A heart of green and gold
22 Jan 2013
John Plumtree remains adamant that for him when it comes to rugby, South Africa is No 1, writes MARK KEOHANE in Business Day Sport Monthly.
John Plumtree’s wife is South African. His son is South African. His team of choice, as a player and coach, the Sharks, is South African. Often, Plumtree is referenced as the Sharks’ New Zealand-born coach, but he sees it differently. When it comes to rugby he’s more South African than Kiwi. In fact, he’s more Shark than anything else.
Plumtree has aspirations to coach the Springboks, as is the case with any South African coach. He identifies with South African rugby more than any other and while there will always be a proud Kiwi in Plumtree, when it comes to rugby the identification is very South African.
The jersey Plumtree prides most is a Springbok Sevens jersey, earned in 1994 when representing South Africa at the Hong Kong Sevens.
‘I reckon I must have been the first Kiwi to wear the green and gold,’ he jokes. ‘It was a surreal moment in the change room; a very special moment. A very strong Springbok Sevens team went to Hong Kong in 1994. Andre Joubert, Henry Honiball and Joost van der Westhuizen were among the stars of that team and I felt proud to be considered good enough for the squad,’ says Plumtree.
‘I grew up a Kiwi kid with dreams of playing for the All Blacks against the Springboks and here I was wearing the Springbok jersey and I felt massive pride in playing for South Africa. They were New Zealand’s traditional foe and they were the team that commanded the most respect among the older folk.
‘The greatest challenge for an All Blacks player was to beat the Springboks in South Africa and I grew up with a sense of wonder and awe at the men in green and gold. They had a mystique for me. As a young rugby player I always wanted to play in South Africa; I got the chance in 1988 and ended up staying for nearly 10 years before returning to the Sharks to coach in 2006.’
South Africa is home to Plumtree and has been for some time. Professionally, his coaching may still take him to Europe or New Zealand, but in an ideal world home is Durban, South Africa and work is in South Africa.
‘The country has given me a family, a home and a wonderful lifestyle. It has given me opportunity. South Africa has been very good to me and I’d like to think I’ve embraced the country and given as much as I can to it. I’ve been in South Africa for the best part of 20 years and love being here,’ says Plumtree.
‘My coaching took me to Wales, where you could say I did my apprenticeship with Swansea as a young coach and furthered that with four years as Wellington coach in New Zealand. But for the rest it’s all been here in Durban, as a player and as a coach. I’ve never felt I had to choose between New Zealand and South Africa; if anything I consider myself fortunate to have experience of both because of the strong rugby connection. I have enormous respect for the rugby in New Zealand and an equal feeling for the game in this country.’
Plumtree has worked with some of New Zealand’s and South Africa’s best players and says the similarities make the rivalry so intense.
‘Both have an appetite for physicality and for playing a direct game. Both want to be the best in the world and have the work ethic that goes with it. If there was a difference I’d say there’s more pressure in South Africa at schoolboy level to win because of the rivalry between the major rugby playing schools, whereas in New Zealand there is a greater focus at schoolboy level on playing good rugby. The pressure here would be to win at all costs; there the pressure would be in the skills evolution of a player at schools level.
‘Professionally, though, there isn’t much to choose and that is why there seldom is much in matches at Super Rugby and Test levels. There has been the odd blowout from the Boks and from a South African and Kiwi Super Rugby side, but generally, as a Kiwi side, you have to play bloody well to win in this country, and the same is true of any South African team wanting to win in New Zealand.’
Plumtree played 80 matches for the Sharks between 1988 and 1997, having played 40 provincial games in New Zealand prior to that, which culminated in selection for All Blacks trials in 1989. His best rugby memories are playing for the Sharks and winning two Currie Cup medals and he takes pride in the achievement of winning the Currie Cup as a player and as a coach.
‘I was part of the 1996 squad as a player and in my first season as head coach in 2008 we won the cup again for the first time since 1996. To say I have won the Currie Cup as a player and a coach is a big thing for me because it also shows just how long I have been here and it is a competition that means a hell of a lot to me. I understand the history of the competition and I know what it meant to win it as a player at the Sharks. So I will never treat it as secondary.
‘There’s Super Rugby, which we want to win and there’s the Currie Cup, which we want to win. Both have equal status. One is the premier international tournament we play in and the other is the premier domestic competition. We had a chance to complete a rare double in 2012 in winning both and fell at the last hurdle. It hurts because we got so close to something really special, but the motivation has to be that it is possible to succeed in both tournaments and the group of players this year is more experienced, more mature and equipped to certainly be successful.’
The defeat in the Currie Cup final against Western Province rankles Plumtree more than the away defeat against the Chiefs in Super Rugby because it was a final he believed his team was good enough to win.
‘It is the one area we simply have to correct as a squad. When we are looking down the barrel we somehow find an escape and a way to win but when the hard work has been done and the expectation is there that we should win we have stumbled. Western Province played very well to win the final but home finals are occasions you have to make count. We had done all the hard work, benefited from consistency in getting a home semi-final and final and then to stumble … well you pick an adjective …’
Consistency is something Plumtree feels the Sharks have lacked in Super Rugby and to win the tournament he believes a team has to start well and end well.
‘The Crusaders and Bulls in their best years showed this consistency. They won enough to get the home semi and home final and while it is a huge advantage playing at home in the final it is also reward for a consistent season,’ says Plumtree. ‘I know we were up against it last year in having to travel to Australia, back to South Africa and then to Hamilton in New Zealand in 10 days but had we started the tournament better, it would have been another team doing the travelling to Durban.
‘It is the nature of the competition and it’s a competition I love being a part of. It tests everything about you as a player and as a coach. It tests the depth of your squad, the mental resolve and it also tests the ability of the coaching staff to manage the playing demands of the squad. I personally love the tournament and I enjoyed the expanded version in 2012.’
Plumtree favours the June break when internationals are played and says a tournament as long as Super Rugby needs a break.
‘I guess the key is not to have too many international players away on Test duty because we saw how a team like the Crusaders struggled post the June internationals. They were just hitting a peak before the All Blacks’ three Tests against the Irish and their players, who were superb at times against Ireland, just never hit the same heights in the remainder of the tournament.
‘The Sharks, by contrast, benefited from the break. We had a chance to reassess, get our injured players back on the park and we also had the benefit of a bye in the first week after the break. I found our players were refreshed and our Springboks gained a lot from that one-week bye. We went on a roll, so it works both ways. As a coaching team we learned a lot from last year, in terms of managing the squad and maximising game time for the entire squad.’
Plumtree, six days after the Sharks’ Super Rugby final defeat in Hamilton, started the Currie Cup campaign against Western Province in Cape Town, and he made 14 changes to the side beaten by the Chiefs.
‘The travel and playing demands forced those changes and we won in Cape Town, which shows you what is possible. I think having so many players away on international duty has allowed us to develop talent at Currie Cup level, which may not have been the case if all our players were available every weekend. It is why the Currie Cup for me will always have prestige, as a tournament, and as a showcase of the next generation of star players in South Africa.’
Plumtree has an expectation of his squad, but won’t differentiate between the need to win and develop quality players and improve the quality of those already in the system.
‘It can’t be one at the expense of the other. The nature of the sport is you have to win but you can develop and win at the same time if your identification is right. I have been so impressed with what Gary Kirsten has done with the Proteas. He has taken risks, always spoken of a bigger picture, be it an ODI World Cup, a T20 series or a Test series. You know what he wants to achieve and he hasn’t been afraid to introduce youngsters at the same time.
‘He has a clear plan, which has been well communicated, but he has also been very clear about the priority in results, which was to win the Test series in England and Australia … which they did. In the interim he has introduced a virtually new T20 side and made many adjustments to the ODI side. I think South African rugby, at national and provincial and regional levels, can learn a lot from what Gary has done with the Proteas cricket side.’
Plumtree, this season, wants a closer working relationship with the national coaches and with whoever can add to the success of the Sharks.
‘I don’t think we share enough in South Africa. I think we can learn from each other, at franchise level, and at national level and we definitely can learn from other codes,’ says Plumtree. ‘A lot of rugby people look to New Zealand but the system is completely different, especially the way in which the NZRU contracts the Super Rugby players and the working relationship that exists between the national coaches and the franchise coaches. You could only take from New Zealand if Saru was contracting the players. They aren’t.
‘There’s a lot right with rugby in South Africa and we have the luxury of so much natural talent. I’d say we need to invest more in the intellectual capital that there is on a coaching front in this country, encourage our players to have a go and take risks without fear of being dropped. We certainly also need to talk more, among ourselves in rugby and to those in other codes, to make South African rugby an entity that can consistently be as strong as New Zealand, and hopefully even stronger.’
– This article first appeared in Business Day Sport Monthly, which is distributed FREE with Business Day newspaper on the second Friday of each month.

720 Comments
22 Jan 2013, 06:15 am
When the Sharks choke for the 18th season running we can blame the SAFFA coach then.
22 Jan 2013, 06:36 am
you didn’t ask the obvious question all of us would like to know keo… so those first few paragraphs really come across as just so much spin-doctoring…
nowhere does plum say unequivocally that he supports south africa or the springboks…
lots of smoke n mirrors though…
so please ask him… it the boks played the abs in the world cup final… in new zealand… and he was sitting in the stands…
if he is sitting in the stands of the final rugby championship game between sa and nz… for the title…
who would he support…? which jersey would he be wearing…? the springboks or the all blacks…?
it would be great if he could say,
“South Africa has been very good to me and I’d like to think I’ve embraced the country and given as much as I can to it. – and therefore I support the springboks and south africa over all comers..”
failure to say this, or something similarly unequivocal, surely means he still really supports the abs…
i don’t specifically have a problem with him supporting the abs… he is a new zealander after all… but when he disagrees with “being referenced as the sharks new zealand-born coach”… and has aspirations of coaching the boks… then he should nail his colours firmly to the mast… which he has not done in this piece… or any other time the subject comes up… he skirts the issue with the silky skills of a seasoned politician on the campaign trail…
which is perhaps what this article really is… plum’s first step in targeting the bok job after heyneke meyer…
best he hoists his colours early in the race… high and with sincere pride…
22 Jan 2013, 06:55 am
@ufo-2: the fact that he has lived here for nearly 20 years and that his boy has not even been too NZ should tell you what place he considers home. But the next time I chat to him I will tell him an unnamed South African with a big opinion needs him to put it in writing to make the unknown South African feeling better.
Of course he wants to coach the Boks post Heyneke Meyer. If he didn’t have national coaching aspirations why would he be coaching Super Rugby?
22 Jan 2013, 06:57 am
The point of the story is to showcase just how South African he is/has become in terms of his rugby involvement. Not many I spoke to realised he had played Sevens for the Boks or been at the Sharks for nearly two decades as a player and coach. He is as local as any other local when it comes to his contribution to the SA game.
Fantastic coach and a fantastic bloke.
22 Jan 2013, 07:02 am
wat is dan nou fout, Keo?
is the sharkie honeymoon already over?
————–
personally i dont believe it for a minute. Plumtree is a selfserving individual first and foremost, and i even suspect an ever loving AB fan at heart, seen him do it all before.
anyone remember the springbok captain coming back from injury and sitting on the bench all game only to get ‘two’ insincere minutes at the end..?..
he might as well have shown PdV, SARU and the country two middle fingers on camera instead.
(AC not much different).
22 Jan 2013, 07:03 am
Enjoyable article.
22 Jan 2013, 07:04 am
The dumb just keep getting dumber on this site.
The Sharks have all the potential but for the life of me they continue to break the fans hearts season after season. One could almost put them in the same category as the Netherlands national football team…the talent is there but to get them to gel when it matters is the biggest challenge for the coach.
22 Jan 2013, 07:05 am
@ufo-2:
I get the same feeling when reading this, Plumtree is a New Zealander who loves Sa.
22 Jan 2013, 07:05 am
hehehe… touchy…
im not the only one…
cool keo… would really appreciate you asking him that… no bs…
and im not disputing his coaching credentials or ability… he has built an awesome squad and they are playing the best rugby in South Africa without doubt… and have said several times that the sharks are the team to beat for this years Super comp…
but why should that disallow us from having an unequivocal answer from him…?
i look forward to his response…!
22 Jan 2013, 07:06 am
@ufo-2:
yip, pretty much my feelings too.
i would not support this guy for bok coach.
22 Jan 2013, 07:08 am
@keo-3:
because super rugby is an end in itself, a rather lucrative end at that.
far more money to be made here than in NZ for him.
22 Jan 2013, 07:09 am
David Campese is another bloke that can’t seem to stay away from South Africa.
Says a lot when you think all these guys (read Mitchell and Spencer as well)could be back home or in the UK, but would rather be in the Republic.
I have a feeling that Michalak will show up in Durban again in the not too distant future.
22 Jan 2013, 07:16 am
@Te Rangatira-8:
hi TR,
would you rate him as a potential AB coach?
22 Jan 2013, 07:16 am
@Te Rangatira-8:
my feeling too ranga…
and nothing wrong with that… as long as he doesn’t pretend it’s something else…
i get the feeling he’s keeping his options open and doesn’t want to nail his colours to the mast in case the all black job comes up…
@keo-4:
and keo not disputing that he’s a good guy… i haven’t met him personally so will happily take your word for it…
but speaking of big egos… you’re not serious are you…??
will let that slide… but it is the very fact the so many of us rugby lovers have strong opinions and you provide such an accessible platform to express them that makes your site the success it is…
chill bud…
22 Jan 2013, 07:18 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10:
i wouldn’t object bakks…
if he could say now that he supports the boks over the blacks…
he has proven he is a good coach…
22 Jan 2013, 07:20 am
@Treehugger-6: many thanks
22 Jan 2013, 07:20 am
I imagine he would feel very conflicted when SA and NZ play against each other.
22 Jan 2013, 07:22 am
@Predawn-12: It could be that Campo’s wife is South African (all her family lives in Durban) which means he is here quite a bit. Ever thought of that.
22 Jan 2013, 07:22 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:
Howzit Houston.I would rate him as a potential Ab coach behind half a dozen others.
@ufo-14:
I think he definitely has a deep affection for Sa and the Sharks.Your country has given him so much so he has to give something back.
22 Jan 2013, 07:23 am
@ufo-9: why is it whenever I respond it is touchy and whenever I don’t I am arrogant and not communicative. Ah, you boys and girls … I gotta love you.
Off to the do the school run will be back in a bit.
22 Jan 2013, 07:24 am
campo married dale benkensteins sister…
22 Jan 2013, 07:25 am
@keo-20:
hahaha…
later…
22 Jan 2013, 07:25 am
@Treehugger-17: as did Tiaan Strauss when he played for Aus v SA at Newlands. If Plum didn’t feel conflicted when NZ plays SA he’d not be human. I guess in an ideal world if he was sitting in the stands he’d want a draw if those two were playing. If he was coaching Boks he’d want a Bok win and if he was coaching AB’s he’d want a NZ win.
22 Jan 2013, 07:26 am
@ufo-15:
he doesn’t, thats the point.
if he did he would have played John when Peter asked him to.
he wouldl however take the job because it would pay well and its the best chance he has of ever coaching a tier1.
@Te Rangatira-19:
yes, thanks.
i expected as much perhaps even a little more than 6?
22 Jan 2013, 07:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5: Bakkies spot on. We cannot have All Black agents coaching the Boks. If players need to have citizenship to be a Bok then the same must apply for head coaches.
As for AC we need to make sure of his loyalties. Let him take what I call the Cape Crusader lie detector test. Hook him up to a machine and ask these simple yes or no questions.
1. Do you support the Boks – y/n
2. Are the All Blacks the enemy – y/n
3. Do you get excited when any kiwi team visits for superrugby – y/n
4. Is McCaw a cheat – y/n
5. Do you have at least 70% of your own teeth – y/n
6.Was RWC 2011 rigged to favour the cheats – y/n
7. Are you a citizen – y/n
Simple pass and you can send your cv to Jurie.
Of the regional coaches I have Plum at 1 and Allister at 2.
@Te Rangatira-19:
i don’t doubt his affection for sa and especially the sharks…
but as treehugger correctly says… he’s gotta be pretty conflicted when the boks play the abs…
i don’t think it’s unreasonable for him to let his true feelings be known… many south africans would be interested in the answer…
22 Jan 2013, 07:29 am
Sharks were cooking those last few Super rugby games….took our rugby to new heights rarely ever seen in SA….certainly a country mile better than the dros served up by the Boks and Stormers …..
Personally I dont care of the Bok coach is a Martian or supports the Kiwis or Aussies, just want us to embrace a pattern closer to what we saw from the Sharks over the last 5 weeks of Superrugby…..most enetratining and thats the way forward…..showed skop en jag what it really is, boring, unimaginative and in some ways cowardly.
22 Jan 2013, 07:32 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24: ever thought he just didnt rate Plod as highly as Bissy???
Like so many millions of non sentimental fans across the globe????
22 Jan 2013, 07:35 am
@ufo-27:
Agree…can’t have a Kiwi as head coach of the Bok….just not right.
22 Jan 2013, 07:35 am
@RL-25:
morning RL, good to see you back.
hehehe i like the test. perhaps make it mandatory for fans at all stadiums on game day too.
very excitied to see the Lions in action this season, some interesting matchups.
22 Jan 2013, 07:40 am
@grant10-29:
if you think something like that would ever, ever have happened in the NZ-AB setup, or OZ for that matter, then you need to have your head read, Grant.
22 Jan 2013, 07:43 am
@grant10-29:
so much for having a heart of green & gold, hey.
tell a whole flippin country and its coach in a WC year you dont rate the national captain and wont play him even though the coach has directly asked you to..?..
22 Jan 2013, 07:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32: Of course it would never have happened Bakkies…..
The Kiwis dont try and hold on to excess and non contributing baggage.
That is why they world champs and we quarter finalists…..
And dont say that exact scenario was not predicted by a few on this site.
22 Jan 2013, 07:46 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-33: In place of Bissy??????
You think Plum is an idiot??????
Only idiot was PDV and his band of Fat Boys Club gravy trainers who sentimentally took you and a whole lot of ja broers on a merry walk down Lane Sentimentality…..
Wakker word Bakkies…
22 Jan 2013, 07:53 am
@grant10-34:
did you predict what Bryce Lawrence would do in the quarterfinal, Grant?
@grant10-35:
lets agree to disagree.
i really dont have anything against him as a super rugby coach, good luck to him.
will never support him for bok coach though.
22 Jan 2013, 07:53 am
Still way short of last year’s numbers…
Come join my Super Rugby prediction game on SuperBru! It’s free and loads of fun. Just click here:
http://www.superbru.com/superrugby/pool.asp?p=11047241
Pool name: Hore set for hefty ban…
Pool code: busycoon
22 Jan 2013, 07:55 am
Why would the probable winners of the 6 nations not even be on the poll?
My vote would be France!
22 Jan 2013, 07:58 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: If Bissy had started Bryce could have done his best, we would have still won….
Plod did us a dirty, the biggest con job throughout 2010 and 2011….
Some called it…..some stuck their heads in theground…..it was as [predictable as night following day…
Now we all live with it……geniet boet.
GO Stormers…..
22 Jan 2013, 08:07 am
I don’t care what nationality the coach is, if he gets the team to play the best ruggas they can then it’s fine by me.
HM’s shouts of patriotism only makes him a vocal patriot, doesn’t mean he is the best coach for the boks.
22 Jan 2013, 08:11 am
if we can have frenchies and brazilians coaching our soccer surely we can have a kiwi that eats biltong coach the bokke?
22 Jan 2013, 08:12 am
@pokkel-38:
Ai tog! Must have been Ryan, he counted on his fingers like his teacher taught him many years ago…when it was still the 5N!
Ryan, get your other hand out you pocket and give us a thumbs up…now starting like your teacher told you, count the names you listed off on your other hand, when you done and you still giving us a thumbs up it means you missing a team.
Tip: If you read Pokkel’s post you may find a big clue to which one it is…
22 Jan 2013, 08:13 am
@Slartibartfast-37: do you think the pool code could have anything to do with it?
22 Jan 2013, 08:15 am
@grant10-39:
Grant, Bissy finished the game though, and to tell you the truth, i feel that may have been as crucial a reason why we lost.
ultimately it didn’t matter though, the Kiwis saw to that.
22 Jan 2013, 08:16 am
Was not Bob Woolmer a good coach of the Proteas? Is not Arthur a good coach of the Ozzies? Is not Gatland a good coach of Wales? Is not is not a good way to start a sentence?
22 Jan 2013, 08:17 am
@goodstuff-40: Deans was the best man for the job – best coach, best man for the job and second best All Black agent after Gatland.
Hire All Black agents and suffer!
22 Jan 2013, 08:18 am
@stormer in a teacup-43:
Ha! Superbru allocate a password, I had no hand in it…
22 Jan 2013, 08:18 am
@gunther-41: do we want to turn our rugby into a bafana republic?
22 Jan 2013, 08:22 am
@RL-46:
absolutely agreed on that.
its a ‘controversial’ viewpoint for sure but you’d have to be a fool to accept the supposed facts as being otherwise.
Gatland certainly lost my respect during his interview after the Wales-NZ game. the extent to which he went out of his way to defend NZ’s thuggish attack was galling. Wales and Davies were almost an afterthought.
22 Jan 2013, 08:23 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44: ‘
You lost because you weren’t good enough, I didn’t know Goosen failed a drugs tests, apparently doping (cheating) is rife in SA schools or so your countrymen say.
22 Jan 2013, 08:24 am
back from the school run magnificent day in the most magnificent city in the world, except for the lovely woman who rammed her car up the arse of another on De Waal Drive.
22 Jan 2013, 08:25 am
@ufo-27: so what is diff then when his Sharks team plays every NZ team every year?
22 Jan 2013, 08:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24: so his crime was playing Bismarck ahead of John …
22 Jan 2013, 08:29 am
So she got out of the car and said to me, ” Nice! Ram me up the arse, why don’t you? ”
“And that, Your Honour, is where the misunderstanding began.”
22 Jan 2013, 08:30 am
@RL-46: McCaw in his book says when asked by NZRFU who he wanted he said Henry over Deans and says Deans too dictatorial for NZ set up. Very interesting chapter.
22 Jan 2013, 08:33 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49: indeed. All Black agents will defend their own cheats and thugs. Never heard of a kiwi thug, cheat, coach or ref apologies for doing wrong – Bryce the exception although he admitted to being just not good enough. Meanwhile the convits and the dragons regret their decisions to hire All Black agents. Yes Wales were good enough to beat a 14 man AB team.
Lesson here is keep Plum far away from the Boks.
22 Jan 2013, 08:34 am
@NZINCHINA-50:
no China, we lost because your countrymen screwed us.
it was ‘their time’ and the history of choking pressure was too much for them to bear.
they played it the way they best know how.
Johan unknowingly took a stimulant which part of a supplement regime he started on as an ignorant kid. he made no effort to deceive anyone and came clean immediately when he showed a positive result. he was punished, accepted his punishment and has never shown positive since.
btw how’s Brycie these days? busy much..?..
22 Jan 2013, 08:37 am
Great article Keo.
SA rugby could certainly do with him in some sort of coaching role. Especially with the forwards, thats where his expertise really is imo. Getting the most out of them on a skill and focus level.
@ufo-2:
Well done for focussing on completely the wrong issues with regard to Plum. Not sure what more the guy can say and do to prove he is more saffa now than NZ.
If the AB coaching job comes up and he gets nominated, who the fck cares? Every coach aspires to coach at national level and if that job doesnt come up in SA, he’s free to go wherever he pleases. That doesnt suddenly make him any less SA or any more NZ. Its just where the opportunity lies. As Keo says, his kid hasnt even been to NZ yet. I dont understand your focus on him ‘nailing his colours firmly to the mast’.
Whats of more importance and what you clearly missed is what he trying to implement at the Sharks and what he wants from SA regional and school boy rugby. Which is a switch to a more skills based approach. To allow the kids to ‘have a go’.
Where its not just ‘bash it up’ and if you try something different and it doesnt come off, you get dropped straight away.
If the Sharks play the type of rugby they did in the last few weeks of the S15, it should prove something of what he is trying to accomplish in this regard. If it doesnt come off, well, at least he tried to improve the style of rugby currently being played in SA.
22 Jan 2013, 08:38 am
Good for you Coach Plumtree.
I have a feeling that Frans Steyn could be the missing part of the puzzle for you. Keep him fit and he could be your talisman.
22 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
@keo-53:
no, his crime was not giving John more (than two minutes of) game time after the national coach asked him to do so, specifically and directly, when he came back from injury.
22 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
Good article. Good to hear a coach (coaching a SA team) mentioning that SA rugby could still learn from other codes and needs to grow and invest in the intelectual capital.
As long as SA teams appoint unqualified ‘coaches’, with little or no experience such as Victor Matfield, SA shows that it has no intention to invest in coaches with decent credentials.
Matfield appointed as attacking coach… seriously? Flecky had some success at UCT and leapfrogged to coaching a super rugby backline… Did he really have the best credentials to coach the Stormers? Compare these two examples, to the resume of say Todd Louden. The one has a file cabinet and the other a napkin.
@keo-52: P
Perhaps you should write an article about SA rugby’s lack of investment in coaching coaches, the structures/workshops that are or arent in place in SA to develop great coaches. Especially backline coaches. It would be great to get some insight into how to become a great coach, the education needed and experience gained.
22 Jan 2013, 08:40 am
Jinne HM is moerig early in the morning
22 Jan 2013, 08:41 am
@Jeez-61: good point.
22 Jan 2013, 08:43 am
@keo-55:
What do you think of our Hore effort?
Gonna print it?
22 Jan 2013, 08:48 am
Bakkies its now pretty clear doping (cheating) is widespread in SA schools, surely all previous results involving SA school boys and U20 cup results are now in doubt.
22 Jan 2013, 08:49 am
Nice article Keo…
Plum is an excellent down to earth bu.gger and a very good coach too.
This came across in the article very well.
Plum wins Super Rugby this year then he will without doubt be a front runner for the Bok coaching job, giving Heyneke some real pressure from the rear.
But fark me there are some real self inflated kno.bbers who reckon they know about country and team loyalty – without ever meaningfully slinging an oval shaped ball in anger ever…
22 Jan 2013, 08:51 am
@NZINCHINA-65:
Still at it?
22 Jan 2013, 08:51 am
@RL-56:
agreed.
i would be comfortable with him providing a suport role but nothing more.
22 Jan 2013, 08:53 am
@Heavens Game-66:
Ag shame man
22 Jan 2013, 08:53 am
@Jeez-61:
how do you think Plum got his coaching job in the first place?
not saying i dont think a mix of skills isn’t a good thing.
22 Jan 2013, 08:54 am
I threw a ball in anger once.
22 Jan 2013, 08:54 am
Kirsten can do with some photo-shopping
22 Jan 2013, 08:57 am
@NZINCHINA-65: no china not all – all players that wear the green and gold are teated for drugs by SARU and the IRB. Now if the IRB were to implement a lie detector test to weed out the cheats do you thimk the Baby Blacks will be able to field a team of 22 players.
22 Jan 2013, 08:59 am
@NZINCHINA-65:
dont be an idiot, China
IRB tests for drugs at all its world cup events.. duh..?.
results involving SA schoolboys are not in doubt.
how did this information come to your attention?
precisely because SA Institute of Drug-Free Sport / SA Rugby is doing something about it.
22 Jan 2013, 09:00 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70:
Not sure Bakkies. Remind us again how he got his coaching job in the first place.
22 Jan 2013, 09:02 am
Gooi mielies! Ek bly al 20 jaar in Joburg – maar sal nooit die Lions ondersteun nie – NOOIT nie. As ek ooit SA verlaat sal ek altyd SA ondersteun. Sal nooit glo dat Plum SA ondersteun nie.
22 Jan 2013, 09:03 am
Its not the 90s anymore, besides he has been a coach now for a long time and earned his position. Rugby has evolved and so should a coaches education. Ex rugby players have to gain experience like any other coach before they get top jobs. Id like to know how many courses and workshops there are available to gain experience and skills in SA compared to Nz and Aus….
22 Jan 2013, 09:05 am
@keo-52:
not the same thing at all… franchise/regional/provinicial coaches are always playing other teams from their own country so no big deal…
there’s a lot more at stake when it comes to coaching the national team… you know this as well as anyone…
@John Galt-58:
what i clearly missed…?
did you even read through my posts before you got yourself in a dither and a twitch and had to put shaking fingers to keyboard…?
i acknowledged what plum has achieved at the sharks and that they are playing the best rugby of the south african teams… i said several times they are the side to beat for the comp this year… in fact i said the same thing last year too… i also said i wouldn’t object to him being the bok coach…
as for who the fck cares…?
many many south african fanatical rugby supporters care… and many of them conservative people… if you believe that no one cares you’re being naive bud…
my point… which you clearly missed… is that if he wants the bok job in the future it would be politik to start appealing to bok supporters now telling them unequivocally he is for the boks all the way… it would make his appointment a little easier for many saffa rugby supporters to whom a foreign coach is anathema…
and yes… being a national coach does mean having to play the politics… rugby politics in the rest of the world… rugby and real politics in south africa…
if he can be seen to have wanted it all along people will accept him more easily… if he comes across suddenly when the time comes as opportunistic and expedient then it’ll be so much tougher for him…
but hey… that’s just my view…
22 Jan 2013, 09:05 am
@Dawn-64: good a.m mygirl.
Have a great day.
22 Jan 2013, 09:06 am
How did he get his coaching job
22 Jan 2013, 09:07 am
@John Galt-75:
a former player who went into coaching on the back of his history as a player..?..
no formal coaching training of any sort at all. at best he served an apprenticeship as an assistant coach somewhere?
@RL-73:
the world awaits Reechee’s ‘Oprah’ moment.
22 Jan 2013, 09:07 am
@ryecatcher-79:
You too Rye
22 Jan 2013, 09:08 am
@ufo-78:
Reg so UFO. Stem saam.
22 Jan 2013, 09:10 am
Bakkies , If Plums ‘sin ‘ was to leave Plod out despite the Fat Boy PDV instruction to play the Fat Boy Plod, then I am an ever bigger Plum fan!
22 Jan 2013, 09:11 am
@Britney Spies-83:
shot bud…
22 Jan 2013, 09:19 am
Was unaware Plum was born and bred in Hawera…a small town in Taranaki close to mine own heart. If you come from the Naki then you are a Hardcore Kiwi.
22 Jan 2013, 09:21 am
@Te Rangatira-86:
Of course Plum is a hardcore Kiwi.
22 Jan 2013, 09:21 am
@RL: ” If players need to have citizenship
to be a Bok then the same must apply for
head coaches.”
quite right, the Sports Minister will have to be convinced that there aren’t any other equally qualified SA coaches before a non-citizen coach can be appointed.
22 Jan 2013, 09:23 am
@Dawn-80:
same was Victor did.
player turned coach.
22 Jan 2013, 09:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-89:
same was Victor did = same way Victor did.
22 Jan 2013, 09:24 am
@keo-18:
Yes I did…but that doesn’t automatically mean they have to live here. They could still be living in Asstralia…with his family. Ever thought of that.
22 Jan 2013, 09:25 am
Whatever Plum’s country “loyalties” are, one thing is for certain…
Plum is a Shark through and through… Kings Park Black and White running through those veins…
A Shark forever…
And if “patriotic” Saffas have a problem with him being born a Kiwi or not explicitly stating that he “supports” the Boks if and when they play the ABs then farkem… If he’s not “pure” enough for these farken twits to coach the Boks, even if he has bled in Green and Gold, he’s certainly been good enough for the Sharks…
As an outstanding player… and a very good coach.
@Jeez-77:
i have no problems with that.
i would think Victor will be taking a few courses as a matter of course.
@Heavens Game-92:
Daar stem ek saam. Sharks ja – SA nee.
22 Jan 2013, 09:26 am
@Te Rangatira-86: he goes to IRANZ often to brush up on kiwi speak, tactics & cheating
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44:
What the Kiwis saw was a Bok team that was nowhere near as good as they though they were….Ozzies had your number for years.Give it a rest, you lost ….haha
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93:
Of course
22 Jan 2013, 09:27 am
@ufo-78:
Im sorry but I just dont get why he has to be so unequivocal. NZ is the land of his birth, of course he is going to always have a place for the country in his heart.
I just dont see how this would undermine his abilities as a SA coach.
Are you one of the paraniod conspiracy theorists out there, like RL, who think that he is a AB mole placed in SA rugby to undermine what we are trying to do here?
Do you think he will give 100% against all other teams but if he comes up against the ABs, he will suddenly not be so competetive?
As for me? I personally think that actions speak louder than words. The fact that he lives here, his wife is from here, his son has never been to NZ and he has worn the Green and Gold, means more than if he came out with some politically correct speach saying how he is absolutely a Saffa.
@Transformation-88:
Do you think they have learned this lesson asa result of the fiasco brought about by Bafana’s foreign coaches?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10:
Bakkies, there I would disagree with you.
I for one would love to see what Plum, with a John Mitchell as assistant, could do with the Boks as coach.
I think it would be a great duo and they don’t have to prove their credentials.
@Te Rangatira-86: he and Mitch from that little village. They were neigbours and mates. Ever heard of the Hawera cup?
22 Jan 2013, 09:29 am
@Heavens Game-66:
Spot on HG.
You have people not liking plum cos of not playing a certain player in a match…..lol, fuckme their are some dimwits on here
22 Jan 2013, 09:31 am
@grant10-84:
well he did, so there.
still dont think your approval is enough to get him the job, Grant
@Te Rangatira-86:
and there you have it, from the horses mouth.
thanks fot the honesty, TR
22 Jan 2013, 09:32 am
@RL-73:
Yeah but not only drugs is rife in SA but as well as false birth certificates. You have 23 year olds posing at 20 year olds. If there was a lie detector, you would find you little bok team would also suffer
22 Jan 2013, 09:33 am
@John Galt-98:
bud…
i’m not attacking plum as a person or coach… although i can see it may look that way…
but when the subject of a foreign coach comes up many how many times don’t we hear people say… “it will never happen….”
our bok coaches get a rough enough ride in south africa due to provincial rivalries… just ask heyneke and pieter…
but now throw national rivalries into the mix and the coach is bound to get an even tougher ride…
if he makes a controversial decision and leaves out a player that has popular support in south africa… and the perception is we lost because of it…? how long will it be before rugby fans start suggesting he was trying to sabotage the boks…?
is it crazy to suggest…? heck people are suggesting that now about him already and he is ‘only’ the sharks coach… how much more intense will it be if he was the bok coach…?
everyone can have a go a me if they wish… but most will know i am correct on this… it is never that simple or clear in south african rugby…
and all i’m saying is if he wants the bok job… he should start schmoozing the general rugby public sooner rather than later…
22 Jan 2013, 09:33 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-74:
They’ve only tested the equivalent of three Rugby teams over six months and have positive results in the 28% range. Going on those results if they were to test 1000 players we’ll be looking at 280 positives…..
22 Jan 2013, 09:34 am
@Britney Spies-87:
How can a hard core kiwi not visit his country with his kids?
I am sure he has enough money. I dont care if he was born in Taranaki or Gore, any man getting a big wage can easily change his mind.
22 Jan 2013, 09:36 am
@Hurricane-107:
Huh
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81:
Jeez’ point was that Matfield and Fleckie are unqualified and relatively inexperienced for their roles Bakkies.
Matfield as attacking coach?
Plum started as a player/assistant coach at Crusaders rugby club in Durban for 3 years before even starting his coaching career officially. And even then it was only ever a coaching role with the forwards.
@Transformation-88:
you and RL have a very good point…
22 Jan 2013, 09:37 am
@ufo-105:
Ok never mind.
You are one of those conspiracy okes. No use debating with you then.
22 Jan 2013, 09:39 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-74:
It seems 2011 RWC was the first time they did a full test.
Just read about it on the IRB website. Makes you wonder about RWC 2007 then really does it not?
22 Jan 2013, 09:39 am
@John Galt-111:
Is jy ‘n Shark ondersteuner?
Baie sensitief ne.
22 Jan 2013, 09:40 am
@Transformation-88:
Now that, for the Bok job, I do agree with. Strangely enough.
22 Jan 2013, 09:41 am
@Heavens Game-92:
so why cant he just say it, HG?
whats the big deal about saying he is a dedicated springbok supporter, above all else?
we are small minded people for the most part and if thats what it takes to win over the nations trust ans support then why not do it?
didn’t they make Obama do the same in politics? i may be wrong but i think Deans did something similar?
@Hurricane-96:
if you keep repeating the lie to yourself you will eventually believe it.
whatever helps you sleep at night, boet.
@Britney Spies-97:
22 Jan 2013, 09:43 am
@John Galt-109:
Very good point.
He does not have to justify his coaching credentials, he has earned them.
We always hear, even from our own supporters, how dour the Boks play, but when someone dare mention that a proven coach who has Kiwi heritage might change that, then it’s not acceptable.
If we can’t be honest and accept that the most of the best coaches are NZ born then we can’t see the wood from the trees.
If a Kiwi coach can turn the fortunes of the Boks around and make them more competitive against the AB’s I’m all for it.
22 Jan 2013, 09:44 am
@Hurricane-104: don’t get me started on those men from the EC pretending to be boys.
22 Jan 2013, 09:44 am
@keo-3:
OH that question of UFOs is about as important as the one i want you too ask him.
What burgers does he prefer at Mcdonalds?
22 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@RL-117:
Ok i am sorry.
22 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@gunther-99:
yes, yes i think they have.
@nortierd-100:
“don’t have to prove their credentials.”..?..
i dont know where to begin.
its academic though because i’m pretty sure it will never, ever happen.
like a lot of the things Keo says
22 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-115:
So if he just says it, all will be fine? You’ll believe him?
Mmmmm, unlikely.
You say Deans said it? Do you think currently all Ausies believe him.
Thats the problem with lip service…thats all it is.
Actions, my dear Bakkies, thats where the truth is.
22 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
@John Galt-111:
that’s one thing i’m not… but many saffa rugby fans are…
i’m just asking people to recognise the reality of the south african rugby fan… (yes, a generalization… but am speaking in general)
we’ve seen it with heyneke’s appointment…
we’ve seen it with pieter’s appointment…
we’ve seen it with virtually every south african bok coach….
do you honestly believe fans would not get on plum’s case for being a kiwi…? espcially if one or two controversial selections affect game results…
okay…
22 Jan 2013, 09:47 am
@RL-101:
Hi RL…..the only Hawera Cup I know of is the Horse race. Hawera is the birthplace of my ancestor from where my Family name originates. All my mates from the Naki are staunch Nzers and find it hard to leave that place.
22 Jan 2013, 09:48 am
@Te Rangatira-106:
how many have the Kiwis tested in comparison?
22 Jan 2013, 09:49 am
@nortierd-116:
As usual common sense from yourself
22 Jan 2013, 09:49 am
@gunther-99: yeah lightweight, no-name brands like stuart baxter joel santana.
22 Jan 2013, 09:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-115: I dont see why thefuck he must explicitly state “I support the Boks when they play NZ”…
What if he says “May the best team win on the Day”…
Farken Idiocy…
The man has a Saffa wife, a Saffa son and has worn Green and Gold…
Yet he aint “pure” enough…
22 Jan 2013, 09:51 am
@Hurricane-102: Howzit Hurri… Not only dimwits but some very self inflated fuckwits too…
Farkem.
22 Jan 2013, 09:52 am
I think, if anything, Plum would be more motivated to beat the Hobbitses.
22 Jan 2013, 09:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124:
Good question….perhaps you can tell me. I think Plum’s words in this article gives a good indication on the differences in attitudes at schoolboy level.
22 Jan 2013, 09:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-120:
C’mon Bakkies.
Just because the players under Mitchell were acting like a bunch of prima donnas last year and couldn’t understand that after losing pretty much every game the coach wasn’t in the mood for playing ring-a-ring a rosies with them, doesn’t make him a bad coach. The previous year he was the greatest thing since sliced bread for winning the CC.
This is a guy who had a winning percentage at the AB’s that every International coach will drool over and was the forward coach of the Pom’s who won a World Cup.
You give him and Plum the option to pick the best of SA and I’m sure they will do very well.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124:
In total 170 tests were carried out by Drug-Free Sport New Zealand (DFSNZ), who are responsible for anti-doping programmes and drug testing from provincial level upwards. The Rugby World Cup 2011 was not part of the testing programme with Rugby World Cup Limited responsible for testing during the tournament.
This was last year. Seems we doing a lot more than your 62 in 6 months
@Transformation-126:
Philippe Trousier
22 Jan 2013, 09:55 am
It’s pretty obvious the bloke has embraced the Republic as his adopted country. What he has done for The Sharks is the stuff of coaching legend.
Only Mac can boast a more rabid belief in this coastal franchise.
22 Jan 2013, 09:55 am
@RL-25: Yes, Plumtree this Oprah, Oprah, this John………….
22 Jan 2013, 09:57 am
@John Galt-109:
oh sorry John, so its different then..?..
my point exactly, you know i’m as right as you are.
we can both have YOUR cake OR eat it, you decide
22 Jan 2013, 09:57 am
The truth and reconditioning commission will have you out.
22 Jan 2013, 09:58 am
@nortierd-116:
there are numerous examples in sport of players becoming coaches without following traditional due process.
In football, immediate names that spring to mind.
Frans bekkenbauer.
Johann Cryuff
Pep Guadiola
Kenny Dalglish
etc.
Personally I am also for coaches following due process and apprenticeships.
In Matfields case and the Bulls, though I would argue that his well know analytical approach to decoding opposition stratagy as well as developing his own coupled with the fact that he has a particularly calm demenour and is the epitomy of bulls culture and work ethic…..makes his inclusion a no-brainer.
22 Jan 2013, 09:58 am
@nortierd-131: A Kenner….respect.
22 Jan 2013, 10:00 am
@Predawn-134:
but at the beginning of last season all the sharkeys wanted him canned?
go figure.
beat WP up a couple times in the season and legendary status is acquired.
22 Jan 2013, 10:01 am
@Hurricane-112:
you are stretching, Hurri.
come on bud, you are better than that.
@RL-117:
bwahahahahaha
@John Galt-121:
fair enough John, but his actions in super rugby have been few and far between to tell you the truth.
just dont think he would take the boks to the next level, my opinion only of course.
@gunther-129:
Perhaps like Deans he will make it his life’s ambition. Would you prefer Plum over Meyer as coach of the Bok?
@Hurricane-132:
Your First World attitude in new Zealand makes the difference. Our lot would rather funnel their resources into taking the budget and spending it on themselves instead of doing what is morally right for the sport in this country.
It all starts at the top. If we had good honest professional people in the necessary departments to manage these resources, well…the rest is obvious.
22 Jan 2013, 10:02 am
@gunther-133:
ironically French Phil took Japan to the knockout stages of the worldcup.
something he couldn’t do when he was with boringbananabafana
22 Jan 2013, 10:03 am
some of these Sharks fans are so fickle!
every year they call for Plum to be fired – facebook pages et al – and punt everyone from Sean Everitt to John Mitchell to replace him but this morning he is a legend
@Brigadier Van Zyl-140:
Yep..we are a fickle lot. I am guilty too.
@Heavens Game-127:
because we are small minded idiots
look, lets admit coaching the boks is a minefield
no matter who, no matter where.
22 Jan 2013, 10:04 am
@gunther-129:
ja, as motivated as Deans…
22 Jan 2013, 10:04 am
I still support Sean Everitt for assistant coach…100%
22 Jan 2013, 10:05 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-138:
Brigadier
I have posted here on a previous thread that I also think Matfield’s choice was a good one for the Bulls.
Similar to Rassie who did analysis when still playing, and no one batted an eyelid when he took over the Cheetahs.
Matfield will be a huge asset to the Bulls, he understands their culture, the revere him and he has a rugby brain second to none.
If another franchise had appointed him, maybe he would have struggled initially , but he can walk into the Bull’s set up from day one knowing precisely what makes them tick.
22 Jan 2013, 10:07 am
@Te Rangatira-142:
tough one to answer. Both good coaches who promote direct rugby.
Probably find they have very similar approaches, ideas and manmanagement skills.
22 Jan 2013, 10:09 am
@Te Rangatira-130:
just saying, TR.
we dont do trickery and deceit over here
we look truth straight in the eye, and we stare it down.
@nortierd-131:
i dunno Nortie, their overall provincial/franchise success leave me a little sceptical, that’s all.
anyway, i really dont think SA is anywhere close to ready for a foreign coach.
@Hurricane-132:
62 was schoolboys only, Hurri
in total we test far more than that but of course we are a bigger pool too.
22 Jan 2013, 10:10 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-147: You forget the Boks have had a “foreign” Coach before…
Ian Mac
22 Jan 2013, 10:13 am
A fair sprinkling of people imputing treachery to the mans character.
Dont like it.
Trans right
Take out SA citizenship.
22 Jan 2013, 10:13 am
Anyway….all this news of the stormers,sharks and spears…..hell, even the Lions who aren’t even playing superrugby.
Is there any news on the Bulls and cheetahs?
Seemingly forgotten but both sides,should they get their best 1-15 on the park with best bench blends will both be formidable sides as well.
22 Jan 2013, 10:14 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-138:
well said, and agreed.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-140:
thats not polite
22 Jan 2013, 10:16 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-151:
Well Sir, not tough for me….Plum by a country mile…too bad I don’t want to see a Kiwi as Bok coach only in an advisory role.
22 Jan 2013, 10:17 am
@Heavens Game-153:
i’d hardly call Zim foreign
besides, wasn’t he coaching from the 70′s already?
22 Jan 2013, 10:18 am
i’m pretty sure Mitchell and Plums personalities wont work together.
22 Jan 2013, 10:18 am
@Heavens Game-153: is Ian Mac not a naturalised saffa yet?
22 Jan 2013, 10:20 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-152:
Great attitude…. so many home truths to give the evil eye to.
22 Jan 2013, 10:25 am
@Te Rangatira-157:
Meyer is know to be a huge admirer of Vince Lombardi.
To quote a quote… ” The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather in a lack of will.”
this is how I see meyer and his approach to coaching.
I see Plum being more technical.
22 Jan 2013, 10:28 am
Where is the ATTACK COACH?
Saru establishes high performance
coaching unit
16:38 (GMT+2), Fri, 18 January 2013
Saru has announced the establishment of
a high performance unit of top rugby
coaches.
the South African Rugby Union has
announced the establishment of a high
performance unit of top rugby coaches to
assist elite South African teams at all age
levels. Saru says the initiative will see a
contracted team of specialist coaches visit
franchises, national and schools teams and
share their rugby knowledge.The so-called
HP Mobi-Unit is the brainchild of Saru’s
High Performance general manager, Rassie
Erasmus.
Former French international prop Pieter de
Villiers will concentrate on scrumming, while
former Bok flyhalf Louis Koen will be
responsible for the tactics and practice of
kicking play. Former Stormers loose
forward Chean Roux will focus on technical
analysis, with Stormers defensive coach
Jacques Nienaber advising on defensive
play.
22 Jan 2013, 10:30 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-162:
wow!
you’re blowing me away here, Brig.
@Te Rangatira-161:
i think you are being a little liberal with the word ‘many’ there, TR
but agreed, we do right by ourselves and by others over here in the republic.
22 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
on another note….
how long before Bekker hands in his first sicknote of the season and everyone blames Coetzee?
And Devilliers has been without injury for a while has he not? Possibly the longest stretch of his career? he’ll have a whole stash of notes ready to go by now?
22 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
I really like Plum, and I think he has an amazing rugby brain. But for some reason I cannot shake the feeling that he is very similar to Rassie Erasmus – communicating his vision confidently and assertively to his players and even the media.
He is also the nicest guy you can hope to meet, and one of the most honest coaches when assessing his team and the game (never shy to say they were kak). But he is also the most softly spoken coach I have ever heard.
It is just a personal view, but for my money the most successful coaches in history are ones that cast a huge shadow and commands natural respect when they speak. Guys with a sort of aura around them.
The ability to communicate anything to players and even support staff effectively is sometimes more important than the actual knowledge of the game or what you are saying.
I have been saying for a very long time that I believe Plum is one of the best rugby coaches around, but not really the guy that should be a head coach which in today’s age is actually nothing more than a project co-ordinator and spokesperson (manager).
Rassie found his calling eventually as a DOR (the guy doing the graft behind the scenes) – I believe Plum’s role and value is something very similar.
22 Jan 2013, 10:32 am
Hindsight I know but Plumtree should have got the Bok job. Meyer was 4 years too late and played some serious coaching catchup last year. Was horrible to watch
Oh, and how many times will dejong pass the ball this season.
I’m sticking with 6 times from 15 games.
Sorry first paragraph should read NOT communicating his vision confidently and assertively to his players and even the media.
22 Jan 2013, 10:35 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-168: I would play Grant at 12, would also be nice backup for F Steyn
22 Jan 2013, 10:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-164:
hehe….yep….somewhat cheeky that line….must come and see for myself and forget about going to Vegas.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-162:
Thanks for that quote from the Great man….we here in Nz have believed that of the Bok whoever the coach maybe.
22 Jan 2013, 10:38 am
It all comes down to SA rugby becoming truly professional…
Investing in coaching doesnt seem to be a high priority, considering that ex players still get appointed far to easily without much experience and credentials. The game has been a professional sport for far to long for this trend to go on. Would a NFL player become a head coach after a few years after retirement? Nope. Structures, striving for the highest standards are the laws of the land in a professional sport like the NFL.
Why not start from there. Become truly professional. Rectify the lack of intellectual capital, dont encourage it.
•Get foreign coaches to help out in the areas SA sides arent up to scratch, eg. skills/attacking/backline play. From school level up to the boks. Get the basic standards of coaching to the highest level, even if help from nz/aus is needed.
•Empower a young coach with the best coaching knowledge via educational structures before and while he starts building experience.
•Research the best skills training and adapt them into the structures, keep evolving to stay on top.
•Ex bok coaches could be used to attend to this high standard and help young coaches develop.
•Use SA’s past strengths to make it a national standard: A guy like Matfield could help SA coaches to enable SA teams to become the world leaders lineout play.
Bickering over who should coach the boks is a waste of time. Id rather complain about the lack of quality coaches in SA and ask why. Especially when the time comes to appoint the national coach.
Unfortunately SARU isn’t quite professional.
IMO
22 Jan 2013, 10:38 am
@PissAnt-166:
I agree, the best coaches are probably also the best communicators. The ones who can implement their vision and ideas the best. Hell, the ones that can even transfer their ambitions the best.
22 Jan 2013, 10:39 am
@PissAnt-169:
All the Kiwis I know..and Aussies for that matter, are quietly spoken. Look at the studio guests on Re-Union..they barely jump out of monotone through the entire program. It’s their nature.
South Africans are very loud by comparison. It’s our nature.
22 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
@Transformation-163:
BRAVO SARU, perhaps things are starting to happen! Jip skills/attacking coach??? Why isnt that a BIG priority?!
22 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
@PissAnt-166: ” the most successful coaches in history are
ones that cast a huge shadow and
commands natural respect when they
speak. Guys with a sort of aura around
them.”
SA’s MOST SUCCESFUL super rugby coach is Frans Ludeke, does he fit your descriiption?
22 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
@PissAnt-166:
in two words; ‘leadership ability’.
22 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
@Predawn-174:
Apart from Pat Lam who cries a lot, I found the Kiwi’s quite assertive actually. Henry is anything but quiet and soft spoke.
Also interesting… Some of the best coaches comes from a teaching background…
22 Jan 2013, 10:44 am
@Te Rangatira-171:
hahaha this place is Vegas.
22 Jan 2013, 10:46 am
@Bok fan-170:
If the Stormers play Grant at 10 or 12…I would be very surprised to see the stormers win anything.
I would class Grant as a decent 10 and not much more than that. The Bulls won in 2007 with a decent Hougaard, but had the genius of dupreez inside him and the superrugby form 12 outside him.
who do the stormers have, duvenhage at 9 and devilliers/dejong at 12?
Good luck with that.
22 Jan 2013, 10:46 am
@Te Rangatira-171:
Sorry Brig….we here in Nz have always believed that the Bok have always had the will….
22 Jan 2013, 10:48 am
@Transformation-176:
actually, he might not say much on the telly that is insightful but I wouldn’t want to be on his shitlist in the changing room.
22 Jan 2013, 10:48 am
@Transformation-176:
Frans mumbles his way through everything. And no, I don’t regard him as a successful coach but good luck if you think he is playing a numbers game.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-177:
You get different type of leaders I guess. Plum is well respected by all, almost that type of player you often hear ‘leads by example’ and in his case would be work ethic and just his general professional approach.
Like I said, I think one of the best rugby brains I have ever heard personally when he talks about the game but he will never go down as the best communicator ever.
Someone mentioned above Plum and Mitch will never go well together, but I actually think they will compliment each other very well…
22 Jan 2013, 10:49 am
its a moot discussion anyway because Meyer will be in the job for the next four years and if his results were good enough (which i believe they will be) and he wanted it, who’s to say he wouldn’t be reappointed?
22 Jan 2013, 10:54 am
@PissAnt-166:
plum might talk softly…
but he carries a big stick.
i watched the sharks warm up before a game.
plum was with the backs while the forwards did line-out drills twenty metres away.
the forwards were joking a bit amongst themselves.
as plum walked towards them, they suddenly shut up and became serious.
22 Jan 2013, 10:55 am
@PissAnt-178:
Look at Jake White. Still a good coach too…but anything but boring when he talks. His presence demands your attention.
I suspect John Plumtree is a lot different at training than in front of the cameras. Perhaps he doesn’t like the attention of the media.
22 Jan 2013, 10:56 am
@PissAnt-183:
another from vince Lombardi…”“They call it coaching but it is teaching. You do not just tell them…you show them the reasons.”
22 Jan 2013, 10:58 am
@Predawn-186:
Could perhaps be the case and I might be completely off the mark – but does he know his **** when it comes to rugby? Bet your *** he does.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-184:
Seems you have already forgotten his first year…..another year like his first, then your heading into….Judge me at the World Cup territory.
@PissAnt-183:
yes, i suppose what i mean is the type of leadership ability which is almost unquestioningly authoritative in a sense (you just know that what this person is telling you is right, and you do it) and for the most part come across as a natural fit to the person in questions character and personality.
an innate knowing and confidence which resonates with others.
at least this is what i think you’re trying to convey, i mean.
that ‘aura’ you allude to.
Kitch had this in bucketloads and Madiba even more.
22 Jan 2013, 11:01 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190:
Spot on.
22 Jan 2013, 11:04 am
@Te Rangatira-189:
no TR, i really believe Meyer and the boks willl improve markedly on last year.
expect no less than a home win againt Oz, NZ and with some luck/effort perhpas more.
22 Jan 2013, 11:04 am
hhmm so frans mumbles but okes don’t want to be on his shitlist…
the ENIGMA that is Frans Ludekak.
22 Jan 2013, 11:07 am
@PissAnt-183: surely the Blue Bulls company think Frans is successful.
22 Jan 2013, 11:07 am
@Transformation-160: Everyone is makwerekwere to the likes of you, eh Megatron…
- too foreign
- too european
- too somalian
- too congolese
- too white
- too dark
- too “Iranz”
or just too farken competent… Yes?
22 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
What’s this aura business
22 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
@PissAnt-166: Kitch Christie was a soft spoken coach…
22 Jan 2013, 11:12 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190: jose mourinho, phil jackson.
22 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@PissAnt-191:
yes, so basically, as good a coach as Plum may be, without this ‘auratic charisma’ he is no better than Rassie and others and probably best suited to serve the boks in the backrooms/from the sides..?..
unless he learnt to develop it in time.
i would say Meyer has this charisma, perhaps not as much as Kitch or Madiba but it is there.
22 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-192:
To achieve that Houston, Meyer needs to make some big calls surrounding his coaching staff….get rid of the yes men and bring in the new blood that is needed to take them to another level otherwise I can see stagnation.
22 Jan 2013, 11:15 am
@Heavens Game-195: lmao
153. Heavens Game said :
22 Jan 2013, 10:10 am
@ i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-147 : You forget the
Boks have had a “foreign” Coach before…
Ian Mac
ffs you said iam mac is a foreigner, not me!
22 Jan 2013, 11:16 am
@Transformation-194:
Do you think he is a good coach?
@Heavens Game-197:
Unfortunately never had the pleasure to ever meet him. But I did hear the one story about him.
It was in the lead up to the RWC, Kitch was Bok coach and there was a training session. A Bok rookie who was just making his way in the Bok team apparently addressed him as ‘Kitch’ when he asked him something.
In no uncertain terms Kitch made it very clear to this lad that he WILL address him as coach, or Mr. Kristie whenever he talks to him.
Of course the actual words Kitch used was apparently a lot more colourful to this young player and much to the amusement of many of the Transvaal players in the squad that knew the coach quite well.
22 Jan 2013, 11:17 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199:
meyer has farkall charisma…
just a weak, insincere smile
22 Jan 2013, 11:17 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199:
I would agree, but again it is just a personal observation which cannot even be an opinion as I have never experienced the environments first hand like players do.
22 Jan 2013, 11:18 am
@gunther-41: One would have thought so.
22 Jan 2013, 11:20 am
@Heavens Game-195: hey i don’t make the laws…
you like the fact that Plum goes to IRANZ often to crib from his keewee brethren on how to get his Sharks playing well?
the Kings have a kiwi Head coach & skills coach too, we tapping that IRANZ knowledge well too
22 Jan 2013, 11:21 am
@PissAnt-202: f.cuk NO!
Ludeke comes across to dim…
22 Jan 2013, 11:22 am
Meyer has about as much charisma as a toenail
22 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
@Transformation-201: Any Zimbo is a foreigner to you… Not so?
No matter how “naturalised”…
@Transformation-198:
agreed, Mourinho has it.
same with Ferguson.
having the undoubted respect and belief of your changeroom carries a lot of currency in coaching success it seems.
@Heavens Game-197:
i would absolutey say he possesed that aura though.
@Transformation-193:
I do feel that certain personalities are the right fit for certain organizations.
for example, in my proffession an “aptitude test” is a requirement before working in asia.
If you are the sort of leader/manager that will give a poorly performing employee/player a bollocking…..you will get no price in asia. In europe that is par for the course but in asia, the locals lose face,etc,etc…
22 Jan 2013, 11:24 am
@charo-203: but he can sure shout the moer of a walkie talkie.
22 Jan 2013, 11:26 am
@Heavens Game-209: ” Any Zimbo is a
foreigner to you?”
in your mind does Zimbo = Saffa?
22 Jan 2013, 11:28 am
@PissAnt-202: Kitch… soft spoken but inspired respect… Never was a mate to players, like D.ick Muir or even White to a certain extent… A healthy distance
Plum seems like that too…
Plum also seems honest and up front to the players… consistent. A big plus in engendering respect.
22 Jan 2013, 11:29 am
@Transformation-213: You chasing your own tail now…
Why dont you light it now my little fox… or jakkals (more appropriate for a Saffa)
22 Jan 2013, 11:29 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-180:
9. Groom
10. Elton
12. Grant
13. Jean/Juan
Looks pretty decent on paper
22 Jan 2013, 11:32 am
hmmmm…….seems like Durbs truly is the most welcoming and giving city when i read all these xenophobes whining about plums origins.
it must be said, the sharks played the most entertaining and skilful rugby at the end of last years comp, certainly of the saffa teams and possibly the top brand in the comp.
all the while the stormers “running rugby” style was a moribund and boring as watching paint dry.
its good being a shark
22 Jan 2013, 11:33 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-210: Aura? Except when he made that ill fated decision to go to the Bulls…
Their treatment of him was shameful to say the least…
So much for the “family” union, eh?
22 Jan 2013, 11:35 am
the list of players who have come to the sharks to play their rugby goes on and on.
from club rugby with jpr to cc winners like lacroix and freddy.
kiwis like plum and mex.
its an attitude that attractys them here, from all over.
whilst the close minded little “republic” on the end of the continent wants to know which school you went to, declarations of love for the mountain and all things capeyapey, hugs and kisses in the chageroom.
no thanks say the rugga buggers from all over the world
22 Jan 2013, 11:36 am
@The Rangerman-217:
Being the most entertaining and skillful team in the SA comp isn’t that difficult but yes they did string together 2 or 3 good games of running rugby at the end of the comp.
22 Jan 2013, 11:38 am
@The Rangerman-219: Excellent.
22 Jan 2013, 11:38 am
@Ranger: “skills”? the Cheetahs still r(h)ule SA in skills & entertainment…Willie le Roux is singlehandedly more exciting than the whole sharks backline.
22 Jan 2013, 11:39 am
@Te Rangatira-200:
i agree, TR
we need at least one or two consultants, barring any coaching changes (which will never happen).
basically the scriptures tell us that Heyneke will gradually press down enough on his coaching/support staff to meet the targets for success, and so it will come to pass that the staff will meet this expectation due to belief in his abiltiy, and fear of failure otherwise.
small touches will possibly include him lifting an Ozzie or a Kiwi out from a hole in the desert, having been left there to die, and this person will repay his faith and generosity by helping the boks just that one or two percent more needed for victory, salvation and everlasting life.
22 Jan 2013, 11:40 am
@charo-203:
Haven’t seen one of Meyers press conferences for a while…does he still slip in the sentence about being honoured to be selected as the Bok coach etc etc?
22 Jan 2013, 11:42 am
@charo-203:
that is just nonsense.
@PissAnt-204:
no arguments there.
@Dawn-208:
and you wonder why Tac doesn’t blog here anymore..?..
22 Jan 2013, 11:44 am
@Transformation-222: you wish pellie, the sharks rugby last season made the cheetahs look pedestrian by comparison.
more of the same please plum, you natal legend!
22 Jan 2013, 11:47 am
@The Rangerman-219:
The sooner us South Africans realise that High School is not the be all and end all of rugby greatness, the better. Rugby skills should be honed at school level and then fine-tuned at club level. This fanatism to perform and win at all costs at school level is kinda childish.
The Kiwis have the right attitude in this regard. Some rugby players only really start to find their mark as a potentially skilled rugby player at senior level. I wonder how many players have been overlooked by talent scouts at the clubs around the country.
22 Jan 2013, 11:48 am
@Predawn-227: marcel coetzee.
springbok.
unfancied school.
no craven week.
yster.
22 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@Heavens Game-218:
that was a terrible business. what exactly happened there and was he really fired on his hospital bed?
shameful if true.
22 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@NZINCHINA-220:
You seem to down play the SA Comp
guess what! most our stadiums were full and buzzing through out
unlike other comps where ive seen a bigger crowd on a week day at a rained out 5 day test.
22 Jan 2013, 11:52 am
funny thing, the cape mercenaries (stormers) are basically labour brokers.
the players they recruit have little or no loyalty.
witness guys like mujati, habana, jaque fourie, luke watson etc etc etc ad nauseum, ad infinitum.
they come and go like wekkers through a turnstile.
plum is still here, 20years on.
this favoured city, this tropical paradise with its warm sea and warmer heart just draws them in and never let them go.
22 Jan 2013, 11:54 am
Plum is a great forward thinking coach… It is time the Sharks win this damn thing!! Choked enough!! Come one Plum us long suffering fans need it!
22 Jan 2013, 11:56 am
@Ranger: 3 games (at best) and the Sharks are the most exciting team in SA? pliz.
22 Jan 2013, 11:58 am
@Rockn Rolla-230:
The SA comp has great crowds and fantastic local derbies, I prefer running skillful rugby which you don’t see a lot of in the SA conference to be fair.
22 Jan 2013, 12:00 pm
@NZINCHINA-234:
Yeah, and when you shout for your team you can hear that echo bouncing from stand to stand!!
22 Jan 2013, 12:00 pm
i could warm to this topic and mention freddy and his famous “sharks forever” line.
or say that butch is back, like stfan terblanche was, in the place that forever captured their hearts.
but it would be too much for some of our provincial cousins in the land of xenophobia and fear-of-darkest-africa land to handle.
oh ja, marinos and hoskins, natal boys through and through, rule rugby in sa.
natal ceased being an apartheid harvesting field when army and police could no longer be used by these nefarious forces.
no coincidence we witnessed the decline of the stormers from those years.
plum knows all this and smiles his kiwi smile as he plots yet another superrugby *** whuppin in 2013.
22 Jan 2013, 12:02 pm
@Rockn Rolla-235:
Sometimes that is the case but the rugby is much more entertaining
22 Jan 2013, 12:04 pm
@Transformation-233: huh?
3 games was it?
it seemed like so much more but nothing wrong with a little taste tester for you unbelievers.
not including a stormerasswhuppin in capetown-under-the-mountain-shwing-baby-yeah.
22 Jan 2013, 12:05 pm
@NZINCHINA-234:
And come on mate, ive seen dome pretty dour, grinding kiwi derbys in my time !!!
the worst are Ausie Derbys tho…..i would rather watch 2 bricks mateing!!
22 Jan 2013, 12:06 pm
@NZINCHINA-237: yes yes, you also have a blinkered mindset completely baffling for a man who lives in the most populaous country on the planet.
run run run.
go watch league and leave the love of all things rugby to the real spiritual guardians of the game, the country who dominated you for 100 years sunshine.
22 Jan 2013, 12:08 pm
@The Rangerman-236: ” natal ceased being an apartheid harvesting
field when army and police could no longer
be used by these nefarious forces.”
then natal started harvesting Free State & the Eastern Cape in return…for a school like Michaelhouse to have its FIRST EVER Bok in 2010 is indicative of how barren the province is…
22 Jan 2013, 12:09 pm
if anyone hadnt noticed, i have declared hostilities open again.
run you bunny b a st ar ds, the sharks are gonna get ya!
22 Jan 2013, 12:10 pm
@Transformation-241: like i said, we dont have your xenophobic mindset sonny.
we are a great big family here in durbs and accept refugees from the sh it hole you call a rugby union in PE quite gladly
22 Jan 2013, 12:10 pm
@The Rangerman-231:
Let me edit it for you:
“Funny thing, the players recruited by the stormers become loyal servants of the franchise.
the players they recruit have enormous loyalty.
witness guys like Vermeulen, Grant, Deon Fourie, Liebenbergh etc etc etc ad nauseum, ad infinitum.
they come and stay with no intention to go.
this favoured city, tourist heaven, unmatched natural beauty with clean white beaches, and warmer heart just draws them in and never let them go”
22 Jan 2013, 12:11 pm
@The Rangerman-240:
they have based so much of their game on ours in a way its funny but honour inspirring.
22 Jan 2013, 12:12 pm
@Transformation-241: and noticing the amount of argies and keewees you lot are importing it seems as though you are learning slowly
22 Jan 2013, 12:15 pm
@Robzim-244:
“clean white beaches, and warmer heart just draws them in and never let them go”
doesnt take much to have a heart warmer than your sea there eh robbo?
still, i think the stormers should be titled “the turnstiles” considering all the jumping ship that has happened there over the years (did anyone say lionel cronje, hoffman, sadie and pollard?)
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-245: yes but they have forgotten the long lean years from 1900 til 2003.
i must remind them.
22 Jan 2013, 12:15 pm
@Rockn Rolla-239:
No problem I’d rather watch our type of rugby and you yours, all good.
@The Rangerman-240:
I like this dominated word, you were up by a handful of tests and excluding 76′ where Gerty blatantly cheated it was about even, what word should we use to describe what we have done to you since 81′?
22 Jan 2013, 12:17 pm
@Robzim-244: also interesting to see “ad nauseum, ad infinitum” linked to a discussion of the stormers recruiting policies?
like i said, the dhl mercenary turnstiles.
22 Jan 2013, 12:18 pm
You have to stop living in the past Ranger, we own you end of story.
22 Jan 2013, 12:18 pm
@NZINCHINA-248: since ’81?
when your tame ape from wales robbed us?
i would say you have been true to form
22 Jan 2013, 12:19 pm
@The Rangerman-247:
yip.
they only got anywhere because they decided to learn how to play rugby from us.
next they’ll blame the refs, as if.
22 Jan 2013, 12:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-250: it must be said, your lot have dominated us of late.
cant deny it.
but like we have started to hold our own in superrugby, we will do the same at test level.
it will shake your world to its foundations but you will come out the other side a better person with less hangups than you have now
The truth is that if Plum had to go SARU it would be a huge loss to SA Rugby, there he would have the administrative and political shackles on him as soon as the pen is on paper, the thing is Plums coaching would be wasted at national lever as one does not coach a natural squad, the national coach is more of a tactical / management roll (think Alex Ferguson / Fabio Capello)
@The Rangerman-251:
no, on the ‘reffing’ front i would say their form has improved markedly.
22 Jan 2013, 12:21 pm
@The Rangerman-247:
We just “produce ” them here like sardines.
For every good one who goes there are 3 even better ones to take over.
The water is kak cold yes, u got that right
@The Rangerman-251:
Gerty makes him look like a choir boy.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-252: ja gerty is chinas favourite crutch.
we must help him bakkies, i favour the gordon ramsey approach.
22 Jan 2013, 12:22 pm
@The Rangerman-243: hypocritical “harvesters”?
@The Rangerman-246: contradictory as well “xenophobes” who have kiwis, argies & kenyans
22 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm
@Robzim-256: haha Rob i gotta go.
have a good day bud.
@NZINCHINA-257: what do you know about choir boys?
lets stick to rugby please.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-255: look, two of the finest cheats the game has ever seen, paddy “apology” o’braaien and bryce “mommys boy” lowrance have certainly carried the torch for them.
22 Jan 2013, 12:25 pm
@The Rangerman-253: \
yes,
sometimes, admitting to the truth of those niggly thoughts one harbours deep down and which haunts you in your words, can be a wonderful release.
22 Jan 2013, 12:26 pm
@The Rangerman-253:
Of late you mean per 81′, 32 years ago. This domination you talk of 4 or 5 tests over 70 years with us laying more in SA hardly domination but call it what you will.
22 Jan 2013, 12:26 pm
Playing
22 Jan 2013, 12:28 pm
@The Dangerman-260:
100yrs.
We have not even been playing each other for that long………………………………….Dumbarse.
22 Jan 2013, 12:28 pm
@The Rangerman-258:
“the gordon ramsey approach”…?..
that’ll wet their their appetites for change…
22 Jan 2013, 12:29 pm
@Transformation-259: ja i suppose we could call the stormers that but i like dhl turnstiles better.
the turnstiles have kenyan and kiwi players?
@NZINCHINA-262: no sonny, you finally surpassed us in the win loss ratio around a decade ago.
whats this 32 year wishful thinking binge you are on?
put down the wonton and lay down on your futon ok?
22 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
@NZINCHINA-262:
Since the advent of Neutral Ref’s and semblance of SA domination has been a myth in the minds of The Broederbond and their jackals.
22 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
@The Rangerman-266:
perhaps he could take a wok on the wild side before his lie down..?..
it’ll do him the world of good.
22 Jan 2013, 12:32 pm
@cane-264:
when was the first test between our two countries caner?
in 1921? ag, poetic licence.
i have to go now so everyone dont let the buzz i have given you fade away ok?
22 Jan 2013, 12:32 pm
@The Rangerman-266:
Yes but since 81 ( and the introduction of neutral refs) you could hardly buy a win, we’ve owned you for the best part of 30 years now.
22 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
And in other news, Frans Ludeke says he has already started preparing for the final of the 2013 Super Rugby tournament.
” I have bougt the latest Hi Defintion 50″ LCD TV and have had it installed already and will be able to watch the final in 20 million pixel color” he was quoted as saying.
22 Jan 2013, 12:48 pm
Since 1921 NZ and The Gougers have played 85 Test matches.
NZ have scored 168 tries.
SA have scored 127 tries.
Suck on that The Rangerman.
22 Jan 2013, 12:55 pm
@cane-272:
Ja
He’s really become a mislike Shark lately.
22 Jan 2013, 12:57 pm
@Rockn Rolla-254: very good point about what defines a national coach and a Sup Rugby one. Your point should be explored more. A national coach is more player manager, fine tactician and hopefully a bloody good selector. There really is no time to coach (in building a team over an extended period in which they are playing week in and week out). I think that was Heyneke’s greatest struggle. It requires a totally different mindset and possibly even diff skills set.
22 Jan 2013, 12:58 pm
Along with all the other mislike Sharks we have around here
22 Jan 2013, 13:27 pm
china/cane
they’ve won 12 tests in twenty years
considering we play each other at least twice a year
they have been man shamed consistently since isolation
Bakkies and ranger probably have never seen a dominant Bok team
but knuckle seagoing Neanderthals are stupid like that.
take their “banter” as sign they are hurting
because they are
LMFAO
22 Jan 2013, 13:31 pm
@the curse-276:
hi pops.
what does a “knuckle seagoing neanderthal” mean?
22 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@the curse-276:
Whoopee!
He’s baaaack!
22 Jan 2013, 13:37 pm
Knuckle seagoing Neanderthal!
22 Jan 2013, 13:37 pm
@keo-274:
True Coaches – Plumtree, Deans, Meyer, AC, Ludeke
True Managers – Woodward, Henry, White, McGeechan, Gattland
Then you get Eddie Jones, Brenden Venter, Nick Mallet who fall into a bit of both
22 Jan 2013, 13:38 pm
@nortierd-271:
not quite nice really, seeing as he’s the only coach that has won a superrugby final…twice.
and in all honesty, in both finals the Bulls handed out tactical masterclasses to the chiefs and stormers.
22 Jan 2013, 13:39 pm
@the curse-276:
Howzit Pops
good to have you back.
hope you had a great festive rest period and enjoyed your leave.
22 Jan 2013, 13:39 pm
@the curse-276:
Pops,
Ranger throws around the domination word regularly, when you strip it back there was no domination, there were a few tests in it and as we know it wasn’t a level playing field.
@charo-277:
When you’re describing a black tennis player what do you mean by “silverback”?
22 Jan 2013, 13:41 pm
@the curse-276:
factor in the games we really won and i’d say we’re well ahead of you, Pops.
lets not make this a trolling session.
22 Jan 2013, 13:42 pm
@the curse-276:
Go for it Pops
I’m getting my popcorn
22 Jan 2013, 13:47 pm
@the curse-276:
hey popps…
welcome back… how’s your arm doing…?
and how was your festive season…
you’ve been missed around these parts…
see you’ve also signed up on superb…
cool…
22 Jan 2013, 13:48 pm
superbru…
silly auto correct…
22 Jan 2013, 13:53 pm
UFO/Dawn/Nortie
Kia Ora. hope you are all well. arm is good thanks UFO. more shoulder problems from bein restricted to the sling.
me missed on keo hahahahaha too funny
but Dawnie, you bring the popcorn sweety and ill being the entertainment.
22 Jan 2013, 13:55 pm
minus 2009
9 wins in 19 years
I fully understand your conspiracy angle
it’s like prawns in district 9
we continue to “smorsh you borsterds”
22 Jan 2013, 13:57 pm
strange but true…
good to hear the arm’s on the mend… slow though it may be…
how long must you wear the sling…?
22 Jan 2013, 13:59 pm
Had to laugh out loud now.
Saw the trailer for a movie called: “Here comes the BOOM”…….
22 Jan 2013, 13:59 pm
22 Jan 2013, 14:00 pm
@NZINCHINA-283:
jou bek is skielik groot..?..
hou jou in, China.
@NZINCHINA-283:
delicate and dainty…
sunshine.
@the curse-288: Pops! Happy New Year to you and your loved ones. No jokes, we missed you.
22 Jan 2013, 14:01 pm
@Rockn Rolla-280: no Ewen Mckenzie, no Wayne Smith yet you mention the likes of AC & Ludekak? lol
22 Jan 2013, 14:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-291:
Ja nee … HG is already here!
22 Jan 2013, 14:03 pm
@Transformation-241: You do realise that the Boks have never won a World Cup without a Flyhalf from Maritzburg College…?
The beating heart of a successful Bok side is always a Shark…
Sharks Forever…
22 Jan 2013, 14:04 pm
@Dawn-297: Fokekhetgelag.
22 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
@Transformation-296:
Rocknrolla is top of Keo’s class
He’s the only one Keo responds to.
@Heavens Game-298:
Noooooooooooooo.
You lie.
@Heavens Game-298: Here comes the Boom.
22 Jan 2013, 14:06 pm
the Curse
has it been 12 wins in 19 years?
good to know
who’s counting
just looking out for some good ‘honest’ rugby
(referees excluded)
you dont ‘smurf’ nobody’s ‘bors’… ok…
22 Jan 2013, 14:06 pm
Hashim Amla out injured. Fark
22 Jan 2013, 14:07 pm
Welcome back Poppa.
Just won the toss and fielding first.
22 Jan 2013, 14:08 pm
UFO
8 weeks I was in it for. slowly coming right. have to keep on top of exercises etc. back to specialist in April for final checks etc.
looking forward to the super season. saffa teams looking very dangerous, and am starting to believe Bakkies about conspiracies
I too wish I could gift points to my countries teams
pedigree lady. and to you and yours lovely. always a pleasure
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-302:
Waaroor gaan hierdie movie?
@Gumboots-304:
howzit bill…
damn…!!
what happened…?
How do players get injured in warm-ups. JP and now Hashim
22 Jan 2013, 14:09 pm
Howzit UFO. Injured his leg during warm-up
22 Jan 2013, 14:10 pm
@Gumboots-309:
As Bakkies would say …………….
“He probably tripped over his weird looking beard”
Dave is at least playing now.
22 Jan 2013, 14:11 pm
Hi Dawn
yes probably
22 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
De Kock will open
22 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-293:
Ni shuo shen me?
22 Jan 2013, 14:15 pm
@the curse-306:
yeah… guess the muscles get pretty weak in that time… keep the exercise up and all will be good in april…
yeah… feels somehow this super season is gonna be a very exciting, competitive and tight one…
i’m chuffed schalk is back… will be interesting to see how he picks up his game after 14 months (bar 14 minutes) without game… and how allister’s is going to use him…
also keen to see what jk and ted do with the blues… i’m quite positive about them…
but for sure… gonna be very interesting…
22 Jan 2013, 14:16 pm
@Gumboots-310:
as you ask… how the heck does it happen…?
happens more than is healthy in rugby too…
22 Jan 2013, 14:16 pm
@NZINCHINA-316:
i said; ‘you suddenly have a big mouth, China’
you should; ‘keep it together’
22 Jan 2013, 14:17 pm
UFO you got mail
22 Jan 2013, 14:18 pm
switching off. enjoy the cricket. cheers
@Dawn-311:
i would never say that, Dawn.
when you get time popps…
go and check the hore thread… some good stuff and photos of sa playing nz during ww2…
22 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@Dawn-301: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-302: Yes… it is true.
22 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@Dawn-307: “A high school biology teacher looks to become a successful mixed-martial arts fighter in an effort to raise money to prevent extra-curricular activities from being axed at his cash-strapped school.”
That moron Kevin James stars in it.
I find this seriously amusing to be honest…..
22 Jan 2013, 14:21 pm
Gumboots
hoe gaan dit boet?
trust you are well my friend
I’ve always thought saffa ladies were very fine, smart too. it’s why they marry kiwis and Aussies
they know the truth
hahahaha
UFO
sadly, I don’t think Schalk will be the same, was already turning his back in contact and think he will only exacerbate this. sad to see such a warrior not the same. just a feeling
gots to love the new season
blues are farked. can’t see us doing to well, even with the headmaster pulling the strings. but a no worries season so anything is a bonus.
22 Jan 2013, 14:22 pm
@Heavens Game-298: ” You do realise that
the Boks have never won a World Cup
without a Flyhalf from Maritzburg College…?”
in a country where the 9 makes all the decisions, you do realise that the Boks have won both world cups with Bulls scrumhalfs who are mentioned amongst the BEST players in the game while both mediocre 10s don’t even get a mention among the best 10s
mere passengers, every saffa knows the flyhalf is there to skop
22 Jan 2013, 14:23 pm
Amla out. Quad injury during training yesterday. Rest up big guy, we need you for the Pakis.
Dekock opening. Behardien coming in at 5 and Miller at 7.
Finally have a big hitter coming in slightly down the order again. Something we’ve been missing in the ODI side.
22 Jan 2013, 14:23 pm
@keo-4: I dont think any Muppet (or very few) would dispute that he is a fantastic bloke and a great coach. The Sharks play the way many of us wish the Boks would play! (and I am WP).
But people will question his true loyalty when it comes to Test rugby. The SA/NZ rivalry is too old and intense to be taken lightly.
I could live in NZ (or any other country) for 50 years and NEVER would stop supporting the Boks. I think many Bok supporters feel the same, this is why we are skeptical about the wording of this article.
It is inferred that he supports SA, but he has not clearly said it himself. If he has aspirations of Bok coach, then he needs to say it out loud.
He bemoans “‘I don’t think we share enough in South Africa. I think we can learn from each other…” – something we all know (Jake and PDiv mentioned it too in their books). Yet Plumtree has often been the coach obstructing the requests of the national coach WRT Smit, Frans Steyn and Lambie.
In NZ he would have to listen to NZRU and the national coach, no? So, if he wants SA to match and better NZ, why doesnt he do the same over here?
22 Jan 2013, 14:25 pm
@The Rangerman-242: why so hostile – PMS Rangergirl?
22 Jan 2013, 14:26 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10: In many ways I WOULD support him for Bok coach, as he would probably be less emotional and more methodical about the job than a lifelong fanatical South African
For example, seeing Heyneke on the edge of tears at every Test is awesome in many ways, but we all know the Boks often rely on emotion too much as it is.
A coach who can stand back from all the politics, history and emotion might be a good thing. BUT (and its a BIG “but”) he would need to actually support SA and want the Boks to win above all other teams.
Finish en klaar
22 Jan 2013, 14:27 pm
@Gumboots-320:
thanks…
and you…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-319:
Only the facts Houston.
@Dawn: Bakkie’s doesn’t middle east muslims plus he wants to see broad’s face when he talks to her, she can put on Fendi sunglasses but no burka..
22 Jan 2013, 14:29 pm
@the curse-326:
yeah… we’ll have to see how he goes and how things turn out…
22 Jan 2013, 14:30 pm
@John Galt-328: you were screaming for Albie last year
22 Jan 2013, 14:32 pm
@Transformation-327: Funny that no other 10 from anywhere else could do it, no matter how good the SH… Not to mention the fact that THAT drop was made by a 10, not the 9.
A Sharkie at 10 = World Champions… Simple.
Duh… Dumbfuck.
22 Jan 2013, 14:33 pm
@ufo-335: I fear he may become another Ali Williams… never the same after the injury, much harder as the body ages..
I think I could watch cricket at this stadium
“de beers”
thats me
22 Jan 2013, 14:36 pm
interesting article keo
Plum is a spy, an agent planted to bring false hope to the many saffa_ring fans..
the shorks will stutter until half way through again, watch for the strange selections
to be fair to plum though, his farm backs onto Brycies, so he has to behave in the manner that is expected
22 Jan 2013, 14:37 pm
@the curse-338:
yeah… he came back from the broken neck okay… but guess the back-turning is a way of favouring it… but he’s a tough and determined guy so reckon he’ll give it a full go… time will tell…
rather watch it on tv and get de beers form the fridge…!!
22 Jan 2013, 14:39 pm
@Transformation-336:
Ya I know.
Notice I say ‘Finally have a big hitter coming in slightly down the order again. Something we’ve been missing in the ODI side’ Right now Miller is the best around in that role.
22 Jan 2013, 14:40 pm
@bokfan1-329:
i couldn’t have said it any better.
seriously…
@bokfan1-331:
well then he would need to say it, and make sure he says it very loudly.
the role means a helluva lot to a helluva lot of people and without the desire and emotional sensitivity shown he’ll already have lost the (already) little bit of fickle support he’d start off with.
being a methodical cyborg 9000 during games is one thing, if he got the job, but his approach in the ‘pre-appointment’ phase would absolutely require it.
we are not the Wallabies… or the All Blacks…
22 Jan 2013, 14:41 pm
@ufo-340: mucho respect for the man, has thrown his body without preservation into the cause time and again..
cant fault that in any player..
22 Jan 2013, 14:41 pm
The resident verbal masturbator is back in session I see.
Tell us again how you have blead on the battlefield of rugby, brothers in arms etc.
That brought a tear to my eye.
22 Jan 2013, 14:42 pm
@Heavens Game-337: calm down
joost & fdp were the brains the 10s were mules…
butch didn’t even command the kicking duties as percy & frans won us the game from the tees. .
It doesn’t matter if Plum supports the Boks or the ABs.
My guess is that he will support the ABs, and rightly so.
If he were to become the Bok coach, things will of course be different on a professional level. Just like Gary during this time with India. Or, indeed, the majority of international sports coaches.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-342: true, 61 percent and declining since readmission proves your point about not being Aussie or NZ
we have standards
22 Jan 2013, 14:43 pm
true popps…
22 Jan 2013, 14:46 pm
@Transformation-345: Yes… But Butch was the 10… And with Butch – a Maritzburg College Boy, a Shark – at 10, the Boks became World Champs…
Like Joel at 10 too…
Now stop chasing your tail, sonny…
22 Jan 2013, 14:48 pm
@willievz-346:
hey willie…
how you been bud…?
@ufo-348: will always be a legend and command respect in NZ..
has earned it
@Heavens Game-349:
Lambie is the Boks answer at 10,also a Natal boy.
22 Jan 2013, 14:49 pm
@NZINCHINA-333:
you say that as if i’ve ever lied to you, China
22 Jan 2013, 14:50 pm
@ufo-350: Very well, thanks bud.
At work, and keeping an eye on Cricinfo.
I am slightly concerned about our ODI team in general.
22 Jan 2013, 14:51 pm
@Heavens Game-337: Hey,you doooos !Can’t you read?Transie said that they were only there for their kicking!Ok.
22 Jan 2013, 14:51 pm
@Fern-352:
i dont think so fern, just my opinon
but i think he has a ceiling and its not going to be as a great
i think Goosen or Pollard will supplant him.
and dont kid yourself if you think Morne’s not going to make a comeback.
22 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-356: Morne is, most certainly, not going to make a comeback.
22 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
@Fern-352: Yes. Up to Pat now.
Another thing…The only thing wrong with Plum is not that he was born a Kiwi – because he is now a converted and died in the wool Shark, which makes him more Saffa than most of these Keolings from the Kape – but that he was a Sader…
A Durban Sader…
Softcocks generally, but Plum may be the exception…
22 Jan 2013, 14:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-356:
Be fair and give Lambie as much chanches as morne had.
I agree with Willie,no comeback from him.
@the curse-347:
like i said
judging by the manner of your wins… i noticed…
@willievz-354:
cool… i have a tv in the distance…
year… as nz’s odi team does better that their test team… our odi team doesn’t seem to do as well… strange phenomenon and i haven’t got a clue as to why… but i don’t have the same confidence in the odi team as i do in the test team…
Lambie – oi – nat sleutelborde
22 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@Heavens Game-358:
I agree on the Dbn Saders feckin strokers of note.
22 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@wnbb-355: WTF you know about rugger… Nothing… Less than Transie probably…
Now STFU and get the fck off this real rugby thread about a real rugby man…
Hear me, poodlepimper?
22 Jan 2013, 14:57 pm
@willievz-357:
That has to be great news for the Bokke, Goosen ran more at the Ab’s in 5 minutes of test football than Morne did in 5 years.
22 Jan 2013, 14:58 pm
@willievz-357:
i wouldn’t bet money on that, willie
@Fern-359:
agreed, let him have a good shot at it
but you must remember Morne started out winning more and only ended off losing more.
will we let Lambie start off with a losing streak in the hope he improves?
22 Jan 2013, 14:59 pm
@Transformation-334:
do you believe in womens rights and equality for all, Transie?
22 Jan 2013, 14:59 pm
lambie can’t even tie gooaen’s boots at 10.
22 Jan 2013, 15:00 pm
@Fern-352: better at 12 imo…
Bakkies, you mean the 20 wins in 21 games? that “manner of wins”? was the ref blind in all those games? like he was at soccer city when we didnt get a penalty until 60 mins and STILL outscored you guys 2 points to 1?
ok then, and hey, watch out for the tokoloshe, I hear he feeds on paranoia..
22 Jan 2013, 15:00 pm
@Britney Spies-362:
hou op roer
22 Jan 2013, 15:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-366:
Morne is last weeks news,give Lambie a chance and play Reinach at 9.
Hougaardt is not a 9.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-366:
Bakkies can you explain exactly why you’d want Morne back running the Bokke show?
@NZINCHINA-365: Morne will be back, the goose lacks BMT
tis true
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-370:
Is ja is
22 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
Maak al die Saaarks bokke
22 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
i also reckon patrick is the answer for the boks at 10… sure he may need work on a few aspects of his game… which will happen now that he’s gonna be given the 10 jersey… and carlos has been mentoring him…
but he is stronger mentally than both elton and johan… imo… and i’d rather have a clear-headed quick-thinking 10 who may not be able to kick the ball 70 meters… but 50 will do nicely most times…
and johan has to show he can still get through a season without an injury… which hasn’t happened yet… i hope he does stay fit… the competition will be great between the three and that can only be good for bok rugby…
but think our rugby will be best served by patrick and elton… instead of relying on johan’s boot as we have on morne’s for the last few years…
22 Jan 2013, 15:03 pm
@Heavens Game-364: What you know about rugby is scary.Don’t even get me started on your prediction ability. !!
22 Jan 2013, 15:05 pm
@ufo-376:
We need a 10 who can run and have a cool head under pressure and that is Lambie.
Morne has had plenty of chances.
22 Jan 2013, 15:05 pm
@bakkies: yes & very much againt people being subjected to prejudice based on their religion, appearance or choice of clothing.
22 Jan 2013, 15:06 pm
@Fern-378:
yip…
22 Jan 2013, 15:06 pm
@the curse-373:
Lets hope he stays of the juice, to be fair as Bakkies said he was truly sorry and promised never to do it again.
22 Jan 2013, 15:07 pm
Ek dog dit is ‘n Plumtree thread die. Waar kom die Lambie vandaan?
22 Jan 2013, 15:07 pm
@the curse-369:
are you sure its 20 in 21, Bigcock?
you know the drill, Popps
dont play innocent
we’ve been through this already
@Fern-371:
Reinach at 9..?..
come on Fern, that aint gonna happen
Lambie’s got his shot now, he needs to make it happen (simples)
its no different to Morne, Ruan or any other bok 10′s path into the position.
22 Jan 2013, 15:08 pm
@NZINCHINA-381: Im more worried he may borrow Chilli’s or Bjorns “nasal spray” to be honest..
Lambie is a TRUE 12, and should be playing there…
anywhere else he is wasted, could be another Aaron Mauger if given the chance..
If you want distance just play Fransie Steyn at 15 and he can also clear from 10 when distance is needed plus he can drop from 15 from up to 60m out.
He just needs to lose weight and get fit.
He has BMT as he showed in his first RWC.
Perhaps the answer is
Goosen 10
Lambie 12
Fransie 15
22 Jan 2013, 15:09 pm
Gollyfuckinggosh. We ain’t even started the foreplay that is pre-season and the guppies are already pulling off theircondomsafter o-r-g-a-s-m.?
Litteringfuckers.
This is going to be one helluva season……
Bambie’s sh y te gets real for starters……
22 Jan 2013, 15:11 pm
@willievz-386:
Can also work.
@Fern-363: Yes…
And then you get Quins…
Big okes normally… Big bluff scruff
But you know that saying… “The harder they are…”
@Britney Spies-382:
@willievz-386:
it could…
Goosen will be the Bok ten.Goosen is the ultimate ten in our game …if he can just stay clear of injuries.Lambie is,at best, a second-rated flyhalf for the Boks.He had a poor season last year.The Frenchie basically saved the Sharks bacon last year.Lambie was so poor in the super final.The Chiefs basically just kicked the ball to him,just as most teams did when Habana was in poor form.
22 Jan 2013, 15:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-387:
Bambie en Reinach is nou die ‘flavours of the blog’. Ai fokkietoggie
@Britney Spies-382: Alle Sharks-artikels in die geskiedenis van Keo raak aan minstens een van die volgende tydens gesprekke:
-Lambie vs enige ander 10
-Durban vs Kaapstad
-Sharks vs WP
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-383: yep, ABs lost 1 game in 21..
7 wins at the WC 2011
3 Wins versus Ireland
6 Wins in 4 Nations
1 draw in third bledisloe versus Aus
3 wins and one loss EOYT
7 + 3 + 6 +3 = 19 wins
+ 1 draw equals 20 games WITHOUT a loss
England game was 21st game and FIRST loss
correct me please, because “apparently”. weve been through this???
22 Jan 2013, 15:13 pm
@NZINCHINA-372:
its not really about what i want, China
i’m just being realistic and pragmatic about the likely progression of events.
if Morne plays a blinder in super rugby and scores the most points only for Lambie to get the nod for the boks and they were to struggle, there would be motivation and pressure for the coach to look at picking him.
same for Goosen.
Morne will probably make either the home or away squads so will be in the frame and if neither Lambie, Goosen or Jantjes delivers and losses start piling up the coach will be in the same boat he was last time round.
@the curse-384:
Yip for some reason the SAFFA’s think Steyn is a 12, he’s a 15 albeit a slowish 15 but with a great boot, Goose 10. Little Lamb 12 Steyn 15, anybody but Hougarrd at 9, this lineup could see them beating Aussie more than once every 3 years or so.
@willievz-386: Nope… The answer is
10. Lambie (circa 2010)
12. Steyn
15. Dont know… Lots of maybes
@Heavens Game-389:
i am only 1,75.
Really?
Rich coming from a coward who had to execute a king hit from behind on his opposite number:-)
22 Jan 2013, 15:14 pm
@Heavens Game-398: Andries Coetzee
22 Jan 2013, 15:14 pm
@willievz-394:
Nee donner! Dan kan ek maar terug na RT gaan.
22 Jan 2013, 15:17 pm
Lambie,a cool ten under pressure ??Guppies starting with their delusions of grandeur already!He could not even get a game at ten for the Guppies last year.He got the Bok position by default las year for the sole reason that the preferred ten,Goosen ,was out injured and Steyn was too traumatised to kick a ball over the sticks.
22 Jan 2013, 15:19 pm
@ufo-376:
so, a version of Morne minus the kicking ability?
@Transformation-379:
good to know.
there is a lot of discrimination in the middle east (just saying).
@the curse-384:
that’s the one time i agree with you, Pops
i too believe he is a 12
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-396:
You have 2.5 seasons until the next World Cup plenty of time, Steyn is not the future so cut him now.
@NZINCHINA-397: you and I can see it, these guys cant..
is it any wonder we rule the rugby world..
their coaches cant even see this..
we armchair fans (NZ ones obviously) can
its rugby, a simple game..
still, it keeps us where we should be, so lets not tell them how to improve, they dont seem to want to listen anyways..
I mean, it took a kiwi to get one of their super teams to play beautiful rugby, so we mustnt know a thing
22 Jan 2013, 15:20 pm
@Britney Spies-393: Bambie has long been the lead in most guppiefanboys’s pencils. What they are going to realise rather suddenly though, is that it’s far easier to talk a player up and into the stuff of legend, when he isn’t playing
Much harder to do that when he’s strutting out weekend after weekend in the 10 jersey…..
Honestly: I reckon his fanboys and his sh y te gets real now. Realfuckingfast as well.
22 Jan 2013, 15:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-387: LMAO reinach already a Bok
22 Jan 2013, 15:21 pm
@the curse-395:
yes, we have
only clean wins count
keep up
22 Jan 2013, 15:21 pm
@wnbb-392: Let me rewrite this for you since you seem to struggle with written English…
“.Lambie is,at best, a second-rated flyhalf for the Boks”
to
Lambie is, at best, a second rate flyhalf for the Boks…
See…?
Now, I realise English is most definitely not your mother tongue and you do seem slightly challenged with many concepts beyond K9 for.nication, but please do try harder when you bullshitt… Even Keo has standards after all.
22 Jan 2013, 15:22 pm
@the curse-405:
He he they are clueless when it comes to back line play, long may that continue!
22 Jan 2013, 15:23 pm
@NZINCHINA-397: Lambie at 12?Just so that one of your monsters can run over the midget boy?Nice try China.
22 Jan 2013, 15:24 pm
@Fern-399: Lol… “Behind” you reckon…? Fark that… Strictly speaking it was from the side… And it was more of a tripswitch…
Sweetspot… Not hard to find on Quins players…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-406:
JP doep gaan die Bokke 10 na die Kings game wees – watch net – dan skuif Bambie 12 toe en Frans na 15.
@willievz-394: classic keo post
394. willievz said:
@ Britney Spies-382 : Alle Sharks-artikels in
die geskiedenis van Keo raak aan minstens
een van die volgende tydens gesprekke:
-Lambie vs enige ander 10
-Durban vs Kaapstad
-Sharks vs WP
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-408: clean wins?
what does this mean?
Ive looked at the scoreboard 21 times, and 19 of those times my team was leading the scoreboard..
doesnt come much cleaner tbh..
we could have won 20 times if Dan had kicked the drop goal.. but alas, we SOMETIMES lose..
we get as upset about a loss as you guys do a win, seeing as they are so rare respectively
22 Jan 2013, 15:25 pm
@wnbb-411:
How big is Lambie, about the same size as DC?
22 Jan 2013, 15:25 pm
@Heavens Game-409: Ok.In any man’s language ,Lambie is still not fit to tie Goosen’s laces.
22 Jan 2013, 15:26 pm
@Heavens Game-412:
From the blindspot then.
Good work,I appluade you.
Was prob a hit or get hit scenario,you must have been so gratefull for being sent off;-)
22 Jan 2013, 15:27 pm
@wnbb-411: could be the perfect 12
but continue to think that its the size of the dog in the fight, rather then the size of the fight in the dog
suits us kiwis perfectly
and 2nd will be the best you guys will ever get my friend..
22 Jan 2013, 15:27 pm
@willievz-400: Come now Willie… Actually I would rate Kirchner above Coetzee, along with:
- Aplon
- Ludik
- Petersen
The fact that he is in no S15 squad speaks volumes too.
22 Jan 2013, 15:28 pm
keewees going down to funkytown 36/2.
hola poeps!
22 Jan 2013, 15:29 pm
@wnbb-417: No. You are wrong.
But then again I forgive you. You know not what you say.
22 Jan 2013, 15:29 pm
@gunther-421: kia ora Gunth
8 runs off two balls
christmas is still alive in the land of long white clouds
22 Jan 2013, 15:30 pm
@the curse-415:
It was an excellent year Pops, we’ll have the Poms at the end of the year, at least it’s adds a bit of interest to this years EOYT.
That Boom movie sounds seriously kuk
@willievz-394:
snaaks
22 Jan 2013, 15:31 pm
@the curse-423:
I have my doubts about Maclaren.
Agree with you re lambie he could work well at 12.
nothing wrong with his defence.
fark knows the cupboard is pretty bare there.
22 Jan 2013, 15:31 pm
must be a fix in the cricket
3 4s in one over
Bakkies, can you do your video analysis and show us kiwis where we cheated at “de beers”
thanks in advance
22 Jan 2013, 15:32 pm
@Fern-418: Not nearly as schweet as Burger Geldenhuys on Andy Dalton though… Now that was a tripswitch of note.
But a sending off for getting retaliation in first at Quins aint pretty… Had to walk the gauntlet back to the changerooms…
22 Jan 2013, 15:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-403:
lambie can kick fine bakks…
as you will no doubt see this year… he’s never been allowed to settle at 10 so this year will be big for him… i think he’ll surprise a lot of people…
but in big games, tight games… a good rugby brain is needed more than another 10 metres of boot… imo…
both johan and elton have made some strange onfield decisions… sure they’re young… but so too is lambie…
they’re all quality players though… so preferring one or two is not saying the other one or two are useless… they’ll all push each other… and we have depth in case of injury…
and i worry about goosen… i said as much this time last year before the season started that we should take it slow with this kid and ease him into the big time… but everyone gets carried away with the distance of his kicks and rushes him into the fray prematurely because it is a secure way of keeping his team in the hunt and salvaging a win when the plan doesn’t work…
our big kickers like frans and johan make our coaches stop thinking or innovation…
anyway i fear for johan because he is a helluva talent… but he should be eased through this year imo… before becoming a regular or starting bok…
22 Jan 2013, 15:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-403:
Amla doesn’t live in the Middle East
So how he and his wife choose to profess their religion remains their business
It doesn’t mean he is discriminating against her.
22 Jan 2013, 15:33 pm
@Transformation-407: And it doesn’t help the guppiefuckinghysteria when you have Keo singing from the same hymn book……
It’s all very Bieber like.
22 Jan 2013, 15:34 pm
@NZINCHINA-416: Jeez,no! He is even shorter than DC. I really don’t know why you guys want him at 12. He is,at best, a bench player for the Boks.That is my honest opinion.
22 Jan 2013, 15:35 pm
@NZINCHINA-424: we were due a loss, shame it was England but a decade between them is alright in my book… will really show if Hansen is up to the task imo… always learn much more from a loss, one we needed I reckon
@gunther-427: has all the attributes and skill to be a very very very good 12… would also alleviate the pressure from either Jantjies or Goosen at 10, knowing they have an extra playmaker/kicking option..
22 Jan 2013, 15:35 pm
@the curse-415:
try looking around at the faces of some of the people you play the world over
while you’re at it
if you had half the decency the MO of your wins would upset you more
22 Jan 2013, 15:36 pm
@the curse-428:
22 Jan 2013, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA-404:
yes, but its never that simple, China
just look at your WC history
Mauger, Cullen…and so on..?..
22 Jan 2013, 15:38 pm
Kyk julle IPL hokkie?
22 Jan 2013, 15:39 pm
@the curse-428:
oh the things we say in jest…
22 Jan 2013, 15:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-437:
Yay
What did Cullen do.
22 Jan 2013, 15:40 pm
@Britney Spies-438:
Who were you, who are you on RT, and why you back here
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-435: so, beating the then ranked no 2 team 22-0, or the plucky Irish 60-0 was down to cheating?
ok then
hahahahahahahahahahahahaahaha
thanks bakkies, I now feel sane in comparison
shot!!!
4 runs
go get that Morne
22 Jan 2013, 15:41 pm
@Dawn-441:
Skuus! Ek is ekke. Jy was baie lief vir my en ek vir jou.
22 Jan 2013, 15:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-439: I agree about things we say in jest
just the other day I was adamant with my younger kiwi friends that SA were our true “rugby enemies”
they didnt agree and stated Aussie were..
I tried Bakkies, really I did..
but then they provided stats and I had to agree with them
please forgive me
22 Jan 2013, 15:43 pm
@the curse-443:
Indeed Pops you are in fine form.
22 Jan 2013, 15:43 pm
@Dawn-441:
It will just open a can of whoopass Dawn. Rather not.
22 Jan 2013, 15:44 pm
@Britney Spies-447:
Tac?
Is that you?
22 Jan 2013, 15:44 pm
@Dawn-446: if my form was half what the rumours are about your form Dawn, then I would indeed die a happy man :blush:
22 Jan 2013, 15:45 pm
@ufo-430:
yes, well i certainly am no Lambie hater and do hope the best for him.
same for all the other potential 10′s.
Lambie too has taken some poor options at times as well not turned up a few times. but here’s to hoping he goes better.
if anything this year should give us certain clarity on the flyhalf order going forward.
@Dawn-431:
i was only trying to stand up for womens rights here, Dawn.
i mean no offense or attack on Hashim, his wife or anyone religion.
bygones..?..
22 Jan 2013, 15:45 pm
@Dawn-448:
Nee my liefling.
22 Jan 2013, 15:46 pm
@Britney Spies-444:
@Britney Spies-447:
well let’s hope you hang around permanently…
22 Jan 2013, 15:47 pm
@Dawn-440:
nothing
he was shafted by NZ rugby and it didnt work out for them.
it was a point made in response to China’s advice.
22 Jan 2013, 15:47 pm
@ufo-452:
I’m trying to make friends for a change. I hope I succeed this time around.
22 Jan 2013, 15:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-450:
“if anything this year should give us certain clarity on the flyhalf order going forward.”
absolutely…
no excuses or places to hide… all four have it all to do for themselves…
a very good situation…
22 Jan 2013, 15:48 pm
@the curse-442:
thats not possible
we’ve barely started
22 Jan 2013, 15:49 pm
farking smilies
22 Jan 2013, 15:50 pm
@the curse-445:
dont be an idiot
australias stats are putrid.
22 Jan 2013, 15:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-450: Best option I saw Lambie take was CC 2010… Hand off to Schalk Burger followed by rapid placing of ball over tryline under the uprights…
A schweeter option I have rarely seen…
22 Jan 2013, 15:51 pm
@Britney Spies-454:
reckon you already have bud.. not that there was anything wrong before… great to have another perspective… keo does get boring with so many stormers fans making up the numbers…
22 Jan 2013, 15:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-458: over the last twenty years they have provided more anxious moments for us kiwi fans then your bokke have
sad but true mate..
I too long for the days the Bokke actually lived up to their billing, and even I now question some of the old timers assertions that SA are our greatest foe..
it pains me to say it Bakkies, but the history books dont lie
22 Jan 2013, 15:53 pm
@Dawn-448:
dont be silly
Tac would never stoop to multinic’ing.
22 Jan 2013, 15:53 pm
Vok it’s Pietman
22 Jan 2013, 15:54 pm
12 Feb 2009
SHARKS WILL FLY SA FLAG
The Sharks, on balance, are an outstanding
side and John Plumtree commands respect
as a coach because his actions say much
more than his words. Some coaches talk a
great game, while Plumtree is from the
school that prefers others to do the talking
based on achievement of the team.
I’ve never liked the Sharks because I’ve
never liked Durban and Durban has never
liked me. There is no mountain and there is
no loyalty from their rugby supporters
when times are tough. You only have to do
a check on crowd attendance in a poor
season and compare it to when the Sharks
are competing for a home semi-final. At
least down in Mountain Goat country 35
000 still come out whether the Stormers are
playing for the wooden spoon or missing
out on a semi-final by points differential.
But because I don’t like the Sharks doesn’t
mean I’m not picking them to be the best of
the South African sides. Of course they are
but to win the competition they have to be
hosting a semi-final. Can they do it? To
quote someone familiar with the
Durbanites, there’s the lovely line of Bob
the Builder … ‘Yes we can!’
In assessing the prospects of the Lions and
Cheetahs I just did a copy and paste from
every year’s preview. ‘NO CHANCE’.
The Bulls will be more competitive with
Victor Matfield back running the show, but
they are top six – more than top two –
material.
South Africa’s chances are helped by the
fact that this must be the weakest squads
picked by New Zealand in the history of the
tournament. Some of their players are just
KAK and in the glory days of Super 12
wouldn’t even have made the Supporters’
XV of the Blues and Crusaders.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-462:
Ne!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-462:
Oooooooooooooo
You calling me silly?
Me?????
Trying to get some of your own back for sticking your boot in your mouth?
22 Jan 2013, 15:55 pm
I remember Pietman and Dawn engaging in a bit of cyber love back in the days.
@Dawn-463:
Only a guest appearance skattie. Die wind sal my uitwaai.
@ufo-455:
as the lyrics go; ‘the heat is on!’
22 Jan 2013, 15:56 pm
@Heavens Game-459: Even you have to concede that this season is Lambie’s ‘make or break’ in terms of being taken seriously as a Bok starter. Much time was wasted in this young man’s career.
Personally, I think he’s always going to be in the shadow of The Goosen – happy to be wrong.
Keen to see what he dishes up. Also depends who starts at 9 for you lot.
Ok, decent post of the day over.
22 Jan 2013, 15:56 pm
seriously, are the bookies involved in the cricket?
we couldnt score 70-2 in two test match innings, ‘suddenly we have “found form”
dodgy!!!
22 Jan 2013, 15:57 pm
@ufo-460:
Indeed, not to mention BOOM BANG A RANG
22 Jan 2013, 15:57 pm
@Heavens Game-459:
he played a blinder that day, HG
the point is he’ll need to turn at national and super level game in and game out like that.
22 Jan 2013, 15:59 pm
A hint Dawn.
You are the wind beneath my wings.
22 Jan 2013, 15:59 pm
@wnbb-467:
Really
You couldn’t read then, you cant read now
22 Jan 2013, 16:00 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-470: Yes, I agree… I have stated it too.
Noddy badge for you, yeah?
22 Jan 2013, 16:00 pm
@Dawn-475:
Has Ruck returned?
22 Jan 2013, 16:02 pm
@Britney Spies-477:
I can’t communicate with anyone who has Britney in their nic
22 Jan 2013, 16:02 pm
@Heavens Game-459: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-473: He was still relatively green at the highest level. And that counted in his favour.
Younger players nowadays tend to perform better in big matches, proving that experience is really overrated.
The tables have turned.
The older players are more desperate to taste trophy success than the younger ones, and are the ones that fold under pressure in the modern game.
WP won a CC without Burger and De Villiers. Ironic, isn’t it.
22 Jan 2013, 16:03 pm
@Dawn-478:
You still play so hard to get. Ek lyk dit!
@Heavens Game-476: No. I would prefer an Obama badge.
I give Burger two games and he be out for the rest of the year
22 Jan 2013, 16:04 pm
@Dawn-478: Rather Brit than Biebs.
22 Jan 2013, 16:04 pm
@Britney Spies-472:
@Britney Spies-474:
that clue was slap bang in the middle…!
22 Jan 2013, 16:05 pm
52 runs of 7 overs?
say it isnt so..
22 Jan 2013, 16:06 pm
@the curse-461:
i have to go Pops
its getting late and i still have loads of work to do.
we’ll have to continue our ‘search for the truth’ some othe time
@Britney Spies-465:
ja, beslis
@Dawn-466:
oh come on, sweetie
we’re practically in a relationship now
———
back later
22 Jan 2013, 16:07 pm
have to hit the road…
cheers all…
a great evening to everyone…
go proteas…!
22 Jan 2013, 16:07 pm
Lambie is a serial flop.He flopped at ten as well as 15 last season.Meyer Bosman,at ten,might be a better bet for the Sharks this season.
22 Jan 2013, 16:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-486: cheers bakkies, will check in the morning for your replay analysis of the first half of the cricket
looking forward to your bullet form of NZ infringements
22 Jan 2013, 16:10 pm
@the curse-485:
FUNKYTOWN!
@the curse-489:
OK
He’s gone
@willievz-479:
yes, he certainly announced himself in that game and i must admit i expect a lot from him because of it.
that certainly was an enjoyable match all round too.
—-
out for a bit
22 Jan 2013, 16:11 pm
@Britney Spies-480: Stop teasing , prawny,Ash.
@gunther-490:
wont you take me to
@the curse-485: Hi Pops – I haven’t been on today so I apologise if you’ve had to answer this before during the day: How are you doing ? We’ve been missing you !! Is your arm getting better ?
Good article……interesting read.
@the curse-461: The Boks have to work on consistency in terms of results. I still believe the Boks ‘should’ be the Kiwis toughest opposition, based on what we coud and should be producing, but aren’t for a number of reasons……
Mental mind shift + coaching tweaks + + + + + + + + a few other things….. and consistent results might follow.
Then and only then will the Boks challenge the AB’s in the way they should.
But for now, the Boks aren’t even the bridesmaids…..and haven’t been for a long time.
22 Jan 2013, 16:13 pm
He’s back
22 Jan 2013, 16:13 pm
Gotta make a move to a town
That’s right for me
Town to keep me movin’
Keep me groovin’ with some energy
Well, I talk about it, talk about it
Talk about it, talk about it
22 Jan 2013, 16:14 pm
@the curse-499:
Lower Hutt?
22 Jan 2013, 16:16 pm
@CharlesM-495: Hey Charles, hope your well… yeah arms doing good thank you.. slowly but surely
me being missed on keo is quite a conundrum, truly
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-497: old enough myself to remember the true rivalry, and believe you guys will get there agin (its because you have kiwi gents in your country that I think it will haPPen again
)
22 Jan 2013, 16:17 pm
gents = agents
22 Jan 2013, 16:17 pm
@the curse-501: No I’m serious !!
The SA U20 training squad’s starting line-up against Maties:
15. Tim Swiel
14. Luther Obi
13. Sylvian Mahuza
12. Jan Serfontein
11. JP Lewis
10. Handré Pollard
9. Hanco Venter
8. Roelof Smit
7. Jacques du Plessis
6. Ruan Steenkamp
5. Marvin Orie
4. Irné Herbst
3. Luan de Bruin
2. Jacques du Toit
1. Justin Forwood
22 Jan 2013, 16:18 pm
@Dawn-500:
Cory says hi
22 Jan 2013, 16:19 pm
The 34 players have been together since last week and will end their camp with a final clash against the University of Cape Town on Saturday.
Meanwhile, three squad members who were in action last Friday against UWC, Cheslin Kolbe (fullback), Justin Geduldt (centre) and Seabelo Senatla (wing), have all returned to the Springbok Sevens squad to resume with preparations for next week’s Sevens World Series tournament in Wellington.
Outside centre Jan Serfontein and flyhalf Handré Pollard will also return to Pretoria to join the Bulls after Wednesday’s clash.
22 Jan 2013, 16:20 pm
This thread has been a good appetiser for the season ahead.Guppies are still delusional like hell.HG still believes that he is a Saffa as well.
22 Jan 2013, 16:21 pm
@CharlesM-505: any future stars in that squad Charles? who should I keep an eye out for?
22 Jan 2013, 16:24 pm
where was this effort in the tests for frigs sake?
22 Jan 2013, 16:26 pm
@wnbb-488: I thought the guppies finest 10 in like everrrrrrrrrr, was Andy Goode… chortlelaughchokerollingaround
I always feel terribly let down when the guppies rave on about all their “international signings at 10″ over the years…United colours of Sharks and all thatfuckingjam, yet they never mention THE Goode thing.
Fucknowswhy.
22 Jan 2013, 16:28 pm
@the curse-507: Pollard and Serfontein played in the previous World Cup but I’m not too sure how strong the squad is Pops
22 Jan 2013, 16:29 pm
@the curse-501: Any Kiwi that has spent more than 6 months in Guppieland is no longer a Kiwi, he will have morphed into a Guppieblingking and sucks air with the best of those pollution engineers from Durban
King Carlos better get his butt out of Durban – sharpish. He has a future.
22 Jan 2013, 16:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-511: Your mama sucks pollution. Ja – let King Carlos go to Cape Town, where they win the Currie Cup every 11 years.
22 Jan 2013, 16:31 pm
@the curse-508:
It’s rigged Pops
Fixed!
22 Jan 2013, 16:32 pm
Wow, Keo is loving on the Sharks this season. And his mountain moffie parade are having a right little colon attack about it. I bet Jean De Villiers is in tears again.
22 Jan 2013, 16:33 pm
@Dusky-512: King Carlos is in Durban…where they win the CC once every century.
How are you Dusky?
22 Jan 2013, 16:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-515: History….all WP has. Cant blame you small minded fagwads for falling back on that every time.
22 Jan 2013, 16:34 pm
@CharlesM-510: I did recognise Serfontain, and now that you mention it Pollard too… good to watch the laaities and see who progresses… best thing about any sport imo..
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-511: Carlos was always only ever “the man who would be king”
over rated imho.. but then I go against the grain
am calling it a night, enjoy
and go the blackcraps, must pinch myself looking at the scorecard
e noho ra
22 Jan 2013, 16:35 pm
Whoohoo
My day is complete
Duskeeee
22 Jan 2013, 16:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-515: I am good and you ? I see you are planning to spend yet another season with ‘Sharks’ in your name. So the obsession continues ey ? Cant blame you.
22 Jan 2013, 16:36 pm
@Dawn-518: Dawnee…your day isn’t complete until you stumble, fall and pass out. Just stay off the balcony.
@Dusky-516: Small minded fagwads? Oh dear. That stung
Not sure I’m going to get over this one……
Ok, over it.
I ask again. How are you Dusky Do-little talkmuch?
What’s the score?
22 Jan 2013, 16:37 pm
@the curse-517:
Gnite
@the curse-517: Cheers Pops. Have a good evening. Nice to see you around these dodgy corridors once more
Its seems the Guppy supporters think their semifinal Superugby win over the Stormers is more prized than our CC final win over them.
22 Jan 2013, 16:38 pm
@Dusky-520:
Indeed!
Thank you for reminding me.
Why are all the Shorkies so miserable today?
22 Jan 2013, 16:39 pm
@NZINCHINA-522: 148-2. 4.72 Runs per over. Williamson on 87 and Eliot on 47…
Cooking here are the Blackcaps.
22 Jan 2013, 16:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-521: Hey – you didn’t answer my question mofgat. Are you going to spend another season obsessing over the Sharks ?
22 Jan 2013, 16:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-521:
“Dusky Do-little talkmuch”
@Dusky-528:
You gonna spend another season obsessing over the Stormers, mofgat
@W.P-525: Who said that ?
22 Jan 2013, 16:41 pm
@Dawn-526: Because ‘that time of year’ is almost upon us once more…. You know ‘that time’, when all their fanboy adoration and fighting talk becomes worthless after the guppies lose their first 4 games and are left chasing the pack?
@Dusky-531:
Watsup, underweight MMA champ
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-527:
Cheers, at least they are salvaging some pride.
@Dawn-530: I realise that you guys are intellectually challenged down there in the Western Cape and all, but honestly no matter how I read my name, I dont see the word ‘Stormers’ appearing anywhere in it ?
Do you ? You been suiping the ‘pers koeldrank’ again ?
22 Jan 2013, 16:42 pm
@Dawn-533: Awwww Dawny…..you jealous of my weight ?
22 Jan 2013, 16:43 pm
@W.P-525: typical guppy delusions…
22 Jan 2013, 16:44 pm
The pitch must be a belter if the black hats are going this well.
22 Jan 2013, 16:44 pm
@Transformation-537: Ah – and here arrives our political stirrer, Rosso…..or hang on – is it Transformation……..or is it ? Which one are you today ? Are you sticking with Transformation ?
22 Jan 2013, 16:45 pm
@Dusky-516: While you at it,don’t forget to mention the trophies we won last year.Ok?
22 Jan 2013, 16:46 pm
@Dawn-526:
“Why are all the Shorkies so miserable today?”
Booking busses and caterers for ticker tape parades that fail to happen takes a lot out of the City of Durban’s budget.
Guess they got the revised rates and taxes bill this month.
Sal my ook moerig gemaak het.
22 Jan 2013, 16:47 pm
@NZINCHINA-538: That pitch normally is.Still a bloody good effort from the Kiwis.Only two down.
22 Jan 2013, 16:47 pm
@Transformation-537:
You’re not really Rossi are you?
22 Jan 2013, 16:48 pm
@wnbb-540: Who is ‘we’ ? I actually dont know who you support. Dont tell me you are also a mountain moffie ? Considering this is an article about John Plumtree there are a lot of poefters floating around here. Kind of reinforces my point about them being obsessed with the Sharks.
22 Jan 2013, 16:48 pm
@NZINCHINA-534: Our ODI lot don’t fill me with much confidence must be said. Blackcaps looking good.
@Transformation-537: You suck air in finals for as long as what they been…and I guarantee you the delusions would consume you as well.
22 Jan 2013, 16:49 pm
@NZINCHINA-543: Oh yes he certainly is ! And he doesn’t just have that alternative alias. He has several others. To turn this subject on me, he will now blame me for stealing nics.
22 Jan 2013, 16:49 pm
@wnbb-542:
Sure is after a shambles of a test series, in saying that we are quite capable of being all out for 203 from this position.
22 Jan 2013, 16:50 pm
@NZINCHINA-543: 159-3. Elliot gone. Bowled Kleinveldt, caught de Kock.
@Dusky-535:
But all you EVER do is blab on about mofgats and WP and Stormers!!!!
All the time!
That ‘s obsessive!
Finally a wicket! Well done Rory!
@nortierd-541: In case you hadn’t noticed, the Sharks dont really do ticker tape parades for a Currie Cup win. I guess that has to do with the fact that we didn’t win it last 11 years ago. So – sorry, but that theory is just as stupid as anything else coming from Cape Town.
22 Jan 2013, 16:52 pm
@Dusky-544: Well,I am certainly not a Sharks supporter as they won fokall last season…seniors or juniors.
22 Jan 2013, 16:53 pm
@Dawn-549: Well, I dont call you a ‘Stormers fan’ because we dont really get called ‘Sharks’ or ‘Sharks fans’ either now do we ? So while we are adopting nicknames for one another – I thought I would follow suit.
I think this year I will call the Stormers and their fans ‘pers koeldrank’ or ‘geen voortanne’ or ‘pansy paradise’. One of those three.
22 Jan 2013, 16:54 pm
@wnbb-552: Sharks had a bad year – like WPs last 11.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-545:
The Black hats can often surprise at the short version of the game, now I need to go find a link on the net to watch it.
@Dusky-546:
That would be very strange if it was true, I’ve had two nics on here but never at the same time and both were of the same ***, oh dear Tranny say it isn’t so…
@NZINCHINA-543: rossi is rossi, i’m transformation, we have both met people on this blog…dawn, grant10, robzim, justrugby.
dusky is sour because i caught him red-handed imitating pedigree!
farkenguppy nick-stealer hahahahahahaha
22 Jan 2013, 16:55 pm
@Dawn-549: I dont want to cause Jean De Villiers to have another cry session though, so I need to think of something that wont be too rough for his sensitive little constitution.
22 Jan 2013, 16:56 pm
Good ton,Williamson !Good talented player this.
22 Jan 2013, 16:57 pm
@Dusky-539: hi Daski…i know you’re bored as **** now that you can’t steal nic cos i got Roy to fix the site
22 Jan 2013, 16:57 pm
@NZINCHINA-555: There we go. I called it. Transformation has several aliases on this blog as well as others. But you dont have to believe me. Nothing personal but I really couldn’t care less if you didn’t.
22 Jan 2013, 16:58 pm
@Transformation-556:
Ok cool got it
@Dusky-554:
Making two finals equates to a bad year?
Maybe your expectations are slightly to high?
@Transformation-559: Aaaaa….eish…..same arkument….
22 Jan 2013, 17:01 pm
That was actually quite funny the way Dusky got nailed.
@wnbb-558:
Yip superb knock (eventhough I didn’t see it)
@nortierd-562: It was a bad year. No silverware = a bad year. We havent learned to be happy with winning a semi-final like WP/Stormers. Not that the Stormers have won any semi-finals lately. They have the unfortunate record of losing two consecutive semi-finals at home. Do you know how many playoffs have been lost by a home team in the history of Super rugby ?
Lucky WP won the Currie Cup…..otherwise they would have had a disastrous season.
@Dusky-560:
Oh rubbish man.
Jirre.
22 Jan 2013, 17:02 pm
@nortierd-562: Losing five super finals equates to..?
22 Jan 2013, 17:02 pm
@wnbb-564: I got nailed ? Perhaps you need to change your definition of ‘nailed’ and you might get a bit luckier in some aspects of your life. You might actually get a boyfriend.
22 Jan 2013, 17:03 pm
@Dawn-567: Certainly does.
22 Jan 2013, 17:04 pm
@Dusky-554:
Haha stick the 11 year fact in your pipe and smoke it , after your 1996 Currie Cup win you also had a lekka 11 years of sweet nothing till 2008. Haha the Kevin Putt coaching era
22 Jan 2013, 17:14 pm
@wp_boytjie-571: ha ha ha ha….ja….ha ha ha ha ha….hey like dude like….ha ha ha ha ha….
22 Jan 2013, 17:15 pm
@wnbb-568: Losing two consecutive home semi-finals in Super rugby equates to ?
22 Jan 2013, 17:16 pm
Where did you go Rosso….ag…I mean Transient ?
22 Jan 2013, 17:17 pm
What’s the odds on Dusky doing a Sharkslover this season?? Doesn’t look very good for him already.
22 Jan 2013, 17:22 pm
Dusky are you still in Norway?
22 Jan 2013, 17:24 pm
@Dusky-566:
If you insist on quoting stats we can. 33 CC wins vs 6 and no Super Rugby titles for either.
But I’m sure you don’t like dwelling on the past, and looking at the past I can’t say I blame you.
22 Jan 2013, 17:25 pm
@wnbb-568:
Can’t answer you now, I’m chocking……………
22 Jan 2013, 17:27 pm
@nortierd-577: No problem,mate.
22 Jan 2013, 17:34 pm
@wnbb-579:
Got rid of that pesky fish bone, so I’m ok now.
You good?
Still following the bore fest, otherwise known as AFCON?
22 Jan 2013, 17:36 pm
Munster prop BJ Botha is set to sign a two-year deal with mega-spending Toulon this week according to reports in France.
The former South Africa prop would join an already impressive front-row roster at Toulon, including Andrew Sheridan, Gethin Jenkins and Carl Hayman with Martin Castrogiovanni and John Smit also heavily linked with moves to the south of France.
Botha joined Munster from Ulster at the start of the 2011/2012 season but could complete his move to Toulon by the end of the week according to L’Equipe.
The 33-year old was capped 26 times by South Africa after making his debut against the All Blacks in Pretoria in 2006. Botha last played for the Sprinboks against Australia in the Tri Nations game played in Brisbane in J
22 Jan 2013, 17:37 pm
@nortierd-577:
Yes but the first 20 doesn’t count, playing against your own second team, the Griqua tribe, the Kei River Xhosa Invitational XV and the first team of the Worcester School of the Blind from 1880 to 1901 doesn’t really count
Let’s start counting from say, 1938 and give me the tally?
22 Jan 2013, 17:40 pm
@victoriabok-582:
VB, don’t be jealous, read those little gold plates on the bottom of the cup and weep.
Het jy my e-mail gekry?
22 Jan 2013, 17:44 pm
Ag vok dis nou n province handjob paartie.
Hoe dierbaar.
22 Jan 2013, 17:46 pm
@nortierd-583:
> VB, don’t be jealous, read those little gold plates on the bottom of the cup and weep
Keep convincing yourself that winning a trophy while no opposition existed really means anything
At least you’ve got a flyhalf this year, the sterile backline you had the last two years with the Man fron Japan would be history
Nee, ek het nog nie gekyk nie, kom nou eers by die werk
22 Jan 2013, 17:48 pm
@victoriabok-585:
kyk maar, dis nogal goed, ten minste ek dink so.
22 Jan 2013, 17:50 pm
@nortierd-583:
> Het jy my e-mail gekry?
Ha ha, jy word seker baie gebliksem daar in Pretoria?
Lance kan nie ‘n Bul nie, jy moet 4 knaters hê, twee in jou khaki kortbroek en twee nog groteres agter aan jou Hilux
Lance is ‘n Os, g’n wonder hy kan sy beentjies so naby mekaar kry op daai dun fietsie nie
22 Jan 2013, 17:51 pm
@Fern-584:
Die felching begin eers later, hulle het gou vir Transie petshop toe gestuur om ‘n Hamster te gaan koop
22 Jan 2013, 17:55 pm
@victoriabok-588:
Dis nie my mense nie,ek kan maar net my kop skud.
Wat is so m oerse omtrent tafelberg?
KZN het die Drakensberge wat n hele mountain range is met baie meer om tedoen en meer plekke om tegaan.
The mind boggles.
22 Jan 2013, 17:57 pm
@victoriabok-582: You can’t change history when it suits you,VB.Is it our fault that you etters took more than 40 years to organise yourselves?
In any case,you okes were part of Transvaal ,so , that 1938 reference really should be seen in context .
22 Jan 2013, 17:59 pm
@Fern-589:
Fern
Die Drakensberg Kinderkoor is ook beter as die Tygerberg Kinderkoor.
Ons trek maar swaar in die WP, altyd tweede viool
22 Jan 2013, 18:00 pm
@victoriabok-587:
Miskien het hy ook n enkele bloue wat agter op sy fiets hang?
22 Jan 2013, 18:04 pm
@Transformation-556: Oh I remember that
Twas poetic…..from your side. (From Dusky’s side it was just fuckingdoff
22 Jan 2013, 18:05 pm
Williamson really having a great game!
22 Jan 2013, 18:06 pm
@nortierd-591:
Ek weet nie watter kinderkoor is beter nie, ons pomp nie pikkies in Bloubul land nie
22 Jan 2013, 18:08 pm
Definitely advantage Black Caps IMO !!
22 Jan 2013, 18:10 pm
@nortierd-592:
Nee hulle het altwee uitgehaal, hy moes plaas toe gekom het ek sou vir hom ‘n rekkie omgesit het soos die skape
Of hom geknip het met die Burdizzo
Ek lees daardie All Black losskakel wat laasjaar gespeel het toe Carter beseer was het ook Lance se probleem gehad, hulle het enn van syne ook blykbaar uitgehaal
22 Jan 2013, 18:11 pm
Good score for the Kiwis,but they might be s few runs short on that pitch.
22 Jan 2013, 18:12 pm
@victoriabok-595:
Ha ha, jis nou lag ek lekker.
Skerp man
22 Jan 2013, 18:14 pm
@wnbb-590:
We had to split from Transvaal, didn’t like their mullet haircuts
We were busy building the economy, didn’t have time to sit around drinking Oom Tas or collect water lillies to cook stew
22 Jan 2013, 18:15 pm
@nortierd-599:
Het jy jou mails gekry?
Die ou met die lepel is moer snaaks
22 Jan 2013, 18:24 pm
@victoriabok-601:
ek het maar die flippen ipad wil nie die video clips oopmaak nie
sal probeer uitfigure hoe.
22 Jan 2013, 18:29 pm
@nortierd-602:
Gaan na settings
Kliek “Allow mail from Bulls suporters”
22 Jan 2013, 18:29 pm
Stormers warm up match versus Boland mved to the CT Stadium….Feb 9…
22 Jan 2013, 18:35 pm
@victoriabok-603:
ja ne
weet nie lekker hoekom dit nie video clips wil oopmaak nie
het dit geforward na ander adres so sal nou nou kyk
22 Jan 2013, 18:54 pm
well done black caps on a very good score and kudos to Kane Williamson for a really really good knock…!!
now we see what our one day side is made of…
come on proteas… fight for the win..!!!
22 Jan 2013, 19:15 pm
yes quinton…!!! keep going…
22 Jan 2013, 19:18 pm
http://www.sport24.co.za/OtherSport/Cycling/UCI-bans-French-rider-Steve-Houanard-20130122
An out of season positive test….
Go Proteas…
22 Jan 2013, 19:19 pm
quinton deceptively casual klapping the ball…
22 Jan 2013, 19:21 pm
sheesh…
the body snatchers taken all the keo posters…!
22 Jan 2013, 19:22 pm
oh cool pedigree here…
damn… quinton gone..!!
22 Jan 2013, 19:23 pm
http://www.supersport.com/cycling/international/news/130122/UCI_asks_Belgium_to_sanction_Hoste_on_doping_grounds
and more…..
22 Jan 2013, 19:26 pm
The Kiwi’s are showing lots of energy in the field.
The Proteas will do well to win this one.
22 Jan 2013, 19:26 pm
that’s good to hear… mobile is too slow atm to open link
22 Jan 2013, 19:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-612:
Don’t start with cycling, it’s bait for ET and he’ll soon be out of his hole, copy and pasting thousands of pages from all articles relating to Lance Armstrong being the Antichrist
22 Jan 2013, 19:32 pm
@victoriabok-615: I’m hoping to entraptheuselessfuck. Armstrong of course was the devil incarnate, and cycling has undergone a major ‘clean up’ since Armstrongs retirement
Not.
Rockthefuckondribbling ET….
E-cricketismakingmenervous.
22 Jan 2013, 19:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-612: Any reason in particular for these links?
22 Jan 2013, 19:36 pm
yeah jj… looking far sharper and more urgent than us in the field…
22 Jan 2013, 19:45 pm
Smith needs to play that Gary Kirsten role and stick around till the end. Losing AB and Amla, Smith needs to step-up.
22 Jan 2013, 19:49 pm
@wnbb-617: Just proving how clean cycing is, now that the scurge that was Armstrong is long gone from the sport. He was after all the only doper in the ‘game’, ever and as many the world over would have us believe, cycing is so much cleaner now…..
Onto the Black Caps. I would be pretty chuffed for them if they won this ODI series. To come back from the destruction that was the test series to perform like this. Mental toughness in buckets. (and a few new players)
22 Jan 2013, 19:51 pm
@ufo-618:
The balls coming onto the bat quite nicely which should help but the lack of experience in the middle order is a concern.
22 Jan 2013, 19:53 pm
Haven’t had time to read all the posts – but I did check whether HG had made an appearance. He must have been salivating while posting.
Plum has plenty to offer SA rugby. This para below highlights the important difference between SA and NZ rugby – that is bais skills. And this then filters through to the provincial set-up and eventually franchise rugby.
“If there was a difference I’d say there’s more pressure in South Africa at schoolboy level to win because of the rivalry between the major rugby playing schools, whereas in New Zealand there is a greater focus at schoolboy level on playing good rugby. The pressure here would be to win at all costs; there the pressure would be in the skills evolution of a player at schools level.”
22 Jan 2013, 19:56 pm
Why shouldn’t Lance Armstrong be considered as the Antichrist of cycling? He was at the head of the biggest drug cartel that ever existed in professional cycling .Nobody is naive to suggest that Armstrong is the first drug abuser or that he will be the last. What is wrong is to accuse everyone in cycling as corrupt.That is disrespectful to the thousands of clean riders out there. If there was a click of 30 riders that abused the system back in those dark days then we should be glad that they have been exposed. I stand by my opinion that Indurain was the cleanest of all TDF riders.Further to that I consider him as the greatest champion in TDF history.Unfortunately ,Pedifool ,Armstrong needed to win a title first to be considered for that honour.
22 Jan 2013, 19:58 pm
@wnbb-623: I should actually say the cleanest of all TDF champions in the modern era of the TDF.
22 Jan 2013, 20:04 pm
@wnbb-623:
Clique.
22 Jan 2013, 20:04 pm
We back on the Tour?
22 Jan 2013, 20:12 pm
@David-625: thanks.
22 Jan 2013, 20:13 pm
@I am a stormer-622: HG came, he sighed, he withdrew. As usual, it was all over in 26 seconds……
@wnbb-623: Yup. Indurain won 5 tours on bread, Rooibos tea and sun ripened bananas.
22 Jan 2013, 20:16 pm
@David-625:
A spell check is just a “click” away.
22 Jan 2013, 20:18 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-628: Maybe you should add pure cycling ability as well.Funny enough,he believed that your loverboy was clean.
22 Jan 2013, 20:20 pm
@I am a stormer-629: absolutely!
22 Jan 2013, 20:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-628:
very funny.
22 Jan 2013, 20:31 pm
@I am a stormer-632: Not if you’re his ‘banshee’ on the receiving end of such ‘endurance’
The word ‘tragic’ comes to mind.
22 Jan 2013, 20:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-633:
Not even the full 2 minutes. No wonder the banshee wails the way she does.
22 Jan 2013, 20:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-633: Very nasty!
22 Jan 2013, 20:45 pm
@I am a stormer-634:
2 minutes or 2 inches?
22 Jan 2013, 20:54 pm
If you’re going to call for the run , make sure you can make it. Actually, first time ever I’ve seen Smith dive.
22 Jan 2013, 21:54 pm
End of the road for the Proteas?
22 Jan 2013, 21:56 pm
That Behardien open mouth pout – he looks totally like a fish out of water.
22 Jan 2013, 21:59 pm
7 wickets of which 3 are run-outs. You’re not going to win too many like that.
Well done New Zealand.
22 Jan 2013, 21:59 pm
@I am a stormer-639:
He is struggling for oxygen, i think he needs some EPO.
22 Jan 2013, 22:03 pm
Four run outs!
22 Jan 2013, 22:03 pm
Make that five!
22 Jan 2013, 22:04 pm
Wow.
I thought we would be competitive in the one day game but this could be another win here.
Wont say it is a win as i have seen so many one day games change in 3 overs.
22 Jan 2013, 22:06 pm
Kimberley crowd still seems positive
22 Jan 2013, 22:07 pm
5 run-outs out of 8 wickets fallen – pathetic.
@Hurricane-644:
You’ve got this – NZ seem to have our number in the shortened versions of the game.
22 Jan 2013, 22:09 pm
@Robzim-641:
Both him and Kirchner. They always seem to have a dazed look on their faces.
22 Jan 2013, 22:11 pm
@Robzim-645:
As snor always said – it’s time to pull a rat out the hat!
22 Jan 2013, 22:11 pm
The administering of the last rites ! Well done NZ.
22 Jan 2013, 22:12 pm
That Behadien schmuck is a coward. Farking useless prick!
Out of the 30-40 ODI series played here since 1991 this kak Kiwi team becomes only the 3rd team to win a series in our backyard, ever.
It is the end of the world. Congrats kiwis you made history.
22 Jan 2013, 22:15 pm
Kepler is still hoping for a twist in the tail.
Grasping at straws?
22 Jan 2013, 22:16 pm
@RL-650: Now,that is a bit harsh!As soon as Smith got run out the innings went downhill .
22 Jan 2013, 22:20 pm
I absolutely agree,Kepler. Laughing while the fcking Titanic is sinking is just not what you want to see.
22 Jan 2013, 22:21 pm
Morne Morkel needs to see the replay of that again – in fact again and again. Another who seems to fall asleep on the job.
22 Jan 2013, 22:22 pm
@RL-650:
Hmmm we have a really bad test team but a lot better one day team…always been like that.
We have had a bad run off late but i will never say we will lose a one day before it ends. Our two best batters are still in NZ.
22 Jan 2013, 22:26 pm
Maybe they must get Kepler and Ray Jennings back into the one day coaching set-up to bring end to the laissez faire attitude that seems to have developed lately.
What an apt moment to make my 2013 appearance as that constant thorn in the side of the ‘aparthaters’
The supposed number 1 ranked team in ODI about to lose their 2nd consecutive ODI to the lowly Black Caps and lose the series and drop to rank 3 in the process.
Not only is that all extremely deserving but shocking but this will also be a historic, first ever series win of any sort against S.A. in South Africa by the B.Caps.
Now chew on that all you ‘apartheiders’ and you who so arrogantly wrote off and dismissed the B.Caps as not worthy opponents..
Congrats Black Caps!
22 Jan 2013, 22:27 pm
Well done New Zealand.
22 Jan 2013, 22:27 pm
Well done New Zealand.
Great comeback and well deserved.
22 Jan 2013, 22:28 pm
@Mostofyou-657: Welcome back.
22 Jan 2013, 22:29 pm
167 for 2 but then 252 for 10 glorious wickets.
22 Jan 2013, 22:31 pm
What a sick joke
22 Jan 2013, 22:31 pm
@Mostofyou-657:
Just shows how much Jacques Kallis – the best cricketer to have graced this earth – was missed. That to me says a lot.
Don’t bother replying. I couldn’t give a continental what you have to say.
22 Jan 2013, 22:33 pm
Bloody disgrace!They should hang their heads in shame.
22 Jan 2013, 22:34 pm
I think we should just cancel the test matches as they are just not us and concentrate of T20 and one dayers….. that’s where the trophies are as well
The rhythm is going to get you.
The fast and spin rhythm of the Pakistanis.
@Hurricane-655: it’s a kak kiwi team – only 3 times in history have teams left our shores with series wins, they were good teams from convict land and Pom land. Before this month the kiwis only managed a single win here in a series. All teams get smashed and leave broken and moered.
Some will say that there was no AB, no Kallis, no Amla, no JP Duminy, no Steyn, no Botha, no Philander, whoever … but that is no excuse – there is huge depth – there was just no guts from these cowards.
22 Jan 2013, 22:38 pm
congratulations… and celebrations…
to New Zealand cricket and their fans…
fully deserved series win over an arrogant and over-confident South African team… once again a South African team does well (in he tests) and thinks they just need to walk onto the pitch to win.., no commitment or sustained effort required…
i said before that we need to go with out strongest team against these guys… but we decided to save our best for the Pakistanis… and have now NZ have Flecked us over the line while we were show-boating and celebrating premsturely and have been deservedly humbled by the Black Caps..
If the Proteas depend on one player they might as well give up playing one-day cricket!! Injuries and selection issues probably contributed to this sorry state of affairs ,but to bank on one player is just plain dumb and reveals a lack of cricket knowledge .
664:
The Kiwis do not select the Proteas team.
:smile:
:mr green:
Stop bitching and crying like a ‘sissie’. Take you consecutive ‘pak’ like a man which you really are not
22 Jan 2013, 22:40 pm
@RL-668:
This Nz team are no world beaters….yet they have shown pride and guts….I suppose thats all we Kiwis can ask for…Good win
22 Jan 2013, 22:40 pm
Hey ET. Here’s a joke for you. See if you get it.
Julius Malema is going to court to ban the word “blacklisted”.
The judge said to him please state your case.
He said, “This racist word is demoralising for the blacks of this country!
Why put people on a list just because they’re black, why not put whites on a list also?”.
The judge answered him. ” They are on a list, they are called “Tax payers”!
22 Jan 2013, 22:44 pm
@Mostofyou-671:
Check #659 you dom drol. Concentrate.
I’m out. Bye-bye.
22 Jan 2013, 22:45 pm
@RL-668:
Ok i understand but i have said that we will do better in the one day game as that is our game we play better. Never been a great test team, just been a good one day team. Never been gret cricket country but as you will know we can come up with the goods like when we knocked you guys out of the last one say world cup……we were also called a kak team by you guys even then.
You can really see the resemblance of the bok team against the ozzies, you guys think Ozzies area kak team even after the beat you guys 7 out of 9 times….
22 Jan 2013, 22:46 pm
Well clearly in many ways the joke is you
22 Jan 2013, 22:47 pm
This is not just a crushing defeat to their moral ,but a massive drop in the rankings as well.Probably down to six now.
22 Jan 2013, 22:48 pm
@I am a stormer-674:
Run puppy run fast.
Is your tail long enough to fit between your cowardly, but fast-moving legs of fear?
22 Jan 2013, 22:50 pm
@Te Rangatira-672: If you play together as a team then everything is possible.
22 Jan 2013, 22:54 pm
Absolutely disastrous captaincy over the first two games as well.
22 Jan 2013, 22:59 pm
@wnbb-679:
Yes…since we lack the world class individuals, the only way Nz can be successful is to guts it out together…a very satisfying win against a powerhouse.
22 Jan 2013, 23:02 pm
Ranga@672
indeed… your guys showed guts and dfully deserve the glory…
very well done to them
22 Jan 2013, 23:03 pm
@Hurricane-675: the aussies are decent in rugby no comparison – more like the cricket kiwi team just does not tour SA and beat the Proteas in an ODI series – ever – what happened here today is like Wales touring NZ and winning a series.
Depressing sh-it …will have to take it out on the ****’s’
22 Jan 2013, 23:05 pm
@RL-683:

ok get your point.
22 Jan 2013, 23:20 pm
and before anyone calls me fickle…
when we discussed this before the series started i said then we should not take the BCs lightly and put out strongest possible team on the field for them… because it would be better to take on Pakistan with a solid series win under the belt and looking invulnerable than to have a fresher team taking on the Pakistani’s coming off a series loss to NZ showing Pakistan that we are all too vulnerable… It would’ve been better to take on Pakistan as the battle-worn number one ranked team than a well-rested lower ranked team…
when will we learn in rugby cricket and football that we should focus on and take every game seriously… and send out our best possible team every time… no matter who the opposition is..
until we do that consistently we will not dominate the world rankings consistently…
22 Jan 2013, 23:32 pm
@ufo-685: I rarely agrees with you ,but you are absolutely spot on. I really don’t like this rotation policy.Just look at the Aussies.Same results.
22 Jan 2013, 23:38 pm
@wnbb-686: Hopefully that will be a once off.
23 Jan 2013, 01:29 am
F’ng Skittle sticks you can’t be f’ng serious getting your frilly lace panties all twisted in a f’ng knot over that load of codswallop cockamamIe balderdash
23 Jan 2013, 03:03 am
Hubris. Such a swine.
23 Jan 2013, 04:05 am
@skopdiekan-688:
Yeah Ubu… your short little legs have never run 200 odd 50m spurts at top pace totalling 10kms every day for 5 days, faced 140km bouncing bricks aimed at your legs, mid-riff and head for hrs/days on end, nor kept your concentration in the field catching/stopping flying bricks for days on end… and all this in blistering conditions…
Pull the other one old toothless Chihuahua… now run along…
23 Jan 2013, 05:41 am
@Mostofyou-678:
Despicable.
23 Jan 2013, 05:42 am
@TheTackler-689:
You only show your face when NZ wins.
Why is that?
23 Jan 2013, 05:59 am
Which one is this now?
The ping pong ace or the badminton ace?
23 Jan 2013, 06:15 am
this is the one in the middle, sybil…
23 Jan 2013, 06:16 am
@I am a stormer-692:
Because he is a wannabe……….
But will never be……….
23 Jan 2013, 06:38 am
Same old same old Saffa traits….simply cannot perform when we favorites…
as good as we were in the Tests as poor as this bunch of chokers are in the 1 day format.
Gary Kirsten needs to toughen this lot up……what a huge dissapointment and the record books will show we were bloody shamed on our own turf….
Well done Kiwis.
23 Jan 2013, 06:51 am
Well done Black Caps. A couple of gutsy performances – what top sport is all about.
23 Jan 2013, 07:08 am
@RL-668:
well put.
disgraceful performance.
23 Jan 2013, 07:22 am
A good win for the Black Hats, nothing has changed though they are still shitehouse.
23 Jan 2013, 07:35 am
Jeepers I read some shocking stories about the air pollution in China.
Surely it cant be good for the people?
Does this mean the sun rises effectively at 9am?
Very sad.
23 Jan 2013, 07:40 am
@Fern-700:
Are you still an avid reader of the crime stats in NZ ?
23 Jan 2013, 08:05 am
Congrats to the Black Caps. A fanbloodytastic victory and MORE than well deserved series win. Just goes to show.
I’m one of those who doesn’t seem to ‘feel’ the pain of the Proteas fuckupsintheshorterversion of the game any longer. Immune I am. After so many years of these little stumbles and falls, it’s all become rather expected.
23 Jan 2013, 08:26 am
The fact of the matter is that this Protea one day team is an average outfit. This was a particularly gutless and inept performance.
The gap between sides also becomes smaller as the format becomes shorter.
There is a reason it’s called test cricket.
A good win for the Keewees.
23 Jan 2013, 08:28 am
@gunther-703:
Correct, nobody is disputing that but we’ll take the win and some much needed pride has been salvaged.
23 Jan 2013, 08:34 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-702: Good Morning my Lady.Have a fantastic day
23 Jan 2013, 08:36 am
@ufo-669: Good morning UFO.Have a great day.
23 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
@Dawn-513: Good morning my girl.Have
a great day.
23 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
@NZINCHINA-704:
A good comeback from your boys.
23 Jan 2013, 08:43 am
@ryecatcher-705: Good morning good sir
Thank you. And the same to you
@gunther-703: I stick to our standing in the LEGITIMATE version of the game.
23 Jan 2013, 09:03 am
@gunther-708:
Yip you would have given them no chance before the series started, the one day stuff is only just above the T20 rubbish, a big lottery. I prefer tests but for obvious reasons I haven’t watched too many lately where the black hats have been involved.
23 Jan 2013, 09:11 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-698:
Thanks for the congratulations Bakkies, the BCs did play well……. oh hang on, you have not congratulated the BCs. Are you at this moment about to post the cheating that the BCs do on you tube?
23 Jan 2013, 09:15 am
@NZINCHINA-710: I’m sure this series win does appease the folk back home though. I’m chuffed for the players though. Some of the sh y te coming out of NZ directed at them after the test series was absolutely brutal and cruel. (Some of it deserved possibly, but not all of it. Coaches are deserving yes…..not players)
23 Jan 2013, 09:17 am
@NZINCHINA-710:
I prefer the one day game over the test match cricket.
We all know there is probably more skill in the test match game but the one day needs a different set of skills.
Nothing better than sitting at a one day game amongst a full on crowd…..spectacle on the pitch and in the stands, great day.
23 Jan 2013, 09:38 am
@NZINCHINA-710:
Cricket lite.
Still fun but not quite the same as the test stuff.
Like super XV and test rugby.
Lacks the intensity.
23 Jan 2013, 09:51 am
seems the republic is no longer a hard place to tour for ANY kiwi sporting team..
been doing it for years in the rugby, now the blackcraps have joined the party..
5 run outs, unbelievable really
Bakkies, can you please check the bank statements of the Proteas players involved in last nights fix? surely there is something dodgy going on..
23 Jan 2013, 10:27 am
@Hurricane-711:
well done Hurri and well done to the NZ cricket team, great victory.
no offence and no excuses, but this should never have happened.
23 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
@the curse-715:
they lost the plot and their nerve, simple as that.
they should be ashamed of themselves.
23 Jan 2013, 11:28 am
5 run outs.
The ghost of Hansie lingers.
23 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
why do the madibaz have a z in their name?
surely this is pretty poor form for a “place of learning”
23 Jan 2013, 12:59 pm
@ryecatcher-706:
hey rye…
how you doing bud…?
just got back online a few ago…
a good afternoon to you too…!!