Coetzee trashes talk of Smit SOS

Allister Coetzee insists John Smit is not getting an SOS from him to join the Stormers.

Smit was reported as a possibility to help out the Stormers because of a hooker crisis.

Smit, who has played for Saracens for the last two years, is considering a move to Toulon on a one-year contract, but the Cape Times newspaper on Wednesday reported Smit as a short-term back-up to Deon Fourie.

Fourie, who has signed to play in Europe after the Super Rugby season, will start at hooker but his understudy Scarra Ntubeni will be out for three months because of a shoulder operation and there is concern about Tiaan Liebenberg’s fitness. Liebenberg is still struggling with a long-term back injury.

Coetzee told the Cape media he was considering an experienced South African-based hooker and that there had been no approach to Smit.

Coetzee said the nature of Super Rugby demanded two experienced hookers and one youngster and that it would be too risky to go with two youngsters and just the experience of Fourie.

He said an announcement would be made in the week once terms had been agreed.

Smit would not be a bad option, despite the vehement denials.

He has done a fantastic job at Saracens, in easing the workload on Schalk Brits and also in mentoring the club’s next generation of hooker and front ranker. He is still on contract with Saracens in February and the Stormers have a partnership with Saracens which has seen them release Brits in the past to help out the Stormers.

Smit captained the Boks to World Cup glory in 2007 and played the last of his 111 Tests for South Africa against Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarter-final exit.

He has played his rugby in South Africa exclusively for the Sharks and also spent 18 months playing for Clermont in France after the 2007 World Cup.

423 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

• 301.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-287: Eish die transfom….i kant talk to you bra….you are too much stupiet…

Where is Rosso today ?

• 302.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-297: Sorry but I don’t listen to anyone from the Last Outpost calling another place “European” :-) Except if I want comedy that is.

• 303.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-299: The Blues will surprise friend and foe this year……check it out. (I just hope it’s the ‘pleasant’ sort of surprise, not the fuckivesteppedindgshyte sort – but surprise they will)

• 304.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-293:

> Natal qualified by beating Northern Free State,

The Purple People Eaters

Many of the big teams hated playing there, especially on a cold Friday evening on a rock hard pitch covered only with a thin layer of long dead, white, frost killed lawn, against miners out to hurt you

• 305.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The same old same old last 11 years mantra from old Dusky Springfield. !!! No wonder they enjoy such a good beating in super finals and CC ‘s. If it works ,why change mentality I guess. :D

• 306.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-299: but but but, the Blues, NZs second best representative in terms of Super trophies, has as many as SA’s top representative… but I do think by we he meant NZ in general…

anyways, its fun watching supporters of teams who have never won the comp trying to outdo each other in the “my team is better than your team banter”

• 307.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-302:

Hey, I’m a Bulls supporter

I just prefer the wild Africa to the civilized, totally settled Cape with it’s fake French estates

• 308.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-291: lol hi mikey :D

truth be told though you think if the Stormers won last year Tacitus would be caught trawling new zealand websites gloating that “WE” won? :lol:

unheard of!

• 309.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-300: I am actually pretty sure it is you who got sucked into that theory. It is after all not the first time I have heard it.

It always was a particularly weak, but typically South African attempt to use an untruth which is predicted to get air time to popularize unreasonable decisions motivated by the greed that has become South Africa.

You just fell for it. Who can blame you.

Be mindful of following popular theory without substantiating facts for yourself.

• 310.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Okay I haven’t been on here for a while.

What is Skop’s new nick and where is Tac?

• 311.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Oh yeah,then he goes on about Rosso everyday as well.What a dork! :D

• 312.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-307: Bulls supporter? My commiserations.

• 313.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-308: Poor Tacitus might have taken to drink. It was bad enough we won the CC. Poor kiddo.

• 314.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-312:

Thanks, I wipe my tears with three S14 titles

• 315.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Dusky’s post 309 got a bit of the ET about it !Heaven forbid ! :D

• 316.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-307: Ever been to the Cederberg?

• 317.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-313:

Nope he’s used to winning Super titles

• 318.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-304: Ja, the Griffons :-) Natal beat the bottom qualifying team to be included. It is all we asked for in Super rugby, but as expected its a ‘cut me a piece of something for nothing please’ approach as has become custom in South Africa.

• 319.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-314: The Glorious Past :-)

• 320.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-311: Dude, you are the one falling for it.

• 321.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-300: Don’t be nasty now. Ice lollies are nicer . :D

• 322.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-321: ha ha ha ha….ho ho ho ho….geez, you’re a clever oke hey ? F4ck me – I wish I had your magnificent intellect.

• 323.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

C’mon Bafana. You need a safety net.

Katlego Mphela is flippin dissapointing.

• 324.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-323:

From my thoughts to Mjoro’s ears.

• 325.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the curse-306: ” but I do think by
    we he meant NZ in general”

really? he pours scorn over bantering franchise fans only to not trumpet his own franchise but GLOAT as part of a collective? lol.

this is super rugby not the rugby championship :-)

• 326.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Jirre……hoe stink poep ek weer vanoggend ? Bliksem !

• 327.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-319:

At least it was less than ten years ago

Not like you lot, bragging about Wee Pee winning the CC, most of them 100 years ago when there were no other teams to play against, and the players company horses* grazed on Newlands at halftime

*-No sponsored cars yet rememeber

• 328.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-316:

Any thorn trees and Baobabs?

Remember shrubs less than 8 feet doesn’t count

Big Five?

• 329.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-321:

Not where you put it in

• 330.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-309: Oh dear what can the matter be?

@wnbb-315: *****if so; ET is challenging that totallymindfuckedchick Sybil for sheer volume in terms of alters***** But nah….they are poles apart in terms of political ideologies.

• 331.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-327: This is the argument I expect to hear from 60 plus year old ‘oomies’

And for both the Bulls and WP it is their final ‘fig leaf’ especially when they are talking about recent performances against the Sharks. The discussion will inevitably end up at this point.

When you talk to a Cheetahs fan it goes straight to the ‘you bought all our players and that is why we suck’ argument.

Lions……actually Lions fans have just faithfully supported their team. They dont really have a ‘crutch argument’

• 332.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330: I dont know – you tell me. Poor schooling in the Western Cape ? Brain injury ? Inherited low intellectual capacity. Your boyfriend f$%ked your brains out ? I dont know you well enough to tell.

• 333.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-328: Of course we have the Big 5 in the Cape.

Aubergine, Beluga, Le Quartier Francais etc etc.

• 334.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-327: Oh wait, wait, wait….the Lions classic is – we were the first SA team to win a Super rugby title. That is the Lions one. Try it out next time when you are chatting around a braai or something. Scope out who supports which team and start to stir things up. You will see – I am spot on.

• 335.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-333: Aubergine, Beluga, Le Quartier Francais, Vaseline, Methylated Spirits, Sewerage plant at the entrance to the city.

• 336.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-332: Thanks for your concern; but I was asking about you. You seem more than a little ‘twitchy’ this fine evening.
    Yes Dusky, I care….

@Dusky-335: This is what I mean by ‘twitchy’. You’re exhibiting behaviour that is not out of place amongst 4 year olds sticking their tongues out at each other and f # rting in each others faces. It has me worried, that’s all.

• 337.the curse: Reply to this comment

Trans

when the bulls won their first title, as a Saffa fan you felt no joy in SAs maiden super title?

you may state it isn’t TRC, but there’s still plenty if bragging rights for the country who wins super rugby

I agree though, when your country has won the comp 8 times more then your nearest competitor, gloating does seen a little superfluous

• 338.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-331: Well, at least we have stories. What is the guppies spin?

Have a sooper evening Dusky.

Later….much later.

• 339.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-307: Not having baobabs or the big five here isn’t because settlers ‘tamed’ it all years ago. :lol: It’s called different natural habitats. Your “civilized and settled” vs wild comments are pretty far off.

• 340.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-328: I’ll take it as a no? It wasn’t a baiting question. Africa is extremely diverse.

• 341.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-327: Us WPians don’t do “when we” :-) God, Pretorians are becoming like Zimbos :-)

• 342.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@silent_shadow-339: It’s also because we hunted the Cape Lion and elephants to extinction.

CT has wilderness, mountains, sea and the most diverse floral kingdom on the planet on its doorstep. The true Garden of Eden :-)

• 343.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@silent_shadow-339: What he’s actually saying, is that he prefers ‘wild Africa’ as in the Wild West that is Pretoria.

Fords, Brannas, blue balls and handbags outside Presley’s at dawn…….

‘Wild Africa indeed’.

• 344.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-332: Calm the fck down,Pocahontas !You are behaving like a bloody gerbil on speed!

• 345.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-333:

That is in the Cèdre Montagne you want me to visit?

Pretentious P.oofs, think renaming everything in French is better

• 346.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Oh dear Keo. Looks like your “sources” let you down. You got “outsource’d” by a freshman here. Nice one Tank.

• 347.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-342: Not saying otherwise (can’t imagine we had many elephants though) but victoriabok seems to think if it’s only the “European settlers” aspect stopping us looking like the rest of “wild Africa”.

Fynbos is as wild as you can get, but like most Bulls supporters he’s probably got a size complex going on.

• 348.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Well done Bafana…..

• 349.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-335:

> Vaseline, Methylated Spirits, Sewerage plant at the entrance to the city

You forgot Le Tik, Le Passin Gap, Le Papsak, Le Lieberstein et Oncle Tas

• 350.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-343:

Was jy al noord van die Soutpansberg tussen die Mopane?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.