Consortium to run Crusaders

The licence to operate the Crusaders will be taken up by the Crusaders Limited Partnership from 1 January 2013.

The consortium represents the provinces Canterbury, Tasman, South Canterbury, Mid Canterbury, Buller and West Coast. This is the next move by the New Zealand Rugby Union to initiate the partial privatisation of its Super Rugby franchises. A consortium of businessmen were recently awarded a licence to operate the Hurricanes from next year.

Reports from New Zealand indicate that mining investor Brent Francis will also pump money into the competition’s most successful franchise, and take one of the six director’s positions on the new board.

234 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Stuart_Kings: Reply to this comment

RT @keocoza: Consortium to run Crusaders: The licence to operate the Crusaders will be taken up by the Crusaders Limited P… http://t.c

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

way to go…

• 3.shane_keohane: Reply to this comment

RT @keocoza: Consortium to run Crusaders: The licence to operate the Crusaders will be taken up by the Crusaders Limited P… http://t.c

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

they can run the crusaders right out of town for all i care.

• 5.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2:
    I see the jealousy ozzing out of your post.
    Was it the part where Jon said ” the competition’s most successful franchise ” that got you all mad and angry, a class that your team that wears pink jerseys could only dream of being

• 6.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-3:

The Crusaders is the union which set up a poach camp in Pretoria… Fact

• 7.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-4: so, please provide the link to back up your claims of “fact”

instead of just pulling it out of the back pocket of your khaki shorts?

• 8.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-3: cmon Hurri, theyre not the most successful, they paid all those different refs and the like, it was their cynical cheating and stuff dont you know..

:lol: old bakkies really has issues, and has now lost the true love of the game, he is blinded by NZs continual success and I imagine is hunkered down in his Dec 21st bunker waiting for the world to end..

of course, he also believes in the Roswell cover up and that the twin towers episode was an inside job..

poor lad, really pity him..

• 9.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the authority-4:
    How many South Africans have played for the Crusaders? Farkall….Fact….Therefore why would the most successful franchise in Super Rugby history target/poach young SA kids and entice them to Nz, We know the truth on this fictitious ‘poach camp”…..Authority on Paranoia…

• 10.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-7: SA poaches that I can think off

Rawlinson – imo one of the most mediocre AB players ever..

Rathbone – he himself admitted that he needed to work on his basic skills, but imo was a decent player once he had done the extra work..

I’ll wait for some to mention Merhtens, but his only claim to SA was being born there, returned with his kiwi parents at 4 years old I think and learnt all his rugby in NZ..

cant think of any others tbh

• 11.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the curse-8:

Vickerman for Aussie was also a Saffa I think – decent player

I think the styles between SA rugby and NZ/Aus rugby are too different and many do not make the grade… who was the scrummy from the cheetahs who moved to the Tahs and couldnt get game time? is he now at the Farce?

• 12.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@the curse-5:

Like suzie?

woof woof

• 13.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@the curse-9:

Theres 3 in your cricket team, but I suppose thats not saying much though!

• 14.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-10: again, when have I ever claimed the susie theory? you continually try to plant that as something Ive been pro about, but Ive always seen it for the excuse it was…but good to see I get your back up so much that you feel the need to counter every post of mine..

now run along, not going to bother with your inane ramblings…

• 15.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-5:

http://www.ruggaworld.com/2010/05/25/crusaders-poaching-sa-school-players-the-letter/

• 16.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-4:
    See this is where you once again have failed big time.
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-rugby/3726625/Crusaders-deny-South-Africa-poaching-claims

Its only some misinformed South Africans that are worried like yourself. Maybe due to the fact that this academy is infact helping the people ann not just rugby players wither, different codes. Like you stating facts that are untrue makes you look like an idiot.
    As Te has asked the question and you have now run away it would be good you answer, how many SA are in the Crusaders…. in fact in all the Super rugby NZ teams……not many.
    You like facts it seems. Here is one. You are an idiot………FACT

• 17.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-14:

Try reading the letter before making yourself look like an idiot.

Of course Hamish Riach is going to deny it. He’s not very well going to say “yep you caught us. Poaching again. Tut tut.”

Read the letter at the above link.

The IRB had to take action against the Crusaders rugby union, hence we thankfully do not have any saffa players being abducted by new zealand rugby.

• 18.the authority: Reply to this comment

http://www.greenandgoldrugby.com/community/threads/crusaders-digging-sa-schoolboy-talent.5219/

• 19.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@the curse-5:

I suppose your shorts are 2nd hand boardshorts handed out from the local Salvation Army or are you stil wearing woven palm leaves?

• 20.the authority: Reply to this comment

http://rugbyfirst.freepowerboards.com/viewtopic.php?t=1757&p=22468

• 21.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-15: so, please name so0me of the 60 young stars who have sinced signed with the Saders?

you should be thanking the Saders for actually doing what your union is incapable of..

• 22.the authority: Reply to this comment

http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/rugby/2010/05/21/crusaders-to-poach-juniors

• 23.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-19:

Try keep up poppa – already answered that question. The IRB intervened so we thankfully got rid of the crusaders poach camp.

For the record, I went to school with a guy called Greg Rawlinson who was directly poached by the NZRU and went on to play for the blues.

• 24.the curse: Reply to this comment

back to the article, I am actually pleased that they are allowing privitisation of the franchises, so long as it doesnt impact on AB availibility and interests then I think it is a logical step..

will help inject money into our national rugby setup and may prevent players from chasing dollars 9overseas…

one drawback I can think of is that a team liek the Saders may buy all the talent, but again imo the positives outweigh the negatives, dependant of course on the AB point I mentioned earlier

• 25.the authority: Reply to this comment

Hurricane and poppa both at a loss for words….

Cue the inevitable garbage as they desperately think of something which will distract us from the truth.

• 26.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-21: the IRB intervened now? please show us the link? thought it was SARU who sent a strongly worded letter, now its the IRB?

youre argument is failing fast..

again, have any players since been signed by the Saders? if no, then your just blowing hot air..

• 27.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-21: as mentioned earlier, Rawlinson was the worst AB ever… total liability and his 4 tests I think showed him for the useless lump he was..

but continue clutching at straws, it seems to be your way..

• 28.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-24:

Are you actually reading anything?

Ive already sent you countless links which answer your very silly question.

SARU wrote a letter to the IRB… Idiot

• 29.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-25: doesnt matter. He was poached

• 30.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@the curse-25:

Worst ever AB? Yeah right, even your attempts at dish’ing Sa players are pretty pathetic

If anyone needs to run along, it s probably you…………..time for the rounds?

• 31.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-26: actually, countless links youve posted only show that they set up a training camp in Pretoria for the 60 best schoolboy players..

not one link shows where any have signed or indeed been “poached”

can you show me or name one player who has since signed with the Saders?

and of the links youve posted, not one mentions the IRB?

continue though, it sure is funny watching you fall over yourself..

• 32.the authority: Reply to this comment

Poppa tongue tied yet again…

Countdown to his nonsensical drivel in 5…4…3…2…

• 33.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@the curse-29:

Pretty thick ar’nt you………it was nipped in the bud doos!

• 34.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-15:
    It is a nice letter….signed by a South African…says it all really.

What i did fine interesting was F Steyn came from that academy…… and you still think it is there for NZ rugby?
    If you guys cant train and give the talented players you have in SA a chance then stop crying fool.

• 35.the curse: Reply to this comment

None of this will ever happen, and it never was going to happen.

Its a beat-up by Simon Borchardt (a complete ******** if you ask me) of keo.co.za, who spends far too much time interviewing his laptop, and not enough time going out and finding REAL rugby stories from REAL rugby people.

The facts are that the Crusader have entered into a commercial agreement with this Sports Academy at Centurion. The Crusaders have similar agreements with a dozen other academies in New Zealand, Australia, Japan and the USA.

from one of your links..

where is the IRB intervention you mentioned?

but continue, your paranoia is driven by your media, and it is working a treat…

• 36.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-29: the only person “falling over themselves” is you as you attempt to dish out comebacks before having read the articles

• 37.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the curse-29:
    No there is none at all.
    Not one school boy has been taken to NZ or poached from the training academy.
    Didnt Mexted set one up over there as well?

• 38.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-32:

We can train our players. Now get your poach camps out of our country.

And out of the pacific islands for that matter!

• 39.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-26: as this post proves, and your many links confirm

Saru apparently sent a letter to the NZRFU not the IRB

LMFAO – at least get your argument aligned before spouting off..

sheesh, another saffa intellectual giant as keo calls them…. classic.

• 40.the authority: Reply to this comment

http://rugby.sanjaydeva.com/news/naughty-crusaders-playing-dirty

• 41.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-36:
    How many South Africans have we poached??
    Hurry up, have not got all day

• 42.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-34: Ive read your links, one from an Aussie rugby blog, one from a saffa blog and one that links to keo..

yet NOT ONE mentions IRB intervention?

strange, i thought you said they had intervened, yet not one word of it in any of your links..

classic though, are you really this dof?

• 43.the authority: Reply to this comment

@the curse-37: more letters than one idiot

• 44.the curse: Reply to this comment

@the authority-38: now a link to some blokes personal blog? as proof or evidence?

hahahahahahahaahaha

stupid is as stupid does..

• 45.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-36:
    Your training camp consists of 30 odd players training naked in water.
    You guys need all the help from NZ.

• 46.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-32: no not the Letter from SARU, the one from the crusaders rugby union…idiot

• 47.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-43: get your poach camp out of South Africa.

• 48.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-41:
    How many letters did they send to NZRU?
    Even though you got it wrong by saying IRB……..

• 49.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-43: he’s like the fish youve just pulled into the boat..

floundering and gasping for air, he’s even clutching to some blokes personal opinion on his personal blog to substantiate his claim..

hilarious, you couldnt write or script this level of believing everything you read..

feel sorry for the guy actually, real pity that one could be so gullible to use some other blokes blog as proof positive..

eish.

• 50.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-45:
    Again, how many South Africans are int eh saders team?
    How many at this point are in the saders juniors??
    Hurry up, and stop posting SA blog sites as your proof….all you have is a signed letter from a South African as your proof……*** me its getting a wee bit silly here

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.