Saru denies Kings request

Saru has turned down the Southern King’s request to include five foreigners in their Super Rugby squad.

At the beginning of January, the Kings named a 40-man squad including five foreigners. Kings officials were, at that point, adamant that Saru would bend the rules and allow South Africa’s newest franchise to field all five players.

But according to Rapport, Saru has officially turned down the Kings’ request, and they will only be allowed to play two foreigners in the coming Super Rugby competition.

The foreign recruits are Tomas Leonardi and Nicolas Vergallo (both Argentina), Daniel Adongo (Kenya), Virgile Lacombe (France) and Hadleigh Parkes (New Zealand). It is believed Adongo is considering taking out South African citizenship.

Kings president Cheeky Watson said that the Eastern Cape franchise had not been officially informed about Saru’s decision.

‘If this is the case, we will accept and abide by the decision of SA Rugby. We know that the region has never been fed with a silver spoon, and have no reason to expect any different going into our debut Super Rugby season,’ Watson said.

‘The path for this region to get a Super Rugby franchise has been fraught with challenges, and yet, despite all the odds, we have overcome them and Super Rugby is a reality, with our first game against Western Force less than a month away.

‘We accept that this opportunity comes from a loaded deck of cards, but the bigger the challenge, the bigger the task, the bigger the team and the overall success.

‘We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, however, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute.’

303 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-160:
    big time.
    and dont forget about his man crush for Wayne Smith.

• 202.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-179: Shut-up you shrivelled old fossil.

Try and look on the bright side of things instead of being so belligerent and cantankerous.

• 203.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: Ah, so he’s a closet Cape-Crusader in the true sense of the word, is he?

That’s naaars to know.

Thanks

• 204.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ET.-197:
    “honest ,clean sporting endeavour is sweet.”

now you need to turn your focus to rugby.
    there is much to be done.

• 205.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-203:
    Transie has never been able to hide his admiration for the Crusaders.
    i’m sure he sincerely supports the Kings, and the Boks maybe, but there’s no denying his Capesader tendencies.

and dont get me started on his huge man crush for Smith.

• 206.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-199: and i told you exactly what to do with your lousy question, no?

” And until I hear otherwise I” take that as a
    “Yes”.

clearly you are of the impression that i give a s.hit what you think :lol:

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-205: “capecrusader tendencies” geez coming from a self-outed closet bigot like yourself that is a compliment. :-)

why are you “enamoured” with toulon bakkies?

• 208.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-205:

7 time champs, 2 or 3 times beaten finalists, most final appearances by a team etc etc blah blah and all this from a city of 400 odd thousand what’s there not to admire, and as for Wayne Smith he’s won everything there is to win and some. The Bokke would cement 2nd place in the world under a coach like Smithy.

• 209.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-207:

more, Transie

• 210.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-206:

That’s ok Tranny because nobody gives a **** what you think either, it’s a rugby blog for fun you should try and remember that sometimes

• 211.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Go Kings!

• 212.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-208:
    Lance Armstrong was a ‘seven times winner’ too.
    how coincidental.

• 213.Dawn: Reply to this comment

China

If you think this is a rugby blog “for fun” then you are dof.

• 214.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-208:
    Wayne Smith would never be allowed to coach the Boks.
    for us its about winning deservedly.

• 215.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212:

Or SA schools where doping ( cheating) is rife.

@Dawn-213:

How sad, you’re here for other reasos are you?

• 216.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-210:
    who pissed on your tofu, China

• 217.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214:

You mean like at SA schools?

• 218.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-216:

Yer it’s been a rough couple of days

• 219.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Great news about Adongo considering S.A citzenship.

• 220.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-215:
    dont be a fool, China
    its hardly ‘rife’.
    besides, the point is we make the effort to root out cheating.
    pity you cant say the same.

seriously, will the NZ public ever take a stance on dishonesty in the game?

• 221.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-210: hi Noodles :-) how are the Blues’ chances this year with JK & Ted running the show?

• 222.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-219:

He if doesn’t get SA citizenship the Poms will surely take him.

• 223.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-207: you do have capesader tendencies – just like your alter ego Rossi who performs impromptu haka’s in front of her tv when the All Blacks play.

• 224.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-220:

It’s rife but you know this, Goosen was caught just a few years back and numerous bloggers have confirmed this

@Transformation-221:

6th at best, mid table would be acceptable

• 225.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-210: ” it’s a rugby blog
    for fun you should try and remember that
    sometimes”

yes, you derive loads of fun feeding your depleted self-confidence by living vicariously off chiefs victories, enjoy ;)

• 226.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-218:
    well i’m sorry to hear, China
    dont let it get you down

• 227.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-223: :mrgreen:

• 228.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-225:

Look up “know all” in the dictionary and add rugby before it.

• 229.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja China

I’m here for “other” reasons

To see what certain white people really think.

• 230.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-226:

Why thank you, I’m over it now, good weekend?

• 231.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh and there’s another Kings thread just starting up

• 232.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-229:

You know what certain white people think already

• 233.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja I’m smart like that

• 234.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-224:
    stop sucking soya out your arse, China
    its not rife and Goosen unwittingly took a banned stimulant which was in a supplement he started using.
    he admitted to this openly and in no way sought to deceive anyone.
    he was punished and has never tested positive before of since.

• 235.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-230:
    ja, its always good for me, China.

• 236.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-234:

It’s not rife LOL that’s not what the KEO bloggers/ articles and institutions in SA are saying

• 237.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-236:
    when are you going to clean up NZ rugby, China?

• 238.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-229: This white person thinks Toya Delazy rocked Kirstenbosch yesterday ;) Lindiwe Suttle wasn’t half bad either :)

Where is Taccy – is he embedded with the Bulls in pre-season camp?

• 239.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-236:
    It seems to be rife…China…an estimate of 60% in one school from a parent…easy to score too, just a phone call away without any screening of the call from the dealer…this needs sorting out. Heres hope Houston will take up the crusade with as much vigilance as he has done with that other fruitless cause.

• 240.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-238:

Lindiwe used to work with Fräulein Gunther.

she’s a beaut.

• 241.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther: lindiwe is alright…nandi mngoma though can get it…all day eyday!

http://orgellaonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Silhouette.jpg

• 242.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-241:

Ushiya

• 243.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-240: She is a stunning woman yes. She was dressed in a pretty gorious white number, that made her look like an angel. In fact, my niece asked if she was meant to be a fairy princess.

Brilliant concert.

• 244.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-241:

When are you going to post a pic of the new kingmobile?

• 245.the curse: Reply to this comment

Wayne SMith would NEVER coach the Bokke bakkies

he realises that cavemen cant learn new tricks

you are the epitome of this statement

keep crying about how the world treats SA poorly..

given your history, its just desserts I reckon!!

• 246.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-234: just like Chilli and Bjorn “unwittingly” took nasal spray???

even when doping SA cant win anything

mind you, adding more dope to dopes doesnt enhance anything, except the meathead factor

• 247.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-239: Bakkies is the figurehead of the New SA

he has entit\lement issues with his team even though they havent earnt squat

luckily Argentina were invited to join the Tri nations..

it saved them extending their wooden spoon collection, maybe they could use them to heat up the illegal drugs that are so rife in SA rugby

• 248.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@the curse-247: Happy Australia Day Pops. Have you got your citizenship yet?

• 249.the curse: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-248: why would I want citizenship?

I dont need it

• 250.nortierd: Reply to this comment

I also support the Crusaders, always been my second choice team.
    I love the way they play and that sums up most of the NZ teams as well, exciting to watch.
    Does that qualify me as a Cape Crusader?
    No one has issues when SA citizens follow Manchester or rave about Brazil or Spain when it comes to soccer, throw in the Aus cricket side of the 90′s and early 2000′s as well.people enjoy watching the brand of play, so why may we not enjoy the AB’s?
    Yes, we want our team to win against them, but logic sometimes prevails and we have to accept that the majority of times the NZ teams are better than us.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.