Kings to field four foreigners
30 Jan 2013
The Southern Kings have included four international players in their squad for the warm-up match against a Franchise XV on Friday.
On Sunday, the Kings released a statement in reaction to an article published earlier that day in Rapport. The article said that Saru would not allow the Kings to field all five of their foreigners in Super Rugby, and that the Eastern Cape franchise would be restricted to two.
EP president Cheeky Watson did, however, state that while the franchise had accepted Saru’s decision, they would not be releasing their foreign players. ‘There are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute,’ Watson said at the time.
Four of these players, namely Daniel Adongo (Kenya), Hadleigh Parkes (New Zealand), Tomas Leonardi (Argentina), and Virgil Lacombe (France), have been picked to play in a warm-up fixture this Friday. A statement released by the Kings on Wednesday revealed how much game time each player will enjoy in this match.
Southern Kings:
15. Elric van Vuuren
14. Sergeal Petersen (40 mins) / Siviwe Soyizwapi (40 mins)
13. Ronnie Cooke (60 mins) / Siyanda Grey (20 mins)
12. Andries Strauss (Captain) (40 mins) / Hadleigh Parkes (40 mins)
11. Marcello Sampson (40 mins) / Siyanda Grey (20 mins) / Sergeal Petersen (20 mins)
10. George Whitehead (40 mins) / Wesley Dunlop (Vice Captain) (40 mins)
9. Shaun Venter (40 mins) / Johan Herbst (40 mins)
1. Jaco Engels (40 mins) / Schalk Ferreira (40 mins)
2. Virgil Lacombe (40 mins) / Bandise Maku (40 mins)
3. Ross Geldenhuys (40 mins) / Kevin Buys (40 mins)
4. David Bullbring (80 mins)
5. Daniel Adongo (40 mins) / Rynier Bernardo (40 mins)
6. Devin Oosthuizen (Vice Captain) (40 mins) / Tomas Leonardi (40 mins)
7. Wimpie van der Walt (40 mins) / Mpho Mbiyozo (Captain) (40 mins)
8. Jacques Engelbrecht (40 mins) / Cornell du Preez (40 mins)

216 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
30 Jan 2013, 23:14 pm
@mxhosa-140: why is it only “good for SA rugby” now when the likes of tim whitehead languished behind jdv, frikkie walsh, mossie, jdj…they had to wait for their contracts to be finished to move to the sharks who were so poor at centre with oupa terblanche, riaan swanepoel, andries strauss & adi, no mention of a loan.
30 Jan 2013, 23:18 pm
@nortierd-145: i want to see the franna venter, serfontein, small-smith centre situation & see who will come up trumps & who will be shipped off to griekwas as a discard.
30 Jan 2013, 23:18 pm
@skopdiekan-146:
> Kirchner, Basson, Engelbrecht, Potgieter, Sadie, Hougaard, and now Mapoe all made big mistakes
Hmm let’s see
Kirchner became a Bok at the Bulls,
Basson too,
Engelbrecht and Potgieter as well
and Hougie too
I don’t know how you benchmark success in your Bakkie builder world, but becoming a Bok must surely rate as one of the high points in a rugby players career?
30 Jan 2013, 23:20 pm
@victoriabok-150: calm down…how old are you.
30 Jan 2013, 23:23 pm
@Transformation-152:
Yep, lots of surplus holding tackle bags.
@victoriabok-153:
Only Zane and Hougard are regular starters.
The others have the blazers and a couple of caps, but we all know were lucky that HM felt a bit blue when picking his first squad.
30 Jan 2013, 23:24 pm
I see PDV’s little fleetfooted bruinous fckd up TUTs big boerseun stampkar witous something chronic on Monday by 5 tries to zilch.. I watched the first 20 minutes and the big stampkar witous were all over the little fleetfooted bruinous like a bosbefokte rash and should have steamrolled at least a few tries but didn’t..
So wtf happened second half to turn the tide? PdV is an underrated rugby coach in spite of what most dyed in the wool barbare witous might think…he won the club champs with a no name Tygerberg bruinou side before he became junior bok coach and then won the junior bok WC and came runner up the following competition… he got handed a hot potato with that stuck in a rut JW one dimensional team.. Saru got it wrong.. HM should have inherited JW’s team and PdV should have got the gig now.. dan sou jy vonke sien spat heen en weer.
30 Jan 2013, 23:24 pm
@victoriabok-149: ” Just like WP used Boland players all these
years?”
pointing at other people doesn’t diminish your own inadiquacies. well that’s what craven says in the book, you can bust a gut trying to argue with a dead man
30 Jan 2013, 23:25 pm
@Angostura-138:
The Bulls were CC champs from 2002 – 2004, finalists in 2005 and in that time they never reached a SR semi final… and they Matfield, Bakkies, Wannenburg, Jacques Cronje, Steenkamp, Du Preez, Habana, Olivier, et al. The Cheetahs were champs in 2005 and 06, perenial semi finalists, yet they have never won more than 5 games in a single season… The Lions have won 6 games in the last 3 seasons and they were CC cahmps in 2011.
Therefore it is highly unlikely that these foreign imports will make that much of a difference. By the way I would take Sykes over Hess any day. My problem is the journeymen who couldn’t make it elsewhere.
My point here, is that these players are deemed good enough represent their country at u20 level but never seem to quite make the step up – especially those from the Sharks academy and u21s – while at the same time a lot of their white peers, seemingly, do not have a problem making the step up.
It would therefore benefit SA a lot more to have these players run out against the best in the Southern Hemisphere, than a short-term investment in foreign imports…
Another problem is that at the bigger unions, most of the time they are up against boks who are in their prime…
30 Jan 2013, 23:25 pm
@Transformation-157:
And quoting one makes you a rocket scientist?
30 Jan 2013, 23:26 pm
@skopdiekan-156:
“I see PDV’s little fleetfooted bruinous fckd up TUTs big boerseun stampkar witous something chronic on Monday by 5 tries to zilch.. I watched the first 20 minutes and the big stampkar witous were all over the little fleetfooted bruinous like a bosbefokte rash and should have steamrolled at least a few tries but didn’t..”
30 Jan 2013, 23:26 pm
@skopdiekan-156: there were some fantastic tries in that game skop…raw pace & hands.
30 Jan 2013, 23:27 pm
@Angostura-138:
Angostura…you talk too much sense.The limitations Saru have imposed on the Kings Franchise…the one year only guarantee of SR, the short notice inclusion in this years comp which has had knock on effects re: player availability are obstacles that the Kings may find impossible to overcome.Like you say the short term goal is now survival and the noble medium to long term aims of player development in the EC are on the back burner. I have to question whether Saru want the Kings to succeed considering the way they have handled the situation.
If the Kings get through this season with the right to play the next, it will be a minor miracle.
30 Jan 2013, 23:27 pm
@nortierd-160:
And the Souties from UCT?
30 Jan 2013, 23:28 pm
Kirchner Basson Engelbrecht Sadie and Hougaards rugby playing instincts all got honed right out of them.. they were great players at their home base franchises.. soon as they got to Bulls all the rugby instinct got coached straight out of them into one dimensional robots.. same as Morne Steyn come to think of it… in fact which Bulls back line player ever became great playing for Bulls.. Naas, Habana… wie nog? Etienne Botha but he was never picked because he was too small for boks.. yet Habana wasn’t.
30 Jan 2013, 23:29 pm
@victoriabok-159: no…just lekker seeing you bust a foefie…
30 Jan 2013, 23:30 pm
@victoriabok-163:
Don’t ask me, ask the author of the quote.
Just loved the way it was written.
I am going to have huge problems trying to predict the Varsity Cup, my knowledge of the teams are non existant and will have to rely on guesswork the first couple of rounds.
30 Jan 2013, 23:31 pm
@Te Rangatira-162: as cheeky said “loaded deck of cards” mate.
30 Jan 2013, 23:34 pm
where is Tacitus? Sergeal Peterson runs the 100m in a time of 10.35
is that good or not?
30 Jan 2013, 23:35 pm
@skopdiekan-141:
Here (as far as I can establish) are Kings (SWD, EC, NEC, Border/Transkei) homegrown talent CURRENTLY lost to other S15 franchises (looking only at players in contention for S15):
JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls)
Akona Ndungane (Bulls)
Zane Kirchner (Bulls)
Cameron Jacobs (Cheetahs)
Rocco Jansen (Cheetahs)
Jongi Nokwe (Cheetahs)
Nico Scheepers (Cheetahs)
Odwa Ndungane (Sharks)
Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)
Sibusiso Sithole (Sharks)
Gouws Prinsloo (Sharks)
Jan Serfontein (Bulls)
Tim Whitehead (Sharks)
Siya Kolisi (Stormers)
Dewald Potgieter (Bulls)
Jacques Potgieter (Bulls)
Davon Raubenheimer (Cheetahs)
Philip van der Walt (Cheetahs)
Keegan Daniel (Sharks)
Ryan Kankowski (Sharks)
Lubabalo Mthembu (Sharks)
Cornell Hess (Bulls)
Andries Ferreira (Cheetahs)
Ligtoring Landman (Cheetahs)
Allan Dell (Sharks)
It is abundantly clear that it is only WP/Stormers that come out of this smelling sweet. The Sharks are bottom of the class – & the thieving is all inversely related to (1) selfish greed, & (2) to the ability to develop your own talent at grassroots level.
I can also add the following players to the above list, but in fairness, they only spent primary school within the Southern Kings regions before they moved on to other schools:
Frans Steyn (Sharks, via Grey College)
Johan Goosen (Cheetahs, via Grey College)
Paul Jordaan (Sharks via Grey College)
Deon Stegman (Bulls, via Grey College)
Scarra Ntubeni (Stormers, via KES)
Jano Vermaak (Bulls) may also fall in this category, but I’m not sure when his family left the EC for Tvl.
Quite an impressive list. You can see why I say the Kings region is a rugby nursery. And when it comes to development of Coloured & Black rugby players at grassroots level it is all happening in the W-Cape (Stormers/Boland) & the S-E Cape/Border (SWD/EP Kings/ Border) – not much happening elsewhere in South Africa. Perhaps this the reason they will the failure of The Kings – coz it’s easier, cheaper & for them socially more acceptable to poach already developed players of colour from an economically depressed area than to develop them themself?
How much have things really changed?
30 Jan 2013, 23:35 pm
@Transformation-167:
Certainly looks that way Trans…..makes it even more meritorious when the Kings do the business.
30 Jan 2013, 23:43 pm
@Te Rangatira-162: YES
there’s a political trojan horse – & that’s that
the Kings have been set up for failure, but the Kings’ grit (& the Lions solvency) might yet destroy the best laid plans
30 Jan 2013, 23:44 pm
@Angostura-169: 100% correct .. exactly what I been shouting from the roof tops ever since day dot.. I say the mercenary pilfering system superficially titled ‘professionalism’ in my ou doos ideology.. sucks to high f’ng heaven.. Sharkshits and Bulls would be absolutely NOWHERE if they had to rely on home grown talent as was the case before the advent of the Francois Pienaar and Hennie le Roux led player insurrection for rugby professionalization. FS and EC would be right up there with WP as legitimate beneficiaries of their own home grown nursery bred talent and Bulls and Sharks would be forced to play catch up instead of simply reverting to convenient check book swindling style fake supremacy.
30 Jan 2013, 23:55 pm
@Transformation-151:
The Sharks were a settled side and were apparently quite happy with their midfield options. The Kings on the other hand are new to SR and are looking for players…. By the way, Adi and Oupa Stef were experienced boks, much like JdV and Mossie, and Strauss became a bok tourist. Looks like Tim will be languishing behind Frans, Jordaan and possibly JP this year.
31 Jan 2013, 00:07 am
@mxhosa-158: I’m broadly in agreement with you, except that the Kings are not a charity: their purpose & reason for existence is NOT to give short term opportunities to Sharks academy players poached from them (the Kings) or other other franchises & not properly developed & not given adequate opportunity to flourish (unless it is also in the Kings’ interests to do so)
&
I have already expressed my opinion about the Kings’ short term survival requirements (which presently do not dovetail with what you suggest).
31 Jan 2013, 00:09 am
G’nite – already end of Jan – eish!
31 Jan 2013, 00:15 am
Kolisi
Liebenburg
Vermeulen
Carstens
Cilliers
Jantjies
Habana
Rhodes
Taute
van den Heever
Just some … and these Stormer groupies will try have you believe the Stormers are not a squad of mercenaries?
As I said. Lol.
31 Jan 2013, 00:38 am
@Angostura-174:
It is in the Kings’ best interest to give opportunities to these youngsters. They will realise playing at a franchise where their talents are appreciated is much better than to just being a squad member at a bigger union, where they aren’t likely to get an extended run. As a result it’ll keep more of our up and coming talent in the EC. We won’t situations where youngsters like Andile Jho believe it would much better to continue his rugby in Pretoria, where he can’t even break into the u21 side, than in PE. In effect that’s why the Kings were created, to lure back these players and to curtail the poaching of our potential stars by bigger unions, only for them to never make it beyond age group rugby….
31 Jan 2013, 01:27 am
Fair enough
let Kolisi go back to EC
Liebenberg back to NWC
Vermeulen back to Mpumalanga
Cilliers and Rhodes back to KZN
Jantjies, Habana, Taute back to GP
and Van den Heever back to PTA
Deon Carstens is BACK Home – born in Franschoek WP
but then give us back JP Pietersen, Pieter Steff Du Toit, JL Du Plessis, Conrad Hoffman, Francois Hougaard, Handre Pollard, Johann Sadie, Juandre Kruger, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Willie Le Roux, Dusty Noble, Rayno Benjamin, Josh Strauss, Caylib Oosthuizen, Anthony Volmink, Franco Vd Merwe
to name a few..
and then we talk… fairs fair…deal..?
31 Jan 2013, 01:43 am
and to top it we get to keep our WP bred core of :-
Deon Carstens, Steven Kitschoff, Frans Malherbe, De Kok Steenkamp, Andries Bekker, Eben Etsebeth, Wilhelm Vd Sluys, Schalk Burger, Nizaam Carr, Rynhardt Elstadt, Yaya Hartzenberg, Tyrone Holmes, Nick Koster, Dewalt Duvenhage, Nic Groom, Louis Schreuder, Marcel Brache, Juan De Jongh, Jean De Villiers, Damian de Allende, Ederies Arendse, Gio Aplon, Tim Swiel…etc..etc.. etc…
you wanna keep arguing mercenary status here.. you on a hiding to nothing.. sharkshit guppie yuppie.. you ain’t got a forlorn goddamn miserable middle leg to vaguely hobble on let alone stand on…
31 Jan 2013, 05:33 am
Wannabe Province supporter, who is the ‘we’ you talking about? You a born and bred Transvaler skop, don’t try and hide the truth…
31 Jan 2013, 05:59 am
@mxhosa-177: ” It is in the Kings’ best interest to give
opportunities to these youngsters. They will
realise playing at a franchise where their
talents are appreciated is much better than
to just being a squad member at a bigger
union, where they aren’t likely to get an
extended run.”
what you are saying is the Kings must be the antidote for SA Rugby’s ills and the contention that some of these kids played age-group rugby thus they’re good enough has been proved before as not such a foolproof one-too many examples to mention.
as i’ve said to you before i have no problem watching matthew taylor-smith learn the ropes at the Kings rather than watch a windgat andile jho play just because he is black. if jho is adamant that his future is at the bulls behind wynand, serfontein, venter & the like & won’t see the obvious that’s his story.
31 Jan 2013, 07:29 am
Slarti he was born in Israel
31 Jan 2013, 07:37 am
@Fern-182:
Physically or just ‘in his heart’? You know he spin more rubbish than most of us combined. Anyway, he spend his formative years in Transvaal.
31 Jan 2013, 07:43 am
@Slartibartfast-183: He is a one man Tower of Babel.
31 Jan 2013, 07:51 am
@stormer in a teacup-184:
Crossed with the leaning tower of Pisa…not all there.
31 Jan 2013, 07:53 am
@Slartibartfast-185:
Not surprising really. We’ve been taking the Pisa out of him for years.
31 Jan 2013, 07:56 am
@stormer in a teacup-184:
@Slartibartfast-185:
Always figured him more of a windmill type of person, or to be more exact, the Don Quixote character who charges at the windmills.
31 Jan 2013, 08:02 am
@nortierd-187: More like windmal.
31 Jan 2013, 08:03 am
@stormer in a teacup-186:
Hehehe reminded me of the time his mate asked Mike if he still takes his wife out for pizza. Nee se Mike, ek piets haar nou sommer by die huis…!
@nortierd-187:
Got a few klappe weg, if from the windmills or passer by I don’t know.
31 Jan 2013, 08:11 am
@Transformation-181:
We have to start somewhere, why not with the Kings? Of course not all the players who’ve played age group rugby for SA will make the step up…. I will take Tim Whitehead over Stefan Watermeyer any day. Johan van Deventer was once touted as a future bok, he’s now at the Leopards… at least he got a taste of SR.
My contention is that at the bigger unions it seems easier for the white players to make the step up than the black counterparts. For instance, the only baby bok locks who have not played SR are Cornel Hess, Chene Okafor, Mlungisi Bali, Sabelo Nhlapo (converted to prop) and Sebastian De Chaves (chose to continue his rugby in France).
FYI, I have no symapthy for Andile Jho! Was just trynna make a point… Would be even happier to see Tim come home. And I’m quite happy to support David Bulbring, Raynier Bernado and Armand du Preez instead of Cornel Hess.
31 Jan 2013, 08:19 am
WP bred core?
Captain Cunteye is starting to sound more and more like some mad Nazi doctor.
31 Jan 2013, 08:29 am
@stormer in a teacup-186: He thinks he’s a Tower of knowledge…we know differently.
31 Jan 2013, 08:35 am
@BrumbiesBoy-192:
Mmm maybe Tower of No Ledge…
31 Jan 2013, 08:39 am
@Slartibartfast-193: Or the Towering Inferno of Hatred which is sometimes spewed out of that vile thing he calls a mouth.
31 Jan 2013, 08:42 am
@BrumbiesBoy-194: The only time he is a tower is when he is pulling a trailer full of bricks behind his bakkie.
31 Jan 2013, 08:47 am
@stormer in a teacup-195:
In die regte lewe lyk hy seker soos die Hillbrow of Brixton toerings…’n lang d r o l van fokkol.
31 Jan 2013, 08:49 am
@stormer in a teacup-195:
You trying to tell me that Datsun can pull a trailer, nice try but we all know that is not true…
31 Jan 2013, 08:53 am
@BrumbiesBoy-196:
Nee man, beide daai torings is langer as 5 voet 3…oh hang on, you mean skop is like a Minnie Me Hillbrow toring?
31 Jan 2013, 08:55 am
@BrumbiesBoy-196:
31 Jan 2013, 08:55 am
As I see it, I don’t really believe that anyone has an issue with the Kings or the idea of the Kings.
The problem is the Twatsons. Had there been a different and more likeable face to the organization, things would move twice as quickly with twice as much support.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All