Courageous Cheetahs sink Stormers
2 Feb 2013
The Cheetahs triumphed in Bloemfontein with an injury time penalty.
The Cheetahs won 27-26 to take the Reconciliation Cup.
There is no such thing as a pre-season hit out in South African rugby. This could easily have been the real deal as the Stormers led 16-3, the Cheetahs fought back to lead 17-16, the Stormers found an extra gear to go ahead 26-17 and then the Cheetahs hit back with 10 points in the last five minutes.

429 Comments
2 Feb 2013, 13:51 pm
Bloemtown Rats to take this one.
Dragons that they are.
2 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
@cane, your’re right bout the rats part. Bloemfontein def is the 2nd k@kkest city in SA …after Dirtban.
2 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
Eish conundrum time..Im a blackandwhite dynamite supporter.
2 Feb 2013, 14:04 pm
@Slappes-3:
In Dirtban the c ockroaches grow nearly as big as the rats in Bloem.
2 Feb 2013, 14:35 pm
@Robzim, lol…eish Im told the human variety in Dirtban are worse.
2 Feb 2013, 14:42 pm
Does anyone know how to watch this in the UK? Is it on Sky, or is there a way to steam it on the internet?
2 Feb 2013, 14:53 pm
@blik-6: supposed to read “stream”
2 Feb 2013, 15:04 pm
Am waiting for this RECONCILIATION CHALLENGE!
2 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@Dawn-8: Annoying how they have to turn every game into some sort of cup or “challenge” – whatever that is.
Just call it a friendly ffs
2 Feb 2013, 17:17 pm
Taute is a Stormer
Who knew!
2 Feb 2013, 17:33 pm
@silent_shadow-9: Agreed. Jislaaik but how boring is this game so far – skittlesticks much more interesting, Skop. It seems our team will once more bore everybody else into losing.
2 Feb 2013, 17:37 pm
Jinne how hard is it for these guys to get used to new scrum call
2 Feb 2013, 17:37 pm
refs got the scrum sequence totally wrong.
2 Feb 2013, 17:39 pm
Taute looks quite good so far in this practice match.
2 Feb 2013, 17:41 pm
Taute looks quite good so far in blue
Salaam and welcome back Nizaam
2 Feb 2013, 17:46 pm
@Dawn-15:
Makes me think of the nice gediggie by Jan Celliers.
Dis die blond,
dis die blou:
dis die veld,
dis die lug;
en ‘n voël draai bowe in eensame vlug -
dis al
Dis ‘n balling gekom
oor die oseaan,
dis ‘n graf in die gras,
dis ‘n vallende traan -
dis al
2 Feb 2013, 17:51 pm
Louis Schreuder is k@k
2 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
cheetahs guilty of their old tricks
stormers are just plain boring
2 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
i would pay good money not to watch this team.
2 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19:
Switch your TV off. It is free, you might even save electricity
2 Feb 2013, 18:12 pm
@Robzim-20:
i blame supersport/multichoice.
if they gave us more control/subsciber choice over the sports package there are two teams i would quickly strike out of existence.
2 Feb 2013, 18:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21:
I guess the 2 unlucky teams would be the AB’s and “my” team
If Carr can stay healthy he will play for SA by the end of the year.
2 Feb 2013, 18:21 pm
Juan Smith seems quite ok so far
2 Feb 2013, 18:24 pm
cheetahs back in the game.
2 Feb 2013, 18:26 pm
Bakkies you yard of wet tripe
2 Feb 2013, 18:27 pm
@Robzim-22:
good guess
Carr’s ok but still too early to call it imo.
@Robzim-23:
yip.
not blowing minds with hints of old.
2 Feb 2013, 18:27 pm
Like Rob said switch it off if you hate it that much
2 Feb 2013, 18:29 pm
Every thread you pollute with your misery and your angst and “innocent” racism
I’m off to Scotland thread, where you aren’t
2 Feb 2013, 18:32 pm
mooi so cheetahs!
go boys
go!
@Dawn-27:
dont shoot the messenger, Dawn.
its a sort of ‘mesmerisingly boring’… if you wil…
2 Feb 2013, 18:33 pm
stormers selling decoy runners two for the price of one
cheetahs aint buying
2 Feb 2013, 18:34 pm
I shoot who I will
You are mesmerisingly boring.
2 Feb 2013, 18:35 pm
Juan Smith is a towering talisman for the cheetahs
that much is clear
do it cheetahs
do it
2 Feb 2013, 18:37 pm
Go Cheetahs.
2 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
I’m yearning for real rugby..when does the BW Dynamite play?
2 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
Slappes wtf
2 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
shameful by habana
shameful
2 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
well done cheetahs
its not too late
you can win it
2 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36:
Yes not very good from such and experienced
player
2 Feb 2013, 18:53 pm
How can the stomers not be ready for the short kick at 22 ?
2 Feb 2013, 18:55 pm
YESW
YES
YES
YESSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!
bwahahaaa
WHAT A KICH
BEAUTIFUL!
BEAUTIFUL!
Wow Stormers how can you kick the drop and not keep possession for 1 min?
then lose the ball att eh 22 drop out?
2 Feb 2013, 18:57 pm
Cheetahs!!!
2 Feb 2013, 18:58 pm
Ref seemed intent on handing Cheetah’s penalty after penalty but its a warm up game so its cool and Stormers will now know that their halfback pairing is just plain k@k. Anybody care to break DD’s other leg?
2 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
I’m quite glad we lost this. Hopefully it will be a wake-up call to AC to stop playing boring rugby. Because we have enough talent not to do this. Bakkies, I hope you enjoyed that. It’ll be one of your last joyful moments of 2013.
2 Feb 2013, 19:03 pm
Bakkies go clean yourself up and leave your wanger alone
2 Feb 2013, 19:05 pm
@Dawn-47:
whats a wanger?
2 Feb 2013, 19:10 pm
Stormers behoort met hierdie boring kak darem die halfeind te haal. Klomp tweede keuse spelers wat vandag gametime gekry het.
2 Feb 2013, 19:11 pm
@CoachPete-38:
absolutely.
it was very uncharacterisic of him but that’s no excuse.
he should be punished.
@playtheball-46:
the cheetahs were guilty of their usual helter skelter running too much stuff and the stormers were predictably just plain boring.
but i was rooting for the cheetahs and the way they played themselves back in and never looked to surrender was sweet.
welcome back Juan Smith
@Dawn-47:
its about the rugby, Dawn.
well done to the cheetahs.
2 Feb 2013, 19:11 pm
Joh.
What a day.
#proteascheatahsbullsbafana
2 Feb 2013, 19:14 pm
The absence of Pro Legota and Marius Jonker did hurt the stormers
2 Feb 2013, 19:16 pm
Kuktalk Bakkies
And if the stormers had won, would it still have been “about the rugby”
2 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
Sorry Hondo this ref was a bit dodge in favour of the Cheetah’s. Jonker is anti WP/Stormers so ek weet nie waar val jy uit nie
2 Feb 2013, 19:19 pm
Juan Smith ,like a Rugby God walking onto the field .
Sad to say I dont really rate Carr, whoever said he will play for the Boks by the end of the year is forgetting who the Bok coach is & getting carried away . I thought Viljoen and Smith made a huge impact as did Le Roux and Watts. Also Trevor Nyakane seems to be possibly the most underrated prop in the country.
2 Feb 2013, 19:19 pm
@Hondo-52: you think Lourens van der Merwe was great?
bwahahahaha
2 Feb 2013, 19:21 pm
Juan and Shalkie should retire together. Smith way past his seel by date
2 Feb 2013, 19:22 pm
@wpallday-55:
I think a 100 % fit strong Juan is going to be in HM’s starting 15 and maybe as captain. This gives him the option to omit Jdv too
2 Feb 2013, 19:22 pm
Sell by date
2 Feb 2013, 19:23 pm
Bergmoffies sien hulle gat !
2 Feb 2013, 19:23 pm
@W.P-57:
Disagree if he is fit and in top form add his experaince, its invaluable.
Not sure about skalk
2 Feb 2013, 19:24 pm
@Dusky-60:
Some poor decisions in last 2 min
2 Feb 2013, 19:25 pm
@W.P-59:
You know some wine only get better as it get older
2 Feb 2013, 19:26 pm
Some players should know when to retire
2 Feb 2013, 19:27 pm
@Transformation-56:
How is KING10EP?
2 Feb 2013, 19:29 pm
@gunther-51:
bafana would be the icing on the cake.
fingers crossed.
@Dawn-53:
of course not, Dawn.
which team went out there to play positive, entertaining, all out, attacking rugby?
definitely not the stormers….
chetahs were deserved winners.
dont be ungracious in defeat, my dear.
2 Feb 2013, 19:29 pm
@W.P-64:
All players should know when to retire.
That said a fully fit Schalk and Juan would add serious value at the moment.
But not really going forward.
2 Feb 2013, 19:30 pm
We tend to cling to players past reputations and hero worship even after they’re way past their best.
2 Feb 2013, 19:31 pm
@W.P-64:
Lets see if he can prove us wrong
2 Feb 2013, 19:32 pm
@wpallday-55:
well said.
and to think the cheetahs are missing a few strings to their bow.
if they get their injured players back early, keep this attitude and Juan stays injury free i would fancy them do better than usual in the super comp.
2 Feb 2013, 19:33 pm
I agree they shouldn’t be discarded completely but if I were to pick a loose trio for the Stormers it would be Vermeulen, Kolisi and Fourie. Schalk on the bench with Carr.
2 Feb 2013, 19:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-66:
Bakkies i think it was an even game Cheetahs won because Aplon made a dumb decision
All Stormers had to do was holds the ball for 1 min
They did not need that drop it missed they got possesion at 22 and got to near half way line and a very good kick won it
2 Feb 2013, 19:35 pm
@gunther-65: drives like the wind…the TURBO is amazing…
2 Feb 2013, 19:36 pm
Bakkies you’re reading too much into these warm up games. The Cheetah’s beat the Stormers in a warm up game last year too.
@Dusky-60:
sometimes the stormers think they just need to show up and go through the motions.
Dont you patronise me bakkies
Quickest way to get me more befuck than I already am with you
2 Feb 2013, 19:37 pm
@W.P-71:
Fourie is a hooker He played flank last year very well but is a hooker sorry just my opinion
2 Feb 2013, 19:38 pm
@W.P-71:
I believe Fourie will not be considered as a loose forward this year unless there is another emergency.
2 Feb 2013, 19:39 pm
Tweegevreet
2 Feb 2013, 19:39 pm
@W.P-71:
Tell me why would you select a hooker at 6 if you have an experienced fit, big, tall abrasive ,springbok available? Just wondering?
Especially when you are short of hookers
2 Feb 2013, 19:40 pm
Couldn’t care about the result. These games should just be to give players run outs and try out combinations. Good to see Carr doing well. Hope he has more luck this year with injuries.
Start Groom next game please.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75:
It was only a practice game and there was no intensity.
Dont read anything in the result, its really meaningless.
@Transformation-73:
Lets see a pic!
2 Feb 2013, 19:41 pm
@Robzim-78:
again
Hi Rob howzit?
I see we agree
2 Feb 2013, 19:42 pm
@silent_shadow-81:
Correct
2 Feb 2013, 19:42 pm
I am aware of his preference as a hooker but he was the best opensider in the CC last year. He was the single most influential player for WP as well as the Stormers in my opinion. Great player!
2 Feb 2013, 19:44 pm
@W.P-86:
Then leave him at hooker and we have an extra fetcher
2 Feb 2013, 19:44 pm
@CoachPete-84:
Howzit man….. well, its obvious, old surfers know a lot
Still going well there in the land of opportunities?
2 Feb 2013, 19:46 pm
Look out for Carr this season. Love the stocks at loose forward for the Stormers this seaon. If only we can tweak the gameplan. AC should hopefully have learnt his lesson from last season
2 Feb 2013, 19:46 pm
If Schalk comes back and they drop Nizaam, I’m off to the Kings
2 Feb 2013, 19:47 pm
@Robzim-88:
Yes i am fine thanks Yes doing ok
My San Francisco 49 niners are in the superbowl and should win ?
2 Feb 2013, 19:49 pm
@Dawn-90:
See ja Waving goodbye
Kings ??? Will lose every game
practice games are just … … … practice
only the Lions (only now) take these games seriously
get over today’s victories & defeats – they’re meaningless as contests – they serve a different purpose
{Go Bafana!}
I swear
2 Feb 2013, 19:51 pm
@W.P-89:
With these extra loose forwards now AC can rest players, even play Skalk at 8 to rest vermeulen
2 Feb 2013, 19:51 pm
Well when it comes to depth the Stormers have the best back up so player fatigue / burnout or niggling injuries will lay squarely at AC’s feet
2 Feb 2013, 19:52 pm
@Dawn-90: welcome
2 Feb 2013, 20:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70: their depth is a huge problem.
Would like to see Andreis Coetzee and maybe Voljmick play for them.
Juan Smith is perhaps my favorite Rugby personality of all time , epitomizes what a Springbok should be. The best blindside we’ve produced relative to who he played against internationally .
2 Feb 2013, 20:02 pm
@CoachPete-72:
i think the cheetahs showed a little more flair though.
stormers only got possesion through a poor pass by the cheetahs which led to an interception.
@W.P-74:
@Robzim-82:
well, are you happy with what you saw tonight?
2 Feb 2013, 20:02 pm
I’m also concerned about Etzebeth ,he seriously needs to start tackling with his shoulders !
2 Feb 2013, 20:04 pm
All in all there isn’t much to read into this game ,Cheetahs felt like they had won the world cup or boned miss universe and Stormers acted as if it wasn’t a big deal.
For the Cheetahs it should galvanize their confidence
2 Feb 2013, 20:05 pm
@Dawn-76:
oh Dawn, let me read you some poetry, my sweet.
2 Feb 2013, 20:05 pm
Look I think the Stormers should actually withdraw from the S15 now. Its obvious we’re going to waste our time even competing this year. Cheetahs and Bulls setting the pace……we can’t compete. Looking at previous years warmups: the Lions beat the guppies and we all know the Lions went on to win the S15……..
2 Feb 2013, 20:08 pm
Lekker Cheetahs thump the Kaapies!
2 Feb 2013, 20:09 pm
Oh and this just in from Pedigree, bless her.
“Bwhaaaaa, tell them all I say a huge and mighty congrats to the Cheetahs and Bulls for winning the Gauteng Cup and Reconciloation challenge so convincingly. I will be hedgin alllll my bets on the Cheetahs and Bulls to place 1st and 2nd on the log, because these warm up games define a season.”
2 Feb 2013, 20:17 pm
Tjoepstil
Wonderful
2 Feb 2013, 20:20 pm
@Dawn-106:
The beauty of a woman
Is not in the clothes she wears,
The figure that she carries,
Or the way she combs her hair.
The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes,
Because that is the doorway to her heart,
The place where love resides.
The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole
But true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul.
It is the caring that she lovingly gives,
The passion that she shows,
And the beauty of a woman
With passing years only grows!
- Teresa Mahieu
2 Feb 2013, 20:23 pm
Did Jean De Villiers have a cry after the game ?
2 Feb 2013, 20:25 pm
@Dawn-103: No, the Stormers must stay. Its too much fun watching them grow a big head during the season and get humbled in the playoffs.
2 Feb 2013, 20:28 pm
More from Pedigree:
“I am so gutted at the performance of a few of our 1st choice players….. Players who I expected to be the ‘go to men’; the stars of our season. Guys like; de Allende, Armand, de Kok Steenkamp, Coleman, Smid, Schreuder, Klaasen etc. These okes are the core of our team….. .. And if they flop, we fucked, cos NOfuckingwayinhell, are our 2nd stringers, Bekker, Burger, Kolisi, Groom, Jantjies, Elstadt, Jean Div etc better than this lot. (Ohhh wait, I’m sounding like a Guppie fan now, excuse excuses…..) Stormers lost fair, square with **** decision making and feeble mistakes. Carr however was a highlight for me, a huge one…. Lost no pace, skill or class after his layoff. Cheetahs are the worthy ‘Reconciliation Cup’ champs and Juan Smith still is and always will be: LEGEND.”
2 Feb 2013, 20:30 pm
Watsup Duskee
2 Feb 2013, 20:36 pm
How did Juan Smith go?
2 Feb 2013, 20:47 pm
Boring game.
Congrats to the Cheetahs for pulling it off. Smith showed why he was missed so much by the Cheetahs the last two years. If he can stay fit for the whole campaign, the Cheetahs can even end above the Sharks and the Bulls on the log.
AC needs to tweak the Stormers’ game plan. We were sterile on attack. JdJ needs to be more aware of support runners after he makes a break. No need to go to the ground when there are players close by who can take the ball forward.
2 Feb 2013, 20:51 pm
@Dawn-111: wazzzzzuuuuppppp !!!! You still sober ? Haven’t hit the Pimms yet ?
2 Feb 2013, 20:54 pm
@nama1-113: Well dompoos, the Cheetahs didn’t just beat the Bulls or Sharks, they just did the Stormers so they could end above them on the log too ? Huh dingbat ?
2 Feb 2013, 20:55 pm
@Dusky-114:
Dusky its whiskey on the rocks
2 Feb 2013, 21:01 pm
well done Bafana
great goal
2 Feb 2013, 21:04 pm
@Slumtown-112:
he did well.
still early days but so far he looks good.
@nama1-113:
no, stormers game was boring.
cheetahs were enterprising and deserved the win.
2 Feb 2013, 21:07 pm
tokelo rantie!!!
2 Feb 2013, 21:12 pm
@Dusky-115:
No.
Above the Sharks and the Bulls if Smith stays fit, poepol.
2 Feb 2013, 21:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-118:
Cheetahs were outplayed by the Stormers in the 1st half. They only got into the game when Smith came on.
You’re right. The Stormers game was boring.
What do you make of the Bulls’ game vs the Lions? Are you satisfied with what you’ve seen?
2 Feb 2013, 21:49 pm
Swak verdediging deur Bafana.
2 Feb 2013, 21:53 pm
I did predict a few weeks ago that the Stormers will have a rather average season this year (their real Super rugby form). Looks like I may be right…………….
2 Feb 2013, 22:04 pm
lovely seeing the cheetahs win the first stormers “trophy” of the year.
plascon wall and all no longer in the stormers “trophy” cabinet
2 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
I wonder if there are any trophies in the Shark trophy cabinet (a useless piece of furniture if they have one in their offices) to be won?
Mmmm…let me think……….
2 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
why is dawn posting doggies sms’es here?
does she rock a 3310 nokia like jack parow?
2 Feb 2013, 22:12 pm
someones talking to me…….without clicking the arrow…..who could it be?
2 Feb 2013, 22:15 pm
howzit nama.
since you met fern and he gave glowing accounts of you i have decided to interact with you on a more relaxed level so even though you support a k u k team, i hope that you are having a wonderful weekend.
i am watching bafana and trying to organise semifinal tickets (cmon boys you can do it!).
2 Feb 2013, 22:17 pm
i suspect lack of proper leadership will be the stormers downfall this year.
the springbok captain isnt even first choice in his position when frans is fit and that will have a negative effect on his game imo.
if thats possible.
2 Feb 2013, 22:23 pm
such a trevor noah moment watching the crowd sin the national anthem tonight at the bafana game.
its clear most havent a clue about the words for the part in afrikaans taken from “die stem” but if anything, the volume increased as they tried their best.
this is quite humbling and i urge my fellow white south africans to learn and understand the words to the very beautiful nkosi silkelel i’africa and sing them with pride and gusto at the next possible opportunity.
2 Feb 2013, 22:25 pm
Extra time.
Can the Boys pull through?
Our defense is really dodgy. No real communication amongst the back four. Khumalo needs to step up and be counted.
2 Feb 2013, 22:27 pm
Lekker to have blown away Pakistan for 49 earlier.
2 Feb 2013, 22:28 pm
@nama1-131: man i hope so.
tried to get tickets for this game but they were sold out so quick.
just got offered tickets for the semi for 800 sa rand, crazy.
2 Feb 2013, 22:29 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-132: very lekker and hash and ab have been bringing the pain.
hope we dont declare til they both have centuries and then we end it sharpish!
2 Feb 2013, 22:30 pm
@The Rangerman-129:
Schalk, Vermeulen, Fourie, Habana, Bekker are all leaders in their own right. Leadership is the least of our problems.
What we need is to tweak our game plan and set our dangerous backs free. We seem to be still struggling with that part. If that happens, the sky is the limit.
PS: Frans is average. Always was, always will be.
2 Feb 2013, 22:32 pm
today was a difficult day for me.
the sea was too dirty for a dive and then there was simply too much quality sport on.
that and the perfect windless 37 degree day here in durbs just was too much
2 Feb 2013, 22:32 pm
sorry, 27 degree, haha 37 degrees would have been overkill.
2 Feb 2013, 22:33 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-132:
Still trying to find a reason why Graeme did not enforce the follow on. Our boys only bowled 29 overs. No way that they were tired.
You have a clue why he decided to bat again?
2 Feb 2013, 22:34 pm
@nama1-135: nah, frans is a cracker, always has been, always will be.
eish, mahlangu! nice shot, good save.
i just think leadership may be your problem bud, could be wrong time will tell.
2 Feb 2013, 22:34 pm
@The Rangerman-133: ]
R800 is crazy!!!
2 Feb 2013, 22:36 pm
@nama1-138: good question, i was driving the coast looking for clean water so i miseed the whole morning session.
you wouldnt believe my surprise and joy when i arrived home and checked the score
2 Feb 2013, 22:37 pm
@nama1-140: ja man, i cant afford that as i am off to mozam in 3 weeks with my spearfishing club but i am DESPERATE to go if bafana qualify.
cant believe its looking like penalties now.
cmon bafana, CMON!
2 Feb 2013, 22:39 pm
@The Rangerman-139:
Guess we’ll have to disagree on both accounts.
Pity Elton could not play today. Would’ve loved to see if he can get our back line going.
Real tragic situation re his dad. Met somebody the other day who served with his dad in the army in Cape Town some years ago. He was full of praise for the man.
2 Feb 2013, 22:39 pm
bafana push it wide but take too long to send it back to the middle allowing the defense time to set and preventing our strikers r midfield running onto the cross.
one touch crosses would be far more effective.
2 Feb 2013, 22:42 pm
@nama1-143: man, my heart goes out to the whole family.
too tragic.
have a friend whose mom, a real fitness lady full of life and only early 50′s, went to sleep this week and just never woke up.
just as surprising as mr jantjies’s death by frikken beesting.
too sad.
2 Feb 2013, 22:45 pm
@The Rangerman-141:
Yes, especially since there are some rain predicted for Monday and Tuesday in Johburg.
2 Feb 2013, 22:47 pm
@nama1-121:
i expected it to go either way so was happy to see the bulls maintain composure and finish off strongly at the end.
this is still a very good lions team and i expect them to beat most of the teams they play against this season.
for the bulls Serfontein, Botha and Stegmann looked classy at times.
i think they will be there or there about this season but i dont expect them to win any titles.
2 Feb 2013, 22:50 pm
@nama1-146: no ways?
that makes it even more perplexing?
haha, watching that oke praying at the bafana game reminds me of the old zulu guy in front of me at the game vs morocco who was mal at the ref, claiming the ref didnt “hlonipha”(respect) bafana
2 Feb 2013, 22:53 pm
@The Rangerman-145:
Jip, it can be so sudden sometimes.
Last year I bumped into my best mate of 25 years in the local pharmacy where he was waiting for a prescription. We chatted a bit and he told me about this moerse heartburn that he had. When he got his medicine he walked out to his bakkie while I was still waiting for my prescription. About 5 minutes later some lady came running into the pharmacy and said that someone just had some kind of an attack outside. When someone asked, “Who” she mentioned his name and I ran outside. It was too late. He died right in front of me.
2 Feb 2013, 22:55 pm
@nama1-149: no man, thats terrible.
sorry bud.
2 Feb 2013, 22:56 pm
penalties seeming ever more likely
2 Feb 2013, 22:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-147:
The Lions play a nice brand of rugby. I like how the players always look to off load in the tackle.
Serfontein did well but I hated how the commentators blew up every good thing that he did.
Where was Tarzan?
2 Feb 2013, 23:01 pm
eish bafana nervy and mali all over us.
wake up bafana!
khune is a legend.
2 Feb 2013, 23:05 pm
I hate a penalty shoot out if my team is involved. :angry:
2 Feb 2013, 23:08 pm
There we go.
Khune can become the stuff of folklore if he wins this one for us. He had a good game tonight. May his form continue during the shoot out.
2 Feb 2013, 23:12 pm
@nama1-152:
yip, they do.
it looks like they scored with Cronje too, he seems a man born anew now that the ‘WP Shackles’ are off. i had to blink a few times to make sure it wasn’t Elton.
Tarzan took a day off to be with Spies… sorry… i meant Jane.
2 Feb 2013, 23:15 pm
Good save by the Mali goali.
Advantage Mali
2 Feb 2013, 23:15 pm
Shame poor Furman
2 Feb 2013, 23:17 pm
we’re out
2 Feb 2013, 23:17 pm
That’s it all over. S.A. out
2 Feb 2013, 23:20 pm
Mali win. Three penalties saved by the goalie
The dream is over and so is Ingesund, I fear.
Would like him to continue and be given a fair chance. He was set up to fail imo.
2 Feb 2013, 23:25 pm
question:
do they train the players for penalty kicks?
wtf?
2 Feb 2013, 23:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162:
Does a fly half practice his kicks at goal?
You have to practice kicking penalties in the same way. Ever tried to take a penalty? For the keeper it may seem that the poles is freakin wide but for the kicker the poles seems very narrow.
2 Feb 2013, 23:48 pm
This was the best I’ve ever seen Bafana play.
Nasiebou op sy beste.
2 Feb 2013, 23:50 pm
The penalties wasn’t the issue, fitness was.
The players were laying about before extra time was finished, then they must stand and concentrate and take penalties.
Hope they take a leaf out of Kitch Christies book, the best team doesn’t always win, but if you are the fittest team your chances are better.
2 Feb 2013, 23:52 pm
@nortierd-165: Hey Nortie, sorry to hear about Bafana, penalties is never a decent way to settle a game of soccer
your comment about fitness levels is spot on, I think its what makes the ABs so potent, they have won many, many games in the last quarter for this very reason imo..
2 Feb 2013, 23:58 pm
@nama1-163:
well then they picked the wrong three flippin players.
i mean come on! Majoro completely missed his shot by a mile
how ****** narrow did he think they were.
3 Feb 2013, 00:05 am
well played Bafana, proud of the new way we are playing under Gordon. tough luck to lose in the lottery that are penalties.
3 Feb 2013, 00:07 am
@Jeraldjay-164:
Nasiebou? wdf? is jy ernstig?
that’s half our problem right there. always happy to praise mediocrity in football and for a long time in cricket too.
@nortierd-165:
agreed on fitness levels.
but as far as the penalties were concerned, the Malians did seem to have the same problem, wtf?
@the curse-166:
lets just agree to disagree entirely, on the question of what has allowed the AB’s to win ‘many, many games in the last quarter’.
3 Feb 2013, 00:07 am
anyway, i’m out for the night
cheers all
3 Feb 2013, 00:09 am
@nama1-161: not set up to fail but do a rescue job of pitso’s f.uckup & the progress is admirable in my eyes..
mali ranked 3rd in Africa – with former Barcelona player Seydou Keita in the mix – vs Bafana ranked 22nd.
they win on penalties. we stepped UP.
3 Feb 2013, 00:10 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-167:
See Nortierd’s comment at 165.
Agree that they should’ve done better. Only consolation is that those three players feel even worse than you or I do.
3 Feb 2013, 00:11 am
gutted but proud of bafana.
use this to go on and build a team that can take on all comers lads!
3 Feb 2013, 00:14 am
@Liewe Luiperd-123:
Its only pre season ?
3 Feb 2013, 00:16 am
If it went to penalties we didn’t stand a chance had to wrap it up in open play we controlled midfield and most the interplay but they were more dangerous on counter and they shut us out the end zone in second half we couldn’t get into scoring position. We lost the game when we give Keita free header in our small box with both defenders falling off the striker and offering Mali a free pass back in the game.
Mali is rated 25th in Fifa we around 65 we played better football overall except for poor defence on their goal and lack of strike force in their end zone..
3 Feb 2013, 00:19 am
@Transformation-171:
Yes but the provision that he MUST reach the semi finals means that his tenure is over now that they are knocked out in the quarters.
They could at least have given him the opportunity to try and qualify for Brazil.
Pitso was a big fukkup from the start. A mate of mine and Pitso did their level two coaching courses together and he does not rate him at all.
3 Feb 2013, 00:25 am
@skopdiekan-175:
Hi skop.
The lack of quality crosses from out wide have been a problem as well. We create space out wide but when we need our players to whip in pinpoint crosses for our strikers to head for goal, we always come up short. Its always either too high and too long or directly to a defender who kicks it away from danger.
You’re right, we controlled the midfield but it was when we get to the big box that we lost the plot.
3 Feb 2013, 00:28 am
We don’t have a proper striker. Bernard Parker was very poor shouldn’t have been on the field was a waste of a player. If Bafana want to become a force in either Africa or world football they need to find some strikers they improved hugely in ball control and structure but still don’t have real finishers the two goals vs Morocco that pulled us through to quarters although both well taken strikes from edge of box were actually fortuitous goals and a better goalie like Mali had tonight might have not let them in.
3 Feb 2013, 00:43 am
@the curse-166:
Thanks, yes was sad, very disappointing, almost like the tourney is over.
Reckon whoever wins tomorrow between Ivory Coast and Nigeria will take the Cup
3 Feb 2013, 00:44 am
@nama1-176: they won’t fire him!
our game is not based on aerial assaults thus every high cross was a Mali ball – check the Morocco game too.
your mate might not rate Pitso but he coached Supersport United & along with the recently deceased Thomas Madigage built the team Hunt inherited…the likes our captain Khumalo, Gaxa, Klate, Erasmus, Teko Modise come from Pitso’s development. i don’t know what your mate has done.
3 Feb 2013, 00:46 am
@skopdiekan-178:
Mphela is a good striker. Pity that he was injured for so long and that he was not as sharp when the tournament started. I think he must look to play in a European league to become even better.
Yes, Parker was poor tonight. His distribution was awful and he lost the ball way too many times.I think he got totally confused as to what his actual role was. Was he a striker or a midfielder?
3 Feb 2013, 00:48 am
@nama1-177:
Very true, good point.
@skopdiekan-175:
Agree on the free header, no use the defender stands about swinging his arms at the ref like Ruan Pienaar behind a maul hoping for an offside.
Then there was the chance that went begging because the striker can’t kick with his right foot and wasted time trying to set up for a left footed shot
3 Feb 2013, 00:56 am
@Transformation-180:
Well, his u/17 side is the current national champions.
3 Feb 2013, 05:12 am
I see Die Groot Leeu signed out for the last time. May he rest in peace.
3 Feb 2013, 05:14 am
Hilarious… Banana Banana have all the excuses… yet two-bit ****-holes in Africa smash them!
3 Feb 2013, 06:51 am
Watched these rugby games with interset
3 players stood out for me
Jan Serfontein
Nizaam Carr
and my player of the day….and what a loss to Stormers and Bulls…Lionel Cronje. Just oozes class, at 10 or 12…..
Now there is a young man Heyneke can keep an eye on if he wants to play more expansively…..best distributor in SA Rugby imo…
3 Feb 2013, 06:51 am
interest
3 Feb 2013, 07:59 am
@bryce_in_oz-185: hilarious is your hyperbole…”smashed”?
3 Feb 2013, 08:40 am
Mali are in a civil war…and so is South Africa…and that is where the similarities end.
Bafoona Bafoona should be forced to have a nationality from each country that has more than one million illegals in our country, to be representative of our Rainbow Nation. A few Nigerians, Ghanians and Mozambiguans should even out the odds for the useless’s…after all, they can’t do anything for themselves after twenty years in charge.
3 Feb 2013, 09:09 am
@Predawn-189:
3 Feb 2013, 09:26 am
Honestly, I am not the biggest football fan around, yet every 4 years I’ll watch the World Cup and maybe follow some highlights.
Yet, because I am working this tournament I sort of got caught up in it, and it was fun, but I am very disappointed with our loss, where a year ago I would have also just said they are this or that, yesterday actually hurt because the success of the tournament came down to whether we could have been in the final.
To experience first hand how my colleagues love this game and follow it put things in perspective, now I know how we look when the Boks lose or get knocked out of a tournament.
I definately won’t be ridiculing the players or hoping for them to fail.
It was an eye opener and I will from now on alternate between my Bok, Stormer AND Bafana jersey on casual sport days.
3 Feb 2013, 09:47 am
Predawn and his leg-humper brumbiesboy
3 Feb 2013, 10:05 am
Well done Cheetahs, Bulls and Mali! We had to win it in actual time if we had any chance of advancing. As someone said above, our players were lying all over the place due to a lack of conditioning. Anyways well done Mali your country is in disaray and let’s hope your football team can bring a smile of some faces. I didn’t watch any of the rugby yesterday so I cannot comment much.
At least the Proteas have come out and smashed the Pakistanis thus far.
3 Feb 2013, 10:09 am
@nama1-149: Bone chilling! Sorry to hear
3 Feb 2013, 10:26 am
Bafana Bafana not fit enough. That’s why lapsed in defensive alertness and positioning.
We need a killer striker (s)!!!!
I like the way the Lions play. Pleasure to see Cronje. He looks extremely comfortable with the ball. (I’m a huge fan, but been told he disappears on the big occassions)
And this Jan Serfontein laaitie, wow, will be watching him with interest.
Carr also a busy guy.
When you look at what we have in the mix, Serfontein, Goosen, Rhule, Etzebeth, Bismarck, etc etc to name a few, surely we must be counted for internationally.
3 Feb 2013, 10:36 am
@bryce_in_oz-185:
Despite the problems in their country, Mali is ranked no 25 in the world – (that is quite high taking into consideration that soccer is a massive sport worldwide and much more competitive than rugby/cricket where there are only a handful of countries that take the games serious) – their ranking is for example above those of the USA, Australia, Republic of Ireland, etc……
No disgrace to lose against them on a penalty shootout.
3 Feb 2013, 10:39 am
Even a fat , semi- injured Benny McCartney would have been beter than our strikers on the night.
3 Feb 2013, 10:54 am
At least the Proteas and Cape Cobras made up for what has otherwise been a fairly disappointing sporting weekend.
Now if Liverpool can only get it right this afternoon…. (unlikely though)
3 Feb 2013, 10:59 am
thank you Robzim. it’s bilebags like Predawn & that Aussi imi that are grootbek yet totally ignorant.
don’t even mention the leghumper
3 Feb 2013, 11:19 am
Hi Rob and Transie – fortunately the S15 isn’t won in Feb. I haven’t watched any rugby yesterday so I can’t comment.
What a bad way to end for Bafana though! I’m rather clueless re soccer but we really sucked at the penalty kicks!
3 Feb 2013, 11:29 am
@@whistle@blower@-194:
Thanks.
————————–
Congrats to AB on a brilliant 100.
Another curious decision by Biff. with so much time left in the match, is there a reason why he did not bat for another 30-45 minutes and give Amla a chance to reach 100?
In any case, let’s see what our bowlers can do. There are rain predicted for tomorrow and Tuesday. We need to wrap it up today.
3 Feb 2013, 11:33 am
Soccer is the number one sport in South Africa and yet they still couldn’t find one decent local coach in three or four seasons…astounding….or business as usual in the shambles that is South African national soccer.
Countries like Ivory Coast, Ghana and Cameroon’s national sporting budget is not even a match for the ‘African superpower’….and yet all those nations still manage to produce soccer superstars year after year…what does Bafoona Bafoona have..a wheezy has-been potbellied egomaniac.
It’s more of the same old tripe every single African Cup of Nations..South Africa is the lumbering giant of soccer…with one wooden leg.
3 Feb 2013, 11:42 am
@Predawn-202:
I think you’ll find that many of the superstars of those countries grow up in Europe (France etc) but play for the country where their parents hail from.
3 Feb 2013, 11:44 am
Vernon strikes.
Good catch down the leg side by AB.
3 Feb 2013, 11:48 am
Suurgat
3 Feb 2013, 11:56 am
@Predawn-202: Exactly. SA soccer is an embarrassment to SA sport. We are the richest country on the continent with the most advantages yet our soccer is pathetic.
A draw with Cape Verde ffs. Half a million dirt poor people on a group of islands a fraction of the area of the Kruger Park.
Watching the Bafana players acting so cool and self important at the cricket and then pumping out rubbish that club sides would wince at sums it all up. Complacent mediocre egotists.
I still support them 100% though.
3 Feb 2013, 11:58 am
By the way, well done Cheetahs. A confidence booster for them before super rugby starts.
3 Feb 2013, 12:12 pm
@nama1-204:
BTW, you were worried about Igesund being fired due to his contract stipulation about getting to the semis. Apparently this clause was waived prior to AFCON.
3 Feb 2013, 12:19 pm
this result made my weekend
WP – all hype as usual
3 Feb 2013, 12:24 pm
i must say i am impressed with the Cheetahs game so far this season. Juan Smith is a wily coyote and still has good physicality, i hope he sticks around.
with injured players like Goosen, Brussow and Doodpoes returning i would back them to surprise a few big teams this season.
3 Feb 2013, 12:27 pm
@David-208:
That’s good news. Thanks.
Hope they keep him and give him the chance to qualify for SWC 2014.
3 Feb 2013, 12:38 pm
@stormerinateacup: quite right. the football administrators on this country should be shot, they are arguably the biggest self-serving f.uckwads in the country. after all these years there is still no clear development structure for youngsters.
as far as the “dirt poor” of cape verde, nine of the current tean play in
Portugal (the former colonial power),
four in France, three in the
Netherlands, two in Cyprus, one in
Romania and one in Angola. Only two –
both of them goalkeepers – are based
in the islands.
that makes a difference & not the size of the population.
3 Feb 2013, 12:53 pm
@Transformation-212:
100% right
3 Feb 2013, 13:06 pm
I did not know Louis Luyt has passed away??
a true legend of SA rugby in his day
made Transvaal in its heyday what Crusaders are today
3 Feb 2013, 13:40 pm
@greatest13gerber-214:
and not even a courtesy article by Keo.
3 Feb 2013, 13:53 pm
@nama1-213:not one player based in Ivory Coast itself.
Ivory Coast preliminary squad:
Goalkeepers: Barry Boubacar (Lokeren,
Belgium), Gerrard Gnanahouan (Avranches,
France), Daniel Yeboah (Dijon, France)
Defenders: Siake Tiene (Paris St Germain,
France), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart, Germany),
Benjamin Angoua Brou (Valenciennes,
France), Igor Lolo (FC Kuban Krasnodar,
Russia), Didier Zokora (Trabzonspor,
Turkey), Emmanuel Eboue (Galatasaray,
Turkey), Kolo Toure (Manchester City,
England), Souleymane Bamba (Leicester
City, England)
Midfielders: Kafoumba Coulibaly (Nice,
France), Jean-Jacques Gosso Gosso
(Orduspor, Turkey), Didier Ya Konan
(Hannover, Germany), Cheick Tiote
(Newcastle United, England), Max Gradel (St
Etienne, France), Yaya Toure (Manchester
City, England)
Forwards: Gervinho (Arsenal, England),
Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow, Russia),
Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England), Salomon
Kalou (Chelsea, England), Wilfried Boni
(Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Abdul Kader
Keita (Al Sadd, Qatar)
3 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
@greatest13gerber-209: Naas used to say that the Currie Cup isn’t won in May; well the S15 isn’t won during February!
Well done Cheetahs. Only saw the game this morning. Was a typical early season match with the customary mistakes. But both team can look forward with confidence as match fitness and sharpness improves.
There will be a number of changes in the Stormers side – two tough matches early up.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
And not as if there’s nothing to talk about. Unless of course keo fell off Louis’s Christmas Card list.
@greatest13gerber-209:
We’ll talk a little bit more on the 22nd Feb. With the Stormers first home game of the season.
@Transformation-216:
See how many of them actually grew up in Ivory Coast. Some probably went over to France with their parents when they were still young kids. When they don’t crack it for the French team, they make themselves available for Ivory Coast just to play international football.
3 Feb 2013, 14:04 pm
King Kallis strikes again!!
3rd wicket down.
King Kallis. You just can’t keep him out of the game.
Guess I won’t be going to the Wanderers tomorrow.
Thank you very much, Pakistan.
3 Feb 2013, 14:05 pm
@CharlesM-220: @nama1-221:
He’s creeping ever closer to the 300 test wicket mark. A true giant of the game. In my book, the best of the lot.
3 Feb 2013, 14:15 pm
@I am a stormer-223:
Jip. Nearly another one.
Imagine him ending his career with more than 15 000 runs, over 300 wickets and more than 50 centuries when he retires in 2015.
Chuck in a handful of catches as well and you get the idea of the kind of cricket player you are dealing with here.
3 Feb 2013, 14:20 pm
@I am a stormer-223: Absolutely !!
HD Ackermann made a valid point: why should you lose a review when it was a good review ? We all know that 50%+ of the wicket (leg or off) need to be struck for a successful challenge to overturn an ump’s call but it wasn’t a “wishful / stupid” call. I agree with HD – there should be a distinction between a poor review and a good one.
I know it’s all hypothetical but maybe it’s a point for the ICC to consider
3 Feb 2013, 14:27 pm
@CharlesM-225:
Just wishful thinking imo. When it comes down to subjectivity the ICC will toss it out the window.
Any idea of what sort of changes can be expected in the Stormers bearing in mind everyone is out for match practice.
@nama1-224:
Could happen. He’s still batting brilliantly – especially when I hear him say Amla gets him to calm down. Love watching those 2 bat in tandem. He’s seems to be picking up wickets more regularly now as well after going through a bit of a lean patch.
3 Feb 2013, 14:31 pm
Morkel’s 1st wicket in the match.
4 down now. Just the captain left before we roll them over.
3 Feb 2013, 15:14 pm
@I am a stormer-218:
yip.
he certainly was larger than life and there’d be a wealth of stories to tell.
3 Feb 2013, 17:03 pm
Vernon, you beauty.
5 down now.
Ahhhh no…a no-ball
3 Feb 2013, 17:07 pm
Great try Italy.
And where is the match thread, keo? oh, is this it?
3 Feb 2013, 17:08 pm
Dropped catch by Robbie P.
Two chances gone a begging in two overs.
3 Feb 2013, 17:12 pm
Peterson! Are you fakking serious?
Joke of a cricketer.
3 Feb 2013, 17:13 pm
So, the Cheetahs beat the Stormers… after losing to the Lions… Damn – it must be a preseason game… this obviously should not happen especially according to those “wise” men doing commentary yesterday – who stated with glee that “The Stormers have JUST BEEN installed as FAVOURITES for Super Rugby”
And the Cape happy hysteria hype machine starts cranking up, only to get a cheetah spanner in the works….
Yoh!!!
BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAHAAAAAHAAAAAHAAAA….
3 Feb 2013, 17:17 pm
Didnt see much of Fatty Vermeulen yesterday – current centrefold and centrepic favourite for sport mags…
Wonder if he was realising that a true great loosie was about to take the field in the 2nd half…
Did he shathimself?
I reckon maybe he did…
3 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
@Heavens Game-233:
Do you think the Sharks will go through the season unbeaten?
I know the answer to that one!
3 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
@John Galt-232:
Hahaha…
I knew it.
He must always play the perfect game in your eyes.
Say something about the no-ball wicket by Vernon also.
3 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
@I am a stormer-235: But of course Sharks are not “JUST INSTALLED as FAVOURITES [breathless commentator orgasms]”
Of course I said it was a preseason game… a loss to the Cheetahs should NEVER happen to the FAVOURITES
3 Feb 2013, 17:23 pm
Italy is giving the French (HG’s team) a hard time. Did they not beat them last year…or was it the year before?
3 Feb 2013, 17:24 pm
Looks like Sadie got more ball yesterday than he ever got when he was at the Bulls or Stormers…
Despite the apparent perception contrary to fact that Stormers play “running rugby”….
Hehehehehehe hoo hoo hoo hahahahahahahahaha
3 Feb 2013, 17:25 pm
picamoles vs parisse whoooaaa hoooo
3 Feb 2013, 17:25 pm
@Heavens Game-237:
According to Mark Keohane (and some delusional Shark supporters) the Sharks are favorites.
3 Feb 2013, 17:27 pm
Does the loss yesterday now mean the Stormers relinquish that pre season Plascon trophy that they have held unbeaten in previous pre season friendlies…
Oh dear
3 Feb 2013, 17:27 pm
@Transformation-240:
Great match-up that.
Both of them have done some good things thus far.
3 Feb 2013, 17:28 pm
The Stormers don’t do well usually under non coloured referees UNLESS their names are Jonker, Joubert or Peyper
3 Feb 2013, 17:29 pm
@Heavens Game-237:
The same as in previous years when the Favourites missed out on the Plascon Double Velvet All Weather knock-out!
The 2nd March won’t be a friendly. Get used to that.
3 Feb 2013, 17:32 pm
@nama1-241: Yes… The curse of Keohane strikes again… This dictates that of course the Sharks can never win now…
So, Stormers supporters should have no fear now… no more need of petty jealousy… no need of chips on their shoulder… their team will obviously prevail and win that all important (to them at least) conference trophy… again, and let us not forget that they had “JUST BEEN installed as FAVOURITES to win the whole damnSuper Rugby, according to those breathless commentators yesterday…
Yes… Stormers are trend setters… and pace setters… deluxe
We played for the Reconciliation Cup yesterday. A new cup with no history behind it.
The Plascon Cup is ours forever since we’ve won it three years in a row. Never, ever again will our trophy cabinet be empty. There will always be OUR Plascon Cup to savor in bad times in the future.
What do you have?
@Hondo-244: Lol… Bejaysus
3 Feb 2013, 17:34 pm
@I am a stormer-245: Yes of course… Sharks and their supporters are having a collective quake in their collective boots…
3 Feb 2013, 17:35 pm
@Heavens Game-246:
“Stormers are trend setters… and pace setters… deluxe”
Don’t you forget it.
3 Feb 2013, 17:40 pm
@nama1-247: Yes… Of course it is yours forever… Never to be relinquished… An important trophy indeed… nearly as important as the Currie Cup handed to you on a platter by a Sharks team that clearly didnt want it enough… But then again, charity starts at home, and clearly it was more important to you than for the Sharks who, since they make the final every year, now share it out evenly… one for us, one for the Lions and one for WP… Since you now have one for the first time in more than a decade, it will be the Bulls turn next – but thats up to them to make the final – because obviously the one spot is permanently booked by the Black and White…
3 Feb 2013, 17:41 pm
HG just come out of hangover coma?
@nama1-250: Yes… I wont… A loss to the Cheetahs is clearly unforgettable…
@Hondo-244:
What are you talking about?
Benjamin Fall just scored a try for France. What do you make of the fact that he is even selected to play for a European nation?
3 Feb 2013, 17:42 pm
And what’s a “non coloured”???
3 Feb 2013, 17:44 pm
Stormers are going to be kak this year. Mark my words. This result was just the start.
3 Feb 2013, 17:45 pm
@Heavens Game-251:
“the Currie Cup handed to you on a platter by a Sharks team that clearly didnt want it enough…”
Why even play your arse of to get to the finals if you don’t want it? No man, give credit where it is due. You did not hand it to us. Our young laaities moered your ou toppies stukkend on the day. They’ll repeat the treatment quite a few times this year as well.
3 Feb 2013, 17:47 pm
Ag nama stop feeding it man
Maybe it will shrivel up and die
3 Feb 2013, 17:49 pm
@Heavens Game-253:
Why is that….. because it does not happen that often?
3 Feb 2013, 17:51 pm
It’s amazing how small meaningless insignificant things (the results of warmup practice games for example ) excite the small minded shark fans
@nama1-259:
The Sharks don’t like losing to their feeder union. It’s not the done thing. Yet they still do.
@Dawn-258:
What will this site be without someone with delusions of grandeur, like HG?
3 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
@nama1-257: Yes… The eternal optimism of a Spotless Stormer mind…
Damn, and there I was thinking the Sharks actually did win the Super rugby semi at newlands last year… an apparently impossible feat
3 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
It’s amazing how warm up games are suddenly now “small meaningless insignificant things”. In seasons past these Stormer suckers would tell you the warm up Plascon Cup results were something of great significance!
How the wheel turns with the prevailing tide.
3 Feb 2013, 17:56 pm
@nama1-259: Not to the Stormers… They never get beaten… Weren’t they unbeaten last year at Fortress Newlands… oh, wait…
3 Feb 2013, 17:57 pm
@Robzim-260:
The Sharks aren’t the johnny-come-latelies of SA rugby for nothing. They’ve earned that accolade
over the last 100 years.
3 Feb 2013, 17:57 pm
@Heavens Game-263:
What happened in the LAST game that the two teams played against each other? Albeit in the guise of WP and Natal Sharks. Tell us about that result.
3 Feb 2013, 17:58 pm
@Robzim-260: Unforgettable… thats who they are… (the STormers of course)…
A truly amazing team… they Never should have lost yesterday… I forgot when they ever lost a pre season game… Have they ever?
Other than yesterday of course…
3 Feb 2013, 18:01 pm
@nama1-267: @Heavens Game-265:
Here’s a reminder from the latest Mannejies Roux of current Bok rugby players.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=5HPWD6CoxdE
3 Feb 2013, 18:01 pm
@Heavens Game-265:
No…no…no…
We do get beaten. Every once in a while. Just not as often as a certain team on the east coast of the country.
That’s why beating them is so “unforgettable.”
3 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
@I am a stormer-266:
yeah…pity there is no trophy for that to place in the 100% empty trophy cabinet at Kings park……
3 Feb 2013, 18:06 pm
@Heavens Game-268:
The loss against the cheetahs is all part of the bigger plan to create confusion in the minds of the gullible and uninformed.
just wait, you will see……….
3 Feb 2013, 18:06 pm
yes… Sharks beat stormers/wp an unforgettable 4 times last year… or was it 5 times…
unforgettable… truly
3 Feb 2013, 18:08 pm
@I am a stormer-269:
Great memories. I still have the picture of the Keegan hand off as my wall paper on my lap top. It gives me a smile every time I see it. That means, every day.
3 Feb 2013, 18:09 pm
just installed favourites… and then get beaten…
tsk tsk tsk
bwaaaaaaaaaaaaa
3 Feb 2013, 18:09 pm
@Heavens Game-273:
What do you have to show for it?
VOKKOL
3 Feb 2013, 18:10 pm
Anybody here a “non-coloured”?
Anybody?
3 Feb 2013, 18:12 pm
@Heavens Game-273:
But the point is you have to win the one that counts.
Let’s watch this again. Do I have to use a hammer?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HPWD6CoxdE&feature=player_detailpage
3 Feb 2013, 18:13 pm
i have great memories of a lambie handoff on Sulk burger, on his way to the tryline… under the posts…
wasnt that a cc final just a couple years back… must have been forgettable
i dont need a screen saver to remember that one… hehehe ha ha ha
3 Feb 2013, 18:14 pm
me dawn… im a non coloured.
3 Feb 2013, 18:17 pm
but then again maybe i am coloured… eyes coloured blue… and hair coloured fair…
truly coloured
3 Feb 2013, 18:20 pm
HG’s still sour as h?ll. Hahahahaha, having nightmares bout JDJ handoff on Daniel keegan Cullen…no sweeter sight to behold on the pvr.
3 Feb 2013, 18:21 pm
@Heavens Game-279:
When was that again?
2013…No
2012…No
2011…No
2010… oh yes.
It was THAT long ago. A truly “unforgettable” day for a Shark supporter as it does not happen that often. I fully understand why you still remember it so vividly.
3 Feb 2013, 18:22 pm
The big man scores. Italy giving France a run for their money.
i do find it funny how the cape bases media and fans were deriding the cc – how it was devalued with a long season… until WP actually won it for the 1st time in more than a decade… now the cc is very important all of a sudden
castrogiovanni, italy standing up!
Castro scores.
18 all with the goal kick to come. 22min remaining in the match.
3 Feb 2013, 18:23 pm
brilliant try ITly!
brilliant!
itLIANDS PLaying soome brillint rugby
Meanwhile, Italy have scored and move ahead with 21 minutes remaining. 20-18!
typical of the french
3 Feb 2013, 18:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-288: Indeed, no more whipping boys or primitive okes relying on penalties. They mean business. (Just like English have somewhat transformed into the positive side)
3 Feb 2013, 18:26 pm
2010… 2012 2013… the black and white book a place in the final without fail… cant remember 2009 2011… truly unforgettable… maybe too blase because it is too easy to get there
3 Feb 2013, 18:26 pm
@Robzim-260: Warm ups didn’t excite them much when they were being manshamed by the Lions and Stormers in tandem during the Plascon Cup
The Reconciliation Cup seems to have them rather giddy though……
Cheetahs deserved that win yesterday. S hy te decision making by the Stormers with basic fumbling and a few players seriously out of their depth…
Happily Nizaam Carr is as I remember him, just stronger….faster it seems and fitter. Praises.
3 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
How good is this France/Italy game!!
3 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
@Heavens Game-292: So many finals…..so little success.
No-one remembers who came 2nd
(Except you…..)
3 Feb 2013, 18:31 pm
@Chico the Chihuahua-264: I’m waiting to see how ‘pathetic’ the conference cup is should the guppies or Bulls win it…
I feel a Public holiday might be coming…..along with street carnivals with Manilow tunes blaring from the Guppie team bus, SHOULD this day ever dawn…
‘Copacabana….’ ‘Her’ name was Lola, HE was a showgirl (ain’t it so HG?)
That’s a guppie song all right.
3 Feb 2013, 18:32 pm
yes… a manshaming in the plascon cup followed by a 5 time manshaming of stormers all year long … sheesh maybe the cc final should have been at newlands – the real homeground of the sharks last year… clearly
3 Feb 2013, 18:33 pm
@Heavens Game-292:
You already booked a place in this years’ final?
WOW!!! You okes are good. You’re in the final before the competition even started. Well done.
3 Feb 2013, 18:35 pm
@Heavens Game-297:
And what was the venue of the CC final last year?
And who won?
Remind us all!
3 Feb 2013, 18:36 pm
italy can win this
some great rugby being played
3 Feb 2013, 18:36 pm
cat is truly among the pigeons now!
italy 23 france 18
3 Feb 2013, 18:37 pm
Maybe the Italian player who criticized Mallet for coaching them to only keep the score as low as possible against the top teams, was right after all. They are now playing like a team that believe that they can win against France instead of trying to spoil and keep the score low.
3 Feb 2013, 18:38 pm
Go the Spaghetti Monsters!
3 Feb 2013, 18:38 pm
@polaris-291:
yip.
really enjoying this, Italians are up for it.
french ar eblowing hot and cold.
3 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
@I am a stormer-299:
See how he tries to avoid any reference to last year’s CC final?
3 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
bokke don’t play this exciting rugby…they play what in some quarters is called “north & south alliance” stampkar.
Geldenhuys…a true Italian name.
@Heavens Game-297: All those ‘manshamings’ and what do you have to show for it?
100 000 t-shirts printed with the following, “S15 Champs 2012″ and 250 000 printed with the following, “CC Champs 2012″, that you dumfucks can’t sell?
(Apart from the 50 that Puma, S_L and yourself grabbed when they were hot, and the predictions were still furious)
Some thoughts for the guppies in 2013:
1. Purchase better quality flight socks. Last year’s purchases let you down.
2. Invest in a stronger mental coach. The ‘motivational’ talk from you fanboys is not enough to wangle your team a win.
3. Ensure that no guppie is injured for the duration of the season, because as we all know, the only reason you fellas were so woeful at times in 2012, is because of ‘injury’. Fuckingunfair that, what with only guppies players being injured….
4. Smile…..if you do it enough; folk will accept you as being a fuckingretarddumfuck, instead of thinking you’re just a dumfuck.
No charge…it’s cos I care xxxxxx
3 Feb 2013, 18:42 pm
and 330 keo bloggers picked the idiot Froggies to win the 6 Nations
Pull the other one.
England for sure
3 Feb 2013, 18:42 pm
yes!
3 Feb 2013, 18:43 pm
I picked France to win and am delighted that Italy are leading at this point!!
3 Feb 2013, 18:43 pm
@Transformation-306:
You only play this brand of rugby when you play to win.
When you play not to lose, you dish up the kak that we saw from the Boks last year.
3 Feb 2013, 18:44 pm
Some of the Italian passing has been sooooooooooooper doooooooooooooper.
Ireland are taking this 6Nations
@Transformation-301: If they hold on, Italy may stay on course for the Grand Slam. LOL, of course. But they do play very well right now.
3 Feb 2013, 18:45 pm
so the cc is important… yet wp fans and journos spent the whole of last year complaining how devalued it was… until the sharks gave it to them out of what clearly was charity… an about turn… how unforgettable
@carol-311: only thing you can be sure they will win is the French top 14
with the help of all the SH players of course
fark this is nervy
italians need to keep their heads
@nortierd-309: I picked France…. honestly thought they had sorted ‘some’ of their consistency issues out with Saint-Andre steering….
3 Feb 2013, 18:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-308:
Hilarious.
3 Feb 2013, 18:46 pm
@Heavens Game-316: The only thing the guppies ‘gave’ anyone last year: laughs. Plenty of them.
3 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
@nortierd-317:
We like a little SH injection in NH rugby!!
3 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
Parrise Parrise Parrise!….
3 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
@carol-311:
Why do you watch this rubbish while the great Liverpool FC is playing the farkers from Man City. I each at the break, real contest.
3 Feb 2013, 18:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-319:
England favorites in my book, but I hope it will be Ireland
Only thing France is good for is to stuff up Superbru predictions
3 Feb 2013, 18:50 pm
What about the end to this game???
3 Feb 2013, 18:51 pm
@Robzim-324:
Hello Robbie
Me watch football…..are you nuts??
come in itally!
you can ddi orQ
That was a knock on, you twat Owens.
3 Feb 2013, 18:52 pm
Woo Hoo Italy win!
Ai caramba I can exhale now
YES
YES
YRES!@!@!!
Well deserved victory by Italy.
They did it.
Well done Italy. First victory at home on home soil.
Twice in a row.
3 Feb 2013, 18:53 pm
The Italian players look absolutley thrilled….
That was fun!
ITALY HAVE DONE IT. Awesome job.
Clean yourself Bakkies
You messing again
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-323: What Pierre Spies SHOULD have been…..
3 Feb 2013, 18:54 pm
@nama1-334: That makes no sense.
3 Feb 2013, 18:54 pm
@nama1-334:
Wat de vok???
3 Feb 2013, 18:55 pm
and to think that EYT people were saying France would stuff us up.
Two best No.8′s in world rugby in this match.
beautiful rugby and not a dirty player in sight.
this is why i love this game!
give me this any day
every day!
real rugby
take a bow italy
take a bow england
lets take back rugby from those who seek to destroy it
beautiful
beautiful!
@carol-327:
Don’t look down on the scousers from Liverpool
They are looking good today…. its now or never !!
@nortierd-325: I predicted a new dawn for the Frogs….. and what did I get? ThefuckingTwilightSaga. Complete with vampires and confusedasfuckwerewolves.
Typical…..so typical of the bastardos.
Congrats Italy,my nerves were shot at the end! Sergio Parisse is one helluva rugby player.
3 Feb 2013, 18:56 pm
@nama1-340:
First victory on home soil against the French.
Last year they beat them away from home. Their first ever victory against France.
Two victories in a row now.
**Sounds better.
3 Feb 2013, 18:57 pm
Anyone see this?
http://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/Nkandla-tuck-shock-20130203
3 Feb 2013, 18:57 pm
@ 308 lofl!
3 Feb 2013, 18:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-345:

They will NEVER win a World Cup, they are a bunch of head banging nutters who can play one or two decent games, then implode.
It was a disgrace that they even played in the 2011 final after losing 2 pool games.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-343:
Nice post Bakkies
@Dawn-337:
this was unbelievable rugby, Dawn
i loved it
i loved it!
3 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
@Robzim-344:
Liverpool is really a bit grim!
Bit like football ….
3 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
No wonder the Frenchie’s like playing for the Sharks in the Superrugby.
They can be their usual hot and cold blowing self and fit right in.
3 Feb 2013, 19:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-338:
Pierre will have a good year
just you wait
its almost the same if you say it with your eyes closed
softly softly building up to a crescendo:
‘Pierre Spies, Pierre Spies, Pierre Spies..!’
3 Feb 2013, 19:01 pm
Just what has happened at Keo btw.
Has he really sacked Simon, Ryan (with the funny accent) and Nikita?
3 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
very good italy… an unforgettable win against overwhelming favourites… like the cheetahs yesterday against the “just installed” favourites…
unforgettable… forza
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-308:
Very funny.
@carol-351:
hi Carol, yes but even nicer rugby on show.
Eng looking imperious and now the Italians playing with heart, passion and soul
beautiful
just beautiful
3 Feb 2013, 19:03 pm
Italy won 23:18 vs a heavily quota populated French test team

The Poms seemed unstoppable at this stage
3 Feb 2013, 19:04 pm
@carol-353:
Not as grim as Pretoria and the Bulls
3 Feb 2013, 19:06 pm
@Heavens Game-357:
These things happen….. like sharks versus the Lions last year…..
3 Feb 2013, 19:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-359:
It would be nice for England to get their act together again and to no longer be the butt of Saffa Rugby jokes!! lol
3 Feb 2013, 19:07 pm
@Heavens Game-357:
Pop your head in at Loftus on 22 Feb for the traditional North vs South power play. That’s one of the advantages you have of living in Pretoria.
3 Feb 2013, 19:08 pm
@360
You are a twisted person.You need help.
@Robzim-361:
Pretoria, yip that was fairly grim, I will give you that!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-355: For you my friend, I hope so
3 Feb 2013, 19:10 pm
congratulations to italy…!! great win…
also congrats to the cheetahs and bulls…
and england were/are my pick for the 6n…
said during their tour of sa that stuart lancaster was doing a good job and that this team would just keep on improving under him and be a serious threat come 2115…
well done all the winners…!!
ain’t it great that rugby has finally started again..?!
3 Feb 2013, 19:10 pm
@nortierd-354:
to be honest Nortie, i would rather watch the Sharks blow their way hot and cold all the way to a final, win or lose at the end, than have to endure watching the Western Cape Robotics Association go through their boring pre-progammed algorithmic routines all season long, only to lose it at the business end.
just my two cents worth but,
rugby does not deserve this.
3 Feb 2013, 19:14 pm
@carol-363:
haha
i think they are getting there.
i must admit i had serious doubts about Lancaster and to be fair the jury is still out but so far he looks to be genuinely reviving Eng rugby.
i was firmly of the opinion the RFU had erred in not appointing Mallet at the time.
3 Feb 2013, 19:14 pm
@Hondo-360:
Mmmmm… you did not answer my question when one of these “French quotas” scored a try early in the match.
@Robzim-362:
He probably forgot about that one. Conveniently so.
3 Feb 2013, 19:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-367:
well, if he doesn’t then Arno will have something to say about it..
3 Feb 2013, 19:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-369: Why are you concerned about this Bakkies? You won’t be watching any of the S15 in any event? ‘The Kiwi cheating, The robotic Stormers etc etc’, will be nothing but distant memories for you my friend, once your self imposed S15 viewing sanctions kick in
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-372: You know I am a Botha fan (and feel the kid is already being given a raw deal)
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-369:

Says someone spawned on 10 man rugby that the Noord Transvaal mastered.
The Sharks are not my issue Bakkies, it’s this fascination with the French.
To me they suck and once in a blue moon they get something right and everyone gasps at their flair.
C’mon, they lose twice in the pool stages and pox their way to a final, what a joke.
They beat a terrible Aus side with a once off flair worked out game and then they would have smashed us.
Pull the other one.
3 Feb 2013, 19:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-338: i hope Spies was indeed watching the game…the Parisse & Picamoles show was a pleasure to behold.
3 Feb 2013, 19:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-355:
Do they talk about Britney in whispers in Pretoria as well? Just shows how they’re catching with the rest of the country.
3 Feb 2013, 19:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-373:
well, there is the new law trial ammendments hehehe
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-374:
he is good, Pedigree
so was Serfontein and Stegmann.
@nortierd-375:
just making a point, Nortie
its wierd but the stormers have become boring and predictable in a not so nice way.
at least the bulls score tries, and lots of them.
agreed on the french, but i do still enjoy seeing them when they’ve got their tails up.
3 Feb 2013, 19:34 pm
What a shot by Gerrard !!
3 Feb 2013, 19:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-378:
Bakkies, I also enjoy a decent game, that’s why I prefer watching the AB’s or NZ teams, BUT, when it’s your own team, a boring win is better than an exciting loss
oh and
how good was Sadie yesterday
you’re welcome cheetahs
@Transformation-376:
@I am a stormer-377:
i have a feeling Pierre will run straight this season.
he knows its make or break.
@Robzim-379:
Brilliant goal
3 Feb 2013, 19:37 pm
@Robzim-379:
Great equalizer. What was the goalie thinking?
3 Feb 2013, 19:38 pm
oh fark tog, crazy goal for City.
3 Feb 2013, 19:39 pm
@nortierd-383:
probably had daydreams about his bank balance.
3 Feb 2013, 19:44 pm
@nortierd-380:
blegh!
do not like their rugby
at all
3 Feb 2013, 19:46 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-386:

Pure sublime class Bakkies, text book brilliance and add all the cliches you can think of .
3 Feb 2013, 19:47 pm
@Transformation-376: Spies needs Masterchef masterclasses……
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-378: I’ve always been a Steggies fan….
Serfontein, while gifted as hell, has the whole S15 to live up to what is being expected from him – I hope he rocks it.
3 Feb 2013, 19:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-381: You have a feeling Pierre will run straight?
Of course he will. He has to get out of the fuckingtunnel andontothefuckingfield?
Jokes aside, I hope he ‘runs straight’ in the right direction…..
3 Feb 2013, 19:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-389:
You know the Bulls Doggie.
Half time Ludike puts a quarter orange in their mouths, spins them round and says ” julle hardloop nou die kant toe”
3 Feb 2013, 19:53 pm
Pierre is to rugby what SBW is to boxing.
Nice physique.
3 Feb 2013, 19:56 pm
@nortierd-390: Most of the Bullabongboychiks have (R) and (L) on the relevant rugga boots.
In some cases, I believe (L) and (R) is also written on their hands…..
3 Feb 2013, 20:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-392:
3 Feb 2013, 20:03 pm
@nortierd-387:
uggrrghh please stop !
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-388:
he’s class, Pedigree
he would need to undergo a serious motorcycle head injury not to fullfill his potential.
its written in the stars for that boy.
@nortierd-390:
3 Feb 2013, 20:04 pm
just wait until HG gets his hands on you
3 Feb 2013, 20:05 pm
so Tank Lanning does not do weekends..?..
gtk…
3 Feb 2013, 20:08 pm
@nama1-347: Nope, they lost in Paris 12-30 last year. Previous win was in Rome in 2010.
3 Feb 2013, 20:10 pm
A.C. is still a limited rugby coach he don’t know much about wtf he’s doing most times. With all Stormers depth I don’t hold out as much hope as last year where we were fortunate that the captaincy and leadership of the team came about by default. I got qualms about this year with too many chiefs in the side not enough Indians and A.C. not knowing exactly how to play to which players strengths under which conditions. Yesterday a case in point playing Schroeder at 9 when Groom should be at 9 and Schroeder / Duvenhage sharing 10
Soon as Juan Smith and Viljoen came on Cheetahs were a changed side and took the game to Stormers second half. Stormers discarded Watts who turns out a better pivot on the day than Coleman.
3 Feb 2013, 20:18 pm
@polaris-397:
OK thanks. My bad then. I was not sure that’s why I asked earlier.
3 Feb 2013, 20:31 pm
@nama1-399: Anyway, what a great game we had today.
3 Feb 2013, 20:32 pm
@nama1-399: My bad either. Italy won in 2011, of course.
3 Feb 2013, 20:48 pm
@skopdiekan-398:
Hopefully AC will start with Groom next week.
Re the flyhalf situation… u must remeber that the Stormers were without their 3 contracted flyhalves (Jantjes, Grant and van Aswegen) and Coleman just “stood in ” for the day.
Watts and Coleman are about the same level…. Vodacom cup level that is.
3 Feb 2013, 22:31 pm
The angst is palpable…
Already
3 Feb 2013, 22:39 pm
Okay… okay…
I gotta own up…
Farksakes I was happy that the Stormers lost yesterday…
In fact I am always happy when the Stormers lose…
Hellsteeth I will be over the moon if the Kings had to beat the Stormers… not likely, but one can dream…
Nevertheless yesterday made my weekend… Jeez, I was nearly happy as a Cape Town m.offie (or any Cape Keo poster for that matter) in a shop full of cucumbers….
3 Feb 2013, 22:41 pm
And a big metaphorical cucumber is what the Cheetahs were to the Stormers this weekend…
Hubbada hubbada
3 Feb 2013, 22:47 pm
You have to be one sad muthafuker if the Cheetahs beating the Stormers in a warm up game consisting of B teamers made your week-end!
I mean really dude, get a fuking life!
3 Feb 2013, 23:03 pm
If happiness at the Stormers losing any game makes me “one sad muthafuker” then “one sad muthafuker” I am more than happy to be any day of the week… if Stormers lose, that is….
Sad, sad boofarkenhoo… Hooha
3 Feb 2013, 23:11 pm
Happy happy happy…
3 Feb 2013, 23:17 pm
Any Cape Keoling want a cucumber…? Better go to Bloem then… They handing them out left, right and center…
With a free tube of KY gel too…
3 Feb 2013, 23:47 pm
sad sad sad
4 Feb 2013, 02:58 am
@nama1-371:
I watch the Super Bowl, not much really but a remnant of my student years in the US,,
Yes, next week it will be more of a Bonnaire and Harinordoquy French test team, there will be a ruthless purge for sure, 14 Italian and a swindler of referee wasn’t enough for the Frogs to finish off the Azures, rugby isn’t soccer!
4 Feb 2013, 07:52 am
@Heavens Game-404: Hope a bit of the pain inflicted by the WP c team last year in the CC final has been soothed.
4 Feb 2013, 08:03 am
@Heavens Game-407:
Jy moet baie eensaam wees.
Geluk aan my Cheetah spannetjie. Mooi gedaan! Maar die wen beteken niks.
4 Feb 2013, 08:21 am
Pre-Season friendlies mean as much as a New Age Breakfast.
It may appear serious, intense & robust but in the end the conclusion doesn’t mean jack in reality.
4 Feb 2013, 09:15 am
@Heavens Game-409: Cucumbers? You are such a closet **** it aint funny!
It seems you still have the sour grapes?
4 Feb 2013, 09:16 am
The only thing this game said was Juan Smith is health and ready to go, he makes any cheetas team twice as good.
Never write off the cheetahs, the roads of SuperBru are lined with the graves of those who did. Lol.
4 Feb 2013, 09:20 am
@Britney Spies-413:
So n bek moet jam kry
Selfs al is ek teleurgesteld dat die Stormers weer in die tweedy helfde “gefade” het, weet ons die uitslag is nie so belangrike.
Dit bekommer my egter dat hulle in die opwarmings wedstryd aangaan waar hulle verlede jaar in die toernooi dieselfde gedoen het.
Wat wel great was om te sien is die terugkeer van Juan Smith. Hoop hy het n beseringsvrye jaar wat voorle, hy gaan n groot verskil aan die Cheetahs maak, en as mens vir Brussouw byvoeg, gaan die ander spanne moet baie versigtig wees.
4 Feb 2013, 09:26 am
@nortierd-417:
My span sal ‘n paar SA spanne klop en dan teen die swakste Aus/NZ span verloor. Dit is lekker om Juan terug te he.
4 Feb 2013, 09:48 am
@KEA-412: Lolz
4 Feb 2013, 10:00 am
@Britney Spies-418:
As hulle hul verdediging kan uitsorteer kan hulle meer wen as verloor.
Dit is great as hulle 5 dried druk, maar help niks as hulle 7 afstaan nie.
4 Feb 2013, 10:01 am
@whatthe-406: Uhm. Yeah. The Stormer had a few boks out, but the Cheetahs also didn’t have their strongest team. Only one current bok started and Juan come on later for 30! Coenie, Brussow, Goosen all didn’t play. Rhule, Ebersohn didn’t play. Etc etc etc.
But it still was only a practice game. Cheetahs beat the Stormers last year as well, at Newlands.
4 Feb 2013, 10:45 am
I think the 2 warm up games is too few.
Stormers played bad with close to their best 15. That pack will play against Bulls, except Deon Fourie might be ready and 2 other flanks will play.
Jantjies and De Villiers will be included to.
Their next warm-up is only against Boland.
Cheetahs will be in much better condition when S15 start after warm ups against Lions, Stormers and Bulls.
Stormers might struggle against Bulls due to lack of warm-ups – fortunately Bulls first 15 has not yet played.
4 Feb 2013, 10:54 am
@Britney Spies-418: Juan Smith is a walking legend in all of our lifetimes….. My fave Bok ever (and I include all the past greats when I make this statement). He epitomises ALL that is good about SA rugby, and if it were possible, I would clone him…….over and over and over again.
I reckon he’s good for a few years yet. It’s just the injury thing that has me worried….
4 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
@Jonck-422:
“That pack will play against Bulls,…”
Then yo proceed to suggest three possible changes.
4 Feb 2013, 16:39 pm
Stop talking about friendly’s it mean jackshit. But the first sa games will be interresting. Sharks and stormers look good, but don’t wright bulls off.
5 Feb 2013, 01:07 am
@Bouts-421:
Boet, read my post again…………I did’nt say only Stormers had their B team out
5 Feb 2013, 05:35 am
@Jonck-422: there are so many contradictions in that post my head is spinning.
5 Feb 2013, 05:37 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-423: Amen to that.
5 Feb 2013, 05:40 am
@Heavens Game-409: You enjoyed yours then, by the sound of it.