Crackdown on school drug cheats

Schoolboy-Derby-on-KEO

Crackdown on school drug cheats

Schoolboy rugby players caught doping could be suspended for three months or more or face expulsion.

The Cape Argus reports that a new testing programme launches on Monday, spearheaded by the SA Institute of Drug-Free Sport (Saids), which aims to eradicate a growing trend of steroid and drug use among teenagers in schools.

‘The testing will occur at any time and will not only be limited to athletes,’ said Saids chief executive Khalid Grant.

Substances that will be prohibited according to the programme include diuretics (which mask the presence of performance-enhancing drugs by flushing them out of the system), stimulants and steroids. Around 100 of South Africa’s top schools have signed up for the programme that will allow a school’s principle or Saids delegate to test any pupil suspected of doping.

According to Rapport, 18 out of 62 children independently tested in the past six months had positive results for drugs so dangerous they could lead to death.

Click here for SA Rugby magazine’s article on why schoolboy rugby players who take performance-enhancing drugs are playing a dangerous game

304 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

• 151.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-138: ET goes to Hollywood? Frankie says Relax.

• 152.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150:
    Thats good.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134:
    please Pedigree, i would expect something like that from Capo, not from you.
    have the decency not to cast aspersions on an honest mans character. he my be a lot of things to you, i get it, and sure, he has not pleased many with his rugby but if Pierre says he did not do it, then i believe he did not do it.

besides, he was tested?

the man was suffering from a life threatening hereditary condition which claimed the life of his father for goodness sake!

@Britney Spies-139:
    jy’s n idioot :-)

• 154.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153:

Nee dit weet ek en 80% van SA. :lol:

• 155.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150:

I thought it was the Billtong that made the man mountains in the republic.

• 156.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pedigree: pity for him he didn’t just stick to using that supreme athleticism to get him over the line! pity that he was arrogant enough to fcukup honest people’s lives either by insulting them or suing them. pity he is still ridiculously arguing petty kak like “i didn’t call her ‘fat’” when he called he a “crazy b*tch & w*hore” – delusional stuff i tell you.

as i said earlier, if there was even just ONE non-gooned cyclist in those tours, lance is a bloody cheat!

there are no degrees of cheating as far as i’m concerned.

• 157.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies Ped reckons all your school boys are on the juice, oh dear.

• 158.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-155:
    Actually it is.
    Their sellers name is Bill Tong.

• 159.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

Ja Bakkies. Dom bly dom. Glo wat ons wil glo.

• 160.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Is it possible that Armstrong only came to cycling prominence due to an advance program of systematic drugging?What happened in his early career as a professional?Is it safe to say that his career probably followed the same path as an averaged Ben Johnson starting out in athletics.

In 1994, he again won the Thrift Drug Classic and came second in the Tour DuPont in the United States. His successes in Europe occurred when he placed second in Liège–Bastogne–Liège and the Clásica de San Sebastián, where just two years before, he had finished in last place as his first all-pro event in Europe.

• 161.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-158:

I’m confused Hurricane old Bakkies has been telling us for years now how clean SA rugby is ” hard but fair China”, somebodies telling porkies.

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-137:
    there was a high level investigation and the players involved were completely exhonerated since.
    i think you owe them an apology.

@Hurricane-142:
    it is shocking to be honest

shocking

i hope this will be a wake up call

@NZINCHINA-148:
    to be horribly honest, this has taken us all by surprise

the scale of it amongst schoollboys..?. :shock:

eternal vigilance i guess

• 163.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: Bakkies. Twas said in jest, as a ‘legit’ question to fellow blogger; “Britney Spies”, who answered in jest. See it as such.

But I do find this interesting:

“but if Pierre says he did not do it, then i believe he did not do it.

besides, he was tested?”

Just take Pierre’s name out, and put Lance’s in……….

• 164.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-157: Not all….. quite a few though (as you can see from the testing results)

• 165.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-163:

Dankie vir die verwelkoming. Waardeur dit! ;)

• 166.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162:

I’d hate to think any of them played in the U20 cup last year juiced up, a rigged cup perhaps?

• 167.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: I would never accuse Spies of drug taking!He is so kuk that no drug would rectify the situation .

• 168.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-166:
    I was thinking the same thing.
    In fact not only drugged but probably had 23 years olds playing under false credentials…… oh boy it is not looking good for the clean South African rugby thats we all have heard so much about :-)

• 169.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-167:
    Yes, Spies was a laxative abuser…. like Bakkies after a loss :-)

• 170.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-156: He’s a cnut and worse….of that there is no argument.
    But just because he’s a fkcadilly, doesn’t mean he is any less a supreme athlete.

Separate boxes.

• 171.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Britney Spies-154:

snaaks

• 172.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-168:

He he Like I said Hurri I’m in complete shock, I’m going to have to reconsider watching SA teams from now on, clean AnZaC games only for me.

• 173.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-171:

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-157:
    Pedigree, can be a little melodramatic to say the least, China
    take what she says with a pinch of salt (or soya).

• 175.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I think that the dealers would feel uncomfortable selling performance-enhanced drugs to Pierre Spies.

• 176.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@grant10-130: Courier was joking – I think it is 39th consecutive (into the 10th year)

• 177.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-175:

I run through walls. Wat is jou probleem?

• 178.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-163:
    Pierre is an upright christian.
    big difference.

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174: No Bakkies. The numbers are here. Above. For all to see…..

They do not make for pleasant reading.

• 180.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-172:
    Me too. I was told by Bakkies that we were the cheats of rugby and South Africa were fair and did not cheat.
    What am i going to tell my kids now?

• 181.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i have a mini meeting, sorry
    will be back

• 182.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178: You can’t farking preach your way through a rugby pack of devils.Maybe that’s his problem? :D

• 183.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-181:
    Hmmmm is that code for a hit?

• 184.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Well i think if he all took enhancements we could get 30000 posts out of this thread.

• 185.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178: So was Hansie…. and look at what the devil made HIM do.

Just saying…. we are talking about people here….flawed people. All of us.

• 186.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178:

Are U serious?
    hansie C was also an upright christian

• 187.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-185:

Speak for yourself. ;) “All of us”. Not Bakkies Pedi.

Is V iagra a performance enhancing drug?

• 188.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-186:

Reminds me of that advert on telly.

Seriouuuuuuuuusssssss

• 189.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The ‘two farking Armstrong apologists’ hunting together now?How schweeeeet !!

• 190.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178:
    What if i said McCaw is a christian as well?

• 191.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-185:

Sorry ,i did not see your post re Hansie.

Remember Jaco van der Westhuizen who once claimed he tried a drop from his own 25 m line to convince the ref that he has not dropped a ball?

Attempting to cheat is just as bad as the real thing..

• 192.willievz: Reply to this comment

On Lance Armstrong:

If you win a race in which everyone else also cheat, are you not considered the winner of that race?

• 193.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@David….I agree with that last sentence and up you one to he is also a reprehensible attention seeking, sympathy seeking meglamaniac (sp) bully.

He will shrivel up and wither away if ignored, that’s what the world and press should do, best punishment.

• 194.wnbb: Reply to this comment

They can easily question Hansie and Christianity’s role in turning out to be a cheat,but they steadfastly refused to accept that the world has accepted Armstrong as a drugs cheat and a liar.

• 195.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I also read somewhere a while back his best position before he won the Tour France was 15. I stand to be corrected here though.

• 196.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-189:

Dont worry, your hunting partner will also appear a bit later all the way from the “US of A” .

• 197.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@willievz-192: There is no proof that anyone else cheated in all those races that the ‘two farking apologists’ hero participated in.Fact.

• 198.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

I matriculated in 1990 and it was going on back then. No surprises that it still goes on today. I understand some school coaches and parents encourage it.

• 199.wnbb: Reply to this comment

In 1992 Armstrong ended last in his first European Tour.In 1994 he won that same race.Interesting fact that.His two apologists might jump to his defence and say that it was only through hard work and dedication that he was successful.I suspect that he started taking drugs whilst still an amateur rider.Lance is still lying through his teeth.He needs to totally come clean on his drug taking.

• 200.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-198:

It’s coached into them, this just gets better and better.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.