Coetzee trashes talk of Smit SOS

Allister Coetzee insists John Smit is not getting an SOS from him to join the Stormers.

Smit was reported as a possibility to help out the Stormers because of a hooker crisis.

Smit, who has played for Saracens for the last two years, is considering a move to Toulon on a one-year contract, but the Cape Times newspaper on Wednesday reported Smit as a short-term back-up to Deon Fourie.

Fourie, who has signed to play in Europe after the Super Rugby season, will start at hooker but his understudy Scarra Ntubeni will be out for three months because of a shoulder operation and there is concern about Tiaan Liebenberg’s fitness. Liebenberg is still struggling with a long-term back injury.

Coetzee told the Cape media he was considering an experienced South African-based hooker and that there had been no approach to Smit.

Coetzee said the nature of Super Rugby demanded two experienced hookers and one youngster and that it would be too risky to go with two youngsters and just the experience of Fourie.

He said an announcement would be made in the week once terms had been agreed.

Smit would not be a bad option, despite the vehement denials.

He has done a fantastic job at Saracens, in easing the workload on Schalk Brits and also in mentoring the club’s next generation of hooker and front ranker. He is still on contract with Saracens in February and the Stormers have a partnership with Saracens which has seen them release Brits in the past to help out the Stormers.

Smit captained the Boks to World Cup glory in 2007 and played the last of his 111 Tests for South Africa against Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarter-final exit.

He has played his rugby in South Africa exclusively for the Sharks and also spent 18 months playing for Clermont in France after the 2007 World Cup.

423 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

• 251.grant10: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-250: Not in my lifetime….

• 252.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-249: Hehehe.I think this is for you. :D

6Puma
    January 23rd, 2013 at 13:42 SAST
    Kinda wondered if this may come up.
    DON’T DO IT JOHN, NOT for Stormers they don’t like you in the Cape… there is a certain blogger from the Cape (not from this site) that will be a sniper in the crowd there and take a pot shot at you…hehehehehehehe be warned …. don’t do it….
    If you want to help out a franchise John come to the Sharks until Bissie is back…..
    0 likes

• 253.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-252: LOL….I would have fully boycotted the Stormers campaign……not a fark would I have attended 1 game…..as for sniping….no, I will allow Karma to do its business on the gravy trainer….

• 254.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-250: Nar! :D

• 255.Transformation: Reply to this comment

The Dark Side of Vitamin Water

Now here’s something you wouldn’t
    expect. Coca-Cola is being sued by a non-
    profit public interest group, on the
    grounds that the company’s vitaminwater
    products make unwarranted health
    claims. No surprise there.

But how do you think the company is defending itself?

In a staggering feat of twisted logic,
    lawyers for Coca-Cola are defending the
    lawsuit by asserting that “no consumer
    could reasonably be misled into thinking
    vitaminwater was a healthy beverage.”

Does this mean that you’d have to be an
    unreasonable person to think that a
    product named “vitaminwater,” a product
    that has been heavily and aggressively
    marketed as a healthy beverage, actually
    had health benefits?

Or does it mean that it’s okay for a
    corporation to lie about its products, as
    long as they can then turn around and
    claim that no one actually believes their
    lies?

In fact, the product is basically sugar-
    water, to which about a penny’s worth of
    synthetic vitamins have been added. And
    the amount of sugar is not trivial. A bottle
    of vitaminwater contains 33 grams of
    sugar, making it more akin to a soft drink
    than to a healthy beverage.

Is any harm being done by this marketing
    ploy? After all, some might say consumers
    are at least getting some vitamins, and
    there isn’t as much sugar in vitaminwater
    as there is in regular Coke.

• 256.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@grant10-251:

After all he’s a World Cup, Tri Nations and Currie Cup winning captain

I’m sure AC would recognize his proven leadership qualities

Maybe FdP would come and help you out too?

• 257.grant10: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-256: If you so keen on the has beens talk to Ludeke…..

we not interested

• 258.wnbb: Reply to this comment

What is it with Durban people and spin?Just watched the tourism chief saying that the stadium will be full for Bafana.In other reports they mentioned 56 000 as well.Empty seats all over the place it seems.Reminds me of the day Treehugger lost her marbles on here claiming that KP was full for a test when all and sundry could see that it was only half full.

• 259.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@grant10-257:

Nope we have hookers

• 260.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-259: Yeah,poor men, scrumming down between the kukkest pair of props the game has seen! :D

• 261.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The SAFFAs are at each others throats again right on schedule, those big derby matches where the fans and players tear each other to pieces will be hyped to the heavens shortly, we’ll stay under the radar and more than likely take the silverware again.

• 262.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-261: Sheez, tell me about it :) First 2 weeks of the tournie my beloved Stormers have to travel the spot in SA g_o_d made in a fit of anger (Pretoria…) and then trek over to Nkandla for a ‘show and go’ against the ‘best team never to have won anything of real substance – ever’.

That’s some friendlyfuckingfire right there…..

• 263.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-261: on s a saffa based website one would expect that..maybe not a kiwi lacking in self-confidence thay he has to lurk n a saffa website to artificially inflate his own ego…

• 264.willievz: Reply to this comment

Smit would add considerable value to the Stormers.

• 265.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@willievz-264: It’s not going to happen,mate.AC just about confirmed that.The Lions hooker is the one they looking at .

• 266.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262:

You guys really hate each other!!!

@Transformation-263:

You’d expect what, people to show their hatred over a game of rugby?

• 267.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262:

> beloved Stormers have to travel the spot in SA g_o_d made in a fit of anger (Pretoria…)

Nogsteeds beter as daai beknopte plek met die grys winters waar julle leef van viskoppe en waterlelie stew

• 268.wnbb: Reply to this comment

So,it’s just a matter of agreeing terms with the new chap .Thank God for that!!Stay in Europe, Plodman.

• 269.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-262: Ag shame Sharks boy……has your team been given a rough start, just like the Sharks had last year ?

• 270.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-257: How are things going old man? :-P

• 271.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-267: @victoriabok-267: When did g_o_d make Cape Town ? When he was having a feminine moment ? When he was doing gardening and saw his hunky next door neighbor at the pool without a shirt on ?

• 272.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-266: It’s inherent my friend…. My first word as a baby, was “Provinceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”. My first full sentence was, “Northern Transvaal are poo poo heads”.

(Didn’t know about the guppies back then, as they weren’t good enough to compete with the likes of us ;) They played their rugby in a social type league that no-one watched, and even less took seriously. This until they were given a boost to the big leagues (like the Kings of today….)

One is born with these feelings here in SA :)

(The siege mentality blessed us all….US (group A against THEM, group B) ;)

• 273.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Aha,Dusky back for his daily beating. :D

• 274.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-271: Cape Town is Eden :-)

The Last Outpost, the judicial village where reporter get excited if a car pulls out of a lot and Jacaranda city are poor virtualised attempts at imitation :-)

• 275.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-269: You still whinging about the guppies fortunes last year? I’m not whinging, I’m telling the kiwi in china that the sh y te will get real between fans….

• 276.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: ROFLMAO. LOVE it.

• 277.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-273: Sardine Whiplash :-) Or was that slipping on a Banana peel.

• 278.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-273: A guppie trait that…… Returning over and over and over again for more pain…..(just see their record in finals rugby for confirmation)

• 279.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272:

You can’t really call it friendly banter but KEO would die in the arse without it and all you’d be left with was “foreigners” lacking in confidence lurking in the shadows, long may it continue!

• 280.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: Wrong pedigree! How dare you compare the Kings situation to that of Natal?They say that Super rugby is different. :D .

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-266: it’s called traditional rivalry, i bet if you went on an aussie website you’d find reds & tahs fans bantering in much the same fashion.

we know you kiwis go gaga over your ranfurly shield & super rugby seems contrived to you.

your problem…

which is your team? if it’s the blues you can’t vicariously claim silverware cos the chiefs won.

• 282.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-271:

No, when SHE had a peaceful moment enjoying her Chamomile tea in her organic “herb” garden, thinking about her mood crystals and enjoying a gluten free spelt cookie

• 283.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-269: it’s tshayile time…you are HERE :-)

• 284.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-279: I rather like the foreigners, whether they lurk in the shadows or not :)
    This place would be rather ’80′s South Africa’ (and no-one in their right mind wants to go back there mate) without all you good fellas from around the globe.

@wnbb-280: I was throwing the guppies a bone. Waiting for the next guppaloo to whinge about the Kings (read: Dusky), when he has obviously forgotten that the Guppies made their entrance in the CC in exactly the same manner…..on a free ticket and a promise.

• 285.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-282: Super chuffed you admit g-o-d is a woman (with a sense of humour).

• 286.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-278:

At least they get to the finals, not the Stormers’ yearly premature e.jaculation in home semi’s

• 287.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272: the guppys claim that during apartheid you all “harvested” their talent through the Police & Army :mrgreen:

• 288.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-286: The Bananas were having wet dreams in 2010 and 2011 about even getting a semi, let alone a home semi, but then they woke up…

• 289.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-281:

Call it what you will Tranny, the call stands you’ll tear yourselves to pieces and we’ll win the thing again. Actually the rivalry in NZ is nothing like it used to be and the Ranurly shield has been marginalised since the inception of super rugby but you’d know all of this because you such a fucki ng rugby know all expert.

• 290.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-287: Who would take humidity and sugar canes over a Med-like climate ? :-)

• 291.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-289: You’re falling for his winding up! :-) :-)

• 292.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-284:

I could imagine, I’m off to bed but I’ll be lurking around here tomorrow – cheers.

• 293.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-284: No – that is not accurate Sharks boy, which shows your lack of knowledge. Natal qualified by beating Northern Free State, who were relegated. The Kings did not qualify by beating anyone.

• 294.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-287: What talent? ;)

@victoriabok-286: I thought my boys endurance rather ‘manly’ in the CC final. Nothing premature about that manshaming….oodles of foreplay…..two flicks with the whip to get the guppies excited and moaning for more…then BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM, Juan de Jongh finishes the job, leaving fast deflating guppie egos and even faster deflating ‘Jedi light sticks in pants’ all over Kings Park.

• 295.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-292: Cheers :)

• 296.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-273: Mate – your definition of ‘daily beating’ defines why you lot have been satisfied with your teams performance for the last 11 years. There is nothing different about this year. The Stormers were going to win every Super rugby tournament since 1996. Even the year they didn’t play. We are used to this pre-season big talk from you poefters.

• 297.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-290:

Me anytime

Do yourself a favour and visit St Lucia, the Berg and the Hluhluwe Game reserve once

Real Africa

Much much better than the bitchy, snobbish quasi European Cape Town

• 298.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294: The Sharks did play their absolute worst game of the season in the final. That much I will admit.

• 299.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Noodles: ” you’ll tear yourselves to pieces and we’ll
    win the thing again.”

you blues didn’t win zilch & were kak…so no “we” in super rugby :-)

• 300.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-293: Calm it down to a mild panic fella. You get sucked in faster than an ice lolly in summer.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.