Kenya kill off Kiwis and Boks

Kenya stunned the Sevens All Blacks on the same day they edged South Africa. But they just failed in the final against England.

Kenya were a second away from a historic first series tournament win but England turned the ball over with time up on the clock and scored to level 19-all. The heartbreak was evident and the Kenyans folded in the first minute of extra time when England scored to take the win and the title 24-19.

Kenya led 19-12 at the break and controlled the second half and seemed to have done enough for a glorious result but two sin-binnings in the last three minutes proved costly, as did confusion about the time left. The televisions clock showed time up but the stadium clock showed 25 seconds. It was in those 25 seconds that Kenya coughed up the ball and England took full advantage.

Hosts New Zealand lead Kenya 14-0 at half-time, but the most popular team at the tournament were stunning in their comeback to score after the hooter to tie it up 14-all.

And then the more physical and desperate Kenyans scored within a minute in the sudden death to win 21-14.

Earlier Kenya won the quarter-final 21-20 against a Bok team that scored four tries but failed to land a kick.

On day one the Boks only won one match in three but went through on points difference. In the quarter-final four tries would usually be enough for victory but Philip Snyman had an awful day with the boot and couldn’t find his radar.

New Zealand, beaten in the semi-final, were too good for Australia 24-5 in the quarter-final. The Kiwis produced their best tournament performance in the third and fourth play-off, beating Samoa 17-7.

Samoa and England, the two most impressive teams, met in the semi-final and England won 21-19.

Corne Hendricks (two) and Stephan Dippenaar gave the Boks a 15-7 lead at the break before Willy Ambaka reduced the lead to just one point. Chris Dry stretched the Boks lead to six points but with two minutes to Ambaka scored his second and Biko Adema added the two points for a famous African win.

133 Comments

• 51.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Fern-37: No shortage of buyers of sevens tickets at the asking price — they sell out in 30 minutes after booking opens. NZRU could charge 50% more and still sell it out.

• 52.Fern: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-51:
    So why have you never gone?
    Every year you comment from your mom’s house from her pc.

• 53.Fern: Reply to this comment

William Mbaka from Kenya is a talent.
    None of the Kenya players are pro’s they do this part time and lots are students.
    Respect to them.

• 54.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

50 Shades of Grey in reverse…

He was in ecstasy with a huge smile on his face as his wife moved forward, then backwards, forward, then backwards again, back and forth, back and forth, in and out…

She could feel the sweat on her forehead, between her breasts and trickling down the small of her back.

She was getting near to the end. Her heart was pounding, her face was flushed.

Then she moaned, softly at first, then began to groan louder.

Finally, totally exhausted, she let out an almighty scream and shouted:

“Okay, Okay! I can’t park the car! You do it, you shmuck!”

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-51: how are numbers this year Tackles? i know the NZRU were appauled by the binge drinking that happens at the event.

• 56.Fern: Reply to this comment

Heroics from Kenya.
    Well done.
    Makes me proud to be African.
    Only a African knows the feeling cause Africa is in our blood.

• 57.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Fern-56:
    Too early,onto extra time we go.
    Still proud of Kenya.
    Go Kenya!
    Hope the yellow cards don’t come back to hurt you.

• 58.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-55:
    So it sold out but the stadium wasnt full,lots of keewees must have passed out and not made the stadium.

• 59.Fern: Reply to this comment

Bad luck Kenya,very well played.
    Nothing to be ashamed off.
    We wont poach your players like the keewees do and wish you all the best with your rise in the world of sevens rugby.

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who’s this “she” everyone is talking about here

• 61.Fern: Reply to this comment

Final being played to a stadium 25% full…
    Disgracefull.
    Seems the pull of alchol after the keewees lost were stronger.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pakistan busy with epic fail.

• 63.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Fern-61: Every ticket paid for. Money in the bank. Not like the echo-chamber in PE.

• 64.Fern: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-63:
    So when last have you been to a the sevens?
    Answer the hard questions.

• 65.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-55: Appalled? They SOLD all the beer! And it filled the kitty fit to burst. Another highly-successful giant street party, and with every hotel room booked out within a 75km radius.

• 66.Fern: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-65:
    Which years have you been to the sevens?
    75km radius means you are not in Wellington.
    Went onto the interwebs just now,lots of rooms available in Wellington tonight from cheap to expensive.

• 67.thegreatanubis: Reply to this comment

Kenya can feck off for all I care, good performance by them but you dont see England congratulating Wales for beating them and making some sort of final just because they’re from the same continent. They should scrap the blitzbokke concept as well as Bafana Bafana from tournaments.

• 68.whatthe: Reply to this comment

Ka …..boooom! What was that? Just the home side choking! Suck on that tackler!

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tackles:

IRB ‘not impressed’ with drunken Sevens
    Last updated 11:53 20/09/2012

Drunk Wellington Sevens fans have left the
    IRB unimpressed and there are calls for the
    concourse to become liquor-free.

Commentator Keith Quinn, who says
    behaviour of crowds is getting progressively
    worse each year, has called for a dry-zone in
    the Westpac Stadium concourse from late
    afternoon to early evening during the
    tournament.

People would be able to buy alcohol in the
    concourse but would have to take it back in
    to the stadium to drink.

It would create a situation where people
    were there to watch a game and drink, as
    opposed to just getting drunk, he said.

He had talked to IRB Sevens tournament
    operations manager Beth Coulter after the
    last Wellington Sevens.

“[She] gave the impression to me they were
    not impressed with the behaviour of the
    Wellington crowd.”

While there was no talk of Wellington losing
    the Sevens, Quinn pointed out there were
    many places – including Auckland, Europe,
    Argentina, and Suva – which would like to
    take it off us.

In the past two years he had personally had
    bad experiences with drunk punters.
    Once, he and sports commentator John
    McBeth had been walking from the stadium
    and held back from a “rowdy” group of 25
    people at traffic lights, knowing they would
    be recognised and harassed.

In another incident, McBeth had to help a
    taxi driver remove a girl from a taxi who,
    having just vomited, had jumped in his taxi
    and offered the driver “sexual payment”
    instead of money for a trip to Wainuiomata.

• 70.cane: Reply to this comment

Congratulations England. Good win.

Kenya, your time will come,
    sooner rather than later. Great athletes, and they will be better for this experience.

Kenya could have won,
    for sure ( IMHO),
    had they trusted their defence and not infringed for those two yellow cards.

• 71.cane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-69:

Just a normal Saturday night Transie.

No big deal.

No one got murdered.

• 72.cane: Reply to this comment

@whatthe-68:

Ka …………………………..boooooooom,
    just the home side extending it’s overall lead in the Competition.

• 73.Fern: Reply to this comment

So the question remains,which years were tackler at the sevens?
    I reckon nada

• 74.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-69:
    a female puking and then offering oral.
    classy…
    not.

• 75.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-73:
    hahahaha

Ferny, you have been in fine form on this thread, boet.

some good farking larfs here from top to bottom :lol:

• 76.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Five people were arrested and 30 evicted from the stadium on the second day of the Wellington Sevens, police say.

Despite the arrests Inspector Simon Perry said police staff at the stadium have noticed a higher standard of behaviour than in previous tournaments.

Although there were more evictions today than on Friday, “improved measures” regarding drunk people entering the stadium had a positive effect on the crowd, he said. ”

It’s a ten hour a day two-day party. With over 30000 partygoers. Someone’s bound to test his or her own limits.

• 77.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

An extreme motocross rider performed with a broken jaw last night after being “king hit” while out on the town.

British-born Luke Smith, who lives in Stanmore Bay, is one of the few Kiwis to star in Nitro Circus Live, performing in Auckland last night.

Smith was with tour manager Derek Rigby and Australian rider Andy Buckworth on Thursday night when the group was attacked while getting kebabs in Fort St.

Nitro Circus promoter Michael Porra said the daredevils were frightened of walking down the street in Auckland.

“These are all wild tough guys and they are too afraid to walk down the street in Auckland,” Porra said.

“It’s a great shame for this wonderful city.”

• 78.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Although there were more evictions today than on Friday, “improved measures” regarding drunk people entering the stadium had a positive effect on the crowd, he said.

On Friday there were a total of 7 arrests and 17 evictions made at the stadium.

• 79.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77: so whats the point of this post fckwit?

is it any worse then the street crime in Joburg on any given day?

you are pathetic, but I will start posting crime stats, seeing as thats acceptable..

“Johannesburg – A man accused of selling drugs to school children was arrested in Umbilo, Durban, the Hawks said on Saturday.

Captain Paul Ramaloko said the 37-year-old man was arrested on Friday. On his arrest drugs including dagga, magic mushrooms and Cat – which he apparently sold to children attending a high school near his residence – were confiscated.

The drugs had an estimated street value of R40 000. A further R38 000 in cash was confiscated from the house. He would appear in the Durban Magistrate’s Court on Monday facing charges of drug dealing.”

seems the reports about drugs at school in SA was right..

• 80.the curse: Reply to this comment

seems South Africa has alcohol related issues to Fern, Bakkies..

It is estimated that up to 30% of general hospital admissions in South Africa are directly or indirectly related to alcohol use.

A clinical assessment of general hospital admissions found alcohol to be a contributing factor in general trauma cases: in 38% of the admissions in the Cape metropolitan area and 49% in rural communities alcohol was found to be a contributing factor.

48% of trauma patients admitted to the casualty department of the Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital in Soweto on a Saturday night were found to be intoxicated.

Almost 80% of all assault patients – both male and female – presented at an urban hospital Trauma Unit in Cape Town were either found to be under the influence of alcohol or injured because of alcohol related violence. In another study, over 50% of non-natural deaths received at state mortuaries in Cape Town had high levels of blood alcohol concentrations.

58% of people fatally injured in train related trauma (who either fell from or walked in front of trains) in Cape Town had high blood alcohol concentrations.

60% of pedestrians involved in collision traumas on the road and then treated in a hospital trauma unit were found to have high blood alcohol concentrations.

Over 50% of those who had died by drowning in greater Cape Town, over a ten year period, were found to have high concentrations of alcohol in their blood stream.

http://www.frontline.org.za/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=466:alcohol-abuse-in-south-africa&catid=36:sarep&Itemid=183

you guys seem to like this sort of thing, let me find some more stats on South Africa..

• 81.the curse: Reply to this comment

from the same report

76% of domestic violence in rural areas in the South-Western Cape was found to be alcohol related.

and these are the cases that are reported, how many go UNREPORTED in SA? and how many pay their way out of trouble like Killer Bees did?

eish, yet you two are quite happy to throw stones about NZs drinking problems, welll Im throwing them back..

with fcken interest!!

• 82.the curse: Reply to this comment

The misuse and abuse of alcohol is widespread in South African society and likely to have a large impact on the economy. A major burden is borne by the hospital care system; in particular the cost of alcohol-related trauma There has been an association between intoxication and both violent crime and suicide attempts. One hundred and four subjects (39%) had criminal convictions, the majority of which were committed while the subjects were intoxicated. The commonest alcohol-related crimes were driving related (17%) and crimes of violence (15%).

http://www.akspublication.com/paper04_jan-jun2006.htm

In South Africa, 76% of all deaths after interpersonal violence have been shown to be alcohol related

so 50000 murders a year and almost 40000 of them are alcohol related?

keep throwing them stones Bakkies, fern..

its a real good look

• 83.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-81: can you forward me the name of the guy sellining the magic mushies please?

• 84.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-82: its ok poops, just remember, you are “recovering” and not cured ok?

• 85.the curse: Reply to this comment

Johannesburg – During the day, it’s peaceful and quiet, but when the sun goes down, Muldersdrift turns into the Wild West.

This is how Sandi Melnick describes the area she lives in on being asked what it is like to live in a place that has been plagued by violent crime in recent months.

Melnick, who lives in Clinic Road in Muldersdrift on the West Rand, has seen several of her neighbours murdered and robbed in the past few months.

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/where-residents-fear-to-go-out-at-night-1.1463070

• 86.the curse: Reply to this comment

The siblings were brutally slain in Buchanan’s fiancé’s Northcliff home in March 2008. Their horrific torture at the hands of their killers – both were bound and gagged, had their teeth pulled and darts thrown at them – shocked their family, and rocked this upmarket community.

But for almost five years, there was little word on the investigation. Lynette had all but given up hope for justice – until the police contacted her two weeks ago, informing her that they had arrested Kenneth Schroder and Paul Mundel in Durban and Mbombela after a five-year investigation

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/northcliff-torture-deaths-haunt-me-1.1463073

• 87.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

poopsie you are so angry tonight?

tell the ranger, was it the king hit issue because i havent seen you googling like this since we found out that the maoris would just as soon as rub you nose as eat it off your face a short while ago?

• 88.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77: is that any different to this story Bakkies?

Cape Town –

The teenager who has been in a coma for a week after being attacked on Durbanville’s party strip, moved unexpectedly on Wednesday, raising his hand after a group of strangers asked his mother if they could pray for him.

He has since opened his eyes once, and begun breathing on his own.

Jean Lambrechts, 19, was attacked and assaulted outside the Hooters bar in Edward Street in the early hours of last Saturday morning by a group of men. He and his friends had been on their way to Stones.

Lambrechts apparently tried to reason with the men, but was hit in the jaw, beaten and kicked in the head several time, leaving him in a coma with severe head injuries.

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/teen-in-coma-starts-to-show-signs-of-life-1.1463061

but please, continue posting stuff like that, it sure is fun trawling through online SA newspapers and beginning to realise just how cheap and horrid life is in SA, NZs problems seem to pale in comparison..

• 89.Fern: Reply to this comment

So tackles which years have you been to the sevens in wellington?
    seems like nada…
    @The Rangerman-87:
    baby has a temper.

• 90.the curse: Reply to this comment

Uitenhage – An 18-year-old boy was shot dead while running down Mvila Street in Uitenhage with a group of teenagers, Eastern Cape police said on Friday.

“The teenager was wounded in the chest last night (Thursday) at 6.30pm. Daluxolo Mbangi passed away on the scene,” said Warrant Officer Gerda Swart.

“No arrests were made and police are investigating a case of murder.”

Swart said no one else was injured.

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/teen-gunned-down-in-street-1.1462800

• 91.the curse: Reply to this comment

Pretoria – Boeremag master bomb maker Kobus Pretorius never thought he could injure or kill people with his bombs, the High Court in Pretoria heard on Wednesday.

This claim came from Pretorius himself in response to a question by Judge Eben Jordaan.

Jordaan said a bomb was something that caused massive damage and asked how it was possible for Pretorius to think no one could be injured.

Pretorius answered that their targets were not among civilians and were removed from buildings and people.

He therefore never foresaw that anyone could be killed or injured, he said.

Jordaan asked Pretorius what he thought when he heard a woman (Soweto mother Claudia Mokone) had been killed in one of the bomb blasts.

“I said it was the ‘blind sjambok’. It was an act of God because she must have committed sins, and that’s why God had punished her.

“That’s the way I thought at the time,” he said.

Pretorius admitted that even Mokone’s death did not bring him and the other bomb squad members to the realisation that their deeds were wrong.

• 92.the curse: Reply to this comment

I thought this was a rugby blog, but you onoly need to read this thread to see that many SA’s would rather post crime stats and social ills in NZ, well, look in your own backyards first gentlemen

you may witness a murder, a rape, a bashing, alcohol related domestic violence, gang rape etc etc etc etc..

I can do this all day, but if you guys actually want to talk rugby, I can do that too..

your choice of course..

• 93.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Fern-89: ja, he is fighting a losing battle.

@the curse-92: poops, you are far too unstable to simply discuss anything on this forum.

if you dont like it, simply dont log on?

but dont blame us collectively for acts of some posters you dont like.

my theory is that you love having a reason to blast hatred and that makes you a weakling in mind and soul.

• 94.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-92:
    You won’t find me worrying about posting that, I prefer not to take my work home.
    Rugby related, good six nations predictions so far, terrible Lions Challenge predictions, have no clue about the Varsity teams so going to struggle with those predictions, the Stormers lost, the Bulls won ( both those suck )
    Now, Bakkies winding you up aside, how are things?

• 95.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Poppa going loco on the thread

i really dont know why he acts this way

its always us and them with him

• 96.the curse: Reply to this comment

Itsoseng – A 15-year-old girl has been found dead in a shallow grave in Verdwaal village, Itsoseng, North West police said on Thursday.

Following a search, her partially buried body was found on Wednesday in the bush, after she was reported missing on Sunday, Sergeant Philani Nkwalase said.

Her parents last saw her on Friday when she went to school.

“According to information from her fellow learner, they both went straight to a local tavern after school. It is further alleged that her fellow learner walked [her] home after midnight and that was the last time she saw her,” Nkwalase said.

A post mortem would be conducted. No arrests had been made yet

• 97.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-95: youre one to talk..

what was the point of the post about the motocross rider, who was assaulted in Auckland, when this thread is about the Wellington sevens?

why is Fern continually talking about alcohol problems in NZ, is there no alcohol related problems in SA? seriously?

• 98.the curse: Reply to this comment

Kimberley – Claims have emerged that the manager at Middlepos Primary School in Calvinia has allegedly been selling alcohol from the school’s hostel.

The DA in the Province on Wednesday expressed concern about the ongoing allegations, with the party’s provincial spokeswoman, Clivé Burger, stating that the accusations pointed to the alleged transgression having gone on for the past couple of years already.

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/alcohol-allegedly-sold-at-school-1.1461988

• 99.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-97:
    you’re right, i take the auckland assault
    its not related.

i think NZ’s drinking problems are worse than ours, Pops
    for real.

• 100.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-97: i think you play right into the stereotype bakkies is creating.

you are like his frankensteins monster.

you should call him daddy.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.