Rathbone ready for Super comeback
28 Jan 2013
Brumbies coach Jake White says Clyde Rathbone is likely to be considered for the first game of the new Super Rugby season.
Rathbone (31) is making his comeback to rugby after three years on the sideline. He took part in an opposed training session last Friday, and White is confident that he will feature in the two pre-season hit-outs against the Western Force and an ACT side.
White told the Canberra Times that Rathbone has overcome the injuries that have dogged him for the past few years, as well as his depression.
‘He’s waited a long time and you can see he’s still got it,’ White said. ‘Just the little things he does: a big tackle, the pick up and chip down the field, it’s reminiscent of what he was like.
‘I’m chuffed for him and mentally [the opposed session on Friday] will be a massive step for him; he will be confident that he can do it. If he’s in the mix for the Reds game he’ll get more time in the last trial and all I was worried about was mentally whether he had the demons in his head. But I can see he’s ready to go.’
White suggested that Rathbone could get an opportunity in the second half of this Friday’s clash against the Force. The player himself can’t wait to get back on to the park.
‘The whole idea of the trials is to tick a box, it’s a step in getting back to playing again and if I get some more time this week it will be another step forward,’ Rathbone said.
‘I wasn’t worried about any lack of desire. My nerves were just about being in the right space and not being too anxious or trying too hard. The key is to get more running in my legs, but if 16 February rolls around and I’m in the selection mix I’ve got no hesitation putting my hand up and being ready.
‘There’s only so much you can prove in training, you have to get out on the field and do it.’

33 Comments
28 Jan 2013, 09:46 am
I wish Clyde well – he was an awesome outside centre & a huge loss for the Sharks, & potentially, probably for the Boks as well.
I hope he has a complete & successful rehabilitation, & success on the field.
28 Jan 2013, 09:49 am
Good luck Clyde. I wish you all the best on and off the field.
28 Jan 2013, 09:56 am
“He’s waited a long time and you can see he’s still got it,” White said…
Welcome back mate, I sincerely hope you achieve all your goals and ambitions. I’m rooting for you!
P.S. Go Brumby dragons!
28 Jan 2013, 10:05 am
hope he goes well..
the funniest thing was, when he first moved to Aussie he had to UPSKILL because his game lacked the fundamentals, the REAL reason SA rugby is k@k..
such a sad indictment on the state of rugby in SA, that he had to spend time learning the basics
eish
28 Jan 2013, 10:13 am
I honestly thought we’d seen the last of Clyde Rathbone, I wish him luck, comebacks aren’t easy.
28 Jan 2013, 10:42 am
I wish you all of the best with your comeback Clyde,let’s hope that Zac can follow in your footsteps.
Poppa,jeepers but lately you have been very bitter and angry.Take a chill pill boetie.
28 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
All the best Clyde
Poppadoos, got *** yourself
28 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@whatthe-7: good one fat boy
still hiding in exile for your families crimes against humanity
ag shame..
28 Jan 2013, 11:23 am
At least my mother doesn’t go down on the whanau!
28 Jan 2013, 11:26 am
@whatthe-9: hahahah
the brown brothers disagree
they said your mum is a real *****’
the sort youd find on K’road giving it away..
28 Jan 2013, 11:29 am
@whatthe-9: mind you, the brown brothers were asking what you give whatevers mum for a present when she has everything?
I suggested penicillin
28 Jan 2013, 11:45 am
Oh so now it’s a colour thing is it? Racist knunt
28 Jan 2013, 11:48 am
Think your mother scooped you out of the gutter after you dribbled down her leg after a nite of drugs and booze with the gangbangers….. Makes sence…
28 Jan 2013, 11:48 am
@the curse-4: Funny then that the last noteworthy trophy he won was with the Baby Boks.
28 Jan 2013, 11:49 am
@whatthe-12: your mum said she didnt mind what colour they were, but big and black was her preference..
didnt know she was a fan of licorice allsorts?
28 Jan 2013, 11:50 am
@whatthe-13: its “sense”
not “sence”
gees, you really epitomise the “intelligent” Saffa dont you
do you call him uncle wiremu or just bro?
28 Jan 2013, 11:52 am
@whatthe-13:
its “night”
not “nite”
my word, are you really this stupid?
Id have to say yes..
28 Jan 2013, 11:52 am
At 31 years of age you might be past your prime, Clyde.
Best of luck, though.
28 Jan 2013, 11:54 am
Hahaha. Whose the spelling nazi now? *** you are one fuked up doos, go do the rounds, you are now contradicting yourself, you need a break
28 Jan 2013, 11:56 am
Think you got the wrong mama boet, you thinking of your momma, oh right, that’s all you can do hey!!
28 Jan 2013, 11:59 am
@whatthe-20: yeah true, shes been dead for a while..
glad you find it funny..
hope you have a good laugh mate, seems to be your style..
28 Jan 2013, 12:05 pm
Fuku arsehole, I got no sympathy for hating idiots like you…..wallow in your own miserable shithole, there’s a good poodle
28 Jan 2013, 12:10 pm
@the curse-4: that was @the curse-4: Hell, that move cost him a World Cup.
28 Jan 2013, 12:11 pm
@whatthe-22: I hate you, no one else..
I’ll let you know when Im in Auckland next tough guy..
28 Jan 2013, 12:13 pm
Do that grootbek…
28 Jan 2013, 13:51 pm
@whatthe-22 and @the curse. Maybe you guys should bang and get it over with?
28 Jan 2013, 14:02 pm
@pillsbury27-26:
28 Jan 2013, 16:28 pm
If he wants his comeback, he should wipe it off of Watson’s chin…
28 Jan 2013, 16:29 pm
@Blue Label-28: Sorry…. Jake White, that is…
28 Jan 2013, 16:34 pm
@pillsbury27-26: Agree… You remember when we were lighties, and you liked a girl, you would punch her every now and again? This conversation reminds of of just that… Hehehe
29 Jan 2013, 03:21 am
Good luck, tough times ahead though, he ain’t 20s man anymore.
29 Jan 2013, 05:10 am
All the best, Mr Rathbone. You are a true warrior.
29 Jan 2013, 22:58 pm
right turn clyde, any which way you can.
good luck, i reckon this bugger coulda been spectacular if he’d stayed in SA and played on the one wing, with habana on the other.
but he might still have one or two scorching season left in him, shoulda maybe been at centre, wing over 30 is a tough ask.