Sharks to face Leopards, Pumas

The Sharks will use two pre-season friendlies against Vodacom Cup opposition to prepare for Super Rugby.

Keegan Daniel’s side will play the Leopards at the Woodburn Stadium in Pietermaritzburg on 8 February, before facing the Pumas at Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit a week later.

The Sharks start their Super Rugby campaign against the Stormers at Kings Park on 2 March.

Sharks Super Rugby squad:

Fullbacks: Louis Ludik, Gouws Prinsloo, Riaan Viljoen
Wings:
Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Sibusiso Sithole
Centres:
Meyer Bosman, Paul Jordaan, Wandile Mjekevu, Frans Steyn, Tim Whitehead, Heimar Williams
Flyhalves:
Pat Lambie, Butch James
Scrumhalves:
Cobus Reinach, Charl McLeod, Conrad Hoffmann
Loose forwards:
Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel (c), Jean Deysel, Ryan Kankowski, Francois Kleinhans, Lubabalo Mtembu
Locks:
Anton Bresler, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jaundre Marais, Peet Marais, Franco van der Merwe
Hookers:
Craig Burden, Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe, Bismarck du Plessis
Props:
Dale Chadwick, Jannie du Plessis, Wiehahn Herbst, Tendai Mtawarira, Julian Redelinghuys

464 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All

• 301.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-298: you are such a farken flip flopper! now the Bulls are suddenly the bastion of good rugby & ludeke is an astute coach?

what happened to the vile North&South Alliance that kicked Keegan Cullen out the Bokke? :lol:

• 302.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-295:
    Not discounting the Stormers or Sharks, they are definite contenders. If Morne can rediscover his form, then grudgingly the Bulls are a chance.
    The Nz Conference is different as usually one team fails to fire, but sometimes its hard to pick which one of the Blues,Canes,Highlanders or Chiefs will be poor, with the Crusaders usually consistent, but with the loss of their talisman they may well be the team that fails to fire.

• 303.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

This is a good squad – quality in all positions.

• 304.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-302:
    Bottom line is, can’t wait for it to start.
    Maybe they can change the format again to incorporate the Argies and Pacific Nations as well.
    We all know SA and Aus don’t have 5 quality franchises, you guys also usually have 3 or 4, so if SANZAR nations field 4 each, then maybe 2 from Argentina and 2 from the Pacific Islands.
    16 teams is 2 groups of 8.

• 305.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

It will be the usual lot competing for top honours. There are 2 divisions within the Super 15.

Sharks, Crusaders, Blues, Chiefs, Waratahs, Reds, Brumbies.

And if they play well this year then the Stormers and Bulls may have a chance of making the semi.

The rest make up the lower division. Highlanders included. Can’t quite see why HG is punting them. They are a team that always flatter to deceive – similar to the Stormers in a way.

• 306.David: Reply to this comment

RIP Neil Adcock, who along with Peter Heine were the first of SAs deadly fast bowling pairs.

• 307.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-306:

After his playing career he became one of the most recognisable voices on radio commentary together with Charles Fortune.

RIP Neil Adcock.

• 308.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-305: what a joker you are.

so in your assessment the bulls and stormers are not part of the 1st tier in superrugby? WOW

• 309.papaown: Reply to this comment

@David-306: what happened to him?
    another taxi death or murder?

• 310.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

” deadly fast bowling pairs.”

Why do you not tell that to Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Peter Parfitt, Peter May and company to raise a hearty laugh? You may need to engage hell and/or heaven to get the message through
    For good measure add Trev. Goddard to raise the loudness of the laugh.

• 311.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@papaown-308:

Let HG and Chico the Clown write off the Stormers.

It’s one the quirkiest ways that the Sharks supporters show respect to the Stormers.

• 312.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@papaown-309: Bowel cancer. Died at the age of 81.

• 313.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-305:
    Interesting to note that you consider a side like the Blues who couldn’t buy a win last year and even the Brumbies and Waratahs higher than the Stormers, who only lost once last year and has topped the SA conference twice in a row.
    And no, I’m not all of a sudden proclaiming that the Stormers will win the competition, but I will definitely rate their chances higher than any of the Aussie sides and the Blues.

• 314.David: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-310:
    Heine took a 5for against England in the first innings of his first test at Lords.

• 315.nortierd: Reply to this comment

And as an aside, to really show my true colors, was playing 30 seconds and my brother’s son, who doesn’t follow rugby, got a card where the one answer was the Sharks. his description was short ” uncle Dan really doesn’t like this team”
    Suffice to say, they got the answer very quickly.

• 316.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

That makes Peter a huge hero for the Ravensmead collector of 5 ‘fors’?

Try again ‘aanplakker’.

• 317.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-313:

“…the Stormers, who only lost once last year…”

Are you in charge of Stormer propaganda?

How very Goebbel-esque!

Uhm, the Stormers were beaten twice by the Sharks and once by the Crusaders. Both superior teams. So triple your analysis.

• 318.David: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-310:
    You left out Graveney. MCC was just starting in ’55 and wasn’t that influential and Parfitt (the cousin of a close friend) didn’t even feature until much later.

• 319.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-290:
    hi TR,
    getting an early start on the trash talk are we..?..

everything hinges on whether the tmo law ammendments are ratified for me to continue supporting the super comp. i may have said i wont be watching it anymore but i did say i would do so provided there was some radical change in terms of refereeing/rulles/sanzar oversight around the areas of obvious concern.

the law ammendments would satisfy that for me to an extent, although more can be done. if a decision is not made before the season starts then its most likely i will boycott it and only follow CC and tests. it would be nice f this was not the case though.

i see you talking up all five nz teams… good luck with that…

our side its basically the sharks, stormers, bulls who are all but guaranteed a playoff spot and with some luck maybe the cheetahs too (they’ve got the awesome juan smith back, a fit again brussow, goosen who should be fit by then, raymond rhule, doodpoes coenie who should fit by then AND the ten free points you mentioned).

cheetahs might be the surprise package this season.

@Heavens Game-298:
    hi HG,
    these wp supporters are idiots really. its funny how they continue to dismiss the bulls only to copy step by step the entire bulls style of play. bulls will be there at the end of the season.

• 320.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-317:
    Sorry, only the once counted and hurt.
    But good luck to you and your Sharks.
    You are truly the best, so maybe it’s pointless wishing you luck, as you don’t need it.
    Have you bought the brasso yet to polish the trophy for the open bus parade through Durban?

• 321.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-320: the Sharks are the best SA team, yes. They proved it last year again.

• 322.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@David-318:

And here I am thinking my “and company” takes care of good old Tom.

Want to add Ted too, maybe later?

• 323.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-321:
    Always the bridesmaid, never the burro

• 324.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@David-318:

Google plus time is your great clutch, not so? Or are you a genuine slow thinker?

• 325.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the playoff qualification was tight last season and three sa teams made it through, i expect that to happen again this season with the free points coming into play.

nz fans would be fools not to believe at least one maybe two nz teams will fail to qualify because of the five points difference sa conference teams will have over them, and in the blues case its 10 points because they dont play the kings.

• 326.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-323: at least the Sharks get invited to the wedding.

The Stormers…eish.

• 327.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@David-314:

Eric Peterson would have walked that South African bowling line-up and probably would have been our greatest quick bowler ever produced.

• 328.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-320:
    hi Nortie,
    all three sa teams should qualify this season imo, considering the few ponits between teams at the top last season and the extra points for sa teams this season.

• 329.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-326:
    He he
    True, not everyone can be the hero.
    You always need people standing next to the road cheering.
    Was nice for Province to get an invitation to the CC wedding though.
    I guess they misread the invite though and went and upstaged the bride.
    Very rude of them.

• 330.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-329: your first invite in over a decade, well done, you must have been ready to slit wrists but Currie Cup Schmurrie Schmup.

• 331.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

Will it be another decade plus for the next invite?….

• 332.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-329:

Sharks supporters don’t let the facts get in the way of a good story.

• 333.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-328:
    One would think so Bakkies, but it seems like the Stormers are not getting an invite this year.
    Apparently they are only in the competition to make up the numbers.

• 334.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-325:

We only care who “wins the whole thing” hence our 11 titles to to your 3′you SAFFA’s can continue to tear yourselves to pieces over your local derbies which in the end count for nothing.

• 335.David: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-324:
    Busy with some plumbing.

• 336.nortierd: Reply to this comment

The only thing bigger than the frown on Plumtree’s head in front of the drawing board trying to figure out where things went wrong again, is that of his teams supporters mouths.

• 337.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-321: Sharks are the best SA team??? proven where?
    in the conference or currie cup ?

• 338.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@papaown-337:
    Haven’t you heard?
    In Durban, silver is the new gold

• 339.papaown: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-338: bunch of losers these Sharks fans are showing themselves to be

• 340.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@papaown-339:
    Only trying to emulate their team

• 341.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

WP win ONE Currie Cup in over in a decade and suddenly their loudmouth fans trade in gold…

The irony.

• 342.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-334:
    come on China, lets not forget how the crusaders were gifted a passage to the playoffs by vinny munro or how the chiefs were fixed up by the off field judiciary to have their full squad available for the final after the blatantly clear brawl in the semi or how they were allowed to get away with one stiff arm neck high and countless infringments around the ruck and taking out of players not even involved in the rucks amongst other things.

you only win because you cheat and hopefully the tmo rules will help to clean up your rotten game a little.

• 343.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@David-335:

Whose plumbing? Yours or hers?

Or perhaps some other geeser’s? You are afterall one of those who has spent many weeks back patting and bum slapping on that w ho r e’s thread.

• 344.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-341:
    May have been only the one, but boy that one hurt, didn’t it?
    Why stop at ten years, carry on for a hundred or so then tally up the numbers.
    I will concede though that the Sharks have won the same amount of Super Rugby titles as the Stormers.
    As NZinChina rightfully pointed out, winning is the only thing that counts.

• 345.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-341:

Be accurate, it is actually more than a decade.

• 346.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-342:

11 titles to 3 my friend, when will you work it out that these derbies games touted as the “hardest” games of rugby in the world count for nothing come trophy time.

• 347.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-341: last i checked a team that finishes top of the conference 2 years running and then gets the gold in currie cup deserves more respect than what you are currently giving them.

or am i mistaken in my recollection of the facts?

• 348.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-346:
    when will you actually win one?

• 349.David: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-343:
    What a boring little twit you are. Why don’t you go and peddle your adolescent gibbering elsewhere?

• 350.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-348:

C’mon Houston everyone is sick of the cheating angle you spout 24/7,lets see if one of your teams can get up and win another title this season.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.