Old and new a sign of good times

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, writes that veteran Juan Smith’s performance was a reminder of a good Bok past and Jan Serfontein’s qualities are about a good future. Both are an asset to our rugby.

There is no such thing as a pre-season friendly in South African rugby. What was a supposed first hit out for the Stormers could easily have been a Super Rugby match played at the most critical juncture of the season. It was full on.

It was unrelenting and both teams were playing to win. Both teams kicked for goal at vital times and neither bought into the 10-try feasts usually associated with warm-up matches. Tries were at a minimum and both sides tackled.

The quality of the math was remarkable given it was the first week of February. The Cheetahs won with an injury-time penalty but the biggest winner was surely the sight of Juan Smith back on a rugby field and as imposing as ever.

Smith is one of the great loose forwards of the last decade. He is also one of the least spoken and written about, but every South African supporter would have kept an eye on his comeback in Bloemfontein.

Schalk Burger’s return is a week or two away and if Smith and Burger can make it to July with knees, hands, feet and head intact the Bok pack will again be the envy of the rugby world.

Smith was darn good given he has been out for 18 months with an Achilles injury that threatened closure on his career. What a wonderful view to see him rampant and playing as fearlessly as is his norm.

In Smith South Africa has a legend but watch centre Jan Serfontein of the Bulls. He will play for the Boks before the year is over. He was the world U20 player in the Baby Boks tournament-winning effort in Cape Town last year and he has been nurtured into senior rugby without haste and with plenty conviction.

Some players simply make the transition from juniors to seniors and Serfontein is one of those. He is a also a beast, physically the most imposing centre in South Africa and one of the biggest in the game. He’s just 20 years old but it’s his skill and natural feel for the game that is even more impressive than his physical presence.

Not since Danie Gerber weaved destruction has a player looked as capable of doing as he pleases from broken player. If Bok coach Heyneke Meyer battled with some positions in 2012 it won’t be the case this season.

There is so much new talent in the South African game and there is also massive changes to what paraded as Super Rugby in New Zealand and Australia.

It is heartening to see how the Lions have embraced their year out of Super Rugby. Johann Ackermann is bringing through another generation of player and the Lions have been committed in everything they have done on the field this year.

The year regrouping could be the best thing that has ever happened.. The core of the Super Rugby team is on loan to other South African franchises and there’s a very promising group being played in the season’s first month of matches.

Rugby in South Africa is strong and globally it is healthy.

The sevens in New Zealand was the best tournament I’ve watched and Kenya were 10 seconds away from a miracle win. The Africans had beaten the Boks, beaten hosts New Zealand and were leading England 19-12 with 10 seconds to go. They turned over the ball, England scored and in the sudden death scored again to win the tournament.

But what a display from the Keyans who have benefited from the structure and intelligence of English coach Mike Friday. Kenya now play the game like they understand it and not just on natural feel. They understand defence, thrive on it and they were the most physical of teams at the tournament. A coach does make a difference.

The Boks have opted for more agility and players blessed with a step but not with size. There is no substitute for physicality in rugby. When the Bok Sevens have had more bulk than balanced runners they have been effective.

Paul Treu is currently trading on goodwill as coach as the Sevens has been in free fall for some time now. It can’t be a  fait accompli that he is the best there is. Result don’t make a convincing argument.

Finally the Six Nations delivered on the promise with Wales diabolical against Ireland and England ruthless against Scotland.

The global game needs seven to 10 teams to be a factor in between World Cups and England and France most definitely are the equal of South Africa and Australia with New Zealand still out in front, but not by a lot.

The rugby season will run until December but the break over the last two months has been too long. Just like Juan Smith’s performance on Saturday it is full on from hereon in and be confident that South Africa’s Super Rugby challenge can deliver a winner this year.

1,605 Comments

Pages: « 123 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 » Show All

• 1451.grant10: Reply to this comment

Still no Brussow and Goosen for Cheetahs…..

• 1452.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1450: Funeral.

• 1453.ufo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1450:

sorry to hear…

try and do both if time and distance allows…?

• 1454.ufo: Reply to this comment

otherwise the funeral…

• 1455.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1450: Nothing can be done for the deceased, but you can put a smile on the face of a young woman.

Go for the cricket option….

• 1456.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1448: Barring Jantjies and De Jongh it is probably the strongest team they have.

Including the other injured players.

• 1457.nama1: Reply to this comment

@gunther-1447:
    As long as they can prove ancestral ownership of the piece of land, they have a chance. :lol:

@grant10-1448:
    Me too. You did see that there is no out and out fetcher? :lol:

Where do you see a place for Schalk when he’s ready? Remember that he has been confirmed as captain already.

• 1458.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1456: Yes……

And P Grant will be back to add some rotational value….

There are some haardebaarde in that Stormers pack….@nama1-1457: Yes…..Kolisi , in my opinion, best suited for the role, although D Fourie should have stayed there, but doesent want to.

Schalk is going to pose some selection challenges in my opinion….if we assume Elstaht is to be mainly considered as a blind side flank option it is a straight shoot out between him and Schalk [ with Rhodes also adding depth ]…..

But AC will probably do the incorrect thing in my opinion and drop Kolisi for Schalk and use Schalk as an opensider…

• 1459.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1453:
    Thanks

Funeral in Nababiep… 21st in Cape Town…570km apart.

@Mr Black-1455:
    I’m leaning towards that. Two guys already suggested the funeral over the 21st party.

Difficult decision for me.

• 1460.Transformation: Reply to this comment

aussie ‘kickbacks’ are kak, ski lodge visit se moer man! :-)

Aussie corruption controversy snowballs

Two of Australia’s ministers dragged into a
    corruption scandal have admitted to
    accepting hospitality from someone at the
    centre of an inquiry.

Australia’s Environment Minister Tony Burke
    and Senate leader Stephen Conroy both
    stayed at a ski lodge owned by Eddie Obeid,
    who is the focus of an Independent
    Commission Against Corruption probe over
    an alleged “criminal conspiracy”.

Obeid, a former powerful kingpin in the New
    South Wales state Labour party, which holds
    power at the centre, is accused of using
    highly confidential information about a
    prospective coal licence to enrich himself and
    his family by tens of millions of dollars.

He has been giving evidence this week in a
    hearing that has gripped Sydney, with people
    queuing for hours to get a glimpse of
    proceedings that have seen him accused of
    effecting a massive “fraud on the people of
    New South Wales”.

Obeid denies the allegations that he
    conspired with the state’s former resources
    minister to obtain insider information, but in
    a new twist revealed Burke accepted his
    hospitality when he was in opposition.

“We are generous people and we like to
    share our generosity with our friends,” Obeid
    told the hearing late Tuesday, fingering Burke
    and several state politicians, including
    current New South Wales Labour leader John
    Robertson.

Conroy admitted he too had stayed there
    once when in opposition.
    Rejecting ‘good mates’ accusation
    It is another major headache for Prime
    Minister Julia Gillard, whose Labor party is
    badly lagging in opinion polls after she last
    week announced an election for September

Adding to her woes, two other senior
    ministers resigned over the weekend while an
    ex-Labour MP was arrested on 154 fraud
    charges.

The former MP, Craig Thomson, appeared in
    court on Wednesday and was bailed to
    reappear on May 22, vowing to clear his
    name.

Both Burke and Conroy on Wednesday
    played down their links to Obeid, rejecting
    suggestions that anything was expected in
    return.

“I declare two separate stays at this
    accommodation in the period 2004 to 2006,”
    Burke said in a statement, denying he had
    been “good mates” with Obeid.
    “On both occasions I stayed with my family.
    On neither occasion was any member of the
    Obeid family present.”

He said if the allegations were proven against
    Obeid it would constitute a “complete abuse
    of public responsibility”.

‘Down in the gutter’

Conroy told reporters he stayed after being
    invited by Burke, and denied any association
    with Obeid.

“I don’t think – and I could be wrong – but
    my recollection is I’ve never as much as had
    a cup of coffee with Eddie Obeid,” he said.

Federal Liberal frontbencher Scott Morrison
    questioned Burke and Conroy’s judgment.
    “There is an old saying in this life that you
    can’t choose your family but you do choose
    your friends, and it is clear that Eddie Obeid
    has friends in Julia Gillard’s cabinet,” he told
    reporters.

Conroy hit back by saying the opposition
    were “down in the gutter” with their
    suggestions about him.

“They want to do any smear, it doesn’t
    matter how tenuous, it doesn’t matter how
    thin, it doesn’t matter how outrageous,” he
    said. –

• 1461.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1458:
    “But AC will probably do the incorrect thing in my opinion and drop Kolisi for Schalk and use Schalk as an opensider…”

My fear as well.

• 1462.ufo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1459:

yeah… thought that would be it… funerals are normally in the morning… 21sts at night…

maybe you could hop on a plane… ?

• 1463.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1458: “Rotational value”? does that have to do with the price of rottis?

• 1464.grant10: Reply to this comment

News
    Goosen: No surgery required
    Wed, 06 Feb 2013 12:04

PrevNextThere is still some bruising in the heel
    The Cheetahs’ Springbok flyhalf, Johan Goosen, does not require surgery for the heel injury that is troubling him.

Cheetahs backline coach Hawies Fourie told this website in an interview on Wednesday that even though Goosen still requires treatment, and won’t feature in the team to meet the Bulls in a pre-season outing in Polokwane on Saturday, he will be fit for the start of the season on February 23.

While his knee surgery in October last year grabbed most of the headlines, a heel injury also caused him considerable discomfort – so much so that it affected his goal-kicking in the same Test against the All Blacks in Soweto where he injured the knee.

And while the knee rehabilitation has been a success, the Cheetahs medical staff sent him to a specialist for scans after he continued to feel discomfort on the heel when he lines up goal-kicks.

“Johan [Goosen] is still in Johannesburg,” Fourie said, adding: “There is still some bruising in the heel and he won’t play at the weekend.

“He will receive some injections in the heel to help him recuperate faster and he will be 100 percent [ready to play] when we face the Sharks [in the opening round of the competition] in just over a fortnight.”

Fourie said it is “great news” that the 20-year-old No.10 does not require surgery.

“They said there are no bone fragments or anything and they are happy with that.”

In the absence of Goosen Boland import Elgar Watts will play at flyhalf against the Bulls on Saturday.

With the exception of a few injured players the Cheetahs have named their best available team, with veteran Bok loose forward Juan Smith again set to play off the bench.

The team will be captained by Bok vice-captain Adriaan Strauss.

The good news is that centre Robert Ebersohn appears to have overcome the flu bug that troubled him this week and was named alongside Bulls import Johan Sadie in the midfield.

The players still missing through injury includes three high-profile Springboks – Goosen, prop Coenie Oosthuizen and loose forward Heinrich Brüssow.

• 1465.grant10: Reply to this comment

Great news for the Goose…..

If cheetahs also get Coenie and Brussel Sprout fit in time, then those Sharks must be wakker…….or its a banana skin first game…..

• 1466.Transformation: Reply to this comment

schalk was injured playing playing openside & being first receiver…it is his birthright.

• 1467.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1408: new laws, like when the try was increased to 2 points?

• 1468.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-1444: :)

@nama1-1445: I have my regular car guards. And they are rewarded handsomely for basically not moving away from my car for the duration of my ‘park’. And no, they are not South African citizens – most refugees from shall we say ‘French’ Africa. I know thier names and their stories, a few of their family members (who I have tried to find employment/housing for etc and employed myself on occasion.

I find it very easy to do what I can (and MORE) for any person that makes an effort, ANY effort at all to improve his/her ‘lot’ in life, in very trying and often tragic circumstances.

These are the folk I assist.

• 1469.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1464: How does a bruised heel take longer to recover than knee surgery? Sounds like there’s more to the story. or was it a new heel injury?

• 1470.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-1463: I reckon we going to see the first year ever where SA teams actually fully grasp the value of rotation…..last year was a disaster, injurie crisis after crisis, time to do it the Saracens way….

• 1471.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-1460:
    Bloody politicians!!! Scum of the earth, they are. All of them.

****’em!!!

• 1472.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-1469: same trouble he had when struggling to kick for goal against the all blacks last year at Soccer City..

• 1473.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1450: The 21st. There are many ways to pay ones respects to a deceased person. Rather celebrate the ‘start’ of an adult life, and find another appropriate way to celebrate the life of the deceased when time allows?

I would be horrified if friends and family skipped a party/cricket/rugby etc to attend my funeral one day….. Life is for the living.

• 1474.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1461: He can’t be that short sighted this season…. If he is, our sh y te gets real AGAIN.

• 1475.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1430:

i think we’re both winners :lol:

• 1476.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1473:

hooor hooor!

• 1477.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1473:

nama must do what he feels is right for him and he can’t be faulted whatever he decides to do…

thing is though… funerals are not just about the deceased… they’re about those left behind and supporting them and helping them to come to terms with their grief and loss…

my 2c…

• 1478.ufo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1475:

Everyone’s a winner, bakkies, that’s the truth…
    Everyone’s a winner, bakkies, that’s no lie…

• 1479.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1462:
    No can do…

No flight services on a Saturday and I’m too poor to charter. :lol:

It’ll have to be one or the other, unfortunately. Fortunately I still have more than a week to make up my mind.

Thanks for the input. It is appreciated.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1468:
    For me, it is like this: If it gets stolen, so be it. I don’t want to confront somebody about the whereabouts of my vehicle again and he looks at me as if he has never seen me before.

Some of these refugees certainly have interesting stories.They profiled a car guard during the time of the SWC in 2010. It turned out he was a legend in his home country where he played as a striker and was part of their team that won AFCON in his day. He apparently scored the winning goal as well.

• 1480.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1458: I spoke to Alistair last week about his rotation policy. He said that having the extra (Lions) players certainly gave him more options along with some of the younger players like De Allende who had a great Currie Cup.

He was careful to say though that he was determined to not pick a player who wasn’t 100% fit or match-sharp and added that players who didn’t play in one of the 2 warm up games would not be considered for the opening match against the Bulls. I’m not sure whether that meant Elton as well or not.

• 1481.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1477: Of course. If he wasn’t conflicted about what to do, he wouldn’t have asked I suppose.

Just my opinion of course…..because that’s the way I look at things (I know not many would agree…)

• 1482.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1474:
    Let’s hope he makes the right decision.

Btw, thanks for the input re my conundrum. The thing is, she would probably not have minded that much but the nieces and nephews may have a different take on it. Plus, I’ll miss out on seeing family members that I haven’t seen in a while.

As I said, I have another week to decide.

• 1483.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1481:

sorry pedigree… don’t get me wrong… wasn’t knocking your opinion…
    i’m pretty much like you… they can take me to the nearest municipal dump for all i care about ME…

but reckon we’re not the usual suspects…

and funerals are the times when your loved ones expect and count on you for support…

the 21st will be a blast either way…

but an awkward choice for nama fore sure… and has my empathy…

• 1484.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1479: Oh there have been some ‘nasty’ car guards as well…. At one of the centres in the Northern suburbs a group of them were in fact responsible for the vehicle thefts.
    The fellas I look out for, have endured such horrific trauma and tragedy….yet there they are, rain and shine, smiling; always smiling with a caring word or 2 in broken English, grateful to be free and able to earn. (and they don’t laugh at my dreadful attempts at French either)
    I salute them.
    Many of them are learned men and women, with more degrees than what HG has ‘Polish housekeepers’, and they are HAPPY for the privilege (as they call it) to earn money as free men.

So the lazyfuckwithhisboozeproblem at the robots, get’s nothing from me, but a glare…….and in the rain, a harsh spray of water. Sorry – I struggle with the ‘thou shalt not judge’ bit.

• 1485.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1480: Brendan Venter wrote the blueprint for rotation while at Saracens…..a lesson for all Super 15 coaches ….

Certainly we seem to have good depth, and quality depth as well….

Guys like Carr, Armand, Rhodes, Brock. De Kock Steenkamp, Scarra, De Allende , GVDH, J Pietersen are no ways inferior to any of there counterparts….so if one logically plans and uses a blueprint for the seasons playing times [ of course it needs to be flexible ]….then you should theoretically not need to play ‘ best 15 s ‘ week in and week out….

The Saracens blueprint was an eye opener for me…

• 1486.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1482: Listen to your heart :) It’s usually gives the right answer.

@ufo-1483: No offence take at all. Even I question my own ‘opinions’ at times. :) :) :) Tough call though, either way.

• 1487.gunther: Reply to this comment

@nama1-1479: Indeed.

That’s why I’ve put netstar tracker in the Piccanto.

• 1488.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1485: Brendan Venter is an organisational genius……Even his most vocal haters have to admit that. He just ‘sees’ things clearly…..

• 1489.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

When you go to a funeral you mostly honour the life of the deceased for the benefit of the loved ones and relatives. It’s a way of showing comfort and respect to those left behind.

I want a wake. Irish style. Lots of good music and cheap booze (I don’t want my wife spending my life insurance that quickly). ;) Celebrate the life not the death, but at the end of the day it’s whatever will make my family feel better that counts. I’m gone, I don’t get a say.

• 1490.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1485: 100% agree with you. I suggested to him that it appeared to us that the last game against the Sharks was won by the fresher team, not necessarily the better team, which didn’t seem to impress him all that much.

Bryan did say though that he was pleased with the extra depth in the backline so some of them didn’t have to play every game.

I think it would be a shame if guys like those you mentioned above weren’t given decent game time.

Did I mention I say GVDH in the gym a month or so ago and he lifted 170kg’s on the bench press (clean)? That is proper strong. He is going to be even bigger when you see him on the field this year.

• 1491.nama1: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1480:
    Did he say anything about the full back situation?

Where does Joe P stand? Will Aplon be used exclusively at wing?

• 1492.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Lions making excuses before Kings clash

There’s been some bad news for the Lions,
    with coach Johan Ackermann confirming the
    loss of two star players, after Saturday’s
    defeat against the Bulls in Orlando.

Scrumhalf Michael Bondesio pulled a calf
    muscle and is expected to be out of action
    for a fortnight or more, prompting a
    replacement at the base of the scrum ahead
    of this weekend’s showdown with Super
    Rugby new boys, the Southern Kings.

More concerning, though, is the ankle
    ligament injury sustained by loose forward
    Willie Britz. The mop-headed utility player
    has been a stand out for the Lions over the
    last year, but is now expected to be out of
    action for anything between one and three
    months.

• 1493.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1489:

now that’s the way to do it…!!

sort of if you can remember it you weren’t there sort of deal… :lol:

• 1494.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1489: For me, this verse from 2Pac’s “Life goes on” will do nicely:

Bury me smilin’
    with G’s in my pocket
    have a party at my funeral
    let every rapper rock it
    let tha hoes that I usta know
    from way before
    kiss me from my head to my toe
    give me a paper and pen
    so I can write about my life of sin
    a couple bottles of Gin
    incase I don’t get in
    tell all my people i’m a Ridah
    nobody cries when we die
    we outlaws
    let me ride
    until I get free
    I live my life in tha fast lane
    got police chasin me
    to my niggas from old blocks
    from old crews
    niggas that guided me through
    back in tha old school
    pour out some liquor
    have a toast for tha homies
    see we both gotta die
    but ya chose to go before me
    and brothas miss ya while your gone
    you left your nigga on his own
    how long we mourn
    life goes on…

• 1495.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Something REALLY worth reading folk.

http://www.supersport.com/rugby/blogs/tony-johnson/Farewell_to_two_greats_and_Sevens_shocks

• 1496.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1493: UFO, Just seen now. The Iron Lady premieres this week on channel 103. Make a note :)

• 1497.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-1490: Getting the top team into a semi and final reasonably fresh is the ultimate goal…..

It takes a mindset change from both coaching staff as well as the squad…..

keen to see how they approach it

• 1498.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Stormers, Sharks , Bulls will do great this year.

They have this year 2 additional bye’s – they can rotate their player when playing the Kings!

• 1499.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-1496:

okay… will do… :lol:

• 1500.nama1: Reply to this comment

The new rule where the referee can now ask the TMO to look for a suspicious pass on the half way line when a try has been scored, will lead to a lot of frustration in the coming months, I feel. It is all good and well if your team benefit from it but boy, wait until the ref cancel the match winning try of your team because of a forward pass 50m back.

I can hear it already. :lol:

Pages: « 123 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.