Kruger’s French move confirmed

The Bulls have confirmed that Springbok lock Juandrè Kruger will be joining Racing Metro next year.

According to the Pretoria franchise, Kruger has not extended his contract and will leave the Bulls once it expires in June 2013. Kruger is set to take up a lucrative contract with French club Racing.

The news comes as a blow to the Bulls, who are already short on quality locks following the retirement of Bok legend Victor Matfield as well as the departure of two more Test stars in Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw in 2011. While they will still enjoy Kruger’s services for the initial part of the Super Rugby competition, it seems as if he won’t be available for the latter stages where experience is so important.

Coach Frans Ludeke admitted that the Bulls would have liked to have retained Kruger, but in the end the Pretoria franchise couldn’t match Racing’s offer.

‘It is always good to know and to hear that your players are wanted all over the world, but unfortunately it is not always possible to hold on to them once those offers start coming in,’ Ludeke said.

‘With the exchange rate as it is at the moment, it is very difficult to remain on level terms with those clubs when it comes to contract talks. We were very keen to extend his contract, but financially it was just not possible. We are very happy for Juandrè, as it is a great offer he received, but that left us in an unfortunate position that we could not match it.’

234 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Probably the result of playing 2nd fiddle to the perrenial sicknote Andries Bekker coupled with the fact that Meyer has no problem calling up players from overseas.

Big blow this

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

Massive loss for Bulls…always sad to lose star players like this….dammit man!

• 3.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Soft touch at test level.

Big loss for the Bulls, but then why do I care! :lol:

Wilhelm Steenkamp a pretty bloody reasonable replacement.

• 4.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Moerse terugslag vir Bulle. Steenkamp is heel goeie reserwe, maar defnitief nie in Kruger se klas! Heineke sal minder oorsese spelers moet kies anders gaan veel meer spelers in buiteland speel.

• 5.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-3:

soft touch compared to who?

from what i watched at the end of year he’d make any opposing lineup as a 5.
    He is no matfield that is for sure…but then neither is Bekker.

The Bulls have high hopes for their young locks but they are a couple seasons short at the moment but you never know with this sort of thing, Etsbeth was playing varsity last year?

• 6.coma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-2: He was the best out of a bad bunch to be honest – struggled to secure his lineout ball, probably why they used Etsebeth exclusively during the last few games.

Hopefully Bekker had a good rest and he would be used sparingly by AC during s15. We need him and a few young locks to put their hands up in 2013!

• 7.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

On the plus side, the bulls youngsters will have Matfield to look to on the coaching paddock.

• 8.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@coma-6:

what kak.

Bekker is the most rested player in SA over the past 4 years. Coetzee does certainly not overplay Bekker.
    In fact, Bekker would be considered a part-time employee in any other career he plays so little.

Someone like Jannie Duplessis played 32odd games in 44 weeks?

• 9.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

agreed on most of the above (except you Hendrik).

Meyer must pick less overseas based players

period.

• 10.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

anyway these players are all dof signing contracts in 2013.

don’t they know that the world ends in 2 days?

• 11.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-8:

Bekker played pretty much every minute of Super Rugby 2011 for the Stormers.

Then same thing this year before being injured.

Yes, he has had a bit of rest due to injuries, but only because he’s been managed poorly. Let’s not make it out to be something it isn’t.

As for Jannie, it’s a bit different for a guy who is 2.1m. Pretty bloody obvious that Andries is going to be far more prone to injuries.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9:

It’s fact. He played a few shockers at test level this year (as did Andries), to go with a few alright performances.

I saw the guy play a few times for Northampton and he is capable of a lot more. Disappointing that he now packs his bags for overseas when a SA province gives him the opportunity to cement his spot.

Young and shouldn’t have had any complaints about game-time, so in my opinion, good riddance.

• 12.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-11:

matfield played every minute of rugby that I can remember watching for the bulls.
    As has morne Steyn.

Bekker does certainly not play more rugby than any other lock in this country. Etsbeth played far more this year than Bekker ever has.
    Kruger himself played more rugby than bekker this year.

Bekker may well have played every super game last year but he had a good 6 month rest going into 2012.

and then what? Injured again and out for another 6 month rest? the same story every year for how long?
    He is injury prone and it has nothing to with his management. What, a coach is only allowed to play him 50% of the time because he is fragile? what kak, he is 28 years old or so and is supposed to be at the height of his career…..he certainly demands a salary argueing this line of thought.

personally I would rather have the average Kruger than the sick-note bekker.

• 13.coma: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-8: Brigadier, I have no doubt Bekker has been playing with injuries for the last couple of seasons, it might even be chronic in nature. If this in indeed the case, he should be managed in order to be availalbe for the Boks untill someone comes through the ranks to replace hm on merit, Juandre, from what I have seen, is not there yet.

• 14.wnbb: Reply to this comment

A player with a weak mentality.Bottled his chances at test level.No loss for the Boks.

• 15.ShaunMichaels: Reply to this comment

Bulls wont struggle to replace him. Was always a pretender, never really had any dominance at lineout time.

• 16.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-11:
    i will say that what the bulls and springbok rugby needs more of are players like danie rossouw.

• 17.coma: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-14: I saw the same thing. I hope Peter Steph Du Toit step up to the plate this year.

• 18.coma: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: The game is moving away from those kind of players. Danie had little vision and poor hands.

I dont expect Duane to hold onto the number 8 jersey for much longer for the same reason. The reason why the All Blacks are light years ahead of everyone else is because of skillfull hands and speed.

Not that that you don’t have to be big and strong – but more balanced players excel in the modern game.

• 19.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: Yes hardebaarde manne. Kruger is great at lineout time and getting around the park but lacks a physical edge and his tackling technique is weak, slips off lots of tackles. Heyneke might still call him up as back up.

• 20.coma: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-19: Mark Andrews, Victor Matfield, Nathan Sharpe, Ian Jones were hardly hardebaarde. If you going to choose a no 5 lock, pick one that can take his lineout ball and field kick offs (which is an area where we are struggling in of late). The entire Somaon team are “hardebaarde”, and last time I checked, they havent won anything of importance.

Etsebeth had to compromise his normal game to perform Juandre’s duties during the last couple of tests. I agree on his defense being way below par, but the rest was as well.

• 21.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@coma-18:
    well, i wouldn’t say his handling was poor and his vision as bad you say but what meant was loyalty to the team no matter what. whether he warmed the bench or started as a lock or flank, the teams needs came first.

add to that a no frills no fuss approach to rugby and had a worthy investment.

@Sasuke-19:
    agreed.
    yes kruger could be a little more physical i suppose, even at 5.

• 22.H: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-8: I see you’re resting your brain today.

• 23.coma: Reply to this comment

@H-22: Great post!!

• 24.wpallday: Reply to this comment

Honestly not a big loss at all ,the guy is probably the most overrated player in South Africa ,maybe even more so than Deon Fourie after the CC final ;)

Not a good defender or ball carrier or ball player and has become second choice at line-outs-the question is ; what does he actually do? Dont think he even hits rucks…

As for his apologists above using the excuse that he is a designated 5 lock therefore his duties aren’t as physical ,you are morons :)

@hendrikp-11: Front rowers have something like 2 tons of pressure per square inch on his neck and spine so to assume that Bekker would be more prone to injury is speculation at best- the guy has not lived up to his potential at all, which is sad considering I had such high hopes for him earlier on in his career.

• 25.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@coma-17: I think Du Toit isnt progressing as much as the Sharks are hoping ,he is behind both Marias brothers .
    He also was moved from lock to 7 to accomadate Ruan Botha in the u20 World Cup, due to Bothas Superior line out prowess, which suggests that PSDT isnt the best line-out jumper yet and he certainly isn’t an enforcer .

• 26.David: Reply to this comment

This is why I don’t trust HMs judgement or strategy. If, as he stated at the start, that he wants players who’re totally committed to be Boks, then saying that he’ll only select players who compete in the S15 would weed out the pretenders who put money before country.

• 27.adoons: Reply to this comment

Kruger realized in what a rock spider village he was living in and decided to bolt! Good on him!

• 28.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@adoons-27: What is a rock spider village?

• 29.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wpallday-25: PSDT is super atheltic though. Very mobile for a lock. He can still develop his line-out skills. Will make a great no.5.

• 30.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wpallday-24: He manages the line-outs very well. Etzebeth was getting line-out ball because Kruger was calling it. Something that Bekker doesnt do often. Bekker calls 90% of the ball at line-out time on himself, this makes him very predictable. If i can see that from my couch at home surely the opposition have picked it up. He just needs to work on his physical work then he will be very good.

• 31.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

There is a problem at Bulls, not only do they continue to push a religious agenda for Captaincy .. what else can be the criteria ???
    But they have diluted the coaching quality .. They should be recruiting Deans or at least have an Ozzie assistant ..

The proliferation of SA players plying their trade overseas will only increase… Get used to it … The real issue is if SARU will take the political or profesional route, if the Boks cannot compete with 1 and 2 in the world then ticket sales and TV rights will dwindle .. I say cap the Boks to 2 overseas players and centralise the contracts ..

• 32.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

Watched a 3N 2010 game the other night Boks vs Oz … man we should appreciate we are better now, unfit players such as Smit, VM, Guthro and lightweights like Spies running around. Game plan was helter skelter with no defence structure… Backs looked more structured on attack but that is expected with our current attack ..

The only players who stood out were FH at 9 !!, Smith at 7 and JF at 13 ..The rest were ****

Lets see what HM does in 2013, that would be fair. I feel that we should take the RC .. anything less is a fail.

• 33.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-30: So that makes him Bok material ? I think people forget how Etzebeth ,almost single handily destroyed the Sharks line outs in the CC final .

The fact of the matter is a player should never be chosen who doesn’t tackle, hit rucks ,carry the ball or do much else but call the line outs.

It irks me when people fixate about a specialist 4/5 combo and excuse the 5 of doing the hard work because its not part of their duties, its ridiculous. The all blacks have unequaled ruck ball speed, because every player hits the rucks like they are an enforcer. Frankly Etzebeth needs to brush up this part of his game ,he doesn’t hit rucks like Rumano and Retalick do.

• 34.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-29: He is still young and may develop into a class act as a line out option but it seems to me that Plumtree prefers Jandre Marias at the moment ,and who can blame him ,that kid puts in some massive collisions and has a similar work ethic to Coetzee(all the players that come up from that u20 age group/vodacom cup team seem to).

I spend a considerable amount of time in Durban ,with family friends ,and I’m often out at night clubs where I see these guys now and then . Often see JPP , Waylon Murray ,Keegan Daniel and all of them are dwarfed by PSDT ,the guy is a monster.

• 35.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

Apparently Juandre signed for approximately R200k more per annum. Paltry if you consider the lifestyle in France (weather, language etc.). Wish him well! Pity Frans Ludeke is so indecisive when it comes to contracting players. Don’t think he’ll develop a youngster as he prefers the finished product. Morne Steyn is next, marked my words….

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-35: Personally I will be thrilled if M Steyn heads overseas…

• 37.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@grant10-36: Absolutely, he is holding up the development of various 10 options for SA .. nothing personal as he seems a very decent guy.

• 38.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-36:
    where’ve you been, cupcake..?..

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-38: busy munchkins….

• 40.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-39:

• 41.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-35: that would make the decision easier, Racing have a billionaire behind. I think they are the only rugby club with billionaire backing, Bath do too but the the Aviva Prem has a salary cap.

• 42.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I believe Fudge Mabeta is kicking his heels now?!

• 43.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-36: msteyn going nowhere ;) meyer taking goosen & msteyn to RWC barring injury!

• 44.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Fudge to the fore!

• 45.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

I rated Kruger as a lineout man but he did slip too many tackles. Would pick a fit Bekker over a fit Kruger.

@TrueBok-35: let’s hope so. Morne has gone soft mentally, you could see his usual focus & concentration slipping away- whether it’s from overplaying or getting married I don’t know. The swinging arm on Ludick in the CC was further proof of that. I’ve always said if a “normally clean” player gets involved in niggle then he needs a proper rest.

• 46.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@coma-18:

The All Blacks are not “light years ahead” of either the current French side (if theya re ahead of them at all – they weren’t at Eden Park, when it counted – playing with a genuinely neutral ref they would have been beaten; and the French side that massacred the Wallabies would have done the same to the Kiwis as what the Poms did at Twickenham: where they did get pumped. Their speed and ball skills are amazing but there is something about them that is overrated; they have had a long run against mediocre teams – with a bit of luck and a lot of practice the Boks will contest – and England/France will be the sides to beat come WC 2015.

• 47.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper-46:

As was the Bokke side of 09′ who needed an injury time penalty to beat a poor Lions team, you then lost the third test. You then went up north lost to two club sides and got beaten twice by NH teams, so you’d agree they were also very overrated?

• 48.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-47: Interesting point… Would you agree that the Boks underperformed under the guidance of Snorre (also **** Muir f’ing up our backline)? Or would the result have been the same regardless of the coaching staff?

• 49.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

48 very much so they lost plenty of test matches they shouldn’t have, I just find it amusing when SAFFA fans call this AB side overrated when they were unbeaten for 20 straight tests, could you imagine the superlatives that would be used around here if the Bokke evet emulated a run like that

• 50.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-49:

This Bok fan agrees.

I think the Bok side of 09 was potentially better their results (even if they won the 3N). But ja, I wouldn’t call the actual team great based purely on results, because like you said, we lost to club sides and Scotland that year.

Please can we have some of your coaches!!?? :)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.