Stade Francais want Steyn

Morne Steyn could leave the Bulls after their Super Rugby campaign if they agree to release him early from his contract.

Steyn’s agent, Johan van Greune, confirmed the flyhalf is looking for a new challenge following speculation in the French press on Monday that he would be joining Stade Francais.

‘There is a deal on the table and we’re waiting for final paper work,’ Van Greune told Eyewitness News Sport on Tuesday. ‘The final decision to move to Stade Francais has also not been taken by Morne. His contract to play for the Bulls is until the end of the year.

‘We are waiting for a pre-contract from Stade Francais and then I need approval from the Bulls so that he can leave after Super Rugby. So there are still a few things to do before there’s an actual contract signed.’

Steyn, who has 42 Test caps, was dropped by Bok coach Heyneke Meyer during last year’s Rugby Championship after a string of poor performances and did not make the Bok 23 for their final match of the year against England at Twickenham.

Van Greune said Steyn would still be available for Bok selection if he opted to play club rugby in France.

50 Comments

• 1.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Regardless, I never like seeing a player head offshore.

Depth is under-appreciated, as is the ability to pass on the right, which the Bulls clearly have.

You need guys who have won in the past to teach the youngsters (such as Pollard) how to be professionals.

I’ll miss you Morne.

• 2.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-1:

*to pass on the right team culture, which the Bulls clearly have.

• 3.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Why do they actually want him?

• 4.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:

For one, winning a bucket-load of Super Rugby titles can’t be undone.

And they’ll probably get him at a relative bargain. Why not take a risk on a guy that could destroy opposition teams with front foot ball?

Nobody’s perfect. Morne had a few shockers, but for being a good Springbok, and a very very good Blue Bull, he deserves definite applause.

• 5.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-4:

Fair call, he’s past his best but he’ll probably look good up north look at Pinnear he’s like god in Ireland.

• 6.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Have him with pleasure

• 7.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-5:

Easy with that. Ruan has always been an amazingly talented player. If you ever see the guy warm-up, you’ll be shocked to see what that guy can do with a rugby ball.

He got screwed by Muir, and then by Matfield and co. who obviously put their foot down about Morne being number-1 – as they tried under Jake White by trying to get Johan Roets selected ahead of Frans Steyn.

It’s a blessing in disguise that he’s finally found a province that just lets him win games.

• 8.motomouse: Reply to this comment

They can have him!

• 9.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-7:

He doesn’t cut it at international level though look at last year he was awful. The Bokke have big problems at 9.

• 10.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-9:
    Sure,
    They beat the Poms and the Irish under Pienaar’s control at the back, something the ABs failed to achieve if my memory is correct?

• 11.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-10:

Pinnear is a very average international 9, NZ losing to England isn’t going to change that.

• 12.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-4: OK! Clap, clap clap.

;-)

• 13.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3:

You only need to look at who the top point-scorer at 34 yrs old in France is at the moment, their style of play and past ex-pat performances for your answer as to why a 28 yr old Steyn points machine is in big demand…

• 14.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

So News24 says he will be leaving and hoping to get an early release from the Bulls…

Not a big loss at all for them… He has been really poor lately…

• 15.ali: Reply to this comment

Bulls should keep Morne for the Currie Cup. Their young inside backs need his guidance.

As for Pienaar, he’s one of the most naturally talented players in his position. His early years as Sharks 9 were pure class. In all fairness, half of Januarie’s caps should have gone to Pienaar, in terms of form at time of selection.

• 16.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-13:

Clearly far too much money floating around in France if he is in big demand as Gumboots just said he’s been very poor in recent years

@ali-15:

How would you rate Pinnear in a Bokke jersey and in particular this year?

• 17.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Last year

• 18.Jonck: Reply to this comment

He only played last year bad – his kicking was then very bad. But many players came in the pass back big-time (Montgomery etc)

Just want to raise another point as Stormer supporter – how is Blue Bulls going to do this year? I have heard a Bulls coach think 3rd of SAFFA teams. I think Bulls supportsers is a bit negative at the moment. They were in front of S15 or second about 2-3 weeks last year before June tests after about 9 games.(that with a toal out of form Morne Steyn) Then Heyneke left with about their hole coaching team(defense coach, etc) and after that they struggled(lost most) I think they are going to do better this year than what the pundits are projecting.

That said, Stormers will win again the SA conference and if they have last year’s luck and less injuries win S15 or just narrowly get beaten in final.

• 19.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-16: China I think Pienaar is a lot more talented than what you have been exposed to however you make a fair piint, he has not been particularly good for us….I think his lack of mental toughness really stunts his growth as an international player.

• 20.ali: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-16: Solid but unspectacular, with an above average kicking game.

Personally I think he’s the best bet of those available, especially in terms of Heynecke’s game plan. And seeing as our flyhalves are going to be youngsters in 2013, think he should get the nod ahead of Hougaard.

Form permitting, of course.

• 21.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-7: Roets? Really?

• 22.Stoetbul9: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-14: I have to disagree. Morne is a huge loss. He was going to break down at some stage have played three seasons none stop with no breaks. Morne might be past his best but he will be back this year. He can also mentor the youngsters and pass on a lot of knowledge gained from winning 3 Super Rugby titles. Remember, you can not buy experience.

@Jonck-18: I think the Bulls will do better than last year but we will not win the cup. Last year we had a bad year and still ended 5th overall. If Morne, Handre Pollard and Louis Fouche fire we can push for a top 6 overall.

• 23.race of tan: Reply to this comment

ali #20 – On the subject of Hougie, that is another big issue. Where does this man go from here?
    He is obviously lacking alot of experience at scrumhalf and did not have the same affect at wing last year as he did at the RWC!!
    If he was an ozzie not a problem but he’s stuck in ja broer ville where player development is shockingly poor!!

• 24.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

Oom Wynie is so moerig dat hy letterlik slange vang

http://www.bluebulls.co.za/article.aspx?artid=1750914

• 25.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-4: He was a good Springbok in 2009.

Not since.

• 26.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Steyn going to Stade Francais would be the best result for all parties concerned.

• 27.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-9: All of the Bok backs look bad under Herr Meyer.

• 28.willievz: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-24: A kicking camp.

:(

• 29.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-27: Morne started playing badly when his father was arrested, he will get over it and be back.

• 30.wnbb: Reply to this comment

He had a good penalty against the British and Irish Lions.Thanks for the memory,Morne.

• 31.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-3: Will be a trick question in years to come.

• 32.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

A great loss for the Bulls. Yes he was off last season, all players go though that sometime, but that doesn’t mean he can’t be back to form this year. Always sad to see a SA leaving for Europe. It weakens our Superrugby squads and backup players.

• 33.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-19:
    @ali-20:

Maybe this year he’ll nail down some good performances for the Bokke, you’d have to select him ahead of Hougaard though who just can’t control a game like a 9 should be able to.

• 34.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-27:

This is true, do you see that changing this year?

@Airwell-29:

I just googled that, you are right that would have had a big effect on him and could explain some of his diabolical 2012 performances.

• 35.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-34: I think when you have something like this happen to your father it has huge ramifications to your performance in any field. I was also told that he was kakked in front of all the Bulls players and told to leave his personal stuff out of his game which apparently also had a huge negative impact on him and thus the decision.

• 36.Airwell: Reply to this comment

kakked out

• 37.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Stoetbul9-22: Stade just did exactly that……

• 38.shooter: Reply to this comment

i.e buy experience

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Airwell-35:

Doesn’t explain 10′ or 11′ though.

• 40.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@willievz-28:

The Stormers have a mani and pedi camp, with a guest speaker doing facials

• 41.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

One man’s poison is another man’s gold.

I wish this man good luck. He will have a very good time in France. Can learn to drink great wines, eat great food and enjoy an amazing culture. It will help him back and over his personal problems (if any)

he can do it in the cape too :)

• 42.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-40:

Don’t forget the marshmallows on a braai skewer and hot chocolate before slaaptyd stories

• 43.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@@whistle@blower@-42:

Wie’s die gewildste man in die (Stormers) Nudiste kamp?

Die ou wat vier koppies koffie en tien donuts terselfdertyd kan dra

• 44.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@@whistle@blower@-42:

And backrubs by the U/20 players

And manscaping

• 45.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-44:

haha :)

some hermanus shopping outing

and ice cream when its too hot for backline moves

and a history lesson in the role of the backline. Its origin and old 8mm footage of the days when the backline ran with the ball. Even though it was a leather ball

• 46.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@@whistle@blower@-45:

They also rehearse for their yearly rehearsal of “Pricilla, Queen of the Overberg meets Rocky Horror”

Reviewers say Jean’s performance as Frank-N-Furter is stunning Daahling, he fills a leotard and heels like only a Cape Town boy can

• 47.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-46:

performance not rehearsal

• 48.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-47:

Can you imagine that bus stopping in Villeirsdorp for the night? or Arniston?

So lekker soen sonder tanne

• 49.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@@whistle@blower@-48:

or Botriver for that matter

• 50.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Phew ! Thought it was Francie for a moment, but seriously he did really well for the Bulls, and the Boks cept this last season which was really a shocker not just bad.

I feel badly for him, think all the bad publicity had a lot to do with him deciding to go to France. Hope he enjoys it and makes some good dosh.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.