa Australia , Durban 47850 13 Aug 2011
    Australia South Africa Brisbane 47481 5 Sep 2009
    South Africa New Zealand Durban 45000 15 Aug 1998
    New Zealand South Africa Auckland 45000 25 Aug 2001
    South Africa Australia Pretoria 44463 29 Sep 2012
    Australia South Africa Brisbane 44284 24 Jul 2010
    South Africa New Zealand Port Elizabeth 43918 20 Aug 2011
    Australia South Africa Perth 43278 20 Aug 2005
    South Africa Australia Pretoria 43152 28 Aug 2010
    South Africa New Zealand Durban 43149 1 Aug 2009
    Australia South Africa Perth 42658 18 Aug 2001
    Australia South Africa Perth 42507 31 Jul 2004
    Australia South Africa Sydney 41850 13 Jul 1996
    Australia South Africa Perth 41828 19 Jul 2008
    Australia South Africa Brisbane 41578 15 Jul 2006
    New Zealand South Africa Dunedin 41500 10 Jul 1999

• 93.ufo: Reply to this comment

i wonder what those figures would be like if durban hosted italy and argentina…?

and if newlands hosted the Lions…??

• 94.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-88:
    come on, lets not split hairs though.
    the springboks are the springboks and rightfully should sell out no matter who the opposition are, every time.

• 95.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

If you look at the Rugby championship as a guide, it is clear that both Newlands and whatever the KZNRU is calling their stadium these days both sell out, or close to sell out each time.

• 96.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-90:
    yes, you’re right.

as well the South Africa vs England, Mr Price Kings Park, Durban, 09 June 2012 17:00 because it did not list the attendance figure for the match..?..

• 97.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-79: That and Moftus.

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-90:
    i think if i did it going back by date it would make the newlands total attendance even less as i would have to exclude the: (South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 06 August 2005 15:00 attendance = 49118) – test which was the second highest attendance total.

• 99.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83: Game Set and Match…

Dynamite Stadium.

• 100.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-92:
    come on ufo, newlands certainly is capable of doing better, irrespective the opposition.

• 101.willievz: Reply to this comment

• 102.willievz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-96:

Don’t know bud.

When last did we beat them at Moftus?

I remember the 52 -16 debacle…that was 2003. Was that the latest test to date?

• 103.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-91:

you’re missing the match below:

South Africa vs England – Mr Price Kings Park, Durban – 09 June 2012 17:00

• 104.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

So i win!

Yay!!!!

• 105.willievz: Reply to this comment

We certainly have a habit of smashing the Aussies at Moftus.

But not the ABs.

The altitude factor is a myth.

• 106.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-99:

c’mon bakks…

you gotta compare apples n apples…

comparing attendance for italy and the ab/aus/lions is not a fair comparison…

but what your figures do show is that for top tier internationals… both stadiums pack them in…

• 107.willievz: Reply to this comment

I say play all AB tests in Kimberley ;)

Just ask Cane.

He hates it there.

• 108.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Perceptions can be a bhitch!! :lol:

Sharks Rule!!

• 109.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-98:
    ja, well done kings park.

• 110.ufo: Reply to this comment

now if sharks fans can just and watch their own domestic games…

• 111.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Kingspark looks empty on TV, but the supporters are watching from the pubs.

#wehavingit

• 112.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ufo-109:

Yes, i agree. Thats the thing i like about capetonians, they seem to fill the stadium quite well for domestic games. I tip my hat to you!

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-105:
    yes they do.

• 114.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93:

Nah , you can’t expect games against Italy or the Pumas to sell out. Not at Newlands , Ellis Park or any 45 000 + stadium.

• 115.gunther: Reply to this comment

I’d like to see the stats at Ellis Park vs the All Bkacks.

I’m quite sure that its our best ground against them results wise.

And I know for a fact that they don’t like playing there.

• 116.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@gunther-114:

I think Boet Erasmus got the best stats

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-109:
    this is true

• 118.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-111:

most gracious of your sir…!

and i to you…!

• 119.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-114: You can wade through this if you like:

http://stats.espnscrum.com/scrum/rugby/records/team/highest_attendance.html?id=27;type=trophy

• 120.cane: Reply to this comment

What’s this !!!!!
    ALL Tests vs NZ at Altitude!!!!!!!!!.
    for the next 3 yrs.

At Ellis Park.

Is this some kind of payback,
    for the Lions,
    by the SARU, for shafting them.

• 121.ufo: Reply to this comment

@cane-119:

that is actually an excellent point there cane…

• 122.cane: Reply to this comment

Does the SARU own Ellis Park?

I ask this because, in NZ Ellis park is (or was) often referred to as SARU HQ.

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-119:
    i wouldn’t worry about the altitude as much as i would the continued fitness of your captain and the ‘appropriate, correct and fair’ application of the rules and laws, if i were you.

• 124.gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz-104:

Absolutely Loftus is a disaster as far as playing the AB’s is concerned.

Should be reserved strictly for the Ozzies.

• 125.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-118:

I was looking for the short answer.

I’ll put my people on to it.

• 126.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-124:

I thought you might have been.

Sorry i am all analyzed out!

• 127.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-52:

Hows life in Pretoria suurgat?

• 128.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-121:
    Newlands is SARU HQ.
    The new approach means that SARU will only hire the stadiums, whereas in the past the union would bid for a test and hope to make a profit over their bid figure.

• 129.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-111:
    I nod in your general direction.

• 130.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-125:

Could be worse,

You could be Crying Game and be all analised out.

• 131.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-126:

Storming in with a bat in your hands swinging wildly :lol:

• 132.ufo: Reply to this comment

@cane-121:

owned by Golden Lions

• 133.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-121:
    HQ is at newlands (dont ask, who knows?)
    probably for historical reasons.

not sure about the ownership

its between: Ellis Park Stadium (Pty) Ltd, City of Johannesburg, Orlando Prates FC, Ellis World of Sport (Pty) Ltd, Interza Lesego and others..?..

• 134.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-128:

i acknowledge in your general direction :)

• 135.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-122:

I would say………………………………………………………………bring it on.

• 136.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:

i’m sure “Shaik and Zuma Inc” has got some shares as well.

• 137.cane: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-125:

The man himself.

10,000 congratulations.

• 138.David: Reply to this comment

What is interesting is that SARU only mention specific RC stadiums for 2013 tests. 2014 & 2015 are left as the city, which opens the door for alternative venues that WP and the GLRU might be moving to.

• 139.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-134:
    really?

like Dec 1, 2012 bring it on..?..

• 140.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-135:
    who knows who really owns what and who really owns who in that filthy snakepit.

• 141.cane: Reply to this comment

@David-127: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: @ufo-131:

Thank You Gentlemen.

P.S. The Gentlemen thingy excludes you bakkies.

• 142.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
    SARU don’t own Newlands, that belongs to WPRU. I think SARU just rents space.

ufo-131:
    See Bakkies response.

• 143.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@David-137:

If SARU owns the tests can WPRU do anything if SARU decides to hold the tests at Capetown Stadium?

• 144.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:

We will not be playing England truckie.

• 145.gonzo: Reply to this comment

Instead of Ellis Park it says Joburg for the 2014/2015 games vs NZ. Are they keeping options open and considering risking another game in Soweto?

• 146.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-144:

What do you mean by another game in soweto? Boks has never played in soweto!

• 147.David: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-142:
    I was also wondering about that. After the mess with the Saracens game, it looks like SARU have to consult with the local union regarding any rugby played there.
    Other than hiring out Newlands, WPRU wouldn’t stand to make any other profit from the test. I wonder how SARU will handle ticket sales, which are generally available at the test venue and distributed by the host union?

• 148.David: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-145:
    You’re quite right. Technically FNB isn’t inside Soweto. It’s on the border.

• 149.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@David-146:

True, and how does this affect season tickets?

• 150.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

@gunther-114:

I personally prefer “us” playing the AB’s at Ellis Park – the stadium is much more intimidating than FNB (Soccer City).

The vibe in Ellis Park seems to ‘scare’ opposing teams much more than any other venue – just my humble opinion …

• 151.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@David-147:

Nasrec (sic)

• 152.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

@David-146:

Computicket ??? and the stadium’s ticket office ???

• 153.cane: Reply to this comment

The Hore Thread gets to 10,000,
    and YOU PACK of LOSERS desert the thread.

I am disgusted.

Taa is over there talking to himself. Poor guy.

Have none of you any compassion for your fellow posters?

• 154.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

I would like to see the blacks play a game in Kimberley. Should be a fun game.

• 155.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-141:

not sure what you mean david…

but it is my understanding that Ellis Park is owned by the Golden Lions Rugby Union…

• 156.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@cane-136: Thanks. But that was yesterday……

• 157.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-145: Sorry, you’re right, I fell for the transformation marketing. But the question stands, could they risk playing another game at the stadium they claim on the telly to be in Soweto?

• 158.David: Reply to this comment

@SyKoPlaya-149:
    The vibe outside Ellis Park scares the local supporters as well. :lol:

@Mr Black-148:
    Good question. I reckon SARU need to discuss that with the unions. However, I doubt whether the tests have been included in next years season tickets, since they’ve only just been announced.

• 159.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-153: That would be interesting to watch. Neither team would be willing to hold the ball, it would either be a kick-fest-borathon or touch rugby passing madness

• 160.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-155:

How are you dealing with this instant fame? I don’t think I would have been able to handle it… ;)

• 161.David: Reply to this comment

@ufo-154:
    They sold 51% to Orlando Pirates a few years ago. From what I understand the shareholding is a rats nest of conflicting interests.

• 162.David: Reply to this comment

@SyKoPlaya-151:
    What I was getting at, is that SARU have f all experience in arranging the logistics of ticket sales.

• 163.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

@David-157:

We’re a tough bunch … lol !!!

• 164.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-159: haha you know me.

Feet on the ground….. :)

You well??

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-140:

@David-141:
    yes but i meant saru is headquartered at newlands.

• 166.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David-160:

oh… okay…

must’ve missed that…

thanks for the correction…

and to Bakks…

• 167.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-152:
    Nope. A WP guy won the 10,000 race and that’s the end of it. Once someone has won a race you don’t continue giving the other guys prizes for running further. :evil:

• 168.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-143:
    no, but you may be playing under a ref intent on applying the rules, caner.

• 169.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-130:
    I do what what I can!

• 170.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-164:
    Yup, the spiritual home of SA rugby. :lol:

• 171.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

If it wasn’t for the cape town hooligans, Cpt would get 2 tests a year ….

• 172.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-170:
    Pisssoff, you racist pig

• 173.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

its the truth …. nothing to do with racism ….

• 174.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@cane-121:

From 1965 to 2006 the Transvaal (Golden Lions) RFU was very influential in the SARB (SARU) through its then sequence of strong-willed, connected, influential & politically (used in its broad sense) astute Presidents, Jannie Le Roux, Louis Luyt & Basil van Rooyen, the last two who served as SARU Presidents. {Of the 3 Luyt is also an astute businessman & he performed a financial miracle at the then virtually bankrupt union he inherited from Le Roux).

Hence it is quite understandable that in NZ the idea took hold that SARU power was wielded from Ellis Park rather than Newlands – de facto that was probably the situation for a duration of 4 decades plus…

{Jeesh, how the mighty have fallen! – no wonder the pervasive hysteria about The Kings…}

• 175.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Although Sharks are sucking the hindtit with International games, I am glad Ellis Park has the Lions share of AB games…

Ellis Park is categorically the stadium with the best Test match atmosphere in SA…

It actually sits quite comfortably with other iconic Stadiums like Twickenham, Millenium Stadium, Stade de France in terms of pure atmosphere…

Dynamite Stadium is good, but Ellis Park is great…

No other stadium in SA comes close. FACT

• 176.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-174:
    They should demolish Ellis Park and rename it Dynamite stadium.

• 177.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

The Quadrangular tests seem a good idea but I like the idea of actual tours etc…

I would love to see the rugby calendar go something like this for the Springboks

January -June SuperRugby

June – 3 test match series e.g. Wales or England to tour.

July – August – Rugby Championship

November – Tour Europe 3 Test matches & 2 midweek games against club sides – More players get experience for South Africa ‘A’team which could be given a name ibstead of Emerging springboks and would mean that players already capped could tour and play without being tacklebag holders and also means everyone will get used to SA systems.

The Currie Cup could run from August – October and only 8 week tournament with Springboks being involved from The middle of September to the play-offs.

They would get a break after the June tests until the beginning of rugby championship and from the end of November to the start of January.

• 178.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-174: bloody agent

• 179.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Every thread has died.There is a 3,d force at work.However “Lonely,I,m mister
    lonely”

• 180.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Agreed.Bloody agent.But not HG

• 181.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-174: The late Bill McLaren was once asked which stadium was, in his opinion, was the “best” in the world for test rugby.

His reply went something like this: “Well, in all my years of watching test rugby all around the world and being a Scotsman as well, Murrayfield is obviously very special and dear to me.

“But I once went into a deserted stadium during the week, stood on the centre spot and had a good look around the stadium. I couldn’t help it, the tears just rolled down my cheeks…”

He was talking about Ellis Park.

RIP Bill

• 182.David: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-180:
    I know how he felt. It’s a real tragedy. There’s more bats than supporters.

• 183.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

Do these words mean anything to anyone

I don’t practice Santeria
    I ain’t got no crystal ball
    Well I had a million dollars but I
    I’d spend it all

• 184.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the seating at ellis park is c.rappy, the next person is literally in your face…would still go there but not enthusiastic about about it.

• 185.Finfan: Reply to this comment

It is impressive how people are avoiding the hore.

• 186.damienm: Reply to this comment

@174, actually no…….Opinion

Now that’s a FACT

• 187.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-180: Yes, if anyone knew what they were talking about wrt rugga, it was the great Scotsman – the voice of Rugby…

If he says Ellis Park is special – who are we to argue… I’m not, it sounds like you’re not.

It was my first time to Ellis Park this year for the Bok/Eng test, and I tell you what – the atmosphere blew me away, and my English mates who were with me…

A great stadium transcends “state of the art” or location… Ellis Park is in a sh.itty spot, but hellsteeth the spirit of rugby is strong there… The spontaneity of crowd support and pride that you only find in great stadiums is as much there as any other…

As a comparator, I also attended the Bok/Aus test at Loftus – beautiful stadium, better location, but fark me it wasn’t the same…

Even Kings Park doesn’t come close… and Newlands? Dont make an honest rugga supporter farken larf his arseoff…

Ellis Park up there with Twickenham, Millenium and Stade as the very best gladiatorial arena for the great game

• 188.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-186: Excellent post HG, and I fully agree with you. I have watched games at all SA’s major stadiums bar Boet Erasmus, maybe I’m biased but it wasn’t the same at any of them; funnily enough the Free State stadium had quite a feel to it (Cats vs Sharks that nite) but that could’ve been helped by the Boys’ weekend we were on.

It’s strange, I’ve been thinking how the All Blacks have all but admitted how they hate playing at Ellis Park yet SARU doesn’t take advantage of it.

• 189.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-187: IMO

Boet Erasmus was the worst major stadium to watch rugby:

Not much atmosphere, spectators positioned quite far from the field, located in a natural dip as a virtual wind-tunnel of sorts, & worst of all the spectators started streaming homewards across the open stand as soon as it became obvious the local team, whether that be EP or the Bokke, was going to lose – some local fans had no ‘skaam’ leaving midway through the 2nd half… hopefully that has changed with the move to the grand new stadium?

But whilst it was not a great arena to watch rugby, it often dished up a great fight which EP seldom lost…

{sigh … the days of yore … not hore} :-)

• 190.Krit: Reply to this comment

If I was SARU I would also give more Tests to JHB. Soccer City has a capacity of 94 700, Ellis Park Stadium 62,567, Newlands Stadium 51,100, Moses Mabhida Stadium 54,000, Kings Park Stadium 52,000. As the All Blacks are the biggest crowd pullers you would think for SARU to make money they would as they have done.

As a supporter I would like for All Black games to be spread but understand what they are doing. Oh…and I am WP supporter living in JHB

• 191.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

Can someone tell me why I get the feeling that the AB’s are always playing in Jo’burg???? is that because SA hope that playing there ONE DAY they may win a game? C’mon people this is a joke. Yes they are the BIGGEST crowd pullers in the RUGBY WORLD but every game for the next 3 years in Jo’burg. Then again SARU must be a thick lot to keep scheduling their games there.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.