Serfontein to start against Lions

Baby Boks centre Jan Serfontein has been included in the Bulls’ starting side for Saturday’s Gauteng Cup match against the Lions.

Serfontein will partner new Bulls recruit Lionel Mapoe in the midfield. Coach Frans Ludeke has also included two more former Lions in the pack, with Grant Hattingh and Paul Willemse starting in the second row.

Handre Pollard, another promising player who featured for the Baby Boks in the successful 2012 Junior World Championship campaign, is on the bench.

Bulls – 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Travis Ismael, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jean Cook, 6 Deon Stegmann (c), 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Bongo Mbonambi, 17 Hencus van Wyk, 18 Wiaan Liebenberg, 19 Cornell Hess, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Handre Pollard, 22 Ulrich Beyers, 23 Jacques du Plessis.

331 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-100:

Hulle haal eers hulle tanne uit voordat hulle jou bliksem

Wat se navorsing doen jy?

• 102.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-99: ‘n hele paar van hulle het probeer om my te kry on hulle dogters te kom ‘ontmoet’ :-) A few of those girls out there are quite pretty and pretty desperate to get out of Welkom. Unfortunately I was already engaged……

• 103.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-101: Sou eerder nie hier se nie.

• 104.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-103:

Geoloog?

• 105.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-104: Soort van. Good guess !

• 106.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-102:

Ja right, what happens in Welkom stays in Welkom?

For nine months at least that is

• 107.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-105:

My pêl in ‘n Myn geoloog, hy’t eers hier in Kanada gewerk teen die Alaska grens en nou werk hy in Oz

Die een plek waar hy hier gebly het bo die Poolsirkel was dit -50 en nou by die myn in die Outback word dit ook 50, dis +50C

Hy sê hy vat eerder die koue

• 108.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh, all my Afrikaans has melted away….I can understood about 3 words! :-(

• 109.carol: Reply to this comment

I have also forgotten how to speak English….’I can understood’…has to be a classic!

• 110.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-109: I see you can speak Bulls. Not too many foreigners can.

• 111.cab: Reply to this comment

mein godt this bugger serfontein is good, had he gone to province to part de jong, i reckon they might as well give them the trophy now.

• 112.katman: Reply to this comment

@cab-111: You forget they’re still stuck with Brok & Kokkie up front.

• 113.cab: Reply to this comment

@katman-112:
    nah mate they got cilliers and kitshoff, thats going to be a moerse combo, that cilliers got a helluva engine on him and with the big province pack – i seriously reckon they going to klap almal.

• 114.katman: Reply to this comment

@cab-113: Ja, maybe you’re right. Guys like Elstadt and Etzebeth also count double points. And once Elton slots in at 10, with Taute at 15, that team will cook.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

@katman-114:
    yeah, exactly – but jantjies not that great, i rather have grant or joe pietersen at 10 with taute at 15.

lions gave the cheetahs carrots, but i think they going to be scattered to all corners.

• 116.cab: Reply to this comment

night.

• 117.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is a bad buy.. he should have stayed at leeusers or gone to bulletjies rather.. Province is the wrong place for him.. we got way better options at 10… Grant, Pietersen, Schreuder, Van Aswegen, even Coleman or Duvenhage better options at 10 than Jantjies.. was a very poor trade off buying Jantjies and losing both Pollard and JL Du Plessis as a direct fallout of the package deal.

• 118.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117:

What a load of twaddle… not one of those you mentioned above has been capped as a Bok… Jantjies has and is… but you know better than the professionals right?

• 119.whatthe: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-118:

Think Grant was/is a Bok?

But you correct on the “twaddle” bit :)

• 120.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

yeah I know better than the professionals… I play any one of those I mention above ahead of Jantjies and I got a better pivot for the WP style game than Jantjies… Jantjies is no great shakes as a SR or international fly half.. talented enough but no real great shakes at the top tier of rugby.

Joe Pietersen would be far better and so would either Schreuder or Duvenhage

The worst part is that both Pollard and JL Du Plessis signed at rival franchises because they felt with Jantjies in the saddle they would not be first choice for some time to come….. 2 top level WP bred pivots lost to WP because of short term poor decision making signing a mediocre fly half like Jantjies as a stop gap.

• 121.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Will take the once proud Bulls Union few years to be a SR contender, if ever :(
    Just read the names there, and they still to throw in the mix the likes of Chiliboi, Ndungane, Kirchner or Basson
    Are they kidding themselves?

• 122.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-120:

yeah I know better than the professionals…”

Firstly your pre-hindsight tipping record is abominable… secondly Alister Coetzee has a Rugby World Cup medal, a Currie Cup medal and more importantly a RSA S15 conference medal… so pull the other one Ubu!

“Joe Pietersen would be far better and so would either Schreuder or Duvenhage”

Oh Ubu… all those un-natural legumes and grains are clearly going to your brain…

Firstly Schreuder is a SCRUM HALF and has never repped at any decent level at 10… secondly Duvenage is an average SCRUM HALF (as is his choice) let alone a cheap 10 replacement !

“The worst part is that both Pollard and JL Du Plessis signed at rival franchises because they felt with Jantjies in the saddle they would not be first choice for some time to come”

Oh no not again Ubu… I can smell that GMO corn-breath… the Jantjies ‘loan-then-contract’ was not even a falafel-**** in the wind before the yound Pollard left for the Bulls!

Sort yourself out Ubu!

• 123.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I believe the bulls have a stronger squad than last season and in all honesty, if it wasn’t for those daft losses at home to the blues and stormers….we’d have been right up there. All this in a season where we lost plenty of players coupled with morne having his poorest season.

Don’t quite get why the Bulls have been so quickly written off? Because of a supershite CC campaign? Well, okay then.

• 124.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-123: I agree the Bulls have a good squad, but they lack the game changers they had when they were so successful.

• 125.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-123:

The fact that Marius Jonker has retired will also count heavily against the bulls. I know you will disagree but I can assure you each and every overseas rugby supporter won’t and quit a large percentage of local supporters of other SA Francises won’t disagree either.

• 126.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-117: Jeesus, but you can mos like to talk kak as jy die dag lus het. Ground control to Major Tom, your circuit’s dead, there’s something wrong…

• 127.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-125:

Now now Zimbobob.

He pulled a very nice scrum penalty out of the pocket to hand it to your boys against the bulls last year.

• 128.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther-127:

You are not a “local suporter who support another Franchise” as per my post # 125 above so your views re the bulls are biased in their favour :)

Remember that forward pass against the Brumbies when he let the game go on despite ‘honest” morne Steyn neary begging him to call it forward?

• 129.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther-127:

Marius is the modern day Tappe Henning (without the moustache).

• 130.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Firstly Schreuder had his best outing for WP ever at 10 not at scrumhalf. Secondly in Joe Pietersen Stormers got a talented quick think fleet footed pivot way better than Jozi wunderkind Jantjes who almost single handedly lost Lions a few games last year. Thirdly Duvenhage also had his best outing ever playing at 10 for Stormers. Fourthly Peter Grant Gary Van Sweden and Kurt Coleman are all very capable and talented pivots better than Jantjetie.

So why WP Stormers had to go wooing Jantjes away from his beloved Leeusers and in the process lose the loyalty of both Pollard and JL Du Plessis as a direct result of the short term thinking process only these dumb bewildered idiot so called ‘ rugby professionals ‘ and these so called rugby ‘fundi’s’ will know.

• 131.gunther: Reply to this comment

He saved your boys though on the day?

• 132.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-130: You’re talking from you bumhole again.

Do have have to stand up to do this?

• 133.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-130:
    How do you measure the worth of an untested schoolboy against a Bok?
    Maybe the Province Board don’t believe in the magic 8 ball.

• 134.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-122: Pollard had already signed with the Bulls about 2 years back. Everyone knew it, except the WPRFU, who spent months jumping through hoops and believing Daddy Pollard’s ‘stories’ :) Du Plessis IMHO left because of the way he was ignored, whilst all and sundry was licking Pollards crack, making him Craven week captain etc etc etc, when he was never going to return the favour. Jean-Luc was always 2nd to Handre’s first…….and that when Handre’s future was an open secret in the Cape….

Nothing to do with Jantjies at all, and I praise the rugby gods that Elton IS HERE :)

In trade for Pollard, we did get the young Eksteen from Pretoria – no shabby touch at 10, as anyone who watched Craven week would know. Also here is young Jordaan, the Free State 10 from Grey (Paul’s brother).

Added to that we have: Coleman, Grant, van Aswegen, Swiel (who many think should jol at 15) etc etc etc.

Elton tops the pecking order amongst this lot……. fact.@skopdiekan-130: The above post is meant for you.

• 135.gunther: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-130:

Pollard went before Jantjes arrived.

So Jantjes is good enough for the Boks but not the Stormers?

You are a special one.

• 136.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134:

Looking forward to happy biffday tomorrow?

Have you sent your message if congratulations?

• 137.katman: Reply to this comment

Most informed and sane rugby fans, coaches and experts agree on Jantjies, Goosen and Lambie being the top three flyhalfs in SA, although they don’t always agree on the order.

But only a deranged windowlicker would chuck in Duvenhage, Coleman, Swiel, van Aswegen etc into that mix.

• 138.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-130:

Pollard committed to the Bulls in March 2011 already and du Plessis could not even make the WP craven week team so I have no idea how you an rate him so highly. Have you ever seen him play?

Joe Pietersen is a fullback/wing who has hardly ever played flyhalf so yet again i dont know on what you base your assuption that he will be better at no 10 than Jantjes.

Coleman is still in the Province and therefore has the opportunity to show he is beter than jantjes- lets see how he goes on Saturday. I have my serious doubts though.

Grant has had all the chances in the world but has proved over and over that he is not up to scratch in games where it really counts (like semi finals) while van Aswegen always seems to be injured.

Jantjes and Swiel (maybe van Aswegen) are the way forward.

• 139.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Nope I’m the only one talking any sense its all you wunderkind displaced disciples thinking and talking Kakadu. Jantjes was a poor short term decision that had a direct fallout result of WP losing the long term loyalty of both Pollard and JL Du Plessis which as a direct consequence is a downright travesty especially when we got far better capable pivots to fill the void in the meantime. Check how it plays out then tell me I was wrong at the arse end of the season it already is kicking off on the wrong booty.

Out n about now cherio

• 140.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No new stories today?

• 141.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Eksteen is not a patch on either of Pollard JL Du Plessis Van Aswegen or Swiel. Another pisspoor lousy second grade trade off when we got far better nurtured and developed locally. Peter Grants still a better pivot than Jantjes even n his old age and just like Butch showed why in Jozi so will Grant show here.

• 142.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-136: Can’tfuckingwait :) I have sent quite a a few messages actually, through various platforms.

The most pleasing thing tomm, is knowing that there are dumfuckwits all over the country; sitting in front of their ‘tellies’; wondering just how ther object of their ‘HATE’ for so many years, managed to get this far :) :) :)

I will feed off their Smith hate (and their whinging tomm), and enjoy the moment all the more because of it.

• 143.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-142:

Who hates Biff?

Who dares?

• 144.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-142:

Korrec.

A great day for the great man.

• 145.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-143: Many of them out there Dawn….sicklittletamponsuckingvampires. I spit on them.

@Gunther: you might enjoy this Haysman piece. After his Armstrong attack I swore to never read anything he dribbles out ever again, but I failed. This is a great article. http://www.supersport.com/cricket/blogs/mike-haysman/Discovering_talent_the_Imran_Khan_way

• 146.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Young Jordaan is actually the way to vorder forward now that Pollard & Du Plessis are gone and Jantjes very much a wish and a prayer dream in divine investment.

• 147.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-130:
    I cant understand why the Super Rugby franchises arent chomping at the bit to sign you up as a coach. You know more than any other coach in the world.

• 148.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-145:
    Mike Haysman irritates me.

I thought we’d got rid of him when he left to chase Stanford’s dollars.

Lo and behold he’s back with his tail between his legs.

• 149.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Fckme yakking Skittle sticks again that last vestige of colonial deformity of thought process that me out for the rest of the day.

• 150.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-149:
    English?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.