Kings, Saru set for standoff
16 Jan 2013
The Kings are still hoping to have more than two foreigners available for their debut Super Rugby season.
Current regulations state that all South African Super Rugby teams are only allowed two foreign players in their tournament squad.
Last year, the Kings sent a request to Saru for this restriction to be lifted, which would allow the Eastern Cape franchise to put together a competitive squad, as their current crop of players lack international experience. The plea was rejected.
Earlier this month, the Kings named a 40-man squad, which included five foreigners – French hooker Virgil Lacombe, Argentine flank Tomas Leonardi, Kenyan utility forward Daniel Adongo, New Zealand utility back Hadleigh Parkes and Argentine scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo.
Keo.co.za recently contacted Saru with regards to the Kings’ situation, and the national union confirmed that it has not changed its stance on the foreign player rule for any Super Rugby team.
However, EPRFU president Cheeky Watson still believes there is a chance that his franchise will be accommodated despite there being just four and a half weeks before the tournament kicks off.
‘The matter is still under advisement and is being debated,’ Watson told this site.
In terms of transformation, there are only nine South African players of colour in the Kings’ 40-man squad, which is less than what the EP Kings used during their title-winning Currie Cup First Division campaign (14 players of colour in a 41-man squad).
There are also no players called up from neighbouring unions SWD and Border.
However, Watson said Saru’s handling of the Super Rugby saga last year – which saw the Lions relegated and the Kings’ promotion confirmed in August – put them in a tough predicament.
‘While I agree that the number of players of colour could have been higher, one must remember that there have been a substantial number of challenges to the Southern Kings in the build up to the season, including the way in which the opportunity was finally presented to us,’ said Watson.
‘The short notice we were given meant it became impossible for us to bring back players of colour from other regions as they had already signed contracts with other unions. One must also keep in mind the fact that the majority of players of colour in the other unions come from the Eastern Cape.’
The Kings did manage to lure South African centre Ronnie Cooke to PE after a five-year stint in France with Brive and Grenoble. Cooke was a member of the Baby Boks team that won the U21 World Championship in 2005. The 28-year-old also played for the Leopards, Cheetahs and Griquas before his trip to Europe.
The Kings start their Super Rugby campaign against the Force in PE on 23 February.
Kings 40-man Super Rugby squad:
Forwards – Rynier Bernardo, David Bullbring, Kevin Buys, Cornell du Preez, Jacques Engelbrecht, Jaco Engels, Schalk Ferreira, Boetie Britz, Ross Geldenhuys, Lizo Gqoboka, Virgil Lacombe, Tomas Leonardi, Bandise Maku, Edgar Marutlulle, Mpho Mbiyozo, Darron Nell, Daniel Adongo, Devin Oosthuizen, Steven Sykes, Wimpie van der Walt, Luke Watson (c).
Backs – Demetri Catrakilis, Ronnie Cooke, Wesley Dunlop, Siyanda Grey, Johan Herbst, Michael Killian, SP Marais, Scott Mathie, Waylon Murray, Hadleigh Parkes, Sergeal Petersen, Marcello Sampson, Shakes Soyizwapi, Wayne Stevens, Andries Strauss, Elrich van Vuuren, Shaun Venter, Nicolas Vergallo, George Whitehead.

128 Comments
16 Jan 2013, 19:41 pm
@Dusky-46:
I heard the Soviets overfished the Mozambican waters in Samora’s days
Are there still some prawns left?
16 Jan 2013, 19:42 pm
@victoriabok-51:
It was the East Germans.
In exchange for dredging the harbour.
16 Jan 2013, 19:42 pm
@Dusky-50:
> he would run out crying like a little girl who had her barbie stolen on the playground
Ken, Ken not Barbie
Sies man jou stoute kabouter
16 Jan 2013, 19:43 pm
@gunther-52:
Did the prawns make a comeback?
@victoriabok-49: Actually a pretty awesome place. When you live in a climate like this, you realize how much people that live in temperate climates take life for granted. Everything you do here, is done measured by the weather. People are humble, salt of the earth. There is no time here for political idiocy – survival is at the top of everyone’s list.
@victoriabok-53: No Ken is stuck up his poephol. That’s where Ken lives.
16 Jan 2013, 19:48 pm
@Dusky-50:
> And you’re in Victoria right ? Pity – you sound like the kind of oke I could have a beer and watch a game with. Even if it is Bulls vs. Sharks
Sounds good, not now though still a bit cool and it get’s dark early although the days are getting longer
Or anyone playing the Kings?
Me and HG are floating the idea of starting a pool for the player giving Pukie the hardest tackle, cleaning out and just generally f.cking him up.
It’s called the Pukie **** Klap(PPK)fund
Would you contribute to the PPK?
16 Jan 2013, 19:49 pm
@Dusky-56:
Felching with Ken?
Sounds like a g.ay Mills and Boon
Maybe the Hamster started to bite?
16 Jan 2013, 19:49 pm
Go Kings!
16 Jan 2013, 19:50 pm
@victoriabok-57: I would definitely. So there is a financial reward or a trophy ? Or both ?
16 Jan 2013, 19:52 pm
@Dusky-55:
We’re fortunate, the climate here is very mild compared to the rest on Canada
I live next to a temperate rainforest, I’ve got a big Blacktail buck browsing in my garden as well as raccoons raiding my garbage bin
Are the girls there pretty?
16 Jan 2013, 19:54 pm
@Dusky-60: It should be called the ‘I made Luke puke on his jersey’ award. The first player to get him to expel vomit onto his jersey for whatever reason – wins the award.
I know of a very rich guy who offered one of the Chiefs players like NZ$ 5000 to pull out some (at least one) of Umaga’s dreadlocks and hold it up like a trophy when the Chiefs played the Hurricanes.
Not many people saw it, but one of the guys actually did it and my acquaintance happily paid the bounty.
16 Jan 2013, 19:54 pm
@Dusky-60:
Financial reward, unlimited beer from Windhoek and a weekend in a hottub filled with Sharks girls and Bulls Babes
16 Jan 2013, 19:56 pm
@victoriabok-61: Not really dude. Unless you like the Eskimo look.
Only joking – There are some decent looking ones. Its very rural here – you must remember.
@Dusky-62:
That’s good too, he just needs to kak, fortunately there are eight derbies to do it in
Lekker
@victoriabok-63: Geez….I wonder if I am too old to play…..I want that award.
16 Jan 2013, 19:58 pm
@Dusky-64:
Foreplay Boet and lots of vaseline
Their eyes are scrunched up like that because they’re not used to our Boerewors sized spears of the nation
16 Jan 2013, 19:59 pm
@Transformation-59:
Pull my other finger?
16 Jan 2013, 20:01 pm
@Dusky-66:
You can get him on his way to the game as well
16 Jan 2013, 20:01 pm
@Dusky-66:
The money, the beer or the girls?
16 Jan 2013, 20:02 pm
@Dusky-64:
> Unless you like the Eskimo look.
We have to refer to Inuit in PC Canada
16 Jan 2013, 20:03 pm
@victoriabok-65: I was joking about paying someone to throw a vomit bomb (like a water balloon, but filled with boerewors and brandewyn kots from the heavy Friday night before) onto Watson when he ran out of the tunnel in that first game he played at Loftus after his ‘puke’ comments.
I was advised by an attorney that I could end up going to prison for conspiracy to commit an assault. So I didn’t do it. Would have been excellent though.
16 Jan 2013, 20:04 pm
@victoriabok-70: The girls dude – of course.
16 Jan 2013, 20:19 pm
@Dusky-72:
We could slip him a roofie and let Grant have his way with him
I’m sure it won’t take a lot of convincing on our part
16 Jan 2013, 20:20 pm
@Dusky-73:
Tired of Mevrou Palm en haar vyf dogters?
16 Jan 2013, 20:23 pm
@victoriabok-74: He has body guards to keep people like Gwanty away. His team mates get too jealous if he shares his affections outside of the change room.
16 Jan 2013, 20:24 pm
@victoriabok-75:
Married pal….
16 Jan 2013, 20:24 pm
@Dusky-77:
No excuse
16 Jan 2013, 20:26 pm
@Dusky-76:
A roofie in his Powerade and Bob’s your uncle, or Gwantie your aunt?
16 Jan 2013, 20:29 pm
@victoriabok-79: You might not need a roofie. If Gwantie rolls his sleeves up around his neck…..Luke would be attracted. That is why he went to WP/Stormers – because they love the really short sleeve look.
16 Jan 2013, 20:32 pm
@Dusky-80:
Of his shorts?
16 Jan 2013, 20:33 pm
How can daddy Watson make his own son captain ?
Have this lot got no shame ? First they force their way into the party, then they demand two slices of cake each and now daddy picks his own spawn as the prom queen ?
16 Jan 2013, 20:42 pm
@Dusky-82:
He can, he’s the Big Man at the Kings
He has been annointed by the Party to take rugby out of the pale and into the darkness where Bafana Bafana dwell
And to make moola in the process
16 Jan 2013, 20:46 pm
@victoriabok-83: Brilliant. Mercedes Benz or BMW will sell another top of the range model in SA. The dealerships in PE are all waiting in anticipation.
16 Jan 2013, 20:48 pm
Vic Bok, you being nasty with Lukie again?
Sy pappa gaan vir jou bliksem ****.
16 Jan 2013, 20:48 pm
@nortierd-85:
damn, keep forgetting we may not say h o o r
16 Jan 2013, 20:53 pm
@Dusky-84:
He is PE’s version of Superman
Is it a bird,
Is it a plane
No, it’s Super Cheeky
http://www.dispatch.co.za/daredevil-cheeky-to-the-rescue-in-day-of-drama/
16 Jan 2013, 20:54 pm
@nortierd-85:
Sy pappa kan nie eers van die bed af bliksem nie
Hy moet eerder maniere in sy seuntjie in bliksem
16 Jan 2013, 20:55 pm
@nortierd-86:
Only allowed on the h.ore thread
16 Jan 2013, 20:56 pm
@victoriabok-89:
i missed the running for the 25000 today
the hore is still kicking
16 Jan 2013, 21:00 pm
@nortierd-90:
We’re riding this h.ore hard
Til her ****** farts
16 Jan 2013, 21:15 pm
@victoriabok-57: Where do I sign up?
16 Jan 2013, 21:17 pm
@Dusky-46: howzit.
1. kanko is back at the sharks for the s15 as far as i know?
2. loads of prawns are caught off tugela banks i thought?
@gunther-52: and the harbour at teco banine will destroy the coastline as far south as sodwana, say goodbye to soddies folks.
this time its the chinese.
they have coerced the govt officials in inhambane to allow gill netting of dolphins now that the long lining is producing reduced results.
mozambique is just another african country led by tuncs.
16 Jan 2013, 21:19 pm
no point in including border and swd.
inclusion is the cry you use until you are included in africa.
then feck em all, its my turn.
16 Jan 2013, 21:23 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-92:
http://www.lukeis‘ndoosensypais’nkont.co.za
Click donate
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, lolobola cows and skelm knippies from rowwe girls, basically anything except Zim Dollars as we don’t have enough space at our offices
The secretary already has to sit on my lap as we speak
16 Jan 2013, 21:34 pm
how can it be that only 9 black players can be found from 200,000 black players in the EC?
how?
16 Jan 2013, 21:35 pm
@victoriabok-95:
Would like to add a few more names as well, ie any other SA player who signed for the Kinks last year…
16 Jan 2013, 21:35 pm
its a mystery.
oh well, life is full of them i suppose.
16 Jan 2013, 21:43 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-97:
My friends told me DTH van der Merwe who plays for Canada wanted to sign for them as well, maybe the limit on foreign players stopped him
16 Jan 2013, 21:44 pm
@The Rangerman-93:
Why would you gill net a dolphin?
Who eats dolphins?