SA to push for bigger Super Rugby
24 Jan 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa will this year support an expanded Super Rugby competition to accommodate the Kings and Lions. But Pacific Island teams will again miss out.
Any expansion can only happen in 2016 but take it as a given Super Rugby will comprise more teams, but they won’t feature teams from the Pacific Islands because there is no financial gain to be made.
Sanzar CEO Greg Peters told the media Sanzar’s three partners Australia, New Zealand and South Africa would make the decision to expand or not later in 2013.
Argentina, Canada, Japan and the United States are seen as the primary targets. Japan because of the cash cow it promises to be, Argentina as a commitment to the expanded Rugby Championship that featured the Pumas for the first time and Canada and the United States because they are seen as potential cash cows, especially the United States. The word is to have one team from each of those countries.
It is one of the reasons Canada and the United States will play in the Pacific Nations Cup, which again shows how poorly the Island representation of Tonga, Fiji and Samoa are treated within Sanzar.
South Africa has always been seen as the big brother to Samoa in terms of value attributed to playing against Samoa and giving the country’s rugby side as much playing opportunity as possible.
New Zealand and Australia do nothing to promote the virtues of any of the Island teams because financially they offer nothing in terms of broadcasting deals.
‘We are considering whether or not we will include new territories in Super Rugby and one of the factors we’ll be weighing up is their [Canada and United States] competitiveness,’ Peters told The Australian.
‘Super Rugby in its present form is a pretty successful model … and we are not going to water it down. But we’d be derelict in our duty if we didn’t consider expanding into areas. The United States is a very big market and so is Japan and Asia generally. Ultimately it all comes down to what is in the best interests of the three Sanzar parties.’
Peters said player welfare would be a consideration but an expanded competition may allow for the tournament to be split into two pools of 10 teams each, although Australia will definitely not want to lose the conference system and the double-header local derbies. It is proving massive in Australia and the current format gives Australia everything it has wanted in a rugby union tournament that competes with the AFL (Aussie rules) and rugby league’s NRL.
Television audience figures and match attendance were highest in Australian Super Rugby for derby matches and because Australia has no provincial domestic competition Super Rugby doubles as their domestic competition. Just how South Africa and New Zealand agreed to give up so much for Australia to have so much gain is a question that can never be answered by those who did the surrender. If it could they would not have done so.
Ideally South Africa should be playing in a Super Rugby tournament with the best from England and France. Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and Japan should have their own Super Rugby tournament. Geographically that makes more sense, but the Celtic nations (Scotland, Ireland and Wales) remain the stumbling block to any South African participation in Europe.
New Zealand knows it can’t do justice to more than five teams, Australia is at its maximum and South Africa’s only need is to ease the political tensions and have all six regions represented. Then it is a matter of which new territories can make the existing Sanzar partners the biggest financial net gain.
Sanzar’s counter argument to the Pacific Islands is that it is the responsibility of the IRB to develop those countries. I don’t buy it, but then Sanzar has never been big on a purchase of morality.

540 Comments
24 Jan 2013, 06:52 am
The Samoan rugby team is full of NZ Samoans who all learned their rugby in NZ, expect the Moans to take some big scalps this year.
24 Jan 2013, 07:03 am
Keohane talks a load a shitt sometimes…WTF has Sa done for Samoa to all of a sudden be seen as the Big Brother…We the Nz Maori have toured Samoa and played them more than Sa….Keo should STFU..knows farkall
24 Jan 2013, 07:06 am
mixed views really.
wil it dilute the competitiveness of the teams?
already with the Kings and Lions being pushed in this is a concern.
the truth is it’ll turn into a two tier comp, which to some extent it already is.
24 Jan 2013, 07:09 am
Why on earth would anybody in Australia want to change the format? Good luck sanzar. No point in having an American team. Would prefer a pacific conferance with the argies thrown in there.
24 Jan 2013, 07:11 am
Te Rangi, exactly and if they aren’t careful the Samoans might start beating them shortly.
24 Jan 2013, 07:11 am
Outside of RWCs SA has only played Samoa twice and Fiji once. How does make us a Pacific Islander Big Brother?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-3: A 2-tier system could work and will allow for promotion/relegation.
24 Jan 2013, 07:15 am
@Baylion-6: Oh, and Tonga twice.
24 Jan 2013, 07:16 am
Going by the comments on KEO after a Samoan Bokke game they are viewed as savages not fit to play SA, where does the brotherly part fit in there KEO?
24 Jan 2013, 07:17 am
When last did the ABs play Samoa? Just curious.
24 Jan 2013, 07:19 am
@Te Rangatira-2:
@Baylion-6:
agreed.
its a bit of a stretch really.
Mark uses poetic license too often, i suppose his aim is to sell the fairtytale of rugby at times.
@Baylion-6:
i suppose that could work.
next challenge is the distances involved.
24 Jan 2013, 07:21 am
NZ have a vested interest in keeping the Islanders isolated, because it forces the talent to go to NZ to make a living, where they can be groomed to the NZ structures and possibly the All Blacks. If the Tongans, Fiji and Samoan players suddenly have a competitive league with word-wide exposure and development and everything that comes with it, they would be far less inclined to make the trek over to the big island.
Why would NZ support such a thing?
24 Jan 2013, 07:22 am
@NZINCHINA-5:
Yep, the little brother…big brother syndrome…perhaps China.
24 Jan 2013, 07:27 am
@stormersboy-11:
you can Oz into that equation too.
between their three codes i would bet they probably steal as much or more than the Kiwis do.
24 Jan 2013, 07:27 am
@skunk-9:
24 Jan 2013, 07:28 am
Why not add Russia and Hungary?
Then the Kings might get 2 wins.
SA has never had more than 3 competitive teams in a given year, mostly only 2 and now we want 6 teams.
We overestimate our player depth to think we can field 6 competitive teams, and the same goes for Australia who hardly have more than 3 competitive sides at any given moment.
24 Jan 2013, 07:33 am
@stormersboy-11:
Stornersboy, thats not true. It boils down to money…end of story
24 Jan 2013, 07:37 am
@stormersboy-11:
@Te Rangatira-16:
TR you are right, money and a better life will always be the major factor.
Stormersboy
Does the same principle not also exist here?
How many Eastern Cape youngsters go to other provinces on scholarships and then play for those provinces?
Every year Free State youngsters go to Natal etc. for the better lifestyle and contracts.
24 Jan 2013, 07:38 am
@Te Rangatira-2: rubbish! And what have NZ done to claim big brother status? have the All Blacks ever toured Samoa? Have you askd for them to be included into the 3N like SARU has for Argentina and Samoa. No alll you do is poach, pillage, and steal.
@NZINCHINA-8: Those thugs were not Samoan, they were born and bred kiwi thugs remember. Nearly all of them.
24 Jan 2013, 07:39 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10:
Keohane is putting something out there to gain leverage for a sixth Sa franchise in Super Rugby. The only country of the Sanzar alliance that can get a competitive team up and going on the field from day one is Nz, only thing we can barely look after five on a financial level.
24 Jan 2013, 07:39 am
@Te Rangatira-2: I quote the great Michael Jones, when coaching Samoa pre 2007 World Cup. Samoa were in SA for a three match warm-up. Jones told us that SA have always been more willing to grow Samoan rugby, through playing opportunities than New Zealand, and that he found that sad given Samoa and NZ were neighbours and that Auckland was the biggest Polynesian City in the world.
Contact Mr Jones yourself if you have a query on this and see what his view is.
24 Jan 2013, 07:40 am
@NZINCHINA-8: have you never called your younger brother a savage when he rips into you and comes close to beating the **** out of you lol It is just not on. What happened to hierarchy?
24 Jan 2013, 07:45 am
@RL-18:
It was Keohane who put the Big brother act outthere….read his words. I said Nz Maori have toured there and played them more than Sa. So what if Saru wanted Samoa in the tri-nations were they going to pay for it?
@nortierd-15: and we know the Lions would get five points
@keo-20:
How much of what was said is standard PR?
You know one does not say bad things about ones host.
Michael Jones is revered and a legend, both as a person and player, but we know by now that the sound bites coming from coaches and players are pretty PC.
That’s one of the things I miss from P Divvy, he was more honest and interesting than all the others rolled into one.
24 Jan 2013, 07:46 am
@keo-23:

On a good day perhaps?
24 Jan 2013, 07:47 am
@Te Rangatira-22: Samoa, a brother to SA Rugby. Samoa, a distant cousin to NZ Rugby.
24 Jan 2013, 07:47 am
@stormersboy-11:
It’s like turkeys voting for Christmas.
24 Jan 2013, 07:49 am
@keo-21:
Precisely.
If we get them in the next World Cup I’ll be sending a strongly worded email to the IRB.
24 Jan 2013, 07:51 am
@keo-20:
Who’s this us you talk about…gotta drop Michael Jones name for leverage..I could drop some names to from the islands who dislike Sa Rugby…The truth is you are all talk and have done farkall for Samoa.
24 Jan 2013, 07:53 am
@Te Rangatira-22: yes, just like we pay for and sponsor 5 ANZAC super teams. The reason you (NZRU) do not, did not want them in an extended 3N is because it would have weaked the All Blacks significantly.
24 Jan 2013, 07:54 am
@Te Rangatira-19:
agreed its a stretch though i’m not sure if he’s trying to sell two SA teams.
not too sure about NZ being able to run six competitive super teams, TR.
highlanders, hurricanes and chiefs (save two seasons) have been mediocre to poor i would think, at the least i wouldn’t say they were competitive.
throw in the blues after their 90′s period?
24 Jan 2013, 07:57 am
@keo-26:
What a joke….shouldn’t you be worrying about the underprivileged in your own country?….back on it again…
24 Jan 2013, 07:58 am
@nortierd-15: Very good post.
24 Jan 2013, 07:59 am
@nortierd-17:
i disagree, Nortie
not quite the same moving from one province to another within the same country. the players involved will still be available for their country of origin whereas this is not the case with PI’s.
also, there’s a lot of rumours the NZ’s cap PI’s so they wont be able to play for their countries irrespective of whether they break into the AB elite squad or not. they cap them at lower levels?
24 Jan 2013, 08:02 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31:
How many games did you Bulls play against Nz teams last year Houston? 20% Record wasn’t it…A sixth Nz Franchise would probably get slaughtered in the Nz Conference but they would be more thancapable of taking out the bumm teams in the other two.
24 Jan 2013, 08:02 am
@Te Rangatira-22:
to be fair, NZ Maori are not tier 1 so dont really count as much.
24 Jan 2013, 08:06 am
@RL-30:
Look mate, you have your opinion…fine and dandy. Unlike you I have lived amongst the Island people all my life.
24 Jan 2013, 08:08 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-34:
Bakkies, how many young SA players play in Europe?
How many play International rugby for their ” adopted” country.
How many aspire to play for those countries?
Elton Jantjies got a sympathy cap last year and let’s see how many more HM will give him during the rest of his coaching tenure.
He went on how many tours with Divvy and obviously carried the tackle bags wrong or something, because he never got on the field.
Yes, maybe he wasn’t the best in his position and I can live with him not being capped on those merits, but he is young and could have had a long International career in most of the European countries had he gone over and played long enough to qualify for citizenship.
24 Jan 2013, 08:11 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36:
hehe..yes…but the Nz Maori record against top tier teams aint that bad.
24 Jan 2013, 08:12 am
@Te Rangatira-22:
hey ranga… how you tonight (nz-time…)
“So what if Saru wanted Samoa in the tri-nations were they going to pay for it?”
well bud… seems we pay for just about everything else anyway… our strong viewership figures bring in the big bucks in the current format subsidising nz and especially aussie rugby…
so why not subsidise samoa as well…?
we can simply shift some of the funds allocated to nz and aus sideways to samoa…
24 Jan 2013, 08:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-34:
If Pacific Island players are born in Nz or hold Nz citizenship/residency then they have every right to play for a Nz rep side
24 Jan 2013, 08:14 am
@nortierd-38: You and I obviously ate the same thing for breakfast this morning!
24 Jan 2013, 08:15 am
I like the idea of going up north. SA play aus and nz in the RC. Besides it will only benefit our players financially and prolong their careers. No more expats
24 Jan 2013, 08:16 am
@nortierd-15:
i agree entirely, but neither do NZ.
at most two or three NZ teams are ever really sure bets to win it (make the playoffs).
24 Jan 2013, 08:17 am
@nortierd-38: enough players to allow us to field 6 very strong super teams. At one stage in last years 6N competition there were 5 of our locks playing rugby for those teams.
24 Jan 2013, 08:20 am
Wikipedia: In the 2007 World Cup there were 14 New Zealand born players in the Samoan squad
Current Samoan squad: 10 NZ born players, 18 who play or have played club rugby in NZ
SA: 1
Sorry, but the figures don’t confirm SA’s Big Brother status
24 Jan 2013, 08:22 am
@Te Rangatira-35:
come on TR, put some effort into your stats.
the **** NZ teams overall success in SA is probably much much lower than that.
further, their overall competiton success is well documented on season by season the rankings.
‘if you ain’t first, you’re last’ buddy boy…
24 Jan 2013, 08:25 am
@BrumbiesBoy-42:

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44:
Fair point Baks
The norm should be 4 each per SANZAR nations, then they can add Argentina, USA and Japan if they want and the Pacific Islands
16 or 20 teams in 2 pools of 8 or 10.
@RL-45:
Yep, then we could, but currently in SA alone I don’t believe we have enough players to do so.
24 Jan 2013, 08:25 am
@RL-30:
true true
@nortierd-38:
@Te Rangatira-41:
fair enough, i accept.
the times have changed and i’m being a little old fashioned i suppose.
24 Jan 2013, 08:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44: The difference Bakkies, is that even their kakkestofkakteams don’t lose 14 out of 14 games in a super season…..
We have had too many teams that finish bottom of the pile year in, year out since the inception of the tournie.
It’slikewefuckingOWNthewoodenspoon.
24 Jan 2013, 08:27 am
If this is meaning expanding Super Rugby I am not for it. It is diluting it biig time. Rather stick t having another competition for these other countries. Sorry but that’s how I feel. No slight intended to the Islanders and others.
24 Jan 2013, 08:28 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44:
actually no, that’s not true.
at most two NZ teams ever look likely winners.
24 Jan 2013, 08:28 am
@Jeez-43: me too. RC stays as is and franchise rugby up north.
24 Jan 2013, 08:29 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-50:

Hear hear
Give that girl a Bells
24 Jan 2013, 08:34 am
Great atmosphere at the Mabhida last night for the Bafana game.
The really can act though, jeez.
That oke at the end who looked like a sniper had taken him to within an inch of his life should have been taken out back so someone else could have finished him off.
Actually disgraceful behaviour from a SA sports team. Man up boys. You won, act like men and not farking prima donnas.
24 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52: bakkies, I like it when you challege yourself.
24 Jan 2013, 08:41 am
@Te Rangatira-29:
you seem a little sensitive on the subject buddy.
maybe you just feel bad about sidelining your moan cousins.
24 Jan 2013, 08:47 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52: Maybe…..but as I said before, their remaining 3 teams NEVER look like wooden spooners either?
Bottom line, whether we enjoy hearing this or not. We (SA) provide and ‘have’ provided Super rugby with the kakkestteams in the tournie throughout……
And it won’t be changing this year.
The Rebels and Force were supposed to take the ‘wooden spoon’ away from us…. and we all know how that worked out.
@nortierd-54: Make it 2
Amper naweek.
24 Jan 2013, 08:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52:
Every NZ team bar the highlanders has played in a Super final, the only stat you need to concern yourself with Houston is NZ 11 SA 3 titles.
24 Jan 2013, 08:58 am
yip… repeat what has been said before when this subject comes up…
would rather scale it down to a 9 (max 12) team comp with less games but higher quality rugby due to fresher fitter (less injured) players…
if they want to start another comp for other teams, cool… but as an entirely separate comp not as a two-tier comp… because ‘super’ denotes rugby of a higher calibre…. not a higher number of teams playing mediocre games…
and yes… for the predictable ones… even if it means the stormers not making it…
because then the doo-dah will really get real… only three teams per country will mean a considerable rise in standards by teams in all three countries to ensure they qualify every year…
24 Jan 2013, 09:00 am
@RL-18:
Here we go.
PLease provide facts with all the players we have poached or be quiet.
@keo-20:
Do you know how much money we send to Samoa for education etc?
How many players in the Samoa team learn there game in NZ?
NOw lets look at what SA do for Samoa…….. nothing.
24 Jan 2013, 09:03 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52:
I suggest you worry about your owe country with the lack of winning a super rugby title.
24 Jan 2013, 09:05 am
@ufo-60: “…because ‘super’ denotes rugby of a higher calibre…”
I know what you’re trying to say BUT…they tarnish that image by allowing a 2nd Division team to use political interference to force their way into the competition…
24 Jan 2013, 09:08 am
@keo-20:
And quoting from a player that turned his back on his country in the first place is rather odd.
Have you got your own views or is this the land of quotes?
24 Jan 2013, 09:09 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-50:
i hear you Pedigree but at same time the NZ’s do have a majority of their teams performing in mid table most of the time, with one maybe two breaking to the the top of the log.
the stats dont lie, or as my man Ricky says; ‘if you ain’t first, you’re last’…
24 Jan 2013, 09:11 am
Oh and Keo.
Samoa have been funded by millionaire Sir Michael Fay, one of New Zealand’s wealthiest men, since 1996….. cant see anything about SA still but i will keep looking.
24 Jan 2013, 09:12 am
@John Galt-55:
agreed, absolutely!
very pleased with the win but it should be done like men, not boys.
@RL-56:
oh RL, super rugby deserves a guy like you.. *whispers* come to the bulls …
24 Jan 2013, 09:16 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65:
Rubbish there were numerous occasions when NZ made up 3 of the 4 finalists under the old format, I see funding appears to be a problem for the rampant drug abuse ( cheating) at SA schools, I really hope this doesn’t mean dopers are going to slip through the cracks.
24 Jan 2013, 09:16 am
yep
sA is indeed samoas big brother
when SA commentators refer to coconut tackles it does imply the old jackboot on the throat type of sibling rivalry
24 Jan 2013, 09:17 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-58:
look, i’m not arguing with you.
the point i wanted to make is that more teams across the board is not necessarily a good thing. if the best the majority of Kiwi teams can do is stay one rank above the wooden spoonists its not exactly the bees farken knees either.
slice it and dice it, mid-table is still mid-table.
or as my man Ricky Bobby would say…
@the curse-69:
I reckon the Moans might take the Bokke this year, if they played in Apia they’d have them.
@BrumbiesBoy-63:
and teams that have lost every game of a campaign don’t…?
24 Jan 2013, 09:19 am
3 NZ super teams have won the title, or 60%
2 Aussie teams have.
1 Saffa team.
SA pushed for the conference system because you struggled to get a team in the finals, with the conferences you at Lear are guaranteed one
SARU further weakening your conference by including the kings is further proof they know SA can’t compete against the big boys of rugby
24 Jan 2013, 09:19 am
@NZINCHINA-59:
only TWO out of the FIVE NZ teams have been resposible for 10 of those titles between them.
as for the rest… if you ain’t first, you’re last, sonny… if you ain’t first, you’re last…
24 Jan 2013, 09:20 am
@ufo-60:
or split it into a premiere and 1st division with relegation between the two?
24 Jan 2013, 09:20 am
@Hurricane-61: look I do not have all day to research and go back decades into this poaching problem, but here is a small sample … Kaino, Rokocoko, Isaia Toeava, Mils Muliaina, Sosene Anesi, Sione Lauaki, Ben Franks, John Schwalger and Rodney So’oialo.
24 Jan 2013, 09:21 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65:
Your stats are way off.
Hurricanes had better percentage of wins upto 2010 over the stormers.
They have had better win ratio over the lions and cheetahs.
24 Jan 2013, 09:22 am
@Hurricane-62:
i pay the bills for both, so maybe you need to stfu, Donny..?..
24 Jan 2013, 09:22 am
@RL-76:
you are kidding me….. OK we will leave it at that.
You do not know what you are talking about.
24 Jan 2013, 09:23 am
@ufo-40:
Hi Ufo…we’re not going down that road but I thought Rupert and his croonies paid for Super Rugby…comprende
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-47:
Are you disputing my stat that the Bulls v Nz teams had an 80% loss record?
@gunther-57:
Gunther…not sensitive…just tierd of the ignorance…
@NZINCHINA-68:
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-74:
11 to 3, which part of that don’t you get?
24 Jan 2013, 09:24 am
“Ideally South Africa should be playing in a Super Rugby tournament with the best from England and France. ”
Cannot agree more…
This is where max benefit for SA rugby will come from – financially and rugby playing wise…
24 Jan 2013, 09:24 am
@Te Rangatira-80:
Houston…80% loss record in 2012
24 Jan 2013, 09:25 am
@the curse-73:
Bakkies is clueless.
He was found out that his country is not what he has told everyone the other night and now lauging at our 3 super winning teams when SA have only had 1.
24 Jan 2013, 09:26 am
@Heavens Game-83:
I agree you can’t compete down under.
24 Jan 2013, 09:26 am
@NZINCHINA-68:
@the curse-73:
please refer to post #74.
try to keep yourselves together while doing so
we’ve just got started
24 Jan 2013, 09:27 am
@Heavens Game-83:
Howzit Hg….you are exactly right…more money….more wins possibly, win..win situation
24 Jan 2013, 09:28 am
Super Rugby in its current format is just impractical. Expanding it would be ludicrous.
And this has nothing to do with the amount of games played, but the territory the competition covers.
The travel factor will drive players north sooner than we realise. Even splitting the competition up into two groups will do little to curb this.
NZ and Oz will have to go play with the Island teams, Japan and USA – enough money in there for them. SA and Arg should look to Europe.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-87:
You must have missed post 68, the second paragraph.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65: The purpose of a competition….is for participating teams to actually provide ‘competition’…….
Mid table finishes mean that a team has provided ‘competition’ at times throughout the tournie.
Finishing bottom, means you have providedfuckall except a few laughs….
The S15 by it’s very nature should be a tournie in which NO GAME is a given…..a favourite to win a game – yes, but no GIVENS.
Sadly, some of our Saffa teams have been the ‘givens’ and not the competition for too long….
In a tournament there has to be a winner…..but: there also has to be a certain level of competition provided by those who finish 2nd, 3rd, 4th , 5th and 6th etc in order to make it a decent fight.
What there doesn’t have to be, is a Saffa team or 2; proppingupthefuckingtable year in and year out
“Here’s the deal I’m the best there is. Plain and simple. I wake up in the morning and I piss excellence.” – sadly, this ain’t relevant to our SA teams most of the time.
@Heavens Game-83:
Couldn’t agree more.
Bakkies well be blasting the Poms for cheating then…
@Hurricane-79: yes let’s drop it but they were all poached from either Samoa, Australia, Tonga, Fiji and American Samoa. WTH poaching from Australia.
24 Jan 2013, 09:29 am
NZ is the only country where all 5 teams have played in a super final
SARU pushing for expansion because they farked up withy the lions/kings fiasco
24 Jan 2013, 09:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-87:
You just do not get it do you.
This is fukn funny.
24 Jan 2013, 09:31 am
@RL-93:
You said drop it but then carried on…. make your mind up
@the curse-94:
I was wrong then the Highlanders have?
@Hurricane-77:
what!
hahahaha
are you here for the debate or are you just gonna arse around in the middle and back of the class with the naughty lions?
They will have to split up the competitions into Premier League, 1st League etc, otherwise we will see too many injuries with amount of games to be played.
24 Jan 2013, 09:32 am
TR
I did warn you about these blokes mate.
@Te Rangatira-80:
which would make him, and sa, the big brothers of nz and aus…
that’s what makes many saffas so irate i guess… big brother getting beaten up by little brother too often… it’s not the natural order of things… but big brother will get his head together and not worry about putting a beating on little brother and restore the natural order of rugby again…
it is coming…
comprende…?
@NZINCHINA-97:
Highlanders beat the Stormers in a semi-final in Cape Town in 1998 (?) I believe.
24 Jan 2013, 09:33 am
@Te Rangatira-80:
no, my point is your kak teams best performances are still mid to bottom of the table, ever.
24 Jan 2013, 09:33 am
yep. landers lost to the saders if memories correct in the final. Tony Brown was their 1st five
24 Jan 2013, 09:34 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98:
OH no i have seen how you guys treat the lions….no respect .
In fact there is no debate which i can see.
If you had a point to anything then maybe but you have blabbed a lot of nothings really…..no debate
24 Jan 2013, 09:35 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:
and yet you have most of the time 4 teams in the same area… in fact you guys have taken the most last places than anyone….. super rugby and tri nations.
24 Jan 2013, 09:36 am
@PissAnt-102:
Cheers my memory is fading but a good effort then to have all 5 teams in the final.
24 Jan 2013, 09:37 am
@Hurricane-106:
More than Australia?
@NZINCHINA-107:
strange….bakkies stats beg to differ
@the curse-94:
that is true…
(your second para)
24 Jan 2013, 09:38 am
@NZINCHINA-108:
in what? 3nations?
24 Jan 2013, 09:39 am
@Hurricane-109:
Would seem so, who can provide us a post of the wooden spooners since 96′ for super and tri nations, it would be interesting to see.
24 Jan 2013, 09:40 am
@Hurricane-111:
Both was a little surprised I thought the Aussies would have the most
24 Jan 2013, 09:43 am
@the curse-73: SA can’t compete against the big boys?
The facts disagree with your scewed fanboy oppinion.
Six years and three SAFFA Super rugby winners. All of them before the current conference system.
24 Jan 2013, 09:43 am
@John Galt-55: it is not just Bafana Bafana.
Soccer is a prima donna sport. Period.
It is part sport, part skill, part ingrained cheating, part showboating, part dramatic acting …
Yet it remains entertaining
Go Bafana Bafana
24 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@goodstuff-114:
That was a very good effort for sure, but you’d have to admit she was pretty lean for the other 14 years.
24 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
keo just trying to ramp up hits
Samoa was a state of NZ after the war, until they gained independence
the relationship between the two countries is built on more than just poaching
200000 Samoans approx have emigrated to NZ from Samoa
approx 30 of that number have represented the ABs
many more kiwi born of Samoan heritage have represented their country of birth
so funny
lets not mention SA raping Zimbabwe for all their rugby talent though, it’s somehow different if thy are seeking a better life for their families, unlike the Samoans who move to NZ for similar reasons
the fact so many around te world club to the whole poaching debacle is hilarious, an shows how closes minds they really are
jut another excuse I explain 12 wins in 20 years against the pacific islands of NZ
lmfao
travel disadvantage has gone as shown by the ABs going to Argentina and then SA and whipping both sides
guess the “truthers” are really clutching now
24 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
@Heavens Game-83:
abso(FARKING)lutely HG
couldn’t agree more
we are closer to the europeans than we are the anzacs.
we could continue playing them in tests but for the rest, i say scrap it.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-91:
ok, so 5 or 6 wins out of 13/16 every year counts for competitive?
you use a lot of words to say a little, Pedigree.
24 Jan 2013, 09:50 am
@NZINCHINA-113:
Ozzie = 3 times last in super rugby table
SA = 12 times last in super rugby table
NZ= 2 times.
24 Jan 2013, 09:50 am
@the curse-117:
The KEO punters were picking the black machine to fade in the second half at Soccer City due to travel and altitude, they actually went up a gear. The old travel excuse just died in the arse.
24 Jan 2013, 09:51 am
@ufo-101:
hehe…I comprende Ufo…I wish only the best for you…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:
The reason for this is the abnormal strength of the Nz Conference….getting it..
24 Jan 2013, 09:51 am
@Hurricane-119:
Thanks Hurri, Bakkies dear oh dear .
24 Jan 2013, 09:55 am
@ufo-101:
normally the little/young brother is spoilt by the parents……. IRB loves us
24 Jan 2013, 09:57 am
@the curse-100:
Kia ora Bro…fark….I was wondering when Keo will post an article where we could have some fun on…Anyways, you been living it up in Oz…
24 Jan 2013, 10:03 am
@Te Rangatira-121:
@Hurricane-123:
never a truer word spoken in jest…!!
24 Jan 2013, 10:05 am
@NZINCHINA-120:
Yes China…don’t want to hear of the sad travel excuse…the Abs buried that one at that Glorious stadium….didn’t Retallick outplay the hyped Estebeth, hes an Ab first timer and he made a mockery of the travel excuse…
24 Jan 2013, 10:07 am
@NZINCHINA-122:
And just as funny….
Out of 17 years of super rugby….Hurricanes have finished higher than the bulls in 9 of those years….lol Bakkies is full of it.
24 Jan 2013, 10:08 am
TR
yeah bro. weather has been awesome, looking forward to the rugby kicking of
we must excuse our saffa brothers and their ignorance
the emasculation over the last twenty years is mind farking them, they realise they are just also rans in rugby terms
there whole best in the world theory was built on their cheating ways over the first 70 years until isolation
playing in their country most of the time, not allowing a team to bring their best players, Afrikaans speaking refs etc
the cold hard reality of truth as evidenced since the early 90s is only sinking in now
and like a wounded animal backed into a corner, they lash out blaming anything except the real reason
they are just not good enough
24 Jan 2013, 10:08 am
@Te Rangatira-126:
It was certainly a fine example of a very professional, well conditioned, well managed team knowing what exactly what they needed to do months in advance and being superbly prepared for it.
24 Jan 2013, 10:13 am
@PissAnt-89: the voice of reason. I do not want to watch my Lions playing in Houston or Nagasaki or Chongqing. Give me one time zone from 3pm until 10pm for me to watch all matches.
This Jurie Roux oke better be awake.
24 Jan 2013, 10:15 am
@Hurricane-127:
To his credit he keeps coming back for more, it’s going to be real sweet when my Blues demolish the Bully boys at the garden of Eden in a few weeks time, old Bakkies has already written the excuse list for that one.
24 Jan 2013, 10:16 am
@the curse-128:
You seem to have it worked out there…Pops. The funny thing is there are some here on Keo that could turn the Bok into world beaters….only thing they happen to be Nzers and Sa Blues supporters (as their second choice)
24 Jan 2013, 10:17 am
@RL-130:
Chongqing mega city 35 million people and virtually unknown outside of China, it would be a superb venue for a Crusaders Sharks international rematch.
24 Jan 2013, 10:20 am
haha
these Kiwis are so full of themselves
either your team is a winner or it ain’t
TWO NZ teams have won 10 of the 11 titles ALL NZ teams have competed for
since forever
its basic guys… basics…
out of FIVE NZ teams at best ONE OR TWO are competitive and likely champs
for the rest, as my man Ricky Bobby would say…
24 Jan 2013, 10:20 am
do the lions still play rugby?
hahahaha
what are the time zones like with Russia and SA?
TR
you can only help people that want to help themselves. As Mitch proved with the lions, they’re not prepared to do the real hard yards and as such their results will stay the same
NZs dominance over SA is built on superior fitness, their big men just can’t maintain the pace over 80 minutes. Soccer city the prime example.
24 Jan 2013, 10:21 am
@PissAnt-89:
from my heart, i sincerely believe this is better for SA rugby.
on so, so many levels.
24 Jan 2013, 10:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136:
It couldn’t be any worse on the trophy front for you
24 Jan 2013, 10:24 am
@RL-130:
am all for it, RL
would prefer competition for whom you do not have to continually rewrite the rules of the game (2010 to 2012 a prime example).
24 Jan 2013, 10:25 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134:
so how many SA teams have one the super rugby title again?
You are as thick as a brick.
3 NZ teams have won it.
1 SA team has won it…….
Your Bulls team is a 5 year wonder….the other 12 years was average to pathetic.
NOw off you go.
It’s difficult. There is massive value for SA players to continually play against the best of Oz and NZ. But this will ultimately be the best route to follow considering self-preservation in the game for SA.
@the curse-135:
Yep…that is the true essence of Nz success…Superior fitness…it is that simple.
24 Jan 2013, 10:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:
would prefer competition = would prefer competitors
24 Jan 2013, 10:26 am
@Te Rangatira-141:
And skill levels
24 Jan 2013, 10:27 am
@NZINCHINA-133: china – don’t care if kiwis and cons can play superrugby in china’s mega cities, just don’t want our teams going there and everywhere. Our involvment in superrugby has to come to its natural end.
24 Jan 2013, 10:29 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:
Rules changes…travel…. stadiums….cheating…..refs……. the list goes on.
24 Jan 2013, 10:31 am
hehe…the Poms will be very stringent in their testing Houston…thats a good thing.
ok i am out.
Going to have to leave as it is getting a wee bit embarrassing for Bakkies and i just cannot watch no longer.
@RL-144:
But flying all the way to Europe will be fine, tell me if you’d had as much success as NZ in the comp would you still want to pull out?
24 Jan 2013, 10:33 am
@NZINCHINA-143:
Just comes naturally China…
24 Jan 2013, 10:34 am
I’m out as well – cheers.
24 Jan 2013, 10:35 am
@NZINCHINA-137:
@Hurricane-139:
why is it so hard for you to accept only one or two Kiwi teams are ever likely champs?
honestly, i dont see how this is a disservice, at all.
@PissAnt-140:
we’ll keep the tests more or less as they are, if anything there’s an argument for playing against them more often at provincial/franchise level in fact being detrimental to our game at national level.
the value of interest and viewer numbers would not go down as far as the SA rugby fan/subscriber base is concerned. combining the three largest and richest rugby markets (plus a few others) easily implies increases in revenue and wealth across the board.
all i see are win-wins, everywhere i look.
24 Jan 2013, 10:36 am
Yep…catch you up Hurricane,China Pops….Houston,Ufo and RL…KA KITE ANO
24 Jan 2013, 10:37 am
The criticism of NZ and Samoa is not aimed at the people of New Zealand but at those running NZRFU who have not embraced Samoa as a brother in the game.
24 Jan 2013, 10:40 am
@keo-153:
Keo…you’re all good…Look after youself…sorry for the bad words…Good topic though. I do agree we can do more for Island Rugby.
24 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
@Hurricane-145:
you know it, i know it, everybody knows it, Hurri
you guys fiddle far too much for anybodies liking at times.
i enjoy healthy competition but flip man, where do you draw the line..?..
@Te Rangatira-146:
glad you’re listening to me too, TR.
yes, i welcome stringency… at ALL LEVELS OF WHAT WE DO..
@Hurricane-147:
@NZINCHINA-150:
cheers Boys.
24 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
@Te Rangatira-152:
cheers TR, have a good one bud.
24 Jan 2013, 10:44 am
@keo-153:
Fair enough…we all know how most the Rugby Unions can be failures.
24 Jan 2013, 10:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-151: Well, in 2013 there are 3 NZ title contenders: Chiefs, Saders & Landers …
& the Landers franchise is the best value for money bet for outright Super XV victory
you betta believe it …
24 Jan 2013, 10:46 am
Keo has mollified the keewee contingent.
Peace is restored.
24 Jan 2013, 10:53 am
@gunther-159:
24 Jan 2013, 10:59 am
This is too much. Just keep it at 15 teams and play a 16 week tournament lasting from Febuary until May. That keeps people interested and makes sure each team plays the others once. Thats all we need. The only expansion could be a team from Argentina and adding both Lions and Kings.
That is it. Keep it where its at.
Stormers, Sharks, Bulls, Cheetahs, Kings
Blues, Cheifs, Hurricanes, Highlanders, Crusaders
Reds, Waratahs, Brumbies, Force, Rebels
With option to include Lions + Argentine team.
24 Jan 2013, 11:06 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-118: Bakkies. I am saying that teams like the Lions and Cheetahs have not exactly set super rugby on fire – ever. A mid table finish would beahugeachievement, a miracle.
If they won more than what they lost over the years, we wouldn’t even be having this conversation.
No Kiwi or Aussie team has performed as badly as some of our teams. No-one can deny this. It’s out there for all to see (and yes, it is sad.)
24 Jan 2013, 11:07 am
SA doesn’t deserve 6 teams.
for all the vaunted depth you guys apparently have, you struggle getting 4 competitive teams
24 Jan 2013, 11:08 am
@the curse-163: True
24 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
@Angostura-158:
i’ll be following the Landers progress with interest then, Ango.
i do think they’re gonna be a little hard done by with the conference format as it is and the 10 point free lunches for SA teams added in, throw in the scrap between them in their local derbies and i would say its possible only one at best two NZ teams will make the playoffs this season.
24 Jan 2013, 11:12 am
For the good of the game we should be shrinking not growing this format.
But I understand that this is a business and they see the opportunity to make some money over the next 3 or 4 years,. Long term there will be a payoff in terms of other competitions. Including internationals.
24 Jan 2013, 11:13 am
you can tell the season is almost upon us
24 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165:
i mean, seriously… when’s the last time the Crusaders won a title?
one Kiwi win in five seasons so far
expect more of the same
24 Jan 2013, 11:15 am
@the curse-163: Pops, I agree with you. SA should be fielding 4 teams and not one more. Bulls, Stormers, Sharks and a Recce team with the remaining players.
24 Jan 2013, 11:16 am
those days are over
tighter rules and wiser saffa teams have seen to that
24 Jan 2013, 11:17 am
Just sharing it around Bakkies
8 titles more than our partners means we have to throw a few to build your guys hopes some
24 Jan 2013, 11:17 am
Todd Blackadder you beaut! …
24 Jan 2013, 11:19 am
we are no ‘big brother’ to those NZ born Samoan thugs…farkem…they play vuilgat rugby when they pitted against us.
24 Jan 2013, 11:20 am
if they expand then a two tier conference system is the only way Imo
or alternatively a top six after conference playoffs, top two from each who play each other team once and after round robin top two play the final. only concern would be location of games
24 Jan 2013, 11:20 am
Bring back the S12 I say.
That was the greatest rugby comp in the world. Every single game a humdinger.
24 Jan 2013, 11:22 am
oh, and a heartfelt thank you goes out Transformation and Mark
for their tireless campaigning of the Kings cause
i can honestly say
rugby… has been the winner…
24 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165:
Apart from their impressive list of player acquisitions, the Landers this year have the most accommodating fixture list & travel schedule of all franchises:
And they don’t play the Stormers, who I think might just be tops at the conclusion of the log-stage.
fwiw
24 Jan 2013, 11:24 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-162:
and i am saying that only one or two Kiwi teams are ever likely super champs, at any time.
where are we missing each other, Pedi..?..
24 Jan 2013, 11:25 am
@the curse-171:
really?
do you mean it, Pops..?..
you dont sound like you do…
24 Jan 2013, 11:27 am
@Transformation-173:
Keo says that sometimes little brothers can be ungrateful vuilgat thugs.
Has the KING10 EP arrived yet?
I have a new Piccanto being delivered in Bulls livery next Thursday.
24 Jan 2013, 11:27 am
Reading some of the post on who is the better teams in super rugby i went and counted log positions over the last 17 years per team and dived it by the amount of years that team participated to get an average log position for that team.
Please note that this is for all games played before the playoffs.
This only indicates how successfull teams are through the year and not how many trophies they have won.
So here are the teams in order with their average log positions.
1. Crusaders – 3.59
2. Brumbies – 5.29
3. Blues – 5.82
4. Waratahs – 6.24
5. Sharks – 6.29
6. Stormers – 6.44
7. Bulls – 6.65
8. Hurricanes – 6.82
9. Chiefs – 7.00
10. Reds – 7.29
11. Highlanders – 7.76
12. Cheetahs – 10.75
13. Force – 10.86
14. Lions – 10.88
15 Rebels – 14.00
24 Jan 2013, 11:28 am
of course
it was good a new team in the chiefs won it last year. or do you disagree? you’d rather the same teams won it year after year?
24 Jan 2013, 11:31 am
rebels shouldn’t be in the list. they haven’t competed long enough imo
24 Jan 2013, 11:33 am
@Mr Black-181: that proves my earlier contention that the Bulls franchise is on average a mid-table team (with wild swings in both directions)
farken crazy deviation from the mean bru
24 Jan 2013, 11:38 am
@the curse-174:
basically the loss comes where some teams will never get to play others so fans of those regions lose out on seeing their teams play against such or other teams.
by rights, a few teams shouldn’t be playing anyway.
a promo/releg format also excites me.
@Angostura-177:
ok thanks.
seems reasonable i guess.
the Blues dont play the Kings this season fwiw.
24 Jan 2013, 11:39 am
@Angostura-184:
the bulls are the only side to have won the s12,s14 and s15.
only the crusaders can match them…but they keep choking.
24 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
crusaders choking?
hahahaha what are you smoking?
24 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@gunther-180: next week Friday…might drive up to Cape Town for our away fixture & park it slap bang in front of thar Newlands Cubana!
24 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178: But over the years, the Saders, Blues and Chiefs have won it.
We have the Bulls (well done on that
Aussie have the Brumbies and Reds.
24 Jan 2013, 11:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-185:
Yes (re the Blues/Kings omission), but conversely the Landers play all of the likely weakest teams (i.e. the teams most pundits will most likely place in the bottom 5 at the conclusion of the log-stage; alternatively, in the betting, the 5 longest odds franchises for outright victory)
24 Jan 2013, 11:58 am
@Transformation-188:
You’ll get a ticket there.
24 Jan 2013, 12:03 pm
@gunther-191:
ja, if some oke comes out and tells him not to park there…….he’s probably “hitting” on you.
becareful Transie.
24 Jan 2013, 12:09 pm
@gunther-191:
no, they’ll probably tow it
24 Jan 2013, 12:10 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-192:
The police?
I think they are just looking for cool drink money.
24 Jan 2013, 12:16 pm
RL @ 76 – you PLONKER!!
Mils Muliaina came to NZ when he was just ONE YEAR OLD – his parents immigrated to NZ as have almost 200 000 other Samoans wanting a better life for their young children. Mils’s entire upbringing and everything he can remember is NZ, but you say he has been poached?? Are you aware that Gary Teichmann was 14 when he arrived in South Africa from Zimbabwe? There is no difference other than that Mils arrived at a much younger age than did Teichmann, Bobby Skinstad,, Beast, Chavhanga, Corne Krige, Ian Macullum, Kevin Putt, Steve Atherton, Christian Stewart, Nick Mallett and a host of other foreign born Springboks.
Similarly Joe Roco was just FIVE YEARS old when he arrived in NZ, Lauaki and Sooialo were both 8, as for Ben Franks he was born in OZ to Kiwi parents and returned to NZ, how is this a poach?
Wake up and smell reality young man!
24 Jan 2013, 12:22 pm
@NZINCHINA-112: Yes, that would be interesting.
24 Jan 2013, 12:22 pm
@gunther-191: it’ll be worth it…i can’t park it in the school yard opposite the place as noone will see it.
24 Jan 2013, 12:23 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-186:
I’m sorry to say, the Bulls never won the Super 12. As a matter of fact no Saffa ever did. The closest we got, was the Sharks in ’96 and 2001.
24 Jan 2013, 12:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189:
yes, but two of those three teams have 10 of the 11 titles so i think its pretty clear that for the most theres been two likely teams to win it for the NZ’s. even last season it was just the crusaders and chiefs who looked like winning.
also, if you refer to Mr Black’s table for success at winning (and not for titles) it clearly shows two Kiwi teams at or close to the top and test are mid-table or lower.
@Angostura-190:
yes thanks.
i dont see it happening but will follow it with interest.
in my opinion only ONE Kiwi team will make the playoffs and if not then its the Crusaders and Chiefs again ( but any of the Blues, Landers or Canes could swap places with one of them).
24 Jan 2013, 12:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-118:
“we are closer to the europeans than we are the anzacs.”
24 Jan 2013, 12:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199:
Yes Mr Blacks table also shows that SA only have mid to bottom table teams…. where are you seriously going with this.
24 Jan 2013, 12:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-169: Licorish allsorts?
24 Jan 2013, 12:32 pm
@John Galt-175: Oh, how I miss those days.
Real rugby that was.
24 Jan 2013, 12:33 pm
@Dawn-200: And to be honest Dawn, he only says that because in the opinion of the folk up north, Cape Town forms part of Europe
24 Jan 2013, 12:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-193:
They will tow it mos def.
Especially when they see the I heart Luke bumper sticker.
24 Jan 2013, 12:36 pm
@Mr Black-181: Cheers mate, very interesting, I wasn’t expecting my team to be so high up.
On the down side…”close but only two cigars”!
24 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
@Dawn-200:
well it is true
in distance, time zones and culturally.
we also share a remarkably similar moral and ethical oulook in general, and view dishonesty and cheating in low regard.
24 Jan 2013, 12:41 pm
@Hurricane-201:
i am not going anywhere with anything, Hurri
why would you think that..?..
24 Jan 2013, 12:42 pm
@gunther-205:
24 Jan 2013, 12:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
24 Jan 2013, 12:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-204:
Separated only by the the Strait of Gibraltar
24 Jan 2013, 12:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-204:
honestly, other than the rugby nothing about our relationship with the anzacs makes any sense. be it cultural, economic, political or otherwise.
we dont stand to gain much by trade, they have often proved themselves to be against us politically on many issues, they are a destination in itself alone and only therefore offer no additional options of travel in the way europe or africa does (just think trade and flight routes?) and there isn’t much we like about them or they about us culturally.
its a no brainer really.
(dont take this to heart Hurri, i mean no hurt).
24 Jan 2013, 12:51 pm
I wonder if Keo will nominate his own posts for the SA Rugby honorary mention?
24 Jan 2013, 12:52 pm
Bakkies @ 207
lmfao. the current doping scandal in SA rugby would suggest otherwise.
but you keep those blinkers firmly on mate.
24 Jan 2013, 12:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
Hmmm…..oh Houston….the British are up there as the biggest thieves in history, brought on by their snobbery…so sad you look to them for moral and ethical comraderie….
24 Jan 2013, 12:53 pm
do you remember blood gate Bakkies?
is that the morality and ethics you guys share with the Europeans?
hahahaha what a chop
24 Jan 2013, 12:56 pm
@the curse-214:
Pops and TR, you guys are having a field day today.
@Te Rangatira-215:
24 Jan 2013, 12:56 pm
the springbok/CC brand is highly sought after and would be welcomed with open arms in europe imo.
it would be a meeeting of equals, ‘brothers’ if you will
as opposed to ‘two kissing cousins and the family friend they dont like’.
24 Jan 2013, 12:59 pm
@gunther-205:
i hope the guy who tows it is a bulls supporter.
24 Jan 2013, 12:59 pm
Kia Ora Nortie hoe gaan dit?
it certainly is entertaining lol
24 Jan 2013, 13:03 pm
ah Bakkies
the Anzac conspiracy? lmao it’s biscuits mate
24 Jan 2013, 13:04 pm
@the curse-216: Howzit mate!
How about RWC ’07 when they had 16 players on the field?
And Sir Clive “had no idea of how that could’ve happened”!
Chops
24 Jan 2013, 13:05 pm
@the curse-214:
its hardly a scandal, Pops
we make no bones about testing and exposing cheats, as per our normal routine
can you say the same?
@Te Rangatira-215:
i really meant the europeans more so than i did the british, TR
i do not however judge them (the british) in modernity by their ancient historical actions. i would think they would be good to do business with the present, no?
24 Jan 2013, 13:05 pm
@nortierd-217:
Nortie you are a good man….pai marire ki a koe.
24 Jan 2013, 13:07 pm
at the end of the day it really is about our brand
the springboks and CC
and protecting it
anyone would do the same
24 Jan 2013, 13:10 pm
@gunther-205: luke played & captained the Stormers, they dig him in cape town.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212: what do you suppose i share culturally with a scottish person that i don’t with an australian?
honest europoeans? where you on medication (that seems to be your excuse lately) when johnny wilkinson secrety switched rugby balls at the world cup?
24 Jan 2013, 13:11 pm
brumbieboy.
all good here mate, hope you are too
lets not forget swapping the match ball at the 2011 WC
and the Irish may disagree with Bakkies assertion too, especially after the Lions series in 2009 lol
still, it does keep Bakkies nurse and pharmacist in a job, we should be thankful for small mercies
24 Jan 2013, 13:13 pm
or when their clubs wouldn’t realise SAs brothers (the Samoans according to keo) players at the 2003 WC
yep, I’d definitely want to align myself with that type of morality haha
24 Jan 2013, 13:14 pm
@Transformation-226:
Sure they do.
24 Jan 2013, 13:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-223:
Houston…I’m not against your idea of wanting to move North and cuddle up to the Europeans…There are certainly opportunities for Sa there countered by risks…but all in all the positives outweigh the negatives..Getting back to rugby though…don’t be surprised if the Samoans are seeded above you at future World Cups…
24 Jan 2013, 13:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212: ” we dont stand to gain much by trade, they
have often proved themselves to be against
us politically on many issues, they are a
destination in itself alone and only
therefore offer no additional options of
travel in the way europe or africa does (just
think trade and flight routes?) and there
isn’t much we like about them or they
about us culturally.”
is this why scores of south africans have migrated to australia & new zealand?
why is Perth referred to as “Perthfontein”?
24 Jan 2013, 13:20 pm
@Te Rangatira-230: They are more likely to be seeded above you.
24 Jan 2013, 13:21 pm
@the curse-216:
these are isolated incidents as well exceptions to the norm.
@the curse-221:
you’re either naive or an ignorant fool if you think it doesn’t happen at some level, whether willfully contrived or not.
must we bring up ‘Japiegate’ AGAIN..?..
and this isn’t even considering the number of times and ways in which you have undermined us when voting on issues at the IRB.
as for SANZAR the Lions/Kings fiasco is but one of the inumerable instances in which you have srewed us and our rugby.
24 Jan 2013, 13:25 pm
the lions/kings?
hahahaha. so now that fiasco is NZs fault?
step way from the computer Bakkies, open a window and get some fresh air
24 Jan 2013, 13:26 pm
Teams ending top of the Log for Last 17 years in Super Rugby
Crusaders – 4
Brumbies – 3
Reds – 3
Blues – 3
Bulls – 2
Sharks – 1
Stormers – 1
24 Jan 2013, 13:29 pm
@stormer in a teacup-232:
Ahh….No….let me bring you in on a secret…when you play the Islanders, you show no mercy, fight fire with fire, once you do that you rely on superior fitness and technical ability to dismantle them…Then you finish them off in the fight….
24 Jan 2013, 13:29 pm
as far as I know Bakkies, NZ get one vote at the IRB like every other nation
care to provide a link of all those issues we undermine you at the IRB, you know, some proof of your delusion.
thanks
24 Jan 2013, 13:30 pm
Playoffs reached in super rugby
Crusaders – 14
Sharks – 8
Bulls – 7
Brumbies – 6
Blues – 6
Waratahs – 6
Hurricanes – 6
Reds – 5
Stormers – 5
Highlanders – 4
Chiefs – 3
Lions – 2
@Transformation-226:
oh Transie, i suppose next you’re going to tell me you still wear cowhides and carry a Xhosa spear..?..
i’d bet there’s a lot of Scots who’d think you a european Dandy
after all, you have often made mention of your ‘tastes’…
@Te Rangatira-230:
thanks TR.
that would be a dark time for our rugby indeed. kinda like the welsh today i suppose.
@Transformation-231:
thats an entirely different phenomenon, Transie
entirely.
24 Jan 2013, 13:32 pm
we’ve definitely screwed you at rugby
you continue to bend over in front of us with your pants around your ankles and take your beatings
we gave it to you twice last year, and 7 of the last 8 times you’ve had your head buried in the pillow and your @rses in the air on the rugby field
@NZINCHINA-148: yes I would. A single timezone is the dream.
@the curse-234:
yes, it is.
it didn’t have to be this way but you and your cuzzie saw to it different, didn’t you.
24 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239:
Just kidding with you….should be no reason whatsoever that Sa will ever lose to the Samoans…
24 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@the curse-240:
you are very uncouth.
24 Jan 2013, 13:37 pm
@Te Rangatira-236: Thanks for the insight, but not much of a secret. We’ve played more tests against Samoa than the ABs or Wallabies. Only the Wallabies have gone down to them.
24 Jan 2013, 13:38 pm
198…was 2007 not still the s12.
24 Jan 2013, 13:38 pm
saw to what Bakkies?
SA pushed for the conference system
then your INEPT SARU officials bent over for ONiel take it up with your union Bakkies, they continue to screw your rugby, no one else
I feel genuine pity for you
also, do the Europeans even want you guys up north? their schedule is full as it is
24 Jan 2013, 13:39 pm
@Te Rangatira-243:
cheers.
and its not to take anything away from the Samoans, who are bringing more than just physicality to their rugby these days. super rugby and european competition has been good for them.
24 Jan 2013, 13:41 pm
still waiting for those links Bakkies, you know, proof of NZ ******** you guys over at te IRab?
hahaha. I’m uncouth? I don’t believe that the reason for my countries rugby performance is influenced solely an exclusively by another country
you are sick and need serious help
god help your family.
24 Jan 2013, 13:42 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-246:
Super 12 ended in 2005
24 Jan 2013, 13:44 pm
@the curse-247:
we pushed for the expansion of teams so that we could accomodate the Kings and Lions, that was the whole point.
then you guys farked us on the vote.
24 Jan 2013, 13:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239:
“239.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha said:
@Transformation-226:
oh Transie, i suppose next you’re going to tell me you still wear cowhides and carry a Xhosa spear..?..
i’d bet there’s a lot of Scots who’d think you a european Dandy
after all, you have often made mention of your ‘tastes’…”
Nou is dit AAN !!!!
24 Jan 2013, 13:46 pm
and your proof of this is where Bakkies? how do you know how NZ voted?
proof or STFU
24 Jan 2013, 13:47 pm
Who/what is “Japiegate”?
24 Jan 2013, 13:48 pm
@the curse-253:
Bakkies has inside information
24 Jan 2013, 13:49 pm
SANZAR appointed an arbitration panel to decide between the bids lodged by the ARU on behalf of Melbourne and the South African Rugby Union on behalf of the Southern Kings and the Committee decided the optimal location for a 15th team in Super Rugby was Melbourne.
24 Jan 2013, 13:49 pm
Does a European “dandy” wear cowhide?
24 Jan 2013, 13:50 pm
@the curse-256:
Yes indeed
Which kiwi voted for Melbourne
24 Jan 2013, 13:52 pm
why should NZ and AUs cowtow to the political minefield of SA rugby?
obviously SARU and the Kings didnt put together a good enough and professional enough application in comparison to the Rebels
again, blame your own officials for their incompetency it is no one else’s fault
24 Jan 2013, 13:53 pm
Keewees very militant today.
Amandla.
24 Jan 2013, 13:54 pm
@the curse-259:
Oh so now it’s the Kings’ fault!
24 Jan 2013, 13:54 pm
I did, such is my lack of morality and sway with the SANZAR arbitration panel that decided the outcome
out for now, my sides hurt too much from laughing at Bakkies delusion.
24 Jan 2013, 13:55 pm
I’m struggling to keep up here!
24 Jan 2013, 13:56 pm
@the curse-262:
Ag nee man don’t go!!!
It’s a slow day in the oil industry!
24 Jan 2013, 13:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-248:
Yes Houston…Professionalism has slowly instilled the discipline they need to play at that level. But having played against them most of my life, they have traits that will always be there, just have to bring it out of them.
24 Jan 2013, 14:00 pm
@the curse-259: You just hit the nail on the head again, Pops.
You’ve done it a few times today, well done, keep it up.
24 Jan 2013, 14:02 pm
@Dawn-252:
you are so silly
@the curse-253:
you sit there and ask me such nonsense with a straght face..?..
shocking really.
we each have a vote, we voted for SA to get the franchise, three guesses who you guys voted for…
@Dawn-254:
its the insulting emails they (anzac sanzar officials) were caught red handed sending to each other, remember?
it went along the lines of; ‘these Japies are stupid and we dont like em, so fark em’.
24 Jan 2013, 14:05 pm
@Dawn-258:
ex(flippin)actamento!
they treat us like dooses then look us straight in the face and act like ‘thats not how it went down’
its farking insulting really.
24 Jan 2013, 14:06 pm
still waiting for the links Bakkies
the ones that prove NZ did SA over at the IRB
where is your proof for any of your delusional ramblings?
heresay is not evidence
24 Jan 2013, 14:08 pm
Yup, John O’Neill did the dirty on the other two and I still wonder how he got away with it. His parting gift to the Australian Rugby Union.
@the curse-269:
be careful what you wish for, Pops…
@gunther-205: You forget that Luke is still rather well liked in the Cape.
@the curse-247: The Bulls can move north.
24 Jan 2013, 14:09 pm
@Yetirat-270:
did the dirty on who?
dont be afraid to say it.
and with assistance from who?
24 Jan 2013, 14:12 pm
@the curse-220:
Dit gaan goed dankie, en aan jou kant.
Really nice to see you back and at Bakkies.
@Te Rangatira-224:
Thanks pal
I love rugby so therefor I respect the hell out of your teams and players.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-246:
No it wasn’t. The super 12 ended in 2005. It became super 14 from 2006 till 2010. From 2011 onwards, the competition became superrugby, with a 15 team conference system…
As it were, the Bulls have only won the super 14. Only three teams ever won the super 12 (Blues, Crusaders and Brumbies).
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-272:
If you say so
24 Jan 2013, 14:14 pm
Given that SANZAR could not reach a unanimous decision the matter was sent to arbitration. The arbitrators felt that the Southern Kings’ bid was more advanced with regard to business and financial planning and organization structure and governance. They also felt that the Southern Kings also had a stronger player base and rugby tradition. Revenue however, from the sale of broadcasting rights to Australasian broadcasters, would be reduced by US$15–20m over the course of a five-year agreement should the 15th team be resident in South Africa.
On 12 November 2009, after an arbitration process between themselves and South Africa’s Southern Kings, Victoria was awarded the 15th Super Rugby licence, as it was considered more financially viable to SANZAR] The bid was provisionally offered to the Vicsuper 15 consortium but when the ARU declined to offer a AUD4.3m grant commensurate with funding supplied to the other Australian franchise, the Mark Ella led consortium withdrew its bid. The licence was subsequently awarded to the Victorian Rugby Union’s Melbourne Rebels.
24 Jan 2013, 14:16 pm
@nortierd-274: Bakkies and Pops are the interweb version of Laurel and Hardy. Legends both.
Interweb walk of fame sh y te.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-268:
I was so happy when the Bok came back into Top Rugby…They are the team by which we,Nz, judge ourselves. We were brought up to hate you…thats the greatest respect we can give…. even though the hatred has definitely been watered down over the years
Transformation-226 :
oh Transie, i suppose next you’re going to
tell me you still wear cowhides and carry a
Xhosa spear..?..
you’re now being an arse. you reckon i share much with scots because i wear clothes? wtf do anzacs wear?
do you also wear kilts?
what would i and a frenchman have in common CULTURALLY that i wouldn’ t have with a new zealander?
24 Jan 2013, 14:17 pm
Nortie
ka pai. (thanks)
someone’s got to keep him honest
24 Jan 2013, 14:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-267:
The e- mail was derogatory and upsetting, but I believe a lot at that time had to do with the dislike of Doc Luyt at that stage.
We can now look back at the shambles that is the Lions and say he was good at what he did, but a lot had to do with the way he was perceived by the SANZAR cousins and that may have made it easier for them to want to teach us a lesson.
Mind you, it’s just my opinion and I might be way off, but we didn’t exactly endear ourselves during readmission and still carried on as we were the best in the world.
24 Jan 2013, 14:18 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-266:
and the rebels have brought what exactly to super rugby?
empty stadiums, pathetic rugby and poor scenery
do they even have cheerleaders..?..
24 Jan 2013, 14:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-278:
Makes for entertaining reading.
24 Jan 2013, 14:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-283:
They brought a vodka stealing Pom who sometimes masquerades as a fly half to the party for our entertainment.
Let them be.
24 Jan 2013, 14:26 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-266: read & weep fake Aussie
” The arbitrators felt that the
Southern Kings’ bid was more advanced
with regard to business and financial
planning and organization structure and
governance. They also felt that the
Southern Kings also had a stronger player
base and rugby tradition.”
even the decision to include the Rebels was fortified by greed & not pure rugby intentions hehehe…
24 Jan 2013, 14:28 pm
Bakkies, do you honestly think SA deserves 6 super rugby teams?
NZ for all you know may have voted for Taranaki or Hawkes Bay to be included instead of the rebels. as they made applications to be the 15th team also.
but 5 teams from each country suited the whole conference idea, wrapped it up nice and neat.
I
24 Jan 2013, 14:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-283: They beat the Saders….they party HARD (really hard….)and they actually play a nice brand of rugga. Me, I dig ‘em.
24 Jan 2013, 14:33 pm
maybe NZ didn’t vote for the kings because we care too much for our saffa brothers?
as almost all here tell us, they are going to be embarrassing for SA fans apparently
we are caring people and didn’t want to see you guys more embarassed
24 Jan 2013, 14:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-283: With respect Bakkies, you’re missing the point.
What Pops is saying is don’t blame the Aussies and Kiwis because the Saffers didn’t get their way in trying to force in a sixth Super Rugby team.
24 Jan 2013, 14:45 pm
http://www.sport24.co.za/OtherSport/Cycling/SA-to-re-test-50-top-cyclists-20130124
This should be good for about 50 woeful dissertations courtesy of the multi alter Sybil in the US of A.
24 Jan 2013, 14:46 pm
Canada and the USA are to be included in the Pacific nations cup this year
great for them imo
24 Jan 2013, 14:47 pm
@Transformation-286: That may well be, we all know how greedy the suits are.
But the Rebels didn’t get in at the expense of an existing Aussie team, did they now Einstein?
24 Jan 2013, 14:47 pm
Pretoria – A Pretoria family and a restaurant owner have laid charges against each other following a vicious fight over a pizza.
An argument over R14 for a few strips of chicken turned into a physical fight between the Coetzer family and Dawie du Toit, 53, owner of the Van der Stel Kuierkroeg and Restaurant, reported Beeld.
Bakkies jou doring. The customer is always right.
24 Jan 2013, 14:50 pm
That Hore moved faster than any subsequent thread since.
24 Jan 2013, 14:50 pm
@Transformation-280:
take it easy, Trans
we’re on the same team, remember
how good were Bafana!
am really chuffed at the win, except for the silly shenanigans it was top class.
i’m firmly back on board the bafana bus
24 Jan 2013, 14:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-296:
Uh oh
Cardinal mistake
Cause he’s black swerve the subject to Bafana Bafana!
Nou is dit AAN !!!!!!!!!!
24 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294: Them Coetzer’s do love their chicken….
24 Jan 2013, 14:53 pm
@nortierd-282:
you are a reasonable man,Nortie.
true, i suppose it cuts both ways but the idea of one partner colluding with the other somehow seems a little more distasteful than us behaving like dooses.
just my view on it.
24 Jan 2013, 14:54 pm
@nortierd-285:
well, the Kings bring far more than that if you ask me.
they can suck it.
24 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294:
At my old school…a brawl could break out over a piece of toast…
24 Jan 2013, 14:55 pm
@stormersboy-298: I thought mutton dressed as lamb was THE culinary fave?
24 Jan 2013, 14:56 pm
@the curse-277:
thanks for the honesty, Pops
so there it is in black and white
you guys screwed with straight faces
i respect your honesty
24 Jan 2013, 14:58 pm
@the curse-287:
its hard to say really, i suppose from a competitive point of view it does not.
but it goes beyond purely being about competitiveness doesn’t it?
if it was then Oz wouldn’t/shouldn’t have got it either.
24 Jan 2013, 14:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-288:
sounds just like the Stomers, except for the ‘they beat the Saders’ bit.
24 Jan 2013, 15:00 pm
@Te Rangatira-301:
I hope you were never any part of such distoastful behaviour?
24 Jan 2013, 15:01 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-290:
i dunno hey, BB
getting shafted is getting shafted
no matter how you spin it.
24 Jan 2013, 15:02 pm
@Te Rangatira-301: Of course it would…”Why eat bread when you can have cake”?
@BrumbiesBoy-293: you’re no quite bright are ya? the rebels got in before the Kings because the CASH was too sweet for SANZAR to pass up not for rugby reasons…it’s all decisions.
the Kings got in o replace the kakkest ‘existing’ franchise
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-305: Nooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit. Julle se dan die Stormers speel die kakste rugby in die kompetisie? Verdedig, verdedig, derdedig….
Kan nie hulle met die Stormers vergelyk Bakkies; in terme van die uitlatings wat gereeld hier gemaak word.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-302:
BINGO WINGS!
24 Jan 2013, 15:04 pm
@gunther-311:
Bwhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
24 Jan 2013, 15:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-306:
Ranglette is a lover not a fighter
Besides they would have spread him like molten Rama
24 Jan 2013, 15:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294:
@Dawn-297:

dont be silly, Dawn
its because he’s a footy lover as he’s stated many times and we have differed wrt our national football team before.
24 Jan 2013, 15:08 pm
@gunther-313:
hehe….I’ld toast that….cheerio
24 Jan 2013, 15:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-299:
Bakkies, if 3 must vote 1 will always lose out.
Let’s say NZ and SA ” collude or gang up” against the Aussies, would you still dislike them as much?
In our absense Aus and NZ built a strong affinity and we must just accept it.
Look around our country and you see a culture of demand, it’s inherent in SA and who’s to say others must bow to that.
Had we ruled the Super Rugby and Tri Nations instead of NZ we may have had more clout, but we didn’t and they did, so in my opinion they should have more say as they are the country bringing home the bacon.
Our attendences may be superior, but TV also rules, and there I would venture to say foreign viewers would prefer to watch the All Blacks than the Boks.
24 Jan 2013, 15:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-310:
ja miskien nie maar soos die Rebels hou julle van partytjie en het wel nie die Crusaders ooit geklop nie.
ek is uintlik vreeslik besig op die oomblik Pedigree, my baas is op soek na my
ek gesels weer so bietjie later
tjeers
24 Jan 2013, 15:17 pm
@Transformation-309:
293.BrumbiesBoy:
24 Jan 2013, 14:47 pm @Transformation-286: That may well be, we all know how greedy the suits are. But the Rebels didn’t get in at the expense of an existing Aussie team, did they now Einstein?
You obviously have a problem reading English, I’m sorry for that.
Perhaps next time I should try Afrikaans?
24 Jan 2013, 15:18 pm
@nortierd-316:
sorry Nortie, have to do some stuff for my boss.
will respond later when i have time
cheers for now.
24 Jan 2013, 15:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-319:
Cheers, thought YOU were the boss.
24 Jan 2013, 15:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-314:
If you say so.
24 Jan 2013, 15:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-317: Jou baas gaan een van die dae jou leptop wegvat.
24 Jan 2013, 15:26 pm
@nortierd-320:
i’d never be this lazy if were the boss
24 Jan 2013, 15:27 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-318: ” That may well be, we
all know how greedy the suits are.”
you easily brush away how the Kings well structured proposal was jettisoned for cash but b*tch about the relegation of a kak, mismanaged franchise
move to Aus already so our national IQ can rise
24 Jan 2013, 15:27 pm
@Dawn-321:
cross my heart
cheers for now
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-322:
24 Jan 2013, 15:29 pm
@nortierd-320:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-322:
I’m also out for now…got to go check up on one of my employees who I suspect is abusing computer equipment…
Back tonight.
24 Jan 2013, 15:34 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-326:
Cheers BB
Enjoy
24 Jan 2013, 15:34 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-326:
Firethefucker. (Bakkies you’re out of a job mate)
24 Jan 2013, 15:43 pm
I don’t think Bakkies ever works
24 Jan 2013, 15:48 pm
Lemme go to News24 cos vokkol is happening here
24 Jan 2013, 15:51 pm
“KZN municipality has highest murder rate
2013-01-24 14:34
A KwaZulu-Natal local municipality has the highest murder rate in the country, at 192 per 100 000 people, the SA Institute of Race Relations says.”
This won’t please Rangerman
24 Jan 2013, 15:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-328:
fark no
SETI (Search for Evidence of Transtasman Infidels) would never EVER fire their figurehead
24 Jan 2013, 15:58 pm
Who knew?
Bakkies works for Bruce Springsteen.
Only Boss I know of.
The ultimate Blue supporter works for the ultimate Blue Collar worker’s hero.
Figures
24 Jan 2013, 16:02 pm
@Transformation-280:
Bakkies wasn’t including black South Africans when mentioning cultural similarities with Europeans.
24 Jan 2013, 16:02 pm
@Te Rangatira-301: hehehe good old Tipene, them was the days
24 Jan 2013, 16:03 pm
Super rugby losing its appeal with room being made for weaker teams all the time, and with all the injuries it causes from the overplay to the players. I like the idea of a top side tier maybe 10 teams which have earned their place in ‘Superugby’ with a second tier made up of the lesser SANZAR sides, and some newbies like North American, Asian, Argentine and Pacific Teams. This is how you expand and develop the game and this competition without diminishing its original intent. Then with a promotion and relegation type format you give everyone a fair go in gaining promotion, as well as getting rid of the poor performers. Perhaps with 3 or 4 teams going up and down each season. I don’t know how it’ll work exactly, I’m just over watching so called super rugby and seeing the garbage that is often displayed. In all honesty, I preferred the quality of the domestic NZ and SA comps this year in terms of quality and flair.
24 Jan 2013, 16:12 pm
@NZINCHINA-334: i know, he will never admit to it though.
subtle as a rusted wheelbarrow our bakkies..
24 Jan 2013, 16:16 pm
@Transformation-337:
Some things will never change.
24 Jan 2013, 16:24 pm
@Boertjie-336:
pauca sed bona
24 Jan 2013, 16:24 pm
Spies determined to win Bok place back
——————————————————————————–
by Brenden Nel 24 January 2013, 12:20
Vodacom Bulls captain Pierre Spies is always up for a challenge, and has set his sights on regaining his Springbok starting place now that he is fit and ready for action again.
There is no doubt that 2012 was not the year that Spies hoped it would be. Thrust with the responsibility of leading the Bulls into battle in the Vodacom Super Rugby tournament, he managed to steer them into the playoffs, but most would argue his form suffered as a result.
A few lacklustre tests and a broken thumb later, and the rest of the year was spent recovering from an operation, and time to reflect and realise just what he was missing while being injured.
Anyone who knows the bold Bulls No 8 will know it’s not the type of thing that he will simply accept.
Now, just weeks ahead of the start of the 2013 season, Spies looks fitter, stronger and more determined than ever.
He will assume the leadership mantle again, knowing that this year the Bulls have few excuses left to use.
If 2012 was the question-mark over their abilities after losing so many Boks, 2013 will have to be the year where they move forward or stagnate; where they accept the changes in the game, or where they will continue to slog forward and hope their execution trumps the playing style of their opposition.
“It’s true,” Spies told supersport.com when faced with this scenario, “everyone is a year older now and we have a lot more experience. We know each other better and we’re in a good space at the moment as a team.
“Last year was a difficult year for everyone, but we’ve had a good break and have returned more mature. We’re really looking forward to the battles that await us.”
Spies knows his personal form is under scrutiny, and knows he has to up his game if he wants to convince coach Heyneke Meyer he deserves a starting spot with the Boks once again.
“I learnt a lot last year as captain. There is a lot of support in the team to make my job easier and it will be that way this year as well,” Spies adds.
“But competition is always good. My injury came at the right time and it gave me a lot more perspective, as well as a decent rest. It allowed me to recharge, to find a renewed focus and vision for the year ahead.
“It reminded me how much I want to play for the Springboks again. You always have to prove yourself, whether it is to the public, the coach or to yourself. I know I owe myself a good season and I’m looking forward to the challenge.
Spies is excited at some of the talent at the Bulls, especially the likes of Arno Botha, Jan Serfontein and Handre Pollard, all who are expected to fulfill their potential in Pretoria.
“You have to have a good squad in this competition, and we have a lot of depth this year which we will use.”
One thing that Spies smiles about, and is rather coy about, is whether the Bulls will play a different game plan or keep with their current aerial assault.
“I think it will be a new year with new energy,” Spies smiles, “It will be a lot of the same, with a few changes here and there.”
If that isn’t clear enough, then what
24 Jan 2013, 16:29 pm
@grant10-340:
Im interested to see how he goes actually.
If he can regain any of his 2007-2009 form, he’ll be alright.
If he plays anything like he has in the last 2 seasons, he’ll battle to get anywhere near a Bok jersey.
24 Jan 2013, 16:32 pm
@John Galt-341:
He needs to lose some muscle and work on getting his body position right, some of those Bulls boys are far too upright in the contact area.
24 Jan 2013, 16:33 pm
@grant10-340: in 2009 britney told he told us he was the best 8 in the world & 3 years later he is not even in the top 5
24 Jan 2013, 16:34 pm
@John Galt-341: Boks biggest nightmares in 2010 and 2011 were Spies, M Steyn and Plod…..absolutely no doubt….we just did not win when these 3 were in the starting 15…
I think Boks will be very good this year….because they ont be there and HM will be over the yips….
24 Jan 2013, 16:35 pm
@NZINCHINA-342:
Agreed.
Far too easy to stop and bully in the tackle.
24 Jan 2013, 16:36 pm
@Transformation-343: No s_hit?
Is he even in the top in SA?
24 Jan 2013, 16:38 pm
@Angostura-346:
Is he even in the top in SA?,
should read:
“Is he even in the top 5 in SA?”
24 Jan 2013, 16:47 pm
What’s all this about a Samoan super team? Have the Samoans even said they want it or how it would work? I love the idea but commercial reality suggests it won’t happen. Most of the national squad are from NZ but there isn’t the population base to have a 6th team. If it was based in South Auckland, they’d be fighting with the Warriors for a stadium and fans. It’s already hard enough to get anyone in Auckland to turn up to watch rugby. If Joburg can’t support one team, how can Auckland support two plus an NRL team?
If it was based in Apia, I doubt it would survive. A population less than 200,000, so they’d struggle to get bums on seats. Maybe an ok TV audience if kiwis and aussies watched but not enough to satisfy the guys on here who moan about NZ dragging down the average ratings. What about sponsorship? Even the Fiji national team couldn’t get a sponsor for the November tests.
No, Samoa is better served by the pacific nations cup, which NZ helped to set up and played in for the first four years. Getting thrashed by the ABs isn’t much help, they’re better off playing Scotland and Wales.
24 Jan 2013, 16:50 pm
@grant10-340:
> Spies looks fitter, stronger
Die naald het gepraat en die weights het gek@k
Hy’s nou op na ‘n D-cup van ‘n C-cup
24 Jan 2013, 16:51 pm
@gonzo-348:
Totally agree this expansion for the sake of expansion is clueless, we need less teams and less rugby. Rugby should start in April after the cricket finishes like it used to.
24 Jan 2013, 17:00 pm
@NZINCHINA-350:
The S14 was the biggest it could get without sacrificing quality and team strength plus each team played the other at least once a year
They played 13 games a year, most of them high quality.
Now they play 16 games a year and a lot of them are just plain boring
24 Jan 2013, 17:02 pm
And for the all the “when did the NZ last play against the islands”, here’s a recent list
Jr ABs Tonga 2006
Jr ABs Fiji 2006
Jr ABs Samoa 2006
Jr ABs Tonga 2007
Jr ABs Fiji 2007
Jr ABs Samoa 2007
NZ Samoa 2008
NZ Maori Tonga 2008
NZ Maori Fiji 2008
NZ Maori Samoa 2008
Jr ABs Tonga 2009
Jr ABs Fiji 2009
Jr ABs Samoa 2009
NZ Tonga 2011
NZ Fiji 2011
24 Jan 2013, 17:10 pm
@victoriabok-351:
Yip too many games just aren’t worth watching, 4 from each country would be ideal, Eden park was full to the brim in the early days now they struggle to half full the stadium, to your guys credit excluding Bloemfontein you still get very decent crowds.
24 Jan 2013, 17:11 pm
@gonzo-352: junior all blacks huh?
who is in that team, jason eaton?
24 Jan 2013, 17:16 pm
too much rugby
24 Jan 2013, 17:17 pm
@NZINCHINA-353:
> 4 from each country would be ideal, Eden park was full to the brim in the early days
You’re just longing for the days when Auckland ruled the roost
The S14 was more fair than the S12
The Aussie and Kiwi teams had to play two or three games on the road as well, it evened the playing field somewhat
24 Jan 2013, 17:19 pm
@Transformation-354: all the maori boys who were poached from Stewart Island (its in the pacific)
24 Jan 2013, 17:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-353:
If they bring Canada and the US in the Championship, the quality will be diluted, much like the World Cup where you don’t get to play all or most of the top 8 teams
Argentina is a good fit, they’ve always been good they only lacked gametime, money and exposure
24 Jan 2013, 17:22 pm
@victoriabok-358: Canada and US are playing in the Pacific Nations cup this year..
24 Jan 2013, 17:29 pm
@victoriabok-358:
Jis VB
You get my mail?
@the curse-359:
Pops, you and TR and even VB must load a profile pic on Superbru.
24 Jan 2013, 17:30 pm
@the curse-359:
They used to play the Churchill cup against the Saxons, the Poms A-side.
They should rather have expanded it to include one A-side each of the three Tri Nations teams
24 Jan 2013, 17:30 pm
@victoriabok-356: p
Sure we can agree less is more though, the Argies brought plenty to table last year during the RC so perhaps they are the ideal fit, it won’t fly in the US the threat of litigation because they don’t wear helmets will kill it…
24 Jan 2013, 17:40 pm
@nortierd-360:
Ja, dis moer snaaks
24 Jan 2013, 17:41 pm
@nortierd-360:
> load a profile pic on Superbru
Wil jy nou die kinders bangmaak?
24 Jan 2013, 17:42 pm
@Transformation-354: As far as I know, they’ve disbanded the Jrs for now and brought back the Maori ABs, or whatever they are called these days. But the Jrs were whoever wasn’t in the ABs – even Rokocoko played a game or two. And Jason Eaton no doubt
Either way, they won every game. I’m not sure how much benefit Samoa gets from being beaten 101-14 vs the ABs. I think they get more out of playing in a competitive cup vs other Pacific teams, against Wales or Scotland or a second-tier NZ team. They have trouble because half their best team plays in Europe but even NZ super teams can’t afford to keep them, let alone if there was an Apia team.
24 Jan 2013, 17:43 pm
@NZINCHINA-362:
No they play a lot of rugby as well, here in Canada too
A lot of huys used to play in in school and college, they think the lack of helmets and padding make them tougher
24 Jan 2013, 17:48 pm
@NZINCHINA-353: Ah yes, those were the days, when Blues fans had something to cheer about. Probably we haven’t had a decent crowd since Spencer left. Here’s a classic moment I like to watch before every Blues/Crusaders game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8btfw32h-w
24 Jan 2013, 17:48 pm
@victoriabok-366:
Will be interesting to see how it all unfolds but it looks like they are going down the expansion path despite any misgivings we the fans might have, it’s late here in the PRC so I’m off to bed – cheers.
24 Jan 2013, 17:49 pm
@gonzo-367:
No you tube allowed in China! – cheers
24 Jan 2013, 17:51 pm
@NZINCHINA-369: Ah, i always forget! Sorry mate
24 Jan 2013, 18:05 pm
@gonzo-367:
yes gonzo, blues fans now live vicariously through teams like the chiefs…counting new zealand super titles instead of their own team
24 Jan 2013, 18:06 pm
@gonzo-367:
One of the best games I’ve ever seen was in 1996 or 1997 when the all conquering Auckland played the Hurricanes with Bull and Cullen
The Blues were the favourites but Wellington ran at them the whole afternoon, so much in fact that Auckland started kicking penalties instead of going for their usual lineout near the tryline
24 Jan 2013, 18:14 pm
@gonzo-367:
Have a look at a much younger and thinner Umaga and the sublime Cullen, especially at the end
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFC-IpaTs9Q
24 Jan 2013, 18:25 pm
@victoriabok-373: Sheeez, special stuff this.
24 Jan 2013, 18:27 pm
@TooMuchRugby-339: amen to that
24 Jan 2013, 18:27 pm
And now for some comic relief.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Springboks/Spies-I-want-my-Bok-jersey-20130124
24 Jan 2013, 18:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-376: What is comic about it ? Have you forgotten who the Springbok coach is ?
24 Jan 2013, 18:44 pm
The tournament has been ruined by greed.
24 Jan 2013, 18:46 pm
Who is the Springbok coach?
I forgot.
24 Jan 2013, 18:48 pm
These guys are so delusional, they dont even realise how stupid their comments are in the Kings will be competitive article on News24, the Kings defense coach refers to worrying about the Crusaders.
Don’t worry about the Crusaders buddy. I dont think that is where your biggest hiding will come from to be honest. I think the Kings will get their biggest hiding of the season right on South African soil, either in Pretoria, Cape Town or Durban.
This lack of knowledge of Super rugby is going to eat them – especially in the latter stages when injuries and fatigue start to play a role. There will be at least one 100 pointer scored against the Kings. Probably a bit later on in the tournament. That is my prediction.
24 Jan 2013, 18:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-374:
It’s dangerous if you have good interplay by an exciting and upredictable back three
The Boks had it when we had Juba, Hendricks and Small at the back
Having a sizeable part of the team play Hong Kong Sevens helped a lot too
24 Jan 2013, 18:49 pm
@Dawn-379: Here is a clue – it is not Captain Morgan, Jim Beam, Johnny Walker or Jack Daniels.
That help ?
24 Jan 2013, 18:50 pm
We’ve had similar discussions on this topic before – just recently when it was expanded to the S15.
If they are going to continue to expand this tournament they will be forced to drop the word “super.” Because, with a Super 20 or Super 30 – pick a number – this competition will be anything but Super. And the fans will stay away as if they aren’t already. Sanzar doesn’t know it but this competition has lost the lustre of the S12 and more so the S14 before.
Just call it “The Sanzar Allcomers Challenge”
With Namibia and Zimbabwe thrown in for good measure.
24 Jan 2013, 18:54 pm
@I am a stormer-383: It is ridiculous. I agree. But everyone wants a piece now. It was special in the beginning, now its just a gold rush. A bunch of smelly miners in overcrowded spaces and rich men standing apart smiling at the fruits of their labor.
24 Jan 2013, 18:56 pm
@Dusky-380:
The SA derbies will give us some cricket scores
> There will be at least one 100 pointer scored against the Kings. Probably a bit later on in the tournament.
No, much sooner when they play Aussie and Kiwi sides on a tough tour
> That is my prediction.
Only one team posting a 100 pointer?
Maybe we should wager who would be the first to put up 100?
I think it might be the Stormers as they’ll be settled by then, they play the Sharks and Bulls too early in the season
What about the PPK pool?
24 Jan 2013, 18:57 pm
@Dusky-382:
Not Crusty either
24 Jan 2013, 18:59 pm
@victoriabok-381: I remember those early Hong Kong 7′s tournies. Of course South Africa treated those tournies as a joke at first. I recall Skinstad, Joost etc all having a run out there.
But the Kiwis – you gotta hand it to them. They just ‘get’ it…. running riot from the back that is.
24 Jan 2013, 19:00 pm
@Dusky-384: Soon the squads will be 60 players strong. Going to be needed to survive the tournament.
I don’t think it’s good for the game, or for the players involved.
24 Jan 2013, 19:03 pm
@victoriabok-385: Yes, lets do a separate prediction table for the Kings. Should be fun.
The Kings will get a moderate start against the Force. A battle of the minnows, but I reckon Force will take this by about 15 to 20 points.
Who was so evil as to give them the early bye ? Anyway, they will earn 4 points in their second week so expect Transie and the rest of the low men to come on here and beat their chests about the Kings getting on the log. What they wont realize is this will compound the Kings woes later and no matter how many times Cheeky asks for a special concession to have an extra week off – he wont get it.
Their next game is against the Sharks in PE. The Sharks tend to play to conditions and opponents – so this might not be a big score. Plus, expect Plum to play his B or C side. It will be hard though – a violent introduction to Super rugby. After this weekend it will dawn on the Kings what the difference between Vodacom Cup and Super 15 is.
And then 6 days after that their aching bodies will have to rise again to play the defending champions, the Chiefs. If they are going to concede 100 points early on – this is the game. So – that is my early prediction. Chiefs to score 13 or so tries in this game against the Kings. Will be something spectacular to watch. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.
24 Jan 2013, 19:04 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-388: Yep – that is another thing. The toll this takes on the players and you’re right – we will have to have big enough squads to have 3 specialist players in each position at a minimum.
24 Jan 2013, 19:09 pm
@victoriabok-385: O jirre tog…..
Sharks (PE), Chiefs (PE), Crusaders (Away), Hurricanes (Away), Brumbies (Away), Rebels (Away), Bulls (PE)…………all in consecutive weeks.
Lets do a separate wager. How many Kings players will be injured by the time the final whistle blows in their first game against the Bulls ? And they will still have half the tournament left.
24 Jan 2013, 19:09 pm
@Dusky-384: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-388:
This quote from the article is the one which did the most damage. By gifting Australia a domestic rugby competition through the conference system. And to think that the Kings were up against the Rebels as the competition was expanded to 15 teams.
“Just how South Africa and New Zealand agreed to give up so much for Australia to have so much gain is a question that can never be answered by those who did the surrender. If it could they would not have done so.”
24 Jan 2013, 19:16 pm
@Dusky-389:
> Chiefs to score 13 or so tries in this game against the Kings. Will be something spectacular to watch. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.
Me too, then they hit the road to play the Crusaders(eina), Hurricanes(ouch) and Jake’s invigorated Brumbies(don’t be surprised if Jake declares at 100 not out at half time)
By the time they play the Rebels they won’t have it left in them to beat the only team they were likely too
Then they return and play the Bulls back home
24 Jan 2013, 19:20 pm
@Dusky-390:
The Blue Bulls won the CC from 2002 onwards yet they only started winning and getting to play away semi’s in 2005
Only when they had experienced players on the bench as good as the ones on the field did they win it
To put it into perspective, the Kings couldn’t even beat the worst CC team of 2012, and they expect to win in the S15?
24 Jan 2013, 19:23 pm
@Dusky-391:
> How many Kings players will be injured by the time the final whistle blows in their first game against the Bulls
I’ll give you 1:1 odds Pukie won’t survive the first half?
Now with $1 = R9.00 you’d still win
24 Jan 2013, 19:24 pm
@I am a stormer-392: O’ Neil (thankfuckheisgone) is a sneaky schmuck. Betya he got ‘dirt’ on a few of the delegates. Voila.
24 Jan 2013, 19:24 pm
@I am a stormer-392:
> And to think that the Kings were up against the Rebels
Both s.hyte but the Rebels will improve
24 Jan 2013, 19:27 pm
@Dusky-390:
You’ll see more and more promising players in their prime leaving to play up North
Test players will become much younger as Super rugby will wear them out and injure them before the test season
24 Jan 2013, 19:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-396:
And to think not one saffa or kiwi had the balls to stand up to him. So the Lions will be re-admitted and the Kings will stay as the comp is increased to 16 – or even 18 from 2016.
SARU then stumbled onto the Kings issue and no-one had the balls to stand up to Cheeky while he rode rough shod over them.
@victoriabok-397:
The Rebels will. But it’s now funny to remember that the Kings out in a bid to get into the Aussie conference. ***** bells, what were they thinking? And then they stuff up the SA conference.
24 Jan 2013, 19:38 pm
@I am a stormer-399:
They wanted to play out of Oz?
They’re not stuffing up our conference, they can ensure 10 points each for the other teams
24 Jan 2013, 19:45 pm
@victoriabok-400:
I realise that. I was thinking more in terms of the demise of the Lions and the battle they will have on their hands as Super Rugby gets expanded further to include them.
24 Jan 2013, 19:56 pm
@I am a stormer-401:
Eventually the S150 would be so watered down viewers won’t watch it anymore
When the Limpopo Luigatte plays the Welkom Weeluise for the fourth time in one season, the advertisers will finally close the money tap
The Aussies woukld still smile as they finally have a domestic comp
24 Jan 2013, 20:12 pm
Oh yes
It’s the Famous Grouse
24 Jan 2013, 20:18 pm
@Dawn-403:
I’ve seen a Grouse on the mountain the other day
They say they taste great
24 Jan 2013, 20:27 pm
@Dawn-403: Ahhh….I thought that would be your choice. Whiskey has a very wide appreciation, and of course thus the price range fluctuates violently. From white alcohol flavoured with whiskey flavouring to the real stuff – from the trailer park to the mansion.
Tell me Dawny – do you drink yours with creme soda ?
24 Jan 2013, 20:28 pm
@I am a stormer-401: One good news. If the Lions and Kings get to play in the same tournament, at least the Lions wont have to worry about coming last.
24 Jan 2013, 20:31 pm
Where is multi-nic transvestation today ?
24 Jan 2013, 20:35 pm
Nope with water, no ice
24 Jan 2013, 20:42 pm
@Dusky-407:
Busy buying his Kings seasons tickets
He’s also getting his special edition Kings jersey signed by Luke on the vomit spot
24 Jan 2013, 21:00 pm
Two big bekke
Stop skinnering like teenage girls
Why are the Kings so far up your butt-holes that they all you talk about!
24 Jan 2013, 21:09 pm
i see the MMA parking lot fighter is “missing” me…sorry squire i’ve got a bottle of sauvignon blanc & a pretty lady in front of me…
goeie nag
24 Jan 2013, 21:18 pm
A pretty lady???
You devastate me!
24 Jan 2013, 21:23 pm
@Transformation-411:
A lady???
You’ve surprised me
I thought you bat for the other team
24 Jan 2013, 21:29 pm
@victoriabok-413:
Goeie bliksem maar jy kan darem stir
24 Jan 2013, 21:29 pm
Woo, Transie getting ‘lucky’ on a Thursday night!!
24 Jan 2013, 21:31 pm
@Dawn-410:
> Why are the Kings so far up your butt-holes that they all you talk about!
If you don’t like the Kings, what would you like up yours?
24 Jan 2013, 21:32 pm
@Transformation-324: Watch your mouth, mister.
I don’t believe I’ve ever insulted your intelligence (or lack thereof) so don’t cry when I return the favour.
#SimbaChipsFactory
24 Jan 2013, 21:32 pm
@nortierd-414:
Hy het al onder so baie name gepost sy naam kan eerder Transvestiet wees
24 Jan 2013, 21:34 pm
@victoriabok-418:
24 Jan 2013, 21:37 pm
@carol-415:
He’s looking at porn again.
24 Jan 2013, 21:38 pm
Lucky, being a nice chilled bottle of SB!!
Hope it is Durbanville Hills finest!
24 Jan 2013, 21:39 pm
@gunther-420:
Hi Gunter,
“Pretty lady infront of me”
I see where you are coming from!!
24 Jan 2013, 21:51 pm
@gunther-420:
Probably S&M ?
After all he’s exited about the Kings prospects in the S15
24 Jan 2013, 22:25 pm
@Transformation-411: Mrs palm and her five daughters?
24 Jan 2013, 22:34 pm
Ja, hierdie keer die linker een met minder hare op die palm
24 Jan 2013, 23:20 pm
So he interrupts his alleged potential leg over situation just to come & brag about it on Keo.co.za?
#Whatapratt.com
25 Jan 2013, 00:25 am
@victoriabok-373: Thanks for the link, I quite enjoyed that, especially the Cullen try started by Norm Hewitt’s good positional play (i.e. stayed deep because he was too lazy to get to the next ruck) and his fancy footwork
@Transformation-371: After ten years between titles even reminiscing is difficult so living vicariously is the next best option. But watch out for the Blues in 2015, we almost always do above average in world cup years
25 Jan 2013, 00:47 am
@Transformation-371:
haha…I’ve read some of the superlatives you’ve penned to describe the Chiefs and their asst coach, does it mean you live vicariously through their success….perhaps after this season we may have to… Go Blues…Go hard Kings
25 Jan 2013, 03:06 am
As they say there is no smoke without fire somewhere out there.
The cricket ‘broederbonders plaas druk op Kirsten’.
He is being irritated by the demands they constantly make about when they will play, in what formats of the game and what tasks they want to take on etc.
Hence his troubling utterances to the media to try to put out the fire.
Unfortunately, it is exacerbated by the fact that they just lost 2 consecutive ODIs to the weak Black Caps and worse still the ODI series – a historic first ever series win by the B.Caps in any format on S.African soil.
Is there dissension in the ranks? :
” “The decision not to keep in this one-day series was a very specific decision which wasn’t his own,” Kirsten explained. “He is not making his own decisions. There is a process we go through in the team. Individuals don’t just stand up and make their own calls. We felt that it might be a good idea for this series specifically that AB had an opportunity to focus on his captaincy. He is a young captain and there is a lot to do on the field.”
25 Jan 2013, 03:25 am
That disastrous ODI series defeat means that the FlowerPowerBoys now only have a single number one ranking .How long will that one last? They seem not able to hold on to these number ONE spots for more than a few games.
Before the 2nd of the 3 ODIs they were numero uno. After that defeat they dropped to position 3. But hours later both Australia and India won against Sri Lanka and England respectively, to drop them further down the order.
The correct order and natural balance in cricket has now been restored
1. India 120
2. England 117
3. Australia 113
4. South Africa 111
Black Caps can you s c r e w their balls one more time to the point where they need some extras?
Can you increase the pain so that only you show any gain?
25 Jan 2013, 03:41 am
The white contingent of invaders on the southern tip of the African continent do not seem to like anything black at all.
They avoid Black Cats(even peanut butter) like the plague, they abhor anything associated with the All Blacks and their rugby prowess,.
Now they loathe the amiable Black Caps, and last but not least , they totally hate the local Blacks and subject them to that inhuman ‘policy’ called ‘APARTHEID’ in their land of birth.
How and why do they do all these repugnant things?
Don’t worry, be happy as you can win but it will be cold comfort to your suffering.
I am too busy to torture you further thus I will not waste precious time on you ‘mugwumps’
See you the same time tomorrow at 8.40pm EST
25 Jan 2013, 04:15 am
And here is one for the road as I listen to the immaculately soothing Neil Young:
Liar Lance made me so glad I’m clean, says Tour de France winner Wiggins
Sir Bradley Wiggins has revealed how watching Lance Armstrong’s drug confession left him feeling angry, sad and emotional – but relieved that he will never have to tell his son his father doped to win the Tour de France.
‘I wasn’t going to watch it,’ said Wiggins last night, speaking at the Team Sky training camp in Majorca. ‘I was determined not to watch it. But then I got home and I watched it with my seven-year-old son Ben.
‘Those initial six questions, the yes-no answers, watching him suddenly cave in after all those years of lying so convincingly . . . there was a lot of anger, a lot of sadness. I was slightly emotional as well. It was difficult to watch. My wife couldn’t watch it. She walked out the room.
‘It was heartbreaking in some respects for the sport, but then the anger kicks in,’ Wiggins continued. ‘You’re thinking, “What a ****ing a******e”.
‘Then I’ve got to explain to my son what it’s all about, that he has won the same race his dad has won. But by the end of the hour and a half I had the best feeling in the world.’
It was a feeling of relief and smugness, said Wiggins, who last year became the first Briton to win the Tour de France.
He said: ‘When Armstrong started welling up talking about his 13-year-old son asking him what it was all about . . . I never have to have that conversation with my own son. I can tell him his father’s won the Tour de France clean and so there was an element of being quite smug.
‘By the end, I thought, “You deserve everything you get”, and I felt no sympathy for him at all.
‘I was a fan of Lance. I watched him win the world championships in 1993 when I was 13, and when he came back from cancer and won the Tour de France in 1999 I was 19, on the British track programme, and that was so inspirational.
‘And then I never really raced with him in his prime. I raced him at the Tour when he came back in 2009 and I was fourth and he was third.’
Armstrong told Oprah Winfrey that he was clean in that comeback Tour, though the US Anti-Doping Agency put the chances of him not doping that year at ‘one in a million’. Wiggins concurs. ‘When he said he was upset about USADA’s claim that he doped in 2009 and 2010, I thought, you lying b*****d,’ he said.
‘I can still remember going toe-to-toe with him, watching his body language and comparing the man I saw at the top of Verbier on stage 15 to the man I saw at the top of Mont Ventoux on stage 20 a week later, when we were in dope control together. It wasn’t the same bike rider.
‘I don’t believe anything that comes out the guy’s mouth any more.’
Team Sky principal Sir Dave Brailsford added that Armstrong’s confession had put cycling’s credibility in the ‘last chance saloon’.
He said: ‘The sport must never go back to the place it was in the past. Fans must genuinely trust the results.’
25 Jan 2013, 04:38 am
@ET.-431:
And the racist black/brown pig loaths anything white in his life. Must be sad to live with so much hate. And apart from a few “standlopers” roaming nomdically along the coast there were no blacks that had to be “invaded” on the tip of Africa, so get your facts straight………
faaarking retart!
25 Jan 2013, 04:46 am
@ET.-429:
You are one sad muthafuka…….you seem to get some internal hardon about some of these stories………
25 Jan 2013, 04:54 am
@whatthe-434:
Man Whatever, die dom **** seems to be stuck in the 1970′s somewhere. The world moved on a long time ago but extraball prefers to cling to the past…it is all he has.
25 Jan 2013, 05:37 am
Worker strives and damage and injury and death(last week a farmworker met his death protesting slave wages) belong to 2013 not so or are you not up to date with the hurtful facts, bottom-feeders?
The truth hurts and it hurts badly causing much emotional but harmless false anger. Empty bags much?
Is white not the easiest colour to get dirty?
25 Jan 2013, 05:43 am
@ET.-436:
fukoff you racist scumbag
25 Jan 2013, 06:10 am
See I told you white ‘dirties’ easily and is thus dirty, like poor old gerty
25 Jan 2013, 06:57 am
@ET.-429:
Forget the contrived/imaginary politics, & lets focus on cricket considerations only & put matters in perspective:
1. AB is a very, very good batsman (one of the best worldwide), & he (AB), the selectors & the coach shouldn’t mess with that – all else should be secondary to creating the ideal environment in which his batting talent can flourish.
2. He is an adequate keeper – no more; as such he should much rather be keeping in the short formats of the game, rather than in the demanding 5 day Tests; the best keeper should be keeping in the Tests, & since I’m no expert on keeping, I’ll defer to those in the know who suggest that is Thami Tsolekile; Thami will have to bat at #7 in the Test team & that implies that FAF, JP & Dean will have to fight out who secures the #6 position; form permitting, I believe the best man for that position is JP (bearing in mind his greater experience & the 2nd {off spin} string to his bow).
3. AB is not “a young captain” – he had no captaincy experience, & has proven he has no captaincy attributes/credentials at all – desire & ambition alone does not a captain make; for the sake of his batting & for the sake of the team’s general good, AB should be relieved of all Proteas leadership functions in all formats of the game; since the obvious T20 & ODI captaincy candidate, Johan Botha, was stupidly overlooked by the selectors, seemingly for non-cricket (political?) reasons, & is accordingly now plying his bowling, batting & captaincy trade in Australia, & since the other candidate, Hashim Amla does not want the captaincy, that leaves FAF as the only captaincy candidate for the short formats of the game. Solets hand the ebullient & irrepressible FAF the ODI & T20 captaincy, & get on with it.
The solution is simple – forget about political conjecture & fueling discord, & just focus on cricket (if you really love the sport).
25 Jan 2013, 07:08 am
@ET.-431:
you’re like one of those J.ap soldiers who were deployed to myriad small islands in the South China Sea during WW2. alone, hiding in the jungle thinking the war is sill ongoing.
the war’s over boet, it’s been twenty years already… you need to come out from your hiding place… unstrap your ‘mental mindbombs’, lay down your sharp ‘barbs’… let’s get you off your island for a full debriefing…
so much has changed in the Homeland in your absence my friend. a new day has dawned, come be a part of it.
25 Jan 2013, 07:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-440:
Korrec.
He’s survived on nothing but bananas, ancient sushi rice and palm wine for the last two decades whilst worshipping at the “alter of truth.
Fortunately social services have taken away his Samurai steak knife and his autographed picture of the Emperor Alan Boesak.
25 Jan 2013, 07:37 am
@gunther-441:
cant we organise him a veterans pension or something?
farkit, this guys given his life in defense of some pretty flippin awesome ideals.
25 Jan 2013, 08:19 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-442:
We’ve organised him a Mitzvah at Mavericks in recognition of his outstanding service to the nation.
Drieball won’t come unless its strictly halaal.
He says white girls are dirty.
25 Jan 2013, 08:41 am
Cape Town – Stormers backline coach Robbie Fleck is excited about the amount of depth available to the Cape franchise this year.
“This is one of the strongest Stormers groups I’ve seen since my playing days,” the former Springbok centre told Die Burger.
Fleck is particularly impressed with the backline players at his disposal, most notably Lions recruits Elton Jantjies and Jaco Taute, as well as utility back Damian de Allende.
“Elton and Jaco will give our backline something different and unique. Both play with flair and will make us considerably stronger. They both fitted in nicely and are thriving in our team culture.
“Damian as centre will also provide something different than Jean de Villiers and Juan de Jongh. It’s very healthy. Damian can also play left or right wing, while Jaco can play fullback, inside or outside centre. We have a lot of depth at the back.”
Flyhalf Jantjies and Peter Grant will be rotated during the season, with Fleck confirming that Grant may at times also wear the No 12 jersey.
Bok skipper De Villiers, who turns 32 on February 24, will also be carefully managed during the season.
The Stormers play two warm-up games against the Cheetahs (February 2 in Bloemfontein) and Boland (February 9 in Cape Town).
They start their Super Rugby campaign away to the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, February
25 Jan 2013, 08:42 am
Newsflasf Fleck…..
Get permission from AC to actually use them backs please……or else its all defend and tackle again…
25 Jan 2013, 09:00 am
@gunther-443:
and this from a guy willing to ‘give his life’ (i use this loosely, you know poetic license and all) towards fullfiling the ideals of a ‘Rainbow Nation’.
25 Jan 2013, 09:23 am
@grant10-445: AC has already said they need to score more tries
25 Jan 2013, 09:29 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-446: A guy can only hope…
25 Jan 2013, 09:36 am
@gunther-441:
Bwahahah… gold!
25 Jan 2013, 09:37 am
@Transformation-447: That Stormers rugby chilled my soul last year, damn it was terrible to see the relentless kick and defend culture….hope that AC has truly had a change of heart….
with Elton there I cant see Stormers being as sterile, it is not in his nature to skop all day long…
25 Jan 2013, 09:45 am
@gunther-441:
25 Jan 2013, 09:50 am
Flyhalf Jantjies and Peter Grant will be rotated during the season, with Fleck confirming that Grant may at times also wear the No 12 jersey.
Yes please……..
25 Jan 2013, 10:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-452: That’s excellent news. I always believed that Grant was a great 12, better than a 10 in my opinion.
25 Jan 2013, 10:11 am
@pedigree: PG @12 is meh.
what poppycock…i don’t get how he would get that spot in front of jdj, jdv or jt
he brings no particular skillset or x-factor. jc used to tell us about his “underrated distribution game”
25 Jan 2013, 10:18 am
IMO de Allende should be rotating with Jean at no 12. He is bigger/stronger/much faster/a better passer of the ball than Grant and can kick the ball twice as far out of hand. Grant’s role should be back up flyhalf who can perhaps start a few games if jantjes needs a rest (although Tim Swiel must also be given a chance asap)
25 Jan 2013, 10:22 am
There’s a reason that Super Rugby is widely regarded as the toughest rugby tournament (apart from internationals). It is because the teams come from the top three rugby playing countries in the world. To expand to countries will only be to the detriment of the competition. In addition to that economically and geographically it makes no sense. It just isn’t feasible. I for one cannot see this realistically happening.
25 Jan 2013, 10:33 am
@stormersboy-448:
25 Jan 2013, 10:35 am
@Robzim-455: Fleck says de Allende will also play at centre and wing.
He went on to say that Jean will be ‘carefully’ managed – read: play very few games?
@Transformation-454: My yes please was predominantly for the ‘Elton will get much time in the 10 jersey’ remark. Grant or Jean Div….same same same. Grant brilliant defensively in the 12 channel though.
25 Jan 2013, 11:00 am
@Robzim-455:
agree with you rob… (but you already know this…)
elton jantjies has got to start as many games as possible… and like you i’d have tim swiel subbing to get some exposure to top rugby… and maybe getting the occasional start…
i have nothing personal against peter grant… he must be a really really nice guy because he gets welcomed back from japan like the prodigal-san every year…
neither he nor elton are going to play currie cup for us… so it is vital that tim gets game time and experience…
peter is not a good distributor, or runner, or kicker out of hand, or defender… at 10 or at 12…
he crabs across the field too much… bunching up the line and making it way too easy for the opposition to drift and defend… then passes the ball when he’s out of space and options and his centres and/or wings gets nailed… 9 times out of 10…
or his steps off his outside foot, dips his inside shoulder and barges at the opposition who have all slid across as he has crabbed across… and he gets nailed… 9 times out of 10…
we all know he can’t kick a beach ball hard enough to knock over a sandcastle… let alone a rugby ball out of hand…
and he was in the top 10 (maybe even top 5) for missed tackles last year… so his solid defense is a myth… he’s gone soft in japan where the opposition flops like fresh nigiri on a hot day… and falls off way too many tackles in super rugby…
he is a really nice guy i’m told… so i really feel bad for saying that the only jersey peter grant should be wearing is the one his nana crocheted him for christmas to keep him warm in japan…
25 Jan 2013, 11:05 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458: he brings no guile, step, pace or power on attack, the opposition 12 will be chilling & drifting into de jongh’s channel cos grant is no threat. pg @ 12 will be like paddy wallace or toby flood or charlie hodgson.
i’m concerned because my Kings also have andries strauss ( read donkey) @12 although i’m hoping sexton plays hadleigh parkes as a starter.
25 Jan 2013, 11:09 am
@SpringbokSarah-456:
Hoe gaan dit met ons Regsdame?
25 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458:
More Ruck. Hoe hang dinge?
25 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@Transformation-460: Grant/de Villiers – honestly much of a muchness for me. Grant is nice to have in the 12 channel running ‘D’ though. As I have said before, any talk of the Stormer backline seems irrelevant until we know who Coetzee is starting at 9…….
@Britney Spies-462: HG hang al van die dak af……
25 Jan 2013, 11:16 am
@Britney Spies-461:
good to see you’re still here…
25 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
@Britney Spies-461: Altyd lekker!
25 Jan 2013, 11:30 am
@ufo-464:
Dit is baie beter hier. Ek begin dit weer te geniet.
@SpringbokSarah-465:
Is jy in jou finale jaar BCom Regte?
25 Jan 2013, 11:34 am
@Britney Spies-466:
that’s cool to hear bud…
i hope you continue to enjoy it and hang around…
Leave that Da Allende at 12 with JDJ at 13…they moered those sharkies 6 love in that final….
Elton at 10….
and run the damn ball man…..
JDV and Schalk can be rested often …..bring on the young guns….the WP CC winning team showed what they capable of ….
@ufo-459:
Lol, sadly I agree- Peter is an exceptional (short range) kicker at the posts with a cool head and that is where it ends (as a player).
I am actually sad that Catrakilillis is gone- he really improved a lot over the last 2 years and it will be very interesting to see how he does at Super rugby level- lets just hope he gets at least some decent front foot ball.
I see Dawie Theron is using Swiel as a 15 – it is not necessary a bad thing as he would have to compete with Pollard at no 10 and might not get much game time – according to reports he had a fantastic game against the Maties in that position.
I also wonder when we will see Gary van Aswegen back in action again- if so, it will probably his last chance as they will surely not renew his contract should be become injured again- Talentwise he is right up there with Lambie/Jantjes imo but just seems to be too fragile for top class rugby (or maybe he is just incredibly unlucky so far).
25 Jan 2013, 11:35 am
Murraytakes 1 st set
25 Jan 2013, 11:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-463:
Nee ek gee hom gas dame.
@Robzim-469: That Catrikillis was a sad loss…..glad he is going to Kings though…
@ufo-467:
Net so UFO
25 Jan 2013, 11:39 am
@grant10-468:
Howzit Grant,
And hopefully Groome at 10, or what do u say?
I really rate him- besides his ability to get things going he is also an exceptional tackler, it’s like having an extra loose forward on the field. But Alister seems to have a “love’ for Duvenhage – i mean loyalty is a good thing but one can also not take it too far..
25 Jan 2013, 11:40 am
@Robzim-469: howzit Rob.
really enjoyed you and bagels retorts to my sodwana rant on the other thread.
we live in a beautiful country and i guess the debate simply highlights that haha.
25 Jan 2013, 11:43 am
@grant10-472: Must be honest I’m far more excited about the 2 young flyhalves at the academy. Eksteen from the Bulls has some serious potential, and was almost a straight swap for Pollard IMHO. (In terms of potential)…. Jordaan less so, but it wouldn’t be fair to judge him too harshly on last year, as he probably captained and played for the worst Grey Team in decades…..
25 Jan 2013, 11:44 am
@Robzim-474: Dearestrugbygods, Groom should be the go to man at 9.
25 Jan 2013, 11:47 am
@Robzim-474: ..Duvenhage must not kick so much…..Groom is a real livewire, reminds me of a young Rory Kockott…
Damian De Allende is what we need , JDV is a goner imo….we played our best rugby when he was injured…..nice guy and all but Father Time has done him no favours….
We have to become more expansive……I cannot go through another year of the absolute drivel we dished up last year……that is cowaedly stuff imo….the entertainment value was non existent…..winning at all costs was taken to a whole new dimension by that style of play….if that is what it takes then I will rather watch the Vodacom Cup team…
25 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-476: Yes….let us see how they do in the wp u 21 team….
That Swiel looks the business as well……
Pollard will fit in at the Bulls….
25 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@The Rangerman-475:
Cool man, I knew u had your tongue (slightly) in the cheek when u called the cape waters “sterile”
25 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@Robzim-469:
yeah rob… he does have a cool head and his goal kicking was excellent last season… but we need more than that if we hope to do any better…
yeah… i was nonplussed when i heard katrakilis was going… after such a great season and with no apparent successor… i couldn’t believe ac had let him go…
ja i saw dawie put tim at 15 which i guess is good for his career as you say… but he can switch comfortably between the two so shouldn’t prevent him being used at 10 as a sub for elton…
point is if we don;t get tim some game time we’re gonna start of the cc at a huge disadvantage all over again…
the last report i saw was gary starting training in two weeks from his injured ankle… so can’t see him being match fit for a while yet…
and again i agree… he really is a very talented thinking cool-headed all round footballer… i rate him highly… but i don’t think he’s got more than 2 games into any season yet… let’s hope it was just bad luck… and that his luck changes… but somehow it does look like he is just not robust enough for this level…
hope he gets to prove me wrong…
25 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
in other news, moses mabhida is a sellout for sundays game, six tickets in the bag (its a sell out, sure to be good).
after bafanas win against angola i am sure the stadium will be cooking and i am looking forward to it.
will be my first ever bafana game and only the second i ever attend at moses mabhida.
25 Jan 2013, 11:55 am
@Robzim-474: Getting my 8 week old Rttweiller pup this afternoon…he is flying in with the Breeder and the breeders wife [ mates of mine ] from Durban….
Let that farken Elsatian ever try and chase me again on that beach……[ okay maybe in 10 months time ]…..
My Brutus will defend me like Thys Lourens looked after a young Naas…
25 Jan 2013, 12:01 pm
@Robzim-480: haha, i was trying to stir i admit.
just to get debate going.
the spearfishing up here has been erratic with poor viz for months but when its clean the fish are there.
got a nice natal snoek the other day and there is a comp tomorrow that i am thinking of diving but the viz is once again a little dodgy.
25 Jan 2013, 12:02 pm
@The Rangerman-482:
it should rock ranger…
it looked really festive for the last game…
enjoy…!!
25 Jan 2013, 12:02 pm
@grant10-483:
Lol,, good luck man… I fetched the bully i told u about on Wednesday afternoon from the breeder- also 8 weeks old- he draw his first blood yesterday morning (my wrist) .
Prepare yourself for a few sleepless nights
25 Jan 2013, 12:08 pm
@The Rangerman-482: 1st game ever?
25 Jan 2013, 12:13 pm
@The Rangerman-484:
Thats great- seems like the spearfishing bug has really bitten you.
I dived (snorkeled) for oysters at a spot in Mossel Bay last week.- was shocked to see that the whole reef has just about been “cleaned out”- it’s about 7 meters deep and the subsistence/commercials cannot reach it (they not allowed to dive) , so someone must have used scuba illegally – according to compliance personnel it is a problem but they do not have the manpower. Farkin sad.
25 Jan 2013, 12:15 pm
Brutus
25 Jan 2013, 12:16 pm
@Robzim-486: Yes….a bit apprehensive but the blonde and I have bought the books and done the studying up so hopefully we will cope….
25 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm
@grant10-483: Icehaven Rottie???
25 Jan 2013, 12:26 pm
@grant10-490: Did you see the results of his temperament test? And if so……. what sayeth the ‘prey drive’?
25 Jan 2013, 12:27 pm
@ufo-485: thanks man, really looking forward to it!
@Robzim-488: eish man, that is terrible.
thats why spearos are generally so flippen quiet about where we get fish or bugs.
off to mozam on the 20th of feb fro 8 days with the club, boys trip.
paindaine where i shot my world record queenfish last year.
25 Jan 2013, 12:29 pm
@gunther-489: Brutus…….. His registered name will be far more exotic…. ‘Von Frolicks night angel of the clear sky blue’ or something as simpering. (They always are such wishy washy names)
25 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-491: My mate has 2 real champions …….first litter….had 8 pups….2 males [ 1 dead as the mom rolled on it 2 nd night ] and I could not resist…..
the pup has had all the vaccinations, etc but not sure what you on about with those test things…..Icehaven?? Lost me there too…
25 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
federer ls it…1 set each…what a boytjie !
25 Jan 2013, 12:33 pm
my mate named him…..I would have called him Brussow or something…..
Ja…that real name is pretentious….Brutus he shall be…
25 Jan 2013, 12:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-494:
His registered name will be Barney Von Smitus.
25 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
@grant10-495: Oh sorry. Icehaven, a good kennel in KZN, some lovey Rotties. I thought your pup might be coming from them.
Temperament test (Puppy aptitude testing): when the pup is in it’s 7th week, ideally day 49 of it’s life. Pup is scored on things like: Social attraction, following, Restraint, Social dominance, eevation dominance. retrieving, touch sensitivity, sound sensitivity, sight sensitivity and structure. You can almost work out from that how tough the next few monthst are going to be….
I’m sure your mate will fill you in
Shhhhheeeeeeez, I’m jealous
A little buggy bear pup in the house, nothing better.
25 Jan 2013, 12:44 pm
“SA to push for bigger Super Rugby”.
Under the current format,
this is of course stupidity.
And ultimately, unacceptable to All Other Parties.
However, there is more than one way to skin a bokke.
25 Jan 2013, 12:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-499: Yeah….should be fun….or not!
25 Jan 2013, 12:50 pm
@grant10-501: Email me when your 10 week old pup has you cornered at 23:00pm and is leaping at you; biting and tearing anything that moves (in between running round like a lunatic in a fit of the ‘zoomies’)
25 Jan 2013, 12:52 pm
@grant10-483:
Is he allowed to sleep on the bed with you and JustBuggery?
25 Jan 2013, 12:56 pm
@bryce_in_oz-503:
friggenhell…
bwaaahaaaa
that came out the blue
25 Jan 2013, 12:59 pm
@Transformation-487: ja first bafana game.
probably only my 5th live soccer game ever bud.
more of a rugby and cricket fan.
25 Jan 2013, 13:00 pm
@bryce_in_oz-503:
only if luke isnt visiting.
25 Jan 2013, 13:03 pm
@bryce_in_oz-503: Sheezus
25 Jan 2013, 13:12 pm
@The Rangerman-506:
Einapoes.
25 Jan 2013, 13:19 pm
@gunther-508:
25 Jan 2013, 13:20 pm
@gunther-508:
Gaan was jou mond met seep uit.
25 Jan 2013, 13:27 pm
@TooMuchRugby-510: latin, engils and now afrikaans.
is there no end to your talent?
25 Jan 2013, 13:29 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-502: Any advice will be much appreciated…
25 Jan 2013, 13:30 pm
@bryce_in_oz-503: Fark…if he get as big as his father he can sleep anywhere he damn well chooses!
25 Jan 2013, 13:35 pm
@grant10-512: You can honesty contact me anytime. Raising rotties…..raising hell
Nah…but any questions etc, get my info from Dawn anytime.
25 Jan 2013, 13:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-514: Thanks …Sincerely…
25 Jan 2013, 13:58 pm
@The Rangerman-511:
he’s a cunning linguist for sure.
25 Jan 2013, 14:15 pm
@gunther-516:
Yeah, I know some cunning stunts
25 Jan 2013, 19:35 pm
@gunther-516:
“You might be a cunning linguist, but I am a master debater.” Donald Rumsfeld
26 Jan 2013, 07:37 am
@ufo-518: I thought that was Austin Powers ?
26 Jan 2013, 08:16 am
yeah sb…
it didnt quite ring true when a i found it…
and I should’ve remembered anyway…
thanks for the correction…
26 Jan 2013, 08:36 am
Donald Rumsfeld.
26 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
Keo beating his patriotic chest with a whole lot of B.S. only the deluded will follow!
26 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
Keo beating his patriotic chest with a whole lot of B.S only the deluded will follow!
26 Jan 2013, 14:11 pm
@wallabie.-522: give us an example of NZ or Aus helping out their neighbors where rugby is concerned.
26 Jan 2013, 14:17 pm
It is incredibly STUPID for SA to be pushing for 6 teams. It will ultimately be to the detriment of the wider quality of SA’s teams. We cannot sustain 5 teams let alone 6. All for POLITICAL so-called expediency. It boggles the mind.
I just hope that the Kings get SMASHED by all and sundry this year and SARU and the politicians realise their mistake. Super rugby is not the place for “development”.
I would support a call for a reduction to the number of teams in Super rugby, to once more make it “Super”.
26 Jan 2013, 16:54 pm
Eastern cape needs top rugby. Tired of seeing the lions take woodenspoon
26 Jan 2013, 17:04 pm
In 10 years the lions have not add anything to SA rugby. Bet u the kings will do more in 3 years than the lions ever did. Its time to move in a different direction.standig still is not helping anyone.
26 Jan 2013, 17:24 pm
Lions haven’t done anything in 10years, its time to move on. Bet u kings will add more value in 3 years. Doing the same thing and think things are gonna be different is stupid.
26 Jan 2013, 17:33 pm
Kings to set spectacular new points difference records. Supersport to change their table graphics to accomodate another digit.
27 Jan 2013, 21:42 pm
@stormer in a teacup-524:
You sure you want to go down that road?
You guys think SA is helping Samoa by playing them 2 times more than NZ and Ozzie?? Is that the big brother thing here?
Well lets put it this way… about 80% of the Samoan team is paid by Kiwi dollars. They play in NZ competitions and learn rugby in NZ……
28 Jan 2013, 00:41 am
@stormer in a teacup-524:
I was commenting on Keo B.S story and not how well aussies are doing for development.
28 Jan 2013, 03:04 am
love the whole “SA is doing more for the islands” rugby fantasy going on here..
40 years ago NONE of the Samoan players would have been allowed into the country..
lets not forget, it was a SA journalist who expressed his dismay that supporters in NZ were cheering “coloured” players..
eina, now they are the bastions of helping island rugby?
hahahaha .hysterical stuff..
28 Jan 2013, 03:18 am
@the curse-532:
It is rather funny..in a warped kinda way…
28 Jan 2013, 03:33 am
@Te Rangatira-533: perhaps they could “coconut tackle” the issue?
28 Jan 2013, 03:56 am
@the curse-534:
or even give Bryan Williams South African status…
28 Jan 2013, 03:58 am
@Te Rangatira-535:
true dat bro
he was the first Moan player that SA “helped”
now they assist the whole nation, not just their rugby players…unlike us kiwi, we only allowed 200 thousand plus to move to our country so we could poach approx. 30 AB quality rugby players..
28 Jan 2013, 04:23 am
@the curse-536:
I wonder if that ‘HELP’ was on a temporary basis though….does he still enjoy that status to this day?
28 Jan 2013, 05:52 am
@Te Rangatira-537: I’m not sure, but I guess he will always have “honorary” status
whatever that means
29 Jan 2013, 03:27 am
Oh, well, that’s 3 potential point donors. Nice move. How about 10 teams per conference?
29 Jan 2013, 21:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-218: “it would be a meeeting of equals, ‘brothers’ if you will as opposed to ‘two kissing cousins and the family friend they dont like.”
Couldn’t agree more, the level roughly is the same.