Baby Boks thrash Ikeys

The SA U20 training squad thumped UCT 52-19 on Saturday.

Playing into a stiff breeze in the first half, the Baby Boks did well to score three tries on their way to building a 19-12 half-time lead.

With the wind in their favour and their forwards clearly dominating, the SA U20s scored a further five times – two while flyhalf Robert du Preez was in the sin bin for a dangerous tackle – to run out convincing winners.

Despite the absence of several players who were unavailable due to Springbok Sevens and Super Rugby commitments, the SA U20s were still too powerful for Ikeys.

Centre Dries Swanepoel, playing in place of Jan Serfontein, combined well with winger JP Lewis and the duo, alongside Du Preez, were the pick of the SA U20 backs. Lock Marvin Orie, who captained the side in all three training matches, was easily the best forward on the field.

Dawie Theron, the SA U20 coach, said afterwards he was very pleased with the outcome of their three-game preparation for the 2013 Junior World Championship. Before Saturday’s clash against UCT, the Baby Boks had beaten the University of the Western Cape, and lost to Maties.

‘The camp and especially the three matches showed us we have a lot of talented players and that it will be hard to choose a final squad,’ said Theron. ‘I feel that a lot of players really grabbed their chances against UCT to play them into contention for final squad selection.

‘The players responded well after the loss against Maties and I am very pleased with the focus, their application of the game plan, and especially the finishing against UCT.’

The players now return to their provinces for Vodacom Cup, Super Rugby and Varsity Cup duty and will reconvene again sometime in March for another camp.

The Baby Boks’ tries were scored by Siti Sithole, Tyler Fisher, Jurie van Vuuren, Andrew Beerwinkel, Dries Swanepoel, Roelof Smit, Luan du Bruyn and Johnny Kotze. Du Preez slotted four conversions while Tim Swiel kicked two.

UCT’s tries were scored by Dylan Sage, Lihleli Xoli and Ross-Jones Daniels.