Hatchet media job on Watson
28 Jan 2013
Luke Watson, contrary to reports, has not launched any form of attack on Afrikaners and the administration of South African rugby.
But he now knows that there will always be a divisive element aimed at destruction in South African rugby to further individual and provincial agendas. There will also be more attacks on his credibility this season as so many within rugby and associated with rugby disgustingly celebrate undermining the Kings’ debut season because of the South African Rugby Football Union’s disgraceful handling of the Lions-Kings Super Rugby participation.
Watson three years ago described South African rugby as a game run by ‘Dutchman’. He never shied away from having made the comment but at the time expressed disappointment that a private discussion had been reported to the media and so misrepresented within the media.
He left to play for English club Bath but returned to South Africa three years ago as part of a three-year contract to be a part of the Kings’ historical entry into Super Rugby. On his return he spoke officially of his regret at the comment, however informal the occasion, and spoke of his desire to make a contribution to a unified Eastern Province and South African rugby.
He apologised to those he said he may have offended and in the last three years has concentrated on the job at hand. For some that will never be good enough and Watson’s Super Rugby challenge will be made even tougher by continued efforts to undermine and misrepresent him from the field.
In a recent interview with 702 Talkback Radio Watson was again asked about his criticism of South African rugby three years ago. The ‘Dutchman’ remark was again highlighted and he was asked for an opinion on the administration of the game.
The player confirmed the remark he had made three years ago, added that he had dealt with it on his return and in relation to a question said South African rugby as a whole was still struggling to come to terms with transformation the equal of the society that reflects change in South Africa.
Transformation, he added, would always be an ongoing issue.
Media reports singled out Watson for saying the game was still being run by ‘Dutchmen’.
‘I have always taken accountability for how I have played and for what I have said. Where I have got it wrong or regretted an action or a comment I have always been prepared to make the necessary apology and I really thought that fronting the issue of what I said three years ago was dealt with three years ago,’ said Watson, adding: ‘It really disappoints me that an interview was so badly misrepresented and a comment of three years ago made the focus and given the appearance that I have again criticised a cultural element of South African rugby. I did not in a 702 Radio interview say the game in 2013 was still being run by Dutchmen and transformation, not just in a playing numbers, will and should always be a discussion and a debate because the purpose has to be to get the desired transformation as a country, not just in one particular sporting code.’
Watson told keo.co.za that just like the Lions players suffered as a result of the uncertainty in their Super Rugby participation, the players within the Southern Kings are representative of South Africa and that players did not decide policy or participation in tournaments.
‘Every bloke in the squad will give his everything for the Kings and by extension for South African rugby. We can only influence our actions but it is not made any easier with media misrepresentation on issues as sensitive as culture and provincialism in the South African game.
‘I learn and I learned from three years ago. All I can do set the record straight on the inaccuracy of the reports attributing remarks made three years ago to a recent radio interview.’
The Kings will play in the tournament for the first time this year but are not guaranteed an automatic second year. Participation in 2014 Super Rugby will be determined through league results.

774 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All
28 Jan 2013, 12:17 pm
Was the purpose of this article just to inform the rest of us that 702 actually did a new interview with Luke recently?
Because 90% of us couldn’t give a **** either way. We’d frankly thought he’d retired and that his regretable part of SA rugby history had come to a merciful end.
What who said in which interview about him couldn’t really bother us anymore.
So if Keo would just stop shoving it into our faces, we wouldn’t have any negative feelings towards him whatsoever.
Out of sight, out of mind.
Which probably is Keo’s whole dillemma, I guess.
28 Jan 2013, 12:18 pm
You sure you can get the time off? Now we have a doos who is looking to move from his cyber spitting and hating to trying his luck in real life! I’m sooo fuking scared….
28 Jan 2013, 12:19 pm
@Hurricane-94: These guys know more about NZ’s problems than I do. I didn’t catch the milk reference till you pointed it out. I’m a failed kiwi
@willievz-78: Is calling someone an Englishman derogatory too? And who started the d*tchman thing – the English or the blacks/coloureds?
28 Jan 2013, 12:20 pm
@whatthe-102: yawn, thought so
gutless arent you whatadick..
like I said, I’ll let you know… you can tell me more things about my dead mum.
you seem tough when you do that
I hate you.
No
I hate you more.
May a suggest a dance-off?
Poep can do the haka and whatever can do the carwash.
@92 really? Your anti saffa, racist rants say otherwise, but you to dof to realize that. Faarking wombat!
28 Jan 2013, 12:21 pm
They showed vidoe footage of the brutal killings of all the miners in SA on NZ news tonight.
Disgusting really.
28 Jan 2013, 12:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96: thats some heavy sheeyit man, heavey.
@Tacitus-101: Haha, poor Keo. He spends hours writing about his beloved Luke and you’re the only one on-topic and telling him the blunt truth that no one cares. The rest of the thread is just a name-calling spat
@Hurricane-107: you mean those people who just wanted fair wages for a hard days work?
then were mowed down by machine guns?
the new SA apparently, seems very much like the old SA..
28 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm
@Hurricane-107: did the d.utchmen shoot them too?
28 Jan 2013, 12:24 pm
@Tacitus-101:
The whole nation missed it. Apart from the 26 pensioners in Gauteng who listen to talk radio.
Keo can’t allow that to happen.
28 Jan 2013, 12:25 pm
@105, faark that. I’ll stick his Haka where the sun don’t shine.
@gonzo-103:
Yeah milk has been found to have traces of DCD which is a chemical to help grass grow etc. It is not bad for you, it just should not be in there.
thread’s gone to pot…
28 Jan 2013, 12:26 pm
A “Luke” thread,
always brings out the best in us.
28 Jan 2013, 12:27 pm
@whatthe-113: now whose tough behind his PC
hahaha whatadick
@Dilligafrican-111:
Dont know….all i saw were south africans killing each other.
Heads up…do not ask for more money. Be happy with your badly paid job
@gonzo-103: dont be a nitwit.
in south african “dutch me n ” is used in a derogatory way.
if you dont understand then just ask ok? your island isnt the repository of all cultural understanding ffs.
@Hurricane-107: agreed.
tell us your perspective of it and how it is relevant to this thread hurricane?
@the curse-110: how does one cure a curse?
28 Jan 2013, 12:28 pm
@110 and the new New Zealand continues with its baby bashing, drug abusing dole depend ant ways, so hey there’s sh it going on everywhere?
How many dead in Egypt?
28 Jan 2013, 12:28 pm
@the curse-110: how dissapointing that must be for you eh poops
cant point fingers at whitey for that one can you now?
28 Jan 2013, 12:29 pm
@Hurricane-118: but one of these days the mines will be all ours and we’ll be wealthy beyond belief!!
28 Jan 2013, 12:30 pm
@Hurricane-107:
I assume you are talking about the inncident at Marikana last year? So on that.
We think so too, but thanks for bringing it up. Also …”brutal killings of all the miners…” I think it was only between 34- 40 miners at Marikana (we have hundreds of thousands of miners). So please state your info more accurately. Also if you watched a less sensationalist program than you would also note that the police used up every non-fatal deterrent they had; smoke grenades, rubber bullets, barbed wire etc. The armed, crazed masses just kept coming at them. Also two policeman where hacked to pieces by these exact “miners” days prior to the incident. So the police who “brutally killed” these miners were defending their own lives.
Do some more digging before you post your tripe! Not everything is black and white you judgemental kiwi.
as a matter of interest – if middle earth is “New” Zealand, where’s “old” Zealand?
@The Rangerman-119:
Well ranger, you found Bakkies post fine about the Maoris, i thought you was in the mood for a bit of news that happened this decade, unlike Bakkies
I would rather chat to ET. (Yes, that’s how sad this is)
Come out, come out wherever you are.
@The Rangerman-119: I know that d-tchman is derogatory. I’m asking if it’s also derogatory to call an English-speaking saffer an Englishman? I don’t know, hence I asked.
And why it became a derogatory term? Did the english-speaking saffers start using it or was it the repressed using it as a term to refer to the repressors?
@The Rangerman-122: yes I can actually, there were white men there as well Ranger
28 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
@Hurricane-118: ah, so all you saw were “south africans” eh?
haha, thats pathetic.
it would suit your agenda so much more if it was racial i am sure.
now what brought this on, talk to the ranger? was it the post about maoris eating anything with a heartbeat and a pair of hands?
because that is in the past imo and has nothing to do with luke or his comments but you kiwis are seriously trying to insert yourselves in here
28 Jan 2013, 12:31 pm
@Dilligafrican-125: it’s in the home of the dutchmen, horth holland
28 Jan 2013, 12:33 pm
@Hurricane-126: i said it was heavy you sensitive soul
is it untrue?
are you ashamed?
you must be if you had to bring up a tragedy.
shame man, settle down, i dont care who your forefathers ate ok?
@gonzo-131: ah, so you lot a bunch a d.utchmen too then?
@The Rangerman-122:
Who owns the mine Dangerman?
28 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
@goodstuff-124:
wow, looks like a hurt your little feeling.
I just bought up what i saw on the news. You hear about it and read about it but until you see it, it really hits ya in the head.
And by the way if you want to nit pick my posts go for it. As if anyone on here states facts with any of there posts……
28 Jan 2013, 12:34 pm
@Dilligafrican-125: Netherlands. Just don’t call them D.utchmen.
28 Jan 2013, 12:35 pm
@Dilligafrican-133: yep… google ABel Tasman, but be warned, he is referred to as dutch so that may upset you saffas
28 Jan 2013, 12:35 pm
@Dilligafrican-133: Turns out it’s south holland.
We would’ve been a bunch of d.utchmen but they never managed to land. Pops’ ancestors scared them off
So they named a few landmarks they could see from their boat then took off home
28 Jan 2013, 12:36 pm
@gonzo-128: no, englishman isnt derogatory (well maybe slightly) but the afrikaans people of sa dont identify themselves as dutch as they are a mix of french, dutch, german, polish and a bunch more so ja, dtchman is derogatory.
the derogatory term for english speakers is “soutie” and that one you can google.
@the curse-129: oh so it WAS the whities
haha, whattajoke you are you feeble fellow.
28 Jan 2013, 12:36 pm
The Curse? Doesn’t that describe a women’s monthly vaginal discharge?
28 Jan 2013, 12:37 pm
@Transformation-115: what.
@cane-116: indeed.
@The Rangerman-130:
What are you on about?
Isnt black and white South Africans??
It was in SA so i just assumed it was south africans… was i incorrect Ranger?
And you show me one thread that has stayed on topic thats past 100 posts.
You need to open them eyes up.
@gonzo-138: I see shackledragshire was also called New Holland.
Seems we’re all a bunch of dutchies…..
Can’t we just get along
@The Rangerman-132:
Very sensitive that one.
@Dilligafrican-133:
We got our fair share of the Dilli.
During the 1960′s many Du tch people migrated to NZ.
And in recent years,
your lot started turning up.
28 Jan 2013, 12:38 pm
@stormer in a teacup-140: doi they have them in SA, dont you guys mutilate them before they get old enough?
28 Jan 2013, 12:38 pm
The only reason Luke is even playing rugby in SA is due to his daddy having a top spot EC.
The man is a racist, but because he is racist against white Afrikaners it makes it ok.
Got to love the hypocrisy in this cesspool of a country.
28 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
Wow, Keo really is starting to become the Watson-family official media liaison.
I did not even know about this interview, frankly I also don’t give a rat’s arse what a player from the First Division feels about the condition of SA Rugby.
I think this whole pro-Kings and pro-Watson side of Keo is seriously undermining the credibility of a site, that wasn’t that credible to begin with.
Fair or unfair, the Super 15 will seriously show up the Kings. Why are we entertaining the views of players not even in contention for Springbok honours? This is ridiculous…
28 Jan 2013, 12:39 pm
I make my biltong in a sealed and ventilated biltongmaker,no flies on my billies poops.
28 Jan 2013, 12:41 pm
@The Rangerman-139: Makes sense. If someone in NZ called me an Englishman I wouldn’t be insulted but slightly confused because i’m not from England, even if some of my ancestors are and I speak that language. But on the census they call me a NZ European, which also seems strange to me.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All