World’s best not NZ’s best

IRB Player of the Year Dan Carter has not been nominated for New Zealand’s Player of the Year award.

The All Blacks flyhalf was recently crowned the world’s best ahead of other nominees Richie McCaw, Freddie Michalak and Owen Farrell. However, the New Zealand Rugby Union clearly disagrees with that decision as it has nominated McCaw, No 8 Kieran Read and centre Conrad Smith for its award.

Israel Dagg, Liam Messam and Aaron Smith are contenders for the Maori Player of the Year award, while Steve Hansen (All Blacks), Dave Rennie (Chiefs) and Gordon Tietjens (NZ Sevens) are up for Coach of the Year.

92 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.blik: Reply to this comment

John Eales and his pack of fools contradicted once again. I think either Reid or Smith.

• 2.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Carter did not play consitent as Reid or Smith

must be Reid..being consistent all year

• 3.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

They have a “Maori Player of the Year” award?

• 4.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-3: Fortunately the minority award doesn’t cause as much controversy as it would in SA if you had an award for best Afrikaner.

@greatest13gerber-2: As much as I love Read, he did have one or two off games, e.g. vs Wales when it started with a mistimed haka and ended with a fairly ordinary game by his standards

I’d go for Conrad Smith but Dagg also needs a mention. To think this is his first year nailling the starting spot.

• 5.Horings: Reply to this comment

Racism in NZ sport?

How can more than half of your starting team be Maori, but all 3 of the nominees be European?

This may be the reason that Carter is not nominated. There had been some speculation that he may also have some Samoan blood in him.

We should boycott future tours to NZ!!!

• 6.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-5: Don’t let facts stand in the way of a good story. Which half of the team is Maori?

• 7.Horings: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-6: Dagg, Jane, Nonu, Savea, Carter, Smith, Messam and Mealamu.

• 8.outrightrugby: Reply to this comment

Reid, Dagg.
    Even though Carter had one or two of the best games of the season of any kiwi, Reid was my IRB player of the year. The IRB nominations this year were a shocker.

• 9.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-7: I know you’re only stirring but I’ll give you an answer anyway

Nonu, Mealamu, Savea are NZ/Samoan

I’m not aware Carter is Maori. Any source for this?

Smith wouldn’t even get rookie of the year, Savea would, so definitely not player of the year. Messam is probably the last name on the team sheet.

Jane is more white than he is Maori, not that it proves anything.

Dagg should’ve been on the list

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-7: lol…is there a difference between a samoan & a maori in your mind?

• 11.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-10: My only criteria is whether they are eligible to play for the NZ Maori team. Are NZ/Samoans allowed to play for them?

• 12.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-2: Yeah I reckon Conrad Smith was awesome this year…just shows what a load of tripe the IRB awards are.

• 13.Horings: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-9: This is the thing. I am actually trying to show how most South Africans make conclusions based on numbers. If more than half of the SA team were white and all the nominees for SA player of the year were black, then most people in SA will read something into it.

• 14.blik: Reply to this comment

I didn’t see Savea play much for the Hurricanes this year but watched his AB games though.

What are your thoughts about him? Is he a future star?

The little I saw, he looks physically up to it. What’s his skill level like, his feel for the game (e.g. Conrad Smith excells here), and what is his speed like?

• 15.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the funny thing is when i said he did not deserve it, at all, on an earlier thread i was criticised for saying so.

seems the DNZRU shares my sentiments…

• 16.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-11: I don’t know. Can Russians play for England because they are white?

@Horings-13: I know, I’m just messing with you. I’m in an argumentative mood :)

• 17.Horings: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-15: But do you think any of the other All Blacks deserve the IRB player of the year award?

• 18.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-13: Watch this from 1:05. Haha, no racism in NZ bro :) Imagine him saying that in SA!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KCXB7XSnCE

• 19.Horings: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-16: For me Samoans, Fijians, Tongans and Maoris are pretty much the same.

In the same way that you will probably not be able to distinguish between Venda and Xhosa

• 20.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-19: I guess it depends on where you are from. We can probably spot the difference between someone from Russia/France/Germany from a mile away and know they might be offended if we grouped them together, but someone from China perhaps couldn’t. The Maori, Samoans, Tongans look a lot more similar, being from Polynesia, whereas the Fijians are darker, from Melanesia. But they are different countries and different people. The Maori came to NZ around 800 years ago and consider how different the map of the world is since then.

But back to your question – only someone with Maori blood can represent NZ Maori. Samoans can’t, Tongans can’t, Chinese can’t Indians can’t, unless they have some Maori blood

• 21.blik: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-20: Is that not not unconstitutional? I dont know the NZ constitution.

• 22.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@blik-21: We don’t technically have a constitution although the Maori party are working on one. They may include a clause allowing for NZ Maori rugby team.

Possibly it is illegal to have a team based on ethnicity but I don’t think anyone thinks much about it. If you’re a white guy that can’t make the ABs, doesn’t qualify for NZ Maori, you can always go and play Ireland/Wales/Scotland/England.

Maori culture was getting a little marginalised at one point. I think most people support the idea of more culture, language in the mainstream and having a Maori team can’t be a bad thing in helping that develop

• 23.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-22: Come to think of it, there is a % of seats in parliament (sort of) reserved for Maori so I can’t imagine a Maori rugby team would be illegal

• 24.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-17:
    read, the new wing, maybe dagg.
    for me its really about the non nz players who could and should have been nominated.

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-10:
    lol… is there a difference between a samoan and a maori in a maori’s mind?

• 26.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Maori’s dont mind being called Maoris. But blecks….eish….marra….I dont want to be called a bleck….rather call me ‘dak brown’

• 27.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Even Jub Jub Maarohanye’s accident was because of apartheid. Even lightning is ‘recist’

• 28.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

lol the NZRU just undermined the IRB award and their own flyhalf.

• 29.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Habana was ignored altogher ? ;)
    Did I see things?

• 30.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-29: He had a good case for NZ player of the year in 2010 – but not so much this year.

• 31.Porra: Reply to this comment

dagg
    obviously is
    neither
    maori
    nor samoan
    clearly
    he is
    jewish

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Porra-31: lol…hi porra… are u talking about israel akuhata dagg?

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25: u are special bakkies :mrgreen:

• 33.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25:
    Yes

@Big Hit-28:
    Different opinions

• 34.Dancing Bear: Reply to this comment

Israel Dagg is not Jewish and is eligible to play for the NZ Maoris.

• 35.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I do find it a bit odd that you have separate awards and teams in NZ, that would be like having an all Zulu or Xhosa team excluding all others or a all Whites team. Does not come across as unified, maybe that’s the wrong word, am sure some one will explain better at some point.

• 36.Transformation: Reply to this comment

The Anglo-Welsh touring team defeat an
    Arawa XV 24–3 at Rotorua on 21 July.
    A M?ori team led by Asher tours New South
    Wales, converting to rugby league on arrival
    in Sydney.

The first M?ori team selected with NZRFU
    permission plays its first match against a
    Rotorua team, winning 25–5. Managed by
    Wiremu (‘Ned’) Parata, M?ori rugby’s first
    leading administrator, it tours Australia and
    New Zealand, winning 12 and drawing 3 of
    19 matches. Team member R. Nuku of
    South Auckland achieves a unique double –
    he also played for the first New Zealand
    Universities team, in Australia in 1908.

NZ M?ori lose 8–9 to South Africa in Napier
    amidst controversy. A reporter travelling
    with the Springboks is outraged that the
    spectators support ‘coloured men’ against
    ‘members of their own race’. His cable is
    leaked to the press.

saffas… :-)

• 37.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-26: white is the old pink brown

• 38.Ricardo10: Reply to this comment

It will be Richie McCaw for sure & deservedly so.

Read has had a fantastic year & will run a close second but no one else is in the running. McCaw has had yet another unbelievable year & although he may not be as quick over the ground as he once was his workrate has actually increased. His worth to the team IMO has increased dramatically as now not only does he still do the fetching but also a lot more of the hard graft.

If Read gets the nod it will be on the back of 5/6 performances that were very special but I do not believe his level of consistency matched McCaw.

• 39.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32:

@Hurricane-33:
    ok thanks, good to know :-)

@Dancing Bear-34:
    are you saying jews cant play for the maoris?
    you sound anti-semitic.

• 40.PiXel_NiNja: Reply to this comment

@blik-1:

What does John Eales have to do with the nominations of NZ nominations? They’re definitely a pack of fools, you know much better right!?

• 41.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

The first Nz Rugby Union Team to tour overseas in 1888-89 was in fact the Nz Native Team…the forerunner of Nz Maori Teams and the All Blacks

• 42.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-25: As much difference as an German and a Frenchman. Both Europeans, look kinda the same , their language has the same root romantic source.
    Ipso facto no difference between them.

Maori and Samoan are different races and different cultures which share a common ancestry as all Europeans share a common ancestry.

Players of Jewish descent have played for NZ Maori Jason Goldsmith had both Maori and Jewish ancestry.

• 43.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@lapoftherugbygods-42:
    the info on players of jewish descent playing for the nz maori is informative, thank you. although, i am led to understand the rules for eligibility as a jew are a little tricky so it may need verification.

also the info on samoans and maoris.

as for the comparison of french and germans, i am afraid you are wrong in regards the two languages being from the root romantic/latin source, they are not.

french has its roots in the romance/latin language but german, like english and afrikaans, is rooted in the west germanic and germanic language/s which is a totally different branch and tree structure to latin/vulgar latin/romance.

perhaps you meant the indo-european language from which they ultimately both derive?

also, i would say that though germans and french people look kind the same they too are derived from very different seed stocks of forebears/ancestors. french i would say have a lot of gallic/celtic/latin and other types of admixtures more so than they have any teutonic/germanic bloodlines.

anyway, i get your ponit though.

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@lapoftherugbygods-42:
    maybe germans and english people would be a better example.

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43: quit being a tool…Zulus aren’t Xhosas even though they’re both Nguni tribe, languages very similar, some customs overlap etc.

• 46.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@lapoftherugbygods-42: maori and samoan are two different races?

no man, thats twaddle.

@Transformation-45: that isnt the point bud, german is distinct from french in that the language origins are different like setswana and pedi from isiZulu, isiXhosa and Swazi (nguni languages).

it was actually spot on by bakkies.

• 47.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Simon you will do well to mention the IRB award is based on test performances only – any country’s award is based on every game that is played of which Super Rugby is a massive part.

• 48.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-45:
    you’re a tool, fool…

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-45:
    please refer to rangers validation in # 46, thank you.

• 50.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-46:
    Makes it weird how we get done for poaching……. we are the same race.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.