Saru confirms Bok schedule to 2015
7 Dec 2012
Saru has confirmed the Springboks’ home fixtures up to the 2015 World Cup and that it will be taking over the running of Test matches in South Africa.
The Boks will face their 2015 World Cup Pool B opponents, Scotland and Samoa (as well as Italy), in a new tournament featuring double-header Test matches in 2013.
According to a statement from Saru, fans will be able to watch two Tests for the price of one after a decision of the Executive Council (Exco) overhauled the way that Tests are run in South Africa. For the first time in Springbok history, Tests will be solely hosted by the mother body.
The decision was taken by the Exco after consulting the 14 member provinces. The Exco also took the unique step of announcing the Test schedule for the next three seasons – featuring Tests in Nelspruit for the first time.
However, Saru cautioned that all matches were subject to conclusion of commercial terms with planned hosting venues.
‘Saru was the only major union in world rugby that didn’t properly own its own Test matches,’ explained CEO Jurie Roux. ‘The decision by the Exco now gives ownership to Saru.
‘The key benefits will be in allowing us to plough a share of the profits back into all the provincial unions and, that by controlling the ticket office and all commercial activity in the stadium, we will be able to provide an experience for our stakeholders on a par with what we experience when playing overseas.’
The Saru statement says that the existing model had seen rugby’s governing body effectively ‘sell’ Springbok Test matches to the major provinces. The Test-hosting unions paid a rights fee (the amount of which was dependent on the stature of the opponent) and then set ticket prices and kept all receipts as well as commercialising aspects of the match as they saw fit.
‘This is a major change in how rugby is run and will present challenges,’ said Roux. ‘But the major effect is that it has placed Springbok Tests in the ownership of the mother body, for the benefit of all rugby’s stakeholders.
‘We are taking the Springboks to a new venue in 2013 and have an exciting new competition format for the June Tests – by coincidence against two of our World Cup opponents of 2015. We have also been able to map out a home fixture schedule for the next three years – something the provinces had also wanted.’
The new-look quadrangular tournament for 2013 is between the Springboks, their 2015 opponents, Scotland and Samoa, as well as Italy.
The tournament – which will be played on a log basis over two rounds to determine finalists – will open at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on 8 June.
BOKS’ 2013 HOME FIXTURES
QUADRANGULAR TOURNAMENT
Saturday, 8 June (Mbombela Stadium): Scotland vs Samoa; Springboks vs Italy
Saturday, 15 June (Kings Park): Samoa vs Italy; Springboks vs Scotland
Saturday, 22 June (Loftus Versfeld): Team 3 vs Team 4; Team 1 vs Team 2
RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
Saturday, 17 August (Free State Stadium): Springboks vs Argentina
Saturday, 28 September (Newlands): Springboks vs Australia
Saturday, 5 October (Ellis Park): Springboks vs New Zealand
BOKS’ 2014 HOME FIXTURES (dates TBC)
INCOMING TOUR
Springboks vs Wales (Johannesburg)
Springboks vs Wales (Nelspruit)
Springboks vs Scotland (Port Elizabeth)
RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
Springboks vs Argentina (Pretoria)
Springboks vs Australia (Cape Town)
Springboks vs New Zealand (Johannesburg)
BOKS’ 2015 HOME FIXTURES (dates TBC, no incoming tour)
RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
Springboks vs Argentina (Cape Town)
Springboks vs Australia (Durban)
Springboks vs New Zealand (Johannesburg)

191 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
7 Dec 2012, 09:49 am
I see Durbs is sucking the hindtit on test rugby for the next few years…
This has NOTHING to do with attendance… Mbombela Stadium. WTF???
This is political.
Sharks independence and continued commercial success, linked with Mr Price, is obviously a thorn in SARUs side…
I foresee some “disagreements” coming up in other spheres too – especially the systemisation/standardisation of SA Tactics/Skills/Style led by Rassie…
Keep giving them the middle finger boys…
7 Dec 2012, 09:49 am
Here are where the last “few” tests the Bokke have hosted the AB’s have been staged.
2005 Cape Town
2006 Pretoria
2006 Rustenburg
2007 Durban
2008 Cape Town
2009 Bloefontein
2009 Durban
2010 Johannesburg
2011 Pt Elizabeth
2012 Soweto/Jo-burg
7 Dec 2012, 09:57 am
Some very spurious generalisations from the “superior” Capies here…
Farkem. I reckon their national pride stretches at most to the Green and Gold Boks or Proteas… For the rest they dont even consider themselves Saffa…
Anyone who points this out is “bitter” or “jealous”, hey?… Because the Cape peanut can’t actually fathom why their superiority complex could be questioned… Why some “savage” from elsewhere in SA could criticise the Cape, or CapeTonians… It must be “jealousy” because Cape Town is so much better than the rest of SA, indeed the rest of Africa… It must be “bitterness” at not being a class apart, as in Cape Town…
Farken deluded, denuded idiots…
7 Dec 2012, 09:58 am
And here are where the Bokke have played at home since 2005
2005 East_London
2005 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2005 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth
2005 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2005 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2005 Newlands, Cape Town
2006 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2006 Boet Erasmus, Pt Elizabeth
2006 Newlands, Cape Town
2006 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2006 Royal Bafokeng Stm, Rustenburg
2006 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2007 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
2007 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2007 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2007 Newlands, Cape Town
2007 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2007 Newlands, Cape Town
2008 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
2008 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2008 Newlands, Cape Town
2008 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2008 Newlands, Cape Town
2008 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2008 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2009 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2009 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2009 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2009 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
2009 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2009 Newlands, Cape Town
2010 Newlands, Cape Town
2010 Witbank
2010 East_London
2010 Soweto, Johannesburg
2010 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2010 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
2011 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2011 N. Mandela Bay, Pt Elizabeth
2012 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2012 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2012 N. Mandela Bay, Pt Elizabeth
2012 Newlands, Cape Town
2012 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
2012 Soweto, Johannesburg
7 Dec 2012, 10:01 am
@Rockn Rolla-49:
that sharks 10-12-13 axis is the future of bok rugby
7 Dec 2012, 10:02 am
@Heavens Game-52:
cape town for the win
7 Dec 2012, 10:03 am
@jacoshark-54: 100% should be… They have next year’s S15 to prove this beyond doubt. It is up to them to do so.
7 Dec 2012, 10:05 am
@Rockn Rolla-49: Sheezus, thats a beyootiful thought…
7 Dec 2012, 10:05 am
@Heavens Game-52:
youre probably one of those people who criticise cape town and its people but when it comes to the holiday season, its folks like you who come down south to pollute our beaches, our mountain and roads with your poor driving.
7 Dec 2012, 10:08 am
@jacoshark-58: Nope… When I do go to Cape Town, it is for business and I fly there. I don’t go there for a holiday. I go to better places, in SA, and out of SA…
Talking about bad driving – Cape drivers, especially CY, are the farken worst drivers on the planet, outside Qataris… FACT
7 Dec 2012, 10:13 am
@Heavens Game-59:
CY drivers aren’t real Capetonian ones. The genuine CA drivers take their time and wander along enjoying the scenery and bask in how lucky they are.
7 Dec 2012, 10:13 am
i sense slight bitterness
its okay, take a deep breath
its not your fault you werent born in cape town
7 Dec 2012, 10:16 am
@David-60: Hehe
7 Dec 2012, 10:17 am
So the direct implication of this change in SARU policy will be that:
The Big Unions will have to drop the prices of their season tickets, as it now excludes an annual Bok test,
The Big Unions will now lose all associated profits from hosting an annual test,
Therefore, the net result is that the Big Union player budgets will diminish and fewer of our top players will be kept in South Africa.
Thanks SARU, for another royal stuff up.
On the plus side – for the freeloaders – the smaller unions will get a slightly bigger allocation, thus enabling to keep stars of mediocrity like Draadkar van Straaten, Beerbelly Bruwer and Foxtrot Fouche from retiring until well into their forties.
Well done, SARU. What a bunch of winners you are.
7 Dec 2012, 10:19 am
@jacoshark-61: I have pre-empted you… Clearly like the rest of your kind, it is as I said, you just don’t get it… But then again you wont get it either… You are “superior” to the rest of SA…
Now take that “savage” Sharks out of your nic and replace it with the “superior” Stormers…
It suits you better… It is “better”, yes?
7 Dec 2012, 10:24 am
@Heavens Game-59:
Actually
CFM are the worst.
CompletelyFuckingMad.
7 Dec 2012, 10:34 am
@Tacitus-63:
The quasi hosting of a major event can be a good earner, even if it doesn’t include clipping the gate ticket.
7 Dec 2012, 10:35 am
So we get the Aussies at Newlands.
Perfect.
It’s a game we will most likely win. So the “gees” will be great, no AB Capies to beat down, so all is good.
FYI we will almost ALWAYS play the AB’s at altitude in South Africa. That’s the way it will be mostly.
As for Durbs, you okes couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery. A home Currie Cup final, you were strong favorites and you couldn’t get off your arses long enough to take the trip to the stadium. That’s what you get.
Test rugby venues are all about winning and revenue. Newlands will guarantee a sell out whilst Durbs…..well.
7 Dec 2012, 10:54 am
@Heavens Game-64:
Bloody Grinch
Jirre you are miserable
7 Dec 2012, 10:55 am
@stormersboy-67:
Come now Stormersboy, dont be like that!
Kingspark sells just as much tickets to SA supporters than Newlands for test.
The fact that Newlands look fuller has got nothing to do with SA supporters.
7 Dec 2012, 10:57 am
lovin in…!!
7 Dec 2012, 10:59 am
@Mr Black-69:
no
it does not not
7 Dec 2012, 11:02 am
@Mr Black-69: That comment was said very tongue in cheek with someone specific in mind.
Natal gets Scotland and italy, games that will probably be much more entertaining than the others.
7 Dec 2012, 11:02 am
grrrr…
Lovin it…!!
@Mr Black-69:
that may be your opinion mr b…. but it has no basis in fact…
sure there are people at newlands who support foreign teams like the all black (and the sharks)… but they are a very small proportion of the crowd…
they are vocal of course and attract the attention of the tv cams… but no way are our figures dependent on them…
if your assertion was true then newlands would only be full for ab, crusader and hurricane games… and only half-full for every other game… this is clearly not the case…
fact is we’re more often close to full no matter who the oppostion is…
7 Dec 2012, 11:10 am
@Tacitus-63: hahahaha this is a prelude to CENTRALISED CONTRACTING of players
head for your bunker Taccy…
7 Dec 2012, 11:10 am
@Mr Black-69:
actually, i dont really know the answer to that, am just guessing they dont.
it might be worth a look for interests sake.
7 Dec 2012, 11:13 am
@Mr Black-69:
just to be clear are we comparing attendance between kings park and newlands figures for springbok games only, right?
i’ll take a look as that’s easier to do than checking for super rugby and currie cup too.
7 Dec 2012, 11:20 am
Great info in this piece.
Got to say, love the idea of two tests on the same day – think about it – it can only be a success. Will create a festival rugby vibe that RSA hasn’t experienced before.
Massive problems with this schedule though. Notably all All Blacks tests in JHB over 3 years and no tests in DBN in 2014.
As every bok fan has their favorite opposition, no one stadium should host the same major opposition two years in a row. I.E. JHB should have Arg 2013, NZ 2014, AUS 2015 and vice versa. With the schedule as it is, someone in Cape Town or Durban might go 5 or 6 years without getting a home Kiwi match. That isn’t first world rugby planning.
7 Dec 2012, 11:25 am
@Mr Black-69:
Hahaha.
7 Dec 2012, 11:27 am
@David-23: Johannesburg (read Ellis Park / Coke Tin) is the only place where we can beat the All Blacks.
7 Dec 2012, 11:28 am
Up to and including round 15 of this year’s Super Rugby comp here is the averageattendance figures:
Stormers: 42 729 per match
Bulls: 35 658
Lions 24 318
Sharks 23 431
Cheetahs 19 033
7 Dec 2012, 11:30 am
2011 Avergage for the full season:
Stormers: 41 850 per match
Bulls: 32 105
Sharks 29 140
Lions 22 351
Cheetahs 20 187
7 Dec 2012, 11:30 am
Average.
Not avergage
7 Dec 2012, 11:33 am
Attendance figures over five games at each venure:
Newlands capacity = 51 900
South Africa vs Argentina – DHL Newlands, Cape Town – 18 August 2012 17:00 attendance = 38843
South Africa vs Australia – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 08 August 2009 17:00 attendance = 48397
South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 16 August 2008 15:00 attendance = 49653
South Africa vs Italy – Newlands, Cape Town – 21 June 2008 15:00 – attendance = 36623
South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 06 August 2005 15:00 attendance = 49118
Total attendance = 222 634
Kings Park capacity = 55 000
South Africa vs Australia – Mr Price Kings Park, Durban – 13 August 2011 17:05 attendance = 47850
South Africa vs New Zealand – The Absa Stadium, Durban – 01 August 2009 17:00 attendance = 43149
South Africa vs British & Irish Lions – The Absa Stadium, Durban – 20 June 2009 15:00 attendance = 49055
South Africa vs Australia – The Absa Stadium Durban – 23 August 2008 15:00 attendance = 48123
South Africa vs New Zealand – The Absa Stadium Durban – 23 June 2007 15:00 attendance = 54112
Total attendance = 242 289
7 Dec 2012, 11:34 am
@willievz-79:
We beat them at Newlands under Jake. Besides, only 2 of the Jhb matches state Coke Tin. The 3rd is just Jhb, which I assume is Soweto.
Rubbish.
7 Dec 2012, 11:34 am
@stormersboy-81:
This proves that Newlands should get all the Tests, right?
7 Dec 2012, 11:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83:
Oops Durban should get all the tests!!!
7 Dec 2012, 11:36 am
@Mr Black-69:
well how about that for a misperception.
durban in fact sells more test tickets that newlands does.
i was wrong.
7 Dec 2012, 11:37 am
Interesting , but British Lions and NZ games are always gonna be better than Italy or the Pumas.
7 Dec 2012, 11:39 am
@Gumboots-86:
ja, seems like it.
7 Dec 2012, 11:41 am
bakkies @ 83: u missed the Newlands Test vs France in 2010.
7 Dec 2012, 11:41 am
This is the attendance figures for the Rugby championship, in order of attendance:
South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 94713 21 Aug 2010
South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 80753 6 Oct 2012
Australia South Africa Sydney 77048 29 Jul 2000
South Africa Australia Johannesburg 63000 17 Aug 2002
South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 62857 14 Aug 2004
South Africa Australia Johannesburg 62308 22 Aug 1998
Australia South Africa Sydney 60522 5 Aug 2006
South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 57233 19 Aug 2000
South Africa Australia Johannesburg 54219 30 Aug 2008
Australia South Africa Sydney 52788 23 Jul 2011
South Africa New Zealand Durban 52500 10 Aug 2002
South Africa New Zealand Durban 52500 23 Jun 2007
South Africa Australia Durban 52247 21 Aug 2004
South Africa Australia Durban 52000 26 Aug 2000
Australia South Africa Brisbane 51188 2 Aug 2003
Australia South Africa Sydney 51174 7 Jul 2007
South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 51000 10 Aug 1996
South Africa New Zealand Johannesburg 51000 19 Jul 1997
South Africa Australia Cape Town 51000 16 Jun 2007
South Africa Australia Johannesburg 50178 9 Sep 2006
South Africa Australia Pretoria 50000 28 Jul 2001
South Africa New Zealand Pretoria 50000 19 Jul 2003
South Africa Australia , Pretoria 50000 30 Jul 2005
South Africa New Zealand , Pretoria 50000 26 Aug 2006
South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49720 21 Jul 2001
South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49653 16 Aug 2008
South Africa New Zealand Cape Town 49118 6 Aug 2005
South Africa Australia Pretoria 49000 23 Aug 1997
South Africa New Zealand Pretoria 49000 7 Aug 1999 Details
New Zealand South Africa Christchurch 49000 22 Jul 2000
South Africa Australia Cape Town 48678 12 Jul 2003
South Africa Australia Cape Town 48397 8 Aug 2009
South Africa Australia Durban 48123 23 Aug 2008
South Africa Australia , Cape Town 48000 14 Aug 1999
South Africa Australia , Durban 47850 13 Aug 2011
Australia South Africa Brisbane 47481 5 Sep 2009
South Africa New Zealand Durban 45000 15 Aug 1998
New Zealand South Africa Auckland 45000 25 Aug 2001
South Africa Australia Pretoria 44463 29 Sep 2012
Australia South Africa Brisbane 44284 24 Jul 2010
South Africa New Zealand Port Elizabeth 43918 20 Aug 2011
Australia South Africa Perth 43278 20 Aug 2005
South Africa Australia Pretoria 43152 28 Aug 2010
South Africa New Zealand Durban 43149 1 Aug 2009
Australia South Africa Perth 42658 18 Aug 2001
Australia South Africa Perth 42507 31 Jul 2004
Australia South Africa Sydney 41850 13 Jul 1996
Australia South Africa Perth 41828 19 Jul 2008
Australia South Africa Brisbane 41578 15 Jul 2006
New Zealand South Africa Dunedin 41500 10 Jul 1999
7 Dec 2012, 11:42 am
i wonder what those figures would be like if durban hosted italy and argentina…?
and if newlands hosted the Lions…??
7 Dec 2012, 11:43 am
@wp_boytjie-88:
come on, lets not split hairs though.
the springboks are the springboks and rightfully should sell out no matter who the opposition are, every time.
7 Dec 2012, 11:47 am
If you look at the Rugby championship as a guide, it is clear that both Newlands and whatever the KZNRU is calling their stadium these days both sell out, or close to sell out each time.
7 Dec 2012, 11:47 am
@Transformation-90:
yes, you’re right.
as well the South Africa vs England, Mr Price Kings Park, Durban, 09 June 2012 17:00 because it did not list the attendance figure for the match..?..
7 Dec 2012, 11:48 am
@willievz-79: That and Moftus.
7 Dec 2012, 11:52 am
@Transformation-90:
i think if i did it going back by date it would make the newlands total attendance even less as i would have to exclude the: (South Africa vs New Zealand – Newlands Stadium, Cape Town – 06 August 2005 15:00 attendance = 49118) – test which was the second highest attendance total.
7 Dec 2012, 11:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83: Game Set and Match…
Dynamite Stadium.
7 Dec 2012, 11:53 am
@ufo-92:
come on ufo, newlands certainly is capable of doing better, irrespective the opposition.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All