Coetzee trashes talk of Smit SOS

Allister Coetzee insists John Smit is not getting an SOS from him to join the Stormers.

Smit was reported as a possibility to help out the Stormers because of a hooker crisis.

Smit, who has played for Saracens for the last two years, is considering a move to Toulon on a one-year contract, but the Cape Times newspaper on Wednesday reported Smit as a short-term back-up to Deon Fourie.

Fourie, who has signed to play in Europe after the Super Rugby season, will start at hooker but his understudy Scarra Ntubeni will be out for three months because of a shoulder operation and there is concern about Tiaan Liebenberg’s fitness. Liebenberg is still struggling with a long-term back injury.

Coetzee told the Cape media he was considering an experienced South African-based hooker and that there had been no approach to Smit.

Coetzee said the nature of Super Rugby demanded two experienced hookers and one youngster and that it would be too risky to go with two youngsters and just the experience of Fourie.

He said an announcement would be made in the week once terms had been agreed.

Smit would not be a bad option, despite the vehement denials.

He has done a fantastic job at Saracens, in easing the workload on Schalk Brits and also in mentoring the club’s next generation of hooker and front ranker. He is still on contract with Saracens in February and the Stormers have a partnership with Saracens which has seen them release Brits in the past to help out the Stormers.

Smit captained the Boks to World Cup glory in 2007 and played the last of his 111 Tests for South Africa against Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarter-final exit.

He has played his rugby in South Africa exclusively for the Sharks and also spent 18 months playing for Clermont in France after the 2007 World Cup.

423 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 151.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-150: yes yes, you taunt people who have lost loved ones phucker so why dont you take your act and move to the next town sonny :lol:

• 152.papaown: Reply to this comment

Pienaar up for top Euro award
    2013-01-23 12:00

Cape Town – Springbok scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is among 15 players nominated for the European Player of the Year award.

Pienaar was named on the longlist following the conclusion of the Heineken Cup and European Challenge Cup pool stages. Pienaar is the only South African on this list.

A five-player shortlist will be announced by the judging panel following the semi-finals of the respective competitions. The winner of the award will be announced after the final in May.

The judging panel for the award is: Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports), Will Greenwood (Daily Telegraph, Rugby World Cup winner and two-time Challenge Cup winner), Stephen Jones (Rugby Correspondent, Sunday Times), Emmanuel Massicard (Editor, Midi Olympique) and Gerry Thornley (Rugby Correspondent, Irish Times).

Leinster’s Rob Kearney won the award last season.

European Player of the Year 2013 list:

Steffon Armitage (Toulon)
    Rory Best (Ulster)
    Julien Bonnaire (Clermont)
    Mike Brown (Harlequins)
    Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
    Owen Farrell (Saracens)
    Wesley Fofana (Clermont)
    Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier)
    Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)
    James Johnston (Harlequins)
    Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
    Morgan Parra (Clermont)
    Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
    Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
    Simon Zebo (Munster)

• 153.papaown: Reply to this comment

@papaown-152: if Owen Farrel does not win this award it will make a mockery of his nomination as player of the year last year!

• 154.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-151: That’s taunting abstract nicknames….not real people. :D

• 155.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-146:

hey bud… how you doing…?

yeah… deon, and the rest of the forwards… most of who are pretty young…

having john in the mix can only benefit the guys playing and careers… and be good for the stormers..

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149:

who knows… maybe john gets a new lease on life and rugby… cape town does has this affect you know… :wink:

• 156.ufo: Reply to this comment

effect…

• 157.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo-155: good man and you?

@wnbb-154: no its not abstract nice try.

you have no credibility sorry :lol:

• 158.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-157:

good too thanks bud…

shaping up to be a helluva super season… can’t wait for the thing to start already…!!!

sharks looking solid all round…
    stormers looking better than last year… but we have to wait and see which tea, pitches this year for most games…
    bulls also gonna be right up there…

i reckon we’ll have these three teams in the play-offs again…

• 159.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ufo-156: Interesting to note that the superior-thinking and self-opiniated individual is fallible after all. :D

• 160.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@papaown-153: that ship has sailed.

• 161.ufo: Reply to this comment

the sharks are gonna be helluva hard to stop this year… for saffa teams and for nz and aus teams…

not blowing smoke… they really are a team with no apparent weaknesses…

• 162.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-157: You guys are way too sensitive on an anonymous blog. :D

• 163.the curse: Reply to this comment

@ufo-158: probably right…

having the weakest conference and the added bonus of a development side as one of your 5 sides should ensure you get 3 teams in the finals..

once again and as always, the NZ conference will be the toughest..

• 164.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-145:

in his own way.

• 165.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@the curse-163: Agree.The SA conference might be the weakest one this time.Stormers and probably the Sharks the only contenders.The Bulls,Cheetahs and Kings not really strong enough to challenge the big guns of super rugby.

• 166.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the Cursed-163:
    no Pops, the SA conference is still the toughest.
    the big three always hammer each other irrespective of the other two franchises.
    also, the derby intensity against the cheetahs and.. er… well the cheetahs, takes a lot out of the SA teams.

• 167.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-161:

Always diplomatic. :lol:

Smit will be an excellent acquisition. Even if he stays a month or two.

He has great motivating skills (which is needed specifically because of the Stormers tough first few games) and his experience is unmatched.

He always had that WP/Stormers “look” about him.

• 168.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the curse-163:

all shall be revealed in times popps… :lol:

but i’m still banking on the blues making the play-offs too.. jk and ted gonna surprise everyone…!!

• 169.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-168:
    no they wont

• 170.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-167:

we don’t have to rant and insult to get out points across do we…? :wink:

as entertaining as that is to watch… :lol:

but when someone has no point to make the only hope they have of getting noticed is to rant and insult…

shame…

• 171.wnbb: Reply to this comment

It is really delusional of Bulls supporters to think that they are still part of the group of great teams in super rugby.It’s like Liverpool supporters who still believe that they are a great team!Crazy.

• 172.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-166: please, the Blues beat the Bulls at Moftus last year, and the blues were rubbish..

No Jonker this year either, Bulls will be lucky to make 8th spot..

try to comprehend my statement, of the NZ conference, 4 teams have a realistic chance of winning the conference, in SA its probably 2 teams (Stormers and Sharks) and the same in the Aussie Conference…

hence NZ conference is the toughest..

is it really that hard to understand?

@ufo-168: :D nah, Blues will flatter to deceive mate, though by reports Piri is looking in great shape pre-season, a mid table finish is all Im expecting and will be happy with that.. year 3 if JK and ted are still there then I think we will be a formidable side..

would have preferred Crowley myself :wink:

• 173.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

http://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/Schoolboy-dies-after-rugby-tackle-20130123

Terribly sad this.

• 174.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-169:

a bottle of shiraz says the stormers and the blues make the playoffs…?

• 175.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-173: Agree.

• 176.Mustard: Reply to this comment

Wow…….was just thinking the other day when i heard the injury crisis at hooker, what the was the chances of this happening. But there is nothing in this article that suggest that it could possibly happen, only journalistic conjecture. Personally I don’t think it will be a good move from the Stormers…..even on a short term basis. Rather look at other options…..and hope that Deon Fourie stays injury free until liebenberg is fully fit.

• 177.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-170:

Your “attack” on Transie wrt his stance on Zoomer “paying back” companies that support the ANC was very entertaining.

He surprisingly didn’t really stand up for himself.

• 178.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the curse-172:

as you’ve said before about crowley… but jk is what you’ve got…

jk is one of my favourite ever players… and he’s still growing as a coach…

but i have never… NEVER… heard anyone speak about the game with more passion than jk… if only a smidgen of that rubs off onto the players the blues are gonna rock… and with ted no nonsense expertise… no one should take the blues lightly…

remember how jk got the japanese to perform against the abs in the world cup…?

• 179.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo-161: i think lock and hooker are the sharks weakness and thats a very bad combo bud.

@wnbb-162: so its ok if i pi ss on your face whilst you are sleeping off a pubcrawl in the gutter as long as you dont know who i am?

you shame yourself.

• 180.the curse: Reply to this comment

@ufo-178: hehehe knew the Crowley comment would get ya :D

still remember JK’s try from the 87 world cup versus Italy, from the kickoff, fielded the ball and returned it to score a great 70 metre try..

I am willing to give JK a chance, we shall see if he has the credentials or not… I still think though, that Crowley did better with the canucks then Jk did with the Japanese

• 181.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-177:

my ‘attack’…?? :shock: :wink:

i just said made a comment and had transie have a go at me…

to which i responded… :lol:

but water under the bridge bud… i don’t hang onto negative stuff… a complete waste of energy… and life is just too darn short to waste it on negative things…

and transport’s a quality person in my book and a few rumbles won’t change my opinion of him…

• 182.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-179:

rnager i think bresler came of age last season… and expect him to push very hard for a bok place this year…

for sure you’ll miss bissy initially… but kyle cooper’s a good one… i love his bustling style and work rate… he won’t let you guys down…

• 183.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the curse-180:

i knew you threw it in for that… :lol:

was a great try…!!

to be fair… the canucks have a better, longer history in rugby than the japanese… and (generally) better players…

but yeah… jk has his opportunity… and it’s up to him to grab it with both hands…

let’s see what he does with it…

• 184.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo-182: ja look, burden is no slouch and maybe he will find his jumpers this year but thats the weakness i see at present.

i agree, transformation is a good oke even though he reminds me a bit of one of the geeky kids who enjoy winding people up sometimes.

• 185.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-179: Why are so angry Angerman? :D . The problem with you chaps is that you have given this blog facebook status which leads to personal emotional angst..You exchange addies,meet up,socialise together which is a definite recipe for disaster . At the end of the day you guys are all just nicks to me.Off course it’s wrong of you to urinate on strangers! :D

• 186.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-173:

just read it now pedigree…

really tragic…

• 187.the curse: Reply to this comment

@ufo-183: :D

I dont think Bakkies will take that bet mate, I mean, how will he know if they did make the finals, he wont be watching Super rugby this year because of NZs systematic cheating

he said so himself

• 188.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

With Bismark out for months and no-body behind an average re-treaded flanker, nor behind Beast and Jannie… the Sharks could do with the versatile prop/hooker giving some depth… screw the Stormers…

• 189.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-185: the urination was a metaphor for your behaviour.

i would probably have a beer with you just to be entertained but you would be a bit like the druggie mate who no one really shares things with :lol:

unlike poppa, that oke has some serious issues.
    a one armed maori swinging punches and then crying on my shoulder is the last thing i want when out at the pub.

• 190.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-184:

burden’s okay… but spends too much time in the loose looking to run it than getting stuck in doing the hard stuff imo…

just my observation…

but also good cover for bissy… i reckon young cooper will become the no 2 no 2 before too long…

• 191.the curse: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-189: do try harder ranger, your bait is very very rancid..

• 192.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo-190: nah, i think burden is a fantastic rugby player but his lineout work can be almost as erratic as one of the stormers hookers :lol:

• 193.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-113: Huzzit Doll ;-) …..ja that’s a given but didn’t want too say that. To think we all always have the cheek to insult and fight with whoever your partner is saying ”can’t you see that is a cowboy-spaceman-bulldozer etc…that thing is the whatnot and there the thingie”

• 194.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the curse-187:

he’ll be watching…

can’t see any saffa rugby lover not watching… no matter what they say…

• 195.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-189: Hahahaa.Lekker lag ek nou.I really don’t have any desire to meet anybody on an anonymous blog.Why do you guys have a need to do that?

• 196.the curse: Reply to this comment

@ufo-194: perhaps just the Saffa derbies?

not enough paper in the world for him to compile his complete dossier on NZs rugby “etiquette” :shock:

• 197.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-192:

sheesh… our guys just can’t throw in if their lives depended on it…

i seriously wonder sometimes if they ever actually practice…

remember hearing dan marino talking about practicing throwing a football as a kid…

he’d have to get 100 throws through a tyre hanging from a tree while his father swung the tyre…

and if he missed 1 he’d have to start all the way from zero again… he did this every day for years…

no wonder dan became a legend…

i don’t see many of our sportsmen putting in that kind of time and dedication… naas and jonty and some others… but not enough… and i can’t believe our stormers hookers put in anything like that sort of time…

• 198.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Not in a million years. Would love to see John for the Stormers, but there is no chance in hell this will happen.

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is this the thread de jour?

• 200.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-92: Agree.Disgraceful

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.