Old and new a sign of good times
4 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, writes that veteran Juan Smith’s performance was a reminder of a good Bok past and Jan Serfontein’s qualities are about a good future. Both are an asset to our rugby.
There is no such thing as a pre-season friendly in South African rugby. What was a supposed first hit out for the Stormers could easily have been a Super Rugby match played at the most critical juncture of the season. It was full on.
It was unrelenting and both teams were playing to win. Both teams kicked for goal at vital times and neither bought into the 10-try feasts usually associated with warm-up matches. Tries were at a minimum and both sides tackled.
The quality of the math was remarkable given it was the first week of February. The Cheetahs won with an injury-time penalty but the biggest winner was surely the sight of Juan Smith back on a rugby field and as imposing as ever.
Smith is one of the great loose forwards of the last decade. He is also one of the least spoken and written about, but every South African supporter would have kept an eye on his comeback in Bloemfontein.
Schalk Burger’s return is a week or two away and if Smith and Burger can make it to July with knees, hands, feet and head intact the Bok pack will again be the envy of the rugby world.
Smith was darn good given he has been out for 18 months with an Achilles injury that threatened closure on his career. What a wonderful view to see him rampant and playing as fearlessly as is his norm.
In Smith South Africa has a legend but watch centre Jan Serfontein of the Bulls. He will play for the Boks before the year is over. He was the world U20 player in the Baby Boks tournament-winning effort in Cape Town last year and he has been nurtured into senior rugby without haste and with plenty conviction.
Some players simply make the transition from juniors to seniors and Serfontein is one of those. He is a also a beast, physically the most imposing centre in South Africa and one of the biggest in the game. He’s just 20 years old but it’s his skill and natural feel for the game that is even more impressive than his physical presence.
Not since Danie Gerber weaved destruction has a player looked as capable of doing as he pleases from broken player. If Bok coach Heyneke Meyer battled with some positions in 2012 it won’t be the case this season.
There is so much new talent in the South African game and there is also massive changes to what paraded as Super Rugby in New Zealand and Australia.
It is heartening to see how the Lions have embraced their year out of Super Rugby. Johann Ackermann is bringing through another generation of player and the Lions have been committed in everything they have done on the field this year.
The year regrouping could be the best thing that has ever happened.. The core of the Super Rugby team is on loan to other South African franchises and there’s a very promising group being played in the season’s first month of matches.
Rugby in South Africa is strong and globally it is healthy.
The sevens in New Zealand was the best tournament I’ve watched and Kenya were 10 seconds away from a miracle win. The Africans had beaten the Boks, beaten hosts New Zealand and were leading England 19-12 with 10 seconds to go. They turned over the ball, England scored and in the sudden death scored again to win the tournament.
But what a display from the Keyans who have benefited from the structure and intelligence of English coach Mike Friday. Kenya now play the game like they understand it and not just on natural feel. They understand defence, thrive on it and they were the most physical of teams at the tournament. A coach does make a difference.
The Boks have opted for more agility and players blessed with a step but not with size. There is no substitute for physicality in rugby. When the Bok Sevens have had more bulk than balanced runners they have been effective.
Paul Treu is currently trading on goodwill as coach as the Sevens has been in free fall for some time now. It can’t be a fait accompli that he is the best there is. Result don’t make a convincing argument.
Finally the Six Nations delivered on the promise with Wales diabolical against Ireland and England ruthless against Scotland.
The global game needs seven to 10 teams to be a factor in between World Cups and England and France most definitely are the equal of South Africa and Australia with New Zealand still out in front, but not by a lot.
The rugby season will run until December but the break over the last two months has been too long. Just like Juan Smith’s performance on Saturday it is full on from hereon in and be confident that South Africa’s Super Rugby challenge can deliver a winner this year.

1,605 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 … 33 » Show All
5 Feb 2013, 21:14 pm
@CharlesM-1093:
He was a hard bugger, when he came to Northerns we had Uli, Jan Lock, Adri, Burger, Piet Pretorius(and later his brother Koedoe) and Pote Fourie
Not a pack to be messed with
Imagine Spies, Bekker or Juandre coming up against the likes Adri and Pote or Schalk Sr?
They’d c.rap themselves
5 Feb 2013, 21:16 pm
@Heavens Game-1098:
> The Stormers ginger ninja – I reckon prime candidate
You like the ginger eagles I see?
5 Feb 2013, 21:17 pm
@the curse-1092: Maybe he will make it… But plenty competition at 12…
Still reckon he has some Conrad Smith about him, and thats not bad for a potential 13…
5 Feb 2013, 21:21 pm
@victoriabok-1102: Fark that cuzzie… Banshee a Gypsy lady…
And pre SA, preferred the maids/help to be Polish or Bulgarian blondies… Also easy to find all over Mud Island…
Problem is, here in SA, the only place you find them is in Teazers… Been scouting a few times…
Banshee put a stop to that… We got Maria from Mpumalanga instead…
5 Feb 2013, 21:25 pm
@the curse-1099: Truly… And thats why they called All Blacks?
Fark me Poops… Howzat…
There’s only one Black and White…. Dynamite… The United Colours of the Sharks…
Hear me?
5 Feb 2013, 21:28 pm
@Heavens Game-1104:
> Polish or Bulgarian blondies
No Russians?
I hear they’re crazy
> Maria from Mpumalanga instead
When in Rome…
5 Feb 2013, 21:34 pm
@victoriabok-1106: Russians…? Fark nyet… You mad?
When in Rome is not my choice anymore… Casa HG is fully BEE certified now… Farkall blue eyed blondes other than yours truly being closest – more grey and brown though…
But no more squinting at the maid mopping… Maria’s backside, though ample, just aint the same as Polish Magdalena’s…
5 Feb 2013, 21:36 pm
@Heavens Game-1107:
> just aint the same as Polish Magdalena’s…
….in a French Maid’s uniform?
5 Feb 2013, 21:38 pm
a bevy of La Cage aux Folles fans posting tonight, I see …
5 Feb 2013, 21:43 pm
@victoriabok-1108: Not quite… Banshee backstopped that… but nothing could stop HG’s minds eye…
5 Feb 2013, 21:44 pm
@Angostura-1109:
oui oui
5 Feb 2013, 21:45 pm
Ca va…
5 Feb 2013, 21:45 pm
@Heavens Game-1110:
Did she c.ockblock you with the Bulgarian as well?
5 Feb 2013, 21:48 pm
@victoriabok-1087:
Never forget the name Dennis Campher. That oke was filth. He would throw a punch whilst already on the ground on his guts at the nearest opposing player. He was one of those who used to headbutt the changing room walls to psyche hi,self up – EP rugby was crazy in those days.
5 Feb 2013, 21:48 pm
@victoriabok-1113: Always… The Bulgarian was the backstop for the Pole… nothing escaped them beady eyes… Fark me…
5 Feb 2013, 21:50 pm
@I am a stormer-1114: Centre?
5 Feb 2013, 21:51 pm
@I am a stormer-1114:
In the eighties they used Reactivan a lot to charge the players up for a game
5 Feb 2013, 21:54 pm
@Heavens Game-1115:
Not even once?
5 Feb 2013, 21:54 pm
@Heavens Game-1116:
That’s him. He was crazy. If there was brawl he started it.
5 Feb 2013, 21:59 pm
@victoriabok-1118: You mad cuzzy no matter the anonymous HG bravado… Many a mischievous thought did pass though…
Come to think of it Maria’s big wobbly backside, treetrunk legs and fine chicken wings give me a minds eye pic of some of Keo’s feminine fiends… Prawny, Doggy and that anti Shark witch, Nikita…
Chicken wings and ample backsides all…
5 Feb 2013, 22:00 pm
@victoriabok-1117:
In Dust Patch they used it on the crowds as well. The tannies used to bliksem the opposition as they ran through the tunnel onto the field – with their handbags.
5 Feb 2013, 22:00 pm
@victoriabok-1117: Yes… The little yellow pills…
5 Feb 2013, 22:02 pm
@Heavens Game-1120:
The KFC Hillary special?
Two fat thighs, two small breasts and a left wing
5 Feb 2013, 22:04 pm
@Heavens Game-1122:
Did you use them as well?
5 Feb 2013, 22:04 pm
@victoriabok-1123:
and then the greazy box it came in!
5 Feb 2013, 22:05 pm
@victoriabok-1123: lol… Ja… But its two left wings… each… With an ample helping of elbow grease…
The KFC Keo Woman’s Bucket…
A cellulite burger thrown in for free…
5 Feb 2013, 22:05 pm
@I am a stormer-1114: In those days EP club rugby was strong (& matter of life & death for the fans) … every weekend nondescript blue collared workers morphed into larger than life “die-hard” heroes of their partisan fans … for 80-85 minutes a week they owned the world … the running of the Pamplona bulls they were …
5 Feb 2013, 22:08 pm
@victoriabok-1124: Little bottle’s passed around with yellow and purple pills…
Played havoc with the after game beers… and a farken frankenstein babbelas…
5 Feb 2013, 22:08 pm
@I am a stormer-1114:
Each team had to have a couple of hard men, let’s rather call them enforcers
Wiese, Ackermann, Drikus Hatting and the guy from the Sharks I think it was Atherton?
He played for the Boks against Marseille when they had this huge barney and he bliksemmed the Frogs stukkend
Tian Strauss was unfortunate enough to play in that game as well as in the battle of Tucuman, another lot of dirty bastar.ds
5 Feb 2013, 22:09 pm
@Angostura-1127:
Boet Erasmus wasn’t a favourite hunting ground ……and EP beat the Bulls once or twice there. And made the 1974 Lions feel unwelcome.
5 Feb 2013, 22:09 pm
@I am a stormer-1125:
Sies, nie Hillary se boks nie
5 Feb 2013, 22:10 pm
@I am a stormer-1130:
They probably beat everyone once in a while but seldom lost the fight
5 Feb 2013, 22:10 pm
@Heavens Game-1128:
Did it work?
They say Adri used it and it made him so aggressive on the field
5 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
@I am a stormer-1125:
Koek krummels?
5 Feb 2013, 22:12 pm
@Heavens Game-1126:
And a veggie option for Skopspuitpoep
5 Feb 2013, 22:13 pm
@Angostura-1127:
Despatch nearly always won the Durban Club championships except Durban Old Boys and RAU evry now and then
5 Feb 2013, 22:13 pm
@victoriabok-1129: Atherton and Blakeway were severe bastardos… Thickas pigshit and hard as nails, both of them…
Earlier Natal player – rough bu.gger, was a chap called Ron Wang… Got his ear chewed nicely in a scrap with the ABs…
A period in the late 70s, early 80s, the Last Outpost loved a scrap… Shy.te it was the best skill they had… Until Claasen arrived, Mac took over and then things went pro…
5 Feb 2013, 22:16 pm
@victoriabok-1133: Not sure about aggressive, but definitely gave you a bit of vroom…
Think its schedule 6 or 7… Not good for you… Automatic 2 yr ban now if you take it…
5 Feb 2013, 22:18 pm
@Heavens Game-1138: I think 2yrs, could be more… Think a Shark player got banned for that – forget his name, dark haired guy playing at 10, landed up at FS… Was reported as Roids though
5 Feb 2013, 22:21 pm
@victoriabok-1136: Yes, Despatch was powerful, & before them Old Collegians (from Uitenhage) & UPE had the odd excellent year as well.
From about the mid ’70s UPE had a decent team with some very talented (but young) players. The (generally) blue couloured clubs like Despatch, Old Collegians & Parks loved nothing more than phugging up those “uppity” students … those students simply had to sink or swim, & some them became very good … Johan Heunis is a perfect example
5 Feb 2013, 22:22 pm
@Heavens Game-1138: I exaggerate, schedule 5…
5 Feb 2013, 22:22 pm
Not Roland de Marigny?
He was ***** at the Bulls
We could have beaten the Wallabies in 1992 if he didn’t kick so poorly
5 Feb 2013, 22:23 pm
@Angostura-1140:
I didn’t know Heunis came from the EC?
5 Feb 2013, 22:25 pm
@victoriabok-1142: No, not him… Name slips my mind…
Anyway, he served his time…
5 Feb 2013, 22:26 pm
@I am a stormer-1130: Dennis Campher has passed on … I think he played for Parks RFC (may have moved on to Despatch later on, but not sure)
Here a piece about EP of that era vs the 74 & 80 Lions, & of Dennis Campher in particular …
PS: People forget, Hannes Marais also represented EP
5 Feb 2013, 22:27 pm
@Heavens Game-1144:
The way he played it wouldn’t have helped anyway
Which position and for which club did you play?
@victoriabok-1143:
From George area – still practising law I think – had a spell as SWD president. His brother Chris also played for EP.
@Angostura-1145: ugh sorry:
here the link
http://babobski.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/bring-on-the-british-lions/
5 Feb 2013, 22:29 pm
Where did Vleis come from?
5 Feb 2013, 22:31 pm
@victoriabok-1143: Yes, the Heunis clan from SWD (George area)
Chris Heunis an attorney; Johan Heunis an attorney; I am a contemporary of theirs was in residence with them. Both great guys. Their uncle, Chris Heunis, was a Minister in PW’s Cabinet.
Pages: « 1 … 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 … 33 » Show All