Mangweni misses Kings’ cut

Tiger Mangweni, the EP Kings’ 2012 Player of the Year, has not been included in the Southern Kings’ 40-man Super Rugby squad.

Mangweni was the backbone of EP’s unbeaten 16-match streak in last year’s Currie Cup First Division and the popular vice-captain received a standing ovation when he accepted the award. However, according to Die Burger, the 33-year-old centre is now likely to play a leadership role for EP in the Vodacom Cup, along with 33-year-old utility forward Wayne van Heerden.

The Kings start their Super Rugby campaign at home against the Force on 23 February.

Southern Kings’ squad:

Forwards – Rynier Bernardo, David Bullbring, Kevin Buys, Cornell du Preez, Jacques Engelbrecht, Jaco Engels, Schalk Ferreira, Hannes Franklin, Ross Geldenhuys, Lizo Gqoboka, Virgil Lacombe, Tomas Leonardi, Bandise Maku, Edgar Marutlulle, Mpho Mbiyozo, Darron Nell, Daniel Adongo, Devin Oosthuizen, Steven Sykes, Wimpie van der Walt, Luke Watson (c)
Backs – Demetri Catrakilis, Ronnie Cooke, Wesley Dunlop, Siyanda Grey, Johan Herbst, Michael Killian, SP Marais, Scott Mathie, Waylon Murray, Hadleigh Parkes, Sergeal Petersen, Marcello Sampson, Shakes Soyizwapi, Wayne Stevens, Andries Strauss, Elrich van Vuuren, Shaun Venter, Nicolas Vergallo, George Whitehead

Players who missed the cut:

Forwards – Boetie Britz, Charl du Plessis, Armand du Preez, Samora Fihlani, Thabo Mamojele, Wayne van Heerden
Backs – Ntabeni Dukisa, Shane Gates, Tiger Mangweni, Norman Nelson, Mzwandile Stick, Scott van Breda

46 Comments

• 1.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Transformation failed again!
    :-D

• 2.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-1: Hahahaha

• 3.Angostura: Reply to this comment

what’s with 40 players, including 5 foreigners?
    just the 1st cut – the squad still provisional, surely?

• 4.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

This team is going to get walloped by all and sundry.

Embarrassment factor of infinity.

SARU has dropped the ball.

• 5.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

not the eye of a tiger then…

• 6.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Norman Nelson is a tad unlucky, ook …

• 7.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Eish, sorry madala.

Father Time waits for no one…

• 8.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Shakes Soyizwapi should make for good commentary quirps from the ozzies.

• 9.Robzim: Reply to this comment

It is a pity that the hard tackling flanker Conraad Britz lost out. I was looking forward to see him ruffle some feathers in Superrugby with his kamikazi tackles in real EP tradition. Check this one on Ashley Johnson:

http://youtu.be/2XA16S2yo9o

• 10.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

I see the Lions have lost their stadium sponsor! Good riddance :D

• 11.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-1:

Compliments of the season bang peos!

• 12.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8: :lol: I’m just waiting to hear them!

• 13.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

no surprises here, moving along swiflty

• 14.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

What happened to Burton Francis?

Thought he was with the Kings.

• 15.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Their best XV would be:

15 Killian
    14 Ronnie Cooke
    13 Murray
    12 Strauss
    11 Hadleigh Parkes
    10 George Whitehead
    9 Scott Mathie
    8 Watson
    7 Mbiyozo
    6 Oosthuzien
    5 Sykes
    4 Darron Nell
    3 Ross Geldenhuys
    2 Maku
    1 Buys

• 16.Slappes: Reply to this comment

After having their brand tarnished in sr for 4yrs, Coke has decided to drop the lions (ellispark). The gl union now more than ever need the thousands of useless looser fans to attend games… LOL cause they wont. The chappiesbubblegum challenge will be rivetting…LOL cause its k@k!

• 17.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-15:
    I disagree, believe it would be:

15 – SP Marais
    14 – Marcello Sampson
    13 – Waylon Murray
    12 – Andries Strauss
    11 – Michael Killian
    10 – Dimitri Catrakillis
    9 – Nicolas Vergallo
    8 – Luke Watson
    7 – Jacques Engelbrecht
    6 – Mpho Mbiyozo
    5 – Sykes
    4 – Darron Nell
    3 – Ross Geldenhuys
    2 – Virgil Lacombe
    1 – Jaco Engels

• 18.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-14: As far as I know, he had a shoulder problem and could not pass the medical “test” – bad luck to him

• 19.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Mboyizo isn’t so hot, just a one match wonder vs the British Lions a few years ago.

As an Eastern Cape native, I really don’t like how there are no Border or SWD players in this team, it is not supposed to be an EP Kings team turning out for the Southern Kings despite the stupid name change they made from EP Mighty Elephants. They were good enough last year in friendlies vs Super Rugby teams and now not… Maybe if they are asked to join the squad after injuries happen they should give Cheeky Watson the middle finger.

• 20.oceana: Reply to this comment

Oh my goodness … is that the best they have. There could be a few hundred pointers posted against this lot.

• 21.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer-19:
    There’s to SWD players in the group: Elrich van Vuuren and Johan Herbst

• 22.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@oceana-20:
    Don’t be obtuse. This team will surprise a few of you haters.

• 23.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Ncncnc! Who the hell are Virgil Lacombe and Tomas Leonardi?

• 24.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

Gents, let’s be honest… this is not a great side. If they win 3 games I’d say they’ve outdone themselves.

Any news on whether the Kings will be allowed to field more than 2 foreigner players?

• 25.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-23:
    Virgil Lacombe = French hooker
    Tomas Leonardi = Argentinean flanker

• 26.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-24: Yes, you are correct, but 3 games might be enough to ensure their survival … that’s what 2013 is all about – survival!

• 27.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-26: Do you reckon 3 wins will see them finish above the Cheetahs?

• 28.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Must say that I was surprised to see Mzwandile Stick miss the cut.

• 29.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-27: Maybe, but probably not …

however 3 wins could see them avoid the wooden spoon, meld them into a spirited team, & make them competitive in the promo eliminators against the 2013 Lions (which seemingly will be considerably weaker than the 2012 Lions). The question is will learn, develop & gel enough as a team to pull it off?

The Kings have 2 chances to ensure their survival:
    1. At SA Conference level; &
    2. Promo level.

They are in with a chance, albeit small…

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-26:
    @Kid_Senekal-27:
    @Angostura-29:

dont be a fools.

the cheetahs won 5 games last season one of which was against the lions.
    if they perform the same then expect them to win about 3 or 4 games against all others plus the 2 against the kings (use the CC promo/releg games as a guide) so thats at least 5 or 6 wins we’re looking at in total.

option 1. kings will need to win at least as many against all others with better points for/against, or score 4 try bonus points in every one of their games and win about 3 games (using the rebels 1st season as a guide, of course it could be more like the force’s 1st season which was 1 game), this would leave them above the cheetahs on points and not in need of having to play the promo/releg matches.

option 2. is beat the lions in the promo/releg matches. this is realistically their best chance but i just dont see it happening. the lions have organised a quality fixture schedule for the season which will see them play at a level close to super rugby/CC, retained more or less a competive squad and will have the players on loan return.

nothing on paper suggests the kings have a shot in hell to survive super rugby into the next season.

• 31.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-30:

dont be a fools. = dont be fools.

• 32.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-25:

Thanx… Are they any good?

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

12: hadleigh parks, andries strauss, siyanda grey > tiger

15: sp marais, shakes soyizwaphi > tiger

toughies tiger…

• 34.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-30: Fools?

Ag, ou, bakkies, read our posts again: Kid Senekal agrees with you, & I mostly agree with you, so by implication you place yourself in our foolish camp as well?? :-)

Where I disagree is that I believe the Kings have a less than even chance in the promos against the 2013 Lions … You say the Kings have no chance (which is bold)

PS: Beware 20 April 2013 :-)

• 35.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer-19:

> they should give Cheeky Watson the middle finger.

And a PK for Pukie

A PPK

• 36.Dusky: Reply to this comment

This will be the biggest joke in Super rugby, and possibly professional rugby ever. Scandalous. Kings manage to put a few names together like Waylon Murray (average to poor), Steven Sykes (recently poor) and they expect to survive in the world of Super rugby ?

What a laugh. It will be hysterically funny, and unspeakably embarrassing for South African fans at the same time. Funny thing is – I wont miss one of the Kings games this season. Just because of the spectacle it will be.

• 37.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-36:

> I wont miss one of the Kings games this season. Just because of the spectacle it will be.

And to see Lukie’s a.ss kicked

Unfortunately with all the local derbies Skelm Cheeky won’t be able to hide (protect?) him like he did last year only playing him against the substandard teams

Ja Lukie the dumb Dutchmen are waiting for you

• 38.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-37: The Kings will get no good reception other than within a very specific, traditionally non-rugby orientated part of South African society. They will play to the sounds of boo’s in every South African stadium they play besides Port Elizabeth.

You can force your way into anything in life but dont expect to be greeted with open arms once you get there. Typical to the South African mindset this was done @ss about face.

Just like the political ancestry that forced them into this competition they will have to seek approval from supporters abroad and I am not sure they will get it there either, especially after the Kiwi and Aussie components realize how the Kings inclusion has eased the South African conference and devalued the competition as a whole.

One season is all they can hope for. The pressure from SANZAR will come on after 3 South African teams make the playoffs again and the Kings have conceded a points difference in the hundreds. It will be interesting at least. Lets see what ‘forced inclusion’ brings. Unfortunately, South Africans will still not learn the lesson that there is to be learned through this.

• 39.Dusky: Reply to this comment

If you weren’t part of the party to begin with ie. you weren’t invited…..there is probably a reason for it.

• 40.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-38:

> after the Kiwi and Aussie components realize how the Kings inclusion has eased the South African conference and devalued the competition as a whole.

The Kiwi and Aussie teams playing them won’t complain either, 5 points in the bag

They play the Crusaders in Christchurch on March 23, Eina

Would you like to guess a score?

• 41.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Coca cola does not renew Lions 5 year stadium sponsor contract. Its weird that some articles/news like mentioned above does not get cut and pasted on keo.co.za even though other insignificant news does…fishy it is. Mark my words that the Kings’ most bias media coverage will be posted here on this site.

• 42.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Can see the book already :

A Lion’s tale: Coke to Coke Zero

• 43.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Wow , always been a huge fan of tiger , even when he played for the Stormers. I reckon he is extremely unlucky. Also , what about Stick ? some of the others names mentioned is also a huge suprise , non more than Schalk Fererra. He had a life threatening neck injury and even before that he was useless come scrum time at best.

Heard he switched to hooker or at least trailed there, maybe that will work but I see they have the Argitinian in there as well.

• 44.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-40: Funny thing about weak opponents is that they often bring the level of the game down so they might not get as severely thrashed by the Crusaders as you may think – that would be the obvious game to choose though I agree.

I think their thrashings will come at the hands of opponents they will rank as average. Its the mistake made by many teams coming into the Super 15. They cant help but believe their are ‘easy’ games. So someone like the Rebels or Waratahs or Hurricanes are probably going to do the honors of scoring a century against them. You’ll see.

• 45.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Armand du Preez???? miss cut

lambs to slaughter

• 46.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-45: “Lambs to slaughter?”

Don’t say that.

You’ll upset Skop.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.