Stade Francais want Steyn
15 Jan 2013
Morne Steyn could leave the Bulls after their Super Rugby campaign if they agree to release him early from his contract.
Steyn’s agent, Johan van Greune, confirmed the flyhalf is looking for a new challenge following speculation in the French press on Monday that he would be joining Stade Francais.
‘There is a deal on the table and we’re waiting for final paper work,’ Van Greune told Eyewitness News Sport on Tuesday. ‘The final decision to move to Stade Francais has also not been taken by Morne. His contract to play for the Bulls is until the end of the year.
‘We are waiting for a pre-contract from Stade Francais and then I need approval from the Bulls so that he can leave after Super Rugby. So there are still a few things to do before there’s an actual contract signed.’
Steyn, who has 42 Test caps, was dropped by Bok coach Heyneke Meyer during last year’s Rugby Championship after a string of poor performances and did not make the Bok 23 for their final match of the year against England at Twickenham.
Van Greune said Steyn would still be available for Bok selection if he opted to play club rugby in France.

50 Comments
15 Jan 2013, 11:18 am
Regardless, I never like seeing a player head offshore.
Depth is under-appreciated, as is the ability to pass on the right, which the Bulls clearly have.
You need guys who have won in the past to teach the youngsters (such as Pollard) how to be professionals.
I’ll miss you Morne.
15 Jan 2013, 11:19 am
@hendrikp-1:
*to pass on the right team culture, which the Bulls clearly have.
15 Jan 2013, 11:27 am
Why do they actually want him?
15 Jan 2013, 11:34 am
@NZINCHINA-3:
For one, winning a bucket-load of Super Rugby titles can’t be undone.
And they’ll probably get him at a relative bargain. Why not take a risk on a guy that could destroy opposition teams with front foot ball?
Nobody’s perfect. Morne had a few shockers, but for being a good Springbok, and a very very good Blue Bull, he deserves definite applause.
15 Jan 2013, 11:39 am
@hendrikp-4:
Fair call, he’s past his best but he’ll probably look good up north look at Pinnear he’s like god in Ireland.
15 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
Have him with pleasure
15 Jan 2013, 11:54 am
@NZINCHINA-5:
Easy with that. Ruan has always been an amazingly talented player. If you ever see the guy warm-up, you’ll be shocked to see what that guy can do with a rugby ball.
He got screwed by Muir, and then by Matfield and co. who obviously put their foot down about Morne being number-1 – as they tried under Jake White by trying to get Johan Roets selected ahead of Frans Steyn.
It’s a blessing in disguise that he’s finally found a province that just lets him win games.
15 Jan 2013, 12:01 pm
They can have him!
15 Jan 2013, 12:05 pm
@hendrikp-7:
He doesn’t cut it at international level though look at last year he was awful. The Bokke have big problems at 9.
15 Jan 2013, 12:14 pm
@NZINCHINA-9:
Sure,
They beat the Poms and the Irish under Pienaar’s control at the back, something the ABs failed to achieve if my memory is correct?
15 Jan 2013, 12:19 pm
@Hondo-10:
Pinnear is a very average international 9, NZ losing to England isn’t going to change that.
15 Jan 2013, 12:23 pm
@hendrikp-4: OK! Clap, clap clap.
15 Jan 2013, 12:26 pm
@NZINCHINA-3:
You only need to look at who the top point-scorer at 34 yrs old in France is at the moment, their style of play and past ex-pat performances for your answer as to why a 28 yr old Steyn points machine is in big demand…
15 Jan 2013, 12:51 pm
So News24 says he will be leaving and hoping to get an early release from the Bulls…
Not a big loss at all for them… He has been really poor lately…
15 Jan 2013, 13:00 pm
Bulls should keep Morne for the Currie Cup. Their young inside backs need his guidance.
As for Pienaar, he’s one of the most naturally talented players in his position. His early years as Sharks 9 were pure class. In all fairness, half of Januarie’s caps should have gone to Pienaar, in terms of form at time of selection.
15 Jan 2013, 13:05 pm
@bryce_in_oz-13:
Clearly far too much money floating around in France if he is in big demand as Gumboots just said he’s been very poor in recent years
@ali-15:
How would you rate Pinnear in a Bokke jersey and in particular this year?
15 Jan 2013, 13:05 pm
Last year
15 Jan 2013, 14:10 pm
He only played last year bad – his kicking was then very bad. But many players came in the pass back big-time (Montgomery etc)
Just want to raise another point as Stormer supporter – how is Blue Bulls going to do this year? I have heard a Bulls coach think 3rd of SAFFA teams. I think Bulls supportsers is a bit negative at the moment. They were in front of S15 or second about 2-3 weeks last year before June tests after about 9 games.(that with a toal out of form Morne Steyn) Then Heyneke left with about their hole coaching team(defense coach, etc) and after that they struggled(lost most) I think they are going to do better this year than what the pundits are projecting.
That said, Stormers will win again the SA conference and if they have last year’s luck and less injuries win S15 or just narrowly get beaten in final.
15 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@NZINCHINA-16: China I think Pienaar is a lot more talented than what you have been exposed to however you make a fair piint, he has not been particularly good for us….I think his lack of mental toughness really stunts his growth as an international player.
15 Jan 2013, 14:46 pm
@NZINCHINA-16: Solid but unspectacular, with an above average kicking game.
Personally I think he’s the best bet of those available, especially in terms of Heynecke’s game plan. And seeing as our flyhalves are going to be youngsters in 2013, think he should get the nod ahead of Hougaard.
Form permitting, of course.
15 Jan 2013, 15:16 pm
@hendrikp-7: Roets? Really?
15 Jan 2013, 16:14 pm
@Gumboots-14: I have to disagree. Morne is a huge loss. He was going to break down at some stage have played three seasons none stop with no breaks. Morne might be past his best but he will be back this year. He can also mentor the youngsters and pass on a lot of knowledge gained from winning 3 Super Rugby titles. Remember, you can not buy experience.
@Jonck-18: I think the Bulls will do better than last year but we will not win the cup. Last year we had a bad year and still ended 5th overall. If Morne, Handre Pollard and Louis Fouche fire we can push for a top 6 overall.
15 Jan 2013, 16:24 pm
ali #20 – On the subject of Hougie, that is another big issue. Where does this man go from here?
He is obviously lacking alot of experience at scrumhalf and did not have the same affect at wing last year as he did at the RWC!!
If he was an ozzie not a problem but he’s stuck in ja broer ville where player development is shockingly poor!!
15 Jan 2013, 18:01 pm
Oom Wynie is so moerig dat hy letterlik slange vang
http://www.bluebulls.co.za/article.aspx?artid=1750914
15 Jan 2013, 18:49 pm
@hendrikp-4: He was a good Springbok in 2009.
Not since.
15 Jan 2013, 19:09 pm
Steyn going to Stade Francais would be the best result for all parties concerned.
15 Jan 2013, 19:11 pm
@NZINCHINA-9: All of the Bok backs look bad under Herr Meyer.
15 Jan 2013, 19:19 pm
@victoriabok-24: A kicking camp.
15 Jan 2013, 19:21 pm
@kaksioek-27: Morne started playing badly when his father was arrested, he will get over it and be back.
15 Jan 2013, 19:26 pm
He had a good penalty against the British and Irish Lions.Thanks for the memory,Morne.
15 Jan 2013, 19:29 pm
@NZINCHINA-3: Will be a trick question in years to come.
15 Jan 2013, 20:25 pm
A great loss for the Bulls. Yes he was off last season, all players go though that sometime, but that doesn’t mean he can’t be back to form this year. Always sad to see a SA leaving for Europe. It weakens our Superrugby squads and backup players.
16 Jan 2013, 07:29 am
@Skeppie-19:
@ali-20:
Maybe this year he’ll nail down some good performances for the Bokke, you’d have to select him ahead of Hougaard though who just can’t control a game like a 9 should be able to.
16 Jan 2013, 07:32 am
@kaksioek-27:
This is true, do you see that changing this year?
@Airwell-29:
I just googled that, you are right that would have had a big effect on him and could explain some of his diabolical 2012 performances.
16 Jan 2013, 10:40 am
@NZINCHINA-34: I think when you have something like this happen to your father it has huge ramifications to your performance in any field. I was also told that he was kakked in front of all the Bulls players and told to leave his personal stuff out of his game which apparently also had a huge negative impact on him and thus the decision.
16 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
kakked out
16 Jan 2013, 10:57 am
@Stoetbul9-22: Stade just did exactly that……
16 Jan 2013, 10:57 am
i.e buy experience
16 Jan 2013, 12:01 pm
@Airwell-35:
Doesn’t explain 10′ or 11′ though.
16 Jan 2013, 19:05 pm
@willievz-28:
The Stormers have a mani and pedi camp, with a guest speaker doing facials
16 Jan 2013, 20:52 pm
One man’s poison is another man’s gold.
I wish this man good luck. He will have a very good time in France. Can learn to drink great wines, eat great food and enjoy an amazing culture. It will help him back and over his personal problems (if any)
he can do it in the cape too
16 Jan 2013, 20:54 pm
@victoriabok-40:
Don’t forget the marshmallows on a braai skewer and hot chocolate before slaaptyd stories
16 Jan 2013, 20:57 pm
@@whistle@blower@-42:
Wie’s die gewildste man in die (Stormers) Nudiste kamp?
Die ou wat vier koppies koffie en tien donuts terselfdertyd kan dra
16 Jan 2013, 20:58 pm
@@whistle@blower@-42:
And backrubs by the U/20 players
And manscaping
16 Jan 2013, 21:31 pm
@victoriabok-44:
haha
some hermanus shopping outing
and ice cream when its too hot for backline moves
and a history lesson in the role of the backline. Its origin and old 8mm footage of the days when the backline ran with the ball. Even though it was a leather ball
16 Jan 2013, 21:40 pm
@@whistle@blower@-45:
They also rehearse for their yearly rehearsal of “Pricilla, Queen of the Overberg meets Rocky Horror”
Reviewers say Jean’s performance as Frank-N-Furter is stunning Daahling, he fills a leotard and heels like only a Cape Town boy can
16 Jan 2013, 21:41 pm
@victoriabok-46:
performance not rehearsal
16 Jan 2013, 22:37 pm
@victoriabok-47:
Can you imagine that bus stopping in Villeirsdorp for the night? or Arniston?
So lekker soen sonder tanne
16 Jan 2013, 22:38 pm
@@whistle@blower@-48:
or Botriver for that matter
16 Jan 2013, 23:10 pm
Phew ! Thought it was Francie for a moment, but seriously he did really well for the Bulls, and the Boks cept this last season which was really a shocker not just bad.
I feel badly for him, think all the bad publicity had a lot to do with him deciding to go to France. Hope he enjoys it and makes some good dosh.