SBW survives late White Buffalo onslaught
8 Feb 2013
Sonny Bill Williams beat Francois Botha on points in Brisbane after the boxing bout was controversially reduced from 12 to 10 rounds during the fight.
The former All Blacks centre was hanging on by a thread in what turned out to be the last round and would almost certainly have lost if another two rounds had been allowed.
The judges awarded the fight to Williams 97-91, 98-94 and 97-91.
‘I love Sonny Bill, but this is bullshit,’ Botha said afterwards. ‘I beat him hands free!’
Earlier, Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper won his first professional fight in a first-round knockout of Australian Barry Dunnett.
There will be repeats of both fights on SuperSport at 3pm (SS5) and 7pm (SS1).

945 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All
9 Feb 2013, 13:31 pm
@the curse-510: your answer…… “but you stick with the whole Anzac conspiracy angle, it is after all the default option on this blog”
i’ve posted about 20 comments on this issue… you obviously dont read that well. your answers are just a general dig at anyone who makes a comment. you must try and address each blogger according to their stated views. or in the end, you’re just the same as every other stereotyping blogger here. well. actually, i dont really think anything of you… except that you try too hard.
its not a conspiracy… just blatant circumvention of the rules
9 Feb 2013, 13:39 pm
Blatant money racketeering setup no two ways about it the New Elijah Muhammad Nasser Khomeini stable boy was going down in no uncertain terms and rather than throw in the towel at end of the tenth Nasrudien Abba Moosa Don Khomeini decided enough was enough shorten the bout and get the fck outa there before any further blood money credibility along with his budding golden boys boxing career gets blown skyward to smithereens.
9 Feb 2013, 13:39 pm
Found Tac
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QJMF7AqUv8Q
9 Feb 2013, 13:46 pm
@shooter-551: is it circumvention though, apparently BOTH camps agreed BEFORE the fight to it being 10 rounds..
now someone is lying, is it Bothas manager who forgot to tell his fighter, or is it SBW’s manager?
so I dont know if its “blatant circumvention” if BOTH parties agreed to the changes, if that is indeed the case..
cant be much simpler than that.
9 Feb 2013, 13:52 pm
so why all the other digs?
9 Feb 2013, 13:52 pm
@the curse-554:
Brisbane – A regional boxing official has criticised organisers of Sonny Bill Williams’ title fight, saying they have “defrauded” the Australian public.
The WBA international heavyweight title fight between the former All Blacks star and South African veteran Francois Botha ended with Williams receiving a unanimous points decision. But the fight ended after 10 rounds, instead of 12, as per WBA rules and as had been advertised.
WBA Oceania representative Brad Vocale said he had doubts as to whether the fight was ever sanctioned by the WBA and that “sadly, boxing has been given a black eye again
Many fans at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre booed the decision, believing Botha had won.
On Saturday, some bookmaking agencies refunded bets on the fight and Botha, 44, challenged Williams to a rematch.
Well staged “fight”. Make a double payday from it.
9 Feb 2013, 13:56 pm
anyway. i’m off. we’ll see what transpires. the last thing to say….. everyone was a loser on the day …the public, the boxers and everyone.
but there will probably be some signed piece of paper to confirm the ‘agreement’…. that – the promoter’s words- also still to be confirmed…
someone will propose a commission of investigation
9 Feb 2013, 14:04 pm
Shooter – my “digs”? you mean in relation to posts like the following? excuse me for thinking that one is inncoent until proven guilty….
500.J.B. Cowper said:
9 Feb 2013, 11:02 am
@J.B. Cowper-499:
Look no further than Kiwi reffing of Aus v Boks WC 2011 semi-final and the cowardly support of John Eales for Graham Mourie in the stitch-up of Bakkies Botha when SARU (and consciencea-appalled Warren Gatland) appealed his erroneous sentence for a legitimate tackle in Boks v Lions 2nd Test.
We won’t forget this.
449.snivelling little kiwi pricks said:
9 Feb 2013, 01:57 am
@TheTackler-447: Just another example of the keeeweees having the ref in their pocket.Cheats.
521.kaksioek said:
9 Feb 2013, 12:18 pm
@the curse-518: I’m no Botha fan, but just about every professional fighter has tested positive for a banned substance at one time or another. I’ll happily settle for them both being branded as cheats. I’ve never heard of anything as ridiculous as reducing a fight by two rounds on the night though. And don’t give me that garbage you posted earlier as an excuse. Lies, lies and damn trans-Tasman talk.
515.kaksioek said:
9 Feb 2013, 11:53 am
It’s fun watching the Kiwis try to explain this away. Keep it up. Still a page has been turned: here we have cheating so blatant that it cannot be denied, merely ameliorated.
9 Feb 2013, 14:15 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-502:
Thought Ireland played heroicly well in that game mate and deserved to win – can’t comment on reffing of Lawrence because haven’t studied it and never will – although Bryce is on record as saying average of 7 mistakes a game per ref is not uncommon but against Boks he made 37 or so.
Answer to your question – Irish in NZ might run deeper than Aussies – maybe they unite just against SA … in between bashing each other out; but they do join forces and honesty, principle and fair play gets jettisoned out the window in favour of looking after each other.
9 Feb 2013, 14:34 pm
Keo has struck another gold mine for okes to whinge for weeks.
9 Feb 2013, 14:40 pm
So both camps agreed to 10 rounds?
Botha’s trainer, Hardy Mileham, was shocked to see the bout shortened – a decision that was seemingly made during the contest.
“The fight was scheduled for 12 rounds, and in round number 10 he (Williams) was in danger,” Mileham said.
9 Feb 2013, 14:55 pm
poor Kiwis
9 Feb 2013, 14:58 pm
J B you are clueless when it comes to the NZ Aus sporting relationship if you think we support each other on the sporting field you are just plain wrong, yes when the time to renegotiate the SANZAR agreent comes around double team your inept spineless administrators but who wouldn’t.
9 Feb 2013, 15:06 pm
i certainly could have sworn it was rung more than ten seconds early
shame:
A week where the integrity of Australian sport has been questioned like never before ended in folly in Brisbane, even by boxing’s lofty standards.
but the bizarre, controversial and confusing finish to the heavyweight bout between Frans Botha and Sonny Bill Williams will take some digesting and quite possibly, serious investigations.
Williams was quite correctly declared the points winner after 10 rounds. The problem is most people – including Botha and at least two of the ringside judges – thought it was scheduled for 12.
It was a good thing for the Sydney Roosters star, who dominated all but the final two rounds with his snappy jab but was in genuine trouble towards the end of the 10th as Botha turned it into a street fight, punching on the retreat and landing some heavy blows, some of which weren’t legal.
Botha was deducted a point as Williams held on and tried to survive. In the end, the six-fight pro was saved by the bell, which was reportedly rung as much as 10 seconds early. Late last night, amid backroom screaming matches between rival camps, nobody had any answers.
http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130208/rugby-sonny-bill-under-fire-after-shortened-boxing-bout
9 Feb 2013, 15:10 pm
“I’ll probably have a lot of people bagging me out there but my mum and old man are proud of me.”
that’s right Sonny Boy
your mum and old man certainly are proud of you
9 Feb 2013, 15:12 pm
Bakkies you can moan for years now you must be thrilled.
9 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
Angry scenes after controversial Sonny Bill Williams victory
Many among the crowd and media contingent were surprised when in the 10th round the ring announcer said over the public address system there were only 90 seconds to go in the fight.
There were even suggestions that the final round was 15 seconds short.
(thats more like it, i too thought the bell went about 15 or so seconds early)
Pressed again about the time keeping in the final round, he (Nasser) said: “Who’s got the belt, mate. See you later.”
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10864341
9 Feb 2013, 15:16 pm
this poll from the nzherald:
Do you think Sonny Bill Williams legitimately won his boxing match against Francois Botha last night?
5050–5100 votes
Definitely. Even if the fight had extended to 12 rounds SBW would have won it. 8%
8%
Debatable. We’ll never really know. 33%
33%
way. Francois Botha was just warming up. SBW would have been out for the count if the match was 12 rounds. 59%
9 Feb 2013, 15:16 pm
Keep moaning you do your country proud.
9 Feb 2013, 15:19 pm
18 hours of moaning everyday.
9 Feb 2013, 15:19 pm
Rugby-Sonny Bill under fire after shortened boxing bout:
MELBOURNE, Feb 9 (Reuters) – Former All Black Sonny Bill Williams’s boxing career plumbed a new depth of farce on Friday when he claimed a controversial victory over a middle-aged South African who had him on the ropes before the bout was cut short by two rounds.
The 27-year-old was in trouble at the end of his sixth professional fight in Brisbane against 44-year-old Francois Botha, and jeers rang out from the crowd when he was announced winner after 10 rounds.
The abbreviated fight was slammed by bookmaker TAB New Zealand, who refunded “pick the round” bets on the fight.
“We went to great pains to double check and triple check that it was 12 rounds because (in) a Sonny Bill fight this has happened before,” TAB New Zealand bookmaker Mark Stafford, whose agency refunded ‘pick-the-round’ bets, told New Zealand radio on Saturday.
“So we’re pretty annoyed about it.”
Stafford said his agency had taken bets on three of Williams’s six professional fights, with two of them shortened without anybody knowing. He added that they were doubtful about opening another book with the rugby player.
Australian bookmaker Sportingbet Australia said it would refund all bets laid on Botha in a post on their Twitter account on Saturday.
Disgruntled fans took to social media pages to slam the bout as a sham, and demanded broadcasters refund the pay-per-view fees for the fight.
http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/thomson-reuters/130208/rugby-sonny-bill-under-fire-after-shortened-boxing-bout
9 Feb 2013, 15:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-565:
Bakkies,something i want to ask you.
Have you ever been to New Zealand and/or Australia and socialised with some of the locals. Perhaps on a beach, or in a pub, restaurant, sports event , seminar, workshop, theater….. or anywhere else?
I am just curious to know.
9 Feb 2013, 15:20 pm
7 days a week
9 Feb 2013, 15:21 pm
“If you work an 8 hour day tomorrow, work just six. If the boss asks you why, say its the #SBW clause,” one Twitter user said in a post.
#theSBWclause
9 Feb 2013, 15:23 pm
Yer but Bakkies you moan every single hour you are awake
9 Feb 2013, 15:26 pm
You and the tax inspector the two guys to avoid at a party, constant moaning about the same subject.
9 Feb 2013, 15:26 pm
Bookmakers refund bets on Sonny Bill Williams’ controversial boxing win:
ANGRY bookmakers have refunded bets on Sonny Bill Williams’ controversial boxing win, attacking the former All Blacks star for his track record of shortened bouts.
The WBA international heavyweight fight between Williams and South African veteran Francois Botha ended in a unanimous points decision on Friday night.
But the fight, which was advertised and scheduled for 12 rounds as per WBA rules, was stopped after 10, drawing an angry reaction from Botha and jeers from the crowd.
Williams, who copped a battering in the final round, tweeted on Saturday that both camps knew it was a 10-round affair.
Botha disagreed and the 44-year-old is expected to protest the result with the WBA, saying Williams would be a “coward” if he does not accept a rematch.
There has been no official explanation for the early ending.
When pressed on Friday night after an angry Botha reluctantly retired to the dressing room, Williams’ manager Khoder Nasser hinted that they cut it short after the big South African delivered several blows to the back of his client’s head.
AND LETS NOT FORGET THE FIFTEEN PLUS SECONDS CUT SHORT ON WHAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE A THREE MINUTE DURATION IN THE TENTH ROUND
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/new-zealand-bookmakers-refund-bets-on-sonny-bill-williams-controversial-boxing-win/story-fndn16fm-1226574396162
9 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
There you go again, your poor wife and kids.
9 Feb 2013, 15:29 pm
@Robzim-572:
i do not dislike the people, per se, Rob
its the way they go about ‘competing’
its disgusting
9 Feb 2013, 15:29 pm
Go to go Bakkies, enjoy your moaning until you go to bed.
9 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
bothas a drug cheat, something rampant in SA sporting circles.
I find it very hypocritical that many Saffas are now on the Aussie sports shame bandwagon when the same type of thing is prevalent in your sports.
use it, don’t use it.
let he who is within sin cast the first stone huh?
9 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
TAB head bookmaker Mark Stafford says it’s very poor and they want an explanation because they were told it was 12 rounds.
“Absolutely it was. In fact we went to great pains to double check and triple check that it was 12 rounds because (in) a Sonny Bill fight this has happened before so we’re pretty annoyed about it.”
Stafford says it’s bizarre timing after the Australian Crime Commission’s report into doping and match fixing in sport.
“God their timing couldn’t have been worse could it, with all the news that’s coming out of Australia the last few days but I’m a boxing fan, point number one and I’m a Sonny Bill Williams fan as well and I just hate what this has done for boxing and for Sonny Bill.
http://www.newstalkzb.co.nz/auckland/news/spspo/1129812325-tab-want-explanation-over-controversial-sbw-bout
9 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
A WBA official has accused the Sonny Bill Williams camp of giving boxing a black eye in the aftermath of the controversial bout against Francois Botha on Friday night.
WBA Pan Asian Boxing Association member Brad Vocale cast doubt over the validity of the fight and Williams’ credentials to fight for an international title.
Williams won the fight in an unanimous points decision after the fight was shortened to 10 rounds, down from the customary 12 rounds.
WBA Pan Asian Boxing Association member Brad Vocale cast doubt over the validity of the fight and Williams’ credentials to fight for an international title.
Williams won the fight in an unanimous points decision after the fight was shortened to 10 rounds, down from the customary 12 rounds.
http://www.3news.co.nz/VIDEO-Sonny-Bill-Williams-wins-by-decision-against-Francois-Botha/tabid/415/articleID/286169/Default.aspx
AND LETS NOT FORGET ABOUT THE FIFTEEN PLUS SECONDS WHICH DISSAPEARED FROM ROUND TEN…?..
9 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
Boos drowned out Sonny Bill Williams despite the code hopper technically claiming the biggest scalp in his fledgling boxing career in Brisbane on Friday night.
The fight appeared to be cut short, with the commentators also in the dark expecting a 12 round fight, yet the referee calling the fight over after 10 rounds – with Williams hanging on for dear life and looking like he’d be knocked out with ease should the fight have gone across the expected 12 rounds.
Former All Black Williams (6-0) somehow emerged a unanimous points winner in his WBA international heavyweight title fight with Francois Botha (48-9) despite appearing to have been trampled by the South African bruiser dubbed The White Buffalo.
Botha, 44, showed all the experience that had led him to world title fights with boxing’s who’s who, including the likes of Lennox Lewis, Mike Tyson and Evander Holyfield.
Yet despite battering Williams throughout their 10-round bout, Botha suffered the ninth loss in his 60 pro fights – much to the disgust of the packed Brisbane Entertainment Centre crowd.
http://www.3news.co.nz/VIDEO-Sonny-Bill-Williams-wins-by-decision-against-Francois-Botha/tabid/415/articleID/286169/Default.aspx
FIFTEEN SECONDS SONNY… FIFTEEN SECONDS…
9 Feb 2013, 15:37 pm
@NZINCHINA-580:
chees China
9 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
OXING;Botha Tests Positive Again
Reuters
Published: January 27, 1996
SIGN IN TO E-MAIL
PRINT
A second urinalysis test of the International Boxing Federation heavyweight champion Francois Botha has come back positive for steroids, the federation announced today.
A hearing will be held within two weeks by the I.B.F. Championships Committee to decide whether the South African will be stripped of the title he won by decision over the German Axel Schulz on Dec. 9 in Stuttgart, Germany.
Results from an initial test taken after the fight and done in Cologne, Germany, had come back positive for the steroid nondrolon. The second test was performed Thursday at the U.C.L.A. Olympic laboratory in Los Angeles.
known drug cheat should have been expelled from the sport.
9 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
@the curse-581:
you need to stfu about doping before it comes back to bite you in the arse, Pops
World anti-doping authority boss says revelations rocking Australian sport are reason to take closer look here
The head of the World Anti-Doping Authority believes New Zealand sports bodies have to take a closer look at their operations in the wake of the Australian Crime Commission’s findings.
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10864327
9 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
Although New Zealand’s professional sporting franchises and organisations have rushed to distance themselves from the Australian controversy, Wada director-general David Howman said it would be naive to assume the same could not happen in New Zealand.
“I think the attitude will change as a result of this, I don’t think there’ll be too much of a laissez-faire sort of approach, or the attitude that we’re the good guys and everyone else is bad.
And I hope New Zealand has the same sort of outlook and checks that there is nothing like this going on in New Zealand.
9 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
DFSNZ are already involving outside agencies. They have a memorandum of understanding with Customs as part of a greater push towards investigation rather than testing as a means to catching cheats.
Steel said he would be talking to Asada officials to see if there is any evidence of illegal distribution of peptides in New Zealand.
“We’ll be wanting to talk to our counterparts to find out whether we are missing those clues in New Zealand.
9 Feb 2013, 15:42 pm
Howman admitted the testing programmes need to be much more sophisticated.
“Some of the results have been pathetic over the last two years. There were 36 EPO cases in 2010, and 47 cases in 2011. That’s just abysmal when you know EPO is the most prolifically used cheating substance.”
9 Feb 2013, 15:42 pm
your country has been doing it for years, yet you blindly ignore this
you need to fix your own steroid culture first
it reeks
but then, I imagine it that ingrained in SA sport that it would be impossible to eliminate
9 Feb 2013, 15:43 pm
Peptides
Peptides increase the amount of human growth hormone in the body with fewer side effects than anabolic steroids. They have been described as the “new generation” of performance-enhancing substances because the drug often stays active in the body for only a short time, making detection more difficult.
9 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
have you been sitting on those articles all day just waiting to post them?
hahahaha how pathetic
9 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
Fans: SBW, Botha fight ‘fixed’
2013-02-08 14:50
South African sports fans have cried foul after the Sonny Bill Williams versus Francois Botha fight ended under controversial circumstances.
Have your say! Send your thoughts to Sport24.
A majority of Sport24 readers believed the fight was rigged after the fight was reduced by 2 rounds by the referee, just as Sonny Bill Williams appeared to be in serious trouble during the fight.
GALLERY: Sonny Bill Williams v Francois Botha
VIDEO: Sonny Bill Williams v Francois Botha – highlights
Cut short from the original 12 rounds to 10, Williams looked in control for most of the fight, with more of his punches making contact, however in the 10th round Williams looked to be in serious danger of being knocked out.
Francois Botha was furious with officials after the decision was made to shorten the bout, with the 44-year-old looking to have worn out Williams by the end of the 10th.
Botha’s trainer, Hardy Mileham, was shocked to see the bout shortened – a decision that was seemingly made during the contest.
“The fight was scheduled for 12 rounds, and in round number 10 he (Williams) was in danger,” Mileham said.
Here’s what Sport24 readers had to say:
“Why was it reduced…SBW was busy getting (beaten up) in the 9th that’s why. What a joke.” – lionel.kemm.9
“Agree, Botha had him in rounds 9 and 10 and pretty boy would not have lasted 11 rounds.” – Piksteel
“This was a waste of time. Why even bother to schedule a boxing match if it was rigged before hand? Why reduce the rounds as soon as SBW is flat on his feet? Once again the bookies smile after paying off a couple of officials. It seems like it is not only doping that is currently big in Australia but match fixing as well! Australian sport and their officials are a disgrace.” – johannes.m.villiers
“As I asked before the fight: ” What are the chances of this fight NOT being fixed?” – squeegee.pilot
“I agree that based on the 10 rounds fought, SBW won! However, it was supposed to be 12 round, and was reduced only when SBW started taking a few klaps!” – grant.callaway
“It was a sham, SBW is the worst heavyweight boxer I have seen. What a farce!” – fanie.viljoen.73
“Botha was robbed. He never was in trouble and he was pacing himself for 12 rounds. This is called “a home town decision”. I do hope the boxing authorities will take the necessary action!” – andre.van.deventer16
“The fight was scheduled for 12 rounds and SBW was in deep trouble by round 9. The fact is it was rigged!” Avd16
“It was shocking. Rigged for sure. Remember how good the Aussies were at under-arm bowling when things weren’t going well on the cricket pitch? Shameful.” – Lanthe.J
“Was Bryce Lawrence reffing?” – justin.m.wiles1
“Less hugging, more boxing Sonny.” – joe.co.za
“Duckworth-Lewis system in boxing? WTF!” – Liam
“SBW was scrumming more than he was punching. The ref should have deducted a further point during the last round. Botha tried really hard to box in the last two rounds but SBW kept on CROUCHing, TOUCHing, HOLDing but not ENGANGING…” – Hansie Crook
“Even the commentators were baffled that the fight were shortened…” – elroy.felix.50
“Stupid… this just proves one thing… SBW is no boxer…” – janniedewetwich
“Um Botha had SBW dancing and the the ref decided to change from 12 to 10 rounds… Everyone is flabbergasted… 1 more round and Botha would have sent him down… Plus the ref allowed clinching after warning SBW about 5 times…” – Peter.J.G.Swart
“Botha should ask for a re-match. I strongly believe this match was fixed to create more hype on SBW’s boxing career and more mooola.” – HC
“The outcome was set-up. Botha should’ve gone out and finish the fight in six rounds, but he decided to play games – talking, standing still to get punched… Botha is as much a joke as SBW.” – Tiaan Libenberg
http://www.sport24.co.za/MySport24/Fans-SBW-Botha-fight-fixed-20130208
9 Feb 2013, 15:45 pm
parents in your country even encourage steroid use
eish.
9 Feb 2013, 15:47 pm
Oh THE IRONY
:
Sonny Bill Williams has apologised for his emotional tweet last night accusing the judges of being “corrupt” after his good friend Anthony Mundine lost a unanimous points decision to world champion Daniel Geale in their IBF middleweight title fight in Sydney.
Williams tweeted a pic of him with Mundine after the fight, with the words: “Hanging out with @Anthony_Mundine celebrating a victory. We don’t pay attention to corrupt judges!!”.
But Williams today tweeted an apology, saying emotions were running high last night.
“Sorry about the tweet last night. Emotions were running high just very disappointed for my brother and that’s how I saw the fight,” the former All Black posted on Twitter.
“No disrespect meant to Geale he’s a great champion-fighter and it was a great night.”
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-sports/8245211/SBW-apologises-for-corrupt-judges-tweet
9 Feb 2013, 15:48 pm
well done on posting the many crying saffa posts. it reminds me of a Sunday after a test match
9 Feb 2013, 15:49 pm
No doubt, had SBW won in 12 rounds or with KO, Bakkies would find something else Kiwi-related to moan about all day long. He just can’t help it.
9 Feb 2013, 15:49 pm
Sneaky Sonny steals victory:
In a controversial fight between the rugby-league player/boxer Sonny Bill Williams and Francois ‘White Buffalo’ Botha, the result came down to points and the decision was unanimous in SBWs favour.
The controversy however started when the match referee inexplicably announced the final round at the start of the 10th in which was touted as a 12 round fight. At this stage the rugby superstar was bleeding from the nose and looking the worse for wear. In the 10th round Botha was all over Williams like a bucket of deep fried chicken. The 27 year old Williams kept on hanging onto the 44 year old South African in attempt to run down the clock and avoid a knock-out, a point was deducted, but at this stage he knew he was already far ahead on points.
http://www.sportpulse.net/content/sneaky-sonny-steals-victory-6882
WHERE’D THE LAST FIFTEEN SECONDS OF ROUND TEN GO, SONNY?
9 Feb 2013, 15:52 pm
Bakkies, what about all te illegal shots to te back of the head from Botha?
why no mention of this?
disgusting, dirty cheating botha, many hits after the bell
what a drug taking cheating mule.
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 19 » Show All