World’s best not NZ’s best

IRB Player of the Year Dan Carter has not been nominated for New Zealand’s Player of the Year award.

The All Blacks flyhalf was recently crowned the world’s best ahead of other nominees Richie McCaw, Freddie Michalak and Owen Farrell. However, the New Zealand Rugby Union clearly disagrees with that decision as it has nominated McCaw, No 8 Kieran Read and centre Conrad Smith for its award.

Israel Dagg, Liam Messam and Aaron Smith are contenders for the Maori Player of the Year award, while Steve Hansen (All Blacks), Dave Rennie (Chiefs) and Gordon Tietjens (NZ Sevens) are up for Coach of the Year.