Lions face unique challenge

The Lions will kick off their 2013 campaign against Russia next Saturday in the first of 12 matches at Ellis Park.

Having lost their Super Rugby status, the Joburg-based franchise has been forced to arrange fixtures against minnow nations, French and US clubs, and invitational sides that they hope will prepare them for their promotion-relegation tie against the last-place team in the SA conference.

The Lions will play the majority of their matches at home, which will please their fans, while travelling to California, Vancouver, Chicago and Windhoek.

Meanwhile, the GLRU is looking for a new naming-rights sponsor for Ellis Park after Coca-Cola opted not to renew their five-year, R12 million-a-year deal.

LIONS’ FIXTURES
19 January: vs Russia, Ellis Park (7pm)
26 January: vs Cheetahs, Ellis Park (5pm)
2 February: vs Bulls, Orlando Stadium (3pm)
9 February: vs Kings, Ellis Park (TBC)
23 February: vs Namibia in Windhoek (TBC)
16 March: vs Mont de Marsan, Ellis Park (7:30pm)
13 April: vs US Invitational, California (TBC)
20 April: vs North American Barbarians, Vancouver (TBC)
27 April: vs Chicago Lions, Chicago (TBC)
11 May: vs Agen, Ellis Park (3pm)
1 June: vs Samoa, Ellis Park (3pm)
8 June: vs French Barbarians, Ellis Park (2pm)
15 June: vs Stormers, Ellis Park (2pm)
21 June: vs Sharks, Ellis Park (7pm)
12 July: vs Montpellier, Ellis Park (7pm)
20 July: vs Grenoble, Ellis Park (2.30pm)
27 July: Promotion-relegation play-off, TBC (TBC)
3 August: Promotion-relegation play-off, Ellis Park (TBC)

103 Comments

• 1.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

1 June: vs Samoa, Ellis Park (3pm)
    Eish!

• 2.Slappes: Reply to this comment

“please their fans” – what fans? Ellis park has no lions fans normally, ok maybe 5k the rest are bulls, stormers, sharks , cheetahs. Its a f@rkin disgrace. This union should disband.

• 3.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@guangzhoupoes-1: Never mind that . I am looking forward to Feb the 9th vs the Kings !!!!!!!!

Also how about the Chicago game ?

• 4.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-3:

Save it Sparticus Maximus – that is (TBC) which means it will never happen. Why on earth would the Kings offer any kind of yardstick and satisfaction to the Lions? They won’t as it would be a poor decision to play some hack team and allow some kamikaze Lions chap looking to make a name for himself to take out a key player.
    Another thing what of this line up is going to be telecast?
    Ten tickets to each of the players friends and family and the groundsmen and secretaries and Feline women and PR ladies and the stadium will be able to hold another 59,000.
    This is all a bad idea without any regard to planning for the 2 most important games that even SARU has yet to confirm for the 27 July and 3 August.
    Then to top it off they have a supposed new saviour in a snor man who goes by the name of Manie who knows diddly squat about the merry go round of rugby admin and will be eaten alive like a ******** downing a poffertjie and a paling in one go.
    The walls of the Lions den are crumbling and they are now outside the tent looking to win friends and influence people.

• 5.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

And another thing this trip to the USA from the 10-30 March for 3 weeks for 35 people at $400pd pp plus a roundtrip flight at R20K each for international & domestic travel is going to set someone back at least R3m and all of these games are TBC, so this is the Lions flying a kite to say we want to tour Namibia USA & Canada but have no sponsors nor TV coverage of the games.
    You have to got to feel sorry for the Lions that everything they do is ill conceived and unreal and what we are witnessing here is a slow implosion of a once proud union.

• 6.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@GordonGecko, are you a suite holder by chance? You are quite informed…

• 7.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-5: R20 k? Im sure they’ll not want to fly cattle class.

• 8.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-7:

Who can blame them.

It’s not even fit for cattle.

• 9.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-6: Slappes – want to take over a suite at Ellis Park?

Trade ins welcome – any Blackberry or Samsung Galaxy will do.

Will consider tickets at the circus for a swap. No takers on Gumtree yet!

• 10.Charlie Naude: Reply to this comment

How the mighty have fallen… Spineless administrators, “ 3 year plan” coaches and greedy players all contributed to the downfall.

• 11.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-2: Just shows you how much you know my mis informed friend! We have a competition called the Currie Cup, ( for your info when you are around a braai ). In that competition the Union that you want to disband, won the Cup with ease..no excuses my misinformed friend. This happened with a packed stadium with very little Sharks supporters, I was there, I should know. Where were you when the final took place? I would love to hear your answer!

• 12.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-4: ” Why would the Kings offer any yardstick” Wow!! Amazing how stupid you sound! The Kings know that they will lose that game by a serious margin. You are talking about a hack team…did you manage to glance over the Kings squad? I doubt it becuase you are probably surfing porn and by accident stumbled across this Lions bashing website. It stuns me that you “know” so much…Hopefully you won’t disappear into the dark alleys of internet porn when all of these games materialize. The remarks and attitude stinks and you do not deserve to support ANY SA team nor the Boks. You are a real piece of work…

• 13.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Charlie Naude-10: You are right Charlie, but that was becuase of Jannie Ferreira and co. The Lions will be back with a bang.

• 14.Turrican: Reply to this comment

Simon, you might want to double-check with the GLRU on their fixture list. The Chicago Lions say they aren’t playing them April 27th. They don’t have the money for it and, on top of that, they have play-offs that weekend. Who knows what other fixtures are wrong.

• 15.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Loyalloserlion = ignoramus. You are living in a dream world. You’re posts dont make any sense and then you revert to cheap jibes to compensate for your clear lack of knowledge. Read my and gordon’s (a suiteholder nonetheless) posts again… You are deflecting you stupidmofo.

• 16.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-15: As if your posts make any sense. Cheap jibes? How does my posts not make sense? I am afraid you are the one with the lack of knowledge. Gordon is not a suiteholder, that I can promise you. Keep your k@k comments to yourself. If you have got nothing constructive to say, shut the F up!!

• 17.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-12: You sound like a moth eaten Lion in for rehab at the SPCA.
    Listen dear passionate Lions supporter, I applaud your faithful dogged naive support of the Lions.
    How you can leap from rugby to speculating I am a porn surfer is in fact quite incredulous and a clear sign of a desperate Lion moron supporter. Make that a cretin.
    The facts are:
    – The Lions are out of Super Rugby in 2013
    – Have lost a R12m a year sponsor
    – Have had their sponsor budgets – read MTN – slashed by 50% on account of them not being in Super Rugby in 2013
    – Have discounted – read desperately in a fire sale – the suite renewals by 50% to generate cash flows from what once was 35% of their revenues – so that would make it less than 17% of revenues
    – the Lions have no rugby inventory for 2013 to replace the 2013 Super Rugby and instead have some bogus fixture list with close to half the games being To Be Confirmed (TBC) with the same fixture list in the tiniest of small print stating: The Lions reserve the right to change the fixtures – is hardly a statement of confidence
    - the Lions have a new CEO – Manie Booysen – who is a wet behind the ears tired old hack “change management” agent from Richards Bay that loves watching rugby and who can barely change the locks of his booze cabinet let alone bring about change at the Lions and ready them for August.
    – the Lions have a control freak VP at the Lions that is handicapping the Lions management with his own seconded Glasfit management also new to thugby, I mean rugby admin
    - the Lions have a President in Kevin de Klerk that behave more like a confused linesman at a high school game than a tough guy Springbok lock forward that we would like to believe he is. The man is kitty whipped and flip flops from one decision to another
    – then the Lions players, where do we start, well we can start with the migration of talent to 5 other unions and then some overseas, but the real issue here is that there has been an exodus of players and the Lions U21′s are being signed up left right and under the nose of the Lions management.

So now Loyal Lion how is Manie Booysen going to fix something from U13 Craven Week through to a quasi super rugby lite team wanting to play super rugby but can’t and maybe never will again if they lose the 2 promo/relegation games, manage the Community Cup team, the Vodacom Cup team, the Varsity Cup teams, the clubs who are not entirely happy and rightfully so that a mutiny is imminent and a restless Soweto Rugby Club that wishes to defect on account of latent racism and favouritism r cronism in the ranks of the management at the Lions, add to that the referees issues and the lack of cash with no fixtures and suite holders and season ticket holders heading to the nearest SS TV broadcast and you have a pretty tough and grim outlook for 2013 in spite of some chatter on social media pages that all is well and the Russians have landed.
    In short Loyal Lion you have the Lions in deep, very deep doo doo matter and there is absolutely no hint of any rescue plan or white knight on the horison to sort out the hele hart long poephol en tong problems at Ellis Park.
    Now if you were a young 18-23 year old player and all this BS and uncertainty is swirling around you, what would you do? Say to your agent – get me the hell out of here.
    Want me to go on?

• 18.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-17: Thanks for taking it upon yourself to stage an intervention for all the loyal Lions fans (of which I am one).

I appreciate the trouble you took to compose that love letter but tell us something we don’t know. We know all that stuff. But our team is our team and we’ll be back playing Super Rugby next year.

• 19.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-18: Kid – I too am a loyal Lions fan but for heavens sake man enough is enough buggering around like it is amateur hour.
    What you say that we’ll be back is pure horse manure.
    How on earth could you possibly say something like that?
    It is not a given and the Lions have an Everest to climb and then to play 2 freekin tough promo/relegation matches back to back in August and assume you will win both is nuts and delusional.
    The facts are the Lions are now the underdogs and more likely to lose than win these two matches and if they lose they are right royally rogered and if they win, which is a tough ask, they then have to renegotiate new sponsors and build up a war chest to sign on and attract players and they do not have any money now.
    This is pure and simple a recipe for a monumental disaster.
    And no we are not assured the Lions will be playing Super Rugby in 2014 or even 2015.
    Now there is a thought.

• 20.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@LoyalMoronLion, read gordons post LOL!….you brandsiekkaravaan-bosveld-dom-onnosele-leeu.

• 21.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-17: You, for some reason know it all hey!
    Let me tell you that yes I am a desperate Lions supporter. We know all about hard times my friend and I doubt that you have it in you to stay loyal after all this is going on. You have mentioned facts and nobody can deny that, but then you blast people that you have no clue about. From the new CEO to the players! Shocking from someone that if you glance quickly knows it all. we all knew that when SARU decided to give Cheeky what he wanted, there will be financial implications for the Lions. The Lions are coping and it is your opinion that we have no schedule for this year. The migration of players is due to us not playing S15 and yet we still have decent players at the park that will still be competative, unlike the Kings! In every province you have problems with the clubs. WP had problems and The Sharks.

My point is that for some reason you have this self appointed know it all Lions bashing attitude. This makes you look stupid.

• 22.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-20: Hoekom gaan pak jy nie jou skooltassie reg nie en los die vir manne wat weet. Jou naam se dit als!

• 23.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-19: Stop labelling yourself as a Lions supporter. That statement is a joke. I am not even sure you know who you support…

• 24.Slappes: Reply to this comment

*sigh* lmfao

• 25.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Domastrante-verraaier!

• 26.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-21: Loyal Lion now you admit the drol is nou in die drinkwater at the Lions?
    What is stupid is your daft outlook in trying to put the blame on the Kings or Cheeky Watson for the Lions wee wee poor performance at Super Rugby and then to toss out a line that surf porn.
    These are comments from a desperate man.

• 27.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-24: sigh, I wish I could kick your ***!

• 28.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-26: It is going to be tough, that I admit. Blaming the Kings and Cheeky for our poor performances…no. The reason why I said you are surfing porn is because you are making statements that shows your integrity!

• 29.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Sad to see the state of this union, it really is.

• 30.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@loyallion, you are a ****** so why dont you try kicking own @ss. Lol!

• 31.Slappes: Reply to this comment

R e t a r d = loyal spoegenplak lion

• 32.gunther: Reply to this comment

Jokes aside this is a sad end to a once proud union that provided us with some great boks.

Lets hope the kings take up the slack.

• 33.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gunther, kings will not do that in 1 year. Its going to be ugly but hey Saru voted!

• 34.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

The Lions will be back in 2014! Just wait and see and this time they won’t take it for granted. maybe this is just what the Lions needed.

• 35.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-28: Well there you have it then – imposing your gutter mentality because of your frustration at the Lions inability to plan.
    Integrity? What on earth are you gabbing about? The Lions are either in or out of Super Rugby and how do they best market the franchise so that it is sustainable instead of being put on a doomed pathway.
    I would suggest you stockpile your Klippies & Coke for the next year as you are going to need it.

• 36.Slappes: Reply to this comment

So loyallion when does your nap time start at Weskoppies? And how did you manage to get a pc? Bleddiemalhaas

• 37.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gordon, so who would you have preferred as ceo?

• 38.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-35: Gordon, please learn something today. If you don’t know everything it is okay to admit that and also if you don’t have something constructive to say, like I told old looney slappes, shut up!

• 39.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-37: Talking to Gordon as if he is a Lions supporter or even a suite holder…what a joke!!

• 40.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-37: There have to be candidates around that can bring experience and relationships from rugby related to sponsorship to broadcasting.
    The Lions must have had a shortlist of such candidates that are a no nonsense negotiator. But you raise a good point they better keep that list handy as a family man with years of corporate meat packing & engineering experience is as out of place as a Blue Bulls supporter sitting in the stands at Boland Rugby

• 41.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-2: I dont know Slappes – I think its kinda cool. Im impressed at the fixture list they put together, and what rugby administrators can do when they pull their finger out their hol!

I would love the Stormers to be playing games like these! Imagine Stormers vs Samoa… awesome

Wel gedaan Leeus

• 42.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-38: Loyal Lion you have to learn today and right now that people have differences of opinion and if they differ with yours and you can debate it, then that is good.
    So not every Lions supporter is like you with a fat boep a false Josh Strauss beard and klaps a 750ml Klippies with a can of coke.
    We do also eat in the Touchdown restaurant and Presidents suite and sometimes the Legends suite.

• 43.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-41: Uiteindelik!! Jou naam se dit als Bokfan. Ek het net so gevoel dat die Stormers die titel gaan vat. Ek het gese as die WP die Leeus en Sharks op hulle tuisvelde kan wen in die CC, is die Supertitel hulle s’n

• 44.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-42: I agree and you are not one of them. The sad thing is that by labelling people and trying to humiliate is not an opinion. Go and check up the definition of an opinion..

• 45.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Respect for sticking by your team through thick and thin Loyal Lion.
    It’s strange that guys like Francois Pienaar and some of the other players from the 90′s era don’t step in and say ” enough is enough”
    They have a mountain to climb, that’s for sure, but guess it’s time for them to show whether they want it or not.

• 46.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-45: I agree Nortierd, it’s time to stand up and be counted!

• 47.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-44: And while you are looking up big words Loyal Lion, look up hypocrite and bigot and see how they apply to you.
    You really should seek help for your confused thinking and attend those anger management classes at your local church hall.
    By the way you don’t lick windows do you?

• 48.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gordon, lol ! Fat boep etc. I wouldve roped in TonyMckeever as ceo.

• 49.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@47 Gordon, lmfao!

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what a funny thread! ;)

• 51.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-47: Wow, you got me there son….

• 52.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-48: That might have been an option up here but Manie Booysen should be under no illusions that if he cannot make a dent in the first 60 days at the GLRU he should save everyone the embarrassment and walk away and not stuff up the Lions further, as he might upset Loyal Lion here.
    What we need is a Hungry Lion not a moth eaten Lion or a Lion that loves watching rugby.

• 53.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

Slappes and Gordon brings back memories of Dumb Dumber…Gordon comes up with a cute but stupid comment and Slappes goes huhhhuhh and then only when somebody reads it to him and explains the nonsense..he chirps something or laughs at the comment..well done you two. At first I thought I was dealing with rugby supporters, but hey everybody makes mistakes…by the way you made my day! Silly people!

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Russia?

• 55.14261774: Reply to this comment

drop ellis park, move to FNB. Rename the team the Orlando Lions. Start a truly SA team in that is laden with black talent, then convince SARU to pick up the tab. There should not be a problem to find sponsors as long as you sell the right idea/vision. No that is how you change the fortunes of the lions, but the old generation rugby administrators are to stuck in their ways.

• 56.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@loyaldomp@eslion, lees wat gordon gese en gaan besin daaroor. Jy is defintief die vertraagste damduiker in hele suid afrika. Hoe te v@k bou n mens n nasie met jou? Lol

• 57.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-56: Kom ek verduidelik vir jou……nie met jou nie drol!!! En dit is hoe de fok en nie hoe te vok nie….ai, nou moet ek jou nog leer vloek ok!!

• 58.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gordon, TonyM did approach the lions but to no avail… So theyre stuck with manie muis.

• 59.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Loyal luisbesmette lion, jys rerig so dom soos n brood ne?

• 60.ufo: Reply to this comment

loyal lion…

you’re taking on two of the most intelligent and level-headed guys on keo… admirable though your loyalty is… this conversation can only go the one way for you…

as has been said the lions really are up against it and should really use this time to innovate and reinvent themselves… cause if they keep doing what they’ve been doing for the last few years they’re gonna get the same old same old…

as several have said… really sad to see

• 61.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-52:

To be fair he inherited

a basically bankrupt team

whose not playing in the premier competition

with no real sponsors

a stadium no-one wants to visit

and no clear direction for the future

• 62.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Ufo, some info on the Wprfu and CT stadium. For Wp to get newlands up to Irb standards theyll have to find bout R150mil or more. This would include construction etc, but they would also have to buy the surrounding private properties to make space available. Big Problem this. CCT wants to basically give them the new stadium for free, just naming rights is the issue for both atm. More later….

• 63.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-62:

great news that slappes… thanks bud…

yeah… did suggest a a while back that the best way forward would be for the CCT to give WP the stadium… glad sensible thinking is happening…

will the city take newlands as a trade…? or will wp run both…?

• 64.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-61: So those are the cards you are dealt with then deal with them.
    No room for excuses or cry babies.
    Use it or lose it.

• 65.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-64:

Luyt told them before they got rid of him and they still had plenty cash to sell Ellispark and build a new stadium somewhere else like Midrand

• 66.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Classic banter on this thread.
    Nice…..

• 67.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-62:
    If that is the case, take the Cape Town Stadium and run.
    Interesting post, thanks, certainly shed some new light on this issue for me.

• 68.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-66: I would hardly call it classic banter. Looking at Slappes comebacks it’s clear that he still writes his name with crayons

• 69.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Yes Nortie, it’s not that simple: At Newlands there are about 300 suites and at the new CT stadium only ± 100 – that is one of the main points of discussion.
    If WP Rugby can’t accommodate the suite holders they will lose a lot of potential income!

As I’ve stated before, if a move is done to the CT stadium, I’ll give up my season tickets! That’s my personal opinion and while others are welcome to disagree, I’ve made up my mind

• 70.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-69:
    Ok, new spin and perspective.
    When will they come to a decision?
    The stadium and surrounds in that suburb must be worth a hell of a lot if they sell.
    If they do get the CT stadium, can they build additional suites?

• 71.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-68:

Howzit Tuna.

Banter between Lions supporters with different perceptions for the future of their beloved union. One see’s light at the end of the tunnel, the other see’s that light as an oncoming train.

• 72.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Nortie I have no idea!
    The new president has said that the “move” is one of his top priorities. A lot of discussions will have to take place and the clubs (all ±96 of them) have to take a majority decision in this regard.

Goodness knows when this will happen!

BTW I don’t know what the costs will be to “demolish” it.

• 73.gunther: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-69:

According to my bud Xhosaskid all they need to to is increase the price of suites by 300%.

• 74.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Gunther obviously your buddie is an accountant / economist………….or not

• 75.nortierd: Reply to this comment

I’ve never been to the new stadium.
    Last time I drove past they were still constructing, shows you how long ago I’ve been “home”
    If they do move, it will take a while to get used to, but after a season or 2 it will be business as usual.
    Honestly, if the Stormers and WP wins trophies I don’t mind where it happens, as long as it happens.

• 76.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM, Wp have/are consulting concerning the addition of more suites at CT. There is enough space, but the bill for such expansion is also a problem. So lots to do still but theres progress…

• 77.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Yes Slappes that bill will be huge!!

• 78.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah charles… certainly not as simple as an overnight biddulphs or u-haul move… so a long way to go yet… but at least the intransigence on both sides seems to have softened…

i love newlands… always have… but a move to cape town stadium is inevitable…

i spoke to some WP management a few years ago… and was told they’d knew this but would hold out for the best possible deal…
    and they would have to spring for a renovation of newlands in the nearish future anyway.., the stands are really old now…

so as much as we have an emotional attachment to newlands… WP will eventually move to the new stadium…

• 79.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM, not really… that stadium was built to accomodate such expansion without much fuss but yeah Wp would want a better deal…but theres progress…

• 80.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@ufo-60: If that is the case UFO, then it seriously a sad state of affairs at KEO

• 81.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Yes Ufo I guess you’re right and it is inevitable in most peoples’ minds!
    Meanwhile I’ll enjoy Newlands until the end of it (I hope).
    Hopefully we can achieve that illusive S15 title!

Way back in my res at Stellenbosch, a then Transvaal supporter and fellow “res mate” (Eugene) said he’ll start supporting WP when both Schalk Burger and Faffa Knoetze were chosen for Province. They were with us in res and eventually (after they had been picked) Eugene started to support Province.

Maybe I’ll commit myself to the CT stadium when we take the S15 title. I’m sure Bakkies et al will tell me to relax!

• 82.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Loyal Lion-80:
    Los die thread, kom gesels eerder saam op die Hore thread.
    Baie beter en goeie pret.

• 83.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

Now it makes sense! Slappes is a pure bred WP supporter. He knows nothing else but as soon as WP comes up, boy does he know his ****!

• 84.Loyal Lion: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-82: Thanks ou Maat, maak so…

• 85.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM, faffa , kobus, freddie, niel, div, niel, calla, michael, carel, theuns, gert. = legends!

• 86.ufo: Reply to this comment

fair enough charles… so will i… im also a season ticket holder…

• 87.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Loyallion, No youre wrong..again. I read alot and comprehend what I read as well, you should try it. I support the black and white Dynamite…boom!

• 88.ufo: Reply to this comment

loyal lion…

keo is… interesting… if nothing else…
    but great for learning about whats happening from many people…

and plenty of banter and fun.,

just chillax and enjoy it

• 89.ufo: Reply to this comment

slappes@85

absolutely..!!

• 90.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-87:
    Die dynamite met die kort lonte?
    2 March and 13 April is going to be epic.

• 91.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Slappes, I’ve played with some of them way back!!!
    I’ll never forget those days !!

BTW I’m out for the night !!

Until tomorrow then !!

• 92.ufo: Reply to this comment

cheers charles

• 93.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Ufo, another little crumb the City never invested any money in that stadium, national gov built it. The city only has the monthly operating costs to cover which amounts R1mil. City wants to get rid of that expense asap, and Wp would be the solution.

• 94.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-79:

Obviously, the WPRU will want to go to a larger, and this time all-seater, stadium. The CT seats what at present? +/- 60,000.

If they even decide to just double the number of suites to 200 – let alone 300, this will decrease the stadium capacity substantially.

• 95.ufo: Reply to this comment

sounds good slappes.. just a matter of time… please keep us informed…

also out for the night…

• 96.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Iamstormer, not really mate. Cape town stadium was built with expansion in mind and its a multipurpose circuit iow soccer, rugby, athletics even cycling can be accomodated. The suites can be increased without loss of much seats.

• 97.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Cheers Ufo, CharlesM.

• 98.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-96: ok. Sounds good.

• 99.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I think the line up of games the Lions have is not to shabby at all.

A bit of compassion to Lions supporters that are freaked out should be the norm here and not an aberration, imagine if this had happened to your team and how you would be feeling just before the start of rugby season.

I would be extremely resentful and totally gutted if it happened to the Sharks.

• 100.Baylion: Reply to this comment

According to Beeld most of the Lions Challenge games will be broadcast by Supersport, except for the Kings game on 9 Feb and the USA tour games.

“Intussen het Supersport by navraag bevestig dat byna al die Lions se vriendskaplike wedstryde, wat tydens die duur van die Superrugby-reeks onder die vaandel van die “Lions Challenge” gespeel gaan word, uitgesaai sal word.

In die komende maand alleen sal die Lions se wedstryde teen Rusland, die Cheetahs en die Bulls op die kassie wees. Die kragmeting tussen die Lions en die Kings op 9 Februarie op Ellispark word nie uitgesaai nie; ook nie hul toer na Noord-Amerika in April nie.”

http://www.beeld.com/Sport/Rugby/Mitchell-Niks-duister-20130109

• 101.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

thing is, this is a really good schedule the lions have put together, well done KDK & Co.
    i will definitely be watching these games and i think its safe to say quite a few of them will be more exciting than the kings vs whoever.

dont see the lions losing the promo/releg at the end either.
    sorry kings, nothing personal.

• 102.guangzhoupoes: Reply to this comment

Enough about dissing porn okes

• 103.astrix: Reply to this comment

All I can say is…. Transvaal played a vital role in the birth of the Super Rugby tournament and by not just laying down after they were handed the card of SR exclusion (self inflicted AND politically motivated) – I really admire them for this.
    I believe we will see a new and exciting brand of rugby.

Lions Supporter

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.