Old and new a sign of good times
4 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, writes that veteran Juan Smith’s performance was a reminder of a good Bok past and Jan Serfontein’s qualities are about a good future. Both are an asset to our rugby.
There is no such thing as a pre-season friendly in South African rugby. What was a supposed first hit out for the Stormers could easily have been a Super Rugby match played at the most critical juncture of the season. It was full on.
It was unrelenting and both teams were playing to win. Both teams kicked for goal at vital times and neither bought into the 10-try feasts usually associated with warm-up matches. Tries were at a minimum and both sides tackled.
The quality of the math was remarkable given it was the first week of February. The Cheetahs won with an injury-time penalty but the biggest winner was surely the sight of Juan Smith back on a rugby field and as imposing as ever.
Smith is one of the great loose forwards of the last decade. He is also one of the least spoken and written about, but every South African supporter would have kept an eye on his comeback in Bloemfontein.
Schalk Burger’s return is a week or two away and if Smith and Burger can make it to July with knees, hands, feet and head intact the Bok pack will again be the envy of the rugby world.
Smith was darn good given he has been out for 18 months with an Achilles injury that threatened closure on his career. What a wonderful view to see him rampant and playing as fearlessly as is his norm.
In Smith South Africa has a legend but watch centre Jan Serfontein of the Bulls. He will play for the Boks before the year is over. He was the world U20 player in the Baby Boks tournament-winning effort in Cape Town last year and he has been nurtured into senior rugby without haste and with plenty conviction.
Some players simply make the transition from juniors to seniors and Serfontein is one of those. He is a also a beast, physically the most imposing centre in South Africa and one of the biggest in the game. He’s just 20 years old but it’s his skill and natural feel for the game that is even more impressive than his physical presence.
Not since Danie Gerber weaved destruction has a player looked as capable of doing as he pleases from broken player. If Bok coach Heyneke Meyer battled with some positions in 2012 it won’t be the case this season.
There is so much new talent in the South African game and there is also massive changes to what paraded as Super Rugby in New Zealand and Australia.
It is heartening to see how the Lions have embraced their year out of Super Rugby. Johann Ackermann is bringing through another generation of player and the Lions have been committed in everything they have done on the field this year.
The year regrouping could be the best thing that has ever happened.. The core of the Super Rugby team is on loan to other South African franchises and there’s a very promising group being played in the season’s first month of matches.
Rugby in South Africa is strong and globally it is healthy.
The sevens in New Zealand was the best tournament I’ve watched and Kenya were 10 seconds away from a miracle win. The Africans had beaten the Boks, beaten hosts New Zealand and were leading England 19-12 with 10 seconds to go. They turned over the ball, England scored and in the sudden death scored again to win the tournament.
But what a display from the Keyans who have benefited from the structure and intelligence of English coach Mike Friday. Kenya now play the game like they understand it and not just on natural feel. They understand defence, thrive on it and they were the most physical of teams at the tournament. A coach does make a difference.
The Boks have opted for more agility and players blessed with a step but not with size. There is no substitute for physicality in rugby. When the Bok Sevens have had more bulk than balanced runners they have been effective.
Paul Treu is currently trading on goodwill as coach as the Sevens has been in free fall for some time now. It can’t be a fait accompli that he is the best there is. Result don’t make a convincing argument.
Finally the Six Nations delivered on the promise with Wales diabolical against Ireland and England ruthless against Scotland.
The global game needs seven to 10 teams to be a factor in between World Cups and England and France most definitely are the equal of South Africa and Australia with New Zealand still out in front, but not by a lot.
The rugby season will run until December but the break over the last two months has been too long. Just like Juan Smith’s performance on Saturday it is full on from hereon in and be confident that South Africa’s Super Rugby challenge can deliver a winner this year.

1,605 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 » Show All
8 Feb 2013, 06:18 am
aloha everybody….
so when is this fight gonna happen…? how many hours from now…?
8 Feb 2013, 06:38 am
@ufo-1551:
10am SA time they say.
8 Feb 2013, 06:39 am
@Slartibartfast-1552:
Although 10am is 6pm local time which seems way to early, maybe it all starts at 6pm with the main event some hours later…
8 Feb 2013, 06:43 am
@Slartibartfast-1552:
thanks bud…
where are you based…?
8 Feb 2013, 06:45 am
@Slartibartfast-1553: Main fight at 8am so Sonny can go to sleep at his normal time
8 Feb 2013, 06:48 am
@Dilligafrican-1555:
8am in what part of the world…?
8 Feb 2013, 06:54 am
@the curse-1547:
you should know boxing is heavily policed, Pops.
is this a sneaky excuse in early?
the Buffel’s going to teach Saanie the meaning of life later on
its going to be fun, good luck to both fighters and may the best man win.
8 Feb 2013, 07:06 am
@ufo-1556:
highlights of the Mundine fight at 8:00AM then the Cooper undercard at 10:00am so expect the main event at about 11 or so.
8 Feb 2013, 07:08 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1558:
thanks bakks…
are those saffa times…?
8 Feb 2013, 07:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1558: @ufo-1559: I heard something like 1pm Saffa time.
8 Feb 2013, 07:25 am
The full card is also available free of charge to DStv Premium subscribers via live streaming on supersport.com, with the action set to begin at 10am CAT (SA, GMT+2). The main fight is expected around 1pm.
8 Feb 2013, 07:26 am
@Sasuke-1560:
cool bud…
thanks a brazillian…!
8 Feb 2013, 07:29 am
unfortunately i think this had been stage-managed as a pr event for sonnybill…
expect the white buffalo to be served up on a spit….!
8 Feb 2013, 07:30 am
has been stage-managed…
8 Feb 2013, 07:31 am
How is it here at Keo? Pre-season in full swing and the last article was posted two days ago? Shame man.
Is the ***** still going?
8 Feb 2013, 07:32 am
@ufo-1562:
8 Feb 2013, 07:34 am
@ufo-1559:
@Sasuke-1560:
i checked the dstv guide and those are the times it gives so i’m assuming its SA time?
8 Feb 2013, 07:36 am
@Sasuke-1561:
ok thanks, the guide only mentions the Cooper fight on the undercard so if theres a few more i guess 1pm’s about right.
8 Feb 2013, 07:37 am
@Sasuke-1565:
seems to be a technical glitch…
i have no doubt normal service will be resumed at some point…
hopefully…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1567:
thanks bud…
will try and get to a tv later in the morning..
8 Feb 2013, 07:38 am
@ufo-1563:
really? you think?
would Botha do that for a paypacket?
it is likely possibility.
8 Feb 2013, 07:43 am
snaaks
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4784053/scruffy-stripper-nicked-after-brawl-with-women-who-expected-top-hunk.html
8 Feb 2013, 07:46 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1570:
i do bakks…
we have to ask ourselves what was he doing before this…?
not a helluva lot… wasn’t he retired…? what will this fight do for him at this stage of his career…? a little paycheck to roll over on a spit would be welcome i’m sure…
now ask yourself what does sonnybill have to gain and what will this do for his career…? would he put all that on the line on the off-chance…? why fight botha…? why not a real fighter from anywhere else in the world…? could it be because of the intense rivalry between nz and sa on the rugby field…? just before s15…? for sure every rugby fan in both countries (just about everyone) will be interested in this fight…
and sonny saying he will stop fighting if he loses…?
all pr i think…
will be extremely surprised if botha even puts up a credible fight… let alone wins…
8 Feb 2013, 07:52 am
@ufo-1554:
I am in Brisbane ufo but not going to the fight…
8 Feb 2013, 07:54 am
@ufo-1572:
I hope you are wrong UFO, that would be sad if true.
8 Feb 2013, 07:56 am
@Slartibartfast-1573:
oh… always thought you were in pretoria fro some strange reason…?
thanks bud…
yeah… i wouldn’t go to the event even if it was in cape town… but will try and watch it on the telly
8 Feb 2013, 07:56 am
@ufo-1572:
sjoe!
now you got me thinking.
8 Feb 2013, 08:02 am
@ufo-1572:
Have to agree with you and a very attractive exchange rate to boot.
8 Feb 2013, 08:03 am
@ufo-1575:
Nee fok ufo, do I sound that dof?!
8 Feb 2013, 08:05 am
@Mr Black-1574:
just my feeling… not based on any facts…
but the history of boxing is littered with such pr events…
the term palooka originated from boxers taking a dive… based on a comic strip boxer (who was actually a hero) joe or jim palooka… can’t remember now… but came to be seen as boxer who is not an authentic fighter… saying the guy is no better and can’t punch harder than a comic strip boxer…
not casting aspertions on boxing… it’s just the way things were and often still are done…
doesn’t mean the fight wont be entertaining… i’m sure it will… which is why i want to watch it…
8 Feb 2013, 08:06 am
@Slartibartfast-1578:
humble and unreserved apologies bud…!!
8 Feb 2013, 08:08 am
thanks for the times info guys…
gotta run
and hopefully be near a tv later on…
enjoy your day/night everyone…!!
next time,…
8 Feb 2013, 08:08 am
@ufo-1579:
inspector clufo.
8 Feb 2013, 08:12 am
@gunther-1582:
sharp…
later…!!
8 Feb 2013, 08:13 am
@ufo-1580:
Excepted, enjoy your day as well. Almost beer o’clock here…
8 Feb 2013, 08:16 am
@ufo-1581:
cheers Ufo
8 Feb 2013, 08:23 am
I am not so sure about the “conspracy theories”- Botha has never retired, he is still fairly active and had 2 fights in 2011 and 2 in 2012 (last one was in September) .
Perhaps SBW is trying to “inject some momentum” into his boxing career by fighting a “credible” opponent (on paper). He does not have the time of full time boxers to build a career over years, therefore he is looking for some quick fixes. If he can add the name of a man who has fought against lewis, Tyson, Hollifield etc to his CV , it will certainly give him more credibility and it might lead to perhaps a “big” payday in America.
IMO he is taking a hell of a risk- Botha is no pumpkin even at 44 and he might just frustrate and wear Williams down if the fight lasts longer then 3 rounds to win on points or on a stoppage later in the fight. If he walks into a big right hand early in the fight it will be all over though. 50/50 for me.
8 Feb 2013, 08:29 am
Did Botha get his steroids at school as well?
did his parents encourage him to use them?
being transparent about drugs in sports as Bakkies assures us, SA is, answers to these questions should be easy to find
how can this drug cheat still be allowed to participate in sport?
disgraceful
8 Feb 2013, 09:23 am
@the curse-1587:
i hung around for you yesterday, Pops
where were you?
i’m too busy at the moment. perhaps later.
8 Feb 2013, 09:49 am
Final score: HIGHLANDERS 38 – 21 CRUSADERS … Nonu gets a try for his new franchise …
8 Feb 2013, 10:02 am
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-1589: crusaders second loss in a row
8 Feb 2013, 10:08 am
@grant10-1590: Don’t read to much into it.
8 Feb 2013, 12:28 pm
I can’t get into “Rugby rock world” tread
8 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
Anybody?
8 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
@Atlas-1593: Me neither
8 Feb 2013, 12:31 pm
When is the big fight?
8 Feb 2013, 12:31 pm
@Taahirah-1594: Ons het dit in ‘n boks thread verander en Mark het nog nagmerries van skool toe stop hy dit
8 Feb 2013, 12:32 pm
@Mr Black-1595: It will start any minute now
8 Feb 2013, 12:33 pm
WP Vodacom team for tomorrow’s game, got it from
http://www.15.co.za
The DHL Western Province Vodacom Cup XV to take on the Boland Invitational XV is as follows:
15. Craig Barry
14. Ederies Arendse
13. Kobus van Wyk
12. Berton Klaasen
11. Devon Williams
10. Chris Smith
9. Godlin Masimla
8. Rayn Smid
7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
6. Vince Jobo
5. Gerbrandt Grobler (captain)
4. Ruan Botha
3. Tjoppie Ferreira
2. Stephan Coetzee
1. Ashley Wells
RESERVES:
16. Shameeg Allen
17. Wesley Chetty
18. Christo van Wyk
19. Ryan Olivier
20. Jean Kleyn
21. Bolla Conradie
22. Johnny Kotze
23. Kyle Lombard
24. Chevandre van Schoor
25. Craig Pheiffer
26. Cobus Nel
27. Carel du Preez
Kick-off: 12h30
Share this post:
Tags: Boland, rugby, Rugby15, VODACOM cup, Western Province
Leave a Reply
Name (required)
Mail (will not be published) (required)
Website
Home
About
Results
Advertising
Live Scores
Fixtures
Disclaimer
Media
Contact Us
RSS
Webmaster
© 2013 Rugby15.co.za All Rights Reserved . –
13 Online
Select Language?
Rece
Lets go to the Hore thread
hey keo! where is rock my world?!!!!!!!!
Pages: « 1 … 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 » Show All