Coetzee trashes talk of Smit SOS

Allister Coetzee insists John Smit is not getting an SOS from him to join the Stormers.

Smit was reported as a possibility to help out the Stormers because of a hooker crisis.

Smit, who has played for Saracens for the last two years, is considering a move to Toulon on a one-year contract, but the Cape Times newspaper on Wednesday reported Smit as a short-term back-up to Deon Fourie.

Fourie, who has signed to play in Europe after the Super Rugby season, will start at hooker but his understudy Scarra Ntubeni will be out for three months because of a shoulder operation and there is concern about Tiaan Liebenberg’s fitness. Liebenberg is still struggling with a long-term back injury.

Coetzee told the Cape media he was considering an experienced South African-based hooker and that there had been no approach to Smit.

Coetzee said the nature of Super Rugby demanded two experienced hookers and one youngster and that it would be too risky to go with two youngsters and just the experience of Fourie.

He said an announcement would be made in the week once terms had been agreed.

Smit would not be a bad option, despite the vehement denials.

He has done a fantastic job at Saracens, in easing the workload on Schalk Brits and also in mentoring the club’s next generation of hooker and front ranker. He is still on contract with Saracens in February and the Stormers have a partnership with Saracens which has seen them release Brits in the past to help out the Stormers.

Smit captained the Boks to World Cup glory in 2007 and played the last of his 111 Tests for South Africa against Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarter-final exit.

He has played his rugby in South Africa exclusively for the Sharks and also spent 18 months playing for Clermont in France after the 2007 World Cup.

423 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 51.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-49:
    please stop

• 52.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Karma for the b*tching Stormer fans.

• 53.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@RL-19: hello pussycat ;-) …..am loving it. In fairness a lot of the Cape supporters on fb rugby magazine are quite happy about this.

• 54.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-48:
    geez Grant, the bulls dont have hooking issues and the stormers do..?..

besides, John would probably get along well with everyone in the squad and fit in nicely for a few months.

is it REALLY that bad considering your issues at hooker?

think of the team.

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54: I am thinking of the team….same as Plod should have been doing since 2010 when he lost us so many games while bISSY SAT ON THE BENCH….

yOU LIKE HIM, YOU FARKEN HAVE HIM……

I am sure Stormers can find someone else……

• 56.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@RL-49: Don’t know, but I’m not a very small guy. 100kgs. He’s bigger than me, bulk-wise.

He’s not that tall I agree but he’s built like a staffie.

• 57.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Good morning my fellow bloggers,this is my first post of 2013 and it makes me feel good when i see the 2nd raters from newlands are getting another 2nd rater joining them and i hope they get a lot more 2nd raters.

• 58.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Love the tongue-in-cheek stuff, Keo.

• 59.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#55 Grant10 are you on the looney juice already it is to early to be ranting and raving about Mr Smit going to newlands after all you guys loved him there,hahahahahahahahaha.

• 60.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

As a stormers support I don’t see any problems with this. The greatest bok captain as a backup to D Fourie? Not bad at all. The amount of knowledge he could depart unto the unexperienced guys in the team. Priceless.

Grant10, get over yourself boet, it is not that bad, actuall it is not bad at all.

• 61.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-57: “i hope they get a lot more 2nd raters.”. Nope. Spies, Steyn and Meisiekind are still in Pretoria.

• 62.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-57: Go 2nd rate your mother. Stormers were the best franchise accross all local competition.

• 63.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-53: There is nothing wrong with John Smit. I doubt this is going to happen, but it wouldn’t be a bad thing at all if it did.
    I for one would be more than happy to see him here for a few months.

• 64.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-62:

if you ain’t first, you’re last, sonny

if you ain’t first, you’re last…

• 65.gunther: Reply to this comment

So much of awesome.

I might risk the Newlands bandits and go and watch the great man live.

• 66.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-64:
    And if you’re sixth?

• 67.China Bell: Reply to this comment

@keo-32: How difficult is it to spot a figurative comment, moer difficult apparently

• 68.Dusky: Reply to this comment

BWAAAAAAAAAA HA HA HA HA HA………..that is some poetic justice right there. Turbo reverse gear is going to play for the moffies. Brilliant ! Gwantie must have wet his panty……….

• 69.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#61 sharks poodle with 3 super rugby titles at loftus we deffinately do not fall into the same category as the 2nd raters from newlands.

#62 goodstuff the only good rugby you ever watched was the bulls winning 3 super rugby titles,especially the title in soweto when we beat a certain 2nd raters lot from newlands,hehehehehehehehe.

• 70.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: Yes….please lord spaghetti monster…..make it happen !

• 71.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-69: Bulls are South Africa’s premier Super Rugby team. But of course, the Stomp moffies will tell you differently every day, all day long. You have to learn to live with it.

• 72.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-63: huzzit Ruck, its only a few that are not happy about it. It doesn’t make sense to hate him so when he has so much to offer and clubs still want him. They all know he still has something to offer, must be the aura lolololol.

I really wanted to be the first to torment Grant10 about this. His Stormer jersey is going to join his Bok jerseys that he threw in the bin with the crayfish or prawn shells, can’t remember which. Wish I could remember what he said he would do if Captain Fantastic ever came to the Stormers. Lololol think he needs a Temgesic jorva, puts the minkeys that are traumatized in a floaty happy place. :lol:

• 73.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-72: He threw it in the bin with his tampons.

• 74.lekkerbydiesee: Reply to this comment

WPRFU wouldn’t give 22 year old Rob Herring from the Maties side in the Varsity Cup a contract? see Ulster quickly snapped him up after the Varsity Cup. WTF? Where is this guy? After Callie Visagie and this guy it seems like WP are not keen on signing Hookers with an eye to the future. Ntubene lacks the physical presence needed for super rugby. Herring won a couple of man of the match performances. Big mobile Hooker with good ball skills, almost reminded me of Liebenbergs bustling style and solid set piece and size combined with deon fourie’s ball skills and pace.

What is the point of having a bright future in terms of lineout options like Etzebeth, Rhodes, Botha, Roux, Elstahdt and Bekker if your future hookers aren’t up to it??? Ulster know Rory Best will be gone soon, and with regard to Liebenberg(age) and Fourie(already considering going overseas due to lack of springbok opportunities) stormers really should be preparing for the future. I really don’t see Ntubene as the answer.

• 75.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-72: I’m a huge John Smit fan. Always have been. Grant(ed) his form waxed and waned, but to question the man’s achievements is insane.
    I doubt anyone (apart from Grant who seems to be losing his sh y te over John Smit for some reason?) would whinge about having him as cover.

Maybe you should put Grant with the minkeys….. :)

• 76.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#70 i love u bakkies
    #71Dusky
    A very good morning to my fellow bulls bloggers,already the( stomp moffies to use your term dusky),have got the 2nd raters as the No1 province in super rugby and a ball has not even been kicked yet in anger,and they say they are not brainwashed by the cape town press yeah right.

• 77.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-71: The worrying thing is that you might believe what you’ve just said. Then again, if you can rile the Sharks fans then I won’t mind your disingenuity a single bit.
    Two consecutive conference titles, consecutive 2nd and 1st placings overall and a 17/22 record against South African teams since 2010.

And no, that aint the Bulls.

• 78.charo: Reply to this comment

smittie is big mates with schalk and jdv.

they would welcome him.

• 79.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#77 Bishopsod If you are comparing these piss-willy titles against the bulls 3super rugby titles you have a serious problem my friend ,they aint even on the same page.When you win 3 super rugby titles then we can blog as equals.

• 80.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#78 charo welcome him into the old toppies club.

• 81.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-75: it was a pity you had left keo for a while, you would have seen the rants, I don’t mean daily, I mean 99.9 % of his posts always ran The Captain down. He was online a lot in those days, this is why every one is having such a reaction to this….memories…lol….skop…is going to pop a poefie string as well.

Finally get to use the poefie string expression.

• 82.lekkerbydiesee: Reply to this comment

nor smit for that matter, shame his mobility is all but gone. doing the tendulkar version of rugby

• 83.Gtown: Reply to this comment

AG FUKKIT OUS!! having our erstwhile grande capitain would be most welcome in the blue and whites, from my perspective.

• 84.Gtown: Reply to this comment

bit of a grammatical hobble there! apologies to the grammatically sensitive. :D

• 85.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-69:Hey bb, let reality, (the facts) bring you back to earth before your emotional hallucinations makes you hurl your pap!

WP/ Stormers 2012:

1st place Super 15/ SA Conference
    CC 2012 Champs
    Vodacom Cup 2012 Champs
    u/19 CC 2012 champs

Bulls 2012:
    u/21 CC Champs
    5th on 2012 S15 log
    2012 CC ranked 4th (out of 6 teams)

Who is second rate again?

• 86.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-81: Anyone doubting the value of John Smit’s continued involvement in the game (anywhere….) needs to step back a little.

P Divvy made it very clear that John Smit remained Bok captain (and starting 2) when many felt he shoud have been dropped because if he wasn’t on the field, “guys like Schalk Burger” would have no-one to look up to……..

That tells more than just a story.

• 87.Transformation: Reply to this comment

plod can teach malherbe a few tricks about scrumming @ tighthead.. :D

• 88.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-79: When was that again? 2010?

Ok, if we are using history as a gauge, what about when the bulls win the Currie Cup 33 times than we can blog as equals.

It is all about the present boet, those three Super Rugby wins was awsome, but that don’t count for nothing in 2013.

• 89.keo: Reply to this comment

@grant10-42: apparently he speaks highly of you too

• 90.RL: Reply to this comment

@lekkerbydiesee-74: what does AC have against hookers? They play an important role in society and would you believe it on a rugby field too – and I checked the stats on scarra the same height as Deon but gives up 10kg’s, altough he is not as skeef as Deon.

• 91.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Having Smit on the bench for a few games is not a train smash.

• 92.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-87: Just have to ask. Why do so many of you guys call John Smit ‘Plod’? Reference to Mr Plod? His build, athletic ability, plodding along?

Must be honest and say again, that I am quite surprised by the anti-Smit sentiment round here.

• 93.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-79: Also maybe the three SR titles should be counter balanced to the 5 times the Bulls where in the bottom 2!

• 94.grant10: Reply to this comment

@keo-89: I didnt cost the country a WC ….I am sure he speaks highly of LW as well……tell him I send my regards and that I hope he enjoys Sarries and Toulon gravy trains….as long as he keeps well away from the WP or Stormers I have no beef with him….Sharks and Bulls welcome to him too.

Gravy trainer , self centred wally of distinction this oke ….

• 95.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Smit is the ideal player for a short term loan. Lot’s of youngsters in the front row that can learn a few tricks from the veteran.

• 96.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#93 goodstuff take a few happy pills chill out and enjoy the day.

• 97.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@grant10-94:

Blame Pieter De Villiers for letting the players run the show. Smit did not select himself.

• 98.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-79:
    The team I’m always wanting the Nz teams to whack are the Bulls….outta respect

• 99.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-93: ja, graphically the Bulls on average tread water in the middle of the pool in a most interesting and entertaining manner – plunging to new lows & rising to lofty heights in between being just plain downright mediocre & boring – arguably SA’s most inconsistent SuperRugga franchise – despite a constant influx of new talent.

Puzzling track record

• 100.gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-89:

You are wasting your time with that one.

Whenever he hears Barney’s name he regresses to infancy.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.