Guildford leaves Saders squad
26 Jan 2013
Crusaders wing Zac Guildford has withdrawn indefinitely from the squad and will undertake an alcohol treatment programme.
The 23-year-old was involved in a serious alcohol-fuelled incident earlier this month at a private house party. This came after Guildford had rejoined the Crusaders on his final warning after several misconduct charges by his employer, the NZRU.
On Saturday, the union said he would be undertaking an intensive treatment programme to sort out his personal issues.
‘We are working closely with the players’ association and his manager to ensure that he gets the professional help he needs and is held accountable for his actions,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew.
‘Zac’s withdrawal from the Crusaders means they are able to concentrate on preparing for their 2013 season, and Zac will be free from rugby to concentrate on resolving his personal issues.
‘We will remain in touch with Zac to monitor his progress and will address the issue of misconduct at the appropriate time.’

61 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
26 Jan 2013, 10:44 am
Sad to see
26 Jan 2013, 11:52 am
get well zac
26 Jan 2013, 13:16 pm
Sad, but probably the best course of action.
26 Jan 2013, 13:52 pm
Simon, perhaps you’d better contextualise a “serious alcohol-fuelled incident”, because in New Zealand this is something entirely different to Cape Town, where it means spilling Merlot on the cream Weatherleys sofa.
26 Jan 2013, 14:18 pm
I’m back on here again on and off after a ±4 month hiatus.
Zac’s probably burnt the last bridge. Might have to head overseas. By some accounts he’s a victim of unresolved grief following the passing of his father.
26 Jan 2013, 15:31 pm
@viewer-5:
They’re business people in the north – they won’t invest money in him.
26 Jan 2013, 18:54 pm
I’m surprised Zac wasn’t locked up for assult. He had an agreement with someone at a house party and waited for the guy to go to bed. Then went and laid into the person and his Crusader mates had to pull him off.
Blame it on alcohol? More like being a loose tool. Don’t need around.
26 Jan 2013, 19:07 pm
@JustAnotherFan-7:
” He had an agreement with someone at a house party and waited for the guy to go to bed.”..?..
do you mean he had a disagreement?
26 Jan 2013, 19:10 pm
these Kiwis are so precious in the way they hide their AB’s off field indiscretions from the world, as if they’re any better on field.
would love to know the full story behind this incident seeing as its already happened and been dealt with.
who even knew macaw was divorced and dating the owner of a high class swingers club?
26 Jan 2013, 19:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8: yip, typo. Disagreement.
26 Jan 2013, 20:31 pm
McCaw into swinging? Well Greyling is excused for the swinging elbow, it is the only swinging known to Pretoria Afrikaans boys
26 Jan 2013, 20:35 pm
Guilford can come right if he leaves drink for good. Sonny Bill became a fake Muslim to justify not drinking. These Kiwi lads can’t hold their liquor and become mental, best if they quit boozing.
26 Jan 2013, 20:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: It doesn’t sound like there’s really much more to the story. He was at a friend’s place, got drunk, punched some guy that didn’t deserve it. He later apologised, apology was accepted. No police involved, no injury, no sexual harassment this time or nakedly punching older men. He figured it was enough of a derail to tell the Crusaders and step down. I’m not defending him, i think he needs to shape up, but there’s really not much more to it.
@brains_trust-12: What are you on about – we could talk about saffer players getting drunk and killing policemen, getting shot in taverns and going on axe murdering sprees. But that would be a sweeping statement in poor taste. Alcohol/substance abuse happens in all countries
26 Jan 2013, 20:59 pm
@gonzo-13:
ok, thanks.
why do the NZ media/Rugby dress it up in vague words and evasive language then?
just curious.
if anything its a stupid way to go about protecting someones image because it just leaves us to put our own mental pictures together.
26 Jan 2013, 23:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-14: I’m not sure. Ever since the pro era, anyone in rugby management or coaching seems to think have have to speak like they are the PR spokesperson for a multi-national corporation, i.e. talk a lot but say nothing.
But there have been a few articles in the NZ media with Zac’s girlfriend, flatmate and the mother of a kid with cancer that Zac befriended at the chch hospital (it was actually quite touching) defending him but also giving a few more details about what happened. What Zac needs to learn is that if he’s going to get drunk and cause sh*t, he’d be better off doing it during the season when the journos aren’t short of news and willing to dwell on it. Lauaki and Sivivatu did a lot worse but the media moved on pretty quick
26 Jan 2013, 23:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: Hey, what’s this about McCaw being divorced? I put it into google and found this – classic!
http://www.2oceansvibe.com/2010/08/18/richie-mccaw-divorces-os-du-randt/
http://media.2oceansvibe.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/mccawr.png
27 Jan 2013, 01:00 am
@gonzo-16:

Brilliant
Wiki leaks, got to love them
27 Jan 2013, 02:58 am
@gonzo-16:
Love it. Somebody messing with RM
Hey anyone can go alter things on that site if you want
27 Jan 2013, 04:11 am
Bakkies @ 14
Why would you want rugby journalism to be about players’ private lives? Drunken nights out, bar fights and dating swingers is not what it’s all about. Read celebrity gossip mags if that’s what youre in to
Perhaps in Zac’s case it’s in his best interests to NOT have his private issues discussed at large by people with no idea how difficult it might be living with a drinking problem
27 Jan 2013, 06:04 am
Redman
it is all part of Bakkkies midis operandi. Abe can’t stand the fact that NZ continually bets the bokkes and SA in general in evey rugby competition.
he thus fuels his hatred by trawling trough NZ websites searching for any and evey scrap to alleviate the hurt that site heavy on his deluded heart
Bakkies is simply a fckwit apologist clinging to conspiracy theories his own mind has created to salvage his sanity from the feelings of inadequacy NZs continual emasculation of SA rugby entails.
27 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm
Oh I see the low life racist anti saffa fukpig is back from his taxpayer/dole funded time off over the holiday period! Pity he didn’t choke on a left over turkey bone and save us all from the cr ap that spews from his hating mouth!!
27 Jan 2013, 12:33 pm
@whatthe-21:
Same could be said of You and I.
And revert to your original NIK.
27 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
Hehe……noooooooo
27 Jan 2013, 12:35 pm
Think my original nik is still banned!
27 Jan 2013, 12:36 pm
Think my original ni k is still banned!
27 Jan 2013, 12:38 pm
Wtf? iPhone must be on the juice…..submit once and post twice, pity my local doesn’t do that…
27 Jan 2013, 12:46 pm
@whatthe-25:
What possibly could an all out a s s -hole like you have been banned for?
27 Jan 2013, 12:49 pm
For being similar to you? Hey, don’t let it get you down your bumchum poppadoos was banned at the same time if it makes you feel any better.
27 Jan 2013, 13:16 pm
@gonzo-15:
thanks for the informative info, Gonzo.
imo the best way to kill a bad story is to break it to the media yourself asap.
when the juice is gone and the bone is dry, the dogs go looking for tastier scraps elswhere.
@RedMan-19:
its human nature, Redman.
i would never have been bothered if the kiwi PR protectors hadn’t wet my appetite in the first place. seriously, why let out even a whiff of a ‘not too nice’ personal life story which has been sanitised in the first place?
all it does is make people wonder what really happened.
@gonzo-16:
funny
seriously though, i thought he was married? and assumed he must have gotten divorced then seeing as he suddenly turned up dating an english woman just the other day?
@the curse-20:
take it easy, Pops.
its not always about you.
27 Jan 2013, 13:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-29:
Houston….the great Ab captain has scored himself a young hottie from hockey. Couldn’t see him dating that Pom….she was rather unattractive in the Carmeila mould.
As for the PR response re; Zaccy….well obviously you want the warts and all story.of whether he was clothed when assaulting male in bed?
27 Jan 2013, 13:28 pm
@whatthe-28:
Call me a cynic,
but glad you and Popps made it back.
27 Jan 2013, 13:34 pm
@Te Rangatira-30:
hi TR, good to hear hope it works out for them both.
yes, the english girl was not the most photogenic, mind you though i have often had the experience of seeing people, specially ladies, in pictures and thinking to myself ‘not a chance’ but then meeting them in person and being gobsmacked blown away by their beauty.
pics do that with some people. of course its nice when it works out that way and not the other way around hehehe.
yes, the warts would be nice. why pique my interest in the first place
27 Jan 2013, 13:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32:
Howzit Houston…..long weekend in Auckland and everyone has left to go on a holiday break. I’m suppose to be working…catching up on stuff.
Yep…there is, that picture doesn’t do you justice line….but she is no beauty…
27 Jan 2013, 13:55 pm
@Te Rangatira-33:
oh well, c’est la vie.
27 Jan 2013, 14:03 pm
ah, the story comes out bit by bit:
Rugby: Guildford punched wrong man
Troubled Crusaders wing Zac Guildford allegedly punched the wrong man at a party earlier this month, the victim’s father says.
Guildford has withdrawn indefinitely from the Crusaders for this year’s Super Rugby season following the incident at a party at a Christchurch house on January 12.
It can be revealed that the victim was Ryan Kerr, son of Kaiapoi harness racing trainer Paul Kerr. Mr Kerr said it was a case of mistaken identity, but he was not sure who Guildford had intended to punch.
“It was someone who was at that party, that’s all I can say.
“It’s part of life; sometimes you’re just in the wrong place at the wrong time and that was the end result unfortunately.”
Only one punch was thrown, which left Ryan with a black eye.
for the rest:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10861729
27 Jan 2013, 15:42 pm
So it’s a nothing story, really
I can’t help but sense it all being rather anti-climactic
All the best, Zac
27 Jan 2013, 17:08 pm
I don’t hate saffas whatever
total droplicks like yourself are the exception though
still living in exile in NZ after your family profited during apartheid huh? just how many people did your family murdrr, maim, execute?
aye little fat boy? I can just see you waddling onto the special needs bus, take a look at the way you continually converse with people on this blog, it shows your lack of edumacation
now, run a long and continue to hide for your families crimes against humanity
how do you love with tht on your conscious? eish
27 Jan 2013, 17:09 pm
love = live
farken predictive text sux
27 Jan 2013, 19:26 pm
@the curse-38:
its not predictive text, Pops
its the universe telling you to let a little love into your heart
and to give peace a chance
27 Jan 2013, 19:35 pm
@the curse-38:
How ya doing Pops?
Got a great e-mail with auto correct mistakes.
Also get irritated with spell check, especially when typing in Afrikaans, a foreign language for the computer if ever there was one.
27 Jan 2013, 21:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35:
Like most things the full story takes a while to get out.
I think you are delusional if you think the full story becomes public the next day.
27 Jan 2013, 21:44 pm
@Hurricane-41:
Better to keep it under wraps until the biography comes out.
Keeps the books interesting.
27 Jan 2013, 21:57 pm
@Hurricane-41:
do you ever take a day off from protecting your land, Captain New Zealand?
27 Jan 2013, 22:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43:
Goes to show how much you actually talk about NZ and try and find conspiracies etc… is there a day that you dont….Private South Africa
27 Jan 2013, 22:06 pm
@nortierd-42:
27 Jan 2013, 22:26 pm
@Hurricane-44:
you are pathetic if you’re going to waste your powers fighting puny fake crimes, ‘secret super hero Guy’.
with great fake power, comes great fake responsibilty…
27 Jan 2013, 22:31 pm
good night Hurri,
i have to be up early.
27 Jan 2013, 22:34 pm
@37
Sad fukcouldn’t have had much of a holiday, must have been in remand!
If you gonna knock my education, try spelling correctly first you doos
27 Jan 2013, 23:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
I would laugh but i find your sickness concerning.
Calling me pathetic?
Who goes and scans NZ news papers just to fulfill a habit or to make one feel better?
27 Jan 2013, 23:18 pm
@Hurricane-49:
Hurri, if you are the super hero then Bakkies is one lab accident away from becoming a super villain
The NZ Kryptonite as it were.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All