Saru denies Kings request

Saru has turned down the Southern King’s request to include five foreigners in their Super Rugby squad.

At the beginning of January, the Kings named a 40-man squad including five foreigners. Kings officials were, at that point, adamant that Saru would bend the rules and allow South Africa’s newest franchise to field all five players.

But according to Rapport, Saru has officially turned down the Kings’ request, and they will only be allowed to play two foreigners in the coming Super Rugby competition.

The foreign recruits are Tomas Leonardi and Nicolas Vergallo (both Argentina), Daniel Adongo (Kenya), Virgile Lacombe (France) and Hadleigh Parkes (New Zealand). It is believed Adongo is considering taking out South African citizenship.

Kings president Cheeky Watson said that the Eastern Cape franchise had not been officially informed about Saru’s decision.

‘If this is the case, we will accept and abide by the decision of SA Rugby. We know that the region has never been fed with a silver spoon, and have no reason to expect any different going into our debut Super Rugby season,’ Watson said.

‘The path for this region to get a Super Rugby franchise has been fraught with challenges, and yet, despite all the odds, we have overcome them and Super Rugby is a reality, with our first game against Western Force less than a month away.

‘We accept that this opportunity comes from a loaded deck of cards, but the bigger the challenge, the bigger the task, the bigger the team and the overall success.

‘We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, however, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute.’

303 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-99:
    goed vir jou, Hendrik.
    jy’s n aangename jong man en dit klink vir my sy’s gelukkig om n kerel soos jy aan haar kant te he.
    hou jou net uit die moeilikheid uit :lol:

• 102.David: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-94:
    The Sharks have had an academy in the EC for while. It certainly isn’t to develop youngsters for the region, but for the Sharks. Until the EC has a franchise, it will be impossible for them to retain or attract talented youngsters.

• 103.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@David-102: do the Stormers not have any players from the EC?

Why does the EC “need” a franchise? They have never won the Currie Cup. Why does Limpopo or the North West or Mpumulanga not “need” their own franchise too?

The EC bought out of their franchise years ago and ran off with the cash. They made their bed.

Simple fact is that SA has no space for 6 franchises. It will dilute the lot.

• 104.Fern: Reply to this comment

bakkies lyk my jy probeer vir hendrik opchat.

• 105.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

By the way, where is this “Sharks academy in the EC”? And which players have come through it?………..

• 106.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-103: @Liewe Luiperd-103:

Scarra Ntubeni, Kurt Coleman, Siya Kolisi.

Can’t think of any others.

@Fern-104:

Jealous? :P

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-104:

ag nee Fern, mens roep dit maniere. :lol:

• 108.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

boy, i really am looking forward to the Sonny fight.
    does he have a nickname yet?

• 109.David: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-103: To answer your first statement last. EP and Border (SWD was with the Stormers) never sold out of the Coastal Sharks, they sold their right to host a few games in PE and EL.
    The EC is the traditional home of black rugby in SA, but was never allowed to compete in the CC because of apartheid. Unfortunately, the amalgamation of black and white unions coincided with the professional era and the traditional wealthy white unions, except for EP, were able to attract even more players from the EC region.
    As things have developed, the regional franchise teams players are now identical to the major CC unions with the exception of FS and Griquas, so the chances of a non franchise EC side (EP) ever competing successfully for the CC is almost non existent.
    Just remember that PWC selected the last Franchises, not CC success.

• 110.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108: Sonny “Bill” Williams perhaps?

Probably a nickname wouldn’t work so well with his triple-barreled name…Sonny Bill “The Charger” Williams just doesn’t roll off the tongue. But you make a good point, who ever heard of a successful boxer that didn’t have a nickname?

• 111.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-110:
    exactly.
    he’s going up against Francois “The White Buffalo” Botha
    it would’ve been nice if he had one too.

• 112.Fern: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-110:
    He is not a succesfull boxer

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-112:
    come on Fern, he’s the heavyweight champion of NZ.
    that counts for something.

• 114.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-112:
    also if i remember correct the bout’s supposed to be for the WBA International Heavyweight title or something like that?

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David-109: you will be blue in the face repeating the same facts to bilebags.

• 116.Fern: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113:
    look at who his previous opponents was…

• 117.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Fern-112: What do you mean he’s not successful? He knocked that gospel singer out cold like he was an overweight ageing sickness beneficiary.

Anyway, I know a lot of guys are looking forward to seeing SBW get smashed but the main event for me will be Quade, if he turns up. He looked scared to death when he met his opponent and complained about how it was so confrontational. What a circus Khoder has organised!

• 118.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@David-109: No, EP and Border no longer have anything to do with Sharks super rugby. They were bought out completely. And formed the Spears (remember them?).

Life is tough.

Leeds aren’t in the premier league. They don’t cry about it. Professional era and all that.

What’s up with the so called hordes of black players in the EC, can’t they leave home? If they were any good, they’d be snapped up in a flash by the other unions who are under immense pressure to select black players……………..

I just don’t see why there is a “need” for EC to have a super franchise…… EC raised players are free to play rugby at any union they choose, just like any other rugby player in SA.

• 119.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-116:
    well, lets just say he will have a lot more credibility after this fight, if he wins it.
    i dont think he will though and will probably hang up his gloves for while or until the money’s right for him to come back.

• 120.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

A “bilebag”? Well, fuckyou very much Transformation. We all know your pro-black agenda, the fact you resort to cheap, childish insults is not surprising.

• 121.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-117: Oh, I take that back after watching the highlights now. He went six rounds and won on points. Damn, if he couldn’t knock that guy out, he’s gonna get smashed by the Buffalo.

• 122.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-117:
    i don t like that Nasser character one little bit, but he sure has organised a circus indeed.
    who is Copper fighting?
    i hope they’re making more out of this than their manager is.

• 123.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

I am glad that Transformation finally has a team. He is finally off the safety of sitting on the fence. He has finally pinned his colours to the mast (even though he has a crush on the Crusaders). I will enjoy discussing the KrapKings’ results with him this year :-) And I am sure he is in for a very happy and fun time :-)

This chop needs to be brought back down to size.

• 124.David: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-118:
    They weren’t bought out. They stayed until SA was awarded a 5th franchise and then amalgamated with SWD who left the Stormers, to make a separate bid as the Spears. The Cheetahs did the same by withdrawing from the Cats. In each case the withdrawing unions cited abuses by the Sharks, Stormers and Lions over poaching players.

• 125.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-121:
    absolutely.
    unless the fight’s fixed and there’s something in it for Botha to lose, you can be certain little Sonny Bill will come out a man at the end of this bout.

oh boy, talking about boxing is just making me sad and heartsore right now thinking about Corrie Sanders… (Legend)… R.I.P big guy….

• 126.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-122: I can’t remember all the details though i think he’s fighting some nobody but a nobody that’s at least done some thai boxing before. He sounded like he’s pretty motivated to teach these part-time boxer/rugby guys a lesson.

Yeah, I never liked Nasser at all. The NZRU surprisingly said he’s been quite easy to deal with but I just don’t like the advice he seems to give his clients, e.g. walking out on the Bulldogs, making the “toxic” comment, signing contracts at the last minute, fasting for ramadan during the trinations away leg. That said, Quade and SBW have probably made more money than they would have without all the publicity it attracts.

• 127.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-126:
    he’s a mini Anzac version of Don King.
    but as you say, if they’ve made more money because of him then its not such a bad thing.

• 128.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Of all the rugby players/cricketers turned “boxers;, Carlos Spencer looks the most impressive. In fact, I reckon he could even have made a career out of it if he started at an earlier age.

• 129.RL: Reply to this comment

@David-109: you are not normal – since when was Border or the EC excluded from the Currie Cup. Ask Jurie Roux and he will tell you that they are playing in the Currie Cup and always have played in the Currie Cup.

• 130.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-19:
    It surfaced here few months ago when the Sharks released him to the Bulls.
    Something about eyesight focus, it came from someone who often watched the Sharks in training

• 131.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-103:
    More accurately the EC Will never attract local talent
    In the past they were a reasonable force, producing Boks such as Shalk Burger Sr, Franse Erasmuse, Hennie Le Roux or Adri Geldenhuys
    Cut off was in 1994 when the ‘comrades’ took over EP Union, it will never recover back from that

• 132.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-123:
    They will make him proud!

• 133.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Bakkies once told me that if Reechee ever became a pro boxer he would insist on entering the ring from the wrong side.

;-)

• 134.David: Reply to this comment

@RL-129:
    I was referring to the black clubs and players who constituted SARU pre 1994. Not the white SARFU unions.

• 135.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-133:
    that he would.
    he wouldn’t make it as a por boxer though, too many cameras.

• 136.Wanderer: Reply to this comment

@David-124: Are you rewritting the history of SA Rugby to suit your own version? I suggest you should really do some research first.

• 137.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-133:
    @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135:

• 138.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-128: Then you haven’t watched Anthony Mundine….

• 139.David: Reply to this comment

@Wanderer-136:
    Which part are you talking about?

• 140.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: :lol: Plus they’d need a fifth officilal “upstairs”?

• 141.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-118: I cry every day that Leeds are not in the Premiership.

• 142.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-123: Why would it please you for the Kings to do badly?

How would the Kings being poor help South African rugby? Wouldn’t you want the player pool of talented sportsmen to increase? Wouldn’t you want the support of rugby the sport to grow by bringing in more people, and more people who traditionally don’t support the game?

And Transie has always flown the same colors – for YEARS.

• 143.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-141: That makes three of us?

• 144.David: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-141:
    Great win for Leeds. As for Norwich, I still remember Luton (a 1st division side) knocking us (a 3rd div side) out of the FA Cup semi replay with an offside goal by Billy Bingham in extra time in 1959.

• 145.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-143: Sure feels that way. Tough cross to bear, and tehn add in the Lions…Eish. And not the most fun in the worlds supporting the Boks.

I must have been an axe murderer in a previous life.

• 146.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@David-144: I used to like you until the fkg Canaries stole all our best players.

Luton just knocked Liverpool.

There is a god.

Howzit Dave.

• 147.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-142: yes actually, I’d like to see the Kings get thumped to teach the politicians that it is not a good idea to meddle. The KrapKings are not there for any reason of merit, they are there for political expediency. So fck ‘em and Sheeky, I say.

Your team, the Lions, should be there.

Transie never had any colours…….. always sat on the fnece that one. But now he is off the fence and payback will be a b*tch.

• 148.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Oh and as for the “wouldn’t I like to see the sport grow by bringing in more people” question………. The EP Kings are quite free to do it the proper way……. by gaining promotion to the Currie Cup AND THEN we can talk.

As for now, they have no claim to Super rugby and the way they gained entrance STINKS!

Actually, I will support them to beat the Stormers.

• 149.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Liewe luiperd, you make no sense at all…but then again yourre an imbecile I shouldve expected this. Btw I will be cheering the Kings, win or lose…much better than seeing your team play sr! Lol

• 150.David: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-146:
    Howzit Soda. Leeds beat Liverpool, not Luton. They beat the Canaries. :roll:

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.