Coetzee trashes talk of Smit SOS
23 Jan 2013
Allister Coetzee insists John Smit is not getting an SOS from him to join the Stormers.
Smit was reported as a possibility to help out the Stormers because of a hooker crisis.
Smit, who has played for Saracens for the last two years, is considering a move to Toulon on a one-year contract, but the Cape Times newspaper on Wednesday reported Smit as a short-term back-up to Deon Fourie.
Fourie, who has signed to play in Europe after the Super Rugby season, will start at hooker but his understudy Scarra Ntubeni will be out for three months because of a shoulder operation and there is concern about Tiaan Liebenberg’s fitness. Liebenberg is still struggling with a long-term back injury.
Coetzee told the Cape media he was considering an experienced South African-based hooker and that there had been no approach to Smit.
Coetzee said the nature of Super Rugby demanded two experienced hookers and one youngster and that it would be too risky to go with two youngsters and just the experience of Fourie.
He said an announcement would be made in the week once terms had been agreed.
Smit would not be a bad option, despite the vehement denials.
He has done a fantastic job at Saracens, in easing the workload on Schalk Brits and also in mentoring the club’s next generation of hooker and front ranker. He is still on contract with Saracens in February and the Stormers have a partnership with Saracens which has seen them release Brits in the past to help out the Stormers.
Smit captained the Boks to World Cup glory in 2007 and played the last of his 111 Tests for South Africa against Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarter-final exit.
He has played his rugby in South Africa exclusively for the Sharks and also spent 18 months playing for Clermont in France after the 2007 World Cup.

423 Comments
23 Jan 2013, 08:51 am
oh fark me !
23 Jan 2013, 08:52 am
This is my worst ever nightmare ever……ever, ever, ever….
Just after I got my new Stormers supporters jersey as well…..
Please Holy merciful angels tell me I am still asleep and this is just a nightmare…
23 Jan 2013, 08:55 am
mooi
23 Jan 2013, 08:57 am
Hehehe, just as I thought,g10 is shattered!
23 Jan 2013, 08:57 am
Not a bad option at all. If it’s true of course…………..
It won’t be good for some though? See above?
23 Jan 2013, 09:00 am
where is Sydney Tobias?????
23 Jan 2013, 09:02 am
This is a knife in my heart……
I am simply speechless…..gutted and in a fair amount of pain…..
23 Jan 2013, 09:02 am
@grant10-6: Isn’t he injured??
23 Jan 2013, 09:05 am
nice one
the old toppies club.
23 Jan 2013, 09:06 am
He might finally win a Super rugby trophy to add to his collection.
23 Jan 2013, 09:06 am
where is Tacticus by the way.
Anyone?
23 Jan 2013, 09:08 am
Oh dear me, the planets have aligned in a way I could never imagine.
There is something truly poetic about this.
This sort of thing is what I like to refer to as a Haleys moment.
In that it only occurs once ever 75 years or so.
The amount of hate and vitriol spewed out by a few of our brothers from the republic of Cape Town at our greatest captian has been something to behold and mostly ignore.
Only to see the possibility of him wearing the blue and white (and mustard, I think it is) is seriously one of the best moments of my life. No joke.
I really hope this happens.
If only so that Stormers supportes the world over can finally know what it feels like to have a player of such quality and experience in their ranks.
Beautiful.
23 Jan 2013, 09:09 am
@stormersboy-8: I think he is at SWD….quality youngster.
23 Jan 2013, 09:10 am
@John Galt-12: With Bissy gone you Sharks can have the geriartric fatty, give us Kyle Cooper in exchange
23 Jan 2013, 09:11 am
@John Galt-12: Don’t over-excite yourself bro. Just one or 2 had issues with Smit.
Lets wait and see shall we?
23 Jan 2013, 09:11 am
23 Jan 2013, 09:12 am
I feel physically sick….
Outta here
23 Jan 2013, 09:14 am
Think this is a good move… He will be great back up… He sure as hell scrums better than Fourie…
23 Jan 2013, 09:14 am
In the words of Hugsy – yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee go captain fantastic – go to Cape Town and be merry.
23 Jan 2013, 09:19 am
isn’t pieter dixon available?
got to larf at gwantie’s hysterics about smittie….
all based on a conversation with luke watson at the gym or somewhere????
wonder if he ever asked smittie for his version of events?
23 Jan 2013, 09:25 am
kaptein plod
23 Jan 2013, 09:30 am
lmao
23 Jan 2013, 09:34 am
My sources suggest that Cape Times is way off the mark … More likely another Lions loan deal …
23 Jan 2013, 09:37 am
@Tankman-23: Thank the merciful angels…….
23 Jan 2013, 09:38 am
@Tankman-23: why is it that AC cannot find a hooker in the whole of the Wetern Cape (Province and Boland) – if he needs help just refer him to Dawn, she known plenty working the docks at the harbor.
23 Jan 2013, 09:40 am
@grant10-24:
I can just picture the scene
23 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@Tankman-23:
Just in case, can we get some firemen at Newlands to stop Gwantie before he hurls himself off the roof of the Railway stand?
23 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
I’ll go and play if it prevents Barney from playing, after all, even I can’t be worse
23 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
Nooooooooooooooooo get Brits!!!!
23 Jan 2013, 09:49 am
@grant10-6: he plays for SWD’s and obviously not rated enough in the Cape for the draft. SWD though should b part of Kings
23 Jan 2013, 09:51 am
Smit would add great value doing the kind of job he has done at Saracens. So many people forget his contribution 2 SA rugby. He should not have started WC quarter-final but he was not reason SA lost. Bissie should have been first choice, but when we lost Brussouw on 25 mins Bissie had to be introduced to counter Pocock it was after this that Aus turned over so much SA ball. Any guy having achieved what Smit did deserves the respect of CT supporters.
He has done well at Saracens, if his form is good enough play him – and his form is good enough.
23 Jan 2013, 09:53 am
@China Bell-28: Yes you can and yes you are. Looked for China Bell in Bok records. Couldn’t find you. Then again anyone can be big and brave behind a nick log on.
23 Jan 2013, 09:55 am
@Tankman-23: Saracens and Lions have no relationship. If it is a short term loan deal it is while he is still part of Saracens for the first 2 months of Sup Rugby. Our sources would therefore be disagreeing, which in itself is a good thing, otherwise there wouldn’t be discussion and debate.
23 Jan 2013, 09:56 am
@keo-32:
Owned.
Tobias played for WP in the Vodacom final against Griquas and had an outstanding match. The main thing that might count against him is his relative lack of size.
please God
make this happen
please
Karma just drove over G10′s dogma.
23 Jan 2013, 09:58 am
@keo-32:
China played wing for EP.Not sure if it is this China.
23 Jan 2013, 09:58 am
Hahahaha
Barney at the Stormers!
Watch Granties shitgetreal.
He’ll be supporting the kings wearing his Namibian jersey.
Thank goodness he was too tight to buy season tickets.
23 Jan 2013, 09:59 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36:
Yeah it wont happen unfortunately.
But watching G10 squirm for the last few minutes has been reward enough.
23 Jan 2013, 10:00 am
@Robzim-35: scarra is a wee tiny fellow – I fear for his life when he scrums because he lacks meat.
23 Jan 2013, 10:00 am
After watching religiously since 1976 I will not find the grace in my heart to attend Newlands if Plod is in the set up…..
Plod a gravy trainer since 2010 and cost us the WC …..I have no time for him whatsoever…..
I will be back in my spot at Newlands in 2014, but not a chance will I attend a single match in 2013 if Stormers do the deal with this Plod….not a fark.
23 Jan 2013, 10:01 am
@Stawm-37:
Karma just pulled Grantie in tight and played with him
in a dirty way
23 Jan 2013, 10:01 am
At least the lineout throwing at the Stormers will improve.
23 Jan 2013, 10:02 am
@John Galt-40:
yeah, would be farking awesome though.
23 Jan 2013, 10:06 am
@RL-41: No he isn’t. I’ve met him on a few occasions and he’s bigger than Deon. Very muscular.
23 Jan 2013, 10:09 am
@gunther-44:
yes
on a serious note, he would be a good loan acquisition.
23 Jan 2013, 10:12 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-47: then you Bulls sign him then….with all your issues in your front row….
dont wish him on my team !
23 Jan 2013, 10:12 am
@stormersboy-46: I don’t know man – on tv he looks tiny. Maybe standing next to you he looks big – like say a dwarf standing next to a normal size man. What is his stats like, height and weight?
23 Jan 2013, 10:13 am
Hahahhahahahaha to funny ! I read this taking a break on top of a step ladder on my rugby thing on FB, had to climb down and hope I was going to be the first to break the news to Grant10. Haven’t even read comments yet
23 Jan 2013, 10:14 am
@RL-49:
please stop
23 Jan 2013, 10:15 am
Karma for the b*tching Stormer fans.
23 Jan 2013, 10:18 am
@RL-19: hello pussycat
…..am loving it. In fairness a lot of the Cape supporters on fb rugby magazine are quite happy about this.
23 Jan 2013, 10:19 am
@grant10-48:
geez Grant, the bulls dont have hooking issues and the stormers do..?..
besides, John would probably get along well with everyone in the squad and fit in nicely for a few months.
is it REALLY that bad considering your issues at hooker?
think of the team.
23 Jan 2013, 10:21 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54: I am thinking of the team….same as Plod should have been doing since 2010 when he lost us so many games while bISSY SAT ON THE BENCH….
yOU LIKE HIM, YOU FARKEN HAVE HIM……
I am sure Stormers can find someone else……
23 Jan 2013, 10:22 am
@RL-49: Don’t know, but I’m not a very small guy. 100kgs. He’s bigger than me, bulk-wise.
He’s not that tall I agree but he’s built like a staffie.
23 Jan 2013, 10:24 am
Good morning my fellow bloggers,this is my first post of 2013 and it makes me feel good when i see the 2nd raters from newlands are getting another 2nd rater joining them and i hope they get a lot more 2nd raters.
23 Jan 2013, 10:26 am
Love the tongue-in-cheek stuff, Keo.
23 Jan 2013, 10:29 am
#55 Grant10 are you on the looney juice already it is to early to be ranting and raving about Mr Smit going to newlands after all you guys loved him there,hahahahahahahahaha.
23 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
As a stormers support I don’t see any problems with this. The greatest bok captain as a backup to D Fourie? Not bad at all. The amount of knowledge he could depart unto the unexperienced guys in the team. Priceless.
Grant10, get over yourself boet, it is not that bad, actuall it is not bad at all.
23 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
@blueboy-57: “i hope they get a lot more 2nd raters.”. Nope. Spies, Steyn and Meisiekind are still in Pretoria.
23 Jan 2013, 10:33 am
@blueboy-57: Go 2nd rate your mother. Stormers were the best franchise accross all local competition.
23 Jan 2013, 10:34 am
@Treehugger-53: There is nothing wrong with John Smit. I doubt this is going to happen, but it wouldn’t be a bad thing at all if it did.
I for one would be more than happy to see him here for a few months.
23 Jan 2013, 10:34 am
@goodstuff-62:
if you ain’t first, you’re last, sonny
if you ain’t first, you’re last…
23 Jan 2013, 10:37 am
So much of awesome.
I might risk the Newlands bandits and go and watch the great man live.
23 Jan 2013, 10:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-64:
And if you’re sixth?
23 Jan 2013, 10:39 am
@keo-32: How difficult is it to spot a figurative comment, moer difficult apparently
23 Jan 2013, 10:39 am
BWAAAAAAAAAA HA HA HA HA HA………..that is some poetic justice right there. Turbo reverse gear is going to play for the moffies. Brilliant ! Gwantie must have wet his panty……….
23 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
#61 sharks poodle with 3 super rugby titles at loftus we deffinately do not fall into the same category as the 2nd raters from newlands.
#62 goodstuff the only good rugby you ever watched was the bulls winning 3 super rugby titles,especially the title in soweto when we beat a certain 2nd raters lot from newlands,hehehehehehehehe.
23 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: Yes….please lord spaghetti monster…..make it happen !
23 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
@blueboy-69: Bulls are South Africa’s premier Super Rugby team. But of course, the Stomp moffies will tell you differently every day, all day long. You have to learn to live with it.
23 Jan 2013, 10:46 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-63: huzzit Ruck, its only a few that are not happy about it. It doesn’t make sense to hate him so when he has so much to offer and clubs still want him. They all know he still has something to offer, must be the aura lolololol.
I really wanted to be the first to torment Grant10 about this. His Stormer jersey is going to join his Bok jerseys that he threw in the bin with the crayfish or prawn shells, can’t remember which. Wish I could remember what he said he would do if Captain Fantastic ever came to the Stormers. Lololol think he needs a Temgesic jorva, puts the minkeys that are traumatized in a floaty happy place.
23 Jan 2013, 10:48 am
@Treehugger-72: He threw it in the bin with his tampons.
23 Jan 2013, 10:50 am
WPRFU wouldn’t give 22 year old Rob Herring from the Maties side in the Varsity Cup a contract? see Ulster quickly snapped him up after the Varsity Cup. WTF? Where is this guy? After Callie Visagie and this guy it seems like WP are not keen on signing Hookers with an eye to the future. Ntubene lacks the physical presence needed for super rugby. Herring won a couple of man of the match performances. Big mobile Hooker with good ball skills, almost reminded me of Liebenbergs bustling style and solid set piece and size combined with deon fourie’s ball skills and pace.
What is the point of having a bright future in terms of lineout options like Etzebeth, Rhodes, Botha, Roux, Elstahdt and Bekker if your future hookers aren’t up to it??? Ulster know Rory Best will be gone soon, and with regard to Liebenberg(age) and Fourie(already considering going overseas due to lack of springbok opportunities) stormers really should be preparing for the future. I really don’t see Ntubene as the answer.
23 Jan 2013, 10:51 am
@Treehugger-72: I’m a huge John Smit fan. Always have been. Grant(ed) his form waxed and waned, but to question the man’s achievements is insane.
I doubt anyone (apart from Grant who seems to be losing his sh y te over John Smit for some reason?) would whinge about having him as cover.
Maybe you should put Grant with the minkeys…..
23 Jan 2013, 10:51 am
#70 i love u bakkies
#71Dusky
A very good morning to my fellow bulls bloggers,already the( stomp moffies to use your term dusky),have got the 2nd raters as the No1 province in super rugby and a ball has not even been kicked yet in anger,and they say they are not brainwashed by the cape town press yeah right.
23 Jan 2013, 10:53 am
@Dusky-71: The worrying thing is that you might believe what you’ve just said. Then again, if you can rile the Sharks fans then I won’t mind your disingenuity a single bit.
Two consecutive conference titles, consecutive 2nd and 1st placings overall and a 17/22 record against South African teams since 2010.
And no, that aint the Bulls.
23 Jan 2013, 10:59 am
smittie is big mates with schalk and jdv.
they would welcome him.
23 Jan 2013, 11:00 am
#77 Bishopsod If you are comparing these piss-willy titles against the bulls 3super rugby titles you have a serious problem my friend ,they aint even on the same page.When you win 3 super rugby titles then we can blog as equals.
23 Jan 2013, 11:01 am
#78 charo welcome him into the old toppies club.
23 Jan 2013, 11:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-75: it was a pity you had left keo for a while, you would have seen the rants, I don’t mean daily, I mean 99.9 % of his posts always ran The Captain down. He was online a lot in those days, this is why every one is having such a reaction to this….memories…lol….skop…is going to pop a poefie string as well.
Finally get to use the poefie string expression.
23 Jan 2013, 11:02 am
nor smit for that matter, shame his mobility is all but gone. doing the tendulkar version of rugby
23 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
AG FUKKIT OUS!! having our erstwhile grande capitain would be most welcome in the blue and whites, from my perspective.
23 Jan 2013, 11:12 am
bit of a grammatical hobble there! apologies to the grammatically sensitive.
@blueboy-69:Hey bb, let reality, (the facts) bring you back to earth before your emotional hallucinations makes you hurl your pap!
WP/ Stormers 2012:
1st place Super 15/ SA Conference
CC 2012 Champs
Vodacom Cup 2012 Champs
u/19 CC 2012 champs
Bulls 2012:
u/21 CC Champs
5th on 2012 S15 log
2012 CC ranked 4th (out of 6 teams)
Who is second rate again?
@Treehugger-81: Anyone doubting the value of John Smit’s continued involvement in the game (anywhere….) needs to step back a little.
P Divvy made it very clear that John Smit remained Bok captain (and starting 2) when many felt he shoud have been dropped because if he wasn’t on the field, “guys like Schalk Burger” would have no-one to look up to……..
That tells more than just a story.
23 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
plod can teach malherbe a few tricks about scrumming @ tighthead..
23 Jan 2013, 11:16 am
@blueboy-79: When was that again? 2010?
Ok, if we are using history as a gauge, what about when the bulls win the Currie Cup 33 times than we can blog as equals.
It is all about the present boet, those three Super Rugby wins was awsome, but that don’t count for nothing in 2013.
23 Jan 2013, 11:17 am
@grant10-42: apparently he speaks highly of you too
23 Jan 2013, 11:18 am
@lekkerbydiesee-74: what does AC have against hookers? They play an important role in society and would you believe it on a rugby field too – and I checked the stats on scarra the same height as Deon but gives up 10kg’s, altough he is not as skeef as Deon.
23 Jan 2013, 11:19 am
Having Smit on the bench for a few games is not a train smash.
23 Jan 2013, 11:20 am
@Transformation-87: Just have to ask. Why do so many of you guys call John Smit ‘Plod’? Reference to Mr Plod? His build, athletic ability, plodding along?
Must be honest and say again, that I am quite surprised by the anti-Smit sentiment round here.
23 Jan 2013, 11:20 am
@blueboy-79: Also maybe the three SR titles should be counter balanced to the 5 times the Bulls where in the bottom 2!
23 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
@keo-89: I didnt cost the country a WC ….I am sure he speaks highly of LW as well……tell him I send my regards and that I hope he enjoys Sarries and Toulon gravy trains….as long as he keeps well away from the WP or Stormers I have no beef with him….Sharks and Bulls welcome to him too.
Gravy trainer , self centred wally of distinction this oke ….
23 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
Smit is the ideal player for a short term loan. Lot’s of youngsters in the front row that can learn a few tricks from the veteran.
23 Jan 2013, 11:24 am
#93 goodstuff take a few happy pills chill out and enjoy the day.
23 Jan 2013, 11:25 am
@grant10-94:
Blame Pieter De Villiers for letting the players run the show. Smit did not select himself.
23 Jan 2013, 11:28 am
@blueboy-79:
The team I’m always wanting the Nz teams to whack are the Bulls….outta respect
23 Jan 2013, 11:30 am
@goodstuff-93: ja, graphically the Bulls on average tread water in the middle of the pool in a most interesting and entertaining manner – plunging to new lows & rising to lofty heights in between being just plain downright mediocre & boring – arguably SA’s most inconsistent SuperRugga franchise – despite a constant influx of new talent.
Puzzling track record
23 Jan 2013, 11:31 am
@keo-89:
You are wasting your time with that one.
Whenever he hears Barney’s name he regresses to infancy.
23 Jan 2013, 11:32 am
Blueboy and Goodstuff…..
Are you having a “wie se piellietjie is die grootste kompetisie”?
23 Jan 2013, 11:32 am
It don’t matter…..
Life…. has never been better.
This year is all that counts guys.
Having John as a backup to Deon would be great for all concerned. It may also solve the whole Springbok captaincy conundrum for Heinecke too.
23 Jan 2013, 11:33 am
Well surely we will field the biggest front row ever in Malherbe 122, Barney 125 and Kitshoff 120kg.The we have Bekker 120 and Etsebeth 120. Schalk 112, Elstadt 118 and Vermeulen 116.
We looking at a scrum of 953 – average per player 119.1.
@Grant10….its not like he said he wanted to puke on the Bok jersey, you never said anything about that. Now that was something to freak out about.
Grant’s greatest achievement is thinking up the Plod nickname.
Vs
Captain Fantastic…………….
keep going Grant … you’re making a bigger fool of yourself. Your image is shot anyway. Been that way a long time.
Wonder what a pictionary drawing of Grant would look like
23 Jan 2013, 11:39 am
@shooter-105: you forget ”turbo reverse”
23 Jan 2013, 11:40 am
@gunther-100:
Yep. Couldnt believe it when he told us he was 50 years of age.
Behaves more like a 13 year old girl at times.
23 Jan 2013, 11:41 am
@Sremrots-103: like they say in Hawera – big, strong and dumb.
23 Jan 2013, 11:42 am
@Te Rangatira-98:
23 Jan 2013, 11:42 am
@shooter…love pictionary….when you look at the drawings the next day you can’t make out what any of them are
23 Jan 2013, 11:44 am
@Treehugger-106: o yes. that a very good one too.
- and fat boys club. (anyone over 65kg, belongs to that club)
23 Jan 2013, 11:44 am
Phar canal,……………………………………. Keo is knocking out these Articles like a man possessed.
I have never seen him so prolific.
23 Jan 2013, 11:45 am
@Treehugger-110: That’s because you are sober in the morning!
23 Jan 2013, 11:46 am
@RL-108:
Hawera, Taranaki?
23 Jan 2013, 11:48 am
@cane-112: Looks like it’s just him and Tank jr that are left after the “reverse buyout” by Keo of his blog from HSM.
23 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-92: not anti-smit…just a bit of fun from a few years back…
you missed out
Wales 31 South Africa 34
match report by paul ackford
05 june 2010
If it was not for Danie Rossouw and Joe van
Niekerk up front, two of the more
recognisable names in the Bok selection,
and Jaque Fourie, Ruan Pienaar and Ricky
Januarie in the backs, Wales might have
secured an unlikely victory.
It was that quintet which held South Africa
together when Wales were raging. In the
middle of the game centre Juan de Jongh
and flanker Dewald Potgieter grew in
influence, but it will be a major shock if
much of this Springbok side is not discarded
by the time the Boks get to the Tri-Nations.
The big surprise for South Africa was the
attitude and execution of their captain,
John Smit, which were both lousy. To me,
Smit has looked neither fit nor at ease since
he has bounced between hooker and prop,
and he was blowing hard yesterday very
early on. Yet puff was not the main issue.
Smit presented James Hook with the easiest
of tries when he found himself in the
middle of the Boks backline after South
Africa had turned over Welsh possession.
Instead of shuffling into the nearest
defender as most self-respecting tight
forwards tend to do, Smit shaped to kick,
stopped, thought about it, and then rifled a
pass into the waiting hands of Hook, who
cantered over for the try.
When Stephen Jones banged over the
conversion, Wales were 16-3 ahead and
cruising. For a captain to make that kind of
error, and to compound it by blatant
displays of petulance, questioning the
decisions of officials throughout much of
the first half, as Smit did, was poor.
23 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@cane-112: Its like he is on Berocca
23 Jan 2013, 11:52 am
@Transformation-116: Ah ok. Thanks for the background info. So it’s only Grant who is ‘anti’ in the truest sense of the word.
I don’t know what the fuss is should he come to CT for a few months. It’s not as though it’s Spies pulling in down here. That would be worthy of a decent tantrum or five.
@shooter-105: @Treehugger-106: @John Galt-107: spin it anyway you like – fact is the plodder cost us the first All Black match at soccer city – sending that fitness oke out to tell the world that he was in the same shape as 2007 – he let the enemy get a foothold into Lions country and turn soccer city into Eden Park.
@cane-114: that is the one.
@shooter-117:
Well he is phizzing.
23 Jan 2013, 11:53 am
@shooter-105:
……………………………………..______ __
………………………………,.-‘”……………….“~.,
………………………..,.-”……………………………..“-.,
…………………….,/………………………………………..”:,
…………………,?……………………… ………………………\,
………………./………………………………………….. ………,}
……………../………………………………………….. ….,:`^`..}
……………/………………………………………….. .,:”………/
…………..?…..__………………………. ………….:`………../
…………./__.(…..“~-,_…………………………,:`………./
………../(_….”~,_……..“~,_………………..,:`….. …_/
……….{.._$;_……”=,_…….“-,_…….,.-~-,},.~”;/….}
………..((…..*~_…….”=-._……“;,,./`…./”…………../
…,,,___.\`~,……“~.,………………..`….. }…………../
…………(….`=-,,…….`……………………(……;_,,-”
…………/.`~,……`-………………………….\……/\
………….\`~.*-,……………………………….|,./…..\,__
,,_……….}.>-._\……………………………..|……….. …`=~-,
…..`=~-,_\_……`\,……………………………\
……………….`=~-,,.\,………………………….\
…………………………..`:,,………….. ………….`\…………..__
……………………………….`=-,……………….,%`>–==“
…………………………………._\…….. …_,-%…….`\
……………………………..,<`.._|_,-&“…………….`\
23 Jan 2013, 11:56 am
@stormersboy-115: will vrede, jc, simon be writing @ sarugbymag.co.za?
23 Jan 2013, 11:57 am
@gunther-121: sweetpatoto! ,,,, exotic mushroom?! ,,,,, wtf
23 Jan 2013, 11:59 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118: remember he was the guppys captain, made for great mirth when he got drukked by the likes of wyatt crockett.
23 Jan 2013, 11:59 am
@stormersboy-115:
Please NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
No JC, Simon, Gareth, Ryan or Niki.
Unthinkable.
23 Jan 2013, 12:00 pm
@RL-119: he was out of shape. predictably didn’t have a good game. so let’s say 5/100 games he didn’t perform perfect. your point?
23 Jan 2013, 12:01 pm
@Mr Black-101: MR Black, nah, I am just making sure some dilusional fans don’t talk ****.
23 Jan 2013, 12:04 pm
@Transformation-124: I won’t ever deny that his form and continued inclusion in the starting line up didn’t have me questioning things at times….
But in general, a huge servant of SA rugby, with much value.
The guppies must have been flat spinning at times. Who to “cheer for” – Bissie or John?. Must have made for some interesting chats round here
23 Jan 2013, 12:06 pm
hahaha, beautiful; seeing gwantie lose his shite again.
now we need justrugby to come on and defend gwanties “honour” before they take a stroll on camps bay beach and retire to the tub to play with their duckies
wp would be lucky to have a great man like smitty grace their squad.
23 Jan 2013, 12:07 pm
@Transformation-122: No clue. Tank mentioned on the other article that Keo had taken his blog back from HSM.
Not sure what happened to the 3 stooges.
23 Jan 2013, 12:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-128: nah, we dig both of them.
you brokebacks dont deserve either
23 Jan 2013, 12:11 pm
@stormersboy-115:
He reverse warthogged them.
23 Jan 2013, 12:13 pm
@cane-125: Not sure, but they are scarce at the moment. Ryan’s mug is still on the Keo TV team, but then so is Monty and Nikita’s and we haven’t had a TV broadcast in quite a while.
Maybe Mark can answer this for us?
23 Jan 2013, 12:14 pm
@Stawm-66:
seriously
“the best franchise accross all local competition.”
what is that even supposed to mean..?..
@Dusky-70:
i really asked for it in all sincerity
from my lips to Gods ears, here’s to hoping
23 Jan 2013, 12:15 pm
@The Rangerman-131: Yeah, but when it came to the Bok issue – there must have been a few ‘moments’. You had to have preferred one over the other….. Be honest.
23 Jan 2013, 12:15 pm
oh ok.. so keo back running the show…i noticed the change in blogging “attitude” from him…makes sense now.
23 Jan 2013, 12:19 pm
@blueboy-76:
morning Blue
for WP rugby is like the special olympics
everybody’s a winner
23 Jan 2013, 12:22 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-135: guppys criticise plod? NEVER.
it was plum & the wee maestro’s fault ( more blame on the latter) every time smit got mangled…
23 Jan 2013, 12:25 pm
@Transformation-138: So they were all in the Smit must start, and Bissie must ride the bench camp?
Interesting……
23 Jan 2013, 12:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-139: sharks players dont “ride the bench”
thats a brokeback tendency.
23 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-137: You are a real farking idiot! Is it really necessary to reference a group of people that sacrifice a lot just to compete at such events?
23 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-139: bissy was called an “impact player” & had his scrumming & throwing questioned. smit’s AURA was too big & blinding for the guppys.
23 Jan 2013, 12:48 pm
@wnbb-141:
It is bakkie’s style to degrade people different than him………
23 Jan 2013, 12:56 pm
sheesh…
a turn up for the books…
when will a decision be made one way or the other…?
this would be a major coup for the stormers imo… even if john never gets onto the field…
his leadership and experience would be invaluable in a mentorship role…
plus he could solve our lie-out throwing problems and deon could play six…
also deon being the kind of guy he is i’m sure would welcome john and use the opportunity as a growing experience… scarra too…
would also qualify john to join us in the play-offs… should we make it and the need arise…
this is a classic win-win-win situation…!!
23 Jan 2013, 13:03 pm
@wnbb-141: sensitive eh?
doesnt really fit with the statements you have made here before.
are you “special”?
23 Jan 2013, 13:04 pm
@ufo-144: ja deon can grow under smittys guidance just before he phucks off overseas.
23 Jan 2013, 13:10 pm
@shooter-126: he was physically very, very fat – a liability from 2010 onwards – a true hasbeen if you like. What’s your point? He was brilliant in 95 matches, even from 2010 until RWC 2011 – never ever man.
23 Jan 2013, 13:13 pm
@wnbb-141:
a littl rich coming from you.
@Mr Black-143:
its a joke and i meant no disrespect to the disabled.
but you already knew that.
23 Jan 2013, 13:16 pm
@ufo-144:
absolutely.
its conceivable he could even play his way right back into the bok team.
23 Jan 2013, 13:17 pm
Making jokes about the disabled,mentally challenged as well as having a go at Amla and his wife.Yeah,that’s Bakkies’ style for sure.
23 Jan 2013, 13:21 pm
@wnbb-150: yes yes, you taunt people who have lost loved ones phucker so why dont you take your act and move to the next town sonny
23 Jan 2013, 13:23 pm
Pienaar up for top Euro award
2013-01-23 12:00
Cape Town – Springbok scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is among 15 players nominated for the European Player of the Year award.
Pienaar was named on the longlist following the conclusion of the Heineken Cup and European Challenge Cup pool stages. Pienaar is the only South African on this list.
A five-player shortlist will be announced by the judging panel following the semi-finals of the respective competitions. The winner of the award will be announced after the final in May.
The judging panel for the award is: Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports), Will Greenwood (Daily Telegraph, Rugby World Cup winner and two-time Challenge Cup winner), Stephen Jones (Rugby Correspondent, Sunday Times), Emmanuel Massicard (Editor, Midi Olympique) and Gerry Thornley (Rugby Correspondent, Irish Times).
Leinster’s Rob Kearney won the award last season.
European Player of the Year 2013 list:
Steffon Armitage (Toulon)
Rory Best (Ulster)
Julien Bonnaire (Clermont)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Wesley Fofana (Clermont)
Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier)
Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
James Johnston (Harlequins)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Morgan Parra (Clermont)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Munster)
23 Jan 2013, 13:24 pm
@papaown-152: if Owen Farrel does not win this award it will make a mockery of his nomination as player of the year last year!
23 Jan 2013, 13:25 pm
@The Rangerman-151: That’s taunting abstract nicknames….not real people.
23 Jan 2013, 13:32 pm
@The Rangerman-146:
hey bud… how you doing…?
yeah… deon, and the rest of the forwards… most of who are pretty young…
having john in the mix can only benefit the guys playing and careers… and be good for the stormers..
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149:
who knows… maybe john gets a new lease on life and rugby… cape town does has this affect you know…
23 Jan 2013, 13:34 pm
effect…
23 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@ufo-155: good man and you?
@wnbb-154: no its not abstract nice try.
you have no credibility sorry
23 Jan 2013, 13:39 pm
@The Rangerman-157:
good too thanks bud…
shaping up to be a helluva super season… can’t wait for the thing to start already…!!!
sharks looking solid all round…
stormers looking better than last year… but we have to wait and see which tea, pitches this year for most games…
bulls also gonna be right up there…
i reckon we’ll have these three teams in the play-offs again…
23 Jan 2013, 13:40 pm
@ufo-156: Interesting to note that the superior-thinking and self-opiniated individual is fallible after all.
23 Jan 2013, 13:41 pm
@papaown-153: that ship has sailed.
the sharks are gonna be helluva hard to stop this year… for saffa teams and for nz and aus teams…
not blowing smoke… they really are a team with no apparent weaknesses…
@The Rangerman-157: You guys are way too sensitive on an anonymous blog.
23 Jan 2013, 13:45 pm
@ufo-158: probably right…
having the weakest conference and the added bonus of a development side as one of your 5 sides should ensure you get 3 teams in the finals..
once again and as always, the NZ conference will be the toughest..
23 Jan 2013, 13:48 pm
@The Rangerman-145:
in his own way.
23 Jan 2013, 13:49 pm
@the curse-163: Agree.The SA conference might be the weakest one this time.Stormers and probably the Sharks the only contenders.The Bulls,Cheetahs and Kings not really strong enough to challenge the big guns of super rugby.
23 Jan 2013, 13:49 pm
@the Cursed-163:
no Pops, the SA conference is still the toughest.
the big three always hammer each other irrespective of the other two franchises.
also, the derby intensity against the cheetahs and.. er… well the cheetahs, takes a lot out of the SA teams.
23 Jan 2013, 13:50 pm
@ufo-161:
Always diplomatic.
Smit will be an excellent acquisition. Even if he stays a month or two.
He has great motivating skills (which is needed specifically because of the Stormers tough first few games) and his experience is unmatched.
He always had that WP/Stormers “look” about him.
23 Jan 2013, 13:50 pm
@the curse-163:
all shall be revealed in times popps…
but i’m still banking on the blues making the play-offs too.. jk and ted gonna surprise everyone…!!
23 Jan 2013, 13:53 pm
@ufo-168:
no they wont
23 Jan 2013, 13:54 pm
@Jeraldjay-167:
we don’t have to rant and insult to get out points across do we…?
as entertaining as that is to watch…
but when someone has no point to make the only hope they have of getting noticed is to rant and insult…
shame…
23 Jan 2013, 13:54 pm
It is really delusional of Bulls supporters to think that they are still part of the group of great teams in super rugby.It’s like Liverpool supporters who still believe that they are a great team!Crazy.
23 Jan 2013, 13:55 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-166: please, the Blues beat the Bulls at Moftus last year, and the blues were rubbish..
No Jonker this year either, Bulls will be lucky to make 8th spot..
try to comprehend my statement, of the NZ conference, 4 teams have a realistic chance of winning the conference, in SA its probably 2 teams (Stormers and Sharks) and the same in the Aussie Conference…
hence NZ conference is the toughest..
is it really that hard to understand?
@ufo-168:
nah, Blues will flatter to deceive mate, though by reports Piri is looking in great shape pre-season, a mid table finish is all Im expecting and will be happy with that.. year 3 if JK and ted are still there then I think we will be a formidable side..
would have preferred Crowley myself
23 Jan 2013, 13:55 pm
http://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/Schoolboy-dies-after-rugby-tackle-20130123
Terribly sad this.
23 Jan 2013, 13:56 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-169:
a bottle of shiraz says the stormers and the blues make the playoffs…?
23 Jan 2013, 13:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-173: Agree.
23 Jan 2013, 13:59 pm
Wow…….was just thinking the other day when i heard the injury crisis at hooker, what the was the chances of this happening. But there is nothing in this article that suggest that it could possibly happen, only journalistic conjecture. Personally I don’t think it will be a good move from the Stormers…..even on a short term basis. Rather look at other options…..and hope that Deon Fourie stays injury free until liebenberg is fully fit.
23 Jan 2013, 13:59 pm
@ufo-170:
Your “attack” on Transie wrt his stance on Zoomer “paying back” companies that support the ANC was very entertaining.
He surprisingly didn’t really stand up for himself.
23 Jan 2013, 14:00 pm
@the curse-172:
as you’ve said before about crowley… but jk is what you’ve got…
jk is one of my favourite ever players… and he’s still growing as a coach…
but i have never… NEVER… heard anyone speak about the game with more passion than jk… if only a smidgen of that rubs off onto the players the blues are gonna rock… and with ted no nonsense expertise… no one should take the blues lightly…
remember how jk got the japanese to perform against the abs in the world cup…?
23 Jan 2013, 14:04 pm
@ufo-161: i think lock and hooker are the sharks weakness and thats a very bad combo bud.
@wnbb-162: so its ok if i pi ss on your face whilst you are sleeping off a pubcrawl in the gutter as long as you dont know who i am?
you shame yourself.
23 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
@ufo-178: hehehe knew the Crowley comment would get ya
still remember JK’s try from the 87 world cup versus Italy, from the kickoff, fielded the ball and returned it to score a great 70 metre try..
I am willing to give JK a chance, we shall see if he has the credentials or not… I still think though, that Crowley did better with the canucks then Jk did with the Japanese
23 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
@Jeraldjay-177:
my ‘attack’…??
i just said made a comment and had transie have a go at me…
to which i responded…
but water under the bridge bud… i don’t hang onto negative stuff… a complete waste of energy… and life is just too darn short to waste it on negative things…
and transport’s a quality person in my book and a few rumbles won’t change my opinion of him…
23 Jan 2013, 14:08 pm
@The Rangerman-179:
rnager i think bresler came of age last season… and expect him to push very hard for a bok place this year…
for sure you’ll miss bissy initially… but kyle cooper’s a good one… i love his bustling style and work rate… he won’t let you guys down…
23 Jan 2013, 14:11 pm
@the curse-180:
i knew you threw it in for that…
was a great try…!!
to be fair… the canucks have a better, longer history in rugby than the japanese… and (generally) better players…
but yeah… jk has his opportunity… and it’s up to him to grab it with both hands…
let’s see what he does with it…
23 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
@ufo-182: ja look, burden is no slouch and maybe he will find his jumpers this year but thats the weakness i see at present.
i agree, transformation is a good oke even though he reminds me a bit of one of the geeky kids who enjoy winding people up sometimes.
23 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
@The Rangerman-179: Why are so angry Angerman?
. The problem with you chaps is that you have given this blog facebook status which leads to personal emotional angst..You exchange addies,meet up,socialise together which is a definite recipe for disaster . At the end of the day you guys are all just nicks to me.Off course it’s wrong of you to urinate on strangers!
23 Jan 2013, 14:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-173:
just read it now pedigree…
really tragic…
23 Jan 2013, 14:13 pm
@ufo-183:
I dont think Bakkies will take that bet mate, I mean, how will he know if they did make the finals, he wont be watching Super rugby this year because of NZs systematic cheating
he said so himself
23 Jan 2013, 14:14 pm
With Bismark out for months and no-body behind an average re-treaded flanker, nor behind Beast and Jannie… the Sharks could do with the versatile prop/hooker giving some depth… screw the Stormers…
23 Jan 2013, 14:16 pm
@wnbb-185: the urination was a metaphor for your behaviour.
i would probably have a beer with you just to be entertained but you would be a bit like the druggie mate who no one really shares things with
unlike poppa, that oke has some serious issues.
a one armed maori swinging punches and then crying on my shoulder is the last thing i want when out at the pub.
23 Jan 2013, 14:17 pm
@The Rangerman-184:
burden’s okay… but spends too much time in the loose looking to run it than getting stuck in doing the hard stuff imo…
just my observation…
but also good cover for bissy… i reckon young cooper will become the no 2 no 2 before too long…
23 Jan 2013, 14:18 pm
@The Rangerman-189: do try harder ranger, your bait is very very rancid..
23 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@ufo-190: nah, i think burden is a fantastic rugby player but his lineout work can be almost as erratic as one of the stormers hookers
23 Jan 2013, 14:19 pm
@stormersboy-113: Huzzit Doll
…..ja that’s a given but didn’t want too say that. To think we all always have the cheek to insult and fight with whoever your partner is saying ”can’t you see that is a cowboy-spaceman-bulldozer etc…that thing is the whatnot and there the thingie”
23 Jan 2013, 14:20 pm
@the curse-187:
he’ll be watching…
can’t see any saffa rugby lover not watching… no matter what they say…
23 Jan 2013, 14:22 pm
@The Rangerman-189: Hahahaa.Lekker lag ek nou.I really don’t have any desire to meet anybody on an anonymous blog.Why do you guys have a need to do that?
23 Jan 2013, 14:23 pm
@ufo-194: perhaps just the Saffa derbies?
not enough paper in the world for him to compile his complete dossier on NZs rugby “etiquette”
23 Jan 2013, 14:27 pm
@The Rangerman-192:
sheesh… our guys just can’t throw in if their lives depended on it…
i seriously wonder sometimes if they ever actually practice…
remember hearing dan marino talking about practicing throwing a football as a kid…
he’d have to get 100 throws through a tyre hanging from a tree while his father swung the tyre…
and if he missed 1 he’d have to start all the way from zero again… he did this every day for years…
no wonder dan became a legend…
i don’t see many of our sportsmen putting in that kind of time and dedication… naas and jonty and some others… but not enough… and i can’t believe our stormers hookers put in anything like that sort of time…
23 Jan 2013, 14:28 pm
Not in a million years. Would love to see John for the Stormers, but there is no chance in hell this will happen.
23 Jan 2013, 14:31 pm
Is this the thread de jour?
23 Jan 2013, 14:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-92: Agree.Disgraceful
23 Jan 2013, 14:39 pm
@PissAnt-198:
why not bud…?
@the curse-196:
we all have our foibles hey… but bakks is a good guy too…
23 Jan 2013, 14:41 pm
@the curse-191: looks like i caught a flatfish though
23 Jan 2013, 14:42 pm
No problem with Smittie joining the Stormers.If there is a super rugby playstation game he is welcome to join.
23 Jan 2013, 14:43 pm
@ufo-201:
John went to the UK to get away from the demands of SH rugby – specifically the schedule.
Super Rugby, Rugby Championship, tours – the amount of games plus the amount of travel are killing our players.
Yes money is a big factor when players leave for Europe and Japan, but a massive, massive part of that decision is self-preservation. John will not get back into a situation where he spends half the year living out of a suitcase.
23 Jan 2013, 14:44 pm
@ufo-201: repeat something often enough and you will believe it, that is our bakkies…
23 Jan 2013, 14:45 pm
@PissAnt-198: what, thelo.wakefield (everything is blame on him) hates smit?
23 Jan 2013, 14:47 pm
@the curse-205: ja plus it took him time to get used to hashim amla’s beard.
23 Jan 2013, 14:48 pm
@The Rangerman-202: whatever makes you feel better ranger..
hope Ive helped build up your self confidence some.
23 Jan 2013, 14:49 pm
@Transformation-207: : you must admit, Hashims beard looks like the tokoloshe, so i can see bakkies concern
23 Jan 2013, 14:50 pm
@the curse-209:
Don’t you fecking start
23 Jan 2013, 14:51 pm
@Transformation-206:
Nah, its all John, and I actually like Thelo of late. Positive things happening in administration over there.
@the curse-205: Yeah,his constant attacks on the Amlas for looking different.Thats’s him all right!
@PissAnt-204:
not even for a couple of months before moving to france…?
@Dawn-210: I have no problem with Hashim, think he is a quality cricketer..
enjoy watching the man play..
23 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
@the curse-205:
nah bud… not everyone is like that… keo has plenty intelligent posters who make up their own minds…
23 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
@the curse-209: no, the beard made look like a kiwi…hence bakkie’s unease.
23 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
@PissAnt-211:
this is good news pa… coming from you who keeps a close eye on such things…
anything you can tell us about…?
23 Jan 2013, 14:54 pm
@ufo-215:
And risk injury and a big paycheque in France? Not going to happen.
23 Jan 2013, 14:54 pm
@the curse-209: Bakkies is a tokoloshe himself.Farking creepy oke that! I am extremely worried about his conduct when he is off on his walkies.
23 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@the curse-209:
hands off our hash…
a more dignified sportman you can’t hope to meet…
23 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@PissAnt-211: you like thelo?
geez that won’t sit well with the ‘hateThelobrigade’..
did u get the catering tender @ Newlands?
23 Jan 2013, 14:57 pm
@Transformation-216:
but how is his character Trans, his character? or do we have to, like Bakkies assertions with McCaw, have to wait for Hashims “Lance Armstrongs Oprah confession”?
@ufo-215: I know boet…
23 Jan 2013, 14:57 pm
@PissAnt-218:
oh okay…
must repeat i liked the idea…
pity…
any news on how we’re gonna sort out our hooker problems..?
23 Jan 2013, 14:58 pm
@PissAnt-211: you’re right..john was struggling with staying fit 3 years ago..now he must forgo pies to run in SR…highly unlikely
23 Jan 2013, 14:59 pm
@ufo-217:
There is a huge drive by Thelo to get rid of the cliques in WP rugby, specifically with regards to the old Apartheid past and racial divisions that formed because of it and is still found in the club rugby structures (those who actually drive the governance of the union).
It is really positive, he is not interested in people wanting to play the victim card but also expects the bigger, richer clubs to pull their weight in development of the game.
23 Jan 2013, 15:01 pm
@PissAnt-225:
wow…
that is seriously good news bud…
all strength and support to him…!!
23 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
@Transformation-221:
Haha! Only because I do meat samoosas!
I have no problem with Thelo, he engages fans even on social media and he is bringing about positive change as far as I can see.
@ufo-223:
Would have loved it myself, however, won’t happen, I reckon Allister could do worse than pull Ryno Barnes in from Griquas.
23 Jan 2013, 15:04 pm
@ryecatcher-200: Plod brought that situation on himself.He should have retired before the WC .We all knew that Bissy was the best …except the Bok management team and,admittedly, a few Sharkievarkies .Bissy,surely,was not too happy with the situation himself.Fact.
23 Jan 2013, 15:04 pm
@PissAnt-227:
interesting…
big question… how’s his line-out throwing… i’m struggling to remember…
23 Jan 2013, 15:09 pm
@ufo-229:
Captain of Griquas last year, I rated him as one of the stand out hookers of the Currie Cup campaign. Line out throwing is good.
23 Jan 2013, 15:11 pm
So,they are happy with Thelo now,because he promised to control the ‘brothers’?Amazing.The moment you threaten their dominance and supremacy you are the devil ,but the minute you are seen to be looking the other way you are accepted into the circle .Wakefield will never win this fight.He is not indispensable .At the end of the day he will bow down to the will of the clubs.
@PissAnt-230:
yeah, remember him being captain and his general play… just not his line-out work…
cool… so we can relax a bit then…!!
@ufo-220: Agreed pal.Strange Phenomenon this tall poppy syndrome Remember Clive Rice,a magnificent
cricketer & captain being booed at Newlands.BTW. have a good day
23 Jan 2013, 15:13 pm
@ryecatcher-233:
yeah rye…
tall poppy syndrome is rife in our country…
sadly…
23 Jan 2013, 15:14 pm
@ryecatcher-233: wasnt knocking Hash at all rye… I like the bloke..
23 Jan 2013, 15:18 pm
@the curse-235: Was nt talking about you & Hash.Nobody could possibly dislike him.Was referring to other posters
remarks re John Smit.
23 Jan 2013, 15:19 pm
You were merely post box.Sorry
23 Jan 2013, 15:22 pm
@ryecatcher-237: no probs
23 Jan 2013, 16:08 pm
@the curse-172:
apologies Mr Smartarse, i’m too busy atm to reply in kind.
have to attend to some stuff, count yourself really lucky.
will do my best to come and finish you off
@ufo-174:
now you’ve got me spooked.
oh what the hell ok, i’d bet you for a little more maybe and give the proceeds to a charity. make it a case of the stuff to go to a charity of the winners choosing?
if i think about it i’m reasonably confident it will be too hard and too competitive for the blues to pull off a top 6 finish this season.
23 Jan 2013, 16:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239:
oh god, what do cases of shiraz cost?
fark!
really busy, will check back later
no time to to read posts.
23 Jan 2013, 16:09 pm
@ufo-213: Hi Pal.You mentioned some
astronomy equipment which you use.
Please let me have the name so I can google.Regards
23 Jan 2013, 16:11 pm
John smit should f@rkoff to mr price chokingkingspark.
23 Jan 2013, 16:11 pm
@PissAnt-225:
Good to see someone is noticing the change.
I have absolutely no problem with Thelo.
23 Jan 2013, 16:16 pm
just so you know
i’ve seen the cheap shots, people
not cool
not cool
cheers till later…
23 Jan 2013, 16:25 pm
Stormers not looking at Smit
——————————————————————————–
by Gavin Rich 23 January 2013, 15:55
The Stormers are looking at three potential players that can be called into the squad to bolster the depth at hooker, but none of them is John Smit.
That was the word from coach Allister Coetzee at the press conference held at the Cape Town Stadium on Wednesday to announce that the final Stormers warm-up game to the new season will be held at the venue on February 9.
Boland traditionally host a warm-up game at their home ground in Wellington, but as they did at the start of 2010, they have opted to once again play the game at the World Cup soccer venue, which has been the subject of much debate between rugby officials and city council administrators over the past two years.
Western Province have been reluctant to make any announcement that would be seen as an indication that they intend turning their back on their spiritual home at Newlands, but it is accepted that it is only a matter of time before big matches in the Cape will be more regularly played out of Green Point. So the February 9 match, with a 16.00 scheduled kick-off, will be provide rugby fans of a foretaste of what they can expect when the change becomes reality.
Like two years ago, the match is being hosted by Boland, and not WP. The 2010 game coincided with the Cape Town Tens and proved a big hit with fans and should do so again this year. The match will be played two weeks before the first Super Rugby engagement against the Bulls at Loftus on 22 February and Coetzee is likely to select a strong side as the Stormers have fewer warm-up matches on their schedule this year.
The Stormers’ first pre-season fixture is against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on 2 February. Coetzee is going to have to sign up a new hooker, even if only on a short-term basis, before then as Scarra Ntubeni has undergone an operation and will be out for three months. But the coach scotched reports that former Bok captain John Smit, as a Saracens player, might be in his sights.
“We are talking to two or three hookers but I can tell you that we are not talking to John Smit,” said Coetzee.
Coetzee is hopeful that Springbok Tiaan Liebenberg will be sufficiently recovered from the injury sustained during last year’s Currie Cup for him to be available early in the Super Rugby season. For now though it appears Deon Fourie will be the starting No 2 at Loftus in just under a month from now, with AN Other playing off the bench
23 Jan 2013, 16:26 pm
@grant10-245: Thank you AC……..thank you.
23 Jan 2013, 16:28 pm
My day has been saved….felt physically sick and downright miserable with the thought of the Plod desecrating the Stormers jersey.
Now the world is a better place, AC, respect…..you see the light my man…..
Again…my thanks!!!!
23 Jan 2013, 16:30 pm
@grant10-245: Just a conspiracy to push you over the edge,Gman.
23 Jan 2013, 16:35 pm
@wnbb-248: well it worked….just could not reconcile that plod in my teams jersey……I would of written the season off completely….that Plod would have tainted my whole season …..
23 Jan 2013, 16:39 pm
@grant10-247:
Mwahahaha
Imagine if Schalk and JdV got injured as they’re prone to do, he would be “John Smit Stormers Captain”
23 Jan 2013, 16:41 pm
@victoriabok-250: Not in my lifetime….
23 Jan 2013, 16:41 pm
@grant10-249: Hehehe.I think this is for you.
6Puma
January 23rd, 2013 at 13:42 SAST
Kinda wondered if this may come up.
DON’T DO IT JOHN, NOT for Stormers they don’t like you in the Cape… there is a certain blogger from the Cape (not from this site) that will be a sniper in the crowd there and take a pot shot at you…hehehehehehehe be warned …. don’t do it….
If you want to help out a franchise John come to the Sharks until Bissie is back…..
0 likes
23 Jan 2013, 16:44 pm
@wnbb-252: LOL….I would have fully boycotted the Stormers campaign……not a fark would I have attended 1 game…..as for sniping….no, I will allow Karma to do its business on the gravy trainer….
23 Jan 2013, 16:44 pm
@victoriabok-250: Nar!
23 Jan 2013, 16:46 pm
The Dark Side of Vitamin Water
Now here’s something you wouldn’t
expect. Coca-Cola is being sued by a non-
profit public interest group, on the
grounds that the company’s vitaminwater
products make unwarranted health
claims. No surprise there.
But how do you think the company is defending itself?
In a staggering feat of twisted logic,
lawyers for Coca-Cola are defending the
lawsuit by asserting that “no consumer
could reasonably be misled into thinking
vitaminwater was a healthy beverage.”
Does this mean that you’d have to be an
unreasonable person to think that a
product named “vitaminwater,” a product
that has been heavily and aggressively
marketed as a healthy beverage, actually
had health benefits?
Or does it mean that it’s okay for a
corporation to lie about its products, as
long as they can then turn around and
claim that no one actually believes their
lies?
In fact, the product is basically sugar-
water, to which about a penny’s worth of
synthetic vitamins have been added. And
the amount of sugar is not trivial. A bottle
of vitaminwater contains 33 grams of
sugar, making it more akin to a soft drink
than to a healthy beverage.
Is any harm being done by this marketing
ploy? After all, some might say consumers
are at least getting some vitamins, and
there isn’t as much sugar in vitaminwater
as there is in regular Coke.
23 Jan 2013, 16:49 pm
@grant10-251:
After all he’s a World Cup, Tri Nations and Currie Cup winning captain
I’m sure AC would recognize his proven leadership qualities
Maybe FdP would come and help you out too?
23 Jan 2013, 16:55 pm
@victoriabok-256: If you so keen on the has beens talk to Ludeke…..
we not interested
23 Jan 2013, 16:58 pm
What is it with Durban people and spin?Just watched the tourism chief saying that the stadium will be full for Bafana.In other reports they mentioned 56 000 as well.Empty seats all over the place it seems.Reminds me of the day Treehugger lost her marbles on here claiming that KP was full for a test when all and sundry could see that it was only half full.
23 Jan 2013, 16:58 pm
@grant10-257:
Nope we have hookers
23 Jan 2013, 17:04 pm
@victoriabok-259: Yeah,poor men, scrumming down between the kukkest pair of props the game has seen!
23 Jan 2013, 17:09 pm
The SAFFAs are at each others throats again right on schedule, those big derby matches where the fans and players tear each other to pieces will be hyped to the heavens shortly, we’ll stay under the radar and more than likely take the silverware again.
23 Jan 2013, 17:15 pm
@NZINCHINA-261: Sheez, tell me about it
First 2 weeks of the tournie my beloved Stormers have to travel the spot in SA g_o_d made in a fit of anger (Pretoria…) and then trek over to Nkandla for a ‘show and go’ against the ‘best team never to have won anything of real substance – ever’.
That’s some friendlyfuckingfire right there…..
23 Jan 2013, 17:17 pm
@NZINCHINA-261: on s a saffa based website one would expect that..maybe not a kiwi lacking in self-confidence thay he has to lurk n a saffa website to artificially inflate his own ego…
23 Jan 2013, 17:22 pm
Smit would add considerable value to the Stormers.
23 Jan 2013, 17:25 pm
@willievz-264: It’s not going to happen,mate.AC just about confirmed that.The Lions hooker is the one they looking at .
23 Jan 2013, 17:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262:
You guys really hate each other!!!
@Transformation-263:
You’d expect what, people to show their hatred over a game of rugby?
23 Jan 2013, 17:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262:
> beloved Stormers have to travel the spot in SA g_o_d made in a fit of anger (Pretoria…)
Nogsteeds beter as daai beknopte plek met die grys winters waar julle leef van viskoppe en waterlelie stew
23 Jan 2013, 17:31 pm
So,it’s just a matter of agreeing terms with the new chap .Thank God for that!!Stay in Europe, Plodman.
23 Jan 2013, 17:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262: Ag shame Sharks boy……has your team been given a rough start, just like the Sharks had last year ?
23 Jan 2013, 17:34 pm
@grant10-257: How are things going old man?
23 Jan 2013, 17:36 pm
@victoriabok-267: @victoriabok-267: When did g_o_d make Cape Town ? When he was having a feminine moment ? When he was doing gardening and saw his hunky next door neighbor at the pool without a shirt on ?
23 Jan 2013, 17:37 pm
@NZINCHINA-266: It’s inherent my friend…. My first word as a baby, was “Provinceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”. My first full sentence was, “Northern Transvaal are poo poo heads”.
(Didn’t know about the guppies back then, as they weren’t good enough to compete with the likes of us
They played their rugby in a social type league that no-one watched, and even less took seriously. This until they were given a boost to the big leagues (like the Kings of today….)
One is born with these feelings here in SA
(The siege mentality blessed us all….US (group A against THEM, group B)
23 Jan 2013, 17:37 pm
Aha,Dusky back for his daily beating.
23 Jan 2013, 17:38 pm
@Dusky-271: Cape Town is Eden
The Last Outpost, the judicial village where reporter get excited if a car pulls out of a lot and Jacaranda city are poor virtualised attempts at imitation
23 Jan 2013, 17:38 pm
@Dusky-269: You still whinging about the guppies fortunes last year? I’m not whinging, I’m telling the kiwi in china that the sh y te will get real between fans….
23 Jan 2013, 17:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: ROFLMAO. LOVE it.
23 Jan 2013, 17:40 pm
@wnbb-273: Sardine Whiplash
Or was that slipping on a Banana peel.
23 Jan 2013, 17:41 pm
@wnbb-273: A guppie trait that…… Returning over and over and over again for more pain…..(just see their record in finals rugby for confirmation)
23 Jan 2013, 17:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272:
You can’t really call it friendly banter but KEO would die in the arse without it and all you’d be left with was “foreigners” lacking in confidence lurking in the shadows, long may it continue!
23 Jan 2013, 17:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: Wrong pedigree! How dare you compare the Kings situation to that of Natal?They say that Super rugby is different.
23 Jan 2013, 17:44 pm
@NZINCHINA-266: it’s called traditional rivalry, i bet if you went on an aussie website you’d find reds & tahs fans bantering in much the same fashion.
we know you kiwis go gaga over your ranfurly shield & super rugby seems contrived to you.
your problem…
which is your team? if it’s the blues you can’t vicariously claim silverware cos the chiefs won.
23 Jan 2013, 17:45 pm
@Dusky-271:
No, when SHE had a peaceful moment enjoying her Chamomile tea in her organic “herb” garden, thinking about her mood crystals and enjoying a gluten free spelt cookie
23 Jan 2013, 17:46 pm
@Dusky-269: it’s tshayile time…you are HERE
23 Jan 2013, 17:47 pm
@NZINCHINA-279: I rather like the foreigners, whether they lurk in the shadows or not
This place would be rather ’80′s South Africa’ (and no-one in their right mind wants to go back there mate) without all you good fellas from around the globe.
@wnbb-280: I was throwing the guppies a bone. Waiting for the next guppaloo to whinge about the Kings (read: Dusky), when he has obviously forgotten that the Guppies made their entrance in the CC in exactly the same manner…..on a free ticket and a promise.
23 Jan 2013, 17:48 pm
@victoriabok-282: Super chuffed you admit g-o-d is a woman (with a sense of humour).
23 Jan 2013, 17:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-278:
At least they get to the finals, not the Stormers’ yearly premature e.jaculation in home semi’s
23 Jan 2013, 17:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: the guppys claim that during apartheid you all “harvested” their talent through the Police & Army
23 Jan 2013, 17:51 pm
@victoriabok-286: The Bananas were having wet dreams in 2010 and 2011 about even getting a semi, let alone a home semi, but then they woke up…
23 Jan 2013, 17:51 pm
@Transformation-281:
Call it what you will Tranny, the call stands you’ll tear yourselves to pieces and we’ll win the thing again. Actually the rivalry in NZ is nothing like it used to be and the Ranurly shield has been marginalised since the inception of super rugby but you’d know all of this because you such a fucki ng rugby know all expert.
23 Jan 2013, 17:52 pm
@Transformation-287: Who would take humidity and sugar canes over a Med-like climate ?
23 Jan 2013, 17:53 pm
@NZINCHINA-289: You’re falling for his winding up!
23 Jan 2013, 17:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-284:
I could imagine, I’m off to bed but I’ll be lurking around here tomorrow – cheers.
23 Jan 2013, 17:56 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-284: No – that is not accurate Sharks boy, which shows your lack of knowledge. Natal qualified by beating Northern Free State, who were relegated. The Kings did not qualify by beating anyone.
23 Jan 2013, 17:58 pm
@Transformation-287: What talent?
@victoriabok-286: I thought my boys endurance rather ‘manly’ in the CC final. Nothing premature about that manshaming….oodles of foreplay…..two flicks with the whip to get the guppies excited and moaning for more…then BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM, Juan de Jongh finishes the job, leaving fast deflating guppie egos and even faster deflating ‘Jedi light sticks in pants’ all over Kings Park.
23 Jan 2013, 17:58 pm
@NZINCHINA-292: Cheers
23 Jan 2013, 17:59 pm
@wnbb-273: Mate – your definition of ‘daily beating’ defines why you lot have been satisfied with your teams performance for the last 11 years. There is nothing different about this year. The Stormers were going to win every Super rugby tournament since 1996. Even the year they didn’t play. We are used to this pre-season big talk from you poefters.
23 Jan 2013, 18:00 pm
@mikeybrass-290:
Me anytime
Do yourself a favour and visit St Lucia, the Berg and the Hluhluwe Game reserve once
Real Africa
Much much better than the bitchy, snobbish quasi European Cape Town
23 Jan 2013, 18:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294: The Sharks did play their absolute worst game of the season in the final. That much I will admit.
@Noodles: ” you’ll tear yourselves to pieces and we’ll
win the thing again.”
you blues didn’t win zilch & were kak…so no “we” in super rugby
@Dusky-293: Calm it down to a mild panic fella. You get sucked in faster than an ice lolly in summer.
23 Jan 2013, 18:03 pm
@Transformation-287: Eish die transfom….i kant talk to you bra….you are too much stupiet…
Where is Rosso today ?
23 Jan 2013, 18:04 pm
@victoriabok-297: Sorry but I don’t listen to anyone from the Last Outpost calling another place “European”
Except if I want comedy that is.
@Transformation-299: The Blues will surprise friend and foe this year……check it out. (I just hope it’s the ‘pleasant’ sort of surprise, not the fuckivesteppedindgshyte sort – but surprise they will)
@Dusky-293:
> Natal qualified by beating Northern Free State,
The Purple People Eaters
Many of the big teams hated playing there, especially on a cold Friday evening on a rock hard pitch covered only with a thin layer of long dead, white, frost killed lawn, against miners out to hurt you
23 Jan 2013, 18:05 pm
The same old same old last 11 years mantra from old Dusky Springfield. !!! No wonder they enjoy such a good beating in super finals and CC ‘s. If it works ,why change mentality I guess.
23 Jan 2013, 18:05 pm
@Transformation-299: but but but, the Blues, NZs second best representative in terms of Super trophies, has as many as SA’s top representative… but I do think by we he meant NZ in general…
anyways, its fun watching supporters of teams who have never won the comp trying to outdo each other in the “my team is better than your team banter”
23 Jan 2013, 18:06 pm
@mikeybrass-302:
Hey, I’m a Bulls supporter
I just prefer the wild Africa to the civilized, totally settled Cape with it’s fake French estates
23 Jan 2013, 18:07 pm
@mikeybrass-291: lol hi mikey
truth be told though you think if the Stormers won last year Tacitus would be caught trawling new zealand websites gloating that “WE” won?
unheard of!
23 Jan 2013, 18:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-300: I am actually pretty sure it is you who got sucked into that theory. It is after all not the first time I have heard it.
It always was a particularly weak, but typically South African attempt to use an untruth which is predicted to get air time to popularize unreasonable decisions motivated by the greed that has become South Africa.
You just fell for it. Who can blame you.
Be mindful of following popular theory without substantiating facts for yourself.
23 Jan 2013, 18:08 pm
Okay I haven’t been on here for a while.
What is Skop’s new nick and where is Tac?
23 Jan 2013, 18:08 pm
Oh yeah,then he goes on about Rosso everyday as well.What a dork!
23 Jan 2013, 18:09 pm
@victoriabok-307: Bulls supporter? My commiserations.
23 Jan 2013, 18:10 pm
@Transformation-308: Poor Tacitus might have taken to drink. It was bad enough we won the CC. Poor kiddo.
23 Jan 2013, 18:11 pm
@mikeybrass-312:
Thanks, I wipe my tears with three S14 titles
Dusky’s post 309 got a bit of the ET about it !Heaven forbid !
@victoriabok-307: Ever been to the Cederberg?
@mikeybrass-313:
Nope he’s used to winning Super titles
@victoriabok-304: Ja, the Griffons
Natal beat the bottom qualifying team to be included. It is all we asked for in Super rugby, but as expected its a ‘cut me a piece of something for nothing please’ approach as has become custom in South Africa.
23 Jan 2013, 18:12 pm
@victoriabok-314: The Glorious Past
23 Jan 2013, 18:12 pm
@wnbb-311: Dude, you are the one falling for it.
23 Jan 2013, 18:14 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-300: Don’t be nasty now. Ice lollies are nicer .
23 Jan 2013, 18:15 pm
@wnbb-321: ha ha ha ha….ho ho ho ho….geez, you’re a clever oke hey ? F4ck me – I wish I had your magnificent intellect.
23 Jan 2013, 18:17 pm
C’mon Bafana. You need a safety net.
Katlego Mphela is flippin dissapointing.
23 Jan 2013, 18:19 pm
@Jeraldjay-323:
From my thoughts to Mjoro’s ears.
23 Jan 2013, 18:25 pm
@the curse-306: ” but I do think by
we he meant NZ in general”
really? he pours scorn over bantering franchise fans only to not trumpet his own franchise but GLOAT as part of a collective? lol.
this is super rugby not the rugby championship
23 Jan 2013, 18:26 pm
Jirre……hoe stink poep ek weer vanoggend ? Bliksem !
23 Jan 2013, 18:26 pm
@mikeybrass-319:
At least it was less than ten years ago
Not like you lot, bragging about Wee Pee winning the CC, most of them 100 years ago when there were no other teams to play against, and the players company horses* grazed on Newlands at halftime
*-No sponsored cars yet rememeber
23 Jan 2013, 18:28 pm
@mikeybrass-316:
Any thorn trees and Baobabs?
Remember shrubs less than 8 feet doesn’t count
Big Five?
23 Jan 2013, 18:29 pm
@wnbb-321:
Not where you put it in
23 Jan 2013, 18:31 pm
@Dusky-309: Oh dear what can the matter be?
@wnbb-315: *****if so; ET is challenging that totallymindfuckedchick Sybil for sheer volume in terms of alters***** But nah….they are poles apart in terms of political ideologies.
23 Jan 2013, 18:31 pm
@victoriabok-327: This is the argument I expect to hear from 60 plus year old ‘oomies’
And for both the Bulls and WP it is their final ‘fig leaf’ especially when they are talking about recent performances against the Sharks. The discussion will inevitably end up at this point.
When you talk to a Cheetahs fan it goes straight to the ‘you bought all our players and that is why we suck’ argument.
Lions……actually Lions fans have just faithfully supported their team. They dont really have a ‘crutch argument’
23 Jan 2013, 18:33 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330: I dont know – you tell me. Poor schooling in the Western Cape ? Brain injury ? Inherited low intellectual capacity. Your boyfriend f$%ked your brains out ? I dont know you well enough to tell.
23 Jan 2013, 18:34 pm
@victoriabok-328: Of course we have the Big 5 in the Cape.
Aubergine, Beluga, Le Quartier Francais etc etc.
23 Jan 2013, 18:35 pm
@victoriabok-327: Oh wait, wait, wait….the Lions classic is – we were the first SA team to win a Super rugby title. That is the Lions one. Try it out next time when you are chatting around a braai or something. Scope out who supports which team and start to stir things up. You will see – I am spot on.
23 Jan 2013, 18:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-333: Aubergine, Beluga, Le Quartier Francais, Vaseline, Methylated Spirits, Sewerage plant at the entrance to the city.
23 Jan 2013, 18:43 pm
@Dusky-332: Thanks for your concern; but I was asking about you. You seem more than a little ‘twitchy’ this fine evening.
Yes Dusky, I care….
@Dusky-335: This is what I mean by ‘twitchy’. You’re exhibiting behaviour that is not out of place amongst 4 year olds sticking their tongues out at each other and f # rting in each others faces. It has me worried, that’s all.
23 Jan 2013, 18:45 pm
Trans
when the bulls won their first title, as a Saffa fan you felt no joy in SAs maiden super title?
you may state it isn’t TRC, but there’s still plenty if bragging rights for the country who wins super rugby
I agree though, when your country has won the comp 8 times more then your nearest competitor, gloating does seen a little superfluous
23 Jan 2013, 18:46 pm
@Dusky-331: Well, at least we have stories. What is the guppies spin?
Have a sooper evening Dusky.
Later….much later.
23 Jan 2013, 18:48 pm
@victoriabok-307: Not having baobabs or the big five here isn’t because settlers ‘tamed’ it all years ago.
It’s called different natural habitats. Your “civilized and settled” vs wild comments are pretty far off.
23 Jan 2013, 18:48 pm
@victoriabok-328: I’ll take it as a no? It wasn’t a baiting question. Africa is extremely diverse.
23 Jan 2013, 18:49 pm
@victoriabok-327: Us WPians don’t do “when we”
God, Pretorians are becoming like Zimbos
23 Jan 2013, 18:51 pm
@silent_shadow-339: It’s also because we hunted the Cape Lion and elephants to extinction.
CT has wilderness, mountains, sea and the most diverse floral kingdom on the planet on its doorstep. The true Garden of Eden
23 Jan 2013, 18:51 pm
@silent_shadow-339: What he’s actually saying, is that he prefers ‘wild Africa’ as in the Wild West that is Pretoria.
Fords, Brannas, blue balls and handbags outside Presley’s at dawn…….
‘Wild Africa indeed’.
23 Jan 2013, 18:55 pm
@Dusky-332: Calm the fck down,Pocahontas !You are behaving like a bloody gerbil on speed!
23 Jan 2013, 18:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-333:
That is in the Cèdre Montagne you want me to visit?
Pretentious P.oofs, think renaming everything in French is better
23 Jan 2013, 19:00 pm
Oh dear Keo. Looks like your “sources” let you down. You got “outsource’d” by a freshman here. Nice one Tank.
23 Jan 2013, 19:01 pm
@mikeybrass-342: Not saying otherwise (can’t imagine we had many elephants though) but victoriabok seems to think if it’s only the “European settlers” aspect stopping us looking like the rest of “wild Africa”.
Fynbos is as wild as you can get, but like most Bulls supporters he’s probably got a size complex going on.
23 Jan 2013, 19:03 pm
Well done Bafana…..
23 Jan 2013, 19:04 pm
@Dusky-335:
> Vaseline, Methylated Spirits, Sewerage plant at the entrance to the city
You forgot Le Tik, Le Passin Gap, Le Papsak, Le Lieberstein et Oncle Tas
23 Jan 2013, 19:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-343:
Was jy al noord van die Soutpansberg tussen die Mopane?
23 Jan 2013, 19:07 pm
@victoriabok-345: Oh the hardemanne, represented by Greyling *sniggers*
23 Jan 2013, 19:08 pm
@the curse-337: Sorry pops,but you really don’t know much about SA rivalry.When the bulls won that day it was a dark day for me as a Stormers/WP supporter .We just knew that we never going to hear the end of it(bulls victory) from their supporters.So it turned out to be.
Mind you we had two further dark days.
23 Jan 2013, 19:08 pm
@wnbb-344:
You would know how a gerbil on speed behave
All those years of felching finally starting to pay off?
23 Jan 2013, 19:09 pm
@silent_shadow-347: Nah you’re right, there weren’t many elephants. Helluva diverse fauna and flora though. Those Pretorians only care about size, not skill and brain power
23 Jan 2013, 19:10 pm
congratulations bafana…!
very good game…!!!
keep it up now…!!!
23 Jan 2013, 19:11 pm
@wnbb-352: Yeah well they are sounding like the Poms:
“When we won back in ’66″
“When we won the Super 12…”
Whinging martyrdom complex the lot of them
23 Jan 2013, 19:12 pm
@wnbb-352: and therein lies the inherent differences in our countries rugby philosophy.
if my team doesnt win the comp, then I most definitely want another of my countries teams to win it..
but hey, we kiwis dont mind the suffocating provincialism present in your rugby
23 Jan 2013, 19:12 pm
@mikeybrass-351:
Steeds harder(pun intended) as “ek het ‘n girl in die park gespyker en my balspier verrek en nou is alweer beseer vir die grootste deel van die seisoen” Bekker
23 Jan 2013, 19:16 pm
@mikeybrass-354:
> Those Pretorians only care about size,
Fortunately the Stormers suporters’ wives and girlfriends as well
> not skill
Keep telling yourself that whist scratching the surface…
23 Jan 2013, 19:16 pm
OMG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Eweeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!! Used google and typed in define felching……wtf eweeEeeeee my toes curled and had palpitations .
23 Jan 2013, 19:18 pm
@the curse-357: It’s the same here.
Only then there is provincial lording over too
23 Jan 2013, 19:19 pm
@victoriabok-359: We can’t help it if we tick all the right boxes
Work it baby!
23 Jan 2013, 19:20 pm
@victoriabok-350: I love the whole of SA mate. Every area has her own special beauty. From the majestic Karoo, to the undulating hills of beauty in KZN, the splendour of the Northern plains, to the ragged coastline in the EC….
There is beauty everywhere. The contrasts are glorious.
Take me seriously at your own peril.
But the above is 100% true. Girl guides honour.
23 Jan 2013, 19:21 pm
@Treehugger-360:
Hello Hugs,
How are you?
The old lady is going to keep her deer like I’ve told you
http://www.timescolonist.com/news/weather/after-trouble-with-the-law-peace-returns-for-ucluelet-woman-and-pet-deer-bimbo-1.52437
23 Jan 2013, 19:21 pm
@wnbb-352: It could have been worse… The Guppies could have won.
23 Jan 2013, 19:23 pm
@mikeybrass-362:
> Fortunately the Stormers suporters’ wives and girlfriends as well
When you don’t rate(have) size they can always rely on a Bulls fan for some serious Horn
23 Jan 2013, 19:25 pm
@Treehugger-360: dont google Giovanna Plowman then Tree, seriously, dont!
23 Jan 2013, 19:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-365: Ook waar.
23 Jan 2013, 19:37 pm
@victoriabok-366: usually those who have to talk about it are hiding their inadequacies..
just saying,..
23 Jan 2013, 19:42 pm
Huzzit VB…..just read the article, ans saw the picture. I am not to sure I approve of the way she is caring for the deer. Don’t like an animal tied up. The fact she is a 70 year old duck that walks with 2 canes would be another minus.
Frankly I think it is shocking that she brought a male in to impregnate the deer. Sanctuary animals are there for a reason, you don’t allow them to have offspring as they will be healthy. What happens when she kicks the bucket to these 2 animals. No I actually think the deer would be better off confiscated and in a sanctuary. Letting it eat ciggie butts, wtf.
Seems you have some pretty rof characters out in those mountains.
23 Jan 2013, 19:45 pm
@Treehugger-370:
Rof people out in the sticks, like people from the Bluff or Danville only rowwer I tell you
More like Deliverance
And they all have(or had) British teeth as well, you know, in the knot one slip one pattern
23 Jan 2013, 19:47 pm
@Treehugger-370:
This is more up your street, it seems there’s a Stormers fan on the loose here
http://www.timescolonist.com/news/local/people-share-their-grief-with-tribute-to-victoria-horse-killed-by-disturbing-violence-1.54177
23 Jan 2013, 19:48 pm
@the curse-369: Indeed Pops
But don’t remind them…..I prefer to see them ‘talk up’ their ‘virility and size’ – helluva entertaining.
23 Jan 2013, 19:49 pm
@Treehugger-370: I agree with you. The deer would by all accounts be far better off somewhere else.
23 Jan 2013, 19:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-373:
You lot started about skills being better than size
Who is inadequate now?
23 Jan 2013, 19:52 pm
@the curse-369: @the curse-367: believe me I won’t……I am tainted forever after the felching education. Can’t get the picture of a mans hairy bum and …………………………………….out of my head.
Not good for me to know these things….already had one crimen injuria thing last year for calling a feckwit a feckwit and unpleasant little drama queen.
23 Jan 2013, 19:54 pm
a poor workman always blames his tool
23 Jan 2013, 19:56 pm
@the curse-377:
His small tool if you’re referring to a Stormers supporter
23 Jan 2013, 19:58 pm
brilliant effort Bafana Bafana
brilliant
way to go boys
i take back some of the things i’ve said, honestly
more of the same, please
Furman is class
and the rest of the boys put their bit in.
23 Jan 2013, 19:58 pm
@victoriabok-378: but dont Saffas all adhere to size and “physicality”?
isnt that why so many saffa ladies marry foreigners
23 Jan 2013, 19:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272:
bwahahahaha
lmfao
tears pedigree, tears
23 Jan 2013, 20:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-381:
tears?
resigned yourself to a poor season for your team already?
23 Jan 2013, 20:03 pm
@VB…..started reading and stopped. I would hurt the virus that is still splashing about in the primordial ooze so fecking badly he/they would wish they were dead. I don’t talk lightly.
23 Jan 2013, 20:13 pm
@the curse-382:
of course not, she’s just flippin funny.
amazed she’s a she and not a he.
bulls are going to fark the blues up this season
there is nothing you can do about it
your fate rests with a higher power
23 Jan 2013, 20:13 pm
out for a bit
23 Jan 2013, 20:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-384: hehehe
no Jonker equals no wins bakkies..
23 Jan 2013, 20:31 pm
@Treehugger-383:
Here’s some pics to make you feel better
We walk the dogs here
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/your_weather/details/620/9621012/8/cabc0313/plpcities/787/
We had lots of fog on Monday and some yesterday as well
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/your_weather/details/620/9602552/17/cabc0313/plpcities/787/
These Harbour seals are very fat as the tourists feed them fish
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/your_weather/details/620/9635184/5/cabc0313/plpcities/1920/
We put up Hummingbird Feeders filled with sugar water syrup to help them through winter
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/your_weather/details/620/9638532/2/cabc0313/plpcities/20461/
23 Jan 2013, 20:34 pm
@victoriabok-387:
> We put up Hummingbird Feeders
They look like this
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/browse/2/OutdoorLiving/BirdFeedersSeed/Feeders/PRD~0425907P/Hummingbird+4-perch%2C+11-oz..jsp?locale=en
My dad took a couple back to SA but the Sunbirds wouldn’t use them
23 Jan 2013, 20:56 pm
@VB……you are very eclectic in you interests and the way you are. Very interesting.
23 Jan 2013, 20:58 pm
Expat Canuck insulting all and sundry while believing he has big balls
They probably shrunk to the size of nuts in that kuk weather
23 Jan 2013, 21:09 pm
Looks like John Smit won’t be doing it. But imagine if he did move to Cape Town. The Stormers would dispense with the scrumming machine and will be pushing Airbus A380′s up and down the runway every bloody day.
We all know Bok rugby players don’t shrink when they go north.
23 Jan 2013, 21:17 pm
@Dawn-390:
Nope it works but ways, they started insulting first
If they can’t take it they shouldn’t dish it out in the first place
Yes, they did, they shrank to the size of Walnuts
Wanna see?
23 Jan 2013, 21:35 pm
@Dawn-390:
Did Keo reply to your ‘****’ thread question in the end?
23 Jan 2013, 21:36 pm
H o a r… Blimey, even that word is banned now!!
23 Jan 2013, 21:37 pm
Loved Grant10′s intro comment…. Great timing!!
23 Jan 2013, 21:45 pm
@carol-395:
Looks like grant brought up his breakfast on his newly purchased Stormers jersey. Something he and like his old makka Luke have in common now.
23 Jan 2013, 22:00 pm
@I am a stormer-396:
He is a good lad….I am glad he is popping back here now and again!
23 Jan 2013, 22:19 pm
@Dawn-390: There is a canuck on here ? Do you even know what a canuck is ?
23 Jan 2013, 22:24 pm
@I am a stormer-391: According to queen grant, John Smit can’t push a ****………so I hardly think he will be pushing anything that requires a runway.
Mind you, John Smith probably doesn’t want to push a **** and that is why he is not going to play for the Stormers.
23 Jan 2013, 22:25 pm
Ag asseblief Keo.
**** = t.u.r.d
23 Jan 2013, 22:26 pm
trhe cape has real wilderness?
hmmm.
look the western cape is pretty.
its not real africa though.
and the ocean is as sterile as an ocean gets, honestly. sterile and cold.
now for real meaningful diversity (not blomme and bosse, more than that) the capies need to visit sodwana. one hectare of the coastal dunes (which are the highest vegetated coastal dunes on earth) have more tree species than the whole of europe.
the reefs are in the top ten in terms of diving WORLDWIDE.
you can see the big five, scuba dibe these reefs without a wetsuit and have a pizza at leatherbacks all in one day before doing a night drive to see leatherback and loggerhead turtles inching up the beach to lay their eggs.
p.s. sodwana is part of the greater st lucia wetalnd park, half the size of kruger, and leopard are spotted on the beach here. paradise. my easter destination whoo hoo.
but i dont blame capies wanting to play with the fynbosse, only other option is to get in the sea and that aint happening
23 Jan 2013, 22:28 pm
@Dusky-399:
actually i think he doesnt want anyone trying to push his tu r d.
24 Jan 2013, 06:32 am
Ranger I have to agree and as previously discussed with you the diving trip I did to Sodwana in 96′ was very special, unfortuantelythere was a large swell running so the water was not so clear,the highlight was seeing a large rag tooth shark which swam pretty close to our group.
24 Jan 2013, 06:59 am
@the curse-386:
bulls have never played the kiwi game, boet.
24 Jan 2013, 08:35 am
Gaan Kaap toe Plod! hehehe
24 Jan 2013, 08:36 am
@The Rangerman-401:
Oi! So die Kaap is nie in Afrika nie? Geen wonder die Sharks is so deurmekaar.
24 Jan 2013, 09:06 am
@The Rangerman-401:
Not sure whether you have dived all the spots in the western cape in order to make the judgement that the oceans are sterile.
Here are so may spots with such a variety that you will be surprised- everything from wreck diving to kelp forests that house a huge diversity of marine life, beautiful coloured corals etc, friendly cape seals, etc..etc..
The water is also not THAT cold – about 8-20 degrees- a 7mm wetsuit is usually fine.
If that does not excite you and you are really desperate for serious adrenaline (Africa style) you can always, as a brave fearless kwazulu natal diver, go and dive the shark alley in Gans Bay (without a cage of course). In that “sterile” water you will find creatures that will make you long back to the friendly, docile cuddly Raggies or even Tigers of Sodwana Bay like never before.
Personally I have never dived in that alley and that is probably why I am still alive to tell you about the wonderful Cape and the adventures you can have here
24 Jan 2013, 09:06 am
the bulls cheated with their building a line from the ruck back 5 metres so the halfback could still get caught trying to box kick
cheating sods, but does go some way to highlighting the intelligence of those in Pretoria
filthy cheating scum that they are
24 Jan 2013, 09:07 am
and wasn’t it two bulls players caught using
“nasal spray”?
still, it appears so rife in your schools it’s no surprise your senior players are drug cheats too
24 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@The Rangerman-401: Have to agree, the whole Greater St Lucia Wetland Park is a very special place and in largely pristine condition (12 years ago ). As I sit here in the hot and dry Boland I look at an aerial photo of Sodwana Bay and the coastline north and south of it, with not a building in sight.
24 Jan 2013, 09:49 am
LionsWorld confirmed with Kevin de Klerk that there is a possibility that Lions hooker Martin Bezuidenhout will be lent to the Stormers but nothing has been finalised
24 Jan 2013, 10:25 am
@The Rangerman-401: Are you insulting our Fynbos? You will not get away with that! Sitting in the UCT Zoology building as I type this…
Because Ranger as awesome as the Savanna is, the Fynbos is our most impressive and valuable Biome by far with the most floral diversity in the world. Add our impressive bird list to that and the Western Cape is great place to be as a Naturalist. All the best Biological academics are at UCT, including the marine department. Branch, Griffiths etc.
Was diving in Sodwana last June/July, awesome place, it really was besides being overrun by fat Gautengers with their 4×4′s on the beach. But don’t write off the Kelp forests here. Have you been to them? The spearfishing is fantastic here. The diving is great too if you can deal with the cold. Add that we have the most Great White Sharks in the world and there is nothing more awesome than those beasts. I really don’t know what you’re talking about when you say sterile? And cold is a matter of relativity. We have our only endemic cetacean in the Heaviside Dolphin, seals and sea birds for miles and plenty of fish. Without coral there is no need to be brightly coloured, but if that’s the definition of not being of sterile for you so be it.
As for your Leopard on the beach, ever heard of the Cape Leopard? Being seen all over place the now including beach towns such as Rooi Els.
Rant over.
24 Jan 2013, 11:19 am
@Dawn-390: Hello my girl
Have a really great day
24 Jan 2013, 11:28 am
@mikeybrass-351: Hello Mikey.Enjoyed
your web site very much.
One of the last N//uu speakers died a few days ago in Upington.From chicken
pox for heavens sake.
Now there are only 3 left.
Regards.
24 Jan 2013, 11:31 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-363: Hello good lady.Hope you are well Going house hunting
in DBN next couple of days.Have a great day.
24 Jan 2013, 11:36 am
@Robzim-407: Lets all agree that we
have a beautiful diverse country
24 Jan 2013, 11:38 am
@ryecatcher-416: Cannot think of any
place I would rather be
24 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@ryecatcher-414: Morning Rye. I happened to check the thread again this morning out of curiosity and saw your message which saddens me. Rest his/her soul
Another language is about to disappear forever.
24 Jan 2013, 16:34 pm
@mikeybrass-418:
deficit omne quod nasciture
25 Jan 2013, 06:00 am
http://www.rugby365.com/article/51726-what-are-the-stormers-options
25 Jan 2013, 08:43 am
He’s just worried Smit will eat Aplon.
25 Jan 2013, 09:18 am
@The Rangerman-401: Seriously dude – its one thing to diss the Stormers cos you support the CC Runners up – thats all fun and games, but saying that the Cape waters are sterile…… føk you can’t call yourself Rangerman and then make a comment like that.
I have dived both Cape and Sodwana, and wouldn’t even attempt to compare the 2 because they both offer a completely different awe-inspiring experience.
But if you think the Cape waters are sterile then you either have never dived here or have not been taken anywhere by anyone who actually knows what they are doing around here…..
25 Jan 2013, 09:36 am
@ryecatcher-415: Only saw this message now. So you are moving. You can’t be too happy about that? But I reckon a change really is as good as a holiday sometimes….Good luck with the house hunting.