Saru denies Kings request

Saru has turned down the Southern King’s request to include five foreigners in their Super Rugby squad.

At the beginning of January, the Kings named a 40-man squad including five foreigners. Kings officials were, at that point, adamant that Saru would bend the rules and allow South Africa’s newest franchise to field all five players.

But according to Rapport, Saru has officially turned down the Kings’ request, and they will only be allowed to play two foreigners in the coming Super Rugby competition.

The foreign recruits are Tomas Leonardi and Nicolas Vergallo (both Argentina), Daniel Adongo (Kenya), Virgile Lacombe (France) and Hadleigh Parkes (New Zealand). It is believed Adongo is considering taking out South African citizenship.

Kings president Cheeky Watson said that the Eastern Cape franchise had not been officially informed about Saru’s decision.

‘If this is the case, we will accept and abide by the decision of SA Rugby. We know that the region has never been fed with a silver spoon, and have no reason to expect any different going into our debut Super Rugby season,’ Watson said.

‘The path for this region to get a Super Rugby franchise has been fraught with challenges, and yet, despite all the odds, we have overcome them and Super Rugby is a reality, with our first game against Western Force less than a month away.

‘We accept that this opportunity comes from a loaded deck of cards, but the bigger the challenge, the bigger the task, the bigger the team and the overall success.

‘We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, however, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute.’

303 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 51.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-47:

• 52.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-50: happens to everyone.

• 53.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-52: you miss the point. Saffas seem to do it quicker than others. Especially Afrikaners. They develop this weird hybrid sing song accent.

Aussies and Yanks may never be turned.

• 54.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-46:

It’s alright. Can’t complain too much but of course it is initially a culture shock.

You definitely get welcomed, but get sick of people asking you why you supposedly hate blacks. Or sometimes you get someone asking you why you aren’t black (because you’re from AFRICA!).

• 55.Angostura: Reply to this comment

{Here’s an IMO}:

The Kings’ foreign player pecking order was always (or rather, should always have been):
    1. Tomas Leonardi
    2. Nicolas Vergallo
    3. Hadleigh Parkes
    4. Daniel Adongo
    5. Virgil Lacombe

With the 2 foreign players squad limitation reasonably expected to be applied, Parkes, Adongo & Lacombe were always reasonably anticipated to be there only to provide depth & cover in the wider squad. Sure, Cheeky pushed his luck in trying to get SARU to relax the rule for the Kings, &, hey, why not, the rule was relaxed for the Rebels, & Cheeky would’ve failed in his duty to the Kings had he not tried?

(a) Daniel Adongo – Is straight cover (medical joker) for Leonardi (although not as a substitute from the bench as per the foreigners limitation, but only as an extra-squad injury replacement to the squad)
    (b) Hadleigh Parkes – His situation is more complicated; Had I been a Kings selector I’d have 3 scrumhalves in my squad, & if Vergallo was injured I’d bring in, not a replacement scrum half, but Parkes as run on player at #12 or #15, or as bench cover for those positions.
    (c) Virgil Lacombe – His signing left me nonplussed; Before his late signing the Kings already had 3 competent, local hookers; & now with the injury to Hannes Franklin, his presence in the squad IS needed, but he is disqualified. I do not see how Lacombe will play Super Rugby other than as a medical joker in the unlikely event of 3 of the Kings’ other foreign signings are injured.

Thus the application to the Kings of this rule limitation is not a shock, & does not alter much to the likely 1st choice playing personnel of the Kings. However, I believe the Kings made a mistake with the signing of Lacombe (& I believed that all along). But the Kings is not the 1st franchise to make a costly mistake in signing a player.

Punters may yet see 4 of the Kings’ foreign contingent play Super Rugby in 2013.

• 56.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-54:

Ah and New Zealand has a BIG marijuana and drinking problem. Something they don’t advertise, but the weekly ritual of a kiwi teenager is getting drunk and drifting from between night-clubs.

How they let their daughters out god only knows. I’ve seen girls being manhandled, groped etc. more times then I can remember. Had my nose broken and lip go through my front teeth after interrupting a guy (what I’d call) sexually assaulting a female friend of mine.

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-50:

No Liewe,

The accent may soften.

But it never goes away.

And why should it.

• 58.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-53: it is a perception. You notice subtle changes to SA accents because it is your own. You won’t pick up changes to other accents as easily.

• 59.RL: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-56: don’t mess with a drunk islander … ever again. When the blood alchohol level is .02 your women is their women.

• 60.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@RL-59: So you mean around about breakfast time.

• 61.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@RL-59:

Haha.

Unfortunately he wasn’t an Islander. I believe he was Cambodian! Has a twin brother so I’m not sure which one it was… though I’m not about to pretend I’m the type to seek any sort of retribution lol.

• 62.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-56:
    sjoe! sounds bad.
    was there a just resolution to your incident at least?

• 63.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-56:
    Yes hendrikp….I feel lucky I don’t have daughters….respect for women and the elderly is declining…I can’t fathom this decline in the moralistic nature of our society.
    Nowadays, marijuana its a criminal enterprise and a way of life for many. Mix it with alcohol and things get outta hand….so many people lose it, especially young males who coupled with the no respect attitude and a dislike for authority

• 64.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-62:

Happened on dance floor. I was having a beer at the bar and the guy was groping her from behind running his hands all over. Went over and put my arm in between them, next moment I thought to myself “wow, my face really hurts” and then saw him take off. Didn’t even see him hit me with the lights flickering on and off. Actually took me a few seconds to even click that I’d been hit.

Saw him outside the pub an hour or so later, but yeah I’ve got a girlfriend whose almost left me a couple of times for getting any sort of retaliation. Don’t quite understand but I do what I’m told lol.

• 65.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-63:

Couldn’t have said it any better.

• 66.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Was it consensual?

• 67.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

You haven’t said how the girl reacted to all of this…. It may have been “groping” to you but if it was consensual then it probably wasn’t your place to interfere in the first place.

• 68.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-67:

She was pretty upset & tried to get him to leave her alone. Plus she was (at the time) my best friends girlfriend. Definitely my place to interfere! :)

• 69.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-54: “You definitely get welcomed, but get sick of people asking you why you supposedly hate blacks. ”

@RL-59: “don’t mess with a drunk islander … ever again. When the blood alchohol level is .02 your women is their women”

@hendrikp-61: “Unfortunately he wasn’t an Islander. I believe he was Cambodian!”

@hendrikp-54: Perhaps there’s the reason why people assume you hate blacks

• 70.RL: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-67: how would you like to have a big Tongan cross dresser put her hands around your hips and start swinging – you would freeze and he would think yay consensual and hold you in his arms all night long .. occasionally looking to shake little johnny.

• 71.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-69:

Don’t be a prick.

• 72.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@RL-70: nah Hennie had been, until his last post, silent on how the girl felt about it. If she was into it then so what, Hennie probably had a crush on the girl by interfering. But he has explained it wasn’t consensual, and she had a boyfriend who is Hennie’s mate, so full credit to him for sticking up for her. Although the girl could probably have ended the situation without the need for Hennie to go UFC on the crowd.

• 73.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-71: Sorry, I just thought the timing was funny. You not knowing why people assume saffers are racist then another saffer assuming the violent drunk guy had to be an islander. But I didn’t mean to make a sweeping remark about your nationality. Some of my best friends are saffers

• 74.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-72:

Thanks but I definitely didn’t go UFC! Calmly placed my hand in between them! I’m by nature a soft person :) Not initiating anything!

I understand what you’re saying. Don’t think you’re quite picturing what I was describing though!

• 75.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-73:

Ah okay I assumed you were having a go :P

It has to be in the top 3 most common question I get asked though. The others being “do you speak African (sic)” and “who do you support”.

• 76.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@RL-70: Why? Are you a pimp?

• 77.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-64:
    well, looking on the bright side i guess it could have been a lot worse, he could have glassed you or something worse.
    yes, women are usually like that and will expect you not to follow suit, if you did you would have to deal with the dissapointment and all that **** at home, which could have gone on for god knows how long :lol:

perhaps you should have involved the cops if it means it’ll help sort this guy out so he learns a lesson. it might even save him from being seriously hurt in the future.

• 78.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-73:

Assuming you are a Kiwi? If you aren’t, disregard the rest of the message!

Saw a bit of this happening on Saturday:
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/8228754/Terry-Serepisos-in-race-day-brawl

Really can’t stand Terry Serepisos.

• 79.Fern: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-75:
    I saw a big islander in a pub in Wellington shaking a girl by the shoulders and the bouncers did nada.

• 80.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77:

Seeing as I’m pretty much anonymous I’ll tell the prequel.

About 3 months before that a guy I knew (friend of a friend) was at my flat drinking. Would’ve been around 20 or so people there.

Now I knew he had a crush on my girlfriend because he had moved into my previous flat and was texting her about my mail – odd considering he had my cellphone number.

So anyway I had the girlfriends iphone because was messing around on the net. Next moment get a text from him saying just “xo”.

Ended up with me strangling him and so forth. Never been that angry in my life. Since then I’ve been on a tight leash (though I still feel to some extent it was justified).

• 81.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

must say i’m amazed a Cambodian could hit him hard enough to break his nose :shock:

• 82.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern-79:

Saw a bouncer throw a go down the Hotel Bristol stairs once. Back when Bill Cavubati was working there, though he was just watching lol.

• 83.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-78: That’s so sad if he was jumped unprovoked but the comment about having no money to donate was actually pretty funny :)

I still find the whole going-to-the-races thing strange. Kiwis and Aussies get all dressed up, only to end up drunk and fighting as if they were downtown at 3am outside McDs

• 84.Fern: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-80:
    ek sou ook sy k ont ingeskop het.

• 85.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-78: and yes i’m a kiwi but have been away a while so you probably know more about the goings on there than me

• 86.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81:

Wouldn’t have been much bigger then say 5 foot 7 either.

I was more amazed at how much blood can come out of your nose 0_0.

• 87.David: Reply to this comment

I see Eltons dad died from a bee sting yesterday. What a start to the season for the poor kid and his brother.

• 88.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-83:

Hahaha yeah loved the bit about him not having any money.

I doubt it was unprovoked though. He would’ve initiated it. Terry is a real prick when he wants to be. Only saw when it was over but he definitely got a few punches in… and it would have been before they all got involved.

• 89.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

First SARU confirm there involvement at the 11th hour (they should have had a year to recruit) then they deny them foreign recruits

Say what you want about Australia but they had the Rebels sorted out and they were allowed 10 foreign players in their first year of super rugby, and progressively less as every new season starts

to summarize: Saru are a bunch a idiots

• 90.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81: nerds are quite fragile Bakkies :smile:

• 91.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern-84:

Thanks! Still get reminded of it when I’m in trouble :P

• 92.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-80:
    good story and as justified as you may have felt i’m gonna side with your better half on this one, moering someone is never on unless they really deserve it (i have a few simple rules for determining it in my case and always go to great lengths to solve problems without a need for violence first).

usually there is some hurt and dissapointment felt by your partner for you not having trusted her enough in the first place. thats what gets them mad :grin:

you sound like a nice chill oke from your description, Hendrik
    def not a ‘breker’ and thats a good thing :lol:

oh and, fyi i had to google ‘xo’ :lol:

• 93.Fern: Reply to this comment

Sunni bin Williams says if Fransie Botha knocks him out,he will stop boxing.

• 94.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@numba4lock-89: sorry boetie but the KrapKings are all about “development” and “transformation” and “tapping in to the huge black player base” that supposedly exists in the EC. At no stage would it have been correct to allow the KrapKings more foreign players, given the stated aims of Sheeky and his political chums.

The KrapKings cannot be compared to the Rebels. The KrapKings are a political expediency with no regard to results are the effect on SA rugby. The Rebels are all about winning in typical Aussie efficiency, competence and shrewdness.

• 95.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@RL-90:

I don’t even lift :( :P

• 96.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-95:

http://p.twimg.com/A6GwnOoCQAErBZh.jpg

• 97.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Fern-93: yeah, but not because he’s scared of boxing but he said if he gets knocked out, his mum won’t let him get in the ring again :)

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-86:
    i’ll bet that will be his ‘go to’ story around the braai for a long time to come.

@RL-90:
    it would seem so, RL

(no offense Hennie) :lol:

• 99.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92:

Moes daai les die harde manier leer!

Maar sal saam stem en se jy voel eintlik moerse k@k na die tyd.

• 100.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-93:
    there is a very real possibility he will.
    its going to be the hardest that boy’s ever been hit in his life before.
    and judging by his onfield behaviour he gets rattled easy, and when that happens the outcome’s usually not pretty.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.