Old and new a sign of good times
4 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, writes that veteran Juan Smith’s performance was a reminder of a good Bok past and Jan Serfontein’s qualities are about a good future. Both are an asset to our rugby.
There is no such thing as a pre-season friendly in South African rugby. What was a supposed first hit out for the Stormers could easily have been a Super Rugby match played at the most critical juncture of the season. It was full on.
It was unrelenting and both teams were playing to win. Both teams kicked for goal at vital times and neither bought into the 10-try feasts usually associated with warm-up matches. Tries were at a minimum and both sides tackled.
The quality of the math was remarkable given it was the first week of February. The Cheetahs won with an injury-time penalty but the biggest winner was surely the sight of Juan Smith back on a rugby field and as imposing as ever.
Smith is one of the great loose forwards of the last decade. He is also one of the least spoken and written about, but every South African supporter would have kept an eye on his comeback in Bloemfontein.
Schalk Burger’s return is a week or two away and if Smith and Burger can make it to July with knees, hands, feet and head intact the Bok pack will again be the envy of the rugby world.
Smith was darn good given he has been out for 18 months with an Achilles injury that threatened closure on his career. What a wonderful view to see him rampant and playing as fearlessly as is his norm.
In Smith South Africa has a legend but watch centre Jan Serfontein of the Bulls. He will play for the Boks before the year is over. He was the world U20 player in the Baby Boks tournament-winning effort in Cape Town last year and he has been nurtured into senior rugby without haste and with plenty conviction.
Some players simply make the transition from juniors to seniors and Serfontein is one of those. He is a also a beast, physically the most imposing centre in South Africa and one of the biggest in the game. He’s just 20 years old but it’s his skill and natural feel for the game that is even more impressive than his physical presence.
Not since Danie Gerber weaved destruction has a player looked as capable of doing as he pleases from broken player. If Bok coach Heyneke Meyer battled with some positions in 2012 it won’t be the case this season.
There is so much new talent in the South African game and there is also massive changes to what paraded as Super Rugby in New Zealand and Australia.
It is heartening to see how the Lions have embraced their year out of Super Rugby. Johann Ackermann is bringing through another generation of player and the Lions have been committed in everything they have done on the field this year.
The year regrouping could be the best thing that has ever happened.. The core of the Super Rugby team is on loan to other South African franchises and there’s a very promising group being played in the season’s first month of matches.
Rugby in South Africa is strong and globally it is healthy.
The sevens in New Zealand was the best tournament I’ve watched and Kenya were 10 seconds away from a miracle win. The Africans had beaten the Boks, beaten hosts New Zealand and were leading England 19-12 with 10 seconds to go. They turned over the ball, England scored and in the sudden death scored again to win the tournament.
But what a display from the Keyans who have benefited from the structure and intelligence of English coach Mike Friday. Kenya now play the game like they understand it and not just on natural feel. They understand defence, thrive on it and they were the most physical of teams at the tournament. A coach does make a difference.
The Boks have opted for more agility and players blessed with a step but not with size. There is no substitute for physicality in rugby. When the Bok Sevens have had more bulk than balanced runners they have been effective.
Paul Treu is currently trading on goodwill as coach as the Sevens has been in free fall for some time now. It can’t be a fait accompli that he is the best there is. Result don’t make a convincing argument.
Finally the Six Nations delivered on the promise with Wales diabolical against Ireland and England ruthless against Scotland.
The global game needs seven to 10 teams to be a factor in between World Cups and England and France most definitely are the equal of South Africa and Australia with New Zealand still out in front, but not by a lot.
The rugby season will run until December but the break over the last two months has been too long. Just like Juan Smith’s performance on Saturday it is full on from hereon in and be confident that South Africa’s Super Rugby challenge can deliver a winner this year.

1,605 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 … 33 » Show All
6 Feb 2013, 09:59 am
Oh gaats, killed it!
6 Feb 2013, 10:00 am
@gunther-1256: Hi Gunther.
How you doing.
6 Feb 2013, 10:00 am
?????
6 Feb 2013, 10:02 am
@gunther-1269:
Poeps will never make it in the wild.
see it with abused animals all the time.
@Slartibartfast-1274:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1275:
Klassiek
6 Feb 2013, 10:02 am
@ryecatcher-1303:
Don’t panic, only tea time…they will be back.
6 Feb 2013, 10:03 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1275:
Your story of the family reminded me of years ago when i attended the KKNK at Oudtshoorn.
We wen to a gig of a new (at the time) SA Band called the Brixton Moord and Roof Orkes. They were wild for the time… The Leader was Roof Bezuidenhoudt, drummer was Moord Greeff, Bassist was Brixton Barnard…. therefore the name, lol
Right in front (very small venue) amongst the “lekker gerookte” 20 year plussers was this very old couple who thought they were going to watch a SAP Orchestra (remember the infamous Brixton , Moord and Roof unit). The old man looked like an ex cop from Pretoria complete with grey moustache, short pant and long light blue socks.
And then these “freaks” appeared on stage — the old woman’s eyes nearly popped out and when Roof started to scream about how kuk suburban live is and that he would rather be a fish then a human (“wie de vok wil nou met mense gesels”) they stormed out of the venue and probably out of Oudtshoorn never to return again.
6 Feb 2013, 10:05 am
Keo, have the decency to let bloggers know wassup !!!
Will miss all the kak that goes on here…
6 Feb 2013, 10:06 am
@ryecatcher-1302:
Hola señor Rye.
@Robzim-1306:
Classic!
This site is doomed.
Keo has lost his journo’s and is going to fill their space with bigoted blogers.
6 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1278:
agreed Pedigree, its like a virtual zoo for virtual 5 year olds.
all we missing is the candyfloss (hat tip to voelmyhoring).
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1290:
6 Feb 2013, 10:08 am
This Blog as it stands has be taken over by the blogers, but with no rights to create new threads.
6 Feb 2013, 10:11 am
@Robzim-1306:
very funny…
6 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
@gunther-1297: Sticky keyboards over Lambie all over again?
6 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
Frank the tank!
6 Feb 2013, 10:13 am
“Reinach must be a Bok because…..Bresler must be a Bok because……”
6 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
mmhh everyone now missing ryan & jc with their much-abused articles?
this place can fold, i’m never going to farken RT, never..
6 Feb 2013, 10:15 am
@Brads-1310:
Bigoted blogers and whining bloggers.
This site has been filled with bigotry since inception…so don’t get your point.
@Robzim-1306:
They were a great band!!!!!! But def not everyones cup of tea…… Every concert I have ever attended seems to have these folk who don’t seem to know what they’ve signed up for…..
And I ask myself…who spends thousands on tickets without doing their ‘research’
Die Antwoord had a few peeps pursing their little mouthies like prunes (or a dog’s ********)
@ryecatcher-1303: Hi Rye !!!!!!
6 Feb 2013, 10:16 am
@ufo-1277: Hi Pal.N ice song..Hope
you are well.Have been on Keo for+-15 months now.Changes for better
and changes for worse over this period.
My health is good.Able to walk without falling down,although
I have had a lot of alcohol induced experience of falling
down over the years.
Wheel chair packe d away in a tent revival type gesture of faith Verybusy Feb/Mar.Hope that residentt obituary writer takes note as I will be on
site infrequently during this period
All of the best to you and yours
6 Feb 2013, 10:17 am
Any Stormer fans going to the Kickoff bash (jersey handing over thingy) on the 13th at Newlands?
6 Feb 2013, 10:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1322:
Jock sniffing bash?
Geniet.
6 Feb 2013, 10:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1322:
Mind your step when you are there…there are a lot of players walking around with crutches…about half your team.
6 Feb 2013, 10:21 am
Give KEO a chance – he’s probably putting together Plan B …
This blog is the best – & that is because it is irreverent, sassy & (dare I say it?), cheeky
Yeah it is eclectic-electric 
It is the mix & diversity of bloggers that make the blog what it is (tho I wish there were more non-WP/Stormers** bloggers, not that I mind them, but just for the sake of balance) – THAT cannot be instantly replicated elsewhere …
This is also not a place for the fainthearted & sensitive – rugby is a tough endeavour
** re non-WP/Stormers bloggers – but give the WP/Stormers folk (excluding Cape Crusaders!) their due – no one supports anything like the people of Western Cape, especially Cape Town …
It’ll be sad to see this site die …
@Predawn-1318:
they prefer to keep their bigotry hidden from view under the table in hobbitville.
like an incestuos family with dark secrets they would rather their business not be aired in public.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1322: Only if they organise that Boeing thingy to do a flyover…
6 Feb 2013, 10:22 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1320: Hello Lady Pedigree.Always look forward to your
greeting so much.Hope the day is\good to you.
6 Feb 2013, 10:23 am
Pedigreed Lady
6 Feb 2013, 10:23 am
@gunther-1323: What do the Bulls for their Kickoff bash?
6 Feb 2013, 10:27 am
@Angostura-1325:
agreed.
is it true there’s a Guiness Book of Records entry for ‘most consistent stadium turnout and support for a team that’s never won a Super Title’..?..
6 Feb 2013, 10:27 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1330:
Ask Bakkies.
I’d suggest there is brandy involved.
6 Feb 2013, 10:29 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1330: Gather around the ox-braai and play “Liefling” all day?
6 Feb 2013, 10:30 am
@Angostura-1325: Great post!
@ryecatcher-1328: You must let us know how the move goes, and I’m sure once you are settled, you will be back to gracing us with your presence daily
I hope so!!!!
6 Feb 2013, 10:30 am
Don’t they do daily news here at Keo any more?
6 Feb 2013, 10:31 am
@ryecatcher-1321:
hey rye…
great news about your health friend… great that you packed the wheels away… and nothing like being busy to complete your recuperation…
will miss you while you’re busy and will look out for your posts… i’m sure keo will still be around for a good while longer… so look forward to having you back ‘full time’ in march/april…
yeah… keo has its ups and downs…
maybe this will be good as it could do with a bit of a shake up…
have always felt keo and his writers took the posters on the site somewhat for granted… so hope he keeps it running with some improvements…
6 Feb 2013, 10:32 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1331:
It’s archived under Conference Title winners.
6 Feb 2013, 10:32 am
@BrumbiesBoy-1333: Whilst oom Wynie drowns them in ‘holy water’?
@gunther-1332: The Bulls don’t drink….they are religious and moral men: A family of saints, like the Brady Bunch. (I tend to think they are more ‘Modern Family’, but hey, that’s just me
6 Feb 2013, 10:33 am
@Angostura-1325:
yeah… good post…
6 Feb 2013, 10:34 am
@Robzim-1306: Funny story.Remember
much the same sort of thing at Hartenbos,Except the singer was Doosie
and I was the one walking out for totally the opposite reason
6 Feb 2013, 10:35 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1330:
for you Pedi,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLEc-fb1u1w&feature=player_embedded#!
6 Feb 2013, 10:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1334: Sold my house but to find equivalent proving difficult.
6 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
@gunther-1337:
sjoe
it will take a lot to beat that record.
6 Feb 2013, 10:39 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1338:
Who told you Bulls fans don’t drink?
You need to get out of the laager more.
There is a big world outside Durbanville.
6 Feb 2013, 10:42 am
@Angostura-1325:” no one supports anythig like people from the WC”
True athletic supporters they are.
6 Feb 2013, 10:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1341: Spies: “a leap of faith, probably the most scary thing I have ever done..” – he’s going to the Metallica concert?
Bakkies, I think they will be bungee jumping….Hope Wynie remembers to actually clip the bungee cords….
Funniest thing on that clip: “What’s scaring the MOST FEARED team in Super rugby?”
@gunther-1344: Bulls fans are alkies…I’m talking about the ‘team’…. The moral men, holy teachers that they are
(Not Hougie…but the rest..)
6 Feb 2013, 10:44 am
@ryecatcher-1342:
Take a cruise.
Chase some barmaids.
@ryecatcher-1345:
i see what you did there…
@ryecatcher-1342: House hunting is terrible, and it’s true what you say, finding something that ‘replaces’ the sold one, is easier said than done (especially when there is emotional attachment to the sold house….)
6 Feb 2013, 10:45 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1346:
Most of them enjoy a dop.
you get a couple of believers in every team.
Pages: « 1 … 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 … 33 » Show All