Courageous Cheetahs sink Stormers

The Cheetahs triumphed in Bloemfontein with an injury time penalty.

The Cheetahs won 27-26 to take the Reconciliation Cup.

There is no such thing as a pre-season hit out in South African rugby. This could easily have been the real deal as the Stormers led 16-3, the Cheetahs fought back to lead 17-16, the Stormers found an extra gear to go ahead 26-17 and then the Cheetahs hit back with 10 points in the last five minutes.

429 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101.wpallday: Reply to this comment

All in all there isn’t much to read into this game ,Cheetahs felt like they had won the world cup or boned miss universe and Stormers acted as if it wasn’t a big deal.

For the Cheetahs it should galvanize their confidence

• 102.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-76:
    oh Dawn, let me read you some poetry, my sweet.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Look I think the Stormers should actually withdraw from the S15 now. Its obvious we’re going to waste our time even competing this year. Cheetahs and Bulls setting the pace……we can’t compete. Looking at previous years warmups: the Lions beat the guppies and we all know the Lions went on to win the S15……..

• 104.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Lekker Cheetahs thump the Kaapies!

• 105.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh and this just in from Pedigree, bless her.

“Bwhaaaaa, tell them all I say a huge and mighty congrats to the Cheetahs and Bulls for winning the Gauteng Cup and Reconciloation challenge so convincingly. I will be hedgin alllll my bets on the Cheetahs and Bulls to place 1st and 2nd on the log, because these warm up games define a season.”

• 106.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tjoepstil

Wonderful

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-106:

The beauty of a woman
    Is not in the clothes she wears,
    The figure that she carries,
    Or the way she combs her hair.

The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes,
    Because that is the doorway to her heart,
    The place where love resides.
    The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole
    But true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul.

It is the caring that she lovingly gives,
    The passion that she shows,
    And the beauty of a woman
    With passing years only grows!

- Teresa Mahieu

• 108.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Did Jean De Villiers have a cry after the game ?

• 109.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-103: No, the Stormers must stay. Its too much fun watching them grow a big head during the season and get humbled in the playoffs.

• 110.Dawn: Reply to this comment

More from Pedigree:

“I am so gutted at the performance of a few of our 1st choice players….. Players who I expected to be the ‘go to men’; the stars of our season. Guys like; de Allende, Armand, de Kok Steenkamp, Coleman, Smid, Schreuder, Klaasen etc. These okes are the core of our team….. .. And if they flop, we fucked, cos NOfuckingwayinhell, are our 2nd stringers, Bekker, Burger, Kolisi, Groom, Jantjies, Elstadt, Jean Div etc better than this lot. (Ohhh wait, I’m sounding like a Guppie fan now, excuse excuses…..) Stormers lost fair, square with **** decision making and feeble mistakes. Carr however was a highlight for me, a huge one…. Lost no pace, skill or class after his layoff. Cheetahs are the worthy ‘Reconciliation Cup’ champs and Juan Smith still is and always will be: LEGEND.”

• 111.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup Duskee

• 112.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

How did Juan Smith go?

• 113.nama1: Reply to this comment

Boring game.

Congrats to the Cheetahs for pulling it off. Smith showed why he was missed so much by the Cheetahs the last two years. If he can stay fit for the whole campaign, the Cheetahs can even end above the Sharks and the Bulls on the log.

AC needs to tweak the Stormers’ game plan. We were sterile on attack. JdJ needs to be more aware of support runners after he makes a break. No need to go to the ground when there are players close by who can take the ball forward.

• 114.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-111: wazzzzzuuuuppppp !!!! You still sober ? Haven’t hit the Pimms yet ?

• 115.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@nama1-113: Well dompoos, the Cheetahs didn’t just beat the Bulls or Sharks, they just did the Stormers so they could end above them on the log too ? Huh dingbat ?

• 116.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-114:
    Dusky its whiskey on the rocks

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well done Bafana

great goal

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-112:
    he did well.
    still early days but so far he looks good.

@nama1-113:
    no, stormers game was boring.
    cheetahs were enterprising and deserved the win.

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

tokelo rantie!!!

• 120.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-115:
    No.

Above the Sharks and the Bulls if Smith stays fit, poepol.

• 121.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-118:
    Cheetahs were outplayed by the Stormers in the 1st half. They only got into the game when Smith came on.

You’re right. The Stormers game was boring.

What do you make of the Bulls’ game vs the Lions? Are you satisfied with what you’ve seen?

• 122.nama1: Reply to this comment

Swak verdediging deur Bafana.

• 123.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

I did predict a few weeks ago that the Stormers will have a rather average season this year (their real Super rugby form). Looks like I may be right…………….

• 124.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

lovely seeing the cheetahs win the first stormers “trophy” of the year.

plascon wall and all no longer in the stormers “trophy” cabinet :lol:

• 125.nama1: Reply to this comment

I wonder if there are any trophies in the Shark trophy cabinet (a useless piece of furniture if they have one in their offices) to be won?

Mmmm…let me think……….

• 126.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

why is dawn posting doggies sms’es here?

does she rock a 3310 nokia like jack parow?

• 127.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

someones talking to me…….without clicking the arrow…..who could it be?

• 128.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

howzit nama.

since you met fern and he gave glowing accounts of you i have decided to interact with you on a more relaxed level so even though you support a k u k team, i hope that you are having a wonderful weekend.

i am watching bafana and trying to organise semifinal tickets (cmon boys you can do it!).

• 129.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

i suspect lack of proper leadership will be the stormers downfall this year.

the springbok captain isnt even first choice in his position when frans is fit and that will have a negative effect on his game imo.

if thats possible.

• 130.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

such a trevor noah moment watching the crowd sin the national anthem tonight at the bafana game.

its clear most havent a clue about the words for the part in afrikaans taken from “die stem” but if anything, the volume increased as they tried their best.

this is quite humbling and i urge my fellow white south africans to learn and understand the words to the very beautiful nkosi silkelel i’africa and sing them with pride and gusto at the next possible opportunity.

• 131.nama1: Reply to this comment

Extra time.

Can the Boys pull through?

Our defense is really dodgy. No real communication amongst the back four. Khumalo needs to step up and be counted.

• 132.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Lekker to have blown away Pakistan for 49 earlier.

• 133.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-131: man i hope so.

tried to get tickets for this game but they were sold out so quick.

just got offered tickets for the semi for 800 sa rand, crazy.

• 134.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-132: very lekker and hash and ab have been bringing the pain.

hope we dont declare til they both have centuries and then we end it sharpish!

• 135.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-129:
    Schalk, Vermeulen, Fourie, Habana, Bekker are all leaders in their own right. Leadership is the least of our problems.

What we need is to tweak our game plan and set our dangerous backs free. We seem to be still struggling with that part. If that happens, the sky is the limit.

PS: Frans is average. Always was, always will be.

• 136.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

today was a difficult day for me.

the sea was too dirty for a dive and then there was simply too much quality sport on.

that and the perfect windless 37 degree day here in durbs just was too much :lol:

• 137.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

sorry, 27 degree, haha 37 degrees would have been overkill.

• 138.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-132:
    Still trying to find a reason why Graeme did not enforce the follow on. Our boys only bowled 29 overs. No way that they were tired.

You have a clue why he decided to bat again?

• 139.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-135: nah, frans is a cracker, always has been, always will be.

eish, mahlangu! nice shot, good save.

i just think leadership may be your problem bud, could be wrong time will tell.

• 140.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-133: ]
    R800 is crazy!!!

• 141.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-138: good question, i was driving the coast looking for clean water so i miseed the whole morning session.

you wouldnt believe my surprise and joy when i arrived home and checked the score :lol:

• 142.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-140: ja man, i cant afford that as i am off to mozam in 3 weeks with my spearfishing club but i am DESPERATE to go if bafana qualify.

cant believe its looking like penalties now.

cmon bafana, CMON!

• 143.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-139:
    Guess we’ll have to disagree on both accounts.

Pity Elton could not play today. Would’ve loved to see if he can get our back line going.

Real tragic situation re his dad. Met somebody the other day who served with his dad in the army in Cape Town some years ago. He was full of praise for the man.

• 144.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

bafana push it wide but take too long to send it back to the middle allowing the defense time to set and preventing our strikers r midfield running onto the cross.

one touch crosses would be far more effective.

• 145.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-143: man, my heart goes out to the whole family.

too tragic.

have a friend whose mom, a real fitness lady full of life and only early 50′s, went to sleep this week and just never woke up.

just as surprising as mr jantjies’s death by frikken beesting.

too sad.

• 146.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-141:
    Yes, especially since there are some rain predicted for Monday and Tuesday in Johburg.

• 147.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-121:
    i expected it to go either way so was happy to see the bulls maintain composure and finish off strongly at the end.
    this is still a very good lions team and i expect them to beat most of the teams they play against this season.

for the bulls Serfontein, Botha and Stegmann looked classy at times.
    i think they will be there or there about this season but i dont expect them to win any titles.

• 148.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-146: no ways?

that makes it even more perplexing?

haha, watching that oke praying at the bafana game reminds me of the old zulu guy in front of me at the game vs morocco who was mal at the ref, claiming the ref didnt “hlonipha”(respect) bafana :lol:

• 149.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-145:
    Jip, it can be so sudden sometimes.

Last year I bumped into my best mate of 25 years in the local pharmacy where he was waiting for a prescription. We chatted a bit and he told me about this moerse heartburn that he had. When he got his medicine he walked out to his bakkie while I was still waiting for my prescription. About 5 minutes later some lady came running into the pharmacy and said that someone just had some kind of an attack outside. When someone asked, “Who” she mentioned his name and I ran outside. It was too late. He died right in front of me.

• 150.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-149: no man, thats terrible.

sorry bud.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.