Sharks get fresh ideas
29 Jan 2013
Springbok defence coach John McFarland and former All Blacks flyhalf Carlos Spencer have helped the Sharks to prepare for Super Rugby this season.
Coach John Plumtree told the Sharks’ website that McFarland’s input, which is part of a new initiative by the Springboks to help and share ideas with South African franchises, had been invaluable.
‘He has had a lot of experience coaching at a top level for a long time, he’s a specialist in defence and we wanted to pick his brains, to make use of his knowledge this week. It’s a good change for the boys with some fresh ideas.
‘It’s important that we adopt the philosophy of sharing information from the Springbok management to us which will also give John a better idea of our players by working with us. We’re able to open up the working relationship with the Springbok coaches, starting with him.’
Plumtree said his players had also enjoyed having Spencer, the ex-Lions backs coach, in Durban.
‘I’d like him here a little longer – he’s not here for the whole tournament as he has family back in Joburg – but he will help us through the course of the season, he’ll see how we go and he’ll come down periodically.
‘He will be good for not only our flyhalves but also our backs, he’ll also be working on our kicking game. But really, he’s just touched the surface of what I want from him.’

360 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
29 Jan 2013, 10:21 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42:
Wonder if that poem won the blue ribbon in the grade 2 eisteddfod?
” O dear Plum we need to win”
That line brought tears to my eyes
29 Jan 2013, 10:21 am
@Transformation-43:
Did you enjoy that game?
I thought it was very thoughtful of the Sharks to play that game in England and that the proceeds have gone to a good cause.
Saders was awesome that day, and the Sharks had some good moments to. Someday in the future you would surely love to see your team take part in such a great event as it was.
#stophatingbrother
29 Jan 2013, 10:22 am
@Stawm-48: HG sleeps with ladyboys. He came clean on the blog a whie back. His excuse, like Hansie’s was: “the devil made him do it…”.
29 Jan 2013, 10:23 am
@Transformation-43: Yes, Transie… Live your Super Rugger fantasies through another team… a foreign team…
Because you know that Super Rugby success for your team is just that… Fantasy
But the Bantustan Kings will break some records though… Points difference
Wonder which will be highest:
- The ‘Stan vs Saders at Chch
- The ‘Stan vs Bulls at Loftus
- The ‘Stan vs Sharks at Dynamite Stadium
All over 3 digits for the home teams guaranteed though…
@nortierd-51: Mate, you have to read some of the kak the guppies roll out to ‘motivate’ their team….
I can see Bresler loving this sort of thing though…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-49:
Passion Ruck, you know that thing you feel towards the Blues
29 Jan 2013, 10:24 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-53:
Maybe he just missed the Adam’s apple.
See what happens when you grope too low too soon.
Work your way down HG, it’s an important detail that the ladies appreciate.
29 Jan 2013, 10:25 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-55:
Are you homophobic? Pocock would not like that at all….
29 Jan 2013, 10:26 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-55:

They are still working on the pop-up-poetry book ,especially for our friend Bressler.
29 Jan 2013, 10:26 am
@Transformation-46: Couldn’t have… Banshee is a purist… Blonde hair blue eyes for her only….
And no, a reverse Zulu on my Stoep would never work either Tranny… Apparently you a bit podgy for that one, cuzzy
29 Jan 2013, 10:27 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-53:
To each his own I say.
But for HG, the battlefield of rugby became his own hunting ground?
29 Jan 2013, 10:28 am
@nortierd-59:
You watching some football nortie?
29 Jan 2013, 10:28 am
I dunno who’s more disgusting
Wnnb or HG
29 Jan 2013, 10:30 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-53: Awww Doggy… Stawmy already a bit aroused as it is…
Just because I might prefer Pretty Philippinos over toolbox wearing Rottie obsessive Fish Dorpie D.ykes, no need to get catty, hunnybuns…
Sheesh, hell hath no fury like a women scorned, eh
29 Jan 2013, 10:30 am
@Mr Black-62:
Yes, but not at the stadiums.
We follow on the Telly, and for extra entertainment watch the feeds from the choppers and stadiums.
To be honest, that is sometimes more entertaining than the matches itself.
29 Jan 2013, 10:32 am
@nortierd-65:
Cool, hoping for a peaceful tournament.
29 Jan 2013, 10:32 am
No 2nd rate poems for the Stormers…..
Just an old song from way back, that the very successful WP team at the turn of the century blasted at Newlands as a sign of “V”.
Remember anyone?
We’re gonna win Don’t wanna be a loser, gonna win ‘Cuz winnin’ really is the only thing Get out of the way we’re comin’ in If you wanna fight just step inside the ringDoes anybody wanna take a swing?It’s gotta be all or nothin’Oh, we’re gonna be the championsYeah, we’re goin’ all the way, we’re gonna win, win
We’re gonna winForget about a draw, we’re gonna scoreAnd then we’re gonna get a few moreMaybe another one just to be sureWe’ll make you look just like an amateurUntil the final whistle it’s a warAnd then we’re gonna pick you off the floorWe wanna hear the crowd really roarYeah, we’re comin’ in we’re gonna win, winYeah!
29 Jan 2013, 10:33 am
mrblack: you are usually a carefree guppy but today you’re catching feelings
HTFU
it was a Super Rugby classic as i said.
@Dawn-63: Huzzit Stawmy… I mean, Dawny
How you my girly?
Sharks are once again setting the standards here…..
Being prepared to bring in M Farland and Spencer is innovative and shows ambition. They going to be real handfull imho…
29 Jan 2013, 10:35 am
@Mr Black-56: Then I should write a poem I think?
The Blues:
DoFuckuptheopposition
BigStrongmenonamission
The end.
29 Jan 2013, 10:35 am
@Mr Black-66:
We must hope Bafana continues doing well.
If they get to the final it will be a success already.
Attendance is not too great, but everyone seems to be enjoying themselves.
29 Jan 2013, 10:36 am
@Transformation-68:
Transie, i’m cool. Just saying
What does HTFU mean?
29 Jan 2013, 10:36 am
@Heavens Game-64: Pretty Phillipinos with d ** ks bigger than yours…. (you forgot to add that click click)
29 Jan 2013, 10:37 am
@Heavens Game-60: lol what you don’t know won’t hurt you…stuffed that English Muffin immensely & passed it on to GBS
29 Jan 2013, 10:37 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-71:
Not as talented as Poisy, but practice makes perfect
29 Jan 2013, 10:38 am
@Transformation-68: Mr Black is a fabulous Guppie. One of the finest, along with Rye etc etc.
29 Jan 2013, 10:41 am
@Mr Black-76: Lemme try again.
TheStormersandBluesarethefuckingbest
Therestarenobetterthanyouraveragegardenpest
? Nah?
Try again?
29 Jan 2013, 10:43 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-78:
Youmustinvestinacomputerwithaspacebar.
29 Jan 2013, 10:44 am
wnnb should be banned for some of that stuff on yesterday’s thread
29 Jan 2013, 10:45 am
@Mr Black-79: Then I can’t swear.
@Dawn-80: What was WNBB up to? What thread?
29 Jan 2013, 10:46 am
@Heavens Game-54: Gosh, this is funny. You defense of your arguments is as bad as your team’s. At least you provide some entertainment.
Transie’s just messing with you, but be careful, because he can pull up your posts at a later stage.
29 Jan 2013, 10:47 am
@pompies2-82:
What happened to Pompies1?
29 Jan 2013, 10:48 am
@grant10-70: Not sure so on Mcfarland. Spencer will add some value though. Meanwhile the stormers have a certain robbie fluck. go figure.
29 Jan 2013, 10:49 am
@Mr Black-83: Is that an attempt at humour? yikes, some people should really not speak. stick to humping HG’s leg.
29 Jan 2013, 10:49 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-74: …hath no Fury…
You hurt me so bad…
29 Jan 2013, 10:52 am
@pompies2-85:
Agree it was a terrible attempt at humour. Your attempt at joining me to Hg with the humping comment was even worse though. So maybe we should both stop speaking.
29 Jan 2013, 10:55 am
@Transformation-75: Yes… What I dont know never will… But what I do know is that Banshee a bit too sophisticated for a dance around the maypole with anyone who says “Yes, madam” and whose idea of a woman’s worth might be a herd of Ngunis…
Christian Louboutin vs Daisy the Cow… No contest, umfanawami…
Stick with Rossi… she obviously appreciates them moo moos better… She also obviously likes to rub Buddhas Tummy for good luck too, ne
29 Jan 2013, 10:56 am
@Mr Black-87: Mine wasn’t an attempt @ humour. Do you understand the concept? Guess the CC final last year took the last bit.
29 Jan 2013, 10:58 am
@pompies2-82: Huh… Defense?
Argument?
More a statement of fact Pumpies…
And of course, no defense needed for facts…
29 Jan 2013, 11:00 am
@pompies2-89:
Shot, have a nice day.
29 Jan 2013, 11:01 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-81:
• 669.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 20:55 pm
@gunther-667: Haha pink Fa&ggotboy !!Now ,that is farking funny!!Btw,how is your daddy doing?
• 671.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 20:59 pm
@gunther-670: I understand your daddy is fckukking dead Fa&ggotboys now.Is it true??
• 688.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 21:26 pm
@victoriabok-682: how do you know?Why do you think he is so angry.I outted his daddy on here as a peanut butter lover and now the oke is just spitting mad. Apparently he was groomed by daddy. In any case if you say a thing a few times on here it becomes fact .Don’t you know that.
• 705.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:05 pm
@gunther-704: All I know is that your Dadda is a pink loving fagg@?tboy who loved fckukking you in the ar se.
• 707.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:08 pm
@gunther-704: my pappy is alive and kicking unlike that piece of fritzl-like trash you refer to as pappy.
• 713.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:21 pm
@gunther-710: we,at least yours can’t **** young boys in the ar se anymore!!!Just looking out for you here, bud.
• 720.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:30 pm
@gunther-714: Who the fck cares, peanut butter and rse!You really think you are being taken seriously on this forum? Bwaahaa!!Good joke peanut butter and rse.
• 721.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:33 pm
@victoriabok-719:. Absolutely! I love small doggies. I enjoy them the most.
• 722.wnbb:
28 Jan 2013, 22:37 pm
@victoriabok-719: Is it true that your granny enjoyed the accommodation at Kitchener’s camps? Apparently she enjoyed the brood for wors exchange.
29 Jan 2013, 11:04 am
@Heavens Game-88: Louboutins + GBS in one sentence? Banshee been havin it at your dumb Rhodesian’s expense…i got if for some cheap wine – easy peasy
as for me being podgy, ask your “leg humper” where & when did he see me? lol
29 Jan 2013, 11:09 am
@Dawn-92: ******holyfuckballssmiley******
29 Jan 2013, 11:10 am
@Transformation-93:
Quote me where I humped anyones leg.
Does it bother you that I know who you and Odette are?
29 Jan 2013, 11:11 am
@Heavens Game-90: Yes, you’re are defensive. You feel this compulsion to defend everything you say.
29 Jan 2013, 11:12 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-94:
Indeed!
29 Jan 2013, 11:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-94: somehow content needs to be moderated……..stuff like that makes you not want to be on the site.
29 Jan 2013, 11:15 am
@Transformation-93: Got it for some cheap wine…
Fantasising over Breeteesh Banshee while you doing the topdeck with Rossi…?
Yoh, she aint gonna be happy with you…
Now, lots of Breeteesh dollies do like a bit of chocolate log and all, but Banshee heard too much about the President’s advice for washing away a slow puncture – just shower and soap, for being too adventurous for anything other than Blue eyed boys…
Contact lenses wont work either, umfana… Banshee got a very well honed Eengleesh sense of smell
29 Jan 2013, 11:16 am
@pompies2-96: Nope… You are wrong…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All