Saru denies Kings request

Saru has turned down the Southern King’s request to include five foreigners in their Super Rugby squad.

At the beginning of January, the Kings named a 40-man squad including five foreigners. Kings officials were, at that point, adamant that Saru would bend the rules and allow South Africa’s newest franchise to field all five players.

But according to Rapport, Saru has officially turned down the Kings’ request, and they will only be allowed to play two foreigners in the coming Super Rugby competition.

The foreign recruits are Tomas Leonardi and Nicolas Vergallo (both Argentina), Daniel Adongo (Kenya), Virgile Lacombe (France) and Hadleigh Parkes (New Zealand). It is believed Adongo is considering taking out South African citizenship.

Kings president Cheeky Watson said that the Eastern Cape franchise had not been officially informed about Saru’s decision.

‘If this is the case, we will accept and abide by the decision of SA Rugby. We know that the region has never been fed with a silver spoon, and have no reason to expect any different going into our debut Super Rugby season,’ Watson said.

‘The path for this region to get a Super Rugby franchise has been fraught with challenges, and yet, despite all the odds, we have overcome them and Super Rugby is a reality, with our first game against Western Force less than a month away.

‘We accept that this opportunity comes from a loaded deck of cards, but the bigger the challenge, the bigger the task, the bigger the team and the overall success.

‘We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, however, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute.’

303 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.the curse: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-228: Transie forgets about 2011, the last time our team made the semi finals… no need to live off the chiefs win, although it was awfully sweet to add yet another title to NZs coffers..

he will become another Tacitus shortly enough, once the kings prop up the table he’ll disappear as well..

all bluster, no substance is our Trans

• 252.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-244: when i receive the mobile on friday… :-)

curious aren’t we?

• 253.charo: Reply to this comment

@the curse-249:

i thought kiwis were a form of cheap labour in oz?

pay full taxes but get buggerall state benefits?

surely it would pay to take out oz citizenship?

• 254.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@the curse-249: Are you a guest worker?

• 255.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-252:

Fuckyes!

Sounds awesome.

I even googled a Yaris.

Apparently it’s also Hungarian for a vibrating sextoy.

• 256.the curse: Reply to this comment

@charo-253: shows how much you know doesnt it..

stick to berating the coloured people mate, you have a talent for that..

• 257.Chico the Chihuahua: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-250: SA soccer sucks. SA rugby does not (well not all the time). That explains it, in a nutshell.

I can guarantee you that no Saffa “supported” the Aussie cricket team of the 90s/00s. What are you smoking?

• 258.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-257:

You can’t guarantee that, there’s hordes of SA Aussie Cricket fans around, they’re just not so noisy anymore.

• 259.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-257:
    I admired them and barring when they played us, enjoyed their success. They had an awesome side.
    We are close to that in our current test set up and it’s fantastic.
    I enjoy watching the sport, and if a side is making for enjoyable viewing then I enjoy watching them.
    Ps. Just normal cigarettes, I assure you :-)

• 260.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-254:

Migrant labour.

• 261.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-260: isnt that Maevis Gunther? or is she SA slave labour?

• 262.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the curse-251: me disappear? no such luck poeps…i know where my team are in terms of their development…no delusions from my side

• 263.David: Reply to this comment

Watched a programme on National Geographic about Kiwis (the bird). Apparently it originated in Australia and probably flew to NZ when it still had wings. So I assume that makes Kiwis wingless Aussies. :lol:

• 264.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-261:

No Poeps Mavis is a South African citizen.

She probably earns more than you do.

• 265.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-264: yeah okay

she must be one of the lucky ones who actually has a job and a roof over her head..

still, corrugated iron isnt really a roof is it?

• 266.the curse: Reply to this comment

@David-263: must feel awful being manshamed consistently by flightless aussies..

1 win in 8 games

hahahahaha

• 267.katman: Reply to this comment

Poeps can’t become an aussie. They stopped taking on convicts and strays ages ago.

Although when Poeps heard it was a penal colony, he got mucho excitido. Images of Beau Brummel etc…

• 268.the curse: Reply to this comment

@katman-267: enjoy super rugby this year

oh wait..

still, at least you can beat Russia
    ‘hahahaha leeusers indeed..

• 269.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-265:

You are a very silly little boy.

She is one of the lucky ones indeed.

I also have a corrugated iron roof.

Nothing beats the sound of the rain falling on it.

• 270.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Chico the Chihuahua-257: ” I can guarantee you that no Saffa
    “supported” the Aussie cricket team of the
    90s/00s. What are you smoking?”

BrumbiesBoy supported Aus then and still does.

• 271.the curse: Reply to this comment

the Lions

so bad, SARU had to kick them out of the comp

hahahaha

like their supporters, all mouth

still, it is SA rugby, we all know how useless they are..

• 272.katman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-268: I see that will be your standard “dig” for the next 12 months. Ever so creative.

Ja-nee, you cut me deep.

• 273.the curse: Reply to this comment

@katman-272 yawn..

yep, but good to see it doesnt worry you, must beat getting the wooden spoon every year though

something to look forward to for a change huh? ..

• 274.Angostura: Reply to this comment

There is an important difference between support & admiration (& there is nothing wrong with admiring something foreign).

But there is something incongruous (I’ll avoid using stronger terminology) about a local person supporting a foreign club/franchise/nation rather than his own.

PS: I however have no compunction supporting a foreign entity where my own is not participating, e.g. I support Italy in European Championship football & in WC football where Bafana is not participating, or it may have been eliminated. I do so, coz one of my best mates is Italian & we often watch the big European/World tournaments together, & it keeps the interest & excitement alive when one actively supports a participating team.

At the end of the day, sport from a spectator’s point of view, is entertainment – yet, with me, & I guess with most others, feelings of historical loyalty & patriotism remain strong … probably decisive.

Go Bokke
    Go Sharks
    Go Kings
    Go Cheetahs
    Thereafter ANY local vs. foreign franchise
    {in that order} :-)

• 275.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-274:
    Go Bokke
    Go Stormers
    Go whichever team I picked for Superbru for that 80 minutes:-)

• 276.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-275:
    O, JA, I forgot about THAT!

• 277.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

Firstly – this was never SARU’s decision to agree to or to deny the Kings request – it is SANZAR that needs to approve/disapprove such a request

Secondly – this increase in 2 foreign players was never ever going to happen – you don’t change the rule book in mid competition

Thirdly – this is no big deal to the Southern Kings – they will acquit themselves well in Super XV

Roll on the 23 February Saturday game against the Force.

• 278.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-250: HG will be along sharpish to tell you that the Crusaders will never be ‘your team – even your 2nd one’, no matter how much you want it to be so. ;)

And that’s rather richy rich coming from a Rhodesian who supports the Boks and Guppies with such va-va vooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom and booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom. :)

I’m with you on this. No-one can accuse me of being anything other than loyal to the Boks and the Stormers….but as for supporting other franchises in a PROVINCIAL (not national) competition JUST because they happen to be Saffas – bollocksandbuttocks. I don’t like any of them, and I don’t care if they lose. The end. (Cheetahs and Kings can win a few….if they are able)

• 279.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-274: In a provincial competition (where it is BETTER for my team in any event if the local teams lose as much as possible….) there is no way I give a ratstesticle about the other Saffa teams.
    Stormers and Blues – the end.

(If folk are honest….they will admit this to be true :) Like you’re really going to cheer for the Bulls (when they are 1 point behind the guppies on the leader board) to beat the Reds? Really?)

• 280.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-277:
    Hear, hear

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-274: yeah!

Go Bokke
    Go Kings

• 282.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-279:

Quite right.

I cheer for anyone but the Stormers.

• 283.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-282: The way it should be :)

• 284.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-277: firstly, just to correct you. this indeed is SARU’s juristiction & not SANZAR!

The ARU unilaterally allowed the Rebels to have 10 international players in their team while all the other Aussie franchises are only allowed 1 big name star player & one ‘development’ player that can be a Wallaby in future.

it is SARU’s decision to make.

cheers.

• 285.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Bokke
    Stormers
    Cheetahs
    Sharks
    Bulls

Faark the kings

If the sharks are one point behind the bulls and the bulls play the reds, tough **** sharks cause they in that position of their own accord, I still shout for the bulls!

• 286.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Petty provincial jealousy by some here is quite pathetic. I don’t hate the sharks cause hg is a doos.

• 287.katman: Reply to this comment

So what happens now to the three foreigners not in the squad? Do they get deported, like the Poms did to the Saffa flank when his contract ended?

• 288.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-287:

They will be pruning Sheeky’s roses.

• 289.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-255: A Hungarian gigolo named Yaris?

• 290.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-288: That sounds like a filthy euphemism. Do his roses need pruning in the same car park as Div’s?

• 291.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-290:

This won’t end well.

Mark my words.

• 292.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-291: Perhaps not, but who cares when you’re going for gold at the Cheeky Flower Show?

• 293.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-289:

No angel.

A rubber **** like the one you keep in your sock drawer.

@katman-292:

He’s guaranteed a medal on the shrinking violet category.

• 294.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-279:
    You make a valid point, & I’ll concede that there are tactical exceptions to my strategic rule that “local is lekker”. :-)

But I’ll tell you what is really important to me, much more so than the fortunes of the Sharks, the Kings & the Cheetahs individually, & that is the health of SA Rugby overall (please note, not just Bok rugby).

I believe a good indication of SA Rugby HEALTH is when we observe the following symptoms:
    1. WP rugby is strong
    2. Tvl rugby is strong
    3. N-Tvl rugby is strong
    4. FS rugby is competitive
    5. KZN rugby is competitive
    6. EC rugby is competitive
    7. Griquas rugby is competitive.

The above is what I’d like to see (& we have not seen it for ages!). I’ support the Sharks in S15/CC, but in the interests of SA Rugby I don’t mind the Stormers, the Bulls & the Lions being better than the Sharks. Those are the powerhouses of SA Rugby, & it is the way it should be given their rugby tradition/history, clubs, players & wealth.

Given this hypothesis, I cannot understand how genuine SA rugby lovers do not care about the state of rugby in the Tvl, FS, Griquas & especially the EC. Resources & sound policies should be applied to restore Tvl to its former glory, & the FS, Griquas & E-Cape to their traditional levels of competitiveness.
    And in the Tvl AND the E-Cape the need is the greatest.
    {KZN can take care of themselves, & are now consistently performing way beyond the historical norm for this region – Tvl, FS, Griquas & E-Cape can all learn from the Sharks … hmmm: perhaps I’m unfair to Griquas? perhaps they are already performing to potential?}

I simply cannot believe what I read here & in other blogs/publications – that the majority of (presumably white?) SA rugby fans are actively willing the Kings to failure (even against foreign teams!) with a passion bordering on fanaticism/hatred.
    It is shocking.
    It is entirely selfish.
    It short-sighted & not in SA Rugby’s best interests.
    It is ugly.
    :-(

Both the Kings & the Lions are very important to SA Rugby – and ways must be found to restore rugby health in their feeder areas.

The common good, not the sectarian good, should be paramount.

• 295.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

SARU are an embarrassment. The only fukkup they haven’t managed is to have the World Cup taken off them.

• 296.Transformation: Reply to this comment

June 26 2012

IT is time for the ARU to change their
    rules on the amount of foreign imports
    allowed each franchise.

The dilapidated state of the Western Force
    makes it clear that Australia does not
    have enough talent to sustain five
    competitive teams in Super Rugby.

The Melbourne Rebels are allowed 10
    international imports</bbut have raided
    rival provinces to poach James O'Connor,
    Kurtley Beale and Scott Higginbotham in
    the past 18 months.

Their unused foreign import spots should
    surely be given to the franchises affected
    by local talent losses.

It is surprising to learn that none of the
    franchises have officially made this
    request to the ARU. While the Rebels'
    foreign player quota will decrease over
    the coming years, it is of no consolation
    to the remaining Australian teams who
    can hire just one marquee international,
    and one emerging overseas player who
    could develop into a Wallaby after a
    three-year residency.

• 297.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@David-263: Cut the wings off to stop them going back did they?

Ah-ha, now we know where the poaching started!

• 298.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@katman-267: :lol:

• 299.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

“‘If this is the case, we will accept and abide by the decision of SA Rugby. We know that the region has never been fed with a silver spoon, and have no reason to expect any different going into our debut Super Rugby season,’ Watson said”

What a load of kak. How did you get into S15 this year………..Thats as silver spoon as it gets

• 300.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-270: At least you got that one right.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.