Hatchet media job on Watson

Luke Watson, contrary to reports, has not launched any form of attack on Afrikaners and the administration of South African rugby.

But he now knows that there will always be a divisive element aimed at destruction in South African rugby to further individual and provincial agendas. There will also be more attacks on his credibility this season as so many within rugby and associated with rugby disgustingly celebrate undermining the Kings’ debut season because of the South African Rugby Football Union’s disgraceful handling of the Lions-Kings Super Rugby participation.

Watson three years ago described South African rugby as a game run by ‘Dutchman’. He never shied away from having made the comment but at the time expressed disappointment that a private discussion had been reported to the media and so misrepresented within the media.

He left to play for English club Bath but returned to South Africa three years ago as part of a three-year contract to be a part of the Kings’ historical entry into Super Rugby. On his return he spoke officially of his regret at the comment, however informal the occasion, and spoke of his desire to make a contribution to a unified Eastern Province and South African rugby.

He apologised to those he said he may have offended and in the last three years has concentrated on the job at hand. For some that will never be good enough and Watson’s Super Rugby challenge will be made even tougher by continued efforts to undermine and misrepresent him from the field.

In a recent interview with 702 Talkback Radio Watson was again asked about his criticism of South African rugby three years ago. The ‘Dutchman’ remark was again highlighted and he was asked for an opinion on the administration of the game.

The player confirmed the remark he had made three years ago, added that he had dealt with it on his return and in relation to a question said South African rugby as a whole was still struggling to come to terms with transformation the equal of the society that reflects change in South Africa.

Transformation, he added, would always be an ongoing issue.

Media reports singled out Watson for saying the game was still being run by ‘Dutchmen’.

‘I have always taken accountability for how I have played and for what I have said. Where I have got it wrong or regretted an action or a comment I have always been prepared to make the necessary apology and I really thought that fronting the issue of what I said three years ago was dealt with three years ago,’ said Watson, adding: ‘It really disappoints me that an interview was so badly misrepresented and a comment of three years ago made the focus and given the appearance that I have again criticised a cultural element of South African rugby. I did not in a 702 Radio interview say the game in 2013 was still being run by Dutchmen and transformation, not just in a playing numbers, will and should always be a discussion and a debate because the purpose has to be to get the desired transformation as a country, not just in one particular sporting code.’

Watson told keo.co.za that just like the Lions players suffered as a result of the uncertainty in their Super Rugby participation, the players within the Southern Kings are representative of South Africa and that players did not decide policy or participation in tournaments.

‘Every bloke in the squad will give his everything for the Kings and by extension for South African rugby. We can only influence our actions but it is not made any easier with media misrepresentation on issues as sensitive as culture and provincialism in the South African game.

‘I learn and I learned from three years ago. All I can do set the record straight on the inaccuracy of the reports attributing remarks made three years ago to a recent radio interview.’

The Kings will play in the tournament for the first time this year but are not guaranteed an automatic second year. Participation in 2014 Super Rugby will be determined through league results.

774 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 51.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-48:

Botha is going to grout his wet room with Sonny.

• 52.the curse: Reply to this comment

@RL-24:

“poops you are slow man – how many kiwis get paid USD 333333 a year?”

440000 is greater then 333333

:lol: what a dumbfck..

• 53.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-49: Will you share with me? :)

• 54.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poppa you have been very bitter and angry lately,try and chillax boetie.
    RL,Gunther and Katman has turned you into their b a b o o n chained to a peg in the ground and are teasing you.
    I sense a breakdown…

• 55.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-51: The last three articles out of NZ on the fight are, in this order:

1.) Sunni Bin is nervous about the fight
    2.) Not the ideal preparation for such a big fight
    3.) He might give up boxing if he loses this one.

• 56.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-54: I may have to fake my own death on this blog Fernly , can you give me any pointers

you know, with you being experienced at that type of thing

shame man, no one likes you so you have to fake your own death?

eina..

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sharing …………

• 58.the curse: Reply to this comment

might have to go down to the dam and drown myself

watch for updates people

• 59.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-58:

Don’t tease us.

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pops is cool.

• 61.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-59: :D

Ive sprung a leak in the waka, taking on water and am able to get out one last post on this blog..

dont cry for me though, Im only oretending to die..

• 62.katman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-58: Leave the life jacket in the waka or you could be in for a long afternoon.

• 63.the curse: Reply to this comment

@katman-62: Ive tied the life jacket to the cannon, it is a heirloom after all

• 64.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He is busy transforming into bionic man

• 65.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-61:

See if you can get a flare off.

I’ll call for help.

• 66.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Do it for real, come on you know you can…..

• 67.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-60: Billy Zane is cool.

• 68.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-62:

He doesn’t need one.

#maorimuffintop.

• 69.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-68: Ha ha, bottoms up.

• 70.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Bionic doos more like

• 71.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-65: admitting you have a problem is the first step Gunther

Im proud for you

• 72.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-60: more like a drol.

Poops you will appreciate that one – google it. :grin:

• 73.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-66: hey fat boy..

still in exile? just how many people did your family “assist”?

• 74.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s with the hating on Pops!

(Timothy Olyphant is cool)

Pity bout his name

• 75.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Time to do the rounds my little poodle, you starting to froth at the mouth and repeat yourself. Breath in , breath out……

• 76.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hatchet job on Pops!

• 77.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-75: hahaha someone has very big dibs on themselve.

aye stalker, cant help yourself..Im flattered but your not my type fatboy

but to think you risk capture and deportation just to have a go at me..

what were the numbers of the oppressed your family butchered? thousands?

• 78.willievz: Reply to this comment

Calling an Afrikaner a ******** is racist and derogatory.

• 79.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

Keo… Luke is so last year China.
    It’s like trying to bring the pastel coloured leisure suit.

But a nice puff piece nonetheless – tja tjing.

• 80.the curse: Reply to this comment

@willievz-78: only in SA boet..

to the rest of the world it means hes from Holland

sad but true..

• 81.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Hehe, my family butchered thousands?? Really? Go back home to south Auckland and tell your gangbanger drug dealing family that the **** they send to you in oz is too strong, you starting to sound like a luney.

• 82.katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-74: Yep, sounds like a kid’s book: Timmy die Olifant.

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-74: That was a quote from Zoolander.

But yes, T.O. is cool. Super Cool.

But not as cool as Sam Rockwell..

• 84.willievz: Reply to this comment

@the curse-80: Coming from you, the biggest racist on this site.

• 85.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-81: what, no jokes about my dead mother? you found it funny on the other thread, why not do it here as well?

cmon, dead family members seems to be funny to you, well dont hold back..

give it all youve got fat boy

• 86.Fern: Reply to this comment

Who says we all here are from holland?
    Is that contaminated keewee milk getting to you?
    100% Pure NZ
    Yeah right…

• 87.katman: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-79: I think it’s required as per the player/agent contract. Expect to see a minimum of two of these per month plus one SA Rugby cover.

• 88.the curse: Reply to this comment

@willievz-84: fck you too Willie… ytou know nothing about me, so take you faux outrage and shove it..

understand

• 89.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-86: Fern, youre alive, so the reports arent true?

• 90.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-57: Dankie ;)

• 91.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poops have turned into the keewee version of Bakkies on here.
    The irony.

• 92.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@88 yup. One of the biggest hating anti saffa doos’ this site has seen…big boy behind his security pc in oz….

• 93.RL: Reply to this comment

@Kid_Senekal-79: keo is Luke’s agent – the plan is to re-launch Lukey’s public image, as step 1 to get him back into the Bok team. Step 2 will be to write him up weekly as the sole Bok quality player in a pathetically poor Kings team. Step 3 would be to demonise Spies further, which is something I really do not mind. The final step will be to launch a keomedia war against Hoskins and have the Cheeky replace him – guaranteeing the return of the prince to the Bok fold.

Far fetched … No.

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Fern-86:
    Been reading the Kiwi papers again i see.
    Between you and Bakkies it seems you two live in NZ.
    Hell if you guys can eat fly ridden billtong, we can drink contaminated milk

• 95.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-89: There’s an afrikaans term “onkruid vergaan hie”

google that one.

• 96.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-77:
    how many people did your ancestors eat?
    did you guys save the heads?

mostly Maori/Moriori i pressume or did you guys luck a few Pakeha too?

http://www.heretical.com/cannibal/nzealand.html

• 97.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-92: Im in Sydney Whatadick, let me know when you get here and i’ll step out from behind the “security” PC

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

flip

some funny posts today

• 99.the curse: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-92: I dont hate saffas at all

I do hate you

can you spot the difference?

• 100.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

ooh, poopsie is really mad today :lol:

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.