Baby Boks flex muscles

The Baby Boks surged to a 65-7 victory over a Peter de Villiers-led UWC in Stellenbosch on Friday afternoon.

It was an impressive first run-out from the defending junior world champions, who dominated the former Springbok coach’s Varsity Shield team in the one-sided contest.

The Baby Boks crossed the chalk on 11 occasions, with flank Jacques du Plessis, inside centre Jan Serfontein and wing JP Lewis grabbing a brace each. Wing Luther Obi, No 8 Ruan Steenkamp, inside centre Dries Swanepoel, wing Tyler Fisher and hooker Eugene Le Maitre also got their names on the score sheet.

The extras were kicked by flyhalves Handre Pollard, Robert du Preez and Tim Swiel.

Baby Boks coach Dawie Theron gave most of his squad of 35 game time in their first trial match of the season, and was impressed with what he saw.

‘I was very happy with what happened on the field,’ Theron told keo.co.za. ‘We did very in all departments – attack, defence and our set pieces were great.

‘The only thing I’d want us to better is to get our set-piece execution better from the outset. Other than that, everybody did a great job.’

Good news for the Baby Boks is that Theron has retained his assistants – Nazeem Adams and Brendan Venter – for the team’s 2013 campaign. Venter told this site last year that he wasn’t sure that he’d be available for a second Junior World Championship, which will be hosted in France in June.

‘It’s great to have Nazeem and Brendan on board,’ Theron said. ‘Nazeem won the U19 provincial tournament with WP last season, so he knows all these U20 players. We’re all very excited to prepare for our title defence.’

Baby Boks - Tries: Luther Obi, Jacques du Plessis (2), Jan Serfontein (2), Ruan Steenkamp, Dries Swanepoel, Tyler Fisher, Eugene Le Maitre, JP Lewis (2). Conversions: Handre Pollard (3), Robert du Preez, Tim Swiel.

By Gareth Duncan, in Stellenbosch

47 Comments

• 1.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Baby Dragons!

• 2.Robzim: Reply to this comment

We will get a better idea of the strenght of the baby boks when they play Maties next week. Maties beat UWC 82-0 earlier this week.

• 3.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-2:

Hi Rob. Is Chean Roux still Maties coach or has he been replaced? I see that he’s moved onto bigger things at SARU.

• 4.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-3:

Hello

The new maties coach is Chris Roussuow (Pieter’s brother) – he played flyhalf for WP and the Cheetahs.The new chairman of the club is Freddie Ferreira and vice chairman is Charl Cronje (both ex maties and WP) .

• 5.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-4:

Thanks for that. Chean had a good innings at Maties. I’m sure we haven’t heard the last of him.

• 6.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-5: IMO Chean has a sharp rugby brain. I think he wanted a new challenge. Chris has been his deputy for a few years now.
    An interesting development is the temporary appointment of Jacques Hanekom as forwards’ coach of the Maties. Jacques is CEO of the WP Rugby Institute in Stellenbosch. The university reached an agreement with WP re Jacques’ involvement Jacques has been below the radar for quite some time. He coached Paul Roos 1st XV for a number of years as well as WP U/19 and 20.
    Nic Mallett made him director: junior rugby of WP when he (Nic) was still in charge at Province.
    When the WPRI was started Jacques took charge.

The two of us played some rugby at res: he was my loosehead prop. Those days you could still go up and down in a scrum – somehow the 2 of us (I was a hooker) clicked very well. Mostly we didn’t call any specific scrum “move” and it just happened.

Anyhow, those days Jacques already had an interest in coaching and has done numerous coaching courses.
    One of his big friends among others is Mike Cron, legendary scrum coach of the All Blacks.
    He doesn’t like the limelight and prefers to coach the younger players – IMO an excellent coach!!
    I apologise if this bored you!

• 7.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

For anyone that wants a good laugh: http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2013/01/18/big-names-starting-for-junior-boks/

One year one of win IRB Junior Player of the Year, the other gets called up while still in school (and with 3 years of eligibility left), and they win the whole damn thing… but the next year you’re still not as good as the Sharks player who could be in your spot.

Damn fools.

• 8.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Eish… only one thing worst I could think of than 80 pt drubbings by Varsity teams for these youngsters… is having Snor in charge… banana’s anyone?

• 9.FawltyRich: Reply to this comment

Is Louie Koen their kicking coach? 5/11 conversions?

• 10.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Tyler Fisher is no Ork… able to step off both feet, pace, excellent boot not too mention a big boy… needs a tan though to start…

• 11.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@FawltyRich-9:

Bit worrying that… when you consider Morne Steyn and Goosen’s poor form…

• 12.ufo: Reply to this comment

hey rob & charles…

thanks for those updates of who’s who in the wp zoo… always lekker to keep in touch with whats happening behind the scenes… not boring at all… please let us know of any future moves or news

• 13.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-11: Good point.

Considering how Sias Ebersohn, Morne Steyn, Johan Goosen and Ruan Pienaar (all supposed to be 80% kickers) suddenly looked useless after Koen worked with them.

And no, Koen isn’t the kicking coach, BUT he was part of the ‘HP mobile’ thing that worked with the baby boks last week.

I’m not sure what Koen does with these players, but it is obviously wrong.

• 14.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-6:

Thanks for that, Charles. Nice to know who’s doing what. I’ll be following Maties and Ikeys closely in the Varsity Cup.
    Getting back to Chean – I see Rassie has pulled him in at SARU together with others to assist with the franchise coaches as well as the age-group Baby Boks amongst others. Others involved are Nienaber, Louis Koen and Pieter de Villiers – not Snor, the other one.

• 15.charo: Reply to this comment

“crossed the chalk”?

gareth, the whole rugby world calls it a “line” or “tryline” – with the exception of nz.

do you also use terms like “pill”, “paddock”, “shed”, “jumper” etc to sound “more kiwi”?

@hendrikp-7:

what a bitter little chap you are.

• 16.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-14: I think it’s a good move by SARU / Rassie to form this “mobi unit”. Not too sure about Koen’s coaching qualities though !

• 17.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Is P Divvie the head coach or is he there in a assistant/ technical advisor post?

• 18.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Figure this is as good a thread as any to bring this up: anyone know who the PRG 15 Jason Worral was contracted by? Did WP get him? I remember his future being undecided.

• 19.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-17: He is head coach at UWC@silent_shadow-18: I’m not too sure – I think he is staying in Western Province but I may be wrong

• 20.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@charo-15:

How you mean? I’d argue I make a very good point. Stupidity at its best.

Anyway, what is our strongest Baby Boks line-up?

Not at all sure about the tight-5.
    1 ?
    2 Freddie Kirsten?
    3 Neethling Fouché?
    4 ? (Jacques du Plessis at blindside?)
    5 Marvin Orie?

Loosies, you can only be sure of Ruan Steenkamp
    6 ?
    7 (Jacques du Plessis unless he’s playing lock?)
    8 Ruan Steenkamp

Halves pairing is almost surely going to be:
    9 Hanco Venter
    10 Handrè Pollard

Centre pairing?
    12 Jan Serfontein – definite
    13 Any of Dries Swanepoel, Tyler Fisher or Justin Geduld?

Back-three:
    I’d argue for this combination… though they could force Geduld and Fisher onto the wing as well.
    11 JP Lewis
    14 Cheslin Kolbe
    15 Timo Swiel

• 21.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-20: Luther Obi, the Nigerian born wing is quite a powerful unit it seems

• 22.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-17:
    thanks Charles

• 23.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@charo-15:

Why would something so trivial like that bother you?

• 24.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-19:I’m not sure about that, Charles. Isn’t he like the director of rugby or something like that? like when Mallet was director of rugby at Stormers while v.d Merwe was the coach? Not b100% sure but I’ll try and find out what his real position is.

While we are at it. Has the universities even started yet? Most universities only register their senior students as of from next week. First year students started registering this week.

Now with rugby players from UWC only playing for the love of the game ie, without getting any monetory reward like players from some other varsities, no wonder proffesional players, who’ve been in a training camp for about three weeks, beat them by that score.

@NZINCHINA-23:
    That’s not the only thing that bothers him. just wait until a “silverback” like Serena Williams wins the Aus Open tennis tournament. You should see him then. :lol:

• 25.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-24:
    The reason I asked that question initially is because of the “The Baby Boks surged to a 65-7 victory over a Peter de Villiers-led UWC in Stellenbosch on Friday afternoon.”
    If he isn’t the head coach or sole custodian of the team that line reeks of a cheap dig.
    If he is, well then he should shoulder the blame, but it still seems like a cheap shot at P Divvie to me.

• 26.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-24: He is the director of rugby at UWC.His main task is the creation of the necessary rugby structures at UWC.

• 27.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-25:
    I know what you’re saying.

This is Keo (his site) however. He never forgave PdV for not giving him a job after he helped prepare PdV for his interview with SARU to get the job as coach of the Boks. A vindictive little man, is our Keo. :lol:

• 28.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-26:
    There we go. Not the head coach then.

I thought so. Brian O’Connel’s aim is to have UWC playing in the top flight of the Varcity Cup in the next five years and that was why he appointed PdV as director of rugby. Of course, Keo and his cronies saw the beating of the UWC team by the baby Boks as a means to beat up PdV even more.

Fools, damn fools they are.

• 29.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-28: Anything for a few extra hits!We are probably falling into their trap. :D

• 30.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-26:
    @nama1-28:
    Sad that, he brought some color ( excuse the pun , I’m sure you know what I mean) to the game.
    Not this dull sound bites we have to keep listening to. Not that HM has set the world alight so far.
    I actually miss him and his personality and over exuberance and hope he does well at UCT.

• 31.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-30: Sorry, meant UWC not UCT

• 32.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Div takes up new post

18 Jun 2012 11:00:06

Former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has accepted the post of director of rugby at the University of Western Cape.

There has been a lot of speculation about De Villiers’s future, and negotiations for a possible rugby ambassadorial role with the government are still ongoing, but De Villiers said on Monday that he had agreed to take up the post at UWC with immediate effect.

“The university has gained a good reputation academically over the past four years and they want me to help lift the standards of their sport,” said De Villiers on Monday.

The former Bok coach said he was looking forward to working in a positive rugby environment and was eager to implement some ideas he had which he hoped would benefit rugby in the Cape region generally.

Although De Villiers is currently touring the country promoting his autobiography, Politically Incorrect, he said he was going to find time on Monday to get some work done as the book tour takes a break until he arrives in Port Elizabeth later in the week.

“I’ve been officially involved with the university since the start of the month but we are only in position to announce my involvement now. It’s good to be working again and great to have a hands-on role in the sport I love. I have been impressed with the potential to grow rugby at UWC and think I can play a positive role there,” he said.

• 33.nama1: Reply to this comment

So, Montpellier moered Toulon today and they (Toulon) want to solve their (current) problem by signing on a bunch of South African golden oldies (Bakkies, John Smit, Habana, Danie Rousouw) who won the 2007 RWC and peaked in 2009, to help them win trophies? Chuck in johnny Wilkinson, Matt Giteau, Then guys like HG and Bakkies want to tell me what a great team they are? That their owner is busy building the best provincial/club team in the world. Freakin laughable.

A bunch of old toppies, playing rugby. That’s what they are.

• 34.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-32:
    Well that cleared things up, thanks.
    So I will stand by my comment that it is a cheap shot at him.

• 35.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-34: Certainly.You working today?Jeez,but that football was absolutely dire to say the least .I fell asleep during the game. :D

• 36.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-33:
    I picked the loss, but not by such a big margin.
    My shot in the dark game was picking Glasgow to win and luckily I was the only one in a pool of 33 so hit max points.

• 37.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-29:
    Good point. :lol:

@wnbb-32:
    I think this should be in BOLD so that Gareth Duncan and his boss see it. Also for the benefit of some readers on thius site before the go on and make fools of themselves. :lol:

Div takes up new post

18 Jun 2012 11:00:06

Former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has accepted the post of director of rugby at the University of Western Cape.

Let it be known that PdV IS NOT the head coach of the UWC, like Duncan wants you to believe..

• 38.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-35:
    Was boring as hell.
    Clocked off at 12, but am off today.
    Every day 12:00 to 00:00, but one rest day a week.

• 39.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-36:
    That was one moerse pakslae handed out to Toulon. I really can’t see how our four players will make that big a difference next season.

Nearly a year older, two yards slower and all.

Good for them maybe, but I don’t think it will be that good for the club.

• 40.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-37: This one taken from the Varsity Cup website is even better.Maybe Gareth should study the contents of it. :D

It’s official: De Villiers takes UWC job

1 Comment
    It has been confirmed that former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers will take up a new post as Director of Rugby at the University of the Western Cape (UWC).

De Villiers’s involvement was first mooted on the official Varsity Cup website on Monday and his new job was confirmed by UWC on Tuesday evening.

“Peter brings decades of knowledge relating to rugby and other sports to the UWC community. He will motivate students and staff alike and his impact on the entire sports programme will be immense,” said UWC vice-chancellor, Prof Brian O’Connell.

According to O’Connell, De Villiers’s extensive expertise would not be confined to simply growing UWC sportsmen and women to achieve on the scoreboard.

“As an engaged university, UWC is also about uplifting and empowering the community it serves, and De Villiers’s extended brief is to establish a UWC-based resource centre that will create a new generation of coaches, players, referees and administrators from local clubs and schools, as well as from UWC.”

De Villiers – who coached the Boks between 2008 and 2011 – said the appointment was his dream job.

The ex-Bok coach commented: “I am asked how one follows up on coaching the national side at international level. The answer is simple: by giving back and transforming sport at grassroots level, and through this position at UWC, I get to do this and fulfil a lifelong ambition.

“I always knew I was destined for something big but I did not realise it would be this big. I will work 24 hours to get a job done, knowing hard work is always rewarded – and the rewards here will be producing world-class people to compete at the highest levels of their disciplines.”

De Villiers will be involved with guiding and mentoring coaches and developing strategies and structures within rugby and other sport codes, and of course, will make his presence felt with hands-on coaching sessions – including the 2013 Varsity Shield.

“UWC has great facilities and it is hoped that this programme will attract aspiring top players to join UWC both in lecture halls and on the field. UWC must become the university of choice for sport and a place from which provincial and national sides are selected.

“But first, we will show what we have by being promoted from Varsity Shield to Varsity Cup,” he added.

De Villiers will not be the first Springbok rugby coach to get his hands dirty at Varsity Rugby level.

2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White consulted at FNB UCT, FNB TUT and FNB NMMU between 2009 and 2011, and current Bok boss Heyneke Meyer played a huge role in Varsity Cup champions, FNB UP-Tuks’, renaissance (in 2011).

• 41.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I am heading off to bed now.Nice chatting,Nama and Nortierd.Cheers.

• 42.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-39:
    If they think it’s a nice pension package, they need to think again.
    Those clubs have a moer of a long season with the Top 14 and Heineken Cup and it’s tough games.
    They were due for a loss.
    We dismiss the NH rugby as poor to quickly, yes the SH teams win more often than not, but it’s just the AB’s that make it look easy ( loss vs England excluded)
    Got a feeling the Lions will take Aus this year

• 43.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-35:
    You’re talking about Bafana?

Jeez!!! Less said, the better.

We actually discussed Cape Verde and its history as an outpost for slave trade while the game was on because it was so freakin boring.

I told the guys that SAFFA boast that our league is the 5th biggest behind England, italy, spain and germany , yet out national team does not reflect that.

It’s a freakin disgrace.

The sad thing is that a brilliant coach like Ingesund will be hanged out to dry if we don’t get through to the semi’s at least. A very likely possibility if you ask me.

• 44.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-41:
    Cheers, I’m also ready to knock off.

• 45.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-42:
    Aus were not great last year because most of the Reds players (who made up the bulk of the Aus 3N winning team in 2011) were played into the ground in 2011. They broke down last year (Genea, Cooper et al). They had a good rest period in 2012 because of their injuries and will be up and ready to go this year.

With all their top players back, Aus will take that series quite easily imo.

• 46.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-41: @nortierd-44:
    Nighty nigh guys.

Where the hell is my oom Skop?

• 47.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-45:
    Will be nice to see, you could be right, but I’m leaning towards the Lions.
    @nama1-46:
    Cheers, have a good night

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.