Sias spearheads new-look Force

Flyhalf Sias Ebersohn is among 13 players who will play their first game for the Force this Friday.

The former Baby Boks and Cheetahs pivot has been lured to the Western Australian team with the promise of more game time. Force coach Michael Foley has named a 31-man squad for the first warm-up match against the Brumbies in Darwin, and Ebersohn is likely to play a key role in this new-look side.

Apart from Ebersohn, All Blacks scrumhalf Alby Mathewson and Hurricanes centre Jayden Hayward are among the other foreign recruits. Hugh McMeniman and Chris Alcock have moved to Perth from other Australian teams.

Flank Matt Hodgson will captain the side.

Force squad (for Brumbies match): Chris Alcock, Phoenix Battye, Corey Brown, Richard Brown, Nathan Charles, Sam Christie, Angus Cottrell, Pek Cowan, Patrick Dellit, Sias Ebersohn, Tetera Faulkner, Kyle Godwin, Jayden Hayward, Matt Hodgson (c), Kieran Longbottom, Toby Lynn, Salesi Ma’afu, Alfie Mafi, Alby Mathewson, Locky McCaffrey, Ben McCalman, Hugh McMeniman, Junior Rasolea, Mick Snowden, Winston Stanley, Ed Stubbs, Heath Tessmann, Chris Tuatara-Morrison, Will Tupou, Rory Walton, Sam Wykes.