SA to push for bigger Super Rugby

MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa will this year support an expanded Super Rugby competition to accommodate the Kings and Lions. But Pacific Island teams will again miss out.

Any expansion can only happen in 2016 but take it as a given Super Rugby will comprise more teams, but they won’t feature teams from the Pacific Islands because there is no financial gain to be made.

Sanzar CEO Greg Peters told the media Sanzar’s three partners Australia, New Zealand and South Africa would make the decision to expand or not later in 2013.

Argentina, Canada, Japan and the United States are seen as the primary targets. Japan because of the cash cow it promises to be, Argentina as a commitment to the expanded Rugby Championship that featured the Pumas for the first time and Canada and the United States because they are seen as potential cash cows, especially the United States. The word is to have one team from each of those countries.

It is one of the reasons Canada and the United States will play in the Pacific Nations Cup, which again shows how poorly the Island representation of Tonga, Fiji and Samoa are treated within Sanzar.

South Africa has always been seen as the big brother to Samoa in terms of value attributed to playing against Samoa and giving the country’s rugby side as much playing opportunity as possible.

New Zealand and Australia do nothing to promote the virtues of any of the Island teams because financially they offer nothing in terms of broadcasting deals.

‘We are considering whether or not we will include new territories in Super Rugby and one of the factors we’ll be weighing up is their [Canada and United States] competitiveness,’ Peters told The Australian.

‘Super Rugby in its present form is a pretty successful model … and we are not going to water it down. But we’d be derelict in our duty if we didn’t consider expanding into areas. The United States is a very big market and so is Japan and Asia generally. Ultimately it all comes down to what is in the best interests of the three Sanzar parties.’

Peters said player welfare would be a consideration but an expanded competition may allow for the tournament to be split into two pools of 10 teams each, although Australia will definitely not want to lose the conference system and the double-header local derbies. It is proving massive in Australia and the current format gives Australia everything it has wanted in a rugby union tournament that competes with the AFL (Aussie rules) and rugby league’s NRL.

Television audience figures and match attendance were highest in Australian Super Rugby for derby matches and because Australia has no provincial domestic competition Super Rugby doubles as their domestic competition. Just how South Africa and New Zealand agreed to give up so much for Australia to have so much gain is a question that can never be answered by those who did the surrender. If it could they would not have done so.

Ideally South Africa should be playing in a Super Rugby tournament with the best from England and France. Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and Japan should have their own Super Rugby tournament. Geographically that makes more sense, but the Celtic nations (Scotland, Ireland and Wales) remain the stumbling block to any South African participation in Europe.

New Zealand knows it can’t do justice to more than five teams, Australia is at its maximum and South Africa’s only need is to ease the political tensions and have all six regions represented. Then it is a matter of which new territories can make the existing Sanzar partners the biggest financial net gain.

Sanzar’s counter argument to the Pacific Islands is that it is the responsibility of the IRB to develop those countries. I don’t buy it, but then Sanzar has never been big on a purchase of morality.

540 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

• 451.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-441: :) :) :)

• 452.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Flyhalf Jantjies and Peter Grant will be rotated during the season, with Fleck confirming that Grant may at times also wear the No 12 jersey.

Yes please……..

• 453.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-452: That’s excellent news. I always believed that Grant was a great 12, better than a 10 in my opinion.

• 454.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pedigree: PG @12 is meh.
    he brings no particular skillset or x-factor. jc used to tell us about his “underrated distribution game” :roll: what poppycock…i don’t get how he would get that spot in front of jdj, jdv or jt

• 455.Robzim: Reply to this comment

IMO de Allende should be rotating with Jean at no 12. He is bigger/stronger/much faster/a better passer of the ball than Grant and can kick the ball twice as far out of hand. Grant’s role should be back up flyhalf who can perhaps start a few games if jantjes needs a rest (although Tim Swiel must also be given a chance asap)

• 456.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

There’s a reason that Super Rugby is widely regarded as the toughest rugby tournament (apart from internationals). It is because the teams come from the top three rugby playing countries in the world. To expand to countries will only be to the detriment of the competition. In addition to that economically and geographically it makes no sense. It just isn’t feasible. I for one cannot see this realistically happening.

• 457.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-448:

• 458.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-455: Fleck says de Allende will also play at centre and wing.

He went on to say that Jean will be ‘carefully’ managed – read: play very few games?

@Transformation-454: My yes please was predominantly for the ‘Elton will get much time in the 10 jersey’ remark. Grant or Jean Div….same same same. Grant brilliant defensively in the 12 channel though.

• 459.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-455:

agree with you rob… (but you already know this…)

elton jantjies has got to start as many games as possible… and like you i’d have tim swiel subbing to get some exposure to top rugby… and maybe getting the occasional start…

i have nothing personal against peter grant… he must be a really really nice guy because he gets welcomed back from japan like the prodigal-san every year…

neither he nor elton are going to play currie cup for us… so it is vital that tim gets game time and experience…

peter is not a good distributor, or runner, or kicker out of hand, or defender… at 10 or at 12…

he crabs across the field too much… bunching up the line and making it way too easy for the opposition to drift and defend… then passes the ball when he’s out of space and options and his centres and/or wings gets nailed… 9 times out of 10…

or his steps off his outside foot, dips his inside shoulder and barges at the opposition who have all slid across as he has crabbed across… and he gets nailed… 9 times out of 10…

we all know he can’t kick a beach ball hard enough to knock over a sandcastle… let alone a rugby ball out of hand…

and he was in the top 10 (maybe even top 5) for missed tackles last year… so his solid defense is a myth… he’s gone soft in japan where the opposition flops like fresh nigiri on a hot day… and falls off way too many tackles in super rugby…

he is a really nice guy i’m told… so i really feel bad for saying that the only jersey peter grant should be wearing is the one his nana crocheted him for christmas to keep him warm in japan…

• 460.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458: he brings no guile, step, pace or power on attack, the opposition 12 will be chilling & drifting into de jongh’s channel cos grant is no threat. pg @ 12 will be like paddy wallace or toby flood or charlie hodgson.

i’m concerned because my Kings also have andries strauss ( read donkey) @12 although i’m hoping sexton plays hadleigh parkes as a starter.

• 461.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah-456:

Hoe gaan dit met ons Regsdame?

• 462.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458:

More Ruck. Hoe hang dinge?

• 463.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-460: Grant/de Villiers – honestly much of a muchness for me. Grant is nice to have in the 12 channel running ‘D’ though. As I have said before, any talk of the Stormer backline seems irrelevant until we know who Coetzee is starting at 9……. :(

@Britney Spies-462: HG hang al van die dak af……

• 464.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Britney Spies-461:

good to see you’re still here…

• 465.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Britney Spies-461: Altyd lekker! ;)

• 466.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@ufo-464:

Dit is baie beter hier. Ek begin dit weer te geniet.

@SpringbokSarah-465:

Is jy in jou finale jaar BCom Regte?

• 467.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Britney Spies-466:

that’s cool to hear bud…

i hope you continue to enjoy it and hang around…

• 468.grant10: Reply to this comment

Leave that Da Allende at 12 with JDJ at 13…they moered those sharkies 6 love in that final….

Elton at 10….

and run the damn ball man…..

JDV and Schalk can be rested often …..bring on the young guns….the WP CC winning team showed what they capable of ….

• 469.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo-459:

Lol, sadly I agree- Peter is an exceptional (short range) kicker at the posts with a cool head and that is where it ends (as a player).

I am actually sad that Catrakilillis is gone- he really improved a lot over the last 2 years and it will be very interesting to see how he does at Super rugby level- lets just hope he gets at least some decent front foot ball.

I see Dawie Theron is using Swiel as a 15 – it is not necessary a bad thing as he would have to compete with Pollard at no 10 and might not get much game time – according to reports he had a fantastic game against the Maties in that position.

I also wonder when we will see Gary van Aswegen back in action again- if so, it will probably his last chance as they will surely not renew his contract should be become injured again- Talentwise he is right up there with Lambie/Jantjes imo but just seems to be too fragile for top class rugby (or maybe he is just incredibly unlucky so far).

• 470.grant10: Reply to this comment

Murraytakes 1 st set

• 471.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-463:

Nee ek gee hom gas dame.

• 472.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-469: That Catrikillis was a sad loss…..glad he is going to Kings though…

• 473.Britney Spies: Reply to this comment

@ufo-467:

Net so UFO

• 474.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10-468:

Howzit Grant,

And hopefully Groome at 10, or what do u say?
    I really rate him- besides his ability to get things going he is also an exceptional tackler, it’s like having an extra loose forward on the field. But Alister seems to have a “love’ for Duvenhage – i mean loyalty is a good thing but one can also not take it too far..

• 475.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-469: howzit Rob.

really enjoyed you and bagels retorts to my sodwana rant on the other thread.

we live in a beautiful country and i guess the debate simply highlights that haha.

• 476.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-472: Must be honest I’m far more excited about the 2 young flyhalves at the academy. Eksteen from the Bulls has some serious potential, and was almost a straight swap for Pollard IMHO. (In terms of potential)…. Jordaan less so, but it wouldn’t be fair to judge him too harshly on last year, as he probably captained and played for the worst Grey Team in decades…..

• 477.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-474: Dearestrugbygods, Groom should be the go to man at 9.

• 478.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-474: ..Duvenhage must not kick so much…..Groom is a real livewire, reminds me of a young Rory Kockott…
    Damian De Allende is what we need , JDV is a goner imo….we played our best rugby when he was injured…..nice guy and all but Father Time has done him no favours….

We have to become more expansive……I cannot go through another year of the absolute drivel we dished up last year……that is cowaedly stuff imo….the entertainment value was non existent…..winning at all costs was taken to a whole new dimension by that style of play….if that is what it takes then I will rather watch the Vodacom Cup team…

• 479.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-476: Yes….let us see how they do in the wp u 21 team….

That Swiel looks the business as well……

Pollard will fit in at the Bulls….

• 480.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-475:

Cool man, I knew u had your tongue (slightly) in the cheek when u called the cape waters “sterile” :)

• 481.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-469:

yeah rob… he does have a cool head and his goal kicking was excellent last season… but we need more than that if we hope to do any better…

yeah… i was nonplussed when i heard katrakilis was going… after such a great season and with no apparent successor… i couldn’t believe ac had let him go…

ja i saw dawie put tim at 15 which i guess is good for his career as you say… but he can switch comfortably between the two so shouldn’t prevent him being used at 10 as a sub for elton…

point is if we don;t get tim some game time we’re gonna start of the cc at a huge disadvantage all over again…

the last report i saw was gary starting training in two weeks from his injured ankle… so can’t see him being match fit for a while yet…

and again i agree… he really is a very talented thinking cool-headed all round footballer… i rate him highly… but i don’t think he’s got more than 2 games into any season yet… let’s hope it was just bad luck… and that his luck changes… but somehow it does look like he is just not robust enough for this level…

hope he gets to prove me wrong…

• 482.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

in other news, moses mabhida is a sellout for sundays game, six tickets in the bag (its a sell out, sure to be good).

after bafanas win against angola i am sure the stadium will be cooking and i am looking forward to it.

will be my first ever bafana game and only the second i ever attend at moses mabhida.

• 483.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-474: Getting my 8 week old Rttweiller pup this afternoon…he is flying in with the Breeder and the breeders wife [ mates of mine ] from Durban….

Let that farken Elsatian ever try and chase me again on that beach……[ okay maybe in 10 months time ]…..

My Brutus will defend me like Thys Lourens looked after a young Naas…

• 484.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-480: haha, i was trying to stir i admit.

just to get debate going.

the spearfishing up here has been erratic with poor viz for months but when its clean the fish are there.

got a nice natal snoek the other day and there is a comp tomorrow that i am thinking of diving but the viz is once again a little dodgy.

• 485.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-482:

it should rock ranger…

it looked really festive for the last game…

enjoy…!!

• 486.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10-483:

Lol,, good luck man… I fetched the bully i told u about on Wednesday afternoon from the breeder- also 8 weeks old- he draw his first blood yesterday morning (my wrist) .

Prepare yourself for a few sleepless nights :)

• 487.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-482: 1st game ever? :shock:

• 488.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-484:

Thats great- seems like the spearfishing bug has really bitten you.
    I dived (snorkeled) for oysters at a spot in Mossel Bay last week.- was shocked to see that the whole reef has just about been “cleaned out”- it’s about 7 meters deep and the subsistence/commercials cannot reach it (they not allowed to dive) , so someone must have used scuba illegally – according to compliance personnel it is a problem but they do not have the manpower. Farkin sad.

• 489.gunther: Reply to this comment

Brutus

• 490.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-486: Yes….a bit apprehensive but the blonde and I have bought the books and done the studying up so hopefully we will cope….

• 491.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-483: Icehaven Rottie???

• 492.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-490: Did you see the results of his temperament test? And if so……. what sayeth the ‘prey drive’? :)

• 493.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo-485: thanks man, really looking forward to it!

@Robzim-488: eish man, that is terrible.

thats why spearos are generally so flippen quiet about where we get fish or bugs.

off to mozam on the 20th of feb fro 8 days with the club, boys trip.

paindaine where i shot my world record queenfish last year.

• 494.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-489: Brutus…….. His registered name will be far more exotic…. ‘Von Frolicks night angel of the clear sky blue’ or something as simpering. (They always are such wishy washy names)

• 495.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-491: My mate has 2 real champions …….first litter….had 8 pups….2 males [ 1 dead as the mom rolled on it 2 nd night ] and I could not resist…..

the pup has had all the vaccinations, etc but not sure what you on about with those test things…..Icehaven?? Lost me there too…

• 496.grant10: Reply to this comment

federer ls it…1 set each…what a boytjie !

• 497.grant10: Reply to this comment

my mate named him…..I would have called him Brussow or something…..

Ja…that real name is pretentious….Brutus he shall be…

• 498.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-494:

His registered name will be Barney Von Smitus.

• 499.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-495: Oh sorry. Icehaven, a good kennel in KZN, some lovey Rotties. I thought your pup might be coming from them. :)

Temperament test (Puppy aptitude testing): when the pup is in it’s 7th week, ideally day 49 of it’s life. Pup is scored on things like: Social attraction, following, Restraint, Social dominance, eevation dominance. retrieving, touch sensitivity, sound sensitivity, sight sensitivity and structure. You can almost work out from that how tough the next few monthst are going to be…. :)

I’m sure your mate will fill you in :)

Shhhhheeeeeeez, I’m jealous :( A little buggy bear pup in the house, nothing better.

• 500.cane: Reply to this comment

“SA to push for bigger Super Rugby”.

Under the current format,
    this is of course stupidity.

And ultimately, unacceptable to All Other Parties.

However, there is more than one way to skin a bokke.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.