Kings, Saru set for standoff

The Kings are still hoping to have more than two foreigners available for their debut Super Rugby season.

Current regulations state that all South African Super Rugby teams are only allowed two foreign players in their tournament squad.

Last year, the Kings sent a request to Saru for this restriction to be lifted, which would allow the Eastern Cape franchise to put together a competitive squad, as their current crop of players lack international experience. The plea was rejected.

Earlier this month, the Kings named a 40-man squad, which included five foreigners – French hooker Virgil Lacombe, Argentine flank Tomas Leonardi, Kenyan utility forward Daniel Adongo, New Zealand utility back Hadleigh Parkes and Argentine scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo.

Keo.co.za recently contacted Saru with regards to the Kings’ situation, and the national union confirmed that it has not changed its stance on the foreign player rule for any Super Rugby team.

However, EPRFU president Cheeky Watson still believes there is a chance that his franchise will be accommodated despite there being just four and a half weeks before the tournament kicks off.

‘The matter is still under advisement and is being debated,’ Watson told this site.

In terms of transformation, there are only nine South African players of colour in the Kings’ 40-man squad, which is less than what the EP Kings used during their title-winning Currie Cup First Division campaign (14 players of colour in a 41-man squad).

There are also no players called up from neighbouring unions SWD and Border.

However, Watson said Saru’s handling of the Super Rugby saga last year – which saw the Lions relegated and the Kings’ promotion confirmed in August – put them in a tough predicament.

‘While I agree that the number of players of colour could have been higher, one must remember that there have been a substantial number of challenges to the Southern Kings in the build up to the season, including the way in which the opportunity was finally presented to us,’ said Watson.

‘The short notice we were given meant it became impossible for us to bring back players of colour from other regions as they had already signed contracts with other unions. One must also keep in mind the fact that the majority of players of colour in the other unions come from the Eastern Cape.’

The Kings did manage to lure South African centre Ronnie Cooke to PE after a five-year stint in France with Brive and Grenoble. Cooke was a member of the Baby Boks team that won the U21 World Championship in 2005. The 28-year-old also played for the Leopards, Cheetahs and Griquas before his trip to Europe.

The Kings start their Super Rugby campaign against the Force in PE on 23 February.

Kings 40-man Super Rugby squad:

Forwards – Rynier Bernardo, David Bullbring, Kevin Buys, Cornell du Preez, Jacques Engelbrecht, Jaco Engels, Schalk Ferreira, Boetie Britz, Ross Geldenhuys, Lizo Gqoboka, Virgil Lacombe, Tomas Leonardi, Bandise Maku, Edgar Marutlulle, Mpho Mbiyozo, Darron Nell, Daniel Adongo, Devin Oosthuizen, Steven Sykes, Wimpie van der Walt, Luke Watson (c).

Backs – Demetri Catrakilis, Ronnie Cooke, Wesley Dunlop, Siyanda Grey, Johan Herbst, Michael Killian, SP Marais, Scott Mathie, Waylon Murray, Hadleigh Parkes, Sergeal Petersen, Marcello Sampson, Shakes Soyizwapi, Wayne Stevens, Andries Strauss, Elrich van Vuuren, Shaun Venter, Nicolas Vergallo, George Whitehead.

128 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

cheeky dragon

• 2.Tokoloshi: Reply to this comment

Transformation…the only thing watson is transforming
    Is his pocket. Howzabout transforming some of those
    Eastern cape Kiwi supporter traitor fools who think
    They very clever doing the haka, and making some
    Kind of statement against SA rugby. REAL SOUTH
    AFRICANS – Black or white…support the BOKKE ek se!

• 3.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Go Cheeky! Go Luke! Go Kings!
    Long live the Kings! Lions can continue to be a corrupt union without playing super rugby.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

Cant wait to see Luke back in Super Rugby again….

• 5.Slappes: Reply to this comment

This squad will p@esklap the loserlions ….lol!

• 6.willievz: Reply to this comment

An article or short piece on Ronnie Cooke would be very interesting.

I thought he had a great chance to become a Springbok before he left for France.

And when he left for France I thought he would eventually sing La Marseillaise before kick-off.

And he is only 28.

• 7.grant10: Reply to this comment

@willievz-6: Yes Willie….he had talent to spare…I remember being highly the moer in when he left SA Shores

• 8.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

If Cheeky cannot get Saru to increase foreign quotas, then he’ll do well to get the Sharks to loan him, Mjekevu, Sithole, Mthembu and Hadebe… None of them are likely to feature for the Sharks anyway.

• 9.Jeez: Reply to this comment

‘The short notice we were given meant it became impossible for us to bring back players of colour from other regions as they had already signed contracts with other unions. One must also keep in mind the fact that the majority of players of colour in the other unions come from the Eastern Cape.’

Wow what a thick statement. What guarantee is there that EP players of colour who have settled at other franchises would consider going back to EP? Why would they?

Cheeky might as well ask the Du Plessis brothers to go play for the Cheetahs. And Francois Hougaard to go and play for the Stormers.

Weak excuse imo.

• 10.gunther: Reply to this comment

Usual shenanigans.

• 11.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-4:
    my feeling is he will most likely not satisfy you to the extent you expect, its nothing personal, i just think time and injury have taken the best out of him.
    good luck to him all the same though.

• 12.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-9:
    Of course they would, for the kind of money Cheeky is offering. But the point is, because Saru’s ineptitude, they were too late and all the players already signed.

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-11: He is still far better than Spies ….

• 14.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-8:
    they probably factor them into their planning for backup players (to the bench sitters) in the wider squad and who will come into the squad if there’s a run of injuries and/or they cannot replace injured players with outsiders at short notice.

still a good idea though, a system could be devised similar to the ‘draft’ type one the nz’ers use between franchises.

• 15.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-13:
    well, then i hope he earns his place in the team.
    ‘unlike Spies’….

• 16.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-15:

Cheeky made him captain, he must play

• 17.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@grant10-13:

I liked him a couple of years back when he was probably the best loosie in the CC and he was snubbed by Jake, just like he did with Ettienne Botha

I suspect he might be over his prime

His outburst over the Bok jersey and Dutchmen didn’t do him no favours either

• 18.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-16:
    yes, thats my concern too.
    if it is the case then its no different to the old boys ‘Fat Boys Club’ routine Grant has felt so strongly about in the past.

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

it definitely cant be on form.

• 20.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

anyway
    i’m out for a bit

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-18 are you intimating LW not good enough to start at the Kings? Because that would be laughable.

• 22.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@grant10-21:

Any flanker from the Vodacom Cup would be good enough to start for the Kings

I said Luke was at his prime but when White snubbed him and he went to play up North, not quite Super rugby

Then he came back and played in the First Division for two years, also not quite up to Super rugby standards

He might not be the player he was before he left and he haven’t played at Super Rugby level for quite a few years

• 23.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@grant10-4: Luke is a cnut. End of story. We dont need players with his ‘tendencies’ in the Springbok team.

• 24.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-14:

The only player that is likely to ever get an opportunity should there be a severe injury crisis is Sithole…

Let’s look at the Sharks midfield options: Steyn, Whitehead, Jordaan, JP, Bosman… At loose forward: Daniel, Kanko, Coetzee, Alberts, Deysel, Botes, Kleinhans, PSDT… At hooker: Bissie, Burden, Cooper…

So the likelihood of these players getting any game time are slim to none.

• 25.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I say allow the Kings to have as many foreign players as they like, but in the spirit of fairness then all the other super rugby teams must be allowed to contract as many foreign players as they like too.

No more special treatment Kings. You already somehow concocted your non-merited inclusion in the tournament, now you want special dispensation to adhere to whichever rules suit you ?

Actually….that sounds a bit like South African culture in general.

• 26.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-24: Kanko is not at the Sharks any more. Wake up. I think Kyle Cooper is also on his way out. And I dont think our black players aspirations are low enough to go play for the Kings. Even if it was on loan. Of course – I could be wrong.

• 27.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@grant10-21: After what he said – Isn’t good enough to clean my bung after a wild night at Pranesh’s Tandoori Tavern. I am quite sure the Sharks still celebrate the day the daddy’s boy left. I am surprised it isn’t a public holiday in Durban.

• 28.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@grant10-21: And don’t get your knickers in a knot again….we dont want you running off in a tantrum and spending 6 months off the site again because we hurt your feelings. Geez – it took the rare event of WP winning some silverware for you to return. Remember – this is just banter.

• 29.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-27:

> to clean my bung after a wild night at Pranesh’s Tandoori Tavern

Exactly what did Pranesh do to you? :-)

Was it on the menu or a “special”?

• 30.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-28:

Speedo not knickers, a red one

• 31.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@grant10-7: ‘the moer in’ ? Did you throw your eyebrow pencil at someone ?

• 32.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-29: If I was still in Durban, I would invite you (to come watch the Bulls get massacred by the Sharks again) and then we could visit a Punjab Palace and I you’ll get the picture the next morning ;-)

• 33.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-30: Doubt it. Speedo is way too masculine for Gwanty.

• 34.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-31:

Feather Boa

• 35.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-33:

It pays to advertise

My dad told me when they did a tour of San Francisco last summer they drove past a spot where a lot of naked g.ay guys were standing around

He said although it was cold the one guy “kon petrol steel met daai ding”

We should send Gwantie there, he’d fit right in :-) and could also support the Packers (Green Bay not fudge)

• 36.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-32:

> Bulls get massacred by the Sharks again

Maybe but were still building, if they or the Brokebacks can’t win it this year they’ll never win it

Especially with Cheeky’s 10 free points

> a Punjab Palace and I you’ll get the picture the next morning

We have a liftoff?

I actually love the curry in Durban, they used to have a “What to do in Durban” brochure in the hotels and holiday apartments and we always went to the curry restaurant voted best that year

The best seafood platter I’ve ever had was at a nondescript restaurant called Langoustines in Pinetown

• 37.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-35: And did your dad have to undergo electrocution therapy to get that image from his brain ? I would – even if it was DIY from the houses power mains.

There are some weird folks on here. There are definitely a few okes that know next to nothing about rugby but just come on here to get a rise. Especially when there is a politically motivated discussion going on. There are also a few guys who are using multiple login names, all with very different personalities – which is scarey…………..

Careful – last year Gwanty had a petulant little sign off here – couldn’t handle the horrible people any more. We were upsetting his sensitive constitution. He probably had to go visit his spirit healer in Camps Bay for a colon cleanse.

• 38.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-37:

> He probably had to go visit his spirit healer in Camps Bay for a colon cleanse

Did he use a water ***** or his Camps Bay meat syringe?

• 39.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-36: There is an awesome seafood place in Ballito called Mo-Zam-Bik. You should try it – awesome place.

• 40.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-32:

Are you the guy in Scaninavia or the guy that used to live in Seattle, I can’t remeber anymore?

• 41.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-38: Not sure of the details – you will have to ask Gwanty. I imagine it depends on the client. Some okes just get the toilet brush.

• 42.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-39:

Haven’t been in Durban for years

The prawns here doesn’t taste the same, we have a friend with shrimp traps and he gets us fresh ones, but the taste bland

I think it’s the cold water vs the warm Indian ocean filled with the “runoff” of a billion Indians and Africans for flavour

• 43.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-40: I am in Norway, but will probably be moving over to the USA this year. Somewhere on the East Coast.

• 44.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-43:

Beware ET lives there as well, or at least claims to

He might actually be living in one of the multinics heads

• 45.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-37:

No, he just laughed, he’s a Bulls fan after all :-)

• 46.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-42: You do know that there are virtually no prawns commercially fished off the SA coastline right ?

All of our bulk supply prawns come from Mozambique. We do fish crayfish though. I know because I researched a coincidental business opportunity once that involved shipping of frozen shellfish. Legal….relax…..:-)

So when okes are sitting in a restaurant in Durban or Cape Town amazed by how fresh the prawns are…………..its all in their mind. That stuff is all shipped frozen from Mozambique.

• 47.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-44: ET lives in Svalbard, Norway ? Inside the Arctic circle ?

I am here for research, and climate is important. This phase of my research is nearly completed. That is all I am saying.

• 48.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-47:

No Eastern US, Philadelphia I think

• 49.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-47:

Tired of chasing polar bears and shagging Helga?

• 50.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-48: And you’re in Victoria right ? Pity – you sound like the kind of oke I could have a beer and watch a game with. Even if it is Bulls vs. Sharks :-D

I couldn’t with Gwantie for instance – he would run out crying like a little girl who had her barbie stolen on the playground.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.